Jazeman Jaafar to drive F1 car in a demo run in KL

jazeman mercedes

Jazeman Jaafar is set to get his first drive in a Formula One car next month – the 20-year-old Malaysian will be piloting the Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 demo car at a special demonstration run event in Kuala Lumpur on March 17, ahead of the 2013 F1 Petronas Malaysian GP.

Jazeman, who will be racing in the Formula Renault 3.5 Series this season, having moved up from the British F3 championship which he has been competing in for the last three years, will share driving duties at the event with Mercedes AMG Petronas development driver Sam Bird.

The lad is obviously excited by the chance. “It’s difficult to describe the emotions I had when I was told by Petronas that I would be given the chance to drive the car. I’m happy, excited, proud and impatient for the day. I am very grateful to Petronas for the support and putting faith in me to put on a good show at this special event,” he enthused.

“As there won’t be an opportunity for me to drive the car before the KL event, I’m preparing by working with the team on the simulator alongside my Renault 3.5 Series programme, but to be making my ‘F1 driving debut’ behind the wheel in front of a home crowd will be just totally awesome,” he added.

His dream of getting into F1 remains fixed, and this will only fuel it. “I’m only 20 and I’ve been racing in single-seaters for six years, working my way up the ladder of racing categories, learning, improving, experiencing more technical and more powerful cars.

“I’m capable of driving an F1 car within the parameters of a demonstration run and really looking forward to it, but it will be a couple of years before I can consider looking for a full-time race driving position in F1. I’m sure that this ‘taster’ of driving an F1 car will add to my determination to reach F1 and it will be an amazing experience,” he explained.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Jinggo on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:50 am

U r Malaysian, I’m proud of u..
    U r Malay, I respect u..
    U r Muslim, I salute u..
    Viva Jazeman!
    Bravo Petronas!

• AVH® on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:16 am

Try not to eat nasi lemak and get sleepy and sleep on the wheel bro. Government offices maybe can but not on the wheel!

• sure jeles punya orang ni..stay at cyber cafe 8am until 4pm,can make you go crazy..get a life dude or help you mom to improve her skill playing mahjong..LOL

• haters gonna hate…

• Malaysian on Feb 28, 2013 at 12:18 pm

I salute you Jazeman because you have achieved everything so far on merit, competing on a global playing field against the best. We are proud of you regardless of your nationality, race, religion.. which is just incidental.

• black on Feb 28, 2013 at 1:41 pm

that ‘s a million car okey..not sold at pasar malam..sure ke boleh drive?..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • satria boy on Feb 28, 2013 at 9:35 pm

i wanna race him with my satria GTI

• taboogen on Mar 04, 2013 at 8:57 am

thats the different between a MAN and a stria BOY… its a diffrent ball game my boy.. haha

• Azlin Kamarudin on Mar 19, 2013 at 9:10 pm

Hye jaz! Thing that wont be change is you’re the best among the best! And congrats to you coz you did very well driving F1 Mercedes AMG in town!! Will support you always.