Mazda CX-5 CKD prices released – RM144k to RM160k

mazda-cx-5
UPDATE: The official pricing for the three CKD variants of the Mazda CX-5 have been announced. As of June 1, 2013, pricing for the 2WD Mid Spec variant is RM136,943, while the 2WD High Spec goes for RM144,125 and the 4WD High Spec version is RM154,385, Read the latest story here.

Prices for the Mazda CX-5 CKD are out! The locally-assembled SUV now starts at RM144,125 for the 2WD Mid Spec, while the 2WD High Spec is set at RM149,255. The range-topping 4WD High Spec variant will set you back RM159,515. Quoted prices are on-the-road including insurance.

Launched in CBU form in May 2012, the Japanese made CX-5 was priced back then at RM159,500 for the 2WD and RM169,760 for the AWD, both in the same high spec, which means the difference is around RM10,000. You can click here to view our original launch report and here for a test drive report.

The CX-5 SUV is the second Mazda to be locally assembled at Inokom’s facility in Kedah after the Mazda 3 sedan and hatchback. In July 2012, Bermaz Motor, the distributor of Mazda vehicles in Malaysia since 2008, inked a joint venture agreement with Mazda Motor Corporation for a manufacturing programme in Malaysia, which will see Mazda increase local assembly and manufacturing activities in our country.

Mazda’s entry saw the establishment of Mazda Malaysia Sdn Bhd, responsible for both manufacturing and increasing localisation activities to support Bermaz Motor’s sales and marketing efforts. Mazda Motor Corp has 70% share in the JV, with the rest held by its local partner. Full story here.

Click here to view an ad of the CKD CX-5 from our sister site oto.my. Click on the official price/equipment list scans below for a better view.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• What about 2.5 model???will it enter malaysia’s market and made into ckd also???

• Jimmy on Feb 22, 2013 at 5:34 pm

I still remember someone once asked this question: what is CKD? I like your question. Or I make it slightly clearer to the readers: what is the meaning of CKD?

I see a big G here. So B is going to follow U? Because it is unlikely a tactic to push for sales.

• vortex on Feb 22, 2013 at 10:42 am

No more BOSE ?

• Why bother if the difference is only 6k. With the falling Yen, CBU units could theoretically be cheaper. Having said that, I don’t think Bermaz will reduce the price. Will see their hands when the M6 is officially launched next month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • takNakP1 on Feb 22, 2013 at 11:19 am

why all the hassle for CKD when the saving is not significant. CKD sounds more like a “trick” to make more $$$ with reduced specs. same like Honda Hybrid Jazz.

• this is proof of my word bout ckd n made in boleh thingy said by paultanise. no need manufacturer open factory here just open at thai n indo enough..lol

• Vader on Feb 22, 2013 at 11:49 am

Another blood sucking CKD model, just like CKD Jazz hybrid.
      Price only reduce RM6k, no more sun roof and bose sound system, any other hidden features or equipment??
      If some1 really interested on it, just take the CBU model, RM6k per 60 months (5 years) is nothing much different!
      Just to hope that they discontinue the CBU model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • Hurry up and don’t waste anymore time typing comments and go buy a CBU now! Oops gone…

• Azman on Feb 22, 2013 at 10:50 am

What a joke….CKD should maintain all the same spec as CBU but unfortunately sunroof and BOSE system was taking off…..with this 2 features out of the spec, the priced shall go down further….Paul, can u define what does it means by special packages? Seems it was in 2 different prices in between mid spec and high spec for 2WD? No low spec for 2WD?

• this is another proof of my word bout ckd n made in boleh thingy said by paultanise. no need manufacturer open factory here just open at thai n indo enough..lol

• Abg Long on Feb 22, 2013 at 10:58 am

although it is now cheaper by rm6k, it is still expensive.

• umnokakipitnah on Feb 22, 2013 at 11:06 am

6k only??..knowing Berjaya group and their pricing on CKD mazda3,it should be expected..CBU owner wont regret

• shawal on Feb 22, 2013 at 11:10 am

no bose and 19 inch wheels..

• hantu on Feb 22, 2013 at 11:13 am

why bother with ckd if the difference is only 6K?
    greedy greedy BERMAZ!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • shawal on Feb 22, 2013 at 11:13 am

the special accessories package is kinda like those tidbits you’re force to take at a karaoke lounge …
    you can’t drive the thing out without wheels can you…?

