VIDEO: Proton Prevé ANCAP frontal offset crash test

Here’s the released video of the Proton Preve being subjected to the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP)’s frontal offset crash test last December.

You can see the action in slow motion from several different angles (including close-ups), with each 12-second cut representing approximately 300 milliseconds of time.

Launched in Australia last October, the Proton Preve has attained a five-star ANCAP safety rating – view the full results and breakdown of points, as well as more details, here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• 1999_SUBARU_IMPREZA_P1 on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:12 am

1:38, the front airbag smashes the windscreen, that’s dangerous! maybe proton wants to make extra bucks to replace them. all preve in malaysia should have all six airbags fitted as standard!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 60
    • keyboard.rosak on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:28 am

if a car crashed with that kind of impact, there no use to replace the windscreen. the car definitely will be total loss!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 4
      • Expatriate VN on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:03 am

This Jaguh Kampung No. 2 biz model are: –

1) Australian life is expensive, but the Jaguh Kampung No. 2 car is dirt cheap!

2) Bolehland life is dirt cheap, but the Jaguh Kampung No. 2 car is damn expensive!

Congratulation to Australian government take care of people, and thumb down to BN take care of cronies and AP Kings!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 77
        • salambangi on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:59 am

This guy is a congenital hater of Proton.
          I also think he is a crony of LGE or Kapal Singh. He has just lost his locus standii as a good contributor for this respected motoring magazine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 23
        • Ononimos on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:41 pm

Is the so called jaguh kampung No.1 has ever produced a car with 5 Stars ANCAP? 4 stars? Aahhh.. There got 3 stars lower (0.3points to fall to 2 stars).

Is the so called jaguh kampung No.1 got more than 2 airbage meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • kadajawi on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:23 pm

I think Proton must have paid money to fix this test. Typical Malaysian mentality, where money can settle all issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
          • kadajawi on Feb 27, 2013 at 3:48 pm

STFU! Jesus, these fakes, are we in China?!

• Annihilated on Feb 27, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Let the market decide their performance, naturally.

Btw, you cannot vote do you? So butthurt?

• Lukman on Mar 01, 2013 at 10:23 am

Be positive…

• I AGREE! I don’t want to be on the front passenger seat. VERY dangerous!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 29
      • Kalun on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:41 am

IMO, i think it’s good to have crack windscreen outward. Logically if the door won’t open, one can get out from the winscreen without alot of effort of breaking the windscreen.

• Petrolhead on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:05 am

Seems like there are lots of improvements since the existence of Preve. Way to go Proton!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 9
      • Expatriate VN on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:15 am

Yes, improvement for export market only because Aussie lif is expensive!!!
        Local market, ahemmmmmm life is cheap …….. dream on ……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 42
        • Ononimos on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:45 pm

Expat, you can do better than this..

Don’t you have any other strong points to bash Proton now? This is so sad.

My life will be escrucially boring from now on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • dzulx on Feb 27, 2013 at 2:13 am

Good analysis.. I agree with your “expertise”… :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • critic_A on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:52 am

use ur brain la~ the windscreen was damage by the impact LA bodoh~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
      • K@iyo on Feb 28, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Dude.. the impact was on the driver’s side. Don’t u think the driver’s side of windscreen should’ve cracked first? Pause the video at the moment when the airbag is deployed, u will see the airbag is the caused of it. The shatter pattern on the windscreen is also circular in shape similar to the airbag’s shape & size..

• Windscreen smash…euroncap sure get fail…just like the Waja they test crash at Top Gear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • Jonathan Lee on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:14 am

That’s not true. The reason why the Waja only got three stars (that’s not a fail, by the way) is because the safety cell — the part that’s supposed to stay rigid in a crash — buckled on impact, a result that could cause potential injuries. An airbag shattering the windscreen isn’t likely to cause any sort of injury — the glass used in windscreens are tempered and usually won’t disintegrate when struck, as you can see in the video.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
        • alldisc™ on Mar 01, 2013 at 12:33 pm

i agree with Jonathan Lee,

in the Top Gear’s Waja case, front door was distorted and difficult to open (slow rescue operation) A pillar bent (meaning non-rigid cabin cage) and crumpled floorboard allowing intrusive brake mechanisms when driver is actually pressing hard on them (serious knee/leg injuries could occur here).

