Car duties from Japan, Australia to be reduced – MITI

It has been reported that the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) will announce a cut in car duties for imports from Japan and Australia tomorrow (Feb 28).

The reduction would be over three years for CBU cars imported from the two countries, said MITI minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed at the investKL media breifing earlier today. He told reporters that more details on the matter will be released tomorrow.

Malaysia and Australia concluded negotiations on the Malaysia-Australia Free Trade Agreement (MAFTA) in March 2012. MAFTA entered into force on January 1, 2013. The Malaysian Insider says that Putrajaya has committed to cut duties from 15% in 2013 to 10% in 2014 and 5% in 2015 with zero duties in 2016.

Malaysia and Japan also has a free trade agreement in place. Both countries established the Malaysia-Japan Economic Partnership Agreement (MJEPA) in 2005. MJEPA came into force on July 13, 2006.

Updates to come tomorrow.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Black Dog on Feb 27, 2013 at 6:51 pm

Another Erection goodies???

• kimchi on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:31 pm

sure it is, it slowly return to us since PR sound for rakyat suffer, i believe more news hip around

• AVH® on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:13 am

One day has passed with the announcement that the reduction of car taxes will ONLY benefit the rich people. The poor are, as usual, treated like dirt. Still want to vote for BN?

• Mackaroni on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:47 pm

owhhh…. “erection” goodies instead of election goodies~~~~ watched too much porn ya~~

• Someone panic already.. ahahahahha

• carlos on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:55 am

Agreement & negotiation already concluded a year ago and started over ten years ago. It is bound to happen under all these free trade agreement. Looking forward more of japanese imports. Not sure how the grey import AP holders will be affected, but they usually pay duties upon sale. But will start the ball rolling as Korean manufacturers will not just sit tight and see japanese cars rolls out of showrooms. Just waiting for the germans…. These sort of announcement is never made in advance over long period as it will affect car market. Such rumours will make buyers wait and slow sales for dealers and banks. BTW, Pakatan knew about this too as they have inside info too…but not much

• Sure it is. And also a thank you to Oz for giving the Preve a 5-star rating. But it doesn’t change much for consumers unless you are rich enough to buy CBUs from Oz and the Japs.

• Alvin on Feb 28, 2013 at 10:09 am

Don’t get conned Malaysian, look clearly at the wordings here:-
      1) Only cars imported from Australia and Japan; and most importantly
      2) Only IMPORT DUTY not EXCISE DUTY which is the bulk of car taxes imposed here.

That means a lot of cars sold here are not affected by the import duty removal. Another BN trick if you didn’t see clearly.

PR Manifesto is still the way to go. At least they promised removal of EXCISE DUTY.

• Danial on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:33 am

Ya right, that means you wont get to have price reduce for cars assemble in Malaysia like Toyotas, Nissans, Hondas etc. Since the price for these cars already excluded import. Dont get excited dude!

• OMG….U r right. Very very less cars imported (CBU) from these 2 country….

• littlefire on Feb 28, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Yup…

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/222577

“nternational Trade and Industry Minister Mustapa Mohamed announced yesterday that car import duty would be reduced but it won’t bring much cheer to the man in the street”

• excise duties also lah….

• rajahGlobal on Feb 28, 2013 at 10:31 am

only believe when the car prices shoot down..

• joanna on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:18 pm

They said before without excise duty (like in the PR’s manifesto), Malaysia will bankrupt. Now why they lick their own spit? Whoever
      believe what the govt said is totally stupid.

• What cars do we import from Australia ? I can’t recall any.

More tellingly, why aren’t ASEAN assembled cars included in the list ?

• Car manufactures especially the Japanese will take the CBU route in order to continue to charge a petite price difference to reap more profit despite tax reduced. They have already started before tax reduced for Honda and Mazda, soon Suzuki too. Whatever being reduced doesn’t always benefit the end buyers.

