Audi A6 Hybrid officially launched – RM280k starting price, Comfort Key RM3k, reverse camera RM5k

Audi A6 Hybrid

Euromobil has officially launched the Audi A6 Hybrid in Malaysia. The import and excise duty-exempt executive sedan starts from a competitive RM280k (OTR without insurance).

The car was officially unveiled by YAB Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad this evening. Also present at the launch was DRB-Hicom group MD and Euromobil chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil.

“With the introduction of the A6 Hybrid in Malaysia, we hope that the steps taken towards encouraging the implementation of advanced green technology in the automotive industry will help the country to be on par with their neighbouring counterparts, and be more competitive on a global scale,” said Khamil.

DSCF4079

The Audi A6 Hybrid is powered by a combination of a 211 hp/350 Nm 2.0 TFSI and a 54 hp/211 Nm electric motor that’s fed by a 1.3 kWh lithium-ion battery. A total output of 245 hp and 480 Nm of torque can be had briefly in boost mode. Power goes to the front wheels.

In EV mode (activated by pushing a button on the centre console), the Audi A6 Hybrid can travel 3.0 km (for a constant 60 km/h). Exceed 100 km/h in this mode and the petrol engine kicks in.

0-100 km/h is accomplished in 7.5 seconds and top speed is 240 km/h. Average fuel consumption is quoted at 6.2 litres per 100 km and CO2 emissions at 145 grams per km, both of these being combined figures. A 30% aluminium body construction translates to a sub-1.85 tonne kerb weight.

Audi A6 Hybrid

The electric motor sits behind the TFSI, where you’d expect the eight-speed tiptronic’s torque converter to be. Indicators on the 7-inch Driver Information System in the instrument panel and on the MMI monitor display information such as energy flow in the hybrid system or the breakdown of energy consumption.

How do you tell it apart from the regular A6 sedan? Hybrid badges aside, 18-inch 10-arm turbine design wheels covered in 245/45 rubber and an Arctic Silver body colour (in addition to the existing A6 colours) are Hybrid-exclusive items.

Inside there are aluminium trigon inlays in place of the regular A6’s wood trim, and a power meter (showing percentage of power used) replaces the rev counter. The four-spoke steering wheel and gear knob are covered in leather, while the seats are trimmed in Milano leather.

Audi A6 Hybrid

Regenerative braking is the order of the day. Energy recuperation while coasting is possible up to 120 km/h; braking recuperation is active at all speeds. Brake hard and the conventional hydraulic system joins in to provide more stopping power.

The air-con compressor is electrically driven, so even when the engine is off (in start-stop phases), air-con cooling performance is unaffected. It’s an automatic quad-zone system, in case you’re wondering.

The use of a lithium-ion battery, Audi says, cuts weight by 40% compared to nickel–metal hydride batteries. The 38 kg battery is air-cooled by a blower from the interior or by an internal refrigerant circuit coupled to the automatic air-con.

Audi A6 Hybrid

Maintaining the battery within the appropriate temperature range prolongs its lifespan and ensures the vehicle can operate in EV mode for as long as possible to increase efficiency.

Due to the battery’s location under the boot floor, boot volume is down to 375 litres from 530 on the regular A6 sedan, but one can always fold the back seat down for more space.

In terms of toys, the Audi A6 Hybrid gets MMI navigation plus with MMI touch and an 8-inch TFT display. There’s also a Black Panel touch pad, which displays radio station buttons and even allows drivers to enter letters and numbers using their finger tips.

Six airbags, ESP, traction control, Driver Steering Recommendation (DSR) and ISOFIX are among the safety equipment on offer, in addition to the usual ABS, EBD and BA.

Optional extras are Comfort Key – basically keyless entry and start (RM3k), and a reverse camera (RM5k). Also offered as options are a BOSE sound system and Bluetooth car phone online – this features an integrated WLAN hotspot and access to Google Maps.

Other standard features include LED head, tail and daytime-running lamps (a RM13k option on the regular A6 sedan), headlamp washers, sunroof, automatic wipers and headlamps, cruise control and Audi drive select (Comfort, Auto, Dynamic and Individual modes).

