Pakatan Rakyat 2013 manifesto: auto-related points

pr auto price

Pakatan Rakyat has released its manifesto for the upcoming 2013 general election. In it, the promise that began last year with the Turunkan Harga Kereta campaign to make cars cheaper continues.

The following are excerpts of auto-related points covered in the manifesto, led by what is termed “Restructuring the automotive policy to reduce the people’s burden.”

“The ratio of car prices in Malaysia to average household income is one of the highest in the world. The lack of effective public transport facilities gives the people no choice but to buy their own cars.

As a result, car debts are the main financial burden incurred by every household. Every month a large portion of their income goes to servicing their car loan installments.

To reduce the people’s burden and increase their disposable income, Pakatan Rakyat will restructure automotive policy as follows:

ABOLISH EXCISE DUTY
Car excise tax that is currently being levied is at an excessive 70%, resulting in high car prices.

Car excise prices will be lowered in stages with the intention of abolishing it in five years’ time in order that car prices can be more competitive.

PRICES AS LOW AS RM25,000
Liberalising the national automotive industry will increase its competitiveness and add value for people.

Pakatan Rakyat believes that a truly competitive automotive industry can produce cars priced as low as RM 25,000.

As a point of reference, currently, the Perodua Viva 660 BX manual is probably the only car in the market to dip under the RM25k pricing mark, at RM24,912 (solid). The automatic version goes for RM28,512.

Meanwhile, to give an idea of what it would be like if excise duty is abolished, the Mitsubishi Mirage 1.2 GS auto is priced at RM63,120 in the Peninsular, while the Langkawi selling price is RM46,790, both on-the-road without insurance. According to industry sources, the difference includes excise duty as well as import tax, so it probably isn’t a direct pricing conversion with the removal of excise duty.

The manifesto doesn’t detail just how all this will be achieved, nor flesh out other auto-related points covered in it. This includes eliminating AES and revoking AES summonses.

“Pakatan Rakyat will immediately stop the concessions for and implementation of the AES system that has endangered the people’s lives on the road and enriched cronies. Any summonses issued will be rescinded.

Road safety steps will emphasise safer road infrastructure, educating road users and warning measures instead of the current economically punitive approach.”

PR also stated that it would take over the highways in stages for the purpose of abolishing tolls.

“As promised in the Orange Book (Buku Jingga), Pakatan Rakyat will take over the highways with the intention of gradually abolishing tolls.

The financing of the highway operations will be accommodated by using the RM5 billion fund that has been paid as compensation to the concessionaires. Abolishing tolls will help to reduce the price of goods.”

Lastly, the manifesto mentions that petrol and diesel prices will be lowered.

“Revenue from rising crude oil prices, reaching an average of RM300 per barrel will raise the national oil revenue income.

Pakatan Rakyat believes that the windfall from oil revenue should be shared with the people to ease their burdens.

Therefore, Pakatan Rakyat will distribute gains from the extra oil revenue profit by lowering petrol and diesel prices.”

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• tukar on Feb 25, 2013 at 5:52 pm

sudh kena tipu 55 tahn lagi mau kena tipu 56 tahun kah ? boloh punya orng bru undi BN=boloh nation.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 485 Thumb down 340
    • pak jabit on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:19 pm

bukan 56 tahun je bro…60 tahun…kene ‘azab’ 5 tahun dulu sbb dah tau kene tipu tp still rela ditipu lagi

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 220 Thumb down 180
      • Obama on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 190 Thumb down 306
        • RON97 on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:45 am

Keep dreaming bro..
          It just a gimmick, all promises are plastics. It wont happen. The D*P also need to protect the used car dealers, potong shops, spare parts manufacturers. When price drop, all will bungkus loo, makan pasir loo, suicide loo, go to singapore loo, ah long happy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 124
          • pls read carefully, they say they will do it in 5 yrs time. this reduction must b done step by step in order not to giv huge impact n let d market adjust accordingly. if no changes done, forever u r driving expensive but downgraded car n those cloronies r d one who benefit.
            this is wat we call restructuring.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 26
          • mizzuddin on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:43 pm

sell em all out to Zimbabwe as a recond vehicles

• Jimmy on Feb 25, 2013 at 10:34 pm

I could do it (the toll issue) many years ago, but I just didn’t want to, so what, I have so many supporters, I have so many fixed-deposits from orang2 yang tinggal di atas pokok2.
        Aiyo, they have so many pokoks and minyaks, Camry 183K is soup-soup water for themlah. Why you guys make so much noise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 76
      • AVH® on Feb 26, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Actually the truth of the matter is this. Why our car prices are high is because of solely the AP system. Nothing to do with high taxes and duties. I repeat, soley has to do with the support for the AP system. The AP system was established to encourage Bumiputera Entreprenuership. Unfortunately, most of the APs were given to lazy crony Bumiputeras who, 99% of the time, sold ALL their APs to the Chinaman businessman. So, the whole purpose of the AP system which was meant to encourage Bumiputera involvement in the car industry has gone down the drain. So, ALL our car high prices problems are created by these lazy crony Bumiputera AP lottery holders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 12
      • Dr Mamak on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:51 pm

Sekarang bukan PR vs BN, tapi Rakyat vs BN. Ubah Inikalilah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 49
      • Janji Bukan janji on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:13 am

Who u want to vote ?
        1- the husband, wife, daughter and private sec party.
        2- the father and son party.
        3- the u-turn party (always keep changing their stand)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Loo on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:37 am

All those in support of high car prices are USUALLY BN cronies receiving contracts. So, of course they support high prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
        • tukulbesi on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:59 am

same goes to you as PR supporters who only know talk cock.. btw who the hell in this world support high car prices..?? the problem here not about prices but politician who trying to blind and pusing rakyat for their own good sake.. cheap politician skills..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
          • Wisdom on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Any government u will also blame.
            Who responsible for the high car prices? Its u.
            1. Old car still ok, but itchy to buy new model and look so called up-to-date.
            2. Can afford 30K car, but bought 100K car with 9 years repayment.
            3. Manufacturers offers ridiculous car without/with less safety features, no airbags, no traction control. U still buy though its super expensive, and then boast on so called resale value, when at the end of the day u still lost few tenth of thousands after few years… that was the value that u all malaysian dump every other year..

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 231
      • ATIFJEELAN on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:41 am

you shouldn’t rely info from mainstream media. read also alternative media. take it 50-50. then make conclusion. dont take bulat-bulat from tv3

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 39
        • Khalid sendiri cakap manifesto BUKAN JANJI..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 19
        • dogol on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:18 pm

Yup..dont take bulat2 from TV3, and also dont take bulat2 from Malaysiakini..It’s good to be neutral,,then only your brain will work properly

• musmus on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:24 pm

my hometown in kota bharu. i’m staying in shah alam. both places have water supply problems! my father in kota bharu has to add more water tanks, more pumps, more piping, more this and that, thus resulting in higher electricity bill! wtf the gov state is doing man??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • Johorean on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:33 pm

In Johore, we have the least water issue. Thanks to singapore, we always focus and know who to vote on every election.

• musmus on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:25 pm

my hometown in kota bharu. i’m staying in shah alam. both places have water supply problems! my father in kota bharu has to add more water tanks, more pumps, more piping, more this and that, thus resulting in higher electricity bill! wtf the state government is doing man??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • flat tire on Feb 26, 2013 at 7:56 am

you mean that water issue in Pahang..? not PRs concern.. at least for now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 20
    • AES is fine for me BUT it must be implimented through reasonable condition such as giving clear sign board, appropriate location and clear indication of the camera ( paint it yellow like in UK) not hiding it behind tree

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 8
      • taboogen on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:11 am

first of all there is no need for AES if Malaysian really have an attitude. Even when the speed limits CLEARLY saying 110kmh or no smocking at public area… what do you all do.. worst of all.. do not litter here… even this basic simple instruction you cannot follow… asking for bigger signboard…. malaysian are full of arrogant… just asked the smocker not to smoke at public places and see how they responded…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 12
        • luqae on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:38 pm

but those country which have low accident rate still have aes kind of system in place. all of the European country have something similar so what are u saying?

• Alif Jamal on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:09 pm

Did like EURO country did..minimum fine for speeding is EURO 800..

• ahlee bin ahtan on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:54 am

Manifesto fufilled?or fufilled in tha landfilled so PR so filled with LANDMINES to be blown apart this PRU13 wait n see ahh Janji Tak Pernah Tepati!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 19
    • this is my opinion…up to all of you to agree or disagree…

car price should reduce but not drastically…pity with people that buy car with heavy excise duty…pity also with 2nd hand car dealer…when they bankrupt, many people lose their job, then without job how to buy new car? gov either BN or PR should improve our public transport (lrt,monorail,trains,buses,taxis), i rather to choose to use public transport, no need to think about traffic jam, can hear radio in taxi, watching dvd in express bus, get introduce with someone that maybe will be our soulmate in future…if we have good public transport here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 49
    • Janji Bukan janji on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:08 am

I can’t understand , why people so excited about the PR Minifesto , PR Selangor state government already told you that Minifesto is not a promise. It’s merely a statement not a janji. In other word = nothing but nothing- the only thing is cheating the RAKYAT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
    • joanna on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:03 am

BN said if PR win, they will sell this country to the Americans and Jews (always the Jews). I’m scared, if they sell this country where will we live? Will us become slaves to the Americans and Jews?
      More they said, without the car duty, our country will bankrupt like the Zimbabwe. Thailand also has no or little duty tax, they will be bankrupt one day for sure BN said.
      BN also said, if PR win they will destroy this country. I dont know how they will destroy it but BN said for sure they can. I’m scareeeeeddddd.
      So dont vote for PR. Vote for BN. If not our country will be sale. Give them another 10000 years. They are tooooo good to be change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Yoko Ono on Feb 27, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Aiya, in the last election, PR promises so many things in Selangor & Penang.

They promise to abolish tolls, help the people of Kg Buah Pala, more low costs housing in Penang. But nothing so far.

They also promise money here and there (from single mom, kids in daycare to students) for the people in Selangor if they win. But again, they fail.

All they do is blame BN. When they do not have power, they blame BN. When they have power, also blame BN.

I will vote them if they could deliver this promise. But after being lied to in the last election, this time I have to say pooh pooh to this new manifesto.

Promise, promise, promise. Never deliver. Similar to BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Kiki Lala on Mar 08, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Always remember, State Government can’t make major transaction without Central Government Approval. Plus i looking at the developments that have been left for almost a decade have been under reconstruction after PR take over Selangor State. In Perak State, i have seen MBI workers cleaning the taman areas which they start working from 8am till 4pm, daily, when PR won at first in last GE, but since BN took over after some problems, they are coming to work once a month, and they only start to work around 10am and finish it around 12 noon. Have you visited Penang Before PR take over and After PR take over? If you are than you will know what the difference. Besides that you must also remember, 55 years of documents/reports, for PR to analyse before they decide what to do. Believe it or not, personally as i worked in G-department as vendors for IT Projects, 90% or BN based G staffs are not good in using Computers, Still using Internet Explorer 6 for browsing internet, just start to feel comfortable of using Microsoft Office Word/Excel 2003, Some even don’t know that if a LAN cable was unplugged internet can’t be accessed. We want changes to all this crap to lead us for good future! No point of having tallest buiding in world, high speed electric trains, global cars, high tech mobile phones when you can’t even know how to operate of use them fully. Do our G really educate the people? or just looking to make profit out of our weakness? M not telling PR will make a perfect Government. maybe their words are just to win next GE, but always remember people/rakyat are fully responsible for the selection of our leaders. We got our powers we can change a government and also change our lifestyle. Why scared of changes? Just give a chance for PR to prove themselves. after all 5 years only, they are not asking for 50 years of ruling a country. if we’re not satisfied we can change them on our next GE.

• hero malaya on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Dont get to excited and emotional.all of us keep complaining..this and that are xpensive dont fool urself.cheerish what u have now.Pakatan can only promise.i dont care whether u r malay.chinese.indian…o what..reflect urself.with the pas keep shouting islam and the DAP keep saying over my dead body and anuar keep dreaming on to bcum pm after cheating all d people.pakatan are loser..full of selfish hypocrite and all of u who stand behind them are all fools

• Dru-Zod on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:17 pm

This is correct. Market forces should be dictate which cars the customer wants. Proton should compete fairly. If it cannot keep up, then it should be sold to VW or anyone else who can turn it around. Read Skoda, Seat, etc…

• yes, it’s about time .
    “are u ready for lower car prices, petrol and travel? YES!..”
    “are u ready for Barang Naik again?” NOOOOOO..!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 394 Thumb down 88
    • PR = Price Reduce
      BN = Barang Naik

LOL!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 390 Thumb down 71
    • Speeder on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:39 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 228
      • Speeder on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Aiyaa! Supposed to be PR not PKR :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 20
      • Kelvin on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:56 pm

I am going to give PR a big X.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 56
      • Bio-degradable or not, it will still end up as rubbish. Actually, Penangites had already use to bringing our own bags, it just a matter of habit, good for the enviroment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 9
      • rickyll on Feb 26, 2013 at 6:51 am

Personally, I fully support the no plastic bags rule. In Penang, it’s “Everyday is no plastic bag day”, most of the Penangites, myself included, have sort of getting use to it. We always bring along ‘environmental friendly bags’ with us whenever we go to supermarket. Anyway, It’s time to change, BN is too corrupted.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 15
  • WootWoot on Feb 25, 2013 at 5:57 pm

vote PR for better Malaysia!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 333 Thumb down 103
    • lolwhat on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:42 pm

But selangor PKR said that Manifesto is not a Promise, so they dont have to do it.. whats up with that

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 194 Thumb down 46
  • I watched DSAI speech in PJ, they said they will reduce the excise duty by 20%.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 214 Thumb down 136
    • Janji Bukan janji on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:47 am

Really, I also heard his Ceramah that he will give free education from petronas money rm5b, the other Ceramah give free highway rm5b also from petronas, the another Ceramah reduce petrol rm5 b and all other Ceramah also want to give people free things. I believe if we calculate all the Ceramah , his promises amounting to trillion. From which source- all from the same source- petronas money- how much petronas earn a profit a year -rm80b. But anwar very smart- in one Ceramah his only promise one thing , so people think logic but if you count all his Ceramah , you will think he only the clown who want to fool people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
      • palohotox on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:08 am

Wow.. yo sum up all the promises by each Ceramah? I need to learn your formula.. Very Clever..

• joejambul on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:04 pm

i agree with u,most ridiculous statement from xprisoner

• diamjer on Feb 25, 2013 at 5:59 pm

is it posibble for viva 660 to be around 15k?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 183 Thumb down 24
    • taboogen on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:13 am

salary increase for perodua workers and the selling of the cars are reduce.. to you thing many people gonna buy viva… yucks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • comrade on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:54 am

if that’s the case no more fat bonuses for perodua staff…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • bro, the the excise tax that is making the price of car expensive not produa choice. aiyo still got people don’t understand basic stuff. how to become a develop nation.

• KillBox1Alpha on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 234
    • Never try never know…
      what is the difference btw people without dream and the salty fish?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 27
    • U want high car price? U can have it all u wan. And btw, if u so love BN. Let hope be-end for u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 43
  • mancun on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:14 pm

Smart move by pakatan. Atleast they’re looking into giving the people of more money-power with the reduction of certain taxes, tolls and petrol prices. Bravo. Hoping for a new clean (atleast for the next two elections, if they were to be corrupted) government.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 216 Thumb down 45
  • Simon Ng on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:19 pm

I am a registered voter and have cancelled all traveling plans for the next few months.

For those who has not registered, please do so. If is not too late.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 250 Thumb down 20
  • steben on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 166 Thumb down 307
    • tebuan on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:44 pm

sampah = kereta…tak bayar cukai pintu kot…sendiri buang la…kawan

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 48
    • i lived in selangor and still cant be benefit those free water, keep on dreaming….