• Jimmy on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Because no persaingan bebas. So everybody just jual mahal merompak telan bulat-bulat profit from tax reduction, ending in no price reduction (or just transient reduction, then pura-pura or terang-terang naik balik harga, Camry ~135K raised back to 165K, remember still?)
      What about saudaramarakawan2 punaya epi-s?
      What about the two umbrellas?
      Tiada otak, tiada system, cuma pandai kasi gula2.
      Atau sengaja aje, terlalu cerdik.
      I can see at least a couple of ways to do all these correctly without sacrificing much of kerajaan punya revenue, I think NB can think even better, it is just want or don’t.

• Daniel Yap on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:01 pm

NIce.. now we can get “cheaper” cars from OZ where no one can really afford to pay the road taxes on! LOL

• Alister_88 on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:21 pm

Well, there’s the Holden Cruze SRi-V (1.4 Turbo) & hatchback range. All GM-Holden needs to do is source Chevy-specific parts (Steering wheel horn/ airbag pad, emblems & grille.) from Thailand and then export the car to Malaysia.

Then there’s the Camry Hybrid, TMCA is already exporting engines for the non-hybrid Camry to Malaysia & Thailand as part of an FTA, so the same could be done, provided that the demand and incentives for Hybrids above 2,000cc is there for the Malaysian market.

• how about EXCISE duty?

• driver on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:40 am

they don’t dare to touch that.. that’s like an indirect way of admitting that “Yeah, PR’s idea is better & doable..”
      remember, this reduction could be a temporary election thingy…

• start-a-figt on Feb 28, 2013 at 9:03 am

its an Act… how could it be temporary? grow up dude.. its not manifesto which could in turn say not a promise but and Act which is writen and establish.. only the timing to implement the act is quite ‘haha’ coz election coming..

• nanashisan on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:05 pm

Why implement now near election time? why not implement earlier? why not reduce more car duties from europe and korean?
    Anyway, its better to implement rather than never.

• at what price?

• littlefire on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:09 pm

After being pressured from Pakatan about reducing the car price, then the G only have some action… LOL!

• Jimmy on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:45 pm

I like your word ‘some’.
      Is some the correct word to describe the amount?

• finally can buy my favourite Holden HSV Maloo Ute :p

• albag on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:17 pm

what the hell does this mean actually? isit we can high quality japanese imported cars with proton price? or even viva price? btw, how the hell can we get australian cars since we do not have any official Holden dealers here? this is damn mindfucuk!

• Alister_88 on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:24 pm

Ummm.. GM-Holden-> Part of GM which Chevrolet is part of. lol

• AVH® on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:23 pm

Australia? What car do we get from Australia? I didn’t know of any. But anyways knowing Malaysia, I better not get my hopes to high, as quoted “will announce a cut in car duties for imports from Japan and Australia tomorrow (Feb 28).”. Would like to see the official statement before I cheer or get my hopes high.

• mystvearn on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:23 pm

Australia??? What CBU we get from there? Holden ain’t sold here. Also, does not affect the Nissan, Honda, Toyota with their popular CKD cars here

• anti-vios on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:29 pm

…..they do afraid to Rakyat…

• The incentives do applicable for Japanese marque but how often do we hear automotive companies in Malaysia imports their vehicles (CBU) and/or parts (CKD) from Australia?

• another insincere reduction, holden v6 car , even reduce we still cant afford, another miti candy.

• mystvearn on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:41 pm

So, minus the popular CKD models of T, H and N, you get the not so popular models slightly cheaper. I guess that is good,

• Gheram on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:41 pm

So… Where does this news lead us to? Whether miti stupid or the reporter. Berita tergantong? I agreed with most of u guys here. What kind of cars from the land down under got to offer us?

As usual, confusing and misleading from the be-end mind fc uk gomen

• takNakP1 on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:44 pm

don’t be too happy or over excited. anything coming out from B-eNd has something in disguise.

• Megane on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:48 pm

Election gimmick obviously ! Give and give to get the votes … better still refund the rakyat la for the ridiculous car taxes we’ve paid and got double whammy interest from the bank .

• Joon Kok on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:48 pm

Do you guys still believe in our G after all this years? Another SANDIWARA just to get the V. After the GE all revert back to the old system.

