Audi made Qoros drop the GQ3 name, report says

649724_Qoros-3-Sedan---front-qtr-wheels-turned1

In a striking reprisal of events, a report by Die Welt states that Audi filed a lawsuit against Qoros to stop the young Chinese brand from using the Q initial in naming their cars.

The report says a German district court ruled in Audi’s favour, which explains why the previously-announced Qoros GQ3 is now simply known as the Qoros 3 Sedan.

We wonder therefore if a certain Munich- or Hiroshima-based carmaker will sit up and take notice of that solitary numerical, and hang on, doesn’t Infiniti use that letter of the alphabet too?

Last November, Qoros was granted a preliminary injunction against Kia, to the effect that the latter couldn’t use the Quoris name for its upcoming RWD flagship sedan in the EU.

Are Europe’s concerns about Chinese competition starting to show, or is Qoros merely getting a taste of its own traditional medicine?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• We will not tolerate any act against our brand! release the laser shooting Panda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Rommel on Feb 19, 2013 at 3:32 pm

Crap, release the hoards of Nazi Zombie !

• AVH® on Feb 20, 2013 at 9:38 am

This is nothing but a racist move by the Germans. They are jealous of the success of the Chinese. Work harder lah Germans and don’t let the EU suck you dry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • AVH® on Feb 20, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Germany is the forth largest economy in the world and largest in Europe. And per capita they outrank China.

I did’t here much of the German economy collapsing in the Euro crisis, in fact, they are one of the most stable. They are one of the hardest working country in the world along with S.Korea, Hong Kong and Japan. They are known to be the most punctual and precise country in the world, and stereo typically thought to be obsessed with perfection.

So why don’t you try working in Germany, you won’t last a week there. Don’t mix them with the slacking Spain. They are way different. Racists? read your own comments to confirm who is racists. They are no Nazis anymore.

• AVH® on Feb 19, 2013 at 3:38 pm

So Audi and Kia are showing concern of a Chinese super force. The Japanese brands can’t do much without starting a spark on politics and the Island dispute. The British brands are pretty much Asian and Kuwaiti, the Swedes are already on the Chinese.

Proton? nah that Chinese development project in Kuantan should delay their influence for a bit longer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • carman on Feb 19, 2013 at 3:43 pm

wait til their israeli partner to intervene saying audi is anti semitic .surely the court will favor qoros :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • ben yap on Feb 19, 2013 at 4:09 pm

in fact should ban the Chinese from making cars. they always copy people and lack of originality. they copy from phone, to bags, to clothes, guitars and cars. what the hell?

last time the japanese used to copy the americans too especially their guitars. that’s why the japs keep quiet.

anyway, I never support the Chinese brands. lousy, unreliable and total rip off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 29
    • OwYang Fung on Feb 19, 2013 at 5:47 pm

If you’re using streamyx or any 3G modem, most probably you’re using HuaWei.

Lenovo produce pretty good laptops. Not sure if you’re saying Chinese as a race or China. If Chinese, then HTC is pretty good, so is Acer.

Giordano? Haier is not good but improving, Bank of China is huge with more capital reserve than most western zombie bankrupted banks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
      • frenzy on Feb 19, 2013 at 7:36 pm

It the one from MAINLAND CHINA! Luxury sedan with a rip off tail lamp? Dafaq!
        China just thinking of the fastest way to earn a lot of money, no passion in anything except power and money, not even prestige! As a Chinese I feel shame for the people in mainland.

• AVH® on Feb 20, 2013 at 3:25 pm

Acer is Taiwan. Lenovo is Ameican technology. and the Huawei modems are giving me hell.

But honestly, If you’re going to buy something that is Chinese brand ,you ought to expect it to be unreliable and poorly make. But than again where can we afford good quality Western or Japan/Korean brand. I still go around in my Chinese made shirt from the Pasar, is cheap comfortable.

• Expatriate VN on Feb 19, 2013 at 5:49 pm

No one bother about you for not support Chinese (i.e. car) brands! The reality is China is the world largest auto market in term of volume!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Expatriate VN on Feb 19, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Joke of snake year! Who are in power and position to ban the Chinese from making car. Which laws! Is it UN have the power to do so. Another keyboard warrior typing at his fancy and craps!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • silver on Feb 19, 2013 at 4:51 pm

I don’t get it .. it GQ not Q doubt anyone would ever be confuse about both the brand … If there is a person with the right to sue it would be GQ magazine…

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 19, 2013 at 5:32 pm

Good one, Quoros use GQ not Q, next up BMW ban them from using 1,3,5,6,7, M.Benz sued not allow A,B,C,E,M,R
      The first fellow Audi should sued is KIA new president.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Very lame action by Audi, come on fight like a man not auntie.

• KillBox1Alpha on Feb 20, 2013 at 10:42 pm

It’s not about being lame, it’s about doing the right thing, Chinese car makers have been ripping off design ideas from the Germans for a long time, and now the name.

They absolutely deserved it!!

• nabill on Feb 19, 2013 at 10:50 pm

geez man….even ur car name u have to take from somene…MAKE UR OWN DAMN NAME !
    Use a Name and NOT a Leter/Number Combinations

• gOOsh on Feb 20, 2013 at 8:29 am

they try to catch most attention from all potential customer…but if this QOROS put on sale in our Bolehland, it will sell…

• Sivaghami on Feb 20, 2013 at 9:03 am

Its china made… How far can it get despite boasting all the high technology.