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 97 Thumb down 189
      • cedyy on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:02 pm

too bad for you. i’ve been getting free water ever since PR took over Selangor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 19
    • UniSel pun x mampu nak bagi yuran percuma.
      cakap je lebih. all politician sama jee

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 214 Thumb down 134
      • yela.. apatah lagi nak mansul PTPTN.. ptui..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 95
      • ahmad on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:55 pm

haha.. unisel bukan public Uni. get your facts right first, then baru argue.

if not, nampak kurang cerdik ! haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 92
        • so PR nak bagi pendidikan percuma untuk public uni je?

haha yuran kat public uni pun murah je. kat unisel tu mahal. kenapa tak boleh bagi free? padahal memang under kerajaan PR Selangor. konon ;)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 33
        • Mr Mac on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:53 am

sape mamat :) senyum kat bawah ni?
          malaysia ni tak payah create new law…law zaman kita merdeka dah cukup bagus. it’s just that BN ni kasi rojak kacau semua good laws in Malaysia.
          Gov which is equal to duit rakyat supports public uni. private uni is for shareholders’ benefits…u want the state to kenyang these businessmen??? If private uni are not lucrative buss, tak ada lah almost every 4 hours dengar promotion private uni in radio. ada faham brother?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 20
      • Medic on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:06 am

Pendidikan ialah tanggungjawab kerajaan pusat bawah kementerian pendidkan tinggi,apa kaitan dgn kerajaan selangor?pikir dulu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 20
      • mizzuddin on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:21 pm

wonder how marginal do really understand the kernel issue of free education and PTPTN…

we shouldn’t focus on having the free education… at least i am preparing myself the financial power to send my kids abroad for the best education… free or not, whatever happen later, i am surely come out champ

the kernel issue is setting up the PTPTN itself being seen as the way to plunder the nation wealth even more… swarm of private college is everywhere… rolling out possible mediocre graduates… education is now a good business…

even students studying in the public university have to take the loan… how many students get the scholarship nowadays as opposed before..?

and the magnitude being self amplified as the nation witnessed how a man’s debt, hundreds of million being written off… how cows nowadays can be reared in condos…

day in day out, the list became infinite…
        because we ourselves never take granted choosing the righteous, honoured and capable candidates to take care of the national matter

• waiting 4 someone will comments about congestion will happen when the car price is reduced or become cheap.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 33
    • kadajawi on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:33 pm

I doubt there will be much more congestion. Those who ride bike may continue to do so, because they can avoid traffic jams. What will happen though is that those old Iswaras, Kancils and Wiras will disappear from our roads, just like other old bangers that are not kept for sentimental value/because they are classics but for financial reasons. Hopefully at least some 120Y etc. will survive…

Decent second hand cars will get more affordable (second hand dealers will not vote for PR, that’s for sure), which means safety standards will improve, fewer Malaysians will die. UMNO wants to keep up car prices –> UMNO wants Malaysians to die. ;)

Maybe the borders to Singapore can also be opened? Let their old cars in…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 40
      • sudonano on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Car price goes down,
        People can afford for safer cars,
        Less deaths,
        No need AES!

As for congestion, it will be reduced by increasing the coverage of public transport. People who are stuck on bikes can either move to affordable public transport or a car!

Since people can afford better cars, less people will have to settle for outdated, non economical and non environmental friendly engines. Saves the environment too.

And also the interstate hi speed trains will be pretty useful, cause you can take the train to your hometown during the festive season and use a relative/rental car while you are at your hometown. less jams, Less deaths, more happy families!

Brilliant.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 45
        • taboogen on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:18 am

kelakarlah baca… some say the G syok sendiri.. while reading all the comments same oso.. syok sendiri.. so what i can say.. to say people syok sendiri if we ourself oso syok sendiri…

yes people can buy safer car.. drive fast.. but when you have collision with buses and truck.. even if you are driving bmw and merc you will not walk out from that incident..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 17
          • sudonano on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:34 am

You see. That is the thing. No one said about buses and trucks here. Now, in the current situation you drive a kancil on the highway at 80km’h(no need 110km/h) and collide with lets a say a Fiesta, 90% chance you are screwed in the Kancil. You don’t get the point. At least those people who are holding on to their old kancils can now move to a Fiesta at the price of a Myvi. (I am using Fiesta as a representation as it is an ASEAN NCAP 5 star car).

No one is being ‘syok sendiri’ here. Cause this is a known fact. have you seen the number of people stuck with their old cars as they cannot afford to move up to a safer car? Let’s say people owning a 10 year old Wira (B segment), if they go for a Myvi, its not practical, so small. If they go for a Pug 207, so expensive. With this policy, a Pug 207 can drop from 70+k to 50+k. Hence, They can afford to move up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 23
          • sudonano on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:34 am

You see. That is the thing. No one said about buses and trucks here. Now, in the current situation you drive a kancil on the highway at 80km’h(no need 110km/h) and collide with lets a say a Fiesta, 90% chance you are screwed in the Kancil. You don’t get the point. At least those people who are holding on to their old kancils can now move to a Fiesta at the price of a Myvi. (I am using Fiesta as a representation as it is an ASEAN NCAP 5 star car).

No one is being ‘syok sendiri’ here. Cause this is a known fact. have you seen the number of people stuck with their old cars as they cannot afford to move up to a safer car? Let’s say people owning a 10 year old Wira (B segment), if they go for a Myvi, its not practical, so small. If they go for a Pug 207, so expensive. With this policy, a Pug 207 can drop from 70+k to 50+k. Hence, They can afford to move up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
        • Mr Mac on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:12 am

looking at other developed countries with dead cheap cars…why not much congestion apart of good public transportation….
          it is because of of CO2 emission tax regulation which pushes the expiry date of the cars…subsequently encourages drivers to change to new better cars…they can afford it bcoz the car is cheap.

Malaysia under BN are not able to implement above simple regulation just bcoz of 1 simple reason –> PROTON

classics and vintage cars/bikes must remain in Malaysia but dont impose any impossible tax on these great cars…i love old cars..no problem in this area..scarcity of the parts will demotivate most of malaysians…I know fellow malaysians…they want easy things. hahah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
          • sudonano on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:37 am

Exactly. We need to move out of the cc based taxation system. People driving a Prius let’s say, are releasing way less CO2 than a Persona. And yes, as you say this is protecting Proton, cause their Campro(CPS/IAFM) is not very environmentally friendly. Only the CFE is quite OK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 13
  • Yeah baby! now we’re talking!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 22
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 178 Thumb down 290
      • ya lah, kau kaya lah, tak payah mimpi bole beli – orang miskin macam saya mimpi saje

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 23
      • littlefire on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:40 pm

How about u show us the proof? Talk is easy right? Same as defaming others without concrete proof?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 18
        • SureRock on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:09 am

http://suarapakatanrakyat.com/2012/08/manifesto-air-bukan-perjanjian-khalid-selamatkan-pr/

Well..MB Tan Sri Khalid did say that….that’s why herd in the streets that he gonna be replace by Azmin Ali if PR manage to retain Selangor….

As far as I’m concerned damage been done by him. Now in blogsphere and twitter all BN cyber troopers is parading he’s statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
          • manifestoNOTapromise on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:21 am

yeah, everytime one of your politicians can’t fulfil their promise, you just say they’re going to be replaced. sampai mati la asyik nak mereplace je. vote me people…if i win i will give ALL of you RM5 million (manifesto not a promise)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
      • Penang on Feb 26, 2013 at 1:15 am

I am Penangites.
        I am happy to have current clean green penang now, many tourist around, and ppl keep talking about penang. Compare to abt 5 years back, no much changes done by BN since Tun Dato’ Seri Dr. Lim Chong Eu step down as CM of Penang.

i dun care much on current manifesto, it will only bear fruits for 5 years and more and also need federal government approval in order to achieve it. Since Current Federal Government Do not support the manifesto that benefit the RAKYAT, Opposition Party have no choice but only able to continue request from Federal Government.

I believe this manifesto will ONLY work if BN=Be Ended or else, keep dream on.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 50
  • AVH® on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:23 pm

I don’t speak politics, but from the sound of it is nice. but here is a few thoughts, can they implement a better safety standards for cars sold in Malaysia. and what about the fuel price, we still enjoy relatively cheap petrol compared to some ‘Developed’western countries.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 173 Thumb down 4
    • I think the details on automotive policy would come later. Any opposition cant spell out policies until they’re given the power. But atleast they r showing something to help the rakyat. We have to see when they’re holding federal power.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 19
    • Kelvin on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:59 pm

Fuel price will turun after 24 hour in power. Every thing turun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 30
      • Sure or not?
        Say …”we will give free education”
        In KUIN Kedah…. instead of free, they increase school fee.
        In UNISEL Selangor … federal on-hold PTPTN just. Selangor government so panic and start talk nounsense..

Talk..everybody can talk… Do? Not everybody can do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 138
        • ahmad on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:53 pm

when Selangor Gov react, federal gov cancel its initial plan to freeze PTPTN.

yeah, everybody can talk. but after 55 years, Najib still appeal to voters to give BN chance ?

c’mon, just call the election. Let Rakyat decide !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 23
  • Алексей Васильев on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:27 pm

Nice! Before the arrival of Proton car price in Malaysia is much lower…. and it is almost the same as the car price in US… This stupid Proton is due to Dr M egoism and inferior complex……The VW Lupo in consider budget car in overseas, but in Malaysia becomes “luxury” car………

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 202 Thumb down 58
    • kadajawi on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:33 pm

There is no Lupo in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 5
      • Алексей Васильев on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:30 pm

aiks sorry, i mean polo, lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 11
        • kadajawi on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:08 pm

Haha, ok. Well, I think the Polo is, in its segment, a bit premium. Of course the segment itself is a budget segment, but there are cheaper options that are quite good too. But yes, I get what you mean.

As for Proton… I don’t think that is the case, at least these days. Proton has the same taxes as Toyota for the Vios for example. ASEAN produced cars enjoy the same “low” tax rate of 70 or 75%. I’d say Proton serves the purpose to keep up the ridiculous tax rates. However price fixing is what makes other cars so much more expensive than Proton and Perodua. Other manufacturers are not allowed to sell same segment cars at a price that is comparable to Proton or Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 7
    • taboogen on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:24 am

if they reduce the price of the buggati veron do you think people who is reading this blog will have enough money to buy the car meh… the richer will come much more richer but the question is for how long. want to live as a modern country but still have the attitude from 3rd world country…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • NoToExciseDuty on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:29 pm

If PR wants to take some profit from petronas, they should think further. How petronas wants to reinvest the money to do more exploration? Remember, our resources are depleting and not going to last longer.

However i don’t have any problem in reducing or abolishing the excise duty. The government is smart enough to find other ways to replace the lost revenues.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 11
    • manifestoNOTapromise on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:23 am

you’re using logic. that word doesn’t exist in pr’s dictionary. GO HUDUD!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • Optimist on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:51 pm

I foresee that there will be multi dollar billion business opportunity when petrol price is reduced in Malaysia: smuggling petrol to neighboring countries.
        I also hope that the price of car will be low enough to enable me to own a Bentley, and employ ex Proton plant engineer, who will become redundant as a result of the new policy, as my driver.
        With more cars on the road there will be a need to install portable toilet and galley because of the possible traffic gridlock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
  • I’m spending at least half of my salary to pay monthly car installment!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 42
    • John Sena on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:04 pm

You are the one who decide to buy a “luxury” car. From ur comment, i assume u but a continental car. U got the choice to choose a low-mid range car, why u did not think at the first place? Stop complaining bro, its ur choice at 1st place, its ur choice.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 19
    • underskinned on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:58 pm

Really? What bank let you pay half of your salary for a car monthly installments?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 6
    • live within your means

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
    • manifestoNOTapromise on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:24 am

you’re poor. so?

• if cant afford expensive car, choose only affordable car…dont be “biar papa asal bergaya”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • then you should buy a cheaper car or work harder.. even buying with 1/3 of your salary is considered borderline dy

• when repair or replacement a gearbox, we are paying huge price again!
    Germans pay 5k Euro while we pay about RM 40k for DSG gearbox!
    stupid Malaysia voter!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 78
  • Pontiac on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:35 pm

BYEBYE samloo with his resale value

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 6
    • Kalun on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:08 am

I don’t think he begin it any of these.
      He has a Toyota Hilux pickup truck and Pickup Truck in Malaysia are not taxed.

Thus, his resale value won’t drop.

• That’s what should have been done many years
    Ago….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 9
  • Abg Long on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:39 pm

i’m not a member of any political party. from my observation, under PR in my area, the road condition r are worst n collecting sampah also worst. although i want a cheaper car price, i think this is just janji kosong saja.. talk only.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 212 Thumb down 183
    • littlefire on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:46 pm

I think the problem is not about PR but the majilis pembandaran, the local council.. U complain to the wrong channel.. If you are so easy to change vote, it means that you are still so easy to be sway.. Just road condition & sampah issue can cause you to change? While the BN minister plunder all your tax money into their pocket.. Have you check who’s behind the local council be4 commenting?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 172 Thumb down 58
      • antimp on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:20 pm

MPSJ like to build many manyvery high bump and not patching pothole these days, damn!

• eLlen on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:25 pm

Sampah is local authority. Blame the Federal Government for not allowing local election to vote the best person to chair the local authority. Please get the fact right.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 34
      • oblong on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:06 am

Sis, more than half of nominated Ahli Majlis for local council represent political parties. Council President does not have ultimate power in decision making because they have Full-Board Meeting. Please read ‘Local Council Act 1976’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • eLlen on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:25 pm

Sampah is local authority issue. Blame the Federal Government for not allowing local election to vote the best person to chair the local authority. Please get the fact right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 36
    • dugong on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:33 pm

roadworks is under JKR which is under federal gov la. pls get your facts right. Its obvious BN will not repair roads on opposition areas to punish the voters.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 38
      • Hey Bro… you do not know what you’re talking. Typical people — keep blaming without the correct fact.

There are two type of road. Federal road and State road. Federal road is under federal budget & State road is under state budget. Majority of local road are under state budget. Mostly major road connecting state are under federal budget.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 10
      • Weird on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:22 am

Do you how the administration work, jkr state is under state government , all road except federal road under federal. State road is under state. Road maintenance is under state. State exco and MB controlled. Federal give equal budget to all state based on fixed formula protected under constitution. the money go to the state.

• dugong on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:34 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malaysian_Public_Works_Department

check this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 56
      • Do you always using Wikipedia as fact of statement..?
        Why don’t you go to JKR to get the fact correct. We talking budget here…ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
        • dugong on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:29 pm

then provide your facts here. don’t just type 2 liner talk without proof or details.

• SureRock on Feb 25, 2013 at 10:20 pm

If u meant the artery road like main artery connected between 2 district capital example selayang to gombak then blame JKR…if the road in your township, taman or estates then its fall under your local authority..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • until now i’m still confuse, majlis perbanndaran belong tofederal or state gov? majlis perbandaran under kementerian kerajaan tempatan (federal) but state gov choose represent in majlis perbandaran

• Janji Bukan janji on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:37 am

Majlis perbandaran Under state government, all procurement, maintenance, allocation , management, appointment of the council under state. Federal only on acts , that why they have rep. The rest under state. That why Selangor rubbish, road , and other janji ditepati tidak ditepati because we have the MB who said Menifesto not janji.

• I am not sure about the rest but one thing is for sure…I am ready… ready to UBAH.:)

P/s: sick and tired..and its long overdue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 119
    • taboogen on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:28 am

first bro changed yourself first… work harder smarter.. show you are the best and lead the way…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • I am not sure about the rest but one thing is for sure…I am ready… ready to UBAH.:) are you not sick and tired? To me , its long overdue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 73
  • not a car enthusiast on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:41 pm

By counting the “Like and Dislike” on pro-Pakatan comments vs the “like and Dislike” of pro-BN comments, this site can become a popularity poll indicator for the next GE.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 29
    • ahlee bin ahtan on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:07 am

NOt sure more Chineses Here than Not Here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • manifestoNOTapromise on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:27 am

right, because people who want to talk about politics go to a car blog. sigh…if i become pm, everybody who doesn’t pass IQ test will be immediately put on a boat and sent to some remote island or something. DO NOT POLLUTE THE GENE POOL

• Black Dog on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:41 pm

I’m not pro BN nor PRK. Politicians make all kinds of promises and lies to win votes. Reducing car prices, lower petrol prices AND also abolish tolls? Where all the money is coming from? I don’t think so. (You might say save from stopping corruption, but it’s easier said than done).

Voting? Politics? Leave me out!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 70
    • littlefire on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:49 pm

Forget about our rich resources? Petronas? We are producing high quality fuel, but why we people cant enjoy the benefits like Brunet, Middle East country is giving to their people?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 65
      • u know how much petronas produce oil or not?
        actually it is a very very small portion compared to other oil producing country. check the facts 1st

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 17
        • theanswer on Feb 25, 2013 at 10:16 pm

he should know by know that brunei is wayyy…smaller than malaysia. and middle east oil production is hugee..or else why US is so interested with them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 9
      • Allen on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:19 am

With proper refinery technology, even high sulphur content petroleum can be transformed into high quality fuel. Certain big refineries are buying cheap Venezuela petroleum with high sulphur and process them.

The terms we used to being taught in high school geography textbook are no longer applicable.

• logic on Feb 26, 2013 at 1:01 am

saudi produce 12 million barrel per day and petronas only make 600,00 per day and our fuel price currently 8th lowest in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
      • manifestoNOTapromise on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:29 am

i think pr should update their little book of facts to be quoted by their cybertroopers. becoming stale already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • littlefire85 on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:35 am

Sorry if u all didnt study the company profile? Petronas own a lot of companies which not only producing fuel and besides that we have lots of oil reserve discovered yearly that you can search around the net like land oil at sarawak. But did the bn publicise it? Those work closely wif them are increasing their productivity. Every year petronas pay royalty to the g but where the moneys go?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
        • Janji Bukan janji on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:54 am

U don’t know where the money goes ? Every year u have the budget speech and it clearly indicate the income to the government and from which source including petronas tax and how the money going to spend.