The Audi A6 Hybrid, along with its lithium-ion battery, is offered with a four-year warranty with unlimited mileage for the first two years, and capped at a total of 120,000 km throughout the third and fourth years.

Read our comprehensive test drive report of the Audi A6 Hybrid here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• 5K for reverse camera? oh my Audi!

• hondless on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:42 pm

I bet audi use nikon or canon dslr camera..HD maa..haha..

• AVH® on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:15 am

Why is Mahathir there? After all, latest news is that he STILL believes Proton needs to be protected and reduction in taxes is bad. Helping the poor is not his priority.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
        • young_designer on Mar 03, 2013 at 9:36 pm

Look at the concept sketches, when it comes to production many things omitted maybe due to cost cutting.

No sporty flat steering and the design is much different to. It’s more roundish shape, very suitable for uncles and unties.

Definitely audi failed to show the world that they can do exactly what’s that designer wanted it to be so audi is no different than any automakers.

• Wow love d car and the price but u know what,i still cant afford it :D

• hundredCD on Feb 28, 2013 at 9:06 am

Yes this car is simply delicious and hybrid some more but is premium price and way out of reach for most here in Bolehland. In truth if i really had rm280k
        to blast, it be the brilliant and waaaay cheaper Kizashi.

• Gegary on Feb 28, 2013 at 10:12 am

You can hope for “trickle down” effect. Price of this car will put downward pressure on other cars. Hope only lar :D

• NISSAN on Feb 28, 2013 at 3:13 pm

those who can afford are rich & the tax exemption only benefit the rich.

• joanna on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Is that a new Preve? If not, Dr M was a traitor to Proton. How on earth an Advisor to a company can launch a new product of another company.

• added up its still way worth owning this then F30 328!!!

With the same $$$ definitely go with this

• sudonano on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:27 pm

Finally they have launched it. Price undercuts all the big fellas in the D segment. But the boot is a bit tiny. Must go and see in the showroom.

• Jimmy on Feb 28, 2013 at 6:11 am

Yes, very cheap price for a luxury brand of this size. But as I said, RM288K is still not a very good price for ‘Audi Hybrid’ in Malaysia, for BMW yes.

• sudonano on Feb 28, 2013 at 10:32 am

Yup. Yup.

And Audi’s hybrid powertrain is still quite new. BMW’s one a Toyota based unit.

• very competitive price…surprised (pleasantly) that the awesome LED headlights are standard when they are an expensive option on the petrol A6. No new Audi look complete without those mandatory full LED headlights!

• tricycle on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:30 pm

I still don’t get it. I would go for Accord, Camry, Sonata, ond other Sub 200k price for Front Wheel Drive.

No matter how much power they pack in the car, it is still a front wheel. You cannot drive hard around corner or you end up understeer and eating up a road barrier.

Just don’t get it, at least bring la A6 Hybrid Quattro, then it will be different story sub 300k.

• LNick on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:49 pm

Most people don’t drive hard. I drive a Myvi(terrible handling) and it performs enough for my needs. Already getting stuck behind most slow drivers and not the limits of the car itself.

Some people just want comfort, great interior and looks, lots of low end power, quietness, style and looks. This achieves that much better than any Sub 200k car.

Of course it would be even better if this was a rear wheel drive.

Unfortunately I can’t even afford a Preve at the moment. Hopefully the goverment continues the abolishment of duties for hybrids so that I can get one of these in the future.

• tricycle on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Nick,
        I don’t find any Audis having RWD. But even if they do, or the bring the Quattro hybrid, I would be the first to put my dp tomorrow. Kidding..Not..Depends…

• not a lot driver or so called buyer wannabe understand what is car ….
        Most of their knowledge is base on car magazine (lately better with google and youtube) ….

base on the question, u should understand where he stand his ground ….

• theanswer on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:49 pm

then u can ask renault why they pack 200+hp on megane rs while the car runs on front wheel but still handles superbly.

