Mazda to continue rotary engine development

mazda-spirit-r

Mazda has confirmed that it will continue to develop its rotary engine, according to a report by Autocar UK. A Mazda engineer has told the publication that he hopes production of a new rotary will start within the next five years, but that nothing yet is set in stone.

If production were to happen, the new engine would first debut in naturally-aspirated form, with blown versions to follow if they passed reliability tests. Mazda boss Takashi Yamanouchi has said to Autocar previously that as long as he’s still at Mazda, rotary engine research will go on.

The application of SkyActiv technologies and more advanced ignition systems to the rotary engine could help improve its combustion efficiency, power and emissions, the report adds.

After the Mazda RX-8 (Spirit R farewell edition pictured) went out of production some years ago, there hasn’t been one rotary-engined model from Mazda since. Reasons for this include tougher global emissions standards and the relatively low efficiency of the 13B Renesis engine family.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• AVG® on Feb 24, 2013 at 3:41 pm

Long live the rotary engine. Thanks Mazda, for continuing to pursue this unique engine for the years to come. Hope to see a revival on the RX7 soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • rx7 real masterpiece

• Sam Loo on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:46 am

Bermaz guys, please wake up from your deep slumber and be do something for your customers. I just offer 6 month old CX5 for RM110,000 and the customer just grabbed by deal. Mazda lousy RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
        • Lol.. A piece of advice, please check whether the CX5 is scrapped metal, total lost or stolen car. Good luck.

• Hmm…Mazda is getting better and better! even Toyota exterior r improving i mean the new Mark X and Auris…Koreann cars cant last longer…

• Mazda’s design was always the best of the japanese bunch. They aren’t getting better, they just maintained their good standards, not like T. Suddenly, a dugong. How can anything be more ugly than a dugong, that’s why for sure the next gen T will be better if compared to the dugongs. Still doesn’t make it the best though.

• no matter is dugong or what still cant beat the T RV and sold units.

• shasha on Jun 08, 2015 at 7:56 pm

Haha.. eat your own words.. after 2 years, beaten by honda.. I know your excuse.. u will say this is between toyota & mazda, not honda.. haha..

• zamer on Feb 24, 2013 at 3:59 pm

they got to make it real fuel efficient.
    the rx-8 drinks a lot..i mean a lot..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • driver on Feb 24, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Mazda is researching the rotary for the use with hydrogen. I’m more looking forward on this. Rotary rocks!

• Carl Wong on Feb 24, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Again? I thought it was eliminated from the market? Good if it can meet modern efficiency and emission standard requirements……..

• Just bring me the mazda 6 already!!! Cannot tahan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • arcana on Feb 24, 2013 at 9:40 pm

a really true drivers brand, i salute their passion to make even better cars for us petrol heads. thumbs up.

• Awesome. I swear, Mazda is honestly the only Japanese carmaker with style and character. MX-5, RX-7, 787B, you name it.

Richard Hammond once commented on the RX-8’s rotary engine …. ” [It’s worth it because] you get to say wankel on telly ! ” LOL

• The Bird on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:28 am

Big fan and always wanted a Rotary car…Thought I will have no chance to own a NEW rotary car when I can afford to buy one. Now there is still chance…Thanks to Takashi Yamanouchi San….

• Rwc glen Waverley on Dec 04, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Mazda has some beautifully designed model in past. They have designed some solid sports engine cars. it is god news for Mazda lover that they’ll do continue with rotary engine development.