Mercedes offers illuminated three-pointed star emblem

Fancy a shining star on your Mercedes-Benz? Mercedes-Benz Accessories GmbH now offers an illuminated central grille three-pointed star for models from the C-Class and above.

Using optical fiber with LED technology, the star emblem is lighted up only when the car is stationary, when the car is unlocked or the engine is stopped. It also lights up when the car’s doors or trunk is opened, and once they are closed, the light will go off in 15 seconds.

Already available for M- and GL-Class SUVs, the illuminated star will from next month appear on the options list of the C-Class, CLS and E-Class. Mercs fitted with Distronic or Distronic Plus cannot tick this option, and of course, the car has to first come with a big central logo as standard. 300 euros is the cost in Europe.

We reckon that while some might find it cool, many Mercedes owners don’t seek this kind of attention. View the video above and tell us what you think.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mistaloba on Feb 28, 2013 at 4:47 pm

so epic the ad…

• AVH® on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:17 am

instead of doing stupid things like this, they should improve on their quality. Mercedes always breakdown due to electrical failure, somemore you want to add more electronic stuff. Pandai lah

• Petro-bling on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Must be Lewis Hamilton’s idea to light up the star for the cars.

• C~two on Feb 28, 2013 at 4:55 pm

why is “many Mercedes owners don’t seek this kind of attention”?

• brothers has this option for quite sometime already, but i think too much LED around is … too much.

• 1999_SUBARU_IMPREZA_P1 on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:00 pm

They copied Lexus LS600h, Toyota Prius, our very own first Proton Saga and some of the people in Kepong, Puchong and Cheras with their blue illuminated Vios, Altis and Camry.

• AVH® on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:20 pm

The LS600h and Prius light glow? I did’t know that, all I know is that it has a tint of blue, that’s all.

• mohsin on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:08 pm

cost saving, profit maximising
    conclusion: made in china

• Bling.. Bling..

• start-a-figt on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:10 pm

ah beng much?

• 1980s original Saga illuminated blue logo! Someone had the bright idea long time ago..

• carazy on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:13 pm

rappers will like this..

• CARtoon on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Dont mean to be .. well mean. This is so ahbeng!

• reminded me of proton’s feeble attempt at a illuminating badge with the old iswara haha

• Tacky! Shudder

• AVH® on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:19 pm

The new Mercedes illuminated three-pointed star, now to re-assure other motorist that you are tailgating them in a Mercedes-benz. Honestly this is a nothing but a gimmick, I have an illuminated logo on my Saga,albeit it’s broken and I don’t even bother to fix it.

• “the star emblem is lighted up only when the car is stationary, when the car is unlocked or the engine is stopped”

It’s a pointer to show where your car is. The first to have this is actually the Mercedes Actros (the truck).

• AVH® on Feb 28, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Oh! Sorry, my bad, missed that part. But I still don’t see the purpose of it, as a lavish way to find your car? I think lightening up those lovely headlights that recent Mercedes has, will do a rather elegant and fine job. I find lighting up a big 3-pointed star, rather ostentatious (showy is just to dull of a word to describe this)

• e.tau on Feb 28, 2013 at 5:30 pm

oppa ahbeng style!!

• azlan87 on Feb 28, 2013 at 6:07 pm

sounds and looks like a trailer for Batman…

• RA515 on Feb 28, 2013 at 6:19 pm

indians did this..excessively

• Johnny on Feb 28, 2013 at 6:23 pm

Next day – stolen.

• bmwuser on Feb 28, 2013 at 6:28 pm

This is a fantastic optional product for a luxury automaker. And it is a great branding / marketing strat to get additional mileage in the saturated luxury segment.

And come on, don’t lah compare your no-illumination Prius badge or the cheapazz modified Proton emblem to an LED infused 3-star badge – it’s like saying, “Eh Merc, who got 4 wheels ah? LOL. My kancil also got wei…” Duh.

Although I’m all for BMW, I’d say well done from the business front.

• Ajo haters on Feb 28, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Definitely ah beng…

• darker marker on Feb 28, 2013 at 7:17 pm

kinda ah beng like….

MAybe MErc wanna test-water to see if this gimmick would attract rich ah beng drivers…

• zebulun on Feb 28, 2013 at 8:20 pm

Now those merc owners can join ahbeng club

• Dr Cooper on Feb 28, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Just a lavish way to detect your car when finding it in a crowded parking space…innovative but not necessarily have to send to merc vendor just to install it…then again Merc owners are not a mod type bunch..

• That’s a good add-on as Daytime running light. :)

• Dr Cooper on Mar 01, 2013 at 7:21 am

dude, do you even read ? it’s only light up when the car is stationary (means it doesn’t move)

• ah beng inc. on Feb 28, 2013 at 11:42 pm

we, the lawyers of ah beng inc. want to sue mercedes for copy our design

• tycoon88 on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:13 am

did any1 notice in the video a mercedes benz car that looks like a lambo or ferrari. itz a 60s – 70s benz prototype in C111. wat a beauty but not even 1 for sale in this world coz benz never commercialize it before.

• checksum on Mar 02, 2013 at 12:34 am

I sees Iron Man’s chest piece.