Naza Euro Motors to open Citroen 3S centre in Glenmarie next week – DS4 and DS5 to be introduced

citroen ds4

Ah, the hour is at hand – Naza Euro Motors, the new Citroen distributor in Malaysia, is set to open the brand’s first DS showroom in the country next week. The showroom – which Citroen Malaysia has teased a sneak peek of on its Facebook page – will be part of the 3S facility located in Glenmarie.

citroen ds5

More interestingly, the word on the grapevine is that the DS4 and DS5 will also be announced as incoming models at the launch of the facility. No word on the drivetrain choices available for the DS4, which is essentially a shorter, taller and wider C4, but it should either be the THP 156 or THP 200 1.6. Full details when the time comes, which won’t be long now.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• astra_freak on Feb 18, 2013 at 6:00 pm

is ds5 is caldina killer?

• Alpha on Feb 18, 2013 at 8:08 pm

The Caldina have been discontinued many years ago, in a way, “killed” many years ago.

And I don’t think the Cald was even a benchmark for Citroen when they make their cars as the Cald is a Japan-only model.

• kadajawi on Feb 19, 2013 at 9:39 am

I hope they don’t become like the lazy Naza salesman in the big Federal Highway showroom in PJ. They just sit there and chit chat with each other and smoke the whole day long. Such bad service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • alldisc™ on Feb 19, 2013 at 10:21 am

car salesman are all gifted with ability to recognise whether one is a prospect buyer or just window shopping.

they are not 100% correct though, but the best service often comes from the fresh faces (newly recruited salesman) as they need to proof to the manager his/her capabilities to achieve sales target.

• Kereta Man on Feb 19, 2013 at 4:15 pm

sounds like you have been there and done that.. :)

• kadajawi on Feb 19, 2013 at 1:59 pm

No. The DS5 is the car equivalent of Two Face. Steering is tuned for comfort, giving hardly any feel. Suspension tuned for race tracks. It does not make any sense.

• AVH® on Feb 18, 2013 at 6:51 pm

I have mix viwes on the DS4, but DS5! A true french beauty. Sad to see the DS3 is not on the list, Though, I’am thankful the previous distributor brought in tiny numbers.

• Maybe the DS3 will come later?…i know Brookland sold a unit or two of the stonking DS3 Sport

• Retep on Feb 18, 2013 at 7:51 pm

Nice cars, but i’m sure people are bound to pounce on its bad resale value and absurd maintenance costs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • otobott on Feb 19, 2013 at 10:43 am

resale value concern outdated already, only still in mind of pakcik makcik nowadays.. maintanace cost gap between japs and cont getting smaller day to day now

• Retep-the maintainance of Citroen cars are on par with Japanese models nowdays. Hence its not valid to use the word ‘absurd’…are you still in the eighties mate?

• kadajawi on Feb 19, 2013 at 6:45 pm

Malaysia is all about perception and hearsay. Facts and reality are not important.

• Ahmadfaris93 on Feb 18, 2013 at 8:00 pm

DS4 ? I thought it has been introduced. I have seen DS4 on the road a lot of times. NO it is not C4, I know what are the diff.

On the other hand, it is quite disappointing that there wont be a DS3 at the moment. DS3 would be interesting and would be priced slightly cheaper than DS4, which may attract slightly more customers than the DS4.

• alldisc™ on Feb 19, 2013 at 10:38 am

i believe Brookland did bring in some DS4 models, maybe as demonstrator and sold a unit or two.

• Alldisc-they sold much more than 15 units, but it was not oficially launched by Brookland but sold by word of mouth only.

• alldisc™ on Feb 19, 2013 at 7:41 pm

that is what, 1 unit per month?

no wonder Naza was quick to swoop in offering themselves as the better dealership.

• I guess Brooklands were more interested in pushing Syangyong sales-hence the lukewarm treatment to Citroen sales

• PauKaya on Feb 18, 2013 at 9:15 pm

ds5…nice

• jacksonkua on Feb 18, 2013 at 10:52 pm

I am one of the DS4 owner.
    It has nothing much to excited anymore.
    However, really look forward for the DS5.
    It must be around RM195k above to own this France baby!

• How’s the after services?

• ah beng naza on Feb 19, 2013 at 9:47 am

after service?? you pay, get the receipt and leave the bengkel and go home..or elsewhere maa..

• Price, service attitude, parts availability, etc? Elaborate more about it.

You are not doing much good for Citroen. It’s informative for people who are looking for alternatives to the mainstream.

• jacksonkua on Feb 22, 2013 at 12:01 am

To me, I hardly commented on others attitude due to the fact that we must first learn how to respect for people before we aspect they treat us good and professional.

• comrade on Feb 19, 2013 at 9:15 am

yeah how the after sales service?? and Naza distributor for so many euro model here…no other distributor willing eh?

• kadajawi on Feb 19, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Peugeot and Citroen are more or less 1 company. Their models have a lot in common, like Skoda, Seat, VW and Audi using the same parts too. Being under the same distributor makes sense.

• lohanguo on Feb 19, 2013 at 3:17 am

so i hv a savvy,
    after 5 years , i involve in an accident,
    hit my door rear kemek ,

so , the towman company give a hint i need pay cash ,
    he can charge as he like because when asked they say they “dont know yet”….

so bill come , he tell this , after 5 years , insurance didnt compenssate fully and normally will use 2nd hand or halfcut part , so my car is not honda or toyota or kancil , it cost me more ,

so whoever want to buy rare cars , u must hv more $$$ ………

• alldisc™ on Feb 19, 2013 at 10:28 am

this is true. you car headlamp is 5 years already, dont expect insurance give you new. same goes to absorbers. or engine mounting.

the deduction is known as betterment and approved by Bank Negara. in other words, betterment = owner contribution.

that means, if my 10 yrs old Waja worth 18K accident and engine broken, meaning insurance must pay new engine lah? i like that idea… but it doesnt work that way dude.

