DRIVEN: New Audi A6 Hybrid full test drive review – sure, it’s tax-free, but is it free of driving thrills too?

Driven_AudiA6Hybrid_01

Here’s a funny story: a few days before Euromobil launched the Audi A6 Hybrid, they called me to test it out for a couple of days. Unbeknownst to me, a dear old reader snapped a picture of yours truly driving the car and sent it to us claiming he had caught a registered A6 hybrid undergoing local tests.

Yes, it was being tested alright. By me. Got to love all you eagled-eyed readers. Thanks and keep them spyshots coming!

Back to the topic at hand, I’m sure you’ve all been wondering if the new tax-free Audi A6 Hybrid is worth all that money? How does it perform? It is any good? What are the drawbacks of a hybrid executive sedan? You’ll find comprehensive answers to all these questions and more right here.

Driven_AudiA6Hybrid_05

The Audi and I went out early one morning and the roads were still empty and wet from the night. It was kind of a twilight drive, with the impressive full-LED headlamps on main beam, and the lovely instruments with its pin-sharp display lit by that eerie glow that the Germans love.

The engine fires, growls briefly, then settles in a sotto voce rhythm deep within the background that changes volume but not the tune with the position of the loud pedal. Loud here is rhetorical of course. When the hybrid system sees it fit, the engine would turn itself off, letting the battery take care of all the cabin ancillaries.

You can turn the engine on by prodding the throttle pedal, and at 1,500 rpm the combined powerplant already produces more twist action than the A6 3.0 TFSI engine can muster at the peak of its torque curve. You can’t really tell the immediate engine speed, as there is no rev-counter to speak of – the hybrid assist/charge dial shown instead.

Driven_AudiA6Hybrid_51

In a pleasant, subdued, almost invisible way, this car is like a drug. Even when unleashed, with the whip high up in the air, it retains a perfect jacket and tie composure. By now we really are moving. The A6 is dancing with the road: first leading with firm hands, then gently pushing and pulling in perfect accordance with the course of the concrete parquet.

The car seldom puts a foot wrong. Turn-in is slow – sometimes frustratingly so – but once the nose has started moving towards the apex the Audi hugs the tarmac and clings to the blacktop before it will start scrambling ever so subtly for grip. Keep your foot down if you like, spin that inside wheel, but be prepared to wind off some lock quickly if you hit a rough bump mid-corner, because in an instant the tail will step out in a neat arc.

The throttle action is superb: linear and attentive, making take-off smooth and not at all jerky. Throughout the rev-range, the motor and the accelerator constantly communicate with each other, making it an absolute pleasure to cruise with.

Driven_AudiA6Hybrid_16

And it’s quick. Real quick. There is already meat on the bone at low revs, but the main course begins at three-quarters into the pedal travel. And it lasts virtually relentlessly until you take your foot off. Amazingly, you almost never feel any upshifts, partly because the eight-speed automatic gearbox is so smooth, plus the fact that there isn’t a rev-meter to tell you the rpm has dropped.

Once the instant torque flows, there is not much that can stop it, and after a while the urge to free more and more revs becomes almost irresistible.

A good engine puts its stamp on a car and shapes its character. That’s exactly what the hybrid combo does to the A6. The petrol/electric powertrain is a joy to rev: smooth, potent and turbine like, it will spin freely without much mechanical or acoustic protest.

Driven_AudiA6Hybrid_14

The response to the electronic throttle is prompt and progressive. The accelerator is neither laser sharp or supersonic fast but meaty, nicely weighted and beautifully communicative.

Too bad the chassis lets the engine down. It’s not all bad though. Its set-up is controlled and taut and yet its movements are supple, its muscles compliant, and its responses rarely harsh and never exaggerated. It’s just that it’s not much fun to drive through bends. Not at all, actually.

In all its rear-wheel drive rivals bar the mushy Infiniti M, you can play gung-ho by backing off in the middle of a corner tackled with aggression. In the A6 Hybrid, with all that torque coming through the front wheels, such brutal throttle manoeuvres upset the car’s balance too abruptly, the stability control kicking in sharply to control the loss of traction. A BMW 5-Series this is not.

