BMW 7-Series F02 facelift launched, RM649k-939k

DSC_7843a

BMW Malaysia has introduced the facelifted F01/02 BMW 7-Series in the country, in this case with the F02 side of things. The car was launched today at the ongoing BMW Malaysian Open 2013 being held at the Royal Selangor Golf Club in Kuala Lumpur, with the event’s top seed and former world No 1 Caroline Wozniacki helping out with the unveiling of the car.

Three versions of the Life Cycle Impulse 7er go on sale here, the entry-level 730Li, followed by the 740Li and the ActiveHybrid 7L, which sits at the top of things. The cars will only be available for purchase at dealerships from March 30 2013. It looks like BMW’s stint with diesel power in the limo segment has ended – the 730Ld is gone.

We’ve already written a fair bit about the LCI when it made its debut last May, but here’s a quick recap. Externally, the front of the car features new all-LED headlamp clusters, as well as a nine-slat per side kidney grille, redesigned bumper apron and indicators integrated into the exterior mirror casings.

At the back, a chrome trim strip between the taillights in the rear apron provides additional contrast, and the 7er now sits eight millimetres lower than previously in a bid to sport things up.

DSC_7857a

Inside, the cabin gets newly-designed leather seats, new hardware for the iDrive, and the rear passengers get individual freestanding 9.2-inch flat screens. In the case of the ActiveHybrid 7L, there’s a Bang & Olufsen high-end surround sound system, replete with 16 loudspeakers and an illuminated centre loudspeaker that can be retracted into the instrument panel.

In terms of output numbers, the 3.0 litre six-cylinder inline NA mill, the N52B30, offers 258 hp and 310 Nm in the 730Li, and thanks to additional TwinPower Turbo technology, 320 hp and 450 Nm for the 740Li.

As for the AH 7L, the drivetrain is now identical to that found on the ActiveHybrid 5 and ActiveHybrid 3, this being the 320 hp six-cylinder turbo from the 740Li, but coupled with a 55 hp synchronous electric motor and a lithium-ion high-performance battery. The previous AH 7 incarnation wore a 4.4 V8/motor combi.

Total system output is 354 hp and and 500 Nm, and it’s good enough to get the AH 7L to 100 km/h from standstill in 5.7 seconds, with the ability to do four kilometres on electric power alone, at speeds of up to 60 km/h. The car also features a hybrid-specific Auto Start/Stop function.

DSC_7819a

The AH 7L also gets dressed up with an M Sport package as standard, with the kit comprising an M Aerodynamics exterior package, M Sport leather steering wheel with gearshift paddles as well as M light alloy wheels.

Elsewhere, the 7er features plenty of tech, as usual – there’s ECO PRO with anticipation assistant and Brake Energy Regeneration as standard, as are items such as BMW Night Vision + Dynamic Light Spot, High Beam Assist with Anti-Dazzle and an Active Protection safety package.

In terms of pricing, the 730Li goes for RM648,800, the 740Li for RM818,800 and the ActiveHybrid 7L for RM938,800, all on-the-road without insurance, but with BMW Service + Repair Inclusive (BS+RI). Unlike the AH 5 and AH 3, which are classified as Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEV), the AH 7 isn’t, and as such does not get the special exemptions enjoyed by its smaller hybrid siblings.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Maserati on Feb 28, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Rather get a porsche panamera than this clunky boring car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • AVH® on Feb 28, 2013 at 9:08 pm

In my opinion which many shares, it may be more boring than a Panamera, but at least is more handsome than the 911 with elephantiasis. But both cars cater for different crowd, with the Panamera caters on the owner being the driver, while the 7-series is the owner being driven.

For me if I had the cash, skip both cars and go for a 640i Gran Coupe.

PS: I thought there was supposed to be an announcement regarding cutting tax for cars from Japan and Ozzie, today

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • AVH® on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:09 am

How can this car be charged RM818,000 when our tax and duties maxes out at 130%. How much is the distributor really making per car? Mind you these US prices is where the US dealership already pays tax and after making a big profit margin. I think if come out of Germany factory direct, BMW Malaysia gets this 740i for US$40,000. Anyway, lets just assume the US RRP price, how come it is sold 4X here in Malaysia when our Government ONLY charges maximum 130% in tax and excise duties?

These are the actual world prices for BMW vs our super high Malaysian prices charged by BMW Malaysia.

BMW 740i
        US$73,400 (RM220,000)
        Malaysia RM818,000

BMW 328i
        US$36,500 (RM109,500)
        Malaysia Price RM300,000

BMW 528i
        US$46,900 (RM149,000)
        Malaysia Price RM415,900

BMW 535i
        US$52,500 (RM157,000)
        Malaysia Price RM600,000

BMW X5
        US$47,500 (RM142,500)
        Malaysia Price RM588,900

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • _xXx_ on Mar 02, 2013 at 11:26 am

Activehybrid7 cost price in SG (2012 Dec) is S$87,124. You may do ur maths now…

• saying something looks better than a panamera isn’t saying much, at least the porsche tries to be bold and this just looks like every other 7 series. plus, it doesn’t look or sound like a jaguar XJ, its not as packed with technology like the audi a8 and it deosn’t feel as special or as fast as the porsche.
        im not saying its a bad car but if you want a bmw, get an M5 or a normal full spec 5 series.

