Volkswagen Golf Mk7 – ad pops up on oto.my

volkswagen golf mk7 on oto 1

There’s been much ado lately about the Volkswagen Golf Mk7. Not content with being sighted on our soil, an ad has now surfaced on oto.my that says the car is “launching very soon” and is “now open for booking” with a listed indicative price of RM157,888 (click here to view the ad).

The specs listed in the ad match what we deduced from the car in the spyshots: Bluemotion Technology, cylinder deactivation and 1.4 TSI. It adds that a five-year warranty and five-year roadside assistance is offered. Of course, all these have yet to be made official, including the price, but there isn’t long to wait now!

A treasure trove of information on the Volkswagen Golf Mk7 can be found here, a load of additional high-res images here and some videos from the drive presentation in Sardinia here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 127
    • can it ferry 7 people like an mpv?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 48
      • babe, its not mpv, im not going to answer this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
      • What kind of question is that???? Are you for real?? Go fly kites laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • gabook on Feb 22, 2013 at 4:14 am

For 1560k only can ferry 5 people la, this is car, what do you expect?

You can buy 2 exora with this and ferry 14 people already, that if you want my answer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Can ….go buy a Hyundai Starex

• http://www.carbuyer.co.uk/reviews/volkswagen/golf/hatchback/video#video

view this video by carbuyer…the “only car that you’ll ever need” …the mk7 golf “full Stop”

• Sure u do on Feb 21, 2013 at 10:06 pm

So after u buy, dis is “the only car” u need to maintain n put attend wit potentially issue from DSG n lousy service center. U believe all d reports stated DSG problem solve??? Sure??? Anyone has try it in M’sia n driving for mths??? Ops nope, so still Hav to base on current real user experience n history to judge.

I think u can even forget our partying or romancing since dis new toy will bug all ur time n money.

God bless.

Btw, I m not any car salesman but a VICTIM OF VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
      • Obama on Feb 22, 2013 at 11:18 am

One of my friend who drives a Polo, and after one year is in the service center due to some electronic faulty part and have to be towed in the middle of the road. Currently the insurance is delaying the compensation of about $20k for replacing the part for about 2 months now.

• VW Shitty After Sales Service on Feb 21, 2013 at 10:45 pm

No matter how good is dis car or how interesting Izit or fun to drive …….. All VW owner in M’sia still face those shitty service center quality.

Especially service manager in Damansara outlet. I m speechless bout him and u can try talk to him and whatever he commit to you …….. BEWARE!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • semoll on Feb 22, 2013 at 9:49 am

nice car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 50
    • go go vw on Feb 23, 2013 at 9:55 pm

why all the good comments about this car receiving abnormally high dislikes?
      Anyone threatened by the growth of vw in malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 69
      • Wutdayamean with growth? VW market is nothing compared with japs and koreans here. If VW wants their cars sold like hot cakes, please make the price as cheap as koreans

• ahmad loy on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:10 pm

Seems like the Audi’s with VW badge..offer an Audi’s features engine technology, direct injection fuel system, dual clutch gearbox and for both interior & exterior..good strategy capturing ordinary people who cannot afford Audi’s..BUT beware the DSG7..the mechatronic unit cost you around sterling 4.5K about RM15-20K off warranty period!..nice to have but with 10 yrs. warranty.

• seancorr on Feb 21, 2013 at 5:38 pm

With that kind of price it better comes with the active bending xenon lights and navigation!

• The only car that you really need

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 97
  • Davincci on Feb 21, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Oh my! 7 speed DSG! Poison !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 105
  • brett on Feb 21, 2013 at 6:18 pm

for rm157k i can buy a property already…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 28
    • obviously on Feb 21, 2013 at 8:24 pm

duh…thanks captain obvious..anything else you want to tell us what to do with your money?

• Ya 20 years ago u can buy a property but now only a hatchback car.

• RON97 on Feb 22, 2013 at 10:15 am

Forgive this guy call brett
        He’s from 80’s who listen to Alleycat songs

• Property?! at least RM300k to RM800k and above. for RM157k you only can buy lousy low cost flat. For rent only RM300 per month ok!

• Do you think RM157k can buy a landed house?

• semoll on Feb 22, 2013 at 9:53 am

yup can buy at any kg…

• letstorque on Feb 22, 2013 at 3:26 pm

You thing house and land value now cheap in kampung?