• but PR to eliminate excise duty u belief? if bn we called it candy…this promise we can call it heaven…but reality i don think PR will win this PRU13

• start-a-figt on Feb 28, 2013 at 9:07 am

hahah.. i like u man.. that’s the truth to identify the cybertroopers in paultan..

• YesMan on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:30 pm

I belived you are right, even all Malaysian vote PR, they will not will.

• Guys, don’t be silly lah ! We heard this many times, at the end price went back to normal. Remember 6 years ago gomen reduced Altis by 10K, car went down com 120 to 110k, 3 to 4 years later. Price went back to 120K now. They are only doing this just for the sake of election period.

Second question, if CBU treated as CKD, what happen to CKD ? No one will buy CKD or CKD reduced by 10% just like what they did 6 years ago ?

• rakyat on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:02 pm

That’s right! Just another gimmick. CBU is only very very limited units. CKD is still the majority foreign units. We won’t be fooled again!!

• indomee on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:54 pm

they deduct this duty & will reimplement another tax structure de la. Dun be happy too fast!

• GST is just over the horizon but already on the radar screens.

• danial on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:11 pm

Gst already on radar, Radar Locked aleady by G, just wait until the Erection2013, then the G will launch after that dude!

• hadi75 on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:57 pm

MAFTA N MJEPA so fast….AFTA?
    Benefit of having a strong political opponent but dont clap our hands yet….this could janji pilihanraya aje…

• MoFaz on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:31 am

Afta already 0% for few year la.. our cars, including protons are still expensive due to excise duty.

• Ahmadfaris93 on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:57 pm

Car from Australia ? We dont even have Holden/Vauxhall/Opel here.

• Young tofu on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:59 pm

Everything is complicated . I hope all car are more cheaper with fully accessories and safe to drive. Cheap car but not safe for driving cannot reducing accident statitics.

• Bukan Melayu aaaa on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Lies,Lies and more lies from BN. Wake people!!!

• Dear Paultan team,

Please provide more report on these categories: proton, government and opposition. Can forget the rest. Who need to know about some supercar roadster :-)

Why? I love reading all those comments on these topics. Simple proton crash test rating can generate hundreds of comments!

You made my day from monday-wednesday. if continue till friday u made my week!

• no comment on – the road will going to be cramp with all the cheap car from BN troopers?

• rolla on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:14 pm

need to wait untill 2016 for zero duties..

• kington on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:19 pm

Can i expect the Toyota 86 to drop in price as well?

• ae101 on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:31 pm

Another sohai candy pop from gomen thought can cheat rakyat. Car from japan meaning is cbu or ckd? Or all japan brands?

• Polo Saga on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:34 pm

Before election, Be-Ended will give whatever empty promise that u to believe; After election, the promise is just a just promise that will never comes true!

• Janji Manis on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:47 pm

BN or PR all the same…only empty promise & manifesto…

• BN is so desperate now….

• paparadzi on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Unless the cut is across the board, it will not have much effect. Manufacturers still have to price their cars according to their place in the lineup; can’t have the better model cheaper than the lower ones. Good example is the Prius C against the Vios, there is no way Toyota will sell the Prius C cheaper than the Vios.

This is just a piecemeal, knee-jerk reaction to PR’s manifesto a few days ago. Another election ploy from you-know-who.

• 1999_SUBARU_IMPREZA_P1 on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:47 pm

Will the Malaysian government allow Australia to export Xenophon?

• australia will only export rare earth ore to kuantan….hehehe :p

• Alright! Aussie big block 4 litre v8 Ford Falcon and Holden Commodore/ Camaro! But wait, no reduction in road tax? Back to square one lah kawan…….

But lets hope AE86 cheaper from Tojo land lah….

• Mean Machine on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Reading from most comments above, obviously Malaysians simply just can’t stop mixing politics with everything in their daily life…including car prices!

• tokmoh on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:04 pm

Abuden, if politics never touched auto industry, it would be different.

But NO. Nak juga buat proton, nak juga cukai macam nokharroooom, safety hampeh, quality sayur, public transport tak wujud.

You tell me whose fault was it? Salah LGE?