• shawal on Feb 22, 2013 at 11:16 am

they’re still selling the cbu models dont they???

• Apalalu on Feb 22, 2013 at 11:22 am

Rm6k reduction? Why bother to CKD? For that puny difference i would rather get a CBU unit.

• Wow just like Jazz Hybrid, slightly cheaper with so much less accessory. Better buy CBU worth more

• ben yap on Feb 22, 2013 at 11:39 am

so small margin price reduction. not worth to buy. Bermaz can go fly kite la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • CBU units are not available anymore.

• actually on the road including insurance for CBU 2wd is around RM160k. comparing to CKD 2wd high spec on the road price is RM149k. so that is arouind RM10k less.

• cxfive on Feb 22, 2013 at 12:46 pm

Yup…the price is misleading la Danny.

Price wise the 2WD – RM155,219 and AWD – RM165,219 (both OTR, without insurance).

The difference are about 10k actually.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 22, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Yes, you guys are right about that. The price difference OTR w ins VS OTR w ins should be around RM10k. Story amended.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • It is unfortunate for us to see the price of CKD models do not come down that much from CBU models. This is merely due to high cost of locally sourced parts. Surprisingly CBU models arrive cheaper compared to the market price of fully locally assembled models. Malaysians are forced to bear all the duties imposed by the Government for CBU and CKD models. Worse case the Malaysian authorities set their own scale of vehicle pricing so that we pay high duties, even though local distributors negotiate hard with the principal to bring down the vehicle price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • old dog on Feb 22, 2013 at 12:13 pm

typical cronies act

1) Yen dropped so much still no reduce price
    2) chopped off the Bose and still no reduce price
    3) CKD reduce 6k? WTF

time to boycott this Mazda since locally assemble i believe the quality will sure dropped off…

remind us this is Msian cronies world again!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
  • owesome on Feb 22, 2013 at 12:33 pm

blame it on government…they are the one who set the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
  • Black Dog on Feb 22, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Business is business. When they CKD of course they need a good margin to go through all the hassles. If you don’t like it, buy from the competition. Simple.

This is a free market. Typical malaysian mentality, everything wants to be controlled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • I can’t understand they rather if the difference is just RM6k l rather opt for the CBU. Period.

The very purpose of CKD is merely to fulfill Mazda lust not to please the customers. Yes to set up the CKD operation is a cost but from buyer’s perspective, they’re only concern about getting significantly cheaper price tag. Otherwise, nobody will give a damn.

The trend in Malaysia auto sector is alarming. Be it VW, Mazda or whatever brands, they just wanna please their greed.

One formula before decide to do CKD: higher spec, cheaper price OR bring CBU. Lesser risk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • rakyat on Feb 22, 2013 at 12:47 pm

Price reduction for CKD is not much.

CBU = import duty on CIF = 30%
    CKD = import duty on CIF = 10%
    Savings of 20%

CKD savings
    a) reduction of 20% import duty on CIF ( I believe this should be approx Rm8-9k savings, assuming the CIF of the CBU CX-5 is approx Rm40-45k? Any CBU owners willing to furnish the CIF value , it is on the car’s customs form )
    b) savings on removal of sun roof = RM ?
    c) savings on cheaper sound system = RM ?

Only RM6k cheaper?
    Not all savings are transferred to the end buyers.

This scenario seemed to applly most CKD models sold in Malaysia!
    Seemed that all car principals are earning more by CKD’ing their models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • nabill on Feb 22, 2013 at 12:56 pm

haha..thats like rm5x off ur monthly installment only…n whoever thinks ckd quality is same like the imported one thy dont know what thy r talking about…

• MITI is the one to be blame for the car price in malaysia. why? i am so lazy to explain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Bermaz berjaya failed us. We forced to accept mediocre local assembly quality at higher price if you discounted the BOSE.

Gagal Mazda Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • WTF!!! That Bose set only worth RM6k? Eat shit la… It worth more than that la…

• Quick..go complain to governme bout the price.election is near..sure listen

• crank on Feb 22, 2013 at 2:09 pm

WTH!! The price should be much lower than stated.