• tricycle on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:29 pm

Me still don’t like it.
        Maybe compared to other FWD, it might drive good.
        Given choices of FWD I will take Golf GTI. Mini Cooper S is too jumpy, not for daily driving.
        But if compare to about similar price RWD 320d, c200cgi, toyota GT86, these RWD drive better, fun-ner.

Top Gear, Fifth Gear and etc only like base line Audi(usually FWD) because of its looks, handling wise, always come out last.

• foxtrot on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:38 am

megane rs has mechanical LSD

• But u only get a not premium brands car yet cheap looking.

• srry mate. i think it’s fair to say after u test drive the car. i bet u have not test driven luxury cars yet. there’s a huge difference in japs n germans. please dont get mad but go test drive few cars b4 leaving ur unprofessional comments

• camry accord and sonata is made for the poor one. I don’t even bother to put “c” , “a” and “s” in capital letter as they doesn’t deserve it. Audi however does ;)

• AVH® on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Someone did comment that the A6 hybrid was late or something in the CR-V comment, well 6 hrs later, it’s here!. Really RM280k for an Audi seems unbelievable considering an A4 TFSI 1.8 is RM235k, a RM50k premium and you get a whole larger car and IMO, a whole better looking than the generic A4 facelift.

But ermm, keyless entry and start (RM3k), and a reverse camera (RM5k), I don’t know what Audi buyers will feel, but that’s a killer to me. But the Google Maps Navigation is a must, can’t understand the mundane Navi system on most cars today.

• compare it with the similarly-engined A4 2.0 TFSI which cost over 300k and the price of the A6 Hybrid seems even more amazing :)

• Actually it’s suppose to be around 240k (comparing the original price and after tax reduction). Nonetheless still good as it’s under 300k.

But in the end, we know they cannot undercut the price by too much as it’ll kill the A4’s sale (but also there is the fact that it could be further lowered). Just like the case with T&H Hybrids, or else Vios and City sales sure can go to hell.

• why ?
      look at it :
      3k+5k + navigation = 15-20% of the car prices, better profit than selling the car

• foxtrot on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:35 pm

No quattro or S-tronic :(
    smaller boot space and a lot more heavier than the normal a6

• Malaysian on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:45 pm

I have difficulty naming car distributors in Malaysia who are non GRC or GLC….can some one please help?

• I dont know about luxury cars but… RM280k is kinda cheap for an Audi isnt it? I like!!

• Heskey on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:59 pm

Someone please compare the price of this car in USA, UK, Japan, etc

• AVH® on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:15 am

USA= No A6 Hybrid sold wich is rather surprising

UK= base without option £43,795 or RM205,779.57

Japan= base without option is ¥6,900,000 or RM232,097.37

Germany= base wit…(you get it) is EUR 53.750,00 and convert! RM217,675.14

Holland(which is the closest to Malaysia I can find) is €62.420,00 or RM252,786.60

• Anti-NAP on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:27 am

Why Malaysia is most expensive? We got lower wages, lower rental, yet tax free car is most expensive!

• semi slick on Feb 28, 2013 at 8:00 am

lC’mon man when are you ppl gonna stop comparing? leaves you heart broken. Our fuel is the cheapest to run did you mention that? Depreciation is also the best among the countries You had mentioned

• AVH® on Feb 28, 2013 at 6:03 pm

I have to agree, as per 2012, Malaysian pump price is RM1.90/litre, compared to prices in the world are which are:

USA = US$0.95[RM2.94]/litre

UK = £1.40[RM6.56]/litre

Japan = ¥152.6[RM5.10]/litre

Germany = €1.66[RM6.74]]/litre

Holland = €1.87[RM7.60]/litre

And start multiplying them by Kilometers and the figures are eye watering and wallet lightening. Furthermore, in Britain, you still have to pay congestion charges when you are in the city, and who knows how much additional tax are there in countries like Holland or Germany. So stop whining and at least look positive side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • sonyman on Feb 28, 2013 at 8:50 am

malaysia got more cronies mah.

other countries trying to save the earth, here we introduce hybrid cars for the cronies to get richer.

if malaysia gomen wanna save the world i think not by introducing high end hybrid, this merely means, only rich ppl love the environment, while the rest of us dont care about it.

