Kia reveals full details and specs for new pro_cee’d

Kiaproceed_7

No this is not the fire-breathing pro_cee’d GT hot hatchback. That one will be shown in Geneva in just over two weeks. What this is, is the regular three-door Kia cee’d, hilariously called the pro_cee’d. It’s the third extension of the cee’d family, joining the standard hatchback and the Sportswagon.

If it looks familiar, that’s because we’ve featured it here before. We now have more details of the pro_cee’d, so here goes. Two engines are offered – a 135 hp/223 Nm 1.6 litre GDi petrol or a slower but more economical 128 hp/261 Nm 1.6 litre CRDi turbodiesel with Intelligent Stop & Go (ISG). Transmission is a choice of a manual or dual-clutch gearbox, both with six-speeds.

Whereas the previous-generation pro_cee’d was merely a cee’d with two less doors, the new model is distinctly different from its donour vehicle. Peter Schreyer, President and Chief Design Officer of Kia Motors Corporation said, “The all-new Kia pro_cee’d is a true clean sheet design. With its distinctive form language and dynamic proportions, muscular stance and athletic lines, this ‘coupe’ follows a very different visual path to the cee’d. It’s a completely different car on every level.”

Kiaproceed_8

Much in the same vein as the three-door Renault Megane, the new pro_cee’d is styled more like a coupe than a hatchback. It’s 40 mm lower, with an extensively redesigned bodyshell to enhance rigidity and safety. The doors are 270 mm longer than the ones on the five-door, both to improve rear access as well as to push along the coupe illusion further.

There’s just as much space in the boot as there is in the cee’d (380 litres), which is an improvement of 40 litres than before. Fold the rear seats down and it grows to 1,225 litres, which would then make it an extremely practical coupe. Come the GT, it’ll be an exciting one too.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• JeremyNg on Feb 18, 2013 at 7:03 pm

This car good for Car rugby !!

• AVH® on Feb 18, 2013 at 7:37 pm

Nah,Sportedge is better

• kadajawi on Feb 19, 2013 at 9:36 am

Now you know why Toyota salesman are running scared and creating a false rumour of bad Resale Value for Korean cars. Infact, Toyota resale value seems to be dropping so fast that it shocks people nowadays. I just sold a 2010 Camry for RM85,000. That is the best I could get!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
        • alldisc™ on Feb 19, 2013 at 10:24 am

i must agree the trade-in value is pretty low but nowadays most ppl capable of buying cars will go for brand new – even you. even me.

this is where it hurts the most. used car dealers do not know how fast they can sell back you car, it can take them a year for all we know during which the value has depreciated more.

• AVH® on Feb 19, 2013 at 11:07 am

A Toyota salesman told me the benefit and disadvantage of Korean cars. But in the end made me convince a Toyota……is better for my parents. I actually don’t really care of Resale value, It’s more about the spare parts as the car goes older. Sadly, most people I know has a car for more than 7 years. I can’t re-assure myself that a Korean car will be easy to maintain after that length of period.

But anyway, I said I prefer Sportedge in reference to the latest Top Gear episode.

• Petrolhead on Feb 18, 2013 at 8:58 pm

Somehow the rear reminds me a little of the Fiat Bravo

• ko ek on Feb 18, 2013 at 8:06 pm

The rear is so sexy like a Porsche

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Sam Loo on Feb 18, 2013 at 8:17 pm

Yeah, buyers of these cars will proceed to the soundproof room to shout Hailat after they find out the trade-in value of their car after one year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 40
    • When was the last time you checked the 2nd hand market value? 10 years ago?

• kadajawi on Feb 19, 2013 at 10:09 am

Sam Loo people have got fed up with you. They all know that you are a disgrunted Toyota salesman trying to prop up the price of Toyota. Care to explain how my 2010 excellent condition Toyota Camry with only 80,000 KM clocked on it can ONLY fetch RM85,000?

• AVH® on Feb 19, 2013 at 3:12 pm

Fed up? like hell. he is the only joker here that can make me, and everybody I know that reads Paultan, laugh. Do you really take him that seriously? he is the village idiot and when he leaves, the comment section will be as dry and humorless as the Atacama desert.