Only in Malaysia we get lower spec (which also includes safety features;compromising passengers safety for the sake of money) and all this thanks to the government taxes. The local authorized distributors reduce the accessories offered and yet maintain the same price = Better profit.

I just saw the new Mazda 6 on the road today meaning the launch is pretty soon. It would be awesome if they brought the Skyactive Diesel versions here as well. I wonder if they are… I hope Mazda 6 don’t go through the same process of lowering the specs.

Speaking of Diesel, I just don’t understand why can’t we have good quality diesel here. Most European car manufacturers have been focusing on diesel because it has lesser emission. They are so environment conscious. When are we gonna be? I feel tax incentives should also be given to vehicles with low emission and better fuel economy for example the Mirage.

Sorry for going out of topic. Just felt like saying it.

• start-a-figt on Feb 22, 2013 at 3:32 pm

diesel not only used as passenger car fuel only, think about the fisherman, transportation lorries etc. if the price of diesel is increase, the cost of living sure increase. so implementing a new type of fuel have to really think about others too…

if too many type is introduce, more tank need to be installed on the petrol station to store those different type of fuel

• when no car assemble in malaysia, it means no job oppurtunity,people comlain…when car assemble in malaysia, people also complain,cronies laa, slightly price reduce laa…hard to satisfy all people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 40
    • berombon on Feb 22, 2013 at 5:12 pm

Naz, let them complain la. They are not buying it la, most cannot afford it anyway. So berlagak la macam sangat nak beli..just putting in their two cents worth only..This site has actually become one of my sources of entertainment….reading all the comments..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 36
      • betul tu! such a shame about the reduced spec n quality of ckd cx-5

• start-a-figt on Feb 22, 2013 at 3:33 pm

must understand between real CKD or malaysian type of CKD where only some parts is localized while importing the car as a whole..

the good news for Malaysian market is that buyer for CX5 does not need to wait for the allocation of cars to be delivered to Malaysia from assembling country, unless it is from Thailand and they could transport it via land.

• Bhmoey on Feb 22, 2013 at 3:50 pm

MITI is under BN control, so, are you ready for BN?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
    • Brayokmok on Feb 22, 2013 at 11:00 pm

YESss….because PR will eat more…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 37
      • berombon on Feb 23, 2013 at 4:06 pm

I agree with you..PR suma sedang lapar time ni, sure punya akan makan kau kau kalau diberi peluang. So kita jangan bagi PR itu peluang…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
  • Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 22, 2013 at 4:06 pm

NOTE: The price difference between CKD and CBU should be around RM10,000. The initial mention of RM6,000 did not take into account insurance for the CBU car.

Story has been amended, thanks to those who pointed out!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • seancorr on Feb 22, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Correct me if I’m wrong but when u do a CKD out of a CBU model it is supposed to be cheaper but the specs are supposed to stay the same.

So why omit the BOSE sound system and the 19″ wheels? Changing to 17″ is acceptable but I want a good sound system!

• shawal on Feb 22, 2013 at 4:46 pm

i hope they’d ship in the 2.5 version soon…
    with 19 inch, AWD n bose audio systme yo~!

• hantu on Feb 22, 2013 at 4:53 pm

the price difference is not really 10K since the CKD version does not have BOSE sound system and sunroof. What else is missing in the CKD?

• Ladoraka on Feb 22, 2013 at 7:10 pm

Made in Inokom same as F10/F30/E84/F25, excepted the quality same as BMW……lets wait N see comment from CKD buyer

• Ladoraka on Feb 22, 2013 at 7:13 pm

Made in Inokom same as F10/F30/E84/F25, excepted the quality same as BMW……lets wait N see comment from CKD buyer. Hopefully with this we can see a lot this car on the road

• Reader on Feb 23, 2013 at 12:17 am

Only few items are locally sourced.. Like tyres, rims and batteries.. The rest imported from Japan.. That’s why saving is less.. Don’t compare to Toyota,Honda or Nissan where most parts are sourced locally or within ASEAN, hence more savings.. And govt do control the price.. If you work in product development for local auto companies, you’ll know there will be many selling price submissions and revisions, before being approved.. Otherwise vios would be 50k++ only..

• Poppyplants on Feb 23, 2013 at 1:14 am

Another bullshit CKD car. Not that I’m buying this car, but Bermaz is basically telling people how greedy they are.