• eLlen on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:27 pm

Some ppl choose ignorance simply because that’s the best way, they think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • petronas exploration of oil and gas with other oil company also pay royalty fee to malaysia. with just oil and gas we can handle transportation issue adn much more. why BN can’t? don’t forget we also have other resources too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 24
    • klata-klata on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:21 am

a couple of billions can come out of AP handouts

• poknik on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:43 pm

i will definitely vote for PR

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 171 Thumb down 137
    • yahoooo on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:52 pm

I will definitely vote for BN

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 161 Thumb down 227
      • Flying car on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Me too! I second that..I wil also vote BN this coming GE!!

But…as an opposition party in Malaysia…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 40
    • Janji Bukan janji on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:57 am

Vote for which parties – PKR = husband, wife, daughter and private sec party (family party), DAP = father and son party , PAS = u turn party. (Always keep changing their stand).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • What will happen to all those who bought cars with excise duty? Will we be able to claim back the duty? If not, what will happen to our resale value?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 30
    • neutral on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:50 pm

you will still be expected to pay what u originally agreed to pay for…people worry about resale value….so would you rather worry about not being able to sell your current car or would you be more worried about the future generation (your kids…grandchildren) not being able to afford good cars to drive? Sacrifices have to be made…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 24
      • diamjer on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:16 am

if my current car resale value is going to drop, no way i’m going to allow this.

gila…. how are they going to prevent this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 10
        • Pedestrian on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:48 pm

Car value will surely drop over time. It’s only a matter of how quickly it will drop.

That’s why I think the reduction of excise duty will be implemented in stages over a period of 5 years to at least dampen the dropping of resale value.

So, if you worry about the resale value, sell your car when it has the value now, and buy another after GE13 when its cheaper to get a new car if PR wins!

P/s: It may be hard to convince people to buy because potential buyer are waiting until after GE13.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
        • think of ur children,your future generation la..
          most high RV cars have high RV during the first few years, then reduce significantly after 10years, ur children will suffer longer

• Putting the children issue aside, because I feel you are making a generalisation about children that is another topic altogether.

Now that I think about it more, perhaps I should think of it this way in a more positive light:

The resale value I lose now will more than be made up by savings in the future by paying less duty for every car in my lifetime. i.e. I will only lose resale value for my current car, but after that I will be saving!

How’s that?

• QChan on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:23 pm

Logically speaking, second hand values of existing vehicles will fall as a result of lower new car prices.

Has it occur to you that your presumed loss on your existing vehicle second hand values is more than adequately compensated by a lower new car prices when you trade-in for a new car?

Second hand car dealers may be affected somewhat but the election manifesto did mention gradual reduction over 5 years-wat… This may avert a secondary car market crash!

However, if you sell your car and leave the country, then I’m afraid you’re looking at a sunk cost!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
      • on the one hand yes. from another perspective you may get stuck in a scenario being unable to settle your car loan due to the drop in resale value. Similar to what happened with the US mortgage market crash, people couldnt pay back their housing loans because their houses were worth less than what they owed

i wholeheartedly support this move but am curious to see how they would manage this scenario

(unless i’m doing my math wrong :)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • netcat on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:35 pm

No need la, just a manifesto..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 3
        • observor on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:55 pm

They said it clearly that it will be reduced in 5 years period. Guess no sudden impact

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 72
          • taboogen on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:32 am

guessing is bad habit.. its like gambling lah… i want fact not guessing.. then you can win my vote.. yes they can take the revenue from the oil.. when oiled finished what is left.. the tress.. ok cut the tress.. then after that what left for my children and grandchildren

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
        • QChan on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:36 am

The US mortgage aka subprime collapse was coupled with economic slowdown where many people were out of work, and literally unable to pay their installment dues (whatever the amount). The fall in values of their homes certainly exacerbated the problem greatly!

Here in Malaysia, we do not have mass unemployment and a reduction in car prices will certainly increase any household’s disposable income and therefore contribute to greater economic activities of the country, not to mention its multiplier effects! And the wheels keep turning…….. :)

See what I mean? It’s good all round for the ordinary Malaysians! And it’s all smiles for our future generations, too.

• Car price go down is very relative statement.

If you have a car… it will not affect you because your car resell price will go down too. You have to pay more because you pay the difference. All the secondhand dealer will bankrupt soon. These will increase unemployment rate. The only group has advantage is for person who does not have any vehical which is very small population.

I hate traffic jam, I also believe everybody hate traffic jam too. The increase of vehical will increase drastically and so do traffic jam. Not to mention the increase of accident and loss of life.

DO you think high car price is an issue? I don’t think so. Why we have increase the number of accessory shop? The sale of sport rim is also increase? Why many people can afford that? The modification is just cosmetics and not the core function.

Reduce the car price is not the answer of the problem everybody face. It is just the political gimmic. BUT, the improvement of public transportation should be the correct approach.

So…think before act.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 19
        • rickyll on Feb 26, 2013 at 7:47 am

I don’t think the secondhand car dealers will go bankrupt becasue businessmen being businessmen, profitability is their top priority. Some of them already adopted the middle man role in which you leave your car with them and they sell it on your behalf, they handle all the paper works, puspacom inspections etc. They then charge you with an agreed fraction of the selling price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
          • taboogen on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:34 am

i’d prefer fact rather then what you think… i also can think AKA syok sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • “Why many people can afford that?”

i think malaysian still can buy all those expensive things because they can easily loan some money from banks.

even when graduates can hardly afford to buy their 1st house, the gov change the policy and said, “no worry, you can go for full loan.”

• RakyatMalaysia7 on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Of course the market will react when there’s a policy change..in this case, the car price go down..meaning resale value will go down,n the original buyer b4 policy-change have to pay the difference FOR ONLY THAT CURRENT TIME WHEN SELLING THE CAR..but then again,they can afford to buy a new car with much lower price,plus n minus its almost the same..but the market will adjust itself eventually FOR ALONG TIME..so,its still a win for consumers.

For the traffic congestion, u actually misinterpreted@think(u allow people to think,right?) why people buy cars..people buy cars so that they can travel@balik kampung n can carry their bags..so,its not appropriate to think that when car price is lowered,they will be traffic jam like hell,just by assuming people will buy a lot of cars when the price is lowered..a smart person would buy 1 better car with lower price,n invest the rest on properties like HOUSES n other investments,people don’t want to live in a car right??

Though i do agree they should be emphasizing on upgrading the public transport..cheers bro :)

• klata-klata on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:25 am

your loss in resale value is less than the savings in your next purchase. Just trade in and keep the savings

• VWFan on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:49 pm

Don’t forget traffic congestion after this reduction is carried out. Everyone can now afford cheaper cars. Traffic volume must be controlled through appropriate system. Good news but ensure word honored. Let’s say 30% reduction in car prices is something and better than nothing. It’s just a guess for this figure. We can all drive Conti cars. Choose your horsepower and torque freely cos it’s now more affordable and you won’t be laughed at driving Thundercat symbol your whole lifetime. But if I vote you, make sure you honor cos you only have one term to prove your worth for the People.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 8
    • VWFan and All4Torque same person? Comment similarity 100%.

• neutral on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:31 pm

the traffic situation will still remain the same…the difference is you will see nicer cars clogging up the roads…people who cannot afford a 25k viva now will not be able to afford it after the tax reduction also…the tax reduction will not affect the cheap cars significantly but the more expensive ones…so end result…people will be able to afford better and nicer cars…thats all…maybe a person can buy 3 cars after the reduction but he can only drive one at once….so traffic still as bad…public transport still needs to be improved…

• what about those teenagers who just got their license. Since the parents can buy their kids new car, instead of them carpooling, maybe all want to show off their new car and decided to drive on their own.

Those motorcyclist also can buy new cars. So on the weekend, instead of taking their families of 4 dangerously on the bike, they’ll drive their new affordable car to the mall. What up now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • Anonymous Coward on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:39 am

So… are you against the idea of low-income families of four upgrading from a motorbike to a safer car?

• taboogen on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:36 am

yes i agree.. but let say everybody can afford a car… no more toll.. dont you think everybody want to drive a car rather then a bike…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • so you think car should remain as a property of luxury? what about people with income of RM1000 with 5 children, they should not own a car? Its because to make you ride your car comfortably? Without traffic jam?

• Gokul on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Paul, first of all, please abolish all those Barang Naik trolls/Cyber troopers from your site.. Real pests!!..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 59
    • SureRock on Feb 25, 2013 at 10:14 pm

Nuhh…let them be…freedom of speech remember should be exercise for all…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • taboogen on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:37 am

wow see even before got the chance to rule they already show the belang… dia kata org dia pun sama

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
    • ahlee bin ahtan on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:13 am

yeah socalled FREE speech easy just abolish them just like communist dont like shoot haaha

• All4Torque on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:53 pm

Don’t forget traffic congestion after this reduction is carried out. Everyone can now afford cheaper cars. Traffic volume must be controlled through appropriate system. Good news but ensure word honored. Let’s say 30% reduction in car prices is something and better than nothing. It’s just a guess for this figure. We can all drive Conti cars. Choose your horsepower and torque freely cos it’s now more affordable and you won’t be laughed at driving Thundercat symbol your whole lifetime. But if I vote you, make sure you honor cos you only have one term to prove your worth for the People.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • Raise fuel price. You pay to drive big car, or save if you choose small efficient car. Commercial vehicle should still get the subsidized price though.

• In this case, to avoid traffic jam, gov should just increase the tax up to 500%, increase fuel price, increase tol, then there will be little to no car OTR. Is it?

• tebuan on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:54 pm

cheaper by 20% does not mean that you will get all the savings…banks will take chance to increase % rates as well as insurance premium though they cant make money …banks & insurance will get the portion on what government tax% reduction….we are still paying the same or little bit less. These banks and insurance co. will never compensate to people on what they gained.

Govt. shall still imposed higher tax to luxury car..though you can get their money back for other poor folks..these richer mostly dont pay tax as what they earned !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
  • have we got anything to lose by giving the other side a chance?? i’m asking the non-govt cronies here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 12
  • polo saga on Feb 25, 2013 at 6:56 pm

Yes, we all the resident in Johore are getting ready to change our government to PR!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 62
  • 1999_SUBARU_IMPREZA_P1 on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Siapa disini yang tidak ingin harga kereta murah? Aku memang sokong dengan cadangan pakatan rakyat. Meskipun, ia akan juga mambawa banyak kesan positif pada automotif industri. Kerajaan barisan nasional tidak kisah tentang rakyat malaysia. saya tidak faham siapa yang sanggup bayar harga kereta yang nilainya berganda, tidak masuk akal. dengan itu semua harus sokong TURUNKAN HARGA KERETA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 46
    • Ikut hati binasa….
      Gunakan fakta untuk fikirkan akibatnya.

Berfikir sebelum bertindak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • concerned citizen on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:03 pm

I think regardless of who is the goverment, key think is to always invest in infra i.e. public transport then reduce congestion, petrol subsidies and gradually reduce the car price (using savings from toll and petrol subsidies). Build school, employ and train teachers so we have lesser mat rempits and unemployed graduates. What is really sad is that we often wait till its too late. Look at the road condition and the traffic. Now only want to build MRT? replacing lost revenue from reducing car prices wont be a problem for any goverment as there is a lot of tax element that we can collect… -sick and tired citizen-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Kaninabei on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:08 pm

I will vote PR. That’s for sure. And Anwar will be the PM. Eh wait. Maybe we give Hadi a try. Oh how about Lim Guan Eng? No . How about The father. Or Maybe Nik Aziz,, bla bla bla. Both government same shit difference smell be it BN or PR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 47
    • Well… Let have 3 PM. They will fight each other while the rakyat will suffer. At least we break the world record of number of PM in the government.

Good Luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
    • agree with you, politic’s suck

• Kaninabei on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:10 pm

POLO, Chua jui Mengzi the MB? Or Pas Dato Mahfouz Moh? Or Nurul Izzah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
  • I just feel the reason everyone is sick and tired is because the opposition told you guys to be sick and tired lol. Anyhow, prices of things never go down. I’ve never seen prices of goods go down anywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 20
  • Whatever on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:29 pm

I rather like the idea of maintaining the current auto price, but use the yearly 4 billion income to introduce high speed train connecting all capitals in semenanjung, and not forgetting sabah sarawak. They really need much more development. Imagine travel from KL to kota bharu with high speed train.

I dont vote

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 32
    • Shut up if u are not voting. What’s the point of talk alot when ur vote doesnt count? as a rakyat, our obligation is to vote during election and make our beloved Malaysia a better place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • diamjer on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:24 am

why u shutting him up, he don’t vote maybe because he’s not eligible.

and why he cannot talk?

• sadzlee on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Their manifesto is just a statement, not a promise. Just like Khalid Ibrahim (Selangor MB) said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 26
  • sadzlee on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:34 pm

Their manifesto is just a statement, not a promise. Just like what Khalid Ibrahim (Selangor MB) said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 25
  • Kakas on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:35 pm

Cheaper cars=more cars on the road=more traffic jam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 42
    • yusof on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:36 pm

u can drive 2 cars at a time?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 30
      • Cheaper car means more people opt to buy one and use to commute daily. Dont act stupid saying people can drive 2 cars simultaneously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 13
        • Kakas on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:14 am

Exactly.

They will need to upgrade the roads and related infra to cater for this. Well, thats IF they win and IF they put it into action.

• taboogen on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:41 am

the name already showing mah… he is the one thay just got min pay of 900.. hhahaha…

• jamal on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:39 pm

2nd hand value will crash. many 2nd hand dealers will suffer. but probably only for some period of time depending on thier stock and capital. proton definitely will bungkus, that i promise you. i will vote for pr but i hope manifesto like this to ‘ambil hati’ voters must stop. please i hope no cheap politics here in malaysia, try to lure votes with some fast tactic like give money. lower fuel price and lower car tax is also same like give money for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 13
    • mat rock on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:43 pm

Mr jamal,
      What makes u think that proton will bungkus if the car prices r lowered? Proton n perodua will make profits as usual becoz what is reduced is mainly the tax. For example…a basic viva costs rm21k at present n let say rm7k goes to the goverment pocketas tax n perodua makes 14k as profit….what PR promises to do is to lowerthe tax stfucture….so mah be only 3k or 4k will go to gov while produa still retains that 14k profit….comprendo?

• taboogen on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:42 am

mr jamal if you are malaysian or aka melayu yg dumb sikit dari segi pemikiran.. dont you think you are killing your own kind…. buy hey even PROTON workers vote for PR then they have sealed their fates

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • kadajawi on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:39 pm

Well, I see one big problem with this:
    They lose (to me) any credibility. This is just pandering to the masses. Lower taxes? No tolls? No AES (got contract, no? If they breach the contract, won’t there be fines?!)? Lower fuel prices (even lower?!)? Ok, maybe cutting down on corruption can make up for some of these reductions, but everything?!

Too many promises, way too ambitious. If they screw up this one after winning, the next term UMNO will be made the ruling party for the next 50 years.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 8
    • It is already a major screw-up in Penang, Selangor, Kedah and Kelantan.

Penang – no low cost housing for poor people
      Selangor – no water and fail garbage management
      Kedah – Increase fee in KUIN and housing estate in Jabi, Pokok Sena is un-touch after launch by MB -4 yrs ago.
      Kelantan – water problem never resolve since 22 years ago.

What else do we need? Just a talk?
      Think before act…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 23
      • not sure about other states. but selangor’s water issue is one of UMNO trick. yes, Selangor might be under PKR but with the feederal govt in power and many of nationalised companies are also cronies who suck up to BN. therefore, doesnt matter what state G will do, BN will always have ways to stop it. BN even ask PR not to intervene into Syabas water issue. isnt it a clear pic of vested interest? but water issue has been resolve with PR own reserve.. mayb we have different stand interms of political parties. but above that we are all malaysian. and we should live harmony among others doesnt matter which party wins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
      • tungguu on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:39 am

hahaha..when the entire country still controlled by BN…for 55 years…things get worse….when the opposition only take over for 4 years…n u make noise? so u still think BN is better la? good for u…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • Penangite on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Who said there isn’t any low cost housing for poor people in Penang? Your “facts” are just a rehash of BN propaganda. Penang house prices have been heading north since the 1970’s and it has made many of us rich – that’s capitalism for you. It is unfortunate that “latecomers” with lower income find it hard to buy property here. You don’t see Michael Bloomberg building low cost flats in Manhattan do you? Building low cost housing is difficult because of the high cost of land, especially on the island side, but PDC is building 19000 units.