As there were up to 500,000 wajas on malaysia roads produced from 2000 to 2012, i believe there are many other testaments to the above.

• it not normal, but Windscreen are not like ordinary glass, it will not shatter to million of pieces, yes it breaks but never shatter, due to the fact that it is been layers with plastic or some sort from the inside, idk im not a glass maker.. BTW, look at the seat belt, before the crash 1:36, the pre-tensioner is working fine (my first time to see pre-tensioner in action) :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • But it will be funny, if the airbag sensors goes haywire and then you’ll need to replace not just airbags but as well as your windows.. chances are slim though.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
        • In this kind of accident, you don’t replace the the airbags and windscreen only larr.

You change the whole car!

The point here is the safety of passengers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
        • pirlo on Feb 27, 2013 at 6:20 pm

you are far concern about your car rather than your life. better buy a tank.

• yes and no…

yes from the video it looks like very dangerous, due to big airbag deploy and hit the windscreen…

no, if it is dangerous… ancap wont award Preve to get 5-star. You can try ask google also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • this is normal to windscreen to break, you can watch here
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=4oPVESVlhPU

• haihwhyohwhygeniusaround on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:05 am

use your brain be4 talking….so many of you love talking like expert but dont even watch crash test video of other car…..take an example of paultanese favourite forte and elantra crash test video to compare…..this preve is better…..compare among 5 stars rating car this consider good too….it doesnt affect the middle structure much door dont even kemek much unlike the elantra….means the frontal design absorbing well…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Jonathan Lee on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:16 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BTRQoE9Ewo4&list=UUNEWZqjcguqWZOG8yZZpIFg&index=328

Airbag shatters windscreen. Still earns 5 stars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • come on la on Feb 27, 2013 at 2:26 pm

Good job comparing a 2007 car with proton latest offering. It shows how outdated proton r&d is. Bravo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Jonathan Lee on Feb 27, 2013 at 3:58 pm

A five-star car in Euro NCAP is a five-star car, regardless of how old it is.

• it is not the airbag smashes the windscreen..its windscreen itself cracks into a particles. but the windscreen is good since that its only cracks not broken & protects the passanger.

and the preve is a very good body design since it achieved 5-star ANCAP…but curiously wanted to know if tested by MIROS & ASEAN NCAP. is the rating same or lower???

maybe some improvement is to add some more air-bag to the rear passenger or side air-bag..

• Allen on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:47 pm

Windscreen front is meant to retain the passenger airbag after it being deployed. Else what would you think that what determine the airbag deploy direction?

Its applied to all the cars in the market with dual front airbags.

• i think they should do test with use of seatbelt 1 airbag and without use of seatbelt 10 airbag..i want to know which dummies end up outside the car

• celicazz on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:32 pm

WTF, what car does not have shattered windscreen on accident like that?

• hajihalef on Feb 28, 2013 at 3:08 pm

It is a proper design for the windshield to crack upon impact.

It depends on the manufacturer the purpose of the airbags.

Check this link> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eKiRW5BB_VY

• S.Roma on Apr 15, 2013 at 2:43 pm

U must be more clever than their engineer rite? haha…

• is ANCAP equally as strict as NCAP?

• Dzulx on Feb 27, 2013 at 4:53 am

It was before.. But no longer after preve’s result. Hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 40
    • Jonathan Lee on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:32 am

ANCAP uses the same format as Euro NCAP pre-2009. Currently Euro NCAP rolls all tests (front, side, child, pedestrian, safety assist systems, etc.) into a single rating.

As for strictness, well, Euro NCAP gave the previous generation Mazda 3 hatchback four stars for adult occupant safety, while ANCAP gave the saloon the same rating. I think that’s enough parity for me to trust them, don’t you think?

• agogo on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:20 am

never like protons except for s.neo

but this is so much better compared to all the Japanese dugongs out there – especially toyoplastic vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • joanna on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:40 am

If not of our auto policy, the dugong will be much cheaper and Preve price range will be on par with civic. Do you think people will still choose this car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
      • hajihalef on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:02 am

Did you realize what you just say? Did you even know the auto policy and tax system?

Preve will be cheaper and always be cheaper than civic. The excise tax is applied to all cars and Proton is no exception.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
        • Protoff on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:45 pm

Do you know hows the auto policy and tax system before Proton exist?