• Lohanguo
      The DS4 is not a rare car-its sold worldwide but a new thing in Malaysia, much like the VW was new to the average Malaysian 6 years ago.

• ah beng on Feb 19, 2013 at 9:44 am

Haiyooo Naza very rich arrr…everything also goes to Naza..

buy a Peugeot…Naza
    buy a Citroen…Naza
    buy a Kia..also Naza
    buy a Chevy, also Naza..
    buy a Vespa..also Naza..
    go eat tutti fruiti..also Naza
    can buy luxury house?? Naza TTDI also have ma…

i want to change name like this…AH BENG NAZA also can ar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Not to forget
      buy a Ferrari…Naza
      buy a Ducati…Naza
      buy a Harley…Naza
      Naza, the crony company

• Ah Beng-if you are brave enough and have the ability and capacity to convince the French to take you as their partner, why not…question is why dont you?…

• ah beng on Feb 26, 2013 at 6:00 pm

aiyaa jeff…what a stupid statement la… if only i’m rich and marry PM daughter …maybe can la… aiyaa…

• alldisc™ on Feb 19, 2013 at 10:47 am

no matter what, we all must admit Citroen never did well in Malaysia be it in sales or image.

The best they had was during the ZX era. other than that, the Pallas, CX, GS, DS, XM, C3, C4, C5 and picasso models hardly sells.

USF did manage to sell some BX and Xantia though.

But Naza had proven they managed to turn the table with Peugoet. Who buys a Peugoet 5 years ago? the answer is not many really (in the days of 206CC, 307CC, 307SW, 407)

• intermilan on Feb 19, 2013 at 4:27 pm

In essence, I’m with you on this.

Nasim took over Peugeot dealership in early 2008.
    In that year, Peugeot sale don’t do well as they start by focusing on selling the Naza Bestari (sale registered under Naza brand not Peugeot).

In 2008, only 208 units of ‘pure’ Peugeots were sold.

In 2012, Nasim sold 6,114 units of Peugeot.

To the Naza haters out there, see their track records in expanding Peugeot sales?

With such track records, PSA believe Naza Group is the right partner to raise Citroen sales and presence in Tanah Melayu, Sabah & Sarawak.

Personally, I think it is quite challenging for Naza Euro Motors to replicate the Peugeot’s result, as back then, 308 Turbo hit the market at the right time…. its a unique event.

We don’t know how many Citroen’s were sold in 2012 as Brooklands don’t report Citroen sales data to MAA. The only available data is 32 units sold during Jan-Sep 2007 but this is before Brookland being appointed as distributor. Lets just assume, they sold around 150 units in 2012.

In 5 years starting from 2013 i.e 2017, I think it’s wonderful if Citroen sale in Malaysia could reach 4,500-5,000 units (by looking at Peugeot historical sales expansion between 2008-2012).

This could be a tough target as early indication show Naza want to up-scale the Citroen brand image / position first.

This means selling top-of-the-line models like DS4, DS5 only. Which will not be volume sellers over here. But DS5 will surely rock the boat, if Naza splash the cash in marketing blitz. DS5 is a good sample to re-educate & introduce Citroen to the masses again.

Similar with Peugeot strategy, they’ll need to CKD volume-seller model(s) to expand. Problem is, I don’t see suitable volume-seller model(s) that is akin to a “killer apps” in Citroen model range.

Whatever it is, it will interesting to see how Naza is going to play this new ‘card’.

• kadajawi on Feb 19, 2013 at 5:05 pm

C1, C3, C4, C3 Picasso. C5 could be pitted against the Camry due to superior comfort and handling. Better safety too. Things like reliability and resale value are a problem but can be addressed.

The DS5 IMHO is a disappointment and disgrace to the brand.

• Kadajawi- I would not say its a disgrace to the brand. Autocar UK gave it 3.5 and Auto express gave it 4.0 out of 5.0 stars. If they improve the ride quality ( which i heard they are planning to do), it should garner more stars and be an outright winner.

• kadajawi on Feb 19, 2013 at 6:18 pm

Only if they give it the hydroactive suspension from the C5 and C6. That would make sense and be appropriate.

It is a disgrace in that it has a stiff ride. That is like Rolls Royce suddenly creating a direct competitor to the Tata Nano. It is plain wrong.

• well – not so disgraced as to prevent UK Top Gear voting the DS5 as family car of 2011..,

• kadajawi on Feb 19, 2013 at 6:14 pm

I forgot the Berlingo, which has no competition in Malaysia and is very practical for people who need to transport the elderly. Or who have bulky stuff. Or a big family.

C4 Picasso could do OK too.

• Lets hope Naza beef up their sales team with technical know -how and the service team with the appropriate skills to handle the DS range as they are more sophisticated than Kia or Chevrolet models

• Jaybond on Feb 22, 2013 at 3:55 pm

The Citroen DS5 is quite unique, given that it’s neither an MPV nor a saloon with some sort of sporty theme. And I agree, this concept was first popularized by the discontinued Toyota Caldina GT4.The DS5 is also beautifully styled with premium quality inside out.Most of the car fratenity believed that the DS5 is targeted at the German-dominated entry level excutive segment (BMW 3 series,Merc C Class,Audi A4 & VW CC) by offering premium driving experience with unique style.