• Everything in life is about politics, even love and romance!

• politics has actually penetrated into every inch of our malaysian daily life, even if you don’t believe it.

• tishaban on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:07 pm

It is good that with competition from PR the BN govt is finally trying to do something. However after the disappointment of seeing the so called zero tax hybrid prices, I’m not really expecting much from this announcement.

Until the AP system is done away with, prices will still be set by some other arbitrary groups who want to preserve their profit margins. It’s a hierarchical system with the govt on top, followed by the AP kings then the car importers then the public. Simplify that chain and car prices might actually come down to a more reasonable level.

• magpie on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:29 am

Spot on. Tax, duties can be reduced. But price-fixing seems to stay…

• MrCounterstrike on Mar 02, 2013 at 9:24 am

I agree that the AP system nust be abolished. Combine with the abolish in excise duties, only then we can see a reduction in car prices for all imported cars.

• Vince on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:11 pm

True or not, I don’t know? Good or bad, also don’t know. But one thing I know, when there are 2 government, things will be competitive. And ultimately it will benefit all Malaysians, this I know.

• Jangan tipu on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:12 pm

Now only give this benefit. Don believe them, once u vote for them they win sure revoke.

• 8772ss on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:29 pm

Thanks to PR for its “Turun Harga Kereta” campaign!

• abisla bankrupt malaysia sebab turunkan harga kereta

/sarcasm

• Henry on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Import duties are already low under WTO, Afta and the various FTAs but the main culprit is the excise duty which will remain.

Don’t be over happy.

• BN and PR should fight more, Rakyat untung :)

• Alan Wong on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:42 pm

WHY ONLY NOW??

• Wilson on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:47 pm

Even without the import duty, the excise duty still killing car buyers..

• Tok Kok on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:02 pm

BN Don’t tok kok lah..
    As long as there’s a AP system, car will be expensive.

• Peter on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Lets just wait for more details from the official announcement tomorrow guys..

• b sensible on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:20 pm

thumb down!!! this only benefit the super rich since they can import super car from overseas!!! the policy should be working towards the lower & middle income!!!

• Davincci on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:23 pm

What is going to happen to mazda6 selling price? It is CBU unit, it goin got launch in march 2013

• nocar on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:36 pm

The same guy said last Oct that gomen won’t reduce the tax structure and now he said the opposite. Just a week after PR announced on their Manifesto Rakyat. Credibility out of the window. Good news for the Rakyat though. Cant wait for the big news …. and parliament dissolution too.

• Sinister on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:41 pm

This is what I predicted:

“In addition to this, Putrajaya also has committed to increase excise duties from 75% in 2013 to 100% in 2014 and 105% in 2015 to offset loss of government revenue due to decrease in import duties”.

• bagero on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Better than PR plan.. slowly reduce the tax.. which will help me selling my car without “topup” the loan.. thanks GOVT! Time to buy new car 2016.. yeahh!!

• PotongLover on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:49 pm

Duties cut for imported CBU only? So, i guess only wealthy people are happy, not sure the cut really helps rakyat….if dare enough, announce 15% cut for all national cars…at least.

• helmi on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:01 pm

Too late too little. Not only the government tax makes car price in Malaysia expensive, the devil authorised blood sucking greedy dealers also the culprit.

• If CBU mazda CX 5 price reduced, i will place booking immediate. Haha

• darker marker on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:17 pm

reduce RM1 is also reduce.
    Reduce Rm 10k is also reduce.
    Reduce 1K duty, but curi-curi increase 1k somewhere oso can…..

Anyway, the rakyat already fed up. Enuf is enuf.
    Vote your govt wisely…..

• CKD Plant will bungkus and lingkup or what?

• jaycee on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:49 pm

I was in AU last month and he told me that they are not really making many Holden as it’s expensive due to the exchange rate. They are importing a lot of China cars… do you actually think they have some to export… BN oh BN..tak nak la

• carbing on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:55 pm

Gov will increase the sales tax or introduce some other form of tax =)

• Finally! on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:01 am

Thank you BN for finally using your brains and stopping to rob us with car duty tax.. We are still voting for PR :-) thanks once again BN.