• joanna on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Yes i do no about our tax policy. It makes affordable cars becoming expensive cars for nothing. Sigh..

• black on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:28 am

airbag keluar sampai pecah cermin depan?…x bahaya ke?.nnt mati driver sbb airbag tu..keke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
  • I noticed the passenger airbag break the windscreen when inflated. Is it normal?

• black on Feb 28, 2013 at 2:03 pm

oit..i ask first..but why i got so many dislike?..0_o

• zapruder on Mar 22, 2013 at 10:03 am

U want the airbag to break the windscreen or your face break the windscreen?
        U choose..
        With that kind of impact, the windscreen will break either way.

• Dru-Zod on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:25 am

Where is Euro-NCAP results for the Preve? Isn’t the Euro-NCAP the real barometer for safety?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
    • Hey stupid, I am not a Proton supporter too, but think first before typing. Preve is sold in Aussie, that’s why it being tested there. It is not sold in Europe, why on earth do it need to be tested according to EuroNCAP?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
      • Expatriate VN on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:04 am

Hey moron of highest order!!!!! Preve for ANCAP is because it is selling in Aus, but that doesn’t mean if it is not sold in Europe cannot test according to Euro NCAP! This is because some spokeman from Jaguh Kampung No. 2 touted it as “small global car” before it is on the road! Why can’t it test according to world recognized NCAP rating?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
        • antiexpat on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:59 am

Yes they will do the NCAP test…

when all the pendatang haram expat vietnam balik kampung first.

• Jonathan Lee on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Euro NCAP only tests cars sold in Europe. It’s called the European New Car Assessment Programme for a reason…

• MoFaz on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:11 pm

the moron is you. EuroNCAP will get the car randomly from european market and do the crash-test. Preve is not in Europe yet, so wait for the car to be sold in Europe and only then you can expect EuroNCAP crash test. if you want to send the car voluntarily, you may use other crash-test facility like IDIADA in Spain.

• Dru-Zod on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:05 pm

Dude, calm down. You contradict yourselves. Proton said this is their global car. Their facebook page still says Preve is their globl car (http://www.facebook.com/notes/proton-malaysia/proton-launches-new-global-car-prev%C3%A9/358495800869629) Does global only mean Australia, China and Asean? So where is the EuroNCAP rating? EuroNCAP is the standard bearer for safety. Its getting stricter by the year and many car companies can’t comply. So countries like Australia and China came up with their own NCAP rating which is a watered down version of the EuroNCAP rating so that their car companies will show a high rating. We as car users and pedestrians deserve the very best protection and EuroNCAP addresses this the best. I sincerely hope Proton goes for EuroNCAP but I don’t think they will.

• celicazz on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:38 pm

not sold in europe yet, so, will not be tested in europe yet..

why the hell are you so stupid?

still waiting to take PMR is it?

turn off internet, and study laaaa

• Dru-Zod on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:08 am

Its sad, you guys don’t see the bigger picture. You are being shortchanged on your safety. If a car passed EuroNCAP, it will pass through all the other NCAPs with ease. EuroNCAP is the standard bearer. It doesn’t matter that the car is not sold in Europe yet. During the development stage, the car should be designed to EuroNCAP standards. It doesn’t look that it was for Preve. That is what I am trying to get across. Don’t compromise with SAFETY.

• Dru-Zod on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:10 am

Proton used to get the EuroNCAP results out for its new cars immediately when it was launched. Waja, Gen-2 and Neo.

However, since the new Saga and subsequent models, I cannot remember EuroNCAP rating being mentioned for anymore models

• MoFaz on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:40 am

mungkin ko tak faham english. mari aku explain dalam BM yer… EuroNCAP akan test kereta yang dijual di Eropah sahaja. Mereka akan ambil kereta secara random / rawak dari market, bukan yang pengeluar (proton) beri kepada mereka. bila Preve dah sampai Eropah atau UK, barulah EuroNCAP akan test Preve pula… selama ni proton akan hantar ke IDIADA di Spain untuk ujian, IDIADA merupakan salah satu makmal yang buat ujian untuk EuroNCAP, tapi result daripada ujian sebegini bukan keputusan rasmi EuroNCAP. dah paham tak?