From what I see, the ONLY car manufacturer’s CKD that actually makes sense is that of BMW, with their cars specced much higher but with lower prices when CKD’ed.

• Davinnci on Feb 23, 2013 at 8:48 am

10k difference between CBU And CKD, it offer good deal for those who really like cx5

• autoIgnorant on Feb 23, 2013 at 10:42 am

Hi. If anyone can please explain, which would be a better Mazda CX5 to consider (I really do like this model)…the 2WD or the 4WD? I live in Sg Buloh so I take the highway daily, but like everyone else, do mostly city/suburban driving. I don’t envisage going off road – ever. Any advice would be most appreciated. Thanks aar…

• Reader on Feb 24, 2013 at 10:48 pm

4wd popular in Japan and Europe due to road conditions in winter. That’s why even small cars available in 4wd versions. We don’t need 4wd here. Don’t compare with 4wd found on 4×4 which are meant for off road.

• suria on Sep 25, 2013 at 3:44 pm

hai there, i can give u best deal fr mazda brand,call me 0r email me if u interested..thnks.im agent mazda kl..c0me and visit 0ur sh0wr00m t0day.

• chatterbox on Feb 23, 2013 at 12:09 pm

CX-5 is totally a fine car.

Bermaz is not. Since the 19″ to 17″ wheel controversy, they have been trying to take their customers for a ride.

• David D on Feb 23, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Price reduction? Good. Removing the sunroof and the fantastic Bose sound system? You gotta be kidding me.

• berombon on Feb 23, 2013 at 4:10 pm

Aiyoo David, got sunroof also what for? A useless feature la in Malaysia.. How I know? My car got one. I think I only open the sunroof less than 5 times in my 5 years of ownership.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
      • TurboMan on Feb 23, 2013 at 4:33 pm

My car has one too. Very useful.

Drive at night or early morning, open it and let the fresh air in.

It makes the cabin feel more spacious. You jam 2 hours to work everyday? If thats the case, then its not suitable for you. But you have to understand, the world is bigger than just you. THere is a bunch of other ppl who live their life differently than you.

Plus, taking away 2 major features, but offering only RM10k discount is just ridiculous. Don’t forget CKD models generally have lower quality compared to the CBU ones. Doors that rattle, dashboard that rattles, seats that rust are common in CKD models as opposed to the CBU ones. No difference in the engine/tranny though as those are usually assembled in the country of origin.

• Green on Feb 23, 2013 at 1:44 pm

Anyone know how much does the BOSE system cost? They should provide an option to stick with the CBU specs… tsk tsk tsk..

• motorhead on Feb 23, 2013 at 1:53 pm

What la CBU this, CKD that… You want CBU, buy la.. My place at Serdang raya have 10 units more. Come la buy! You have money or not? If not, stop complaining & talk craps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
  • Proud Owner of CX5 on Feb 23, 2013 at 11:50 pm

CX5 declared at port RM45k, i paid 60k for excise duty, RM 2k for shipping charge, RM 4k for insurance, The rest, company profit. can ask any existing cx5 owner, they knew it.

why u question about bose? its useless. no dvd player, lame HU interface, Tom Tom sux, an u really need sunroof in Malaysia.??

and all the function and safety in this ckd cx5 almost same with CBU, and most of us didnt get 19inch wheels as promised. We are not and wont getting the highest spec, or at least not on par with singapore spec.

i’m proud owner of cbu CX5, its a great car. but if u plan to buy CKD CX5, pity us because bermaz after sales service are sucks. Mazda is a Great Car, but Bermaz??? Bullshit.

tq :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Cin diesel on Feb 24, 2013 at 1:35 am

Crv u have my money

• Alvin on Feb 24, 2013 at 8:53 pm

So happen to drop by the mazda dealer in bangsar today to check out the cx 5. To my disappointment no show car to be found due to shortage of the vehicle. Apparently shipments from japan are 800 units a month while orders total up to 6000 units a month. Wow…. Hence the decision for Ckd due to be available in may. However, if you compare the past special package and new, its more expensive by 3k fromm 6 – 9 k! What the heck! You get less for paying more. No sunroof, no 9speaker system from. Bose, just a sat nav with 6speaker system. I think there is more room for further reduction. Anyone has verified on their new pricing?