Unless you want kl-spec size 4000 sq ft land in kampung, but normally its 2 acres size, by the main road, which will cost 120k for land alone.

• rosdi on Feb 21, 2013 at 6:27 pm

Bluemotion…, does that mean this car is a diesel car? As from what I understood Bluemotion is diesel with very frugal fuel consumption..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Bluemotion are engines that specifically falls under a certain emission criteria. The diesel does and this does as well. However, the innovative thing about this petrol engine is that it disables 2 cylinder when the power is not needed. Works similar to Mitsubishi cylinder deactivation system last time around.

• kambinganas on Feb 21, 2013 at 11:27 pm

Bluemotion is just their general trademark for a range of fuel economy tech.

Lebihkan membaca:
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BlueMotion

• @rosdi. bluemotion is almost kindred perpendicularly similar akin like bluetooth.

• Sensibility Rules on Feb 21, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Finally, a car worth investing my hard earned savings on this year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 50
  • Realist on Feb 21, 2013 at 8:16 pm

Buy one Golf or buy three Myvi with money left over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
    • realty on Feb 21, 2013 at 9:54 pm

better buy one myvi and one flat.
      you don’t want to live and sleep in a car

• Wake Up guy on Feb 21, 2013 at 10:14 pm

Or, two KIA Rio

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • kambinganas on Feb 21, 2013 at 11:30 pm

Or better yet buy a motorbike with money left over for a low cost house.

Please contribute more examples for our friend Realist here.

• reality on Feb 22, 2013 at 9:05 am

more example… better buy myvi (45k), married (30k), house deposit(20k), decorate(25k), ASB(balance) and live happily ever after…. did you need more example mr. realist?

• Why don’t you say buy 1 Bently can buy how many Myvi & Saga already?

• Buy 1 Myvi can buy so many Honda EX5! How do you like that…

• Ernest Wai on Feb 21, 2013 at 8:55 pm

Comes with twincharged engine(as per ad)?

• Turbocharged only. Twincharged no longer in production due to high cost to produce

• riswan rahman on Feb 21, 2013 at 10:07 pm

this listing on oto is already KO.
    sure who the salesman that posted already got screw by the VM Malaysia.

btw … not worth it to compare size n price.
    but yes the technology is good.

RR

• ryuki on Feb 21, 2013 at 10:11 pm

Better budget RM200K for this Golf. 160k for the Golf, balance get a Viva. Because you will drive the Viva while the Golf in the workshop repairing the DSG 7 LOL! Haaaaa … and soon realize you do more miles in the Viva than the Golf…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • Sam low on Feb 21, 2013 at 10:18 pm

Ok going to get one for my Pinoy maid to go pasar buy vege

• Proton Saga advance version

• flying car on Feb 21, 2013 at 10:33 pm

Why Pay more for less power..it is 140hp..mk6 is 160hp! In europe, most ppl criticise on this matter..anyway,mk6 is still expensive due to this matter..ppl still prefer mk6 rather than mk7.

• 2 letters, FC.

• Pay more for the exterior & interior but not for hp.

• mk6 is the history,no matter which one is better or bad…

• this mk7 have 250nm of torque compared to the twincharged 240nm of torque. Torque is more important for daily use, if u need a faster golf, wait for the coming mk7 gti.

btw, the mk7 is lighter by 100kg compared to the mk6….think power to weight ratio & its higher torque…u can imagine how bttr its drives

• vincent on Feb 21, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Funny to see some ppl relate the car price with the size of the car. If that is the case, why not buy a lorry with cheaper price. Lol!
    Golf is not a luxury car, but it is definitely a premium car for those who actually own and drive one before. The whole car gives you a solid feel which you can’t find it in a 17xk Prius Hybrid (price before hybrid incentive). Not to mention the technology that such car possessed.
    No doubt the price is a little on the high side, I do hope that it can be lowered to 14xk range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Feb 21, 2013 at 11:47 pm

Yes, go and feel German cars and compare with Toyotas.

• defry on Feb 22, 2013 at 4:19 am

Yeah feel that car only one day a week due to mechanical failure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • lonelyobserve on Feb 22, 2013 at 7:13 am

Actually Golf not really on premium level, just the duty structure jumps Golf into that level. Furthermore, the equipments provided by VW Malaysia is in full spec, i.e. you get everything the car has to offer but which are not necessary to all car owners.