Driven_AudiA6Hybrid_09

Audi says we’ve entered a new era where it’s composure that counts, not bravery. Yes, you may enjoy a little power oversteer. But lurid tailslides are a thing of the past, apparently, at least as far its cool and not at all flamboyant clientele are concerned. Remember, it’s privileged business types they’re after, not driving enthusiasts looking for the next corner to terrorise.

Most of the time, this hybrid monster will handle in an impeccably neutral fashion. Going time warp fast is a surreal, almost sci-fi-like sensation that combines the unerring directional stability and a slot racer with the pulling power of a gas turbine – vroom, woosh and through, that kind of thing.

A more alert steering wouldn’t hurt, and the brakes are not in the league of the class bests, which at the moment is tied between the BMW 5-Series and Lexus’ latest GS. Worked hard, they sweat plenty of smelly black dust, but neither the stopping power nor feel is anywhere near as sensational as the engine. In fact, it barely keeps up with the mediocre chassis.

Driven_AudiA6Hybrid_70

Speaking of the brakes, the kinetic energy recuperation system (the main source of recharging the battery) operates in an extremely intrusive manner, jumping into action at the slightest touch of the brake pedal. Slowing down in a smooth, imperceptible manner is a near impossible task, with the braking force actively changing even with constant pedal pressure.

Those who have experienced similar energy regeneration systems on Japanese hybrids will definitely know the disconcerting feeling. Only this time, with significantly more mass to haul down and a much more aggressive recharge regime in play, it’s even worse still. Remember this before you start screaming at your chauffeur for spilling your morning coffee.

It’s old news, but when it comes to drivability, you can’t have enough torque. The A6 Hybrid’s 480 Nm is quite clearly superior to the competition, beating even the most powerful petrol powered 5-Series, E-Class and GS sold here. It definitely beats the latter’s silky smooth but tardy V6 engine.

Driven_AudiA6Hybrid_24

On paper, the BMW 535i edges the A6 hybrid, but on the road the blown straight-six is more highly strung, much rougher when pushed and definitely noisier than the ultra refined, if marginally slower Audi.

Having said that, this cheeky little hybrid is more than good enough to stand up in more exclusive company.

Measure your throttle input just right to avoid wheelspin, of which there will be plenty if you’re not careful, and the hybrid A6 will launch from a standstill to 100 km/h in 7.5 seconds, and rush on to a maximum speed of 240 km/h. A second quicker off the mark and you’re into Porsche Panamera V6 territory; 10 km/h more at the top end and you can dice with the BMW M3s of this world. It really is that close.

Driven_AudiA6Hybrid_39

As detailed in our launch report, the A6 hybrid uses Audi’s venerable turbocharged direct injection 2.0 litre engine tuned to the state of 211 hp at 4,300 to 6,000 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,200 rpm as its main power source. Providing motive assistance is a large electric motor with an output rating of 54 hp and 210 Nm. Working in tandem, the hybrid powerplant offers up a combined output of 245 hp and 480 Nm of torque. It certainly feels that quick, if not more.

Audi’s quattro all-wheel drive system is a non-qualifier here, as it wouldn’t have fit with the lithium-ion battery pack being housed just above the rear axles. Besides, the weight saving is appreciated too, as the power cells aren’t exactly light. With the electric motor, battery and its cooling peripherals in tow, the A6 hybrid weighs a full 230 kg more than a standard A6 with the same (detuned to 180 hp) engine.

Surely that affects performance and fuel economy, no? Not one bit as it’s now 0.8 seconds quicker to 100 km/h and is capable of going 14 km/h faster than before. Being a performance hybrid, it uses less fuel while going faster too; rated at 6.2 litres per 100 km in the combined cycle versus the standard 2.0’s 6.4 litres per 100 km.

Driven_AudiA6Hybrid_59

The gains in fuel efficiency are more apparent in the real world than the figures portray, as the hybrid can operate in full EV mode with enough battery charge. Crawling through traffic or climbing up parking lots, in full comforts of air conditioning and stereo no less, uses no fuel at all.