• S.Roma on Apr 15, 2013 at 2:49 pm

Dru,

yes its a global car, but why must test the Ncap there when the standard is same with ANCAP?

same result later lor…

• preve still not sell there lol

• Expatriate VN on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:07 am

Test of quality/safety for car is not necessary have to do with area of market!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
        • pirlo on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:21 am

no it does. if it is not, why in the hell bmw, vw, audi need to test the ANCAP as well? they can solely depend on the euro-NCAP alone judging from their origin, dont they?

• Don’t bother reply to him. Expat VN is an idiot.

• pirlo on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:07 am

go home Dru-Zod, you are drunk. you aware that Australia is not in Europe continent, dont you?

• Dru-Zod on Feb 27, 2013 at 7:09 pm

I cannot go home. Krypton is not there anyore. So I need a safe car to travel and I am not convinced about your Preve

• go find and use smart fortwo instead.. poor superman that cannot fly.. huh..

• kucing on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:27 am

im just waiting proton basher’s comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Expatriate VN on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:08 am

This is the 1st blind supporter comment! The best he can do is waiting for the other side to comment! Then may be suddenly turn into keyboard warrior if get “provoked” !!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
      • Ononimos on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:56 pm

Hahaha. He is waiting for you Expet.

The ‘blind’ supporter is waiting for the ‘extremly blind’ basher.

• MoFaz on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:15 pm

kucing already proved that blind bashers can be easily provoked. the first one is Expat from vietnam.

• kentji on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:34 am

lololol, look at the side mirror

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • lalita on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:56 am

why??? check this 2012 Honda Civic Crash Test (1.09min)… it was a normal reflect…
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IRNOnenkYOE

cheers..

• taboogen on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:46 am

he might not know lah lalita that the side mirror can be flip… hahahah… thats why when malaysia got accident traffic jam.. people want to see the side mirror coz its LOLOLOL jahaha

• West End Boys on Feb 27, 2013 at 3:16 am

MALAYSIA BOLEH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • In few years expect all Proton cars to have this safety rating. Way to go Proton!

• xoomie on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:03 am

The passenger airbag broke the front windscreen… That’s not normal !!! its a flawed design ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • spade a spade on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:24 pm

refer to the above comments plz .. its common la .. check testing vids of other cars! The point of having a bloody air bag is to prevent your head from going thru the front windscreen! yes even with a pretensioner belt you head can still crack the windscreen, so which one do you prefer?

• taboogen on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:17 am

maybe australian ancap are stupid to do this ncap rating is it?.. hands up who works for ANCAP.. 100% i can say.. NONE of you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • 4G63T DSM on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:23 am

At least its an improvement to the old milo tins like the old Saga.

Now, when would they do a side impact test. In most cases, the testing authorities will test the lowest spec car…. don’t remember if proton only sells the 6 airbag car in Australia.

• MoFaz on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:19 pm

all preve in australia has 6 airbags. if im not mistaken, they have 6 airbags variant for thailand too. now wait for them to offer 6 airbags for malaysian market before you buy preve.

• spade a spade on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:37 pm

check the ratings and results yourself here ..
      http://www.ancap.com.au/home
      ANCAP test 4 standard test including side impact and pole impact tests

• dr.dre on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:00 am

LANCAP??

• _xXx_ on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:09 am

wow! imagine when ur face is hitting the inflated airbag with broken glasses in between!!

• something fishy about this test..
    first they only crashed the car halfside, tried to make less impact.
    second, the windows all not wind up, a sign of maybe the car power window experiencing problem..
    third, car moved too slow, when i counted i takes about 10 secs while real road accident takes less a second, so for sure the impact is minimal..
    … hhmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 52
    • Datuk Jack. on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:51 am

what the *&*(&*&^&^&%!!!!!!…. u r really sick la dude.. try get some knowledge before commenting here.. u really look super duper brainless.. this is the first time u watch car crash test?..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • taboogen on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:11 am

wow.. is it. very good Mr Ali I second your oppinion..
      but let me give my explaination
      1. crashed halfside : it is standard crash test conduct by NCAP (thats why the reports said frontal offsett), car is at the weakess point if offset thats why they crash it offset..
      2. window dont wind up: might be they want to clearer video using their high speed video, (org melayu kata EN ALi tak silau) with all the lighthings. Power windows are not part of NCAP assestment lah.. u can be in accident even your window is not working.
      3. car move to slow: hermmm this I let the public decide at which education level you are.. dont want to be so sarcastic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • hajihalef on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:12 am

Not sure sarcasm or not.