• anwar on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:42 pm

once PR take over, VIVA will be extinct and fresh grad will be dricing JAPS and white collar will be driving GERMANS. PR ROCKS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 38
    • Anwar tgh mimpi basah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 31
    • comrade on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:06 am

yeah … there’ll will be lot of civic, altis…. beemer and merc also will be easily spotted on the road…

• rosdi on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:46 pm

Tapi ingat ok.. manifesto bukan janji.. khalid cakap… kah kah kah… dalam manifesto semua turun.. hahaha.. kat selangor satu manifesto pun tak fulfilled.. oh lupa.. manifesto tu main-main je, bukan janji…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 40
  • RajaKing on Feb 25, 2013 at 7:53 pm

I support lower car prices.. but please ensure that everything else doesn’t goes up, parking charges and insurance tariff for example.. but with more car otr, can those thing be controlled??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:10 pm

There won’t be many more cars on the road… who is supposed to drive them? The dead? Yes, new cars will be bought, but they will mostly replace older cars. And the worst ones will be scrapped.

Besides road tax, parking charges, petrol, insurances etc. are peanuts compared to car prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • standaside on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:17 pm

u will afford a car.but if those charges taken into account.it will solely up to you.let say if the parking ticket is too much expensive, then take the public transport or bike(that will be cheaper too)…but remember, if the fuel is cheaper than current price,u do the math.at the end, u still got second option.u can have a moderate life but at the same time u can also afford a better car.thats the freedom that we want..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Insurance prices, petrol, parking is already very low compared to countries we should be competing with.

Being in the insurance industry, i have to say we are making a lose every year when it comes to motor insurance thus the gov’s plan to gradually increase the tariffs. However it’s all about balance, if the motor rates go up later, some other rate will come down as there’s so much competition in the market.

• taboogen on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:45 am

dreaming lah bro… if you own car park area.. definately you yourself will the the opportunity to increase the price right.. just admit it lah.. who dont want

• kadajawi on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:08 pm

A few more points that I have:

Any news if price fixing by the government will be maintained? Currently car prices need to be approved, to make sure that foreign competitors are priced much higher than their local competition (which suffer from the same heavy taxes). That means we can only get high spec cars here (Fiesta etc.) (alternatively vastly overpriced low spec cars (Vios etc.). A Fiesta in Malaysia, at the same spec would cost a similar price in Germany. However you can get a base spec Fiesta for half the price there (same safety features, but manual gearbox, small “hamster in a wheel”-like engine (60 hp), not many luxury features. Basic motoring without bodykits, alloy rims or fancy radio. If this car were half price here as well it would directly compete with the (almost) equally kosong Saga, at a similar price. It is similar with the VW Touran and VW Passat, and probably other continental cars as well. At the same spec these cars are also very expensive overseas, the big difference is there you are not forced to get this high spec with stuff you may not care about.

Also does the removal of these taxes mean any car can be brought in without permission? i.e. will we be able to order a Golf for example just like Europeans would, spending weeks going over options list, picking between engines, gearboxes, interior colors, features, in the end getting a car that was specially built for the owner? That would be quite awesome.

Next point: AES. Actually I am not against it. It is a pretty fair implementation, they are even telling you where the cameras are, have put up signs warning you in time. Those measures do reduce accidents in dangerous areas, and if you are still getting caught then, well, you kind of asked for it. In Germany speed cameras are hidden. There are no warning signs. You can lose your driving license because of them (and may end up jobless). The penalties are very high. Having a GPS or any other device that tells you where they are is illegal. Basically these things are used as cash cows, placed in areas where people will likely speed, maybe just after a sign telling you to go from unlimited to 100 from exactly this point. So basically you’ll have to brake hard from 200, 250 to 100 and may still get caught. There are cop cars, disguised as civilian cars, with changing number plates roaming around the highways to catch speeders, tailgaters, people overtaking on the slow lane, people driving too slow (yay!), people overtaking too slow (yay!). The Malaysian system is very humane compared to this.
    However what is needed is to base the punishment on how fast you were above the speed limit (which should be raised to 130 at least…) and how high your income is (or something like that). One could base it on the car price and its age. So those speeding with a Ferrari will pay so much it actually hurts them (I mean they won’t give a damn over a RM 300 summon), while someone speeding in a Kancil will pay a sum that will still punish him, without making him eat plain rice for the next year.

As for tolls… the roads in the best condition in Europe are those paid for with tolls. Drive in France and Germany, and you will see a big difference. (German highways are by no means dangerous, they are brilliant and they have to be, but in terms of comfort and smoothness a French highway is hard to beat. A German highway can be patched up quite a bit, though not in a way that you may lose control over your car at high speeds).

Lowering petrol prices… are they serious? From where will they take the money when they already cut back every single other income? I say stop subsidizing, but use that money to fix roads PROPERLY. Not those useless fixes that crack up after half a year again. Do the roads again, properly, with a good base. Disclose where the money comes from, and tell them their cars will break down less frequently because the roads aren’t as damaging to the cars anymore. Petrol is very, _very_ cheap compared to almost every other country. High petrol prices are an incentive to buy more economic cars, to not unnecessarily waste petrol (no one is in the car, and people leave their engine running? Or the engine is running while the windows are open? What the hell? Why pollute the environment and waste petrol? If it gets too hot in the car and I can’t open the windows a bit (usually gives enough breeze to make it quite nice, without being too dangerous), I’ll start the engine, blast the aircon for a minute or two and then turn off again. No need to keep the engine running so that the aircon work at the lowest setting…).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 6
    • Malaysia paid highway condition is no better than the unpaid highway in Germany, so why pay? Your argument?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 24
      • kadajawi on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:31 am

Hm. Hard to say. While I have seen some potholes on Malaysian highway, and they are seriously dangerous, I think the overall condition is better.

However German highways have to take much more stress due to the cold weather, temperature changes and the high speeds that are driven on it. They are simply better designed, built to last forever. The huge concrete slabs simply work, even if they are less comfortable.

Btw., lorry drivers do have to pay for highway usage, and it is paid for through things like road tax and petrol prices (around RM 7 per liter… most of it is tax).

• True, the roads are better engineered there. But in Malaysia, even huge concrete slabs will be run down overtime by overloaded lorries.

I believe the reason for so many potholes, bad roads is all because of these overloaded trucks. And also the cement trucks that drop concrete mix on the road. >:( If they were to follow rules and not overload, I believe the roads can last longer than 6 months. Heck, I even saw new roads become potholed in less than 1 week time.

• Heskey on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:19 pm

Hybrid cars already enjoy 100% duty exemption. But the prices are still higher. Why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • kadajawi on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:31 pm

If they would give the full savings to customers they can stop selling their other vehicles that make more profit in the first place and aren’t in high demand elsewhere in the world. Would you rather sell a very profitable Vios or a not so profitable Prius C (which they can’t produce fast enough for other markets)? The Prius C needs to be expensive enough not to hurt Vios sales, besides that means of course even more profit through the Prius C they can sell here despite the price (and they probably couldn’t sell more anyway, because they can’t produce enough).

• carlover on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:42 pm

exemption on import and excise duty/tax only. Sales tax still applies, and guess what, they din get rid of the AP requirement!!

• kadajawi on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:08 am

Sales tax is 10% only, that’s fine. Want them to give you a car for free? 10% is less than what they pay in Europe…

They didn’t do anything yet, other than write what they’d like to do/what they think people want to hear. AP may fall too, or maybe nothing happens. If they even win.

• logic on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Guys just think for a bit…do you really think that the high prices of car is 100% the goverment fault? The automaker themselves are also partly to blame for the high price of cars.

Just as you say take a look at the prius. it costs around 140k in peninsular msia and around 130k in langkawi. so where is the 10k difference goes? well ive heard it straight from a toyota employee, they deliberately raised the price in peninsular for 10k so that they can reap the profits more. and this car is supposed to be exempted from duty?

And no one asked why the Gt86 is priced at 240k? while it should be sold at around 200k after taxes? well guess what? Toyota is getting an extra 40k profit on unsuspecting Malaysian.

There is always 2 part of a story. So dont put the blame on the malaysian government entirely but also on the automaker themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • Dealer naik harga, ambil untung la, apa lagi. but the price will still decrease due to tax exemption…

..like what UMW Toyota did to current Prius price. They knew Malaysians are just too dumb. What do Malaysians know? “OMG PRIUS TURUN HARGA PULUHPULUHRIBU, LETS BUY”

even with tax, UMW also did the same thing. GT86 should be RM200k after tax. but why UMW priced it at RM240k? yes, THEY CAN GET HUGE RM40k PROFITS, AND WE ARE JUST TOO DUMB TO REALIZE IT.

They knew we Malaysians will only point our fingers to the government.

• Obviously manufacturers like Honda and Toyota think that can sell at higher prices because car prices are high all-around and there are no close substitutes with lower prices. If you can buy a new Honda Civic at 80-90K, do you think that an Insight will cost 97K? And as kadajawi says, there is an element of price fixing by the current government to protect you-know-who.

• Cikgu Murad on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:19 pm

I’m a secondary school teacher. I will definitely go for PR. Under BN, I’m forced to drive P1. I also want to drive BMW or at least brand new Camry like other people. This is how it should be, teacher should also be given discounts when purchasing cars, considering what we as teachers have already sacrifice for the nation. I always told my students that our country need a CHANGE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 82
    • jinjangman on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:56 pm

pity u cikgu..why u dont dream to drive ferrari to school? no wonder kids nowdays not so bright..look at the teachers..they want to drive bmw! lol…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 29
      • come on man, don’t be mean to people – everyone has dreams, even you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
      • rakyat on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:01 am

nothing wrong with a teacher’s wish to drive a bmw.
        most of the Malaysian have the same dream.
        maybe jinjangman is riding a motorcycle now and cannot even afford a viva after PR wins or jinjangman is just a BN cyber trooper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • how bout u? dont look down on ppl. what r u driving dude? realli, if we have a lower tax, many more ppl wil benefit from better cars. with high tax, kampung ppl cant even afford brand new proton.

• taboogen on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:52 am

kesian cikgu murad.. even my sister driving a mitsubishi… you must be primary school right… work harder sikit lah k… you will get there… by the way.. i’ve have seen my sister payslip.. there is a lot of other payment in it.. housing lah.. keraian lah itu lah ini lah… not like me working on weekend oso cannot claim OT…. work hard ok cikgu murah.. ehhh murad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • dogol on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:43 pm

I’m also a teacher, primary teacher for over 15 years. My first car was brand new satria, then waja then citra now i’m driving the latest toyota wish, n my wife drive myvi. I came from a moderate family. My side income is housing rent… well, its not about the car price, but how u manage your finance..no use if the car price is lower..but the surplus goes to overlapping loan, in the end you still keep membebel not enough salary..and n as usual the blame is on gov.

• shawal on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:24 pm

how abolishing AES and rescinding summonses result in safer roads????, was this manifesto wrote by an iliterate person??? , to educate malaysians??? thats a laugh, like that will ever work , a more logical approach is to improve public transport, ban reckless drivers, introduce points system instead of fines and impose jail time / to traffic offenders , wo aes , our highways will be littered with street racers , rempits n so forth ,
    tax reduction should take into account on safety and fuel consumption , higher insurance and tax on high powered cars, old or new ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
  • saya suka harga kereta rendah..sebab dah lama kena tipu..sila bandingkan harga kilang sebelum ditambah tax..anda pasti terkejut,,,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
    • harga kilang mmg la murah.. kalo tax rendah sekali pun, kos pengangkutan dari jepun, upah runner/sewa trailer, sewa tempat penyimpanan stok dan lain2 lagi semua kena kira.. mana ada free dalam dunia ni.. masuk tandas awan pun kena bayar..

• It can even be a 20% reduction and i’ll be happy.

This will free up cash for other aspects of life.

No doubt over areas will need focusing on too -public transport etc.

However i cant understand why people are against this and said PKR is lying- they had all of 5 years without the federal budget to do stuff and there is more good done than not, compared to 55 years some other party had. Is our country getting better each and every year?> From the most promising southeast asia nation, we are now struggling to compete with indo, Thailand, Vietnam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
  • Honda insight uk price
    1.3 IMA (Petrol Hybrid) CVT £19,535 otr
    Honda insight msia price
    1.3 IMA (Petrol Hybrid) CVT RM99800 otr
    So, there is no much difference. You cannot aspect the car to be sold below < RM60k. Unless you can build the hybrid technology yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • Try dont compare with UK because they have VAT. Try US

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • taboogen on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:57 am

first to compare EU country.. now US… which one to compare lah…. ehh wait why US ekk.. asian country not good enough kah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • comrade on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:11 am

compare to US because we are an advanced country…also a superpower country… huge market here..

• Polo Saga on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:44 pm

I’, driving Honda Insight in Malaysia, and I’m telling you a fact that Honda Insight that Malaysia gets is low spec, yet UK one is high spec. Our Honda Insight specs are even lower than Taiwan models. What said u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • tebuan on Feb 26, 2013 at 7:10 pm

due to malaysian are sightless then buying the crap car even the spec is lower than other countries…but we are paying the highest price !!

Lower the price and also spareparts !!

or GIving Free Proton for every rakyat who age reaching 21 years old…sure you won this election !!! hahaha

• Gv PR a chance otherwise we can change them to opposition again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 24
  • sleepyhollow on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:36 pm

Yeah..reg.voter since 08. Its time to vote for the right choice…over several decade of disappointments..abuses, hardships.. and corruptions..ranked 2nd in the world but if based on population..we r really number 1 in corruption.. I care not for what the next govt will do for us..but by voting..we r giving a chance for a better future to all children , educations n future! Letz roll !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 19
  • shaww on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:40 pm

i wonder where PR will grab the money? please if someone know, tell me how PR will increase people’s income while at the same time reduce others..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 14
    • oblong on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:24 am

Bro, DSAI leave government 8 years ago, DSWA (Party President) only housewife since leaving medical professional…both are Member of Parliament with combine allowance of RM20k++ (DSAI is Selangor Economy Adviser with RM1.00 allowance)but still can live like very wealthy people. Money is not a problem la bro…

• saya bukan ahli PR dan bukan pekerja PR. tapi saya yang tak berapa tahu ni berpendapat mungkin berikut cara PR menampung program kebajikan

1-Pengenalan tender terbuka.

kita sedia maklum banyak ketirisan berlaku dalam perbelanjaan projek2 kerjaan perseketuan terutamanya yang dilakukan secara direct nego. sekalipun namanya tender terbuka. Bagi yang terlibat dalam industri pembinaan pasti sedia maklum hanya mereka yang mempunyai jaringan/ kabel yang kuat berpotensi untuk memperoleh kontrak kerajaan terutamanya kontrak kelas A.Sebab itu seringkali kita lihat kontraktor yang menawarkan harga kurang munasabah memenangi tender. Lebih malang mereka kontraktor ini adalah kontraktor yang tidak berpengalaman. Jika projek gagal, sudah tentu wang rakyat perlu dikeluarkan untuk mengeluarkan tender baru bagi mencari kontraktor penyelamat. Jadi dengan usaha kerajaan baru memperkenalkan CAT dan sistem tender terbuka, diyakini kerjaan dpt menjimatkan antara 20% – 40% perbelanjaan pembangunan tahunan negara. Katakan belanja pembagunan setahun negara adalah RM 100, 000, 000, 000. 00 (100 bilion). Kita sudah mampu menjimatkan antara 25 bilion – 40 bilion setahun. saya kira wang ini lebih dari mencukupi untuk melaksanakan sebahagian besar agenda kebajikan Pakatan Rakyat

2.Kenaikan kuasa beli rakyat

Melalui rangsangan dan inisiatif seperti a.pengurangan cukai kenderaan b.penurunan harga minyak c.pengenalan gaji minimum yang membawa kepada kenaikan gaji d.pinjaman ptptn dilupuskan dan lain2 sudah tentu secara langsung akan meningkatkan pendapatan boleh guna rakyat. peningkatan pendapatan boleh guna rakyat sudah tentu membawa gambaran peningkatan kuasa beli rakyat yang kesan langsungnya memberi prospek lebih baik kepada peniaga-peniaga tempatan terutamanya. kesannya perolehan cukai negara akan meningkat

3. peningkatan FDI
      sudah tentu usaha PR a.mengurangkan kadar rasuah b.pengenalan insentif lebih baik dan lebih mesra perniagaan c.pengurangan harga minyak, kenderaan dan elektrik akan mengundang lebih banyak firma2 korporat luar untuk menanam modal di malaysia oleh kerana kos perniagaan yang lebih rendah ditambah kuasa beli rakyat yg tinggi. terutamanya sykt2 berteknologi tinggi yang kos buruh bukan merupakan kos utama kepada operasi sykt. sudah tentu ia akan membawa kesan kpd peningkatan perolehan negara melalui pertambahan hasil cukai negara. malah lebih ramai rakyat dpt bekerja dlm negara dgn gaji lebih tinggi dan lumayan.

lain2

1.semakan semula IPP saja supaya adil boleh memberi pulangan kepada kerajaan antara RM 2 – RM 4 bilion setahun saya rasa atau lebih.