The electric-only mode works at higher speeds too, and is capable of accelerating up to 100 km/h without turning the engine on. Achieving that feat requires a very subdued right foot though, but with enough practice you’ll be gliding on electric power more often than you’re aware of. The maximum range in EV mode is just three full kilometres, but driven sensibly, that’s more that enough to bring substantial fuel savings.

Simply lifting off the throttle while cruising turns off the engine and charges the battery. Gently feeding power, the hybrid system will then try to sustain that speed or even accelerate using just the electric motor. Everything works so seamlessly together that if you’re not paying close attention to the hybrid power display, you’d be completely oblivious to all the hard work it’s doing.

Driven_AudiA6Hybrid_65

If that doesn’t float your boat, maybe you’ll appreciate the hybrid advantage when you go to overtake a slower vehicle. The mega-magnets assisting the turbo engine will whisk you past more quickly than you can say ‘Michael Faraday’.

It’s not all good news, however. Ironically enough, the single biggest drawback of the A6 hybrid is caused by the very thing that makes it great in the first place – its battery pack. As the A6 was not designed to carry a large battery pack in the first place, the lithium-ion power cells are placed in the boot, forming a large intrusion in the cargo floor.

The available space drops for being near-class leading 530 litres to just 375 litres – and an awkwardly shaped one at that. Mind you, that’s still not as bad as the Infiniti M35h, where the battery more than halves the available boot space.

Driven_AudiA6Hybrid_42

As it is, the hump on the boot floor deems it completely unusable for plus-size bags or large baby strollers. That’s a big pity as the rest of the A6 is perfectly comfortable for a family of five. On the plus side, drive the A6 Hybrid for long enough and it will teach you and your family the benefits of packing light.

This remarkable entry-level A6 (price-wise, uniquely in Malaysia only) is worthy of a sportier, more performance-appropriate nameplate. But the marketing department decided there is more to gain by pushing the eco-friendly nature of the vehicle.

Why? Because sporty is uncouth and being green is now cool. At least the nomenclature stand out and details the car’s key innovation – its excellent hybrid powertrain which is unique and a rare asset in this price point.

Driven_AudiA6Hybrid_46

Will all the available performance, the A6 hybrid is the perfect stealthmobile. The only visual cue apart from the discreet lettering on the boot and front fenders is a set of bespoke 18-inch alloy rims which are shod with relatively unassuming tyres (the same Bridgestone Turanzas fitted to the Toyota Camry, in fact).

It’s also unfortunate that the wheel design is directional, by right made to mimic the look of a spinning turbine. They are very aerodynamic and actively cut drag around them, but Audi seems to have forgotten that cars have two opposing sides. The right side of the A6 hybrid is exactly how Audi intended it to look – chic, modern and dynamic. Seen from the other side however, it looks like it’s reversing all the time. At high speed.

The wheels and badges apart, the high performance crackerjack looks as low profile as a humble A6 2.0 TFSI with its paltry 180 hp. Which is part of the fun, because nobody expects a dull German executive sedan to perform like the hybrid does. After all, this wolf in sheep’s clothing accelerates quicker than a BMW 320d and is faster through the gears than a Volkswagen Golf GTI!

Driven_AudiA6Hybrid_53

Its in-gear pulling power is really something else, which is partly due to the electric motor’s instantaneous power delivery. Allowed to kick down a couple of gears, which you’ll hardly feel anyway, it will match the heart-thumping accelerative ferocity of more overtly sporting vehicles costing far more.

The main strength of the A6 Hybrid lies not with its dynamic flair, which is lacklustre at best, but with its well-honed surefootedness, the amazing degree of mechanical refinement, its speed, efficiency and best of all, an interior that is to die for. From the instrument cluster to the intricately detailed MMI controls, the cabin exudes class that none of its German rivals can match.

The aluminium trim see here is specific to the hybrid variant, as more traditional wood fittings would look out of place in a car that’s supposed to be adored by tree-huggers. A standard fit on the hybrid, the uber cool MMI Touch interface can be slightly clunky to use at first but you’ll soon get the hang of it, even if it’s better positioned for lefties in this right-hand drive configuration.

This upper-crust Audi also marks the return of the A6 as a Q-car – they’ve gone all glitzy and showboaty recently, haven’t they?