• Hey, it’s only import taxlah. The excise duty is still being applied, right? Unless they also reduce the excise duty this will be just another BN smokescreen like BR1M.

• Einstein on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:32 am

This mean CX-5 CBU and Jazz Hybrid CBU are cheaper than CKD units? Somebody can confirm this?

• and mean while…..the bulk of the tax from excise duty remains the same.

• pearjai on Feb 28, 2013 at 2:02 am

erm,toyota ae86/subaru BRZ will be rm100k cheaper …list of great car to buy in 2016….
    huhuhu…maybe can buy new toyota estima aeras with same recond car price today !

• Rakyat on Feb 28, 2013 at 6:19 am

October 29 2012:

“Gov’t says no plans to reduce excise duties on cars”

http://paultan.org/2012/10/29/govt-says-no-plans-to-reduce-excise-duties-on-cars/

• blah! on Feb 28, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Well, they’re not talking about excise duty, only import tax..

• Jambuck on Feb 28, 2013 at 8:24 am

Those asking govt to reduce excise duty better look at Singapore example imposing CO2 emission-based rebates / penalties to determine excise duty rate. Some good and bad about it.

Even some hybrid car models there become more expensive instead, due to the fact that its still emit CO2 above 200g/km which is a penalty there. But for really fuel efficient cars it got rewarded with big discounts rebates.

Let see how much Proton price gonna affected in Singapore from these new method!

• unforgiven on Feb 28, 2013 at 8:24 am

Japs agreement came into force back in 2006. Bn should be reducing the car prices 7 years ago, do you think that will ever happen in the future? Those are kinda BS to me

• razzack04 on Feb 28, 2013 at 8:47 am

Don’t get too excited. MITI said they will cut the duties, however they can’t reduce the car price. The dealers and importers will reduce the price a bit and get the saving from reduce duties into their pocket. Sure the car dealers already ‘pakat’. The end loser will be us…still paying high car price and the goverment… reduce income. To cover this lost of income, the’ll find another way. Look at the us, cheap cars.. high medical care.

• HELLo on Feb 28, 2013 at 8:50 am

it doesn’t mean a thing if the price of cars imported from japan and australia (do we have any?) does not come down!

• totti on Feb 28, 2013 at 9:00 am

How much the reduction of car excise duty? 5% for 3 years? They dare not give the percentage of car reduction.

Luckyly we vote for opposition. Otherwise, they dont even think of reduction and keep sucking the rakyat money to benefit the AP King.

Vote for opposition and you will get more goodies.

The next step will reduce the petrol price and free education. They are the copy cat and trying to follow the opposition.

Opposition policy is to help rakyat and BN’s policies is to enrich the cronies.

• No reduction in excise duty; only import tax on Jap and Aussie cars. Aiyo, many Malaysians still don’t know how to read and comprehend simple articles.

• start-a-figt on Feb 28, 2013 at 9:15 am

actually, AFTA was implemented long ago… that’s the reason why u can get fiesta build in Rayong,Thailand at that price with spec u know and Forte build in Gurun with that price with spec u know…

the reason why the japs car are not coming down it is because UMW and HM are really looking after the second hand market for their car to get returning customer. imagine if the reduction in new Camry will see the second hand car market crumble. the current owner will not be able to let go their car at high price and they will not be able to return to UMW to purchase let say a Lexus…

Mazda and Ford for example can freely do so as they do not have a big second hand market yet. and that’s why u can have 2.4l CX5 at the price u know which one… I’m just waiting for pricing for CRV 2.4l to see if HM willing to sacrifice its current CRV owner in order to complete with CX5..

Nissan oso like that, they got the saving but instead of pocketing it, they upgrade the features in their car… not like HM and UMW.. greedy greedy!

• So much comments as such katak bawah tempurung! Maybe too many negative input from PR… no wonder the PR Manifesto look a like a piece of shit made by a brainless human! This MAFTA/AFTA already been agreed by the rulling gov so many years back. Only the implementation will take a full swing in 2015! Next time read from a proper & reliable source rather than sleeping in a fantasy island created by PR!