2.sebahagian program kebajikan dilaksakan scr berperingkat bukannya secara serentak. jadi di sini peruntukan tambahan RM 150 bilion (jika betul) mungkin hanya digunakan untuk tempoh antara 8-10 tahun dan bukannya 1 tahun seperti digemburkan akhbar pro kerajaan

3.saya yakin dgn pengurusan kewangan PR oleh kerana boleh dikatakan majoriti negeeri PR mempunyai lebihan dalam perbelanjaan. berbeza dgn pengurusan kewangan negara yang mempunyai byk defisit. bahkan kecemerlangan PR diakui oleh ketua audit negara sendiri melalui laporan audit selama beberapa tahun

4. PR lebih mempunyai ramai ahli profesional berpendidikan tinggi berbanding BN. sudah tentu mereka lebih arif

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Biar terang on Feb 26, 2013 at 7:14 pm

lagi pandah memerintah…lagi banyak pusing/putar…we rakyat tak pandai….tapi tak bodoh bebal…better we have last time our late Tan Sri Ghaffar Baba with tertiary education only…but no making money politics as what happened to era DSAI in govt.

• Concern Reader on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:43 pm

1) lowering car taxes doesn’t necessary increase traffic jam due to toll removal in west Malaysia.this does not impact sabah and sarawak as there are no major highways to begin with.

2) 2nd hand vehicle sellers might have some undesirable losses but they have made enough during the past 55 years on current policy and asking for some “refund” isn’t considered to be too much further more they can always choose to let go of all current sale in form of “fire sale” to buffer the lose before the final policy is announced; that will also stimulate the economy and benefit the people.

3) yes politic are never clean, but it gives us a chance to change for the better. have you all even been watching or pay attention to other international news? the Malaysian politics and current government has become the laughing stock of the politic arena worldwide … Malaysia is the only country that i know of that a political can make a statement in court “i don’t know” and are free of the responsibilities and fault of proper duties to their constituents and still remains as a seated politician.

4) lowering car taxes not only benefit personal household but also can help small n mid size company to provide better employee benefit if they choose to implement by providing company vehicles. and thus have better productivity, more time to be creativity to sale n produce for the company.

5)some 20 odd years ago, the so call Malaysia superiority is better is because our government started a national company called proton and is believed to be more advance in progress and technological knowledge in comparison of the neighboring countries. Fast forward to 2013.. were are those country stands now in terms of economic developments and foreign country direct investment of currency and technical sharing?

to all those who think change in this PR13 is bad, wait till your kids and grand kids which will most likely to curse you in your grave because you did not vote for the right reason and took the chance to make the leap of faith… PR may not be perfect but it’s a chance for something fresh in our Malaysia political history.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 25
  • jinjangman on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:49 pm

if Anwar didnt fulfill his promise..me myself will f**k him in the ass!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 8
  • sudonano on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:51 pm

So does that mean, a Focus in 2017 will cost 76470 from 130000? Hmm not bad. but I hope someone will change out road tax structure. Follow the UK way, where you pay by the amount of CO2 you release, not by the cc, cause a 2.0l N20 engine by BMW has lower emissions than a Volvo S80 T5 2.0l (520i@149g and S80 @ 189g). Then manufacturers selling their cars in Malaysia will bring in better and more efficient engines so that they can get better sales, and save our environment. Its high time we do that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • we need better quality fuel as well, which going to cost more.. With this, the manufacturer will be able to bring in more fuel efficient car…

On another note, better float the fuel price, which reducing the excise and import tax.

• sudonano on Feb 25, 2013 at 10:41 pm

Floating fuel price is very fair I think. if they fix at a low price, then less money for development. If fixed at a high price, people cannot afford. Floating means +/- it will be the same for rakyat. The savings this month can be used to balance out the extra money needed for fuel next month.

And please bring in Euro 5 fuel. Then we can use the awesome diesel engines!

• Day dreaming on Feb 26, 2013 at 7:17 pm

2017 dah tak da dah…asteroid dah langgar bumi…better enjoy now ..buy anycar that you want…haha

• car tax reduce, household income minimum 4k per month, suri rumah ada allowance. mcm x logik je… bunyi mcm best tp tahla. still 50/50. Harapan sape pun memerintah, make sure Malaysia always aman dan damai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • rajahGlobal on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:16 am

ye lah income minima 4k per month, harga kereta dah murah…boleh lah ramai pakai civic baru ke, bmw 1 series ke, baru la meriah dijalan raya, speedtrap pun takde…

• Hi,
    1st of all pls read my comments with open minded and i accept -ve comments and reply from cyber frenz

There are few problems with PR manifesto
    1. Is not a promise
    2. i wonder where will they get the money back by reducing all these taxes and the take over of the highways? Coz if we keep comparing let say UK as I studied over there, yes cars are cheap but the ownership is very2 expensive, u can check how much u have to pay in terms of taxes, VAT etc for a litre of petrol there @ http://www.petrolprices.com/the-price-of-fuel.html. 2ndly, if u are earning say more than 48k pounds per annum your income tax is at 40% compared to us at 23% if im not mistaken…
    3. take over of highways..im in the construction ind and from my experience we need the toll coz highway maintenance is very2 high especially in east coast as I am currently procuring one of the package now…the best part is that only users will have to pay rather than applying it to the whole nation (kesian pak cik mak cik who doesnt need to use highways as their income will be taxed to finance the operation cost of these infras)
    4. We should not depend too much on oil to finance the country becoz for a long term is not feasible..
    5. not all things applicable outside is applicable here…
    6. malaysian road users mentality is totally different as we are like hungry hyenas on the road, be realistic as punitive approach is the best way and germany is doing the same thing and certainly our enforcement needs to be overhauled and transparent

just some of my tuppence worth

Regards

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 9
    • Your comments are well thought.

I say to change to an absolute ‘no tax’ on car policy would be crazy. However a decrease in tax would be fine. say 15-30%.

Though, where the gov is going to get the money? Well if you totally clean up the way the current country is run, i m sure that there would huge financial leaks that can be plugged due to corruption or just poor management. Our corrupted blackmarket in 2011 was something like 2 billion RM if im not mistaken.

And with regards to the oil, yes we shouldnt depend on it long term but we should use it well enough now to help us achieve better economic sufficiency/stability for when our oil runs dry. Be it PRK or BN, someone has to be accountable for all malaysia’s failings and that’s the problem right now. The ones in power can do whatever they like without being worried about accountability.

• who says the manifesto is not a promise? Its a commitment to do to the best of one’s ability. But us humans can only plan, Allah decides the final outcome. Lets say you promised to meet your wife at a certain time and place, but along the way you got killed..so are you wrong for not fulfilling your promise?

• sheikh on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:08 pm

Is pakatan really serious, chasing after popular votes and ignoring the basic of economics. One wonders where would the governmt gets its revenue if prices of good are lowered to a level that does not commensurate with the demands for good n efficient public service. Very drastic change if the manifesto goes through. Short term gains but mid to long term negative implication. A socialist welfare state.
    Manifesto. If i recalled correctly, one of the leaders of pak did said clearly,a manifesto is not a scarced vow to be fulfilled. It is just a promise to cloud ones eyes then.
    I rather let the market forces under the present tax regime play its role. And instead of lowering car prices, it should be increased. So that people will see the necessity of amire efficent public transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 16
    • leekowchai on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:33 pm

IMHO, only a few like the AP King benefit from this ridiculous high tax model. I can’t wait to see the AP king go broke as soon their privileged being striped. I don’t see this as socialist welfare. To me ,it is long due fair trade for the rakyat. I would like to pay the actual price and not an overpriced recond car to benefit the good for nothing ap king.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
      • well, the supposed story of yours about the AP king, i agree, but i don’t agree about u saying that it isn’t socialism at play here. fair trade you say? fair trade it will be, meaning higher petrol prices and cost of ownership. please don’t be so blind to fruits being dangled to you, everything has its consequences, what you gain in something, you’ll lose in other

• Debate all you want. Be car-obssessed all you want. Bash each other all you want. But in the end people will always judge one another. Be good now, but in the end, people will only comment on your failures. All of you may bash one another on which government is better. But REMEMBER THIS!! A DEVELOPED COUNTRY IS NOT A PLACE WHERE THE POOR HAVE CARS. IT’S WHERE THE RICH USES PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 3
    • rickyll on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:23 am

Bravo! I couldn’t agree more with you, particularly the last two sentences.

• rajahGlobal on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:20 am

“WHERE THE RICH USES PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION” ini manifesto yang bagusss!!!

• budlee on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:11 pm

Oh paul, you masohist, you just love these political post ;)

As I am riding the comfortable and mostly on time during peak hours, 1 malaysia komuter train to Kajang with the annoying 1m4u song blasting through the speakers, it tickles me to read all of the trolls lurking here. Only a few made sense with their arguments.

I like the AES, it keeps jerks in control.
    I like cheaper cars but I prefer the goverment just let go trying to control the price and tax.
    I like better public transportation because I could not be bother with the jerks and the jam which will probably get worst if everyone is getting a car or upgrading to a bigger car.
    Maybe I should vote for schizorphernic Pakatan Rakyat with its Islamic, capitalist and socialist view mashed together. Maybe that what BN would be if DAP was in 50++ years ago. Perhaps we could try a change?
    Anyhow, I hope PR leaves the auto industry alone and focus on public transportation..

In the end, I am just another anon in a troll infested forum where little people pick facts out of thin air.

Thanks for the article Paul, now you had your rest. Gimme real auto news please :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 19
  • dugong on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:18 pm

As far as i know the cheapest new auto viva is priced at 37k and not 28k. real bloodsucking p2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • leekowchai on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:20 pm

My household income >10k yet I have not owned a new car in my lifetime. The reason is simple, our car prices are extremely expensive and their value depreciate faster than I could save.

If this realize, it is a dream come true for me and many others here. I will be a VW MK7 owner ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
  • KillBox1Alpha on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:33 pm

All those who booked their BMWs,Audis,Mercedes’….hold off signing the papers…who knows..the manifesto might just come true….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • delio on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:39 pm

i dont know that perodua produce viva 660 with auto transmission..it is true?

• Day dreaming on Feb 26, 2013 at 7:21 pm

haahhaa that true..& a fact that the only car produce by Perodua in Prime Minister Office in PPutrajaya that names the car for Rakyat !!! LOL

• hehe boy on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:40 pm

The car we drive should be something based on our own personality….becuz of your stupid tax excise..BN…we saw so many rubbish Proton junk on our road produced by rubbish factory like you..you never learn to build good quality car that’s why we reject you..and yet increasing other ppl car making you look cheap..let me tell you..you’re not only cheap…you are a total rubbish indeed!!! Just as what Jeremy said! Making money and ignore our life!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
  • thebugbud on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:41 pm

look. like it or not, nothing is changed since independence. the same old bunch of politicians rule the country for all this years. politically linked cronies are richer beyond your wildest dream. change doesn’t guarantee anything but without change people is confirm RIP.

no one will force you but it’s all up to you. period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • coolguy on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:44 pm

people keep talking “it’s just a manifesto”..how bout BN?in 56 years, how many manisfesto they fullfill?
    at least PR think about their rakyat and BN pulak only think about the crony.
    I only will vote for those who give me benefit (or at least they promise).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 22
  • No to Barang Naik(BN). no, no, no!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 25
  • P arti K elirukan R akyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 56
  • Barisan Nasional Forever on Feb 25, 2013 at 10:19 pm

Barisan Nasional Forever!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 46
  • People say its too long BN cheat them. But PR already cheat before taking power. Debate anwar with sabery cheek long time ago showed nothing much in PR minds except popular idea but no detail. And this is another popular menifesto. Looking at it, i knew it comes from anwar ibrahim himself. PAS and DAP dont come up with popular but cheap menifesto like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 25
    • hinggakan khalid penat menjawap.. “MANIFESTO BUKAN JANJI”.. apakata khalid jawap “JANGAN PERCAYA PADA MANIFESTO JANJI ANWAR”… bunyi lain, tapi maksud mcm sama je kan…

• then when will najib debate with anwar? only berani to talk behind2 is it?

• paparadzi on Feb 25, 2013 at 10:29 pm

I agree with lower car price, but not with lower fuel price as it will increase inefficiencies. But there are other issues as well, so I am ready to vote out the corrupts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • Einstein on Feb 25, 2013 at 10:31 pm

Baring naik must Go! With or without excise duty. Period. Thank you for the 55 years of governance but it is time for change. For better or worse, time is up for BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
  • just curious. I wonder if the new Viva is sell @ 25K. what happen to those purchase it now @ 40K. definitely kalau new car sell @ 25K, definitely used car jadi at least 15K. So sapa nak absorb outstanding loan 25K tu ye. i believe we’ll end up paying those loan instead of the dream of ‘buying BMW at the price of Perdana V6″. I’m not supporter of BN but if the PR is going to take from GLC such as PETRONAS, what is the different between BN and PR then. What we need to do is to be prudent with our expenditure and stop all the corruption.

• Guys, bare in mind, you may get something you wish but on the other hand you will lose something ( which make you regret) I surely vote for PAS, but I don’t like PKR and DAP. Think over why PKR is come out??. It’s because of ANWAR not because of RAKYAT and DAP….will be the winner in the END. Anyway politic sucks. Keep on dreaming ya. Menifesto.. Boleh Blah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
  • Shahnaz on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:19 pm

What about those who already have bought cars at this moment ? With the reduction of car prices, we are at a big loss actually. What are the plans to address folks like us (infact i will say all of us) who are already serving loans and far away from our settlement period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Turboman on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:02 am

I would rather take the hit cause the next car you buy will be at reduced price.

I will take the hit now for my future generation. Don’t continue a bad idea just because if that status quo is not maintained, some ppl will lose. A bad idea is a bad idea.

And i put my money where my mouth is. My car is >RM200k and I won’t mind losing that. Cause my next car will be at fair price then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • ATAS PAGAR on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Yea right..it’s OK for YOU..but I don’t think it will be OK for other ppl, with lower and medium salary range. It shows that YOU are on the different level, considering the fact that you own car > RM200K..so THINK B4 TALK.

• Well it’s the same concept

If you’re an owner for a 100k car from 2011

It’ll be worth 80k now (avr).

Then taxes are reduced by 50% tomorrow. So your 2nd value is now 40k or even lower 30k. Yes you’ve just lost 30-40k overnight but-

However a brand new 100k car now tax free is 50k.

And no one is asking you to sell right away.

Yes you take a hit but at least you can eventually afford another better car.

• think of the long run u dumb. who ask u to think short term..

• Shafiq on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:20 pm

A manifesto is not a promise. Says the MB of Selangor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • noris on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:23 pm

Kereta murah, minyak murah… Boleh caya ke..? Kat UK, petrol RM6 seliter (aku ada C200 kat sana sbb separuh masa duduk sana). Kat Itali, lagilah mahal. Akhirnya sesuku orang Itali tak ada kerja. Sampah pun tak diangkat sebab upah murah, bahana nak semua free. Kalau gi Spain lagilah teruk. Kereta beri free pun mereka tak nak, pasal tak ada duit nak isi minyak sebab minyak diimport. Makan pun miss. Sokong turun harga keperluan tapi biarlah mengikut realiti semasa. Jangan pakai sedap mulut saja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 9
  • PR deserve a chance to rule

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 35
  • lantaklah on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:29 pm

kalau harga kereta turun that mean ramai orang akan beli kereta baru then bank akan keluar bnyk duit bagi org pinjam so x kan lah bank nak rugi, so interest pon mungkin melambung melangit lah tinggi… just like 90’s my ‘opah’ said dia beli kereta interest 7% can u imagine that ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • I saw a huge bill board PKR claiming that they will reduce car prices & oil price. POLITICIAN CAN ONLY MAKE PROMISES. If they reduce car prices what will happened to the second hand car industry. You will loose a lot more that 20% of your car value. If PKR reduce fuel price where are they going to get money to subsidize. As it is now the government is spending billions on subsidy. Malaysia is a small oil producer. You cannot compare with Saudi Arabia or Iran or Iraq producing more than half of the world oil.. PKR fail to honour their promise of Free water la….free money for education la. ….I dont side any political party. Politicians are all the same la every where in the world they will promise you the moon….& star.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 13
  • Painter on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:53 pm

I’m all for cheap cars, who doesn’t?

Both sides of the camp talk about increasing disposable income to the masses. But have we looked in totality on the issue relating to our daily lives. And it doesn’t just cover automobile price.

