McLaren P1 – pictures of full production model leaked!

McLarenP1_1

So here you go, this is the production version of the McLaren P1 hypercar, shown for the first time in its full glory. This set of pictures has been making the rounds on the Internet before its official unveiling at the Geneva motor show.

But wait a minute, haven’t we seen this car before? Yes and no, as McLaren first showcased the P1 as a design study in Paris last year, then claimed that it’s 97% representative of the real deal. The start of 2013 cued the release of a few teaser shots plus a video showing the production model in action, and since then we’ve also seen the P1’s minimalistic interior.

How do we know for sure that this is the production model and not just a repainted version of the design study? Easy enough – the extra air vents placed ahead of the front tyres is the first clue, followed by the (more-production feasible) tighter mesh used on the giant rear air vent. Oh, and the fitment of road-legal tyres instead of show rubbers is a dead giveaway.

McLarenP1_3

The differences are minute, and it can easily be confused with the earlier show car we’ve stared upon for months now. McLaren themselves haven’t helped things, unleashing the stunning results of a photoshoot of the P1 design study at the Bahrain International Circuit while in the midst of releasing teaser images and technical info of the production model.

Let’s do a quick recap. We now know that the P1 will be powered by an insane 916 PS/900 Nm hybrid powerplant (using the twin-turbo 3.8 litre V8 engine used in the MP4-12C as base) running the rear wheels through a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission. It can also travel up to 10 km on electric power alone, helping it to emit less than 200 grammes of CO2 per kilometre.

And just like an F1 car, it has an active DRS (Drag Reduction System) to make it punch through the air quicker at the press of a button. The other button on the steering wheel activates IPAS (Instant Power Assist System), which gives you an extra 179 PS in an instant. Much like KERS on F1 cars then. Or the S+ button on the facelifted Honda CR-Z.

More pictures and details to follow once they emerge. For now, enjoy the leaked pictures below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Spot on !!!

Estacy for the visual…

• Sam Loo on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:32 am

McLaren got lousy RV. One thing, McLAren cannot challenge Toyota RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • What are u smoking??? on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:42 am

McLaren F! cost $1mil. in 1992 -1998 sold for $4mil in 2009. Any Toyota cars that have RV above the cost price???

You should stop smoking, good for your brain!!!!

• Do you ever know that the legendary McLaren F1 is one of the cars that does not depreciate at all? It’s like buying a house. The price nowadays are several times more expensive than during its launching year.

• chris on Apr 12, 2013 at 8:06 pm

You should be shot for even uttering such a statement.

• Some said this can be a daily ride to work…wish to have one…

• shawal on Feb 26, 2013 at 4:55 pm

mclaren can make exciting cars after all…

• Yeah they caome out with new model like once in a decade, but each of their models are really technically and technologically-advanced car.

• Jason on Feb 26, 2013 at 5:05 pm

It looks so damn ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
    • Because if you read from its design philosophy, it’s science, not art. Design that’s art are like Ferraris, Maseratis and Astons. But this car is designed under long hours in wind tunnel, so it doesn’t necessarily to look beautiful, as long as it is very aerodynamically-efficient.

• joanna on Feb 26, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Preve is so much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • Jimmy on Feb 26, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Abang punya mulut mendapat idea daripada Lambo, adik punya muka diinspirasikan oleh McLaren. True?

• seancorr on Feb 26, 2013 at 5:53 pm

This is one awesome looker of a car. Coupled with the insane engine spec, its gonna b a killer.

Wish they would have done a better job with the DRL…the ones they using are so old school.

• crzSupercharger on Feb 26, 2013 at 7:57 pm

“IPAS (Instant Power Assist System), which gives you an extra 179 PS in an instant, much like the S+ button on the Honda CR-Z.” Oh yeah, the S+ button is freaking awesome button u ll luv to press it more than nipple in car!

• albag on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:09 pm

crazy extreme design… am i now in 2050?

• GT-Rider on Feb 26, 2013 at 11:52 pm

Looking forward to seeing it in front of my eyes, till then…..

• huyoo on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:27 pm

GT-R is the king!!

• I do love and admire the GT-R, but I’m sick of these kind of people on the internet who keeps on worshiping the GT-R like it’s the best car in the universe.

• Ah Beng on Feb 27, 2013 at 2:22 am

Wow, the design is just wow. A proper design hybrid sports car unlike CRZ.

• Joe Radzif on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:02 am

Wow…
    Nice Butt!!!