Half side colliding test is to simulate collission between car from front. Statistic shown collision between car are mostly involving halfside of the car.

Most companies design their car to take impact from straight, but not halfside. The impact distribute evenly if it was from front alone, but not halfside.

• start-a-figt on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:13 am

not sure if person above is stupid, lazy to read or just plain sacrastic.

or just came out from a cave

• pirlo on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:16 am

you are damn smart! can come up with tons of conclusion.

analyzing without any tools/devices. using your naked eyes by watching youtube.

• civicEK on Feb 27, 2013 at 2:19 pm

aiyooo ini olang pun ada ka? hahahaha pity u..

• kadajawi on Feb 27, 2013 at 3:52 pm

Not sure if you are just sarcastic or if you are serious…

The 40% overlap test is much harder on the car than a 100% impact. Have a look at the 20% overlap test, it tears many cars apart and is very dangerous.

• Jambuck on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:10 am

Selling a Proton in Australia is as hard as selling a Lamborghini.

• MoFaz on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:26 pm

selling citreon in Malaysia is even harder than selling a Lambo… in simpler words, it all depends on marketing and distributor network. how many showroom proton has in Ausie?

• joanna on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:37 am

See, Preve is the best car in the world. Can beat any cars like a hero. If your got hit buy a bus, you wont die. The whole passenger of the bus will die.
    The design is superb for uncles and aunties. This is the greatest car in the universe. So Proton will only focus on this product. No need to develop any cars. See how important of this car? Even the Chairman working in production line as an operator to show how important this car is. No need to replace it with new model for another 20 years like Persona and Neo. Just facelift another bit there and another bit here. Done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
    • start-a-figt on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:14 am

your? you’re.. not even you’re can fix that bloody sentences

• spellingnazi fail on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:22 pm

Pick one.. ‘those’ or the singular ‘sentence’ (the latter would be incorrect context wise but at least its grammatically correct)

• Datuk Jack. on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:48 am

basher will be basher.. kasi angkat la lu olang punya vios sangat bagus.. mmg terbaik dari jepon.. itu ferrari pon xble lawan sama lu punya toyota vios.. wtf.. the ANCAP already given 34 of 37 point still paultan forumers “expertise” said this car not save.. WOI!!! if u dont hv money drive ur old kancil diam2 sudah lah.. if u have tons of money go buy bmw/merc la.. what the hell you doing here?… some more comment like you’re car specialist.. tukar tayar pon tak tau lagi mau cerita banyak.. hak tuihhhh.. bolo punya olang!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Expatriate VN on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:13 am

This Datuk is sore loser! Preve is C segment car then it should compare with Corolla Altis. If want to mentioned about Dugong Vios, it is B segment which should compare to 1 or 2 star Saga!!!

Then continue with crap argument mentioned about Ferrari ………… sore loser with crap comments!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
  • Semut on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:50 am

The passenger compartment still intact. Look at the A pillar….strong & still maintain it shape. Wonder what is the speed during the test ?

• taboogen on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:14 am

at 64kmh according to the report… some might asked why at 64kmh?…the speed if you have collision you might survive from the high G Force or impact.. 40kmh is the minimum speed for fatal accident.. correct me if i am wrong.

• Jonathan Lee on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:47 am

You’re wrong, but I won’t blame you. 64 km/h is simply the speed around which most serious or fatal accidents occur.

http://www.euroncap.com/Content-Web-Faq/21982f7f-a312-49db-99e0-8e38e37004de/the-testing-process.aspx

• Video 1:37 shows the flaw in airbag design. The position is too close to windscreen or airbag too large. After deployed it leaves a smaller gap between headrest and passenger compare with driver.
    Conclusion: windscreen glass like plastic and safer as passenger….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • taboogen on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:22 am

if there is a flaw would ANCAP will not give 5 stars to this car. Since all vehicle entering AU need to pass this test?

