Alfa Romeo 4C – fresh images and details released

Alfa Romeo 4C-04

You’ve seen and drooled over pics of the Alfa Romeo 4C Concept in red and fluid metal, as well as the production 4C earlier this month – now the Italian brand has released additional info and fresh images of their Geneva 2013 debutant, including a first look at the 4C’s cabin.

This mid-engined RWD coupe looks compact and it is. The two seater is just under four metres long, two metres wide, and 1.18 metres tall, with a wheelbase of less than 2.4 metres.

Behind those seats lie an evolution of Alfa’s “1750” four-cylinder turbo used in the Giulietta QV. This modern motor has direct injection, dual continuous VVT and a scavenging control system that eliminates turbo lag. 237 hp is the figure speculated, but there’s no official confirmation so far.

The TBi engine is paired to a TCT twin dry clutch transmission, which Alfa says is a benchmark in its segment due to its low weight and extreme speed of activation. There’s also a new Alfa DNA selector which not only features the three usual settings – Dynamic, Natural and All Weather – but also a more extreme Race mode.

The 4C is an important car for Alfa. To be produced at the Maserati plant in Modena, the “compact supercar” will go on sale this year, marking the return of the brand to the USA and spearheading Alfa’s global growth plan. Word is that a track version, a more powerful “Stradale” variant and an open top 4C will join the range in the future.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• jaybond on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:32 am

This car will fight the likes of Porsche Cayman, BMW Z4, Nissan Z4, Audi TT, and the upcoming new Alpine Renault Sportscar..

• crzSupercharger on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:36 am

and the mighty crz..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • ren zen on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:53 pm

I smoke my friend crz supercharger everytime with my fiat hgt. And it was easy ! So no way this car can compete with ur blardy crz.

• Fiat hgt punto? u mean the car that looks like a perodua viva? omg…

• junbecks on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:58 pm

no it doesnt. so there is something wrong with your eyes.

• ren zen on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:32 pm

what car ur driving sir? anyway, u comparing it viva? its way more better than ur lame car. u need an eyes check thats for sure, mambo.

• ren zen on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:43 pm

Really? Comparing hgt looks to ur viva? Oh come on. That’s show how bad ur brains actually works. And I wonder is it really you AVH®.

• AVH® on Feb 26, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Very ugly car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Sam Loo on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:17 am

You have to be a Super Idiot to buy Alfa in Malaysia. Bad RV. Not just bad RV, cannot sell the car later. No buyers. All current Alfa owners crying to the bank cause have to buy CBU Italian parts. Who owns Ferrari? Alfa owns Ferrari. So, use your logic. Buy Toyota for better RV.

• wan RV seriously? buy gold…. ppl who buy alfa they actually know it… im strongly agreed with u with those toyota or honda having very good RV…. but pls dun saying those ppl buying alfa is super idiot… ppl who buy alfa they are afford to bear the diff.! every car owing their personality… its jus depend wut is the main reason to chose yr car….

• Individualistic on May 31, 2013 at 10:48 pm

I believe that people that could own an alfa definitely have more than what is needed to survive and RV is just a matter of a extra for them.Yes toyota maybe more convenient and reliable but i’m quite sure if one could buy this 4c is definitely not looking for reliable and convenience.

• and Lotus Evora too.

• superman on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Agreed, the side profile design is very similar to Lotus Evora, even the rear tail lights. I persoanlly think Lotus design is nicer.

• frenzyaustin on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:34 am

Nissan Z4? Where you heard about it? Or Z34?

• Megane on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:36 am

Perodua aircond vents ? hehe . ANyway i think this car should sell < 250k .

• _xXx_ on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:53 am

nice…but still have a long way to go before it can beat Preve. Hehe…

• Unique car. If the price is similar to Peugeot RCZ, or maybe slightly higher, then it will be a good contender in the entry level sports car market.

I can see it competing with RCZ, TT, Cayman.

• Pat San on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:37 pm

This should give Lotus a good competition.

• Chua soi lek on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:03 pm

I receive mysterious sms says that this car no manual and that it is so underpowered. Sokong bn, free this car.

• Merc = Real Conti on Feb 26, 2013 at 8:48 pm

Rather buy a Lotus… Alfa is known for emotion style and not much reliability or quality.

• 4C LOVER on Jan 15, 2015 at 4:30 pm

WILL IT BE AVAILABLE IN MALAYSIA?