• coming from VW i expected something better, honestly this car looks as interesting as a blank paper,
    im a huge golf fan, its okay if they spent more money on the interior but NO! it looks exactly the same as the previous one.
    however the great news is that after they release this, the prices on second hand mk5 & mk6 are going to drop fast.

• nighttrain on Feb 21, 2013 at 11:55 pm

Square headlights.. Gangnam style much?

• Noriko on Feb 22, 2013 at 12:10 am

Only a retard would buy protong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
    • you have no choice when there is financial constraints, after all, Protong still the cheapest.

• kingston on Feb 22, 2013 at 12:24 am

One word “Focus”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • amirad on Feb 22, 2013 at 7:48 am

Previously, a polo is a scaled down golf. Now it looks as if the new golf is a scaled up polo. The front grill and the squarer headlights are very much polo.

• As my prediction, the cocky VGM will retain the saving made to produce this 140ps engine instead of COSTLIER TO MANUFACTURE 160ps.

Do they pass the saving to buyers? NOPE. No thanks for blindly support VW. Blind supporter give no positive to rather not positive image of VW after-sales not to mention that their unpopular dry 7DSG. Just go to VW 3S and talk to existing Golf buyers.

If we’re more critical, they don’t dare to even think of putting the same price as the predecessor’s.

Perhaps, the blind supporter love to see VGM offer a 1.2 Golf and slap a price tag of RM161k? Profiteering and not so reliable DSG with mere 5 years instead of 10 years warranty enjoy by Americans also another negative point of the brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • CARtoon on Feb 22, 2013 at 9:51 am

Cant help but to agree with most of the commentators here that VGM has basically screwed up when it comes to after-sales and the reality of the quality of their cars in certain aspects.
      The halo effect generated by massive marketing budget gets tainted almost as soon as one takes ownership of a VW in MY and evaporates as soon as one escalates a problem to a SC.
      So, that’s your own medicine VW. Live up to your chest thumping and people will go on as brand ambassadors for you willingly. Threat us as dirt and you get a huge backlash right in your face.
      To all considering a new VW, just think twice and lower your pristine expectations. Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • tokmoh on Feb 22, 2013 at 11:31 am

It’s the same song all manufacturers sing.

Every new generation, breakthrough! New tech save cost! Save fuel! Save this save that, save save save!

But do consumers save? Hell no, manufacturers save but charge more cuz “value added new feature” means increase in price.

Worse still if downgrade like Camry remove VSC, best insult I’ve seen in a while.

• www.carbuzz.co.uk/car-reviews/Volkswagen/Golf

• ben yap on Feb 22, 2013 at 9:50 am

better go buy a camry. bigger car too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • jerung on Feb 22, 2013 at 10:12 am

Don’t quite understand what the fuss is about with the DSG. Do a lot of owners have problems with this? Among my colleagues and I (we have nothing to do with VW or any auto business), we have a GTI mark6, Polo, GTI mark5, Beattle and a Jetta. Yet, among us, none has had any problems with DSG or whatever (touch wood!). We must be extremely lucky then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 106
    • golfer on Feb 22, 2013 at 9:54 pm

yup, me too…i have an almost 2 yrs old golf 1.4 tsi. no issue at all wt my dsg7. love the car, gave me a massive grin every time i drove it. my previous honda city is more unreliable compared to the golf so far. City was bug wt its CVT gearbox jerking..etc..etc…Guys! do u remember this issue, previously highlighted few years back on Paultan blog

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 81
      • go go vw on Feb 23, 2013 at 9:42 pm

yes..me too..driving a polo for 2 yrs already, no problems with dsg whatsoever..
        I think most of the negative comments here come from people who are jealous or threatened by the spectacular growth of vw in malaysia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 78
    • Medic on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:04 am

Currently using Mk6 Tsi,been to Sc several times for clutch kit changed,battery changed,& mechatronics replaced under warranty.Each time car spent 1-2 days at Sc.In spite of these,i still love driving Vw.Drove jap car off &on,but when i get behind Vw,it when i felt i’ve been missing it.

Comfort,handling &ride,power &frugality(though i wack now &then)..I’m aware of DSG reliability,but this prob seems to affect earlier models.Vw has since changed its vendor,hopefully this intermitten prob is solved.Those detractors out there,go test drive,but beware & be ready to be poisoned.