• David on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:03 pm

Agree

• AVH® on Mar 01, 2013 at 8:56 am

I hope the big Boss of Sime darby does not ask another new 760iL facelifted version. I hope Sime Darby can give their management smaller cars instead of big cc cars that are against their environment green policies. Maybe a 730Ld? Why give a 1.2 million ringgit car to management when the money can go to the shareholders?

• mrbmwman on Mar 01, 2013 at 8:48 pm

This car may not looks as good as Panamera, but I will definitely choose the 7 series over that Porsche. Its a good all-rounder compared to the Porsche.

• Oww sexy and hot! love d 7 series…value for money.

• Will consider for upgrade..

• Love the rear view.

• GT-Rider on Feb 28, 2013 at 10:31 pm

5.7 sec …
    *yawn*

• mrcounterstrike on Mar 01, 2013 at 8:50 pm

5.7 sec is fast for this car, considering its size and weight. This car will never disappoint when it comes to performance.

• Sam Loo Jr on Mar 02, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Spine snapping harsh ride from GT-R. Ouch!!

• This car is for those who can afford to hire a driver, enjoy the seat at the back.

CEO car.

• Cisitalia on Feb 28, 2013 at 10:47 pm

Ridiculous price. Let’s not get too excited, the problem is not just import duties.

The current Approved Permits (AP) issued to UMNO cronies is also a major cost as are the excise duties at between 75%-105% of the cost if the vehicle and the 10% sales tax.

A high end BMW 5 Series sells in Europe for RM190,000 before tax
    A less well specified BMW 5 Series sells in KL for RM 598,800.

The Calculation:

Brand new BMW 5 Series in EU before tax:
    = RM190,000
    + Shipping: RM3000
    + Insurance during shipping: RM1000
    Customs Value: (RM190,000+RM3000+RM1000)
    = RM194,000

+ Import Duty RM194,000 x 30% = RM58,200
    + Excise Duty RM194,000 x105% = RM203,700
    + Sales Tax @10% x (RM194,000+RM58,200+RM203,700 = RM455,900)
    = RM45,590

Total RM501,490

AP Costs (given to cronies for free) and added to the end consumer as an additional cost
    = RM97,310

BMW sold in Malaysia for a Grand Total RM598,800

16% of the cost of a new car goes to the AP holder.

To the current ruling Malaysian government.
    Q1) Can you please be more transparent and show us in detail on what exactly we are paying.
    Q2) What are the additional costs contributed to the exorbitant prices of Malaysian cars?
    Q3) From the tax collected on each car, what have the government done or where does the money go or are spent?
    Q4) The road conditions and public transportation are still unsatisfactory.

Thank you for your kind attention.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • shuk rocco on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:25 pm

i like…thank for your info

• vk9545 on Mar 01, 2013 at 1:30 am

Like your awesome info. The money is going into cronies pockets. And forget about it bro they wont answer us. Without exise duty most of us would be driving germane marque not perodua or proton. Only in malaysia we take loan and pay interest to pay our exise duties.

• KingPin on Mar 08, 2013 at 11:37 am

Thank you for your enlightenment. I wonder how does NAZA keep their prices very competetive i.e KIA, Peugeot and now Citroen

• David on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:07 pm

God Damn Hybrid car for RM700k to RM900k+…. not worth it at all man. Better buy Toyota Prius!!!

• joker 96 on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:11 pm

this car make s class like a toy

• nabill on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:22 pm

why only long wheel versions available ??

• Jimmy on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:27 pm

If your calculation is exact, then ok; otherwise the big people will be smiling reading your comments and that sounds ……
    Some rich people drive themselves; for RR level, it maybe different.
    The speed up time is ok.
    Me too. Front is also good looking.
    Hmmm, suspicious comment.
    Yes, we almost forget.
    If everythings are equal, Panamera will be 1st choice, followed by S and then 7. The reality is S is always the 1st choice among the target customers in Malaysia.

• sutheshkumar on Mar 01, 2013 at 12:17 am

wait2, since when the 730Li uses the TwinPower Turbo?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 01, 2013 at 1:12 am

Apologies, cross-eyed there for a moment. The N52B30 in the 730Li is a normally-aspirated six pot. Amended.

• ahbeng on Mar 01, 2013 at 12:50 am

love bmw!!

• steve on Mar 01, 2013 at 8:00 am

Anthony,
    No mention on the meter cluster. Meaning that the changeable meter cluster modes based on the ECO, Sport and Comfort settings have been omitted?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 01, 2013 at 8:53 am

steve, I omitted the mention of it, but the changeable meter cluster modes are there. So things can tailored in both colour and design to a particular driving mode (ECO, Sport, Comfort), as in say a blue ECO PRO display replacing the rev counter if the mode is chosen.

• gOOsh on Mar 01, 2013 at 10:44 am

hhhmmmm… the question is… can I afford to buy this ride??? NO!

• Boring looking flag bearer ship! Next please

• Nalza on Mar 01, 2013 at 7:58 pm

Lampu depan, persona look a like.. lol

• David on Mar 01, 2013 at 11:18 pm

Buy BMW is like buy handphone!! New 1 come out then must up to date. No update then down to earth, simple as that.

If want long term & good resale value then buy TOYOTA.

• goliath on Mar 02, 2013 at 12:49 pm

and most toyotas sold here by UMW have ancient tech like a nokia 3210. while the rest of the ppl alreasy using iphone 5 and samsung s3.

• KingPin on Mar 08, 2013 at 11:40 am

Toyota is the biggest scammers of car pricing especially is malaysia. I’d only pay RM 30000 at most for a vios