• sceptic on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:58 am

Come on… ANCAP result based on what the dummies say… they dun care if the car becomes milo tin or the wheels fly out and kills pedestrians…proton shld note their airbag damages their own car. If slower impact deploys the airbag maybe change bumper….wait windscreen also!!! Insurance claim how ah… ?? Lol

• MoFaz on Feb 27, 2013 at 1:30 pm

that speed is enough to cause the car ‘total loss’. why still need to worry about windscreen?
          and if too slow, the airbag won’t be deployed.

• hajihalef on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:08 am

Airgbags are very strong. Seatbelt are really important to keep you head away from the Airbags when it is deploying. After full deployed, it will soft for at least 8 seconds.

• sceptic on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:10 am

Imported cars can offer more safety equipment at same price and proton says will increase price for 6 airbags… enough with the excuses.. if it wasn’t for endless protection we will be enjoying better rides on our roads.

• start-a-figt on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:16 am

not with ur current salary… :D

• taboogen on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:25 am

for me if the driver attitude is not correct, driving recklessly, putting 6 airbags or even handbags(LOL) are not worth it.

• sceptic on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:52 am

I think u’re missing the point. It’s about what value given at price point. Having more airbags just provides protection after collision.. unlike ballons. You proton fanboy or ancap staff? Lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Zlanu on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:19 am

What I don’t agree with is the fact that we are not even given the option of a standard 6 airbag. That being said, everyone who keeps saying our lives are cheap…take your fight to the Toyotas and Hondas and Kias who don’t provide that standard either?

Every time Proton releases a car, it’s released with multiple spec from lowest to highest spec where you get more safety and bare bones where you don’t. People still buy bare bones as well. Economy of scale; if there is a demand, Proton will fill it. By the sheer fact that people still continue to not place any value on their own lives by buying low spec cars, then if I was Proton, I wouldn’t release a full high spec vehicle if I couldn’t sell it. Doesn’t make business sense and you end up losing money.

One can argue that the reason people buy lowest spec is because they can’t afford anything more and that’s probably the case but at the end of the day, at least these guys can buy a car whether through Proton or Perodua.

And you can put it allllll towards government policy and bla bla bla. Fine. But until I see the other big players willing to put the lives of our people at their highest priority and sell cars with ONLY highest spec, then don’t come-a-preaching about Proton not doing the same. Then you would say “but that would be expensive”. It’s the same for Proton too. “But they’re not government protected”. True, they’re not. Then blame policy. Don’t hate on Proton for not releasing it. AFAIC, they have the highest safety spec of any car in their category. Good value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • sceptic on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:38 am

Companies that import cars find it hard to get approval with a single model, what more talk about various specs (high, low…etc) so it is more worthwhile and be a game changer when they bring in something with higher specs. It also justifies economies of scale with less variants.

CKD cars have their parts manufacturers in ASEAN which actually lowers the cost considerably. The only high cost is the R&D and testing involved. One does not simply plug in some cloth as airbags.

That being said, it’s the NAP policy set in place that dictates what makes sense for these money making companies. Whether they put profit first or consumers first, buyers judge.

• Penang playboy on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:47 am

Dude, blame the policy? Yea, right but at the same time, if there are no Proton then we will have no such policy, do you understand why people hate Proton? Proton for being an automaker for 30 years but they still need the government protection and are butt of the joke in other countries. The only sole reason they manage to sell in Malaysia is due to Government policy!!!!! Seriously, if you have a choice between Preve, Civic, Mazda 3, or even Altis with the same pricing range, will you choose Preve???!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • Ononimos on Feb 27, 2013 at 2:13 pm

I will absolutely choose Preve.

Why? U mad?

• spade a spade on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:53 pm

Do you know how to calculate GDP?

here la i give
        GDP = private consumption + gross investment + government spending + (exports − imports)

notice the “exports – imports” ?

The reason why Proton was created, Buy Malaysian Brand was created was to improve our GDP numbers ..

Now I am not saying all is good. for sure pricing and protection is not the right thing to-do. But relatively if there is no proton, we would be spending out our $$$ going abroad which will in turn reduce our GDP ..

If there is no proton .. thousands of Malaysian companies will not be able to survive .. and perhaps hundred of thousands of job’s will be implicated.

you might say oh .. i am not working in automotive industry so i will not be impacted .. guess what .. if there is a labour surplus against demand .. salaries will be cheaper..

• uzair on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:39 pm

I will choose preve anytime!