• Tochang on Feb 28, 2013 at 9:09 am

Yeah u’re right..gomen is sooo mean. If DAP/PR rule this country, this A6 gonna be less than RM100k

• rajahGlobal on Feb 28, 2013 at 10:24 am

shipping cost, and the most important is profit margin….maybe if the can sell 10000 unit per month the price could be lower as they’ll have good profit

• kadajawi on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:40 am

The prices he listed are without options. That usually means Toyota Vios J levels of kit. Empty car. By the time you have added some options you may already have doubled the price. Now I don’t think in this case it would be that extreme, but I’m sure there are quite a few k to add to the price until you get the Malaysian spec.

• Geoff_kl on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:03 pm

whine whine whine, winge winge winge, come on. Isnt everybody sick of people complaining and comparing our car prices to the rest of the world. Enough already. Just live with the situation, work harder and buy the car you can afford

• eurocarnut on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:54 am

UK price is with 20% VAT, with full options the price is £47,000, less 20% = £37,600 about Rm173,000.
        Great for Audi Malaysia, RM 100 k profit. So much for duty free…

• SecondarySchoolGal on Feb 28, 2013 at 9:34 am

Dear uncle eurocarnut, u r too old to count properly, if 47k inclusive of 20% VAT, the price before VAT is 47k/1.2 = 39,166+..

How can u use 47k x 80% = 37600 so lousy one..

Rgds,
          Secondary School Gal

• eurocarnut on Feb 28, 2013 at 10:57 am

Dear little girl,

You are missing the point.
            Even at £39,166 at today’s exchange rate, its Rm182,888.
            Audi Malaysia is charging almost Rm100k more. This is the point in case you still wondering.
            Please say hello to your Audi salesman father…

• kadajawi on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:44 am

The base price for a Polo is around 11000 €… by the time you have the same specs as in Malaysia it has climbed up to around 19k… And that’s already including discounts. Never look at base spec prices.

That 8″ display will probably be a very expensive option (the simple RCD 310 already costs 665 €!). The headlights are also very expensive. The aluminium trim probably costs. The rims will be expensive. Etc.

• Geoff_kl on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:45 pm

Based on the complete spec sheet on Audi Malaysia web site, and using the UK Audi price calculator, I got to a after tax price of UKP50,145.00
          This includes 20% VAT, so once that is deducted you get to UKP41,787
          Multiplied by 5 (the exchange rate that was probably used, as it only went down in the past few weeks), you get RM208,935.
          Once you add sales tax of 10%, you end up with a price of RM229,828.

So, Audi Malaysia is selling at RM280k, including shipping, handling, creating a support infrastructure for a new drivetrain, and implementing a new logistics stream for Hybrid cars. This all has to be taken account into their margin.
          In summary, well done Audi Malaysia for not gauging the Malaysian buyer!!!

• eurocarnut on Feb 28, 2013 at 7:58 pm

Hi Geoff, you must Secondary School Gal’s father! Even at £41787 at today’s exchange rate which is 4.7, this would come to Rm196,377.
            UK Audi has to set up similar infrastructure too. Shipping a car from UK to here is £1,500. Still doesn’t account for the price gorge…

• Phillip on Mar 01, 2013 at 1:55 pm

Heard that for the 2nd batch batch, the price has gone up by rgt30k

• PenjajaRojak on Mar 02, 2013 at 2:33 am

Uncle why you like to Kao pei Kao bu so much at the first ? It’s still considerably cheaper compared to other car from the segment or even to a lower segment. Since it fills the market gap first of course he would take the opportunity to charge more la until other competitors come in with 2.0 hybrid. Sorry for my English, I’m just another uncle who sells Rojak by the road. Hope you understand the business strategy.

Regards,

Uncle Rojak

• have you taken in the shipping & Handling charges and fees from Germany to Malaysia? inspection and rego cost for car here?