It not only looks like an undercover road rocket, but it also keeps its actions, acoustics and attitudes to a bare minimum. Put your foot down in a Mini Cooper S and the whole street will turn around and gape. Corner hard in a BMW 328i and the guy in the oncoming car will almost invariably back off. Rev a Renault Megane RS to the limiter and watch the pavement crackle. Press along in a VW Scirocco R and your passengers’ teeth are likely to rattle in sync with the potholes. You get the drift.

In the A6 hybrid, you will experience not one iota of this. The unassuming Audi simply goes where you point it with as much efficiency and as little drama as possible. There is no tyre squeal during take-off (unless you provoke it), no angry pops during gearchanges, no jarring suspension crunch down the railway crossing, no X-rated intake roar, not even excessive body roll when cornering at full pelt.

Wisecracks wearing bright polo-tees with the collar popped and garish sunglasses indoors may call this car boring but, believe me, they are missing the point. It may not provide the ultimate kick in terms of its fun factor, but when you want to go fast from A to B without attracting attention and without indulging in Senna-esque car control, this potent Audi is a seductive and complete tool.

It doesn’t have the raw driving appeal of the BMW 5-Series, the serenity of the Mercedes E-Class, or even a boot to match much smaller cars. But on the whole it is a commendably competent machine that oozes sophistication and quality inside and out. Not to mention the delicious combination of speed and efficiency.

Factor the price in and it becomes a deserved winner, even with all its flaws. Affordability is relative of course and no, at RM288,000 as tested (fitted with the optional comfort key and reverse camera) it’s not exactly cheap. But then again, it’s an Audi. Not a Volkswagen. The fact is, Audis are never cheap, nor should they be. Not here in Malaysia, and not anywhere else.

Try buying one outside of Malaysia and you’ll be paying A6 3.0 TFSI money for one. Here, taking full advantage of the tax break for hybrids with engines smaller than 2.0 litre, the A6 Hybrid is priced a considerable RM235,000 less than the flagship model (RM515,000 before options), even undercutting the base 2.0 TFSI model by RM65,000.

And that’s despite being far better specced than either of them. The fancy full-LED headlamps, while standard on the A6 hybrid, would cost RM13,000 extra on petrol-only variants. Satellite navigation and MMI Touch are both standard fit on the A6 hybrid only too.

Everything considered, the A6 hybrid is a premium product with suitably premium pricing, but that it undercuts all of its class rivals and even some from the class below makes it an absolute no-brainer for those shopping in this price bracket. Go on then, go check out the car’s boot space. Because that’s the only tangible reason I can think of to not buy the Audi A6 hybrid.

Read our launch report of the Audi A6 Hybrid.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• tricycle on Mar 01, 2013 at 6:37 am

Well written! Covers everything that I need to know.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • Gegary on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:43 am

Yeah, one of the better, unbiased written reviews on this site for a while.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
      • Sam Loo on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:31 am

This car, after the discount, in the UK is 36,000 pounds (RRP is 43,000). If Malaysia has no tax on hybrids, how does 36,000 pounds become RM285,000? Is Euromobil earning clean RM120,000 profit on each car sold? Is this fair? No where in the world, a dealership can earn RM120,000 clean profit per car sold. Who owns Euromobil?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 16
        • KS Lee on Mar 15, 2013 at 11:05 pm

You are so right sir! And the version sold here is not fully loaded. Many items have been downgraded or made optional. The other importers such as the Lexus CT200H too is overpriced here considering the zero duty exemption. I am sure more money is made from these tax free cars than the taxed cars in their stable. The government should not allow this to happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
        • Bryan Tan on Oct 13, 2014 at 12:18 am

Hi, the tax free means the import tax is exempted but there is two other taxes still exist, that is sales tax and national tax. For your info, the proton is selling more expensive in Msia than in other counter is because of these two taxes also.

• Black color exterior+black tint,and then change the ugly oem wheels ‘ imagine ‘ so sexy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • driveit on Mar 01, 2013 at 7:39 am

Looks wise, interior n exterior, have much to catch up with the 5er. Not that I am an enthusiast of the Bimmer.

