2014 Nissan Teana unveiled in China, based on Altima

2014-nissan-teana-004

The new 2014 Nissan Teana has been unveiled in China by the Dongfeng-Nissan joint venture and from what we can see, Nissan’s latest D-segment contender is heavily based on the North American Nissan Altima, a sign that Nissan is probably merging it’s D-segment line-up into a single world car.

The new Nissan Teana’s styling draws many design cues from the new model Nissan Sylphy that was unveiled in 2012. The car looks much more dynamic, with sweptback Nissan 370Z style headlamps and an Infiniti-like muscular body. There’s plenty of chrome on the Teana compared to the USDM Altima.

2014-nissan-teana-002

This is the only shot of the interior we have so far, which in this case is black leather with metallic accents. I’m sure there are other colour combinations that include beige leather and brown wood as well. The seats are said to be ‘zero-gravity inspired’, which I suppose is a new take on describing comfort level.

The Chinese market car is powered by a 2.5 litre engine mated to a CVT. Curiously, the 2.5 litre motor is the four cylinder QR25DE instead of the smooth VQ-family 2.5 litre V6 motor that’s in the current generation Teana available in Malaysia. This probably takes after the fact that the QR25DE is what Nissan has traditionally used as a 2.5 litre offering in the US in the Altima. Are we saying goodbye to one of the last remaining V6 motors in the non-luxury D-segment?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• shawal on Mar 01, 2013 at 12:04 am

it’ll probably launch in malaysia in 3 years time…

• the current trend …bolehland get new gen model after 6-7 montn not 2-3 yrs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • AVH® on Mar 01, 2013 at 1:05 am

I hope you are right, coz Thailand’s got their hands on the next generation Sylphy on August last year. And all we got was a facelift in March. Knowing Tan Chong, punctuality isn’t their Forte.

• tikus on Mar 01, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Friend…the trend is not apply by Tan Chong.Tan Chong is famous for snail introduction of new car.Something wrong with the company.

• AVH® on Mar 01, 2013 at 8:59 am

This car will be launched 6 years, not 3 years later in Malaysia. This is because Tan Chong is more interested in maintaining high taxes and high car prices as propogated by their big boss. Tan Chong is so slow and it is better they give their dealership off to another party who is faster at launching their cars.

• LimPek on Mar 01, 2013 at 6:05 pm

yes, it will take at least 6 years to reach Malaysia.
        1st gen Teana unveiled in 2001, but CBU reach Malaysia at 2007.

• If want a large Sedan car,why don’t get a Audi A6 hybrid or Mercedes C Class?!

• frenzyaustin on Mar 01, 2013 at 12:23 am

Is this Altima? Looks like Altima!

• Nissan lol on Mar 01, 2013 at 12:40 am

In US they got Altima (L33) with bigger engine longer body and this Sentra (B17) with a smaller engine shorter body.

In Thailand they call it Bluebird Sylphy (B17).

In Australia they call it Pulsar (B17).

Now in China they call it Teana (B17).

So in Malaysia just name it Sunny?

Nissan – Misleading is Misleading

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • frenzyaustin on Mar 01, 2013 at 1:32 am

Sunny, teana and sylphy is a TOTALY different car.
        almera = sunny
        sylphy = sentra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • satrian on Mar 01, 2013 at 1:45 am

ur wrg Kid……i think u need to do more homework…….all are diff cars for ur info….almera=sunny. Sylphy=pulsar=bluebird.Altima(only in us)=Teana=cefiro(only in india will be in Sept 2013.Next time think b4 klentong…..

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:08 am

Must be some ignorant korean car fanboy. Lol…

This Teana is also known as Altima in US.

New Sylphy is known as Sentra in US & Pulsar in Australia.

Almera is known as Versa Sedan in US & Sunny in China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • Jack Philip Yong on Mar 01, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Almera=Sunny=Latio (N17)
        Sylphy=Pulsar=Sentra (B17)
        Altima=Teana=Cefiro=Laurel=Bluebird (L33)

• tkling on Mar 07, 2013 at 12:47 am

all yr comparison is invalid, wrong match…!

• OMG….ALAMAK style…Slyphy become muscular….

• looks like an infiniti model. good job nissan

• Darris on Mar 01, 2013 at 12:28 am

Somehow it looks like LS250, but still like! Black interior ftw.

• basically this car IS the US market Nissan Maxima

• AVH® on Mar 01, 2013 at 1:09 am

Looks sharper and more executive looking than the current car, which is great ,especially the back, the current Teana has one of the ugliest arse in the segment. But knowing Nissan, I expect almost unparalleled comfort level in it’s price range.

• hope the spec is similar to US altima as well

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=6oAW1ncYhRs

• sonyman on Mar 01, 2013 at 8:23 am

you see, USA spec sure kau kau one.

ours, this one not available. DAm Jealous

• ZeeBee on Mar 01, 2013 at 12:28 pm

this is the the high spec model known as 3.5S in US,you will get all these options here also but not in 2.5,it will be in 3.5

• Mat Global on Mar 01, 2013 at 8:36 am

The only continental drive feel among Japanese makes is Nissan.
    Their cars hardly bounce or pitch. Suspension gives comfort all round.Handling is easy and reassuring.

• V nice design in my opinion, miles better than 2013 accord or 2013 camry..

• That’s what i’m talking about!! Tan Chong must bring this in. Immediately.

• To bad we may only get it after 4-5 yrs…TC will never bring us updated model

• The current teana going to sell for another 2 years, then facelift and keep on selling for another 2 years…we may only get the new one after 4-5 years when china already has the facelifted teana and looking ahead for another new model to roll out

• Jaybond on Mar 01, 2013 at 11:54 am

Tan Chong better bring in this car at the latest in 1-2 year’s time. The new flashy Mazda 6 and Honda Accord will come in very soon, not to mention the facelifted Hyundai Sonata & Kia Optima and the new Ford Mondeo.By 2015 the current Nissan Teana will be easily outclassed by the competition.

• Honda Power on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:57 pm

Yes, all new Honda CR-V will be launched next week and the all new Honda Accord may be launched in October this year. Honda always launch their new cars much faster than Nissan in Malaysia. Normally it only takes about 5 months for the car to be launched here after it is launched in Thailand.

• totti on Mar 01, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Stop buying teana and slyphy then u are able to get the latest model very soon.

• tikus on Mar 01, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Tan Chong fast fast bring in this car…to stay ahead in the market.

• “Totti”, you are quite right. That is about the only way to get the stubborn guys at Tan Chong to change their ways.

That said, I will have to agree with “Mat Global” that Nissan cars are the only Japanese make to “feel” and drive like European cars, unlike Toyotas, that drive like Toyota’s (i.e. boring) and Honda’s that drive like a poor impression of a wannbe European car, However I feel that Mazda’s are the best driving cars among Japanese makes. Two thumbs up to Mazda, for continously producing “exciting” drivers cars!

• lchlch on Mar 01, 2013 at 10:51 pm

Probably should go straight to conti. The price gap is pretty close between conti and japs these days

• Jack Philip Yong on Mar 01, 2013 at 10:28 pm

If the 2014 Nissan Teana L33 reach in Malaysia, it can be called as Nissan Altima, instead of Teana. The Nissan Altima nameplate will be returned in Malaysia after 16 years since U13 Bluebird Altima discontinued. When I watch about Nissan Altima, thinking about Nissan Bluebird, and Cefiro.

• Dan Dan on Mar 03, 2013 at 4:00 am

My personal point of views, Tan Chong should bark up and bring in new model to us. For examples, new Serena, Note….ect.
    And here Malaysia, latest only upgraded Teana but not facelifted? why?