Europe gets new Toyota Auris Touring Sports; offers class-best luggage capacity and a full hybrid option

ToyotaAurisTouring_5

We’ve covered the initial unveiling of the Toyota Auris Touring Sports at last year’s Paris Motor Show, and here comes the full juicy details of Europe’s latest family estate contender. It looks particularly good for a station wagon and there’s a lot of function with all that style too, offering a class-leading luggage capacity.

Built at the Toyota Motor Manufacturing UK (TMUK) in Burnaston, Derbyshire (alongside the Euro-specific Auris hatchback and Avensis models), the new Auris Touring Sports is also the first full hybrid vehicle of its type. It’s mighty efficient and clean (86 g/km) too, all but matching the best diesels estates around.

The class-leading 1,658 litres of load space is achieved across the whole Auris Touring Sports as the hybrid system, battery and the lot, is packaged cleverly underneath the rear seats as to not compromise size and capacity. The rear floor is set 100 mm lower than in the hatchback.

ToyotaAurisTouring_6

It measures 285 mm longer than the standard hatch despite sitting on the same 2,600 mm wheelbase; the entire addition dedicated to the extended luggage space. There’s also an Easy-Flat one-touch rear seat folding system, double-level loadspace floor and new two-way tonneau cover for excellent versatility.

In the UK, you’ll get a choice of three petrol engines and one oil-burner. Diesel haters get to make do with either a 1.33litre Dual VVT-i engine or a 1.6 litre Valvematic petrol, with the Prius-sourced 1.8-litre VVT-i motor paired with Toyota’s Hybrid Synergy Drive sitting at the top of the range. A 1.4 litre D-4D engine is the sole diesel option.

No it’s not going to reach the Malaysian market, as the entire Auris line-up is designed from the ground up for Europe. Like its British-built sibling, the Avensis, it’s unlikely to see the light of day outside its home continent.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Mat Global on Feb 18, 2013 at 1:10 pm

Why can’t we build this and the Avensis in our CKD plant? You know why cannot? Its because in our CKD plant, half the time they are sleeping, smoking outside, looking at the kilang girls to bonk and not concentrating in their work. This is why CKD and CBU from Japan or CBU Europe has far superior quality than the trash we get here from our local plant. Simple as that. Get workers who are more focussed and not just talking about kongkek the whole day long jeopardising the QC of our local made Toyota cars.

I know because I used to work in the same plant!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Very beautiful Corolla nameplate. If this is a 7 seater and a Diesel engine with sub-RM120K price, must be a hit.

• U got the point, It will sell only it has got 7 seater at RM120k. else, will face the similar case like Toyota Wish (AP car), low sales despite cheaper then Estima and Alphard.

• sepul on Feb 18, 2013 at 2:24 pm

I think you guys got it off the mark. This is an estate car, so it is only a 5 seater. The Wish is an mpv, so it has 7 seats. That’s a different category altogether.

Still, it’s too bad Toyota reserve all their best looking models for Europe only. Same as Honda.

• alldisc™ on Feb 18, 2013 at 6:23 pm

the trend for 5+2 estate cars had evolved from the days of 1980s.

among them were Peugoet 505 estate, Merc W124 TE, Volvo 700 series and Renault 21 Savannah. These cars paved the way for MPV, even though Renault already began producing Renault Espace in about the same time it is not totally a multi purpose but rather, only a people carrier (fixed seats) like Toyota Estima and Mitsubishi RVR.

• kadajawi on Feb 19, 2013 at 9:49 am

I can confirm one thing because I have rented Camry from Australia and several other Toyota’s from the UK. Quality is so much better than the toilet we get here. Once you drive a Camry in Australia or other Japanese brands in the UK, the feel and stability is so good, you don’t even want to buy German even if you have the money to do so. I drove the Accord and the Mercedes E class in the UK, zero difference between both cars. Both also feel continental. But I drive the Accord in Malaysia, it feels flimsy and light and palat. Now you understand why you hardly see German cars in the UK cause Europeans make the cars all at the same lever and at par with continental standards. If you observe in the streets of London, you see lots of Fods and Japanese cars driven by very wealthy people cause they themselves feel that the Japanese and German ride feel the same. I hope UMW and Honda Malaysia can stop giving us trash and make cars to European standards.

