Volkswagen XL1 production confirmed: 0.9 l/100 km!

Volkswagen XL1

You’re looking at what will be the world’s most fuel-efficient and most aerodynamic production car when it hits the streets – the Volkswagen XL1. It’s been officially confirmed for production, with the production-ready car scheduled to appear at next month’s Geneva show.

The Volkswagen XL1’s plug-in hybrid powertrain sees a 47 hp 800 cc twin-cylinder TDI collaborating with a 27 hp electric motor, the latter fed by a nose-mounted 5.5 kWh lithium-ion battery (can be recharged through regenerative braking). Transmission is handled by a seven-speed DSG.

Fuel consumption is quoted at an almost-unbelievable 0.9 litres per 100 km, while CO2 emissions stand at just 21 grams per km. VW says the car can travel on electricity alone for 50 km; if the 10 litre fuel tank (doesn’t need a big tank now, does it?) is filled up, the range jumps to nearly 500 km.

Volkswagen XL1

You’d suppose performance would be nonexistent. But a 12.7-second century sprint time and a top speed that’s limited to 160 km/h are definitely not to be scoffed at. The car rides on double wishbones up front and a semi-trailing link out back, and features ceramic brake discs and carbon fibre-reinforced plastic (CFRP) anti-roll bars.

Moreover, the Volkswagen XL1 can cruise at a constant 100 km/h using just 8.4 PS, and in all-electric mode, needs less than 0.1 kWh to travel over 1.0 km. Its lightweight carbon fibre body contributes to a sub-800 kg kerb weight and a drag coefficient of only 0.189.

In terms of dimensions, the car measures 3.89 metres long, 1.67 metres wide and 1.15 metres tall (shorter than a Polo, lower than a Boxster), with a wheelbase of 2.22 metres.

Volkswagen XL1

The company will build a first batch of 50 cars at its Osnabrück, Germany plant; after which it’ll be on an on-demand basis. No word on price, although “handcrafting-like production methods” are mentioned, so you and I know it’s not going to be cheap.

The Volkswagen XL1 is the third iteration of a project that began with the 1-litre concept of 2002. It was first unveiled as a concept at the Qatar motor show in 2011.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Looks needs some overhaul even if it was designed around the aerodynamics criteria. Spec wise is superb. Waiting for all those 7-Speed DSG comments.. lol

• This thing looks like those future cars from 2020 above…i like it but the only question is the new DSG can last longer?

• driver on Feb 22, 2013 at 7:11 pm

A tradeoff with the efficiency is having this ugly car. Worthy? Personal taste then.

• sudonano on Feb 22, 2013 at 4:59 pm

O.O

0.9l/100km? This undercuts that new Pug 208 Hybrid!

Well, it looks like the future is pretty bright.

• The exterior design is ugly
    Reminds me to an old citroen :)
    It will be produce limited up to 1000 units only this year in German

• kadajawi on Feb 22, 2013 at 10:42 pm

Old Citroen’s are not ugly. They are amongst the most beautiful cars ever created. Pure art. Besides it’s a testament to the genius of Citroen to have such aerodynamic shapes so long ago.

• fiction on Feb 22, 2013 at 5:17 pm

we are getting to see the cars in fiction movies ^_^V

• fiction on Feb 22, 2013 at 5:18 pm

what I meant is the cars in fiction movies is coming true haha..more or less :P

• Jimmy on Feb 22, 2013 at 5:26 pm

This is what we call technology, you know what I mean.
    At least a handful of wow features.
    Rear wheels should be exposed, lebih cantiq.

• King42 on Feb 22, 2013 at 6:00 pm

Yeah… like this, if punctured, how to change the rear wheels?

• Possibly the same as you changed the rear wheels on a Citroen DS, GS, SM and CX? ;)

• AVH® on Feb 22, 2013 at 10:22 pm

The rear wheel is covered to decrease drag and increase the efficiency.

How to change the rear wheels, well like old 30s roadster, Duesenberg SJ or a Mercedes 710 SSK, you can see that at the rear wheels there is an outline of where the rear wheel hole should be, that is a penal, remove penal than remove the wheels. But I think is highly unlikely there is spare wheel in the car, but if a Bentley Continental can live without a spare wheel, I think this can too.

There is only 2 vehicle in the 21st century that has this feature, the ultra-low FC 2000 Honda Insight and the Brabus E V12 Black Baron. And contrary to most opinion, I think it makes the car look awesome

• kadajawi on Feb 22, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Open up the cover of course. Makes a lot of sense to cover the rear wheels.

• silver on Feb 22, 2013 at 7:58 pm

its not expose because they wanna minimize drag.. its main aim is feul efficiency …

• armandd on Feb 23, 2013 at 12:25 am

The rear wheels are enclosed for aerodynamic efficiency.

• Carlover on Feb 22, 2013 at 7:09 pm

Awesome FC and awesome tech…Germany! really teach oriented mindset country… Malaysia? still far far behind…

• start-a-figt on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:36 am

yeah. coz ppl like u always bash and never contribute.

• This is called efficient technology. Turbo diesel with hybrid. No comment it is most efficient engine. Toyota should have hybrid with turbocharged small cylinder engine since toyota is hybrid experts.

• Although the exterior design is a bit weird… but it will definitely a eye-catching car even compare with a ferrari…
    yes, like a future car shown in movie..

• Nothing like Elon Musk’s Tesla, this WV is just another hybrid but only for a lucky few who can afford to buy it. IMHO, the car of the future should be an EV, zero fossil fueled and affordable to the masses, for all economic reasons, our children may stand a better chance to drive one than most of us. At least the Nissan Note is more like a dream comes true. For Malaysians, we’re hopeful that Proton will unleash something in this category to redeem itself and at least, to make us proud this year…

• No side mirror?

• No. Side mirrors have been removed to decrease drag. It uses a rear view camera with head-up display.

• kentji on Feb 23, 2013 at 3:43 pm

great innovation, superb design but i hate the covered rims

• Rakyat on Feb 23, 2013 at 9:37 pm

Will this get tax exemption from our beloved G? If so, bye bye preve.

• weart on Feb 23, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Joke of the century. So you believe its price will be similar with preve? In your dream lol

• Ah Beng on Feb 24, 2013 at 1:10 am

This is what i called a hybrid! Not a crappy CRZ with semi hybrid.

• Ah Beng on Feb 24, 2013 at 1:11 am

Better than preve.

• Viswa Kalainesan on Feb 24, 2013 at 7:08 am

I’m afraid I can’t be successful in time to buy the good looking cars of the previous and current generation. This is the last car I would buy, not even my grandma likes it.

• VW herman on Feb 25, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Rear design just like 1999 Honda insight.

• someone on Jun 18, 2013 at 6:21 am

I’m still waiting for that TDI Golf Hybrid they promised years ago.. Me thinks this is vaporware too.

• fraz006 on Oct 29, 2013 at 6:07 pm

tayar kurus empat2. tayar belakang sampai kena sorok , hambik kau, dah buruk sangat kena lah sorok.
    alah, jgn la amik hati sangat VW fans sekalian.

the rear wheel cover better make it black lah. its too weird to look at.