I mean, let’s look at the facts. Facts don’t lie. We have about 400 billion of federal reserve. For the past 4-5 years the gov earns about 200 billion from various taxes and income. And this is being offset 200 billion on capex and opex (plus-minus). Hence we got deficit budget for the past 3 years.

Now lets break down the spending. Lets just talk about our food on the table. Chicken-subsidized. Not enough chicken, AP issued to import chicken (hence lost of revenue). Same for red-meat. How about fish? Allowance given to our fishermen to go to see. They are paying cheap diesel to go to fishing. Not only that, the gov build hatchery to in increase supply of fish and dump them into the ocean so that our fishermen can catch them and sell it back to us. They make money, we get stable supply of food (hence stable price). How is that for increasing disposable income to the masses. This runs into 7 billions annually.

Healthcare? How about 12 billion annually so that your grandpa can get his constant supply of that heart medicine that cost RM200 a pop? Yes, sure our gov hospital drugs are 70% generic, and the hospitals are playing catch-up with the private sectors in terms of technology. Fine, we maybe nowhere near G7 country like the UK and France. But bear in mind, they are paying their doctors and expenses in top 5 most expensive currency in the world. And their population and tax rate is 3 times more than ours.

How about education? 90% of the cost already subsidized up til secondary school. And our public university get subsidized even more. How about a billion for every public university? Bavani, hello?

There’s even more to talk about. Security, Industry Incentives, Grants, tax exemption etc

And here’s a shocker. Only a million of income earners pay income tax. So, how can a million people subsidize the remaining 27 million? It just doesn’t make sense. But that is what’s happening.

So, PKR, thru its strategic director, Rafizi may have some grand plan up his sleeve for the nation. Now, he wants to cut car price which is one of gov main income revenue. And he wants to nullify the PTPTN loan and give free uni tuition fee, and he wants the High Speed Rail to stop at every town between Singapore and KL vis-a-vis gov proposed 5 stops from KL-SIN.

Don’t get me wrong, I support whatever moves that can help ease the burden of the people in the ever increasingly competitive world around us.
    And please recall that the gov generates 200 billion a year, so pray tell, PKR, you cut car taxes, you cut the fuel price, you abolish the study loan. Therefore, from which part of the other spending that you wish to cut? Is it from our food? From our school children? From security forces? From the income generating industry and businesses? From healthcare?

You cut money from something, money doesn’t just magically appear from somewhere else.

For me, I know what I want. I don’t mind driving around in a Perodua Myvi (mine clocked 190,000 and not a single breakdown) as long as i get stable supply of food on my table. And i can always turn to gov hospital if my health insurance turn me down. Cars? 2013 Honda CRZ with S+ maybe delicious, but I have other priorities.

But Paultan? He worked hard. He deserved his BMW F10 5-er. I’ll work harder and get myself one of those rides one day.

I hope our politicians and leaders can explain in detail how are they going to achieve what they are telling us.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 18
    • Good thought !
      Car is just a luxury item…not something MUST have.

Everybody got dream… To fullfil your dream, you just need to work harder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • matsatay on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:33 am

a wise man told me money does appear magically by a magic trick known as corruption reduction…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • but you “forgot” to mention the uncountable billions lost due to corruption by the shameless people in power . And money in malaysia always “magically” disappear in projects . Bavani and many othet people see the root of the issue..What u hv proudly written above doesnt address the real causes of the issue…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
    • rosdi on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:31 am

Eh?!.. you think these people understand what you wrote izit?.. cikgu pun nak naik bmw… hahaha… all they care is they want cheaper cars like in the us/europe, but not high income taxes like in the us/europe. so they want the good stuff only, the bad stuff i dont care.. pandai2 la.. they want to leave in heaven (but they dont want to die yet hahaha).

But ok la… manifesto bukan janji… cheap stupid bait only…, for cheap stupid people to eat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 16
    • vision2013 on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:28 am

the above tings you mentioned are the basic responsibilities that any other government of any countries are supopsed to do, improve the country and give the citizens a better life.
      it is the other “stuff” thay people are tired of.
      if you are happy with myvi, go ahead and use it.

reducing corruption will also reduce cost.
      spending money wisely and giving tenders based on merit and not connection will reduce Gov expenses.
      Need i say more?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • ATAS PAGAR on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:32 pm

COME ON..corruption will always be there..be it BN or PR..

• Kiguen on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:15 am

Hahaha nicely written yo! But with these guys, even after your thumbs flat from typing and your mouth bubbles from talking, they will simply ignore the facts and reality.

Manifesto’s a lie, ignore..
      The current state govt did not deliver..ignore..
      How current policies benefited them..ignore..

The truth is, other than automotive issues..all they want is POOWAHHH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Concerned citizen on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:22 pm

Tottally agree with you.

Unfortunately, Buku Jingga is biased towards how to spend money instead of generating it. In addition, what is more concerning is the fact that the amount in reference to is the same with the existing BN government collection. Based on what is promised, government collection under PR will be on a reducing trend year-on-year, due to equity (consession company & IPP) acquisitions, higher subsidies, welfare handouts, free tertiary education, oil royalty & tax reductions & increased liabilities.

Somebody please shed some light on the matter.

• Rakyat on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:59 pm

It’s time for P1 to tutup kedai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 22
    • bear in mind that are so many Proton car owners still need spareparts for their car. So many P1 employees need to cari makan to feed their wife and child..

Kalo aku harap ko dibuang kerja mcm mana?? setuju??

• bagero on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:10 am

another Greece in the making!! welcome to socialist country!.. everything is free! and rakyat get lazier and stupider..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
  • unforgiven on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:13 am

We need to remove those free money in the pocket system. Just go out and work hard and pay your tax. This is a challenging global world now. Who wanna vote for free money to cronies? Dunno…

• So easy to promise, the sun, the moon and the stars
    but can’t even manage water properly in Selangor, can’t conduct party elections properly and can’t keep Kelantan clean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 29
    • pity chan on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:42 am

please get the fact right 1st…. dont only watch buletin utama… they good in spinning fact… water in selangor is 95% more than enough… the only problem is with SYABAS!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
      • Malaysian insider, harakah daily, suara keadilan pun can haram je… memfitnah je keja diaorg.. bukan aku x pernah baca.. selalu..

• infinity on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:33 am

Sounds very good. Cheap cars, cheap petrol, no toll, free education, PTPTN abolished, etc. Doesn’t it sounds a bit too good to be true? It would be great if that can be achieved without sacrificing other basic NECESSITIES. But in my very humble opinion, it is next to impossible.
    Well, vote wisely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
  • infinity on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:39 am

I do not understand why AES is a bad thing. Don’t give me reasons like “membebankan rakyat”. If you do not break the law, then the law will never “membebankan you”. So, for those who think AES is a bad thing, think of your loved ones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • vision2013 on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:18 am

can anyone post up the AES commission rates applicable to the AES operator?
      i will support AES if the summons collected is mainly (say, 96%* is just an estimation) taken by the Government. 4%* should be good enough for the AES operators to run and manage the company and maintenance and repair.
      of course “96%” is subject to careful analysis* on the margins the AES operators are getting.
      otherwise, all this AES thing looks too much like get rich scheme for some people connected to powerful people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • ATAS PAGAR on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Your comment is VALID. Fully agreed. However, the implementation of AES is something that this country needs as most of our ppl tend to speed and violate the traffic light. What is the problem with that? Do you think POLICE will be there all the time to catch YOU? Come on..if you do not like the system, feedback the gov and not just “membuta-tuli” point ur finger to the AES. You know it that the system can save lives..

• how much do you know about operating the AES? you’re just making an assumption that 4% is good enough. the thing is, people like you are trained to think that whatever that is done by the gov has got to do with cronyism. No doubt, that happens, but the main purpose of the AES in the 1st place, is to deter people from breaking the laws, punishing them where it hurts the most, their wallets, for the safety of other road users. since education, advertisements and campaigns don’t work, economic punishment is the only other foreseeable deterrent. saying that the AES should be removed because of cronyism at the expense of the safety of road users, doesn’t justify a good enough reason. anyway, if you’re so worried about corruption, stop speeding and the cronies won’t be fed!

• same feeling and thought here, i dont understand what is wrong with the AES system, it is one of the way to enforce traffic laws and educate those ignorant drivers who treat traffic sign as pokok beside the road, except for the implementation part. Instead of abolish AES, they should try to solve its implementation issues.

It feels like they are trying to get vote by satisfying those people with ignorant/arrogant attitude, who running red light and have no respect for speed limit.

• bagero on Feb 26, 2013 at 1:34 am

PR already cheated on rakyat.. now you want them to rule?? Ahahaha.. joke!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 44
    • tukulbesi on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:57 am

so many jokers around they really don’t know what are they trying to put on hope..

• Ha Gnih on Feb 26, 2013 at 1:48 am

I’m all for Pakatan to take over this country. I mean, Hey!!! If we don’t give them a chance, how are they suppose to prove themselves right ???? So yeah, give them the chance, if they deliver as promised, keep them. If they don’t, then we all know what to do when the next election comes

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 15
    • dah bagi peluang 5 tahun utk buktikan diri PR memerintah negeri yg ditadbir mereka.. apa perubahan yg ada?? pulau pinang pulak tanah dirampas untuk buat rumah kos tinggi.. siapa mampu beli??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • rajahGlobal on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:44 pm

if they don’t deliver, they’ll be hung high n’dry… i support u…

• inderaloka on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:08 am

Come on, BN supporters. Jangan fikir-fikir panjang lagi. Ini tawaran terbaik dari PR untuk kita. Tawaran yang memberi impak besar kepada hidup kita, yang akan membawa perubahan besar dalam pengurusan kewangan kita. Cukuplah selama ini kita menanggung beban kerana terpaksa membeli kereta pada harga yang mahal dan membayar hutang kereta sehingga 9 tahun lamanya! Sedangkan anda sendiri tahu harga kereta sebenarnya tidak semahal itu dan hutang kereta boleh dipendekkan so that kita boleh tumpu pada perkara lain yang lebih penting seperti rumah dan simpanan untuk hari tua atau saat-saat kecemasan. Please BN supporters, marilah bersama-sama kita lakukan perubahan kali ini. Trust me, you have nothing to loose. Ini untuk kebaikan kita dan anak cucu kita kelak. Jangan diulang kesilapan generasi terdahulu. Lihatlah di sekeliling kita: di atas jalan-jalan raya, di kawasan letak kereta pusat-pusat membeli-belah, kereta apa yang paling banyak dipakai oleh anak-anak muda kita? Ya, hanya itu yang mampu mereka beli dengan gaji yang mereka ada, sudahlah harga mahal, loan 9 tahun, ciri-ciri keselamatan dan keselesaan pula tidak meyakinkan. Tanpa kita sedar, generasi hari ini menyalahkan generasi terdahulu kerana telah membuat pilihan yang salah. Para penyokong BN, saya rayu anda, marilah bersama-sama kami membuat perubahan. Sekaranglah masanya dan inilah ketikanya untuk anda melakukan sesuatu yang bermakna demi kelangsungan hidup kita masa kini dan generasi akan datang. Please, fikirkanlah sedalam-dalamnya tentang tawaran PR ini…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 36
    • vision2013 on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:10 am

Bee End supporters are bilnded by greed.
      Most of these people blindly support the regime as they are paid supporters.
      what they do not see is that the few hundred or few thousand ringgit they are getting now is a rip off compared to the high cost of cars , poor road infrastructures and generally the high cost of living in the years to come.
      on the other hand, high level bee end supporters are getting millions from whatever deals and contracts they are getting, so the super high car prices are peanuts to they.
      do you then they even car about car prices when it is peanuts to them?
      well, i do really hope some of them will realise the folly they are doing and change in time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 14
      • it’s politics mate, and we all politicians are up to no good, if you’re so into democracy as being preached by the opposition, you should learn how to respect the opinions of others. there are people out there who actually scratch deeper into things rather than just looking at the surface of it.

• ahlee bin ahtan on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:19 am

Party Rubbish no need to think

• tukulbesi on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:53 am

plain stupid statement.. do you think by offering cheap car then u can support them without knowing what other else they are trying to do..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 95
  • apalagibising on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:58 am

I cannot understand, how this PR will decrease the car price ?? What method are they going to use, and if they can elaborate further on their strategies to decrease the car prices, that will be and added advantage. And a RM 25k car ?? What kind of car will that be ?? Is it flintstone kind of car ?? Meh ……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 70
    • Baharom Omar on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:11 am

Do you know that our very own malaysian made cars like Protons and Peroduas are being imposed taxes as well ?? I mean, hello !!!! They don’t need to board the PCC to reach our shores and yet, we still need to pay taxes for something LOCAL ?!?!?!?! Whahahahahaha………and yes, from a very reliable source, I managed to dig abit the true value of our Perodua and Protons. Example : Perodua Viva, basic model (black bumper) is actually evaluated at RM15K only. The build, the safety and the tech or there lack of available, are being scrutinize. Proton Waja, 1.6 auto, evaluated at RM34K ONLY. How much was it sold for when they first launched it ?? ON the high 50K region wasnt it ? Quality of parts taken into consideration as well. What these people did was, they purchased a brand new car, drove it to their facility and strip the car apart. And item by item, they will evaluate the cost and the quality. So, I was really shocked at these findings and changed my perception as to how the PR is going to achieve all these. Because seems to me, they do know what they are manifesting. And when we consider it all, it’s actually not so bad. Why stay on with the bad which is getting worse when we can have something new that gives us hope ? Fikir-fikir kan lah wahai sahabat ku semua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • ok, will consider PR for the next GE. Any counter proposal from BN? how bout countering this PR manifesto & offer a lower/abolish the taxes imposed on cars. BTW, we actually paying upfront all this fuel subsidy thru this high car taxes, hence we actually PAYING our petrol at market rate. NO SUBSIDY actually. hehehehe…kena tipu for the past 50 years or so…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • Ha Ghih on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Thats excatly what I was thinking as well bro. Haha. Funny this cycle thing. Its not only vicious, it’s now becoming a tad too misleading.

• there’s a reason why this is done, eg. taxing cars and subsidizing petrol.

it’s not as simple as what you think, the problem with people is, they don’t go deep enough into an issue and then they claim that they know it all. do you know why petrol are subsidized? because the poor who rides a motorbike can’t afford to pay unsubsidized petrol, hence, the richer or more able who can afford a car are taxed instead. it’s a very delicate balancing act. surprised? because the things u see around doesn’t necessarily represent what others are going thru, you’re living in the city with access to the internet, what about those pak ciks and mak ciks who lives in the kampung and can barely afford a new computer? don’t get me wrong, i’m all into removing the petrol subsidies, but this has to do for NOW!

• paparadzi on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:01 am

Those who save fuel are actually subsidizing those who waste their fuel.

• FirdausKLrocKz on Feb 27, 2013 at 2:45 pm

BN won’t know how to counter propose la bro. Because mereka tu, bila nak propose something or anything, always prioritize wang saku mereke sendiri dulu. Camner nak counter propose ? Silap silap, manifesto yg lebih membebankan seluruh negara nanti ter-propose baru tau. Haha. Aku nak cuba ubah haluan, tengak samada mampu beli kenderaan jenama luar ke tak. Insyallah semoga masa depan kita semua kelihatan cerah positive.

• Haya…… Kereta mau murah, minyak mau murah, barang mau murah, air mau free, sekolah mau free, mana mau korek duit cover ini semua? 2 tahun perintah je boleh bankrupt malaysia!!! Ingat negara eropah dah byk yg bankrupt…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 93
  • mosar on Feb 26, 2013 at 7:53 am

and right after the announcement of all these reduce car tax, free this and that, next thing we know..bam! income tax increase to 40%…normal marketing ploy lar, such a big hoohaa when reduce/discounts/promotions…but keep quiet when price were increased..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • “Manifesto NOT a promise!!!” Hahaha…this all is bullshit from the PKR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 51
    • Beban Negara on Feb 27, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Eventually if it becomes a reality, I would love to see HOW you can refrain yourself from enjoying this so-called bullshit =D

• slapper on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:08 am

great proposal, but before that, PLEASE solve the traffic problem which is already happening in most cities especially in the klang valley. why not propose to widen the roads or build more link roads before everyone started to jam the roads with the “more affordable cars”

• I wonder why when ppl commenting on how they support lower car tax. they get hell lotsa thumbs down while those bullshit around get more thumbs up? i wonder isit BN’s cyber trooper is around here. well i gotta tel y’all BN cyber troopers overhre. doesnt matter hot many silly thumbs down u given.. we majority of the rakyat definitely want a change. mayb that time u all will inturn support us coz u guys can changed from kapcai to better cars. till then. peace yo..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 14
  • What goverment do not everybody get the benefit directly but inderectly all get it. Whatever manifesto call as promised or not does not matter, because if 50% of the manifesto can deliver within 5 years its good enough to gauge, even 50% of the figure in manifesto delivered. We really need the Team who work hard andunderstand the people needs.
    However there is group out there dont care what in manifesto but they dont want to vote old goverment, they want new Team to drive our country. They dont bother what benefit they get. They want to exercise they democracy right. Some group also dont care what in manifesto, they want statu-quo vote the old one!.