• Faizul on Feb 19, 2013 at 10:31 am

you are right. the japanese will never bother to improve their cars to european standard because Malaysian tend to focus on resale value as top priority when buying cars. toyota and honda know this, thats why brands like ford, kia, hyundai, peugeot will never lead the market despite the fact that their cars are better equipped compare to japanese of the same class.

• kadajawi on Feb 19, 2013 at 1:45 pm

What the f? Paul Tan, it is time that we get to register accounts here! Damn fakes. I have never been in Australia, and in the UK Japanese cars are not that popular. In Germany Japanese cars aren’t popular at all, the only ones that sell are either SUVs (Nissan) or small cars.

I do agree though that Japanese cars in Europe tend to be better.

• AVH® on Feb 18, 2013 at 1:18 pm

Europe gets the good looking Toyotas. Good looking to at least stand up against its Korean counterparts, but being Europe, it won’t put a dent in the sales of the mighty VW Golf. But IMO, slap a 4wd system, an you get a successor to the Caldina GT-Four

• alldisc™ on Feb 19, 2013 at 10:37 am

Caldina was based on Corona (Corona wagon) which the new replacement model is Avensis.

besides, the sales for Caldina was not that strong that Toyota Motor Corp had decided to axe it off sales.

only some ppl likes the shape of sportswagon, not many.

• wish’s sibling ??

• vee-oh on Feb 18, 2013 at 1:37 pm

front design looks like new coming Vios..i think

• this model never come to malaysia.believe it

• funnyguy on Feb 18, 2013 at 3:02 pm

sure AP holder try bawa masuk..

• Modesto.hann on Feb 18, 2013 at 7:48 pm

If it is brought in through AP, where is the origin of the car mostly since it is made for European market, UK? Cars brought in from UK require lots of touch up, Ang moh just treat their cars as slave, unlike the Japanese.

• Tall Pan on Feb 18, 2013 at 2:32 pm

UMW sux

• quite good design, i like it but too much photoshop, please put the real picture there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • works on Feb 18, 2013 at 4:06 pm

only sell in europe? not fair…. UMW, u are suck. go focus oil and gas business. leave toyota and malaysia automotive industry alone…

• BeemerFreak on Feb 18, 2013 at 7:00 pm

why can’t we have it in our region? Singapore is launching the auris in 2 months time. Look at www.toyota.com.sg to find out.

Crap UMW does not value our market…..

• Vince on Feb 18, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Nice looking Auris. I believed there’s no demand for estate/wagon cars here in Malaysia. That’s why UMW is not keen to bring it in.

Of course, many will complained but reality is that when its in, no one buys it. And many would say, if its RM100k, I will buy it….those statement just keep to oneself.

If those are really keen on estate or wagon, Volvo has got some nice ones like the V60 but how many do you see them on the road ? Not forgetting other marques such as Peugeot too. But of course, pricing will be another issue.

Nevertheless, I won’t be surprised if estates will make a comeback in near future. Till today, I still have fond memories of the Volvo 850 T5 during its heydays, its fast and furious.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 19, 2013 at 7:53 am

Silly silly generalization. Of course pricing is an issue. Perhaps not to you.

Do you know how much a v50/v60 cost? And the baggage of very high depreciation?

People bought station wagons. Look at the AD Resort. Look at the Caldina. They were popular when they were affordable. I still see some Nissan Sunny estates in town.

I see a good number of 3er estates and even Audi Avants. Estate owners love their cars to death. Not one of the Volvo 850 t5 owners I’ve approached wanted to sell their cars.

Take out the 2 useless rear seats from a Grand Livina, Citra , alza and slap in an aftermarket rear luggage cover and you have an estate….sort off.

• mamak on Feb 18, 2013 at 8:54 pm

pls bring in this model…i’m sure will sell like hot cake ….same as prius n prius C currently…

• Ben10 on Feb 18, 2013 at 10:22 pm

This is one GOOD-LOOKING estate!!! It made me wow-ed!!

Nice job Toyota! How I wish we could have this in Malaysia!

Imagine if we had the Yaris Hybrid, Yaris hatchback, 3-door Yaris, Auris Hybrid, Auris Touring Sports, Avensis (to replace Altis), RHD-Venza and iQ in Malaysia. Malaysia would be a much better place!! :P

• kadajawi on Feb 19, 2013 at 1:51 pm

The Avensis is the counterpart of the Camry, Auris the counterpart of the Altis.

• i think it looks abit like lexus ct200h isnt it?