• like you said, those are prices of base model, the ones sold here are pretty loaded besides those two options. soin the end the price is still almost the same

• Katak on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:29 am

That’s look fair enough. Still can’t afford. For 280K, I can get 2 cars. One for myself and one for wife.

• venven81 on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:00 pm

a D-seg hybrid at this amaaazing price! loaded with full LED headlamp and all… well i guess this will affect a lot of A4 2.0T potential buyers.

• seancorr on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:08 pm

Wow very good price indeed. Undercuts the E class and 5 Series prices haha and who would want to get the C250 and 328i now? The only worrisome part is the cost to replace that battery. Must be a pain to replace it even if you can afford this car.

Now…where are those driver aids like blind spot and lane departure warning system?

• kadajawi on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:47 am

The much larger Tesla Model S battery costs 12000 USD for the biggest battery pack (85). The one used here will be much, much smaller (Teslas range for a bigger car and fully electric is around 400-500 km IIRC).

• Yahoo…!! I want one!! How long is the waiting time?! Any idea regarding maintenance of this car?

• Phillip on Mar 01, 2013 at 1:47 pm

I heard waiting time is about 1 year if you were to book now.

• Audi Fanboy on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:20 pm

This car will kill the 5 series and E class, given its tax-free status. Those two better start bringing in their sub-2 litre hybrids as well, if they have them. The glacial metallic white colour is beautiful. 288K is a steal, no question.

• The only thing special about the car is just the led light. I find the overall design of the car to be quite dull.

• AVH® on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:24 am

On the contrary I think it’s the best looking 4-door in Audi’s lineup. The rectangular lights we see in the facelift A4, new A3, Q3, Q5 or the larger A8, they look so dull(and I honestly believe on the level of Toyota dull) only those fancy LED DRL are helping it stand out. The A5 also look worse than the pre-facelift. I wonder who actually thought of that generic and bland rectangular head lamp. The A6 and A7 actually is rather handsome.

• c14man on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:29 pm

wow! 280k?! 0_o
    Audi’s gonna take over as best selling conti car for 2013!
    The smaller 3-er is 50k higher than this bigger hybrid. Audi’s “eyes” always have that killer look.
    Like…

• gangully on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:03 pm

Which 3-er are you referring to? a 328i (CKD) is going for RM270k…

one reason you would go for this A6 Hybrid is you won’t be taking a loan on tax… that’s the only incentive… other than a bigger car…

By the way… no import and excise duties, but peeps… you still need to factor in sales tax of 10%…

• no B & O sound system ?

• Hi, at last we are getting a car with similar price in Europe

€ 68k with current Malaysia spec

• Mushy on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:41 pm

First car in Malaysia selling at same price as in euro

• howitzer on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:11 am

Yeah right. At uk price would be 44pound.top spec 46 pound. About rm190k.what a rip off margin.

• eurocarnut on Mar 01, 2013 at 1:14 pm

You are so right howitzer…. The tax exempt is to help promote hybrids, these guys are taking advantage of this by INCREASING their profit margin!
        Country lose on tax loss and and consumers are not passed on the savings.
        At least Lexus hybrid only mark up Rm50 to 70k! (I am being sarcastic here…)

• Should i change my mazda6 to A6….decision2

• Mozilla Chrome on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:47 pm

Even with the ‘tax exemption’ most of us still can’t afford to have this. Maybe after this Najib should provide Bantuan Kereta 1Malaysia (BK1M). LOL

• All-for-Hybrid on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:28 am

Maybe we should also start Skim Tabungan 1Malaysia … ST1M … hahaha!

• paparadzi on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:50 pm

Looks yummy. But don’t rush to buy one yet, wait a few months to see if there is a possibility for the price to drop further.

• Carl Wong on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:55 pm

Is this the cheapest Hybrid in the luxury class? This is also duty free right? Quite nice, the only down side is the slightly smaller boot……….