Well, it’s cheaper. At least in the first year of ownership. Thereafter, the RV goes to the drain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 42
    • I object, exterior is much more better than 5er, interior wise maybe on par.

Wait until it’s on the road for at least 1 year then we talk about RV. If it’s as reliable as it can be, RV won’t be an issue. Even if PR tax cut is implemented (this is already excise duty free anyway).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
      • driveit on Mar 01, 2013 at 10:52 am

Appreciate your reply. At least I am geared to re-assess the exterior of this four-ring marq.

Methink RV of all sedans above 200k is as bad too. But I believe it’s never too big of a concern for the top 10% richies in town kakaka.

• Penang playboy on Mar 01, 2013 at 11:18 am

aiyo, only poor ppl are worry about RV, those who can afford these cars, usually RV is the last thing in their mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 8
        • driveit on Mar 01, 2013 at 12:10 pm

I’d agree to a certain extent.

Richies don’t think that much.

• Jimmy on Mar 01, 2013 at 1:17 pm

Well, good at least we hear some opinion about luxury cars from people outside the target customer group.
      BTW, if you have 5 to 6 cars in your garage, or lets put it 5 Vios, each depreciates by RM10K(Vios, I guess) per year, you go and calculate. Let alone if you have 5 luxurious cars at home, and you still think of resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Seriously interior and exterior on par with the 5er? Have you ever sat in any of the 2 cars you mentioned? The bimmer’s interior is fitted with faux leather and most parts feels plasticky. Basically hollow on knocking. Audi’s interior esp the A6 is one of the most classy and solid interiors i have ever sat in. Not too mention much roomier than the 5er. Please go sit in either one before making uninformed statements like these and you dont have to any enthusiast of any make for that matter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
  • Cybercop on Mar 01, 2013 at 7:48 am

Nice review. Anyone know about thi car’s service interval? And how much per service? Thanks.

• kingston on Mar 01, 2013 at 7:54 am

It’s a damn value for money mid sized luxury german saloon,that’s what it is!

• amustapha on Mar 01, 2013 at 8:58 am

Great report! Always fancied Audi Cars..

• Davinnci on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:07 am

If the battery break down, it gonna cost you at least 30k for one replacement of battery. T.T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Gegary on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:47 am

I don’t think that’s a worry for buyers of this car. First, there’s warranty. Second, German car buyers already used to transmissions/engines costing RM30K. Or more. Ask any BMW owner who has to replace them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • Davinnci on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:56 am

Agreed, if I got the budget, I will go for this instead 328i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
        • Fredo on Mar 01, 2013 at 5:25 pm

this is a very good value for money no doubt but 328i is a different car…it is a more fun car to drive around corners on B-road…480Nm is somehow almost useless for an fwd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • I was wondering also. Regarding battery replacement.

How long is the warranty?

Being an audi owner myself, (2007 A6) No doubt the transmissions are expensive but there’s always the 2nd hand part option for 8-12k if you know a good audi workshop. Replacing a 30k battery is quite crazy esp if the warranty is something like 2-3 years only.

• David on Mar 01, 2013 at 11:28 pm

buy a spare battery and keep it in your store room. case settle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Peter on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:29 am

The best report i have ever read so far! one suggestion is to follow-up on the maintaince in 6 months or a year time. Thanka and keep up the good job!

• Reader on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:43 am

Pleasant article but may I raise a few issues?

“Audi’s quattro all-wheel drive system is a non-qualifier here as it wouldn’t have fit with the lithium-ion battery pack being housed just above the rear axles.”

I think the primary reason they omitted Quattro is to improve fuel efficiency. Quattro saps power. The Quattro rear diff and halfshafts fits within the suspension subframe and would not have taken any additional space.

“A second quicker off the mark and you’re into Porsche Panamera V6 territory; 10 km/h more at the top end and you can dice with the BMW M3s of this world. It really is that close.”

I think its a little misleading to say it’s that close. The M3 is artificially speed limited to 250 km/h like most euro cars.

“It’s also unfortunate that the wheel design is directional, by right made to mimic the look of a spinning turbine.”