• atasPagar on Feb 28, 2013 at 9:20 am

Malaysian..please wake up.pakatan already knew this one coming from their ‘spy’.thats why they added in menisfesto.if they win, will say its from their ‘hardwork’. not to side our gov but please open your eyes.can an agreement between 2 countries concluded within 1week?our gov not ‘clean’ but u think pakatan more ‘cleaner’ meh?

• Joe Radzif on Feb 28, 2013 at 10:09 am

then…
      why gomen said if car price go down and we will bankrupt?

• dont think PR is clean but BN already too brave and their heads getting too big. so we need to reset. keep the balance of power and minimize the abuse. let the 2 check each other. its in our best interest.

• Flying Car on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:35 am

atasPagar, you wakeup! who is the spy? tell me..dont by typical Ameno like to fitnah2..then why before this MITI told Msia will bankrup lah itu lah ini lah..if they really honest to help citizen, they should be first to implement this. Not during GE..

• Can’t you get it into your thick skull? It’s just the import tax that will be reduced, (cars from Thailand also get 0% import tax), but it is the excise tax (which will be maintained) that really hurts us. PR wants to get rid of this excise tax. The sales tax at the current rate is acceptable; after all the government needs some money to give away BR1M : ).

• What a bunch of bullshit, import duty for Japan CBU already has plan to reduce import duty to 0%. This is not a new news, this is old news…the most important thing is the excise duty, which 90% to 105%…that is the killer…

• inderaloka on Feb 28, 2013 at 9:25 am

It was first Pakatan Rakyat’s idea.

• Xefron on Feb 28, 2013 at 9:47 am

http://www.nst.com.my/polopoly_fs/1.226005.1361981993!/image/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/landscape_454/image.jpg

• stupid MITI. i agree with Japanese cars but since when we have Australian cars? If they realli bring it in. That will be awesome. give me the Holden Commodore SS 6.2 V8. And if thats the case, TC please bring in GTR. Infiniti and Lexus will be cheaper also.

• Abg Long on Feb 28, 2013 at 10:18 am

greedy car importers, dealers sure mau untung lagi.. their ceo mau salary naik maaa..

• Abg Long on Feb 28, 2013 at 10:25 am

i think all this is actually govt. servant’s idea, not BN or PR idea.. hehe..

• mustafa on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:19 am

The reduction would be over three years for CBU cars imported from the two countries, said MITI minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed at the investKL media breifing earlier today. He told reporters that more details on the matter will be released tomorrow.

it’s a temporary thing only…for 3 years only….

• Abg Long on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:52 pm

3 years meaning within 3 years the reduction of import tax will lead to 0% import duty tax by 2016.

• nasurudin on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:44 am

whatever it is, i am still using my 12 years old Nissan Sentra. Every month i dont have to worry to pay installment. My cost of maintainance is only approx rm40 per month which includes lubricant and oil filter. those saving can pay for my extra marital affairs expenses. hahahaha. no need to support any grey importers or local importers. just supporting the spare parts dealers

• sentlon on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:50 am

Exercise duty? What hell? 100% more Goto who pockets?

• LimPek on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:06 pm

by slashing the car price of RM30k:

1. insurance – RM26.00 / RM1,000 x 30 = RM780 per year
    2. loan Interest – 3.0% for RM30,000/year = RM900 per year
    3. installment – RM30k / 7 year = RM4286 per year

Immediately your get additional monthly RM498 (RM5965 / 12 month) to spare.

• Example:

Declared value= 100,000
    Import tax= 30% x 100,000 = 30,000
    Excise duty= 70% x 130,000 (NOT on 100,000)=91,000
    Sales tax = 10% x 221,000 =22,100
    (221,000 is declared value 100k + import tax 30k + excise duty 91k)

Total tax=30,000 + 91,000 + 22,100 =143,100

EFFECTIVE Tax Rate= 143,100/100,000= 143% (not 110% as 30% + 70% + 10%). Compounding Tax Rates.