So Audi, BMW & Volkswagen have Hybrids while Mercedes don’t sell any yet right? They’re lagging behind…..
    Seems like there are quite a few choices for Hybrids in the luxury class now….!!!

• tishaban on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:17 am

A bit disappointed that the optional rear side airbags (bringing up from 6 to 8 total airbags) is not offered for this one. It’s a US$550 option in the US.

But the overall price is good, undercutting the cheapest 5-series and E-class by RM50k or more.

Next hybrid coming in should be the VW Jetta Hybrid. I’m guessing the price will be RM120k? :D

• silver on Feb 28, 2013 at 2:50 am

wonder why audi doesn’t offer interior colour option like bmw does… really a let down

• Geoff_kl on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:15 pm

very simple…volume. Initially this wont be a volume selling vehicle, so theyre bringing in a standard specification to simplify matters.

• yuksin on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:04 am

convert it normal when the battery is dead tco to replace ion lithium is how much $$?

• i really love this audy design

• I hope this is only the beginning for car brands under DRB Hicom..hope they bring in Jetta Hybrid and others that are more affordable to the middle income people!

• Spock1976 on Feb 28, 2013 at 8:58 am

CO2 emission is still quite high for a hybrid. 320d makes 120g per km. not sure i this is the right comparison.

• jolly_idiot on Feb 28, 2013 at 9:19 am

Audi please improve the after sales service. Build more service center and stock more parts. I doubt this hybrid will be a problematic call in our climate. Let’s wait for couples of month / years to see its reliability.

Btw, is audi 2.0 tfsi engine still have the problem on engine oil consumption? As I know most 2.0 drivers are crying for the unusual engine oil consumption and its getting worse.

• Comment above mentioned hybrid cars are only for rich people is baseless as there are many 100k range hybrid cars. If we can not afford one look something and somewhere within our spending budget or work hard now for better future.

And someone has mentioned cheap labor in M’sia should translate to cheaper price, but this car is CBU bro. our labor cost here is only the driver and tukang cuci!

• Peng Tuck on Feb 28, 2013 at 10:30 am

Affordable? 280k ? YGBSM….

• khairul on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:20 am

Wow, the price is actually attractive considering this is Audi. I am only comparing AUDI-wise, not including other car manufacturers. Considering the normal A6, cost about RM340k, this car is good for it’s value.

Not that I can afford it though. But it’s nice to see this kind of development. Cheers.

• Any news about Q5 hybrid for Malaysia ?

• Jonathan James Tan (Member) on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Hi Pkp, we were told the Q5 Hybrid is unlikely to come here as it’s currently sold in LHD markets only.

• Leonon on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:23 pm

What about Audi A8 hybrid? Since it is also powered by the 2.0 engine… and is available in the UK market, RHD.

• Farhat on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Wow, 280k.. But pls dont mention how cheap it is for an audi, or else theyll find out and increase the initial price tag! Lol.

• pomen on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:52 pm

Madey apa bikin situ?

• More and more peoples looking for hybrid cars, rather than conventional (petrol) car. Welcome to the world of hybrid cars. Next 5 years, hybrid becomes normal in Malaysia. Nexy year, we’ll have PROTON hybrid.

• mamad on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:20 pm

Great car at great price… unbelievable, considering the normal A6 at more than RM50k and this hybrid model comes with better specs!

• Geoff_kl on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:22 pm

well done Audi for bringing in such a high spec vehicle at such a competitive price. This is right way to break into the full size luxury market, by demonstrating technical innovation and real value for money. When you compare Audi in Malaysia now, to Audi in the late 90’s, its a real revelation on how theyve been reborn. Gone are the days when an Audi 80/early A4 was the ‘hole in one’ car of choice, and had crazy depreciation values. I wish you every success .

• PauDai on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:22 pm

to whoever that says that this car is worth it because of the high specs, i hope you all do check the UK audi a6 hybrid brochure and realise that audi malaysia practically didn’t add anything as stuff like sunroof, 4 zone air con and led headlamps are given as standard. if anything, we get less because we do not get heated seats. im not too sure about germany. do correct me if im wrong. otherwise theres a 100k profit gone to pockets for nothing.