‘Directional’ usually means it is designed to rotate only one way. Non-directional means it can be used to rotate both ways.. which is how its used in this A6. The reason Audi did this is obviously to save costs. Just as how these days most car manufacturers use non-directional brake discs. Same part number for both left and right discs causing the slot or drilled hole patterns to look like its pointing the wrong way on one side. Very common practice these days.

• sudonano on Mar 01, 2013 at 5:58 pm

And also, the 528i M Sport is quicker at 6.3s.

But having said that, if anyone is in the market for a D segment, this is a no brainer. Just that the boot is a letdown.

Very good write up. Probably one of the best so far.

• May I know what is the price different of 528i M Sport and comparing to this A6 Hybrid? Wrong comparison isn’t it?

• venven81 on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:45 am

very well written Hafriz! very neutral review and unlike some other biased ones. like you said, it’s a no brainer when shopping for a car within this price range. we will only see more great cars coming from Audi in the future and it’s always fun to see more innovative technologies being implemented in the automotive world from the leading marques.

• BrianXYZ on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:52 am

I really like this A6 Hybrid on how it will change the game in the luxury segment.
    Waiting for response from the Big 2.

• zahar lipis mari on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:57 am

ill wait 10 elections more. then PR will reduce this baby to 28k only hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 37
  • Damn it! I could afford……i wish…i really wish….it is so relatively cheap

• Kevin on Mar 01, 2013 at 12:10 pm

A bit blur on something. What is the (A) button just below the electric parking brake (P) button?

• I believe ‘A’ button is for the Auto Hold function. Park brake automatically engage when the car is slowed to a halt. Disengages automatically when you step on the gas. Useful feature when stopping on a hill slope.

• Its for Auto e-brake. If that button is switched on it applies the e-brake whenever you stop.

• ashworth on Mar 01, 2013 at 3:40 pm

P is Parking Brake
      A is Assisted Brake, meaning if you stop in traffic light/jam, dun have to step on the brakes

• looking-good on Mar 01, 2013 at 12:17 pm

It is selling damn cheap!!
    be prepared to see more n more A6 on the road…

the price is a truly tax free price at 280K, not like the greedy bloody toyota/lexus CT200h at 200k !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • frenzy on Mar 01, 2013 at 3:17 pm

It’s UMW, not Toyota.
      Hope next time got other company selling japs big 3 with newer model and cheaper price

• In UK,
      Basic RRP = GBP 43,015.00
      Equipment(same as Malaysian spec) = GBP 7,895.00
      Total = Basic RRP + Equipment
      = GBP 50,910.00
      = RM 238,792.95

Wow, RM280k is a good deal..!

• Thanks for the info. Meaning that the Malaysian distributor will make about RM40k per car sold. Good profit.

• ahmad loy on Mar 02, 2013 at 12:02 am

From know and in future..hopefully more Malaysian realise that the Jap’s T/H/N in Malaysia are greedy bloody..CT200h very classic example!Do Malaysian knows what spec.CT200h is…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • i-mmune on Mar 02, 2013 at 1:46 am

The greedy blood suckers are not the Jap’s. But it’s actualy our local distributors here. They never even willing to equip the cars distributed here with a digital air conditioning control. Still with their classic rotating type(if you know what i mean). Compare the specs of T/H/N that is distributed here and the one in overseas. Than you will clearly understand how have we been tricked and what have we been missing all this while.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • i like paultan’s review on this car
    audi, like bmw and mercedes, has too wide of a range of cars to choose from just like samsung’s phones but that just gives the consumers more choices

they did not go wrong with the A6

one thing to comment though, paultan’s style of writing have been quite a disappoint recently. i believe the form of language should be kept simple and not trying so hard to mimic the style of our western counterparts when reviewing cars because honestly, its tasteless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 16
    • Paultan fans on Mar 01, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Totally agree. A lot of unnecessary lengthy elaboration!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 11
      • Fredo on Mar 01, 2013 at 5:30 pm

could not agree more with you…..i too found it unnecessary to use lengthy double meanings or too subjective elaboration…better get the facts straight

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
    • littlebritain on Mar 01, 2013 at 7:07 pm

after reading past the 2nd picture i’ve already thought to myself, oh he’s written a bloody essay. even publications in the uk now are trying to get that plain english stamp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo on Mar 01, 2013 at 10:47 pm

Malaysian English …..
      Not precise and concise

• BeemerFreak on Mar 02, 2013 at 6:35 am

Totally DISAGREE with u. Hafriz is not showboating with this style of writing. We keen readers of the Autocar magazine has ravished and came to love this style of writing and highlights the elegance of English in an article.