• Jambuck on Feb 28, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Don’t forget to multiply that 143% again for car loan interest rates (unless you pay car cash lah) and times X years repayment.

Mana tidak rakyat mati bukannya bayar kereta tapi bayar cukai kereta.

• danial on Feb 28, 2013 at 3:19 pm

Brilliant Ali, u even elaborate Lim Pekpek try to explain. No wonder so many young working people get into Bancruptcy because of Toyotas and Hondas, some dont even yet buy a house . dont blame Ap but Excise and Import duty that makes the price Sky high.Ap holder just benefit from the G tax bcoz they get the cost price without G excise and import duty.

• bntokkok on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:35 pm

No need tok kok. See price reduce in showroom only will believe. G better not have huge delay in this coz once rumor goes out everyone will withold buying car until things finalised. In that period of time sales will drop like stone, everybody wait and see.
    BTW, G so efficient can enforce an Act within one month? General Erection is only one month away. And parlimen bubar d how to approve Act? Tipu budak kecik ke news like this?

• Darren on Feb 28, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Hmm…wish to buy slk200 2009 recon this year end…should I wait?? Will it affect recon car price???
    Anyone knows??

• start-a-figt on Feb 28, 2013 at 2:17 pm

while people are fighting on this.. i think we will be getting Prius V soon right? if not mistaken this is something that came out from TMCA.. anybody can confirm.. lazy to google..

• Malaysia gorvernment only know talk & Plan
    Talk, talk, talk…… without action.
    Plan this & that without result.

• gigganet on Feb 28, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Expensive cars become cheaper… cheaper cars become more expensive… policies that benefit corporations. even if reduce excise duties for all cars, another tax will be implemented… GST!!! Banks will probably offer car loans for 5 years max @ 50%-80% loan + higher interest. But at least cars are cheaper.

I’m more worried about GST & petrol subsidy… Living expenses will increased. That’s why la… most people don’t pay income tax… GST, everyone will be taxed… and the % will increase over time! good eh?

• Yaacob on Feb 28, 2013 at 3:11 pm

Not as promising as PR manifesto but it’s looks more organized,reasonable and practical.

• sentlon on Feb 28, 2013 at 3:49 pm

so this tax recude is exercise duty or just sale tax?

• Abg Long on Feb 28, 2013 at 6:09 pm

import tax only..

• sentlon on Feb 28, 2013 at 6:36 pm

that sound really lame.
        the most impact is the exercise duty. i guess it wont help alot to us.
        anyway, where is the official announcement? i thought today ?

• from newspaper, it said 3 or 4 years..puii!! by the way..i don’t see any aus car dealer here or even aus car otr.

*isn’t mazda from japan? why newspaper doesn’t mention mazda?? correct me if i’m wrong

• taichi on Mar 01, 2013 at 7:35 am

mazda6 from japan.
      mazda 2 and 3 from local/thai.
      others model not sure.

• BSlee on Feb 28, 2013 at 7:43 pm

We are only interested in the CAR price on the road.
    What is the point if the import duty is ZERO but there is some other taxes(sale/excise duty) impose on the new car.

• Another BN trick.
    Will believe if bought the car

• Haa….joke of the day. They removed excise tax/duty tax but they surely add another to make you pay back…maybe this “suka tax”

• MyMoneyfest_o_ on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:40 am

eating at KFC also have tax on customer…. selling car? absolutely..

• Rakyat on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:29 pm

“Malaysia and Japan also has a free trade agreement in place. Both countries established the Malaysia-Japan Economic Partnership Agreement (MJEPA) in 2005. MJEPA came into force on July 13, 2006.”

How come current japan cars are not tax free? If the current japan cars are not tax free, how can we expect others to be tax free? Can the G please explain?

• eagles on Mar 09, 2013 at 10:37 pm

The main purpose of the afta is to reduce car prices so that the sales of japanese and aust cars will be increased. If the excise duty is not to be reduced, it does not meet the purpose of afta. Malaysia govn is still cheating the japanese and aust. Just like the govn giving you all 500rm today, but gst is coming later if bn win the next election, I believe we all will be giving back to the govn 10 times more than today’s rm500.