• Penang playboy on Feb 28, 2013 at 9:52 am

@Ononimos , uzair,
        haha :) I am happy for Proton shareholders cause they still have blind supporters that will support their craps
        @Spade a spade
        I do understand the GDP but again, a lot of countries do not have their own so called national car but their GDP are much better then us!!!! Do you think Proton are actually helping? No! they are just making it worse with their Cronyism system.
        Thousand of companies will not be able to survive? I would think it is better since these companies are just leeching off the countries economy.
        Talking about salaries, again, there are number of countries without a “NATIONAL CAR” but their salary are much higher then us, how do you explain that? Just take a look at our dear Singapore neighbour…do they have their own “NATIONAL CAR”????

• farhan on Feb 28, 2013 at 7:48 pm

Dude,do most singaporean own a car ? No.car price there are expensive.thats why their public transport like buses and mrt are first class.people there more prefer on public transporr

• Penang playboy on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:15 am

Dude, again, I am just putting an example. there are a lot of other countries that do not need a “NATIONAL CAR” to justify the GDP. Proton is just an excuse for certain parties for money politics and cronyism. I am happy and in fact proud if our national car are able to help the economy of the countries like Kia/Hyundai. Yes, they were also protected by Korea Government but they manage to proof themselves locally/oversea and in turn really help the country GDP. The problem is, it seem our dear Proton is still Jaguh Kampung and leech off the Rakyat hard earned money after freaking 30 years!!!

• spade a spade on Feb 27, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Thank god! someone that made sense! Finally. In the end everyone keep politicizing everything and anything under the Malaysian Sky. Thanks for calling a spade a spade!

• polo saga on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:56 am

Does proton bride ANCAP since Malaysia is No. 1 in corruption?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • pirlo on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:38 am

bride or bribe?

• Jonathan Lee on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:53 am

Australia isn’t Malaysia, it doesn’t work that way.

It’s pretty obvious in the video that the car performed pretty well. There’s no observable deformation in the occupant compartment, the airbags deployed as they should and the driver and passenger strike the airbags in the centre, just as they’re supposed to. Of course, that doesn’t necessarily mean that it’s a guaranteed five-star performance because there are still so many things we can’t see, but I think I can take ANCAP’s word for it.

• hamid on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Not gonna happen. Proton still had the lowest value among those cars. Just look at UK market.

• taboogen on Feb 27, 2013 at 11:54 am

its not bride lah .. its bribe… eja pun salah want to accuse people..

• The video above contains some serious video editing shizzers then.. Very pro video editor.

• Rambo Ramsey on Feb 27, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Dude,

Its BRIBE not BRIDE. Married to the bride ok lah.

and 2nd, credit due where its due lah dude.

• fanofthisite on Mar 03, 2013 at 12:17 am

err….did you just call Aussies the No 2 most corrupt nation?

• sonyman on Feb 27, 2013 at 10:58 am

how to vote 5 stars? where is the side impact test and also the pole test?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • This is the good work from proton ex-md syed zainal works, but the tun dont like it.

• MoFaz on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:58 pm

Tun don’t like it? i remember reading Tun’s post about this car and he like it very much :)

• Jonathan Lee on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:06 pm

Good. Now focus on:

a) delivering safety equipment spec parity across all markets (including ours), and

b) child and pedestrian safety.

• Ah Beng on Feb 27, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Now mat rempit can use preve to bang others.

• gen2lama on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:58 pm

Waaa… u said before proton cars damm expensive here in bolehland….how come mat rempit can buy one?

• armandd on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:47 pm

I don’t understand some of the bashers here. Give credit when credit is due lah…

• boleh on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Malaysia Boleh !

• Peter on Mar 01, 2013 at 1:54 am

This is a really impressive result, and the car performs great in that test.

The ANCAP is on-par with the Euro-NCAP and I would trust their testing process. For those asking, there was a pole test and it scored 2 out of a possible 2 points on that test also. Overall the result is impressive.

Final point. In Thailand, where I live, the Preve is available with 6 airbags. Other C segment cars only have 2. Proton are moving in the right direction!

• power rangers on Jun 19, 2013 at 2:10 am

go migrate to australia la then.. be a minoroty group there and being treat like a chinese scumbag.. haha been there done that bro.. the medical expenses are way to expensive compare to malaysia.. (Proud to be malaysia)