• Why are we so worried whether PR can deliver their promises or not? BN has been mandated in power over 55 years, yet they disappoint us badly. Lets give PR a chance. If they fail miserably, then we’ll switch back to BN. The power is in our hand!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
    • tukulbesi on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:46 am

hello, you think switching gov just like switching your underwear..? think smart lah brother..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
      • e.tau on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:29 pm

hello, malaysia right now is already in deep shxt and why not give PR a chance? have further sight on what our children will be baring and living.. i’m working abroad but will be back for voting, as malaysia is my home!!

• tukulbesi on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:32 am

hello, u think by offering this kind of manifesto u will support PR to give a chance..? come on la, this is not long-term solution and some more u think all politician are genuine and trust able.? they low this car price but they up other prices and problems too.. simple as that but still the same..

• pengecutnya orang kita. dalam manifesto sendiri menjamin perlembagaan, mendaulatkan raja. so apa nak takut. bahkan mahkamah diberi pengasingan kuasa spt yg digambarkan dalam konsep sebenar negera perlembagaan.

jadi napa perlu jadi pengecut? 5 tahun je

• ATAS PAGAR on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:20 pm

Anything can happen in that 5 years if PR get the mandate….do you think corruption (by which most of u think can increase our country’s income) can be abolished after PR comes in? Come on..be it PR or BN, as long as it is politics, corruption will always be there….proper system for tender? It’s there, don’t u know it? But ppl will still go around the system to find ways to get the project..so DREAM ON fellas.

• tukulbesi on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:26 am

indeed very true.. but there are more worst thing to come if PR rules the country.. I am no bias but I speak from the truth..

• Ahmadfaris93 on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:11 am

L-O-L

• citycus on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:16 am

The car price drop will be fully implement in 5 years,than have wait until 2018 la then you can buy a real cheaper car….manifesto is not a promise…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • amirad on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:21 am

Great proposal. But I would prefer if PKR can provide public buses and trains every 3 minutes in most densely populated areas. I’m all for cheap cars but don’t mind the slightly higher fuel prices to ensure responsible usage of cars. To drive a beemer or merc to a nearby grocer or surau is just plain selfish.

• RakyatMalaysia7 on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:27 am

A lot of people expecting too much if PR ever to take over the current government.. i’d be prepared to gave them time to assess the current mess we’re having and provide a more appropriate n long-term solutions rather than provide a rush n short-term solutions..n i’d also prepared to go thru the challenges ahead,be it [email protected] that’s what any government should be doing..anyway,this time i’d choose PR over BN cause its the lesser of two evils :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Ha Ghih on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:58 am

Right on bro. Right on. The lesser of two evils indeed. But from a political perspective, they too have their hidden agendas. Been told that and agreed on. Just that are they going to do more good than bad once they have managed to take over. We need to have faith in order to see the light at the end of the tunnel.

• And after 2018, if there are no price drop and we are switch back to BN after negara nearly bankrupt.. ketua pembangkang cuma mahu jadi PM dgn apa cara sekalipun.. termasuk MANIFESTO BUKAN SEBUAH JANJI!!!

MANIFESTO UTK PRU13.. TURUNKAN HARGA KERETA DAN MINYAK.. TAPI BILA MEMERINTAH.. NANTI KHALID GAGAP AKAN CAKAP, SORI TAK DAPAT TURUNKAN HARGA KERETA DAN MINYAK SEBAB MANIFESTO BUKAN JANJI!!

SEMUDAH ITU KITA PERCAYA DAN SEMUDAH ITU KITA DITIPU.. KWANG… KWANG… KWANG…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 12
  • start-a-figt on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:33 am

wah… so many cybertroopers here.. giving thumb up and thumb down…

any cybertroopers wanna employ me?

anyway, it is good that they want to give Malaysian more cash to spend by reducing some price.. but it is quite not fully spell.. reducing for all car? selected car?

how about cars that already on the road? how about their second hand prices? do they have a plan to scrap the car that already on the road and any compensation to be given? imagine a P driver driving a 200bhp car.. that’s too much power for learner driver… its going to be hazard on the road and before we know it. we going to be like China main city, all crowded and polluted with car smoke etc…

yups… either way, we screwed. that’s the truth.

oh peace to Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • Just a gimmick to get votes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
    • Medic on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:19 am

Even if the hope is just a little,there’s something to look forward to.Give another a chance for better governance is better than stick with one that failed.BN is still trying to divide Msia racially &rule.
      Yes,Msian income has risen,but compared to say Korea who was lagging behind us is now far ahead.We are a resourceful country &we deserve better.The benefitors are BN cronies &their families.

• Ha Ghih on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Not to mention Korea, even the Thais are laughing at us now.

• tukulbesi on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:06 am

stupid offering by PR and many jokers around are blinded by PR.. come on la, with current car pricing people still afford buying more than 1 car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
    • Denfire on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:28 am

Indeed people still afford to buy. They are buying it because they need it, even it is expensive but not for the luxury of it.
      If public transport is so good, who would want to buy a car which is expensive to maintain?
      Before you asking other to be joker, think about it.
      People now is already educated, you really though so easy to blinded?

• Joker? What’s PR suppose to come out and say? Our taxes are wonderful! Keep on at it BN!

Any more damage to the country, we’ll be in serious trouble in another 10 years or so. Then it’ll really take a miracle to save us.

My cousin just got hitched and is staying in the States, when there for the first time last year and you’d be surprise how much spending power people have. Low,middle class etc, freshgrad’s annual salaries can actually pay off cars. They get about 18kUSD annually, and a simple civic there is 19KUSD.

However here in kl, 20k annually can’t even get you a Viva let alone a house.

• what we need is a public transportation system that works. Lower the car prices will just increase the cars on the road which ultimately turns KL into Bangkok or Jakarta!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • anti macai on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:12 am

If PR wants to reduce the car price, this macai will say “jangan mimpi la”, “pandai janji je, buatnya tak”, “Malaysia will bankcrupt!”.

But if BN wants to reduce the car price, the same macai will say: “Rakyat didahulukan!”, “Janji Ditepati”.

Macai are always macai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • khalid ibrahim on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:44 am

manifesto bukan janji…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • james yap on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:10 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 109
  • HirumaKecil on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:29 am

Yeahhh.. Cut everything… Coz later if you have no money anymore, U can always cut all the pokok in Malaysia… More cars, less trees…. We need more carbon dioxide!!!! Who need oxygen????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • Wak Joko on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:37 am

Whateva lor.. but either BN or PR… we as a democracy country. we need to change our government like happen to US,UK and others.

Cannot just similar party going for very long time.. they will cheat and take care family/crony instead of rakyat… so let VOTE for PR and we see the performance.. if they failed we vote for change again.. please been positive and realistic. BN not our god, they just party to lead our government and can be changed every 5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 81
    • Splendid on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:37 pm

hhaha bro… be realistic la… cheaper car, cheaper gas?…… nk bodoh kan org pendek akal bolehla… stupid…org tu nk jadi PM…. ckap pakai mulut nk sedap dengar… lower down price of car n gas? so yg kaya2 bertambah la kaya… miskin tetap miskin…same price gas pay by lower income and 1%,pikir la… bertambah la gap yg kaya dan miskin.. better BR1M… manifesto not a promise… dont be fool la….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 18
      • so BR1M boleh guna utk makan setahun? suruh najib guna Br1M utk makan setahun..

• pinball on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:41 am

at least ade gak.. kalo PR aku ingat jgn harap nk bagi baik bagi kat kroni dorg jer..

• Why did nobody discuss the ‘profit margin’ by car companies? How much or % of every Vios, Almera, City, the Koreans or even Proton? Exclude all the Contis, consider it as premium brands..
    Will this manifesto cap the car company profit margin? And will the car company agree to comply?

• Kereta Man on Feb 27, 2013 at 5:37 pm

Profit margins of the dealers are very minimal. Even the premium guys only make 5-6& of the price which excludes tax. The biggest donation you make is the the government when you buy a car in Malaysia.

• Valjean on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:43 am

I would like to thank Paul Tan for putting this PR Manifesto up. At least the are still some press freedom (and fair reporting) albeit we are shemalessly ranked 145 out of perhaps 160 countries.

As for next GE, it is too late for me but I am voting for a better future for my child.

Lastly I would like to dedicate the song “Do you Hear the People Sing?” from Les Miserables to our government (both federal and states). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PTLwzuQuRsw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 93
  • car guy on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:54 am

just wondering if they will cut the duty across all the spectrum (heavy machineries / motorcycle / lorries / or just passenger cars. it also does not specify whether this applies to cheap / small cc cars only or includes everything from SUV to sport cars to luxury cars.
    Just my opinion, slashing all this duties will create a huge void to the income of the government, pay less duty to the customs, means they will have to balance their account somewhere else. surely they will raise taxes somewhere else to counter this imbalance. they are going to lose billions in duty alone.
    well..just my two cents

• e.tau on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:49 pm

yes no doubt slashing the duties will cause a void, but have we found out where have these money spend with this BeEnd? do you see an upgrade of the infrastructures? i think the coming gov has to scrutinize the gov workforce in order to reduce the federal expense and improve its productivity.. my 2cents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 98
  • Wan83 on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:27 pm

Wait for it, tomorrow Pakatan Rakyat will announce to bring down Ferrari price under 50k if they won the next election -Malaysiakini. Haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 10
    • pinball on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:52 am

then all grey importer/car dealer bungkus & PR cronies take over all the business..

• jeffreyee on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:41 pm

Hi all,
    i’m enjoying subsidize water n electricity now in selangor. so nice. previously stayed at kl. will vote for the same govt providing the subsidy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 52
    • if you are poor, then yes, u deserved the subsidies, but if you are rich, then shame on you!

• fuel cell phone on Feb 26, 2013 at 1:11 pm

So what are BN’s manifesto on automotive industry for next GE then?

As for PR’s manifesto, I fully agree on the issues hightlighted and proposed mitigations, although they will need to replace BN in order to execute them.

• Whynot on Feb 26, 2013 at 1:44 pm

End of the cronies and blood suckers!

• ckd master on Feb 26, 2013 at 1:57 pm

Reduce the car price is highly appreciated but it may distrub the stability of auto industry at least 5 years. So please come up to option and way to reduce the impact like giving mandatory requirement on safety, quality and reduction of part price. We want our cars owned stand long, with high quality, afforadble according income, cheaper spare parts, highest spec and saftey with minimum maintenance charges and more years of warranty. The manufacturer must make sure their selling cars are the best produce for malaysian

• e.tau on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:21 pm

its the government to first of all set more stringent local automotive standard as what the EU has done, including the aseanncap standard. we as the consumer who is paying the hard earn money to the OEM need to assess wisely on the vehicle features rather than the vehicles brand name that inherit from the past, which i think most of us know some of the recent local assemble new cars have downgraded spec (compare to other countries) thanks to the local motor assembler (not FDI like in Thai)…

• Whynot on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:43 pm

The funny things about business especially in the auto industry is that the more affordable car can be own by more Malaysians, the more is the other businesses established with related services and parts will eventually booms too! That means more cheaper spare parts and more newer and better competitions like EV and ultimately Extended EV will soon be seem on the road. This have extremely positive effects to keep pollutions down and that matter most to all – our up most concern around the world.

• brian on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:09 pm

abolish excise duty, proton will become a luxury brand coz proton don’t want to make any cheap car in future. good luck proton.

• Whynot on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:47 pm

You are partly right. Proton wanted to sell expensive and luxury auto. But the most concern is their quality and design skill are still lacks far behind most of the luxury auto around the world. R & D stinks in P1!

• Whynot on Feb 26, 2013 at 9:11 pm

Proton exterior design is still way out of expectations from both the Malaysian and auto exterior body features designers!

• Concerned citizen on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:01 pm

Wowiee, this is news is really exciting, especially for car enthusiasts. Will definitely make more models more accessible to the masses.

However, I am concerned on how they plan to fund all this. Considering that if PR is in power, the government coffers will be
    1. Without excise tax for cars
    2. No GST
    3. Re-directed Petroleum proceeds for increased subsidy
    4. Acquisition of Toll, Water, Power generation & Road concessionaires
    5. Added annual liabilities (OPEX & CAPEX) of these concessionaires directly under the responsibility of the government.
    6. Lowered Oil Royalty collection to Federal due to increased collection to Oil Producing States
    7. Free Tertiary Education
    8. The list goes on.

Sounds great on paper, but lack clarity. A whole lot of SPENDING rather then GENERATING. Somebody please explain, since it is not clear in Buku Jingga. And considering Buku Jingga takes the notion of existing federal collection amount as their reference figure. Based on Buku Jingga promises, federal collection will be on a reducing trend year-on-year, due to equity acquisitions, higher subsidies, welfare handouts, free tertiary education, oil royalty & tax reductions & increased liabilities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • There’s a real big financial leak with the way things are currently run. Im sure if some stop gaps are filled with actual working policies, there will be money to lower certain commodities.

Im no expert but if countries with a lower resource pool can overtake us, im sure there is a way.

• Oh yeah for example, the extension of the LRT line currently. Word is that out of the 7 tenders that went in, the one who got awarded with it was the 2nd most expensive and the third lowest rated companies out of the 7. The difference between the best rated and the company who won it was RM200mil.

Cutting deals like that out would save heaps of cash.

• concerned citizen on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:40 pm

I am sorry DB10, but I dont buy that type of explaination. Simply bcoz
        1. Contract scope and T&C are not accessible to me for me to make a judgement whether it is possible to get back that theoretical RM 200mil. Siting an example in the K-Dow deal, where the government inpower cancelled a contract deal between Kuwait state owned company with Dow chemical ended up with a USD 2bil in compensation. See one thing that I find sad is that PR is full of lawyers, but take contract agreements lightly, as if contracts can be changed easily without cost impacts.
        2. A corruption saving economic model / estimation is foolish and unsustainable. No government or company in the world accounts it as a bugetary figure. It is consequential / lagging. I.e. If can get.
        3. If this is achieveable hypothetically, it is just a once off thing. What happens in the subsequent years after the so called plugging of leakages.

Seriously there is nothing strategic about the manifesto. It is without a strategic plan to steer Malaysia forward, just governance practices and budget redistribution. Too short term. VERY SAD.

• Fair point. Good to have someone rational bite back.

So tell me, there’s enough evidence that our current economic climate is worsening with raising debt that has almost doubled from 2007 despite strong GDP growth. It is evident our financial structures are weak and not evolving.

Would you rather have things remain status quo or let some other people try their luck?

• ProtongkatTun? on Feb 26, 2013 at 3:25 pm

Looked like one of TunM life saving tongkat named Protongkat is to be snatched from him amid his effort to save it from future PR govt hands, by the use of DRB-Hicom platform. Good, but it may result in Proton turned more haywire. Just hope PR also got good plans for Proton and M’sian auto ind. too, but it’s just not the time yet to announce it…

• RUKUN on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Cheaper car –> money to buy? even staff in UNISEL are not paid their backdated payment

Increase public transport? –> in Alor Setar the public transport died…lots of private cars and motorbikes

AES –> good to capture those speed demons that have been the cause of major road accidents.

Free education? –> the students need to study hard in order to get FREE education not just sitting there getting free students fee and flop every semester

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 6
    • Says who that unisel staff were not paid their salary or backdated? My father is with unisel for the past 4 years, not even a month without salary yet! The ones were held their salary was the company that the maintaining building contracts since under khir toyo. They couldnt fulfill the requirements needed by uni itself, then they freeze the salary. Have u ever tot that this workers ARE the workers of THAT company instead of unisel’s? And plus, failed students get to pay the full amount of wat they’ve wasted from tax payers coffer. Open up ur mind a bit. No failures get to live in this world. By wat they mean free edu is to give free edu to the ones who really wanna achieve tru education. Have u ever give it a tot that thousands out there couldnt get a proper edu bcoz lack of financial support? Wat a utter disgrace to have u in msia. Ur comment may look like u’re reading things around. But simply couldnt analyse and conclude to the facts that u’ve got. I hope u apply for free edu when PR goes up!

• concerned citizen on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:03 am

Dear Lez, have to correct you. At present free or near free (heavy discounts) are still awarded to JPA and PTPTN scholars / students. In Buku Jingga in the fine print, it again states the same thing that is available currently through PTPTN, that free education is given to those who excel. It is not a blanket for all. What is stated in Buku Jingga and stated by PR politicians are not the same. Very misleading. Latest buku jingga it states that PTPTN will not be abolished, only interest free. Therefore please explain again what does free tertiary education again mean by PR? It changes to violently that I have lost track of its definition. Very worried on selling manifestos that will not be implemented. Cheated even b4 they take office. So please be fair in commenting. Word of advise, please read the latest manifesto before you decide, it revises often.