• zebulun on Feb 25, 2013 at 10:43 am

this car is so-so only to be a true SUV ..buy the cheapest one still don’t have AWD/4WD.. rear seat cannot fit 3 adult comfortably..so small.. better go for crv or sportage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Eurotech on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:20 pm

Nice car.. CX-5 is totally a fine car.

• Vincent.boleh on Mar 09, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Latest news from Mazda:
    http://www.star-motoring.com/News/2013/Maz…sembly-ops.aspx

Quote: “Mohd Madani said the cars produced by Mazda in Kulim will be equipped with SkyActiv technology, which offers power but with better mileage and low emissions, allowing them to qualify as energy-efficient vehicles.”

CKD units could only be released in late-Apr / May as they are awaiting EEV tax incentive. If CX-5 CKD is accorded EEV tax exemption, seems likely, it will sell like hot cake like the Audi A6 hybrid. Waiting period will be unimaginable.

• wanna get a new car but struggle with which 1 to go!~
    130k-150k budget.. want bigger car – SUV preferred. Subaru XV / Mazda CX-5 / KIA Sportage / 2007 Harrier ? >.<

• for me the best choice is subaru xv, rm135k equipped with gps, leather seats and full AWD system.

• So, will they still sell CBU units or not?
    Anyone can confirm?
    Since CKD sucks, the only option is CBU if can afford it.

• mohd suhaimi on Mar 26, 2013 at 9:56 am

i was at bermaz shown room near the Federal Highway a week ago. i had my test drive on CX5 and satisfied with the vehicle performances.
    But then, i’ve learned that i was tested on CBU unit and i noticed the sound on bose system is really good. when i started to make a booking the saleman said i can book for CKD model only..no more CBU coming to local market. why???
    is this a trick by bermaz?? why not CKD model be tested first to the buyer and find irregularity between the models??? sound system or else in the package offered……. what is goverment role for raayat then…

• mohd suhaimi on Mar 27, 2013 at 12:41 pm

DO it sound good…by bermaz? stop the CBU unit and forced the Malaysians to get CKD unit with all low quality accessories inside!! what’s a rubbish ideas?? and reduce only 10K….

• mohd suhaimi on Mar 27, 2013 at 12:42 pm

It a suckkkk..

• Deebo on Mar 30, 2013 at 7:46 pm

Check your pocket..cant afford just buy cheap car.Dont have to waste your time debating CKD or CBU cars.Dont blame the govt nor the car manufacturer,as i said ALWAYS CHECK YOUR POCKET.Tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Dru-Zod on Mar 30, 2013 at 8:08 pm

Easy for you to say. We are forced to pay high prices for inferior quality local cars (read P1) which in turn raises the prices of CBU and CKD cars to protect local cars (read P1 again). So whose fault is it? My fault for not earning enough money?

• mohd suhaimi on Mar 31, 2013 at 2:17 pm

why must i check my pocket? coz’ i have already booked. this is to ensure the quality … without changing the accessories inside….

• One other developing country that I know of also CKD same price as our CBU unit, however 99% imported from Japan and only install some small components locally. Of coz, enjoying the full specs of CBU. For the CKD here, removing sunroof is ok, but take out BOSE?!?! I wonder whether is there any brand at all to the music player? Shud have just maintain the Bose player for those who can afford the higher spec ckd. Disappointed! It’s so obvious B only wanted to max profit, definitely not a good way to start! Worse is taking us Msian as fools!

• Heard that the aircond unit will also omit out the heater. So can only sejuk loh!

• cx-5 lover on May 12, 2013 at 8:33 pm

guys any idea on this car loan interest rate? let say 5 yr 90%..

• No more CBU coming in is a fact n that we the consumer cannot do any thing on it. Only hope CKD can has 2 spec. on the sound system. Hope can allow customer who like 9 speakers bose system to pay extra for their choice.

• Gan SL on Jun 18, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Huh? No more CBU CX-5 coming in? I still prefer to have CBU rather than CKD.

• Gan SL on Jun 18, 2013 at 3:11 pm

Can I still book a CBU CX-5?

• Gan SL on Jun 18, 2013 at 3:12 pm

I would like to have more information on the after-sale service program, e.g. workshops, service schedules etc…