• jerung on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Is there a possibility the price might actually go up? Previously, the price for VW Passat CC had to be increased – rumour has it that the dealers for the other luxury makes were not too happy. Similarly, if A6 hybrid significantly takes away market share from BMW & Merc, most likely the cronies who own them will complain and Audi will have to review the A6 hybrid price…. or is this too far fetched of a conspiracy theory? :)

• Put the Jap & other smaller size car aside 1st. Agree that it’s not cheap but putting RM280K on this A6 Hybrid is an attractive price compare to the rest of Conti car model. A F30 328i cost more than this & it’s a smaller car. A6 is definitely more luxury than a F30. I have a 320i & I’m happy with it. However, if this A6 hybrid launch earlier, I would have change my mind.

• Dodgy on Feb 28, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Considering the BMW hybrid is expensive this is can be consider cheap. However, the advertise price of 280k is purely a marketing price. How is it possible that an A6 does not include keyless feature and reverse camera ? Yes, that’s possible adding 3k and 5k…but that clearly shows this is not a real price. I would rather it’s advertise as 288k including those. And…by the way, what kind of reverse camera that is worth 5k ? 16 mexapixel with HD recording ? That’s a joke. Audi Malaysia,

• _xXx_ on Feb 28, 2013 at 6:00 pm

buy bought online myself a 1080P HD DVR from China, RM150 incl delivery….free 32GB SD card summore…

• BrianXYZ on Feb 28, 2013 at 3:45 pm

This A6 Hybrid will put REAL pressure for the local CKD operations for Merc.
    Beemer already importing CBU Hybrid.
    Only left Merc not doing so.
    It seems Merc will become market follower rather than market leader this time.

• chan kam nam on Feb 28, 2013 at 4:30 pm

How does this compare against the Active Hybrid launched by BMW?

• _xXx_ on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:23 pm

…are they telling us that it is good to be rich?

• It’s only launched now? I saw a registered one on the first day of CNY in BU Centerpoint’s parking. Had a very good look at it and I am pretty sure it’s the hybrid.

• Audi_A6 on Feb 28, 2013 at 8:21 pm

Taiwan review on Audi A6, watch from 8.30 for battery cost…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dGmJtrwJ_no

• PauKaya on Feb 28, 2013 at 10:27 pm

to people that do not understand mandarin the cost is basically 300000 taiwan dollars = 31290 ringgit

• Taylor on Mar 10, 2013 at 10:19 am

I am sure it’s covered by warranty & just when it runs out ….. The battery konks out lol !!

• Maserati on Feb 28, 2013 at 8:47 pm

Boring car. I drove the 3.0 supercharged version for a few days. Power is not great at all. A golf gti feels more fun to drive.

Would not buy this car. Seriously boring.

A merc eclass coupe is so much better

• Sam Loo on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:37 pm

Expect 80% depreciation within 3 years of ownership.

• Taylor on Mar 10, 2013 at 10:17 am

That’s a bit harsh ! 80% in three years ? Nah ! Maybe 60% but we re splitting hairs . Whichever way we look at it big time depreciation is going to occur .

• In UK,

Basic RRP = GBP 43,015.00

Equipment(same as Malaysian spec) = GBP 7,895.00

Total = GBP 50,910.00 / RM 238,792.95

Wow, RM280k is awesome..!
    Well done..!

• Rakyat on Mar 01, 2013 at 11:55 pm

Is it irony for audi to be unveiled by proton founder?

• J_Chin on Mar 03, 2013 at 12:35 am

Just wondering why Audi doesnt launch this model with red color..:((

• Grandma police on May 23, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Does anyone realise the irony of Mahathir, who put all the crazy duties into place, officiating the launch of a tax free car?

• James Raymond on Mar 06, 2015 at 12:17 am

WTF this Junta Govt says that they pulling back subsidies to all Hybrid Cars? While original price for this Audi is RM 250k before tax. The word subsidy denotes free monies give by Govt! No price increased to double by your greedy system!