For the record, referred buku jingga from DAP site, before 2012 budget, after 2012 budget and yesterday. Great book on being over dramatic. But too much changes. I know that they are all for change, but need to be easy on the frequent manifesto changes guys. Getting confusing.

• frank on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:27 pm

If the manifesto come true..Make sure to reduce the installment plan to 5 years. 9 years is ridiculous. Then follow the singapore vehicle quota and roadtax structure in order to reduce car number.

• how PR to generate money to implement “negara berkebajikan” concept

1-implementing open tender as single procurement (except for fast track project or project fund by private).

i think it’ll saving a huge amount. RM 25-40 bilion a year i think. why not bcoz rm25 milion project can be build just only rm 17.5 milion or lower with open and transperancy tender. saving 7.5 milion. if 100 project a year? 200 project? how. 1.implementing open and transparancy tender. so only the best with good offer get the job. so no additional cost cause by late handover. 2.use standard design especially for school, hospital and clinic project. 3.involving value management team in every project. huge saving. value management guide you to build building base only on your need not base your desire. as example why must 5m height wall instead standard 3.5m height wall? why must lobby each floor? why must 25 class room for 100 people. So design must what user need and must value for money and space. 4.cheaper material and cost due to lower fuel/ diesel price. cheaper material due to lower tax for corporate firm, lower tax for import material and cheaper material of coz bcoz lower cost for production (lower electricity, water, fuel bill etc)

2.lower operation cost for business

No 1. By decreasing corporate tax, vehicle tax, fuel, electricity, water price and also by reducing corruption, I think operation cost for business will became lower. Lower cost for operation result made in Malaysian product to be more competitive in global market. And indirectly it’ll increase company profit. Final profit goes to government and Malaysian (they must pay corporate tax la).
    No2. More FDI for Malaysia especially high tech company (labour not their main operation cost). More jobs for Malaysian. And more money for Malaysian (they must pay competitive salary to compete with other company. Byk FDI ma.)

3.increase federal revenue by powering GLC

I think Tan Sri Khalid, MB Selangor will lead finance ministry. Base on his experience and track record (CEO of The Year for 2 years, susccessfully buy Guthrie Plc from London Stock Market, among best PNB/ Guthrie chief executive/ CEO to date) I think GLC will generate more income for Malaysian as major shareholder. Also if u watch PR policy and approach, I think GLC will be more transperancy (almost free from bribe, fair income. Under BN CIMB boss salary higher than Petronas boss salary) and they will selected head of GLC base on merit not base on crony and will give them more freedom in managing company. The result GLC will generate more income to Malaysian. As example in plantation business, IOI generate more profit for every hectar compare to GLC like Sime Darby,FELDA or TH Plantation. PR also has more profesional background candidate compared to BN. The loss making money GLC like MAS, KTMB, KUB and many more I think will profitable under PR. Insyaallah.

4.Maximise resource

Malaysia is a country rich with resource. We have good quality oil, good land for agriculture, good education people, beautiful island, good weather. I think if PR good in managing our resource (of coz I think), I think Malaysia will generate more income from Petronas, agro tourism business, plantation business (sime darby, TH Plantation, Felda), agro business etc.

So why not. For me. Just give them 5 year.
    They successfully manage money for 4 state they rule. Prove? No 1, sucessfully increasing state saving and at the same time decrease debt especially in Selangor and Penang. No 2, audit report by Malaysia chief auditor mention PR state good in managing money and resource. No3. Increasing FDI especially in Selangor and Penang. No4 lu tambah la sendiri.

This just my opinion. Im just a layman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 87
  • ChiMoii on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:42 pm

I am neither a BN supporter nor a PR supporter, but from the PR’s manifesto, there are a few great ideas that whomever takes control of the government in this coming election to take into consideration. BN has it’s flaws and PR has it’s flaws too. What I’m saying is each vote counts and we must decide carefully on whom we shall allow to govern the government because it is not just for us, but also for our children and their children. Policies implemented now will affect the present and the future too.

• ah beng on Feb 26, 2013 at 5:53 pm

I talked with a friend in MOF…he told me that current policy the import tax now less than 20%, sales duty excise at 100%..a honda civic only cost rm30k, plus those tax will cost less than 70k..but the seller also put high margin to cover other cost ie transportation, showroom, labour, etc..and easily the price more than 100k… in the end the people pay higher price.. damn!

• Say NO to PR on Feb 26, 2013 at 6:36 pm

Harga rumah lagi Mahal sampai setengah juta utk terrace houses kenapa harga keretabyg sibuk nk turunkan? Itu Pakatan people sleep in their car kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • paparadzi on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:20 am

Because car price are fixed and heavily taxed. House price are determined by the market; if the demand drop the price will too.

• muhammadbinmeor on Feb 26, 2013 at 6:58 pm

after 55 years BN still begging the rakyat to give them a chance to remain in power..wtf?55 tahun x cukup ke??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • muhammadbinmeor on Feb 26, 2013 at 6:59 pm

after 55 years BN still begging the rakyat to give them a chance to remain in power..wtf?55 tahun x cukup ke??nak brapa tahun lg nak rompak duit rakyat???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Oh My Car on Feb 26, 2013 at 7:30 pm

I just bought a new car, so who should I vote?

• Jesse on Feb 26, 2013 at 7:33 pm

Why now? We have been complaining, whining and bitching about this since like forever. If BN are bribing Rakyat with money, I say PR are bribing Rakyat with manifesto. They should have done this way earlier to show they are sincere. Now, it seems like it’s just another bait to get votes.

And instead of reducing car price, they should ‘promise’ to reduce property price. That, IMHO, is more important. We are talking about our children and grandchildren, aren’t we? Where do they going to live if the properties price are ever going up? In the car, I guess, since the car is cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Visitor on Feb 26, 2013 at 7:42 pm

In Australia, car prices are comparatively lower than in Malaysia, but the monthly repayment rates are high. Based on my online observation, the rate is somewhere from roughly 7% – 18%. In Malaysia, you can get somewhere from 2.5% to 4%. Source: http://www.ratecity.com.au/car-loans/australia

We should remember, any policies that directly affect people’s pocketbook also affects the banks too. Sorry if my statement is inaccurate, but this is just my personal opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Bhmoey on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:58 pm

If you want to pay the current price, vote BN.
    If you want to pay same price but for better quality car, vote PR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
  • I dont see any difference between PR and BN. I can tell this because i’m living in Penang for the past 15 years. Traffic is worst and the road is terrible. Some more wants to reduce tax on cars. Why PR focus on car tax? Why not use the money to improve public transport. Penang people need to lrt/mrt not more cars on the road. Driving manners, worst in the country. Yeah im frustrated, everyday jam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
  • The upcoming 13th General Elections will be a much-anticipated, most exciting and nail-biting election in the country’s history.

Speculation on the election date has gone on for almost one year. The options for the election timing is getting shorter. It is expected that the GE will be held on April 14 or 21, 2013.

There are three possible outcomes for the coming election: Scenario 1 : The present status quo remains Scenario 2 : A reduced majority for BN Scenario 3 : BN regains two thirds majority There are 222 parliamentary seats in the country of which about 150 are Malay/Bumiputera seats, 30 mixed seats and 42 Chinese majority seats.

In the 2008 elections, BN won 140 seats and the Opposition won 82 seats. A further breakdown shows that UMNO won 79 seats, MCA 15 seats, MIC 3 and Gerakan 2, PKR won 31 seats, DAP 28 seats and PAS 23 seats.

From our analysis, it is becoming quite clear that the rural population has largely returned to BN, in particular rural Malays has largely shifted back to UMNO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
  • gugel on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:01 pm

LONG LIVE PAKATAN RAKYAT!!…at last i’m going to pay less car instalment. Urrrm…wht shall i do for the surplus income??!! Waaa..apa lagi..pegi urut la, so many reflexology centre, x ssah punyer,…alamak klab gay pun manyak oooo,..lu org pegi saner la, wa x layan itu brg..wa layan itu amoi China Doll maa..sekarang di selangor senang mau jumpa ooo. But plizz keep to ourself la bro, if our wife know it..sure they not going to vote for PR ma!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
    • what concerned me is all those manifesto mentioned will reduce gov revenue by quite a margin, where will it be the income generated? by reduce of expenses and inefficiency? It will works but only until a point where it will be impossible to cut cost anymore, zero admin expenses, possible?? lol

I believe they will say petronas la you dumb head. but I dont like the idea of heavily relied on petronas to feed the policies if PR succeed and implemented it.

hope that they do better job than existing one and dont trade the future of our country for their power to syok sendiri

1-implementing open tender as single procurement (except for fast track project or project fund by private).

i think it’ll saving a huge amount. RM 25-40 bilion a year i think. why not bcoz rm25 milion project can be build just only rm 17.5 milion or lower with open and transperancy tender. saving 7.5 milion. if 100 project a year? 200 project? how. 1.implementing open and transparancy tender. so only the best with good offer get the job. so no additional cost cause by late handover. 2.use standard design especially for school, hospital and clinic project. 3.involving value management team in every project. huge saving. value management guide you to build building base only on your need not base your desire. as example why must 5m height wall instead standard 3.5m height wall? why must lobby each floor? why must 25 class room for 100 people. So design must what user need and must value for money and space. 4.cheaper material and cost due to lower fuel/ diesel price. cheaper material due to lower tax for corporate firm, lower tax for import material and cheaper material of coz bcoz lower cost for production (lower electricity, water, fuel bill etc)

No 1. By decreasing corporate tax, vehicle tax, fuel, electricity, water price and also by reducing corruption, I think operation cost for business will became lower. Lower cost for operation result made in Malaysian product to be more competitive in global market. And indirectly it’ll increase company profit. Final profit goes to government and Malaysian (they must pay corporate tax la).
    No2. More FDI for Malaysia especially high tech company (labour not their main operation cost). More jobs for Malaysian. And more money for Malaysian (they must pay competitive salary to compete with other company. Byk FDI ma.)

I think Tan Sri Khalid, MB Selangor will lead finance ministry. Base on his experience and track record (CEO of The Year for 2 years, susccessfully buy Guthrie Plc from London Stock Market, among best PNB/ Guthrie chief executive/ CEO to date) I think GLC will generate more income for Malaysian as major shareholder. Also if u watch PR policy and approach, I think GLC will be more transperancy (almost free from bribe, fair income. Under BN CIMB boss salary higher than Petronas boss salary) and they will selected head of GLC base on merit not base on crony and will give them more freedom in managing company. The result GLC will generate more income to Malaysian. As example in plantation business, IOI generate more profit for every hectar compare to GLC like Sime Darby,FELDA or TH Plantation. PR also has more profesional background candidate compared to BN. The loss making money GLC like MAS, KTMB, KUB and many more I think will profitable under PR. Insyaallah.

4.Maximise resource

Malaysia is a country rich with resource. We have good quality oil, good land for agriculture, good education people, beautiful island, good weather. I think if PR good in managing our resource (of coz I think), I think Malaysia will generate more income from Petronas, agro tourism business, plantation business (sime darby, TH Plantation, Felda), agro business etc.

They successfully manage money for 4 state they rule. Prove? No 1, sucessfully increasing state saving and at the same time decrease debt especially in Selangor and Penang. No 2, audit report by Malaysia chief auditor mention PR state good in managing money and resource. No3. Increasing FDI especially in Selangor and Penang. No4 lu tambah la sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9

4.Maximise resource

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Rakyat on Feb 27, 2013 at 2:27 am

One more manifesto should be closing P1. No P1 -> No crony -> No expensive car -> Better economy -> Better country.

• bigguy on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:23 am

I guess if they closed P1 alot of people will lose their jobs..mostly rural folks at slim river and tanjung malim but then all the rakyat will benefit from cheap cars. I guess they also now kinda “gambra” if PR won. Cant wait to but new cheap toyota and drive all around malaysia on free toll highway hahahaha

• zahar lipis mari on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:06 am

settel the water problems in selangor, kelantan first la bro. Tipu kuat ini orang..

janda selangor punya duit mana?

anak pra sekolah punya duit mana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • Janji Bukan janji on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:06 am

I can’t understand , why people so excited about the PR Minifesto , PR Selangor state government already told you that Minifesto is not a promise. It’s merely a statement not a janji. In other word = nothing but nothing- the only thing is cheating the RAKYAT.

• zahar lipis mari on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:07 am

settel the water problems in selangor, kelantan first la bro. Tipu kuat ini orang..

janda selangor punya duit mana?

anak pra sekolah punya duit mana? tipu janji juga

• Uni stdent on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:43 am

Saya seorg student di muadzam dari selangor.. Isu air di selangor – x dpt air percuma. Nak dpt air percuma kena pakai meter individu. Thus, yg pakai meter pukal mcm di apartment kena minta Syabas tukar meter. Then y blame selangor bila x dpt air percuma sedgkan Syabas yg lengahkan tukar meter? Saya belajar di muadzam. Sepanjang 2 taon lebih belajar d cni, jalan jempol smpai muadzam X PERNAH diturap. Last 2 months only diorg start turap jalan. Nmpak sgt nak pilihanraya. N korg nak ckp pasal jalan teruk? Dei. Try jalan dari kajang – muadzam – kuantan. Berombak mcm di laut ~~~~~~

• cardreamer on Feb 27, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Haha..banyak betul komennya..
    When it comes to politics, Malaysia really waste a lot thinking and wasting time and money..
    Politic is so simple. Modern people and developed countries keep on changing G without having to hoo haa a lot. Whenever they feel something is wrong for how small it is, they can simply change their politician, to the extent even before they can do that, those politician will resign first! And that’s what we call integrity, both rakyat and rulers. In Malaysia, integrity is only a slogan, and surely we love slogan very much! 1 Malaysia! Here and there..just about anything! In Malaysia, politician will drag as long as possible the election so as to hold on to powers! And the people never have a sense of fishy things around that!
    Please ignore all those manifestos from both sides. As Khalid says, it is not a promise. Yes it is! He is definitely correct as far as a wise person could think. A manifesto is a kind of work planning program that you intent to do. That’s it. Both BN or PR are the same. They intent to do! Get it people? So stop bickering on it. After all, it is hard to convince the Malaysian people whom had been mind programmed by the media of BN of everything until they even think that no other party can rule except BN. If you buried PR, come next election be AB, DKT, PKFZ, NFC coalition, BN will still rule! How pathetic the people have become being dictate under BN for half a century! They are so afraid to change of anything. Afraid of something worst to come! And they can swallow and let be all other corrupt, wastages, price hike, tolls, crime rate etc..because they are so afraid to change! Hail BN for this corrupt minded people we have!
    PR is no better than BN for sure. And so the republican over the democrate or the labor to the conservatives! But changing will give changes a better chance and competitiveness will drive quality and success! We all understand that in corporate organizations. But when it comes to politics, we become so stupid and dumb to understand this!
    It is not a surprise for PR to put extravanganza manifesto. Do you think it is so easy to topple a ruling party that is in the G for half a century? Even for ruling party having ruled for half a century, they are bribing the people under the 1 brand in daylight! What not to those without all the means and money to spend? Do you think it is easy to win the corrupt materialistic and selfish minded Malaysian to vote for them? They only think about their car prices will drop but not for their kids to buy cheaper cars in the future! Selfish! I bought a RM150k car last year and I’ll surely loose, but my kids will get cheaper car in return!
    For me, I’ll vote PR not because they are good, to get cheaper car, to get free education, to get this and that! If it is so, I’ll consider it as a bonus. That’s all. I vote PR because I want to taste change. I want to watch TV3 again! To give change a chance. Only change can brought up new ideas, policy, cleaner system, better results, competitiveness among politicians.
    The people only slightly change towards PR last election and just think what do people are getting now? Since when did people get all those 1 goodies? Since 30 years ago? 40 years ago? Nope? Since changes are taking place right? Since people are voting for the opposition! That’s it! So give credit to PR and honour them with ruling mandate for what you get now!
    Now you bang PR for this auto related manifesto, for all you know, the G will react to this and you will get something out of this manifesto anyway. The people will get the benefit! Once the Selangor G give free water to the people, the federal G react by giving rebate to electrical bills, right? That’s competition. Then the politician won’t be spending their time enriching themselves anymore for they know people will still vote for them come hell broke loose! And now this trend is changing.
    So if you people keep the changing pace by giving change a chance, you will reap more and more. Even now you have witnessed this thing! So please honor our opposition politician for their hard work all these years. They are surely not as wealthy as those BN politicians. Their wealth put all together may not even reach the wealth of the ex-PM son!, and that speaks for itself why you should vote them this time around.