• common on Feb 19, 2013 at 6:20 pm

common la, he has business to take care of, that’s why his opinion always goes against car enthusiasts here, especially about RV.

• RejimKejamGanas on Feb 20, 2013 at 4:46 am

Really? Based on what I surveyed a month ago, the lowest selling price was at about RM120,000. Did the car have any issues? With 80,000KM it is higher than the average 60,000KM but it should not be a reason for it to sell so low.

• Alberto on Feb 18, 2013 at 9:58 pm

Rear headlamp copy cat Ford Focus. No originality and wasted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • alex chan on Feb 18, 2013 at 10:31 pm

correct!!yeahh u so genius alberto!! must be studying at havard..same copy as focus..they are red and have two (left and right side)….moron!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • AVH® on Feb 18, 2013 at 11:01 pm

Honestly, I’ve comment on this copy here and copy there things until I’am bored and watch more Paultan office Harlem Shake. When it comes to KIA, I said it before, the Optima K5 still has it’s identity for being completely Korean and Schreyer original. Recent KIA’s has been an orgy of other brands(preferably Europeans brand) of direct inspiration.

I have actually thought Peter, after the K9 and the K3, stop taking BMW’s design. but than i notice that space between the headlights and grill…..F30 !!!

• harlem panda on Feb 18, 2013 at 11:12 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V-mbMcMTTh0

• I have identified those copycating loooong ago. To schreyer, please make it different ok? it’s not look bad but please think out of the box, something nwe and different from bmw/merc/vw design but a still a looker. Being conti flair is not wrong but not that near, ok?

• It looks a bit like Scirocco.

• Ben10 on Feb 18, 2013 at 10:07 pm

the 1.6GDi petrol engine produces 223Nm of torque?? for real??

• High compression stroke and direct injection I guess.

• Ben10 on Feb 19, 2013 at 8:43 am

I do understand that direct injection engine can produce more than 10Nm/l but 223Nm for a naturally-aspirated 1.6L engine is just too much.

The Mini Cooper S only had 260Nm, and that’s with the help of a turbocharger. If Kia manage to get that torque figure without a turbocharger, that’s quite some breakthrough!

• butthurt on Feb 19, 2013 at 1:45 am

That’s turbo + GDI, no wonder can churn out that power. Even with lesser hp, the car is good enough to sprint from 0km/h, good for city cruising and of course fc happy. So why not kia put that engine to kia ‘froggy’ rio or k3. it’d be the selling point like those in preve

• jacksonkua on Feb 18, 2013 at 10:48 pm

The rear look 80% like my DS4.

• tokmoh on Feb 19, 2013 at 1:00 am

For the first time in the history of Top Gear… Jeremy Clarkson approved!

inb4 preve bestest evar car

inb4 msia lowest ownership cost, bersyukurlah and balas budi

inb4 kroni songlap

inb4 undi for change

• Are we getting this car through Naza KIA anytime soon?

• ah beng naza on Feb 19, 2013 at 9:53 am

hard to say lorr… we also don’t have the c’eed, now already pro’ceed….maybe jpj hard to ‘process’..even the rio also we are 2 years late…and when come here only have 4 speed gear…other country have 6 speed… what a bullshit la…very very feel turn down ma… maybe this is naza’s marketing idea.. not to compete much with Chevy Sonic…but a very turn down to customer..

so don’t hope too much…we malaysian always been cheated like this…

• Dr Advisor on Feb 19, 2013 at 7:50 am

1. The recent Proton workers’ strike over minimum wage issues drawn me to conclusion that Proton still suffering from idle capacity of its factory.

2. Proton simply cannot afford to pay higher salary while not much cars to assemble due to lower sales.

3. Proton should lease part of their factory to Naza Kia for this CKD model and other models too. Absorb the affected Proton workers also.

4. With more Kia cars assembled at Proton factory and using Proton workers at least the workers are able to continue getting their salary and even increase it a bit above minimum wage.

5. We shall see if Proton still cannot produce nice design cars like Kia then I’m afraid sooner or later DRB group got no choice but to lelong Proton to Naza and Kia Korea group lah HE HE HE HE HE

• is it golf scirocco cousin or what?