• RM160k Golf 1.4 2011 now retailed at below RM120K. Perhaps when the new model unveiled the price will drop further.

2. If DSG problems were made public and existing owners just can’t stand anymore about their after sale service experience by VW brand, the brand will deprecated even faster.

Tje Passat pricing is OK but not this C-segment car. Wait and see if their sale stats heading south or otherwise.

• vw ex-owner on Feb 22, 2013 at 11:15 am

I was a mk6 golf TSi 1.4 twincharged owner for 2 years. After 1 fuel pump failure ( 1 month in service centre) and a mechatronics failure in the middle of sg besi highway ( another 1 month in service centre ), of the 8 weeks total in repair, I was only lucky enough to be given 3 weeks of loaner car. A blue 1.6 jetta.

Each service cost me roughly 1k, but it always takes 1 full day to complete, I send the car in at 10am, only 4pm they call me that my car is complete.

The front right tyre has irregular wear, despite rotated and aligned at service centre.

The dsg judders. Similar to manual gearbox where you release your clutch too soon, usually obvious in hot traffic jam and traffic lights. I identified this to me pumping RON95 petrol, ron97 solved it. Again despite the so called dsg firmware upgrade.

The golf 6 tsi’s aircond is breathless in our hot afternoon. Always maxing out when my other local and Japanese car is fine, even with very good solar tints.

While my golf is being repaired for both major problems, I called umpteen times, but only a handful of times was returned. I did not yell, scream, was not sarcastic, I only wanted a dateline which they could not give me.

New buyers of vw products, be very cautious of what they can offer you. Your car need premium ron97 eventhough the ‘minimum’ is ron95. And also choose your service centre wisely.

I hope I am the only unlucky owner, as no other person should have to go through this when you buy a 150k car BRAND NEW.

I have since sold it and bought a different vehicle.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 41
    • Curious, what did you buy afterwards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • VW Ex Owner Too on Feb 23, 2013 at 1:44 am

I totally agreed wit u but I face worst than you till I m speechless compare wit 2 of my Jap car which more than 5 years, lots more milelage n still running fine without any major issue. Just imagine my 2 Jap car totall 5 years maintenance record d number of going to service center is still less than my ex VW 9 mths records.

BEWARE NEW VW BUYER ——— THINK NOT JUST TWICE BUT MORE THAN 10 TIMES BEFORE U WAN TO BUY VW OR U JUST TOO LOADED N DIS PIECE OF JUNK IS JUST A “WEEKEND TOY” TO U.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 39
      • So what’s your vw problem? Please elaborate. We will need further evidence to prove that your statement is genuine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 82
        • Bullshitttttt on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:49 pm

As like u really care n able to help. Y not u tell me if u a VW sales person or a service center technician, we can meet in any of Klang valley VW outlet then u buy over my car, I will definitely appreciate ur blunt statement.

Don act like a hero whr u re just fake!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
      • Worst??!!! last year i bought a recond Bently Continental. I had a gearbox and absorber problem. only drive 4 times. now still in KL workshop. I spend rm300k plus for repair it. so do you think yours worst?!

• Ronan on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Unfortunately I don’t think you are alone in your previous predicament ! Too may stories of crappy dsg and other reliability issues with Vw . Poor service advisors at the VW service centers must be working their butts off

• unforgiven on Feb 23, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Soon, it’ll be approx rm 100k, if the majority would like that to happen, let’s do that

• Ah Beng on Feb 23, 2013 at 11:00 pm

It’s now selling at RM999,999.

• David on Feb 25, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Buy Ford Focus ST 2.0L Ecoboost better. no problem at all. trust me.

• Ronan on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:40 pm

I enjoyed the comment threads with an overwhelming number of negative & cautionary tales.. Mainly re dsg . In fact before reading this I had seriously considered a new Mk7 given th excellent write ups by international and local mags alike (but then again they don’t have to own it and service it ). I am reminded of a friend’s Polo which suffered air cond problems with all sorts of parts replacements and days off the road!! Then a BIL’s polo gti with dsg issues . I THINK I BETTER STEER CLEAR OF VW !! Thanks again

• Chillum T on Apr 13, 2013 at 3:35 am

Have had the 2.0 tdi dsg 150 bhp for a month now, and its absolutely great to drive, I’ll remain phlegmatic about the car, even with the £31,450. Price.