I would strongly suggest that hafriz continues this style of writing because this was what made Autocar a success and it was also why Paul hired him. Do not critiicise such talent, learn to appreciate it or try to improve your English

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
  • JeremyNg on Mar 01, 2013 at 12:44 pm

it do look extremely complicated ….. it will took those uncle some time to master it !!

• Safety First on Mar 01, 2013 at 1:44 pm

Remember the Boeing 787 like Li-on battery on top of fuel tank for A6 Hybrid. It’s time bom following you all time, Pls wait until boeing issue is solved b4 you place the order.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
    • typical on Mar 01, 2013 at 3:49 pm

so according to your logic then please also don’t buy cars with airbags..they are explosives too..time bomb right in front of you..besides your knees..in the glass area..etc..oh wait..the fuel is dangerous too..even the tires can explode..thanks for the reminder..

don’t sound so intelligent now do you..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • The battery pack is no more dangerous than what is used in the Toyota Prius, Honda Insight, Lexus Ct200h, Porsche Cayenne Hybrid, BMW or Merc. In fact if you were to experience injury it is more likely to come from your phone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • John Smith on Mar 01, 2013 at 1:59 pm

A brilliantly well written article – balances information and subjectivity very well! spot on

• Aaron.S on Mar 01, 2013 at 2:07 pm

A well done review indeed. I think the boot space and the interior sold it to me.

• Ah, the price…Ah, sunroof…Geez, I should have waited for this before buying my 520i last year. Arrgghh….!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 9
    • Zend3r on Mar 01, 2013 at 4:34 pm

is tat y u commented?

so we all know you are driving a 520i :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 42
    • Tyler Durden on Mar 01, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Complete useless comment with no relevance to this beautiful piece written by Hafriz. No need to mention the car make and model; could have just said you bought another car for about the same money.
      What’s next?…you’re gonna tell us you have 2 wives follow by their names and one of the 2 wives has a fetish for chest hair??

Nice work, Haf!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 48
    • he bought a more expensive car last year….Geez guys give him a break

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • 520i too on Mar 03, 2013 at 2:15 am

same case here..bought a 520i last year..
      although the bmw might be better equipped and more interesting to drive, I would have chosen this A6 anytime due to the bloody rm70k price difference.
      Thank God didn’t get an A6 2.0 or 328i or A4! That would be even worse!
      Cannot buy la car in Malaysia..you might lose thousands of rm overnight due to ever-changing policies.

• kadajawi on Mar 01, 2013 at 5:28 pm

TLDR ;)

Well written, but I thought _I_ was wordy… A bit redundant here and there, you were constantly raving about how great the drivetrain is. Think I got it after the first 1 or 2 times… Would have loved to hear more about the headlights. Like a sample shot against a wall, how they compare with other headlights etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • think on Mar 01, 2013 at 8:51 pm

this car looks great…but only one comment for me to say..i don’t have the affordability to own this car ..i do not actually like to buy sedans except the city or vios..you may ask why..it’s because they are the only cars of that shape that doesn’t have a center rear hump .why do the engineers can’t think of a way to reduce the center hump..it’s really annoying to sit at the center due to that hump,,especially this is not a rear wheel driven car to have a mid tunnel for propeller shaft ..think

• VW Fanboi on Mar 01, 2013 at 8:58 pm

Why pay more for a dress up Passat, better get a new Passat at 2/3 of the price. And save 100k for young chick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 37
    • The A6 is not a “dress up Passat”.

The engine in the A6 is mounted longitudinal (MLB platform), while the engine in the Passat is mounted traversal (MQB platform)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • sleepyhollow on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:57 pm

Audi glenmarie had plenty of viewers this afternoon…din really c much buyers though…well, the inlays r sporty vs the wooden ones even though the woodies r costly. The 8in display is a beauty vs the 2.0 model. The mmi touch pad is the smooth surface touch pad vs the 2.0 keypad type.. led headlamps is deliciously nice!
    Rim is avg looking.. must we add 5k rev cam for the sate navi? If the lithium battery dies.. will it still drives like a normal 2.0 tsfi 211 hp?… svc costs will b on par with the 2.0…every 15k @800+. 45 n 90k km @ 1200… 60 n 120k 3.2k..

• Audi6 on Mar 01, 2013 at 10:22 pm

if the battery dies. u cant drive the car also because this hybrid is a parallel drive where both needs to be in function to drive the car

• Yong Chik on Aug 11, 2019 at 12:47 am

What is the cost to replace a new battery? Estimate battery can last for how many years or kilometre?

• if i had the money and was considering to choose from BMW 5-series, Merc e-class, Audi A6, Volvo S60, and Lexux LS, i think i would get this hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Audi6 on Mar 01, 2013 at 10:20 pm

booking list is now till july/august. by the time ya all decided to book your car it would have taken a year for delivery. for the price of 288k with full specs you wont go wrong

• Sam Loo on Mar 01, 2013 at 10:49 pm

Yeah, and you will get a pre-owned unit in Feb 2014 for less than RM200k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 56
    • David D on Mar 02, 2013 at 8:12 pm

Please buy a house if you’re THIS obsessed about resale value. This is a car for us who loves our cars, especially with the tech, and its overall packaging. And at least the Audi will protect us better in a collision. In contrast, your Camry will not protect you with just 2 airbags.

Moron with the brain of a garbage bin. You can’t even respect our liking for good cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
  • David on Mar 01, 2013 at 11:26 pm

buy A6 and a spare battery. hahaha…… then the battery keep in the store room. After that no worry at all.

• Should hav made the battery counter a screen so that it can change into a rev counter if u want like in the ct200h

anyways, 280k honestly buys you a heck lot of car for the money. this car’s price teases all of us how heavenly it will be for malaysians when there is no excise tax or import tax on cars.

i mean a new A4 with the same petrol engine cost over 300k, nuts.

• Carl Wong on Mar 02, 2013 at 12:15 am

I’m wondering why does the full battery level for most hybrids always have exactly 8 bars :)?? Is it a global standard??

• great review and you covered most things most of us need to know, but im just curious about the Audi Drive Select system, i wonder if normal, comfort, and sport has any significant difference between them?

• venven81 on Mar 02, 2013 at 10:56 am

different people will have different opinion on this. the best is just go test drive any Audi with Drive Select feature and you will find out
      after all, test drive is FOC :)

• sleepyhollow on Mar 02, 2013 at 2:10 pm

Drive select is a must for oooo! Unless u r driving a S or RS model. Dynamic will feel more responsive in driving n gives more feedback..plus makan fc..lol. 8spd tiptronic is definately better off the cvt aka multitronic gearbox in a4 1.8t n a6 2.0 tfsi models.A8 and many othother higher end models use thid 8spd tiptonic gearbox. Audi main g.box issue is the megatronic chip…costd 15k to 18k to replace…doink!

• The English is difficult to read and understand. Try use simple English in review.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
    • Andrew on Mar 02, 2013 at 11:52 am

The written English here is well, sort of basic, RCZ. Any simpler it’ll be A,B,Cs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Hahaha..!
        RCZ doesn’t understand “automotive language”..!
        That’s about it..! :p

• Andrew on Mar 02, 2013 at 11:48 am

Is it true that after 31 Dec 2013, the tax incentives for such cars will be abolished, and when that happens the price of this beauty will go north?

• David Woo on Mar 02, 2013 at 12:03 pm

If Q5 hybrid come in with RM260.Good news for us

• For sure, this car will be sold out pretty soon given its price relative to the E-class and 520s. The specs in terms of Hp and torque are fantastic. I am sure the wait list will be a year or more soon and if the government removes the tax-free status, the price will surely be more than 450K…

• Pontiac on Mar 02, 2013 at 6:58 pm

No wonder Soooo long article and wordy and difficult to understand english. Its hafiz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Malaysian Angmo on Mar 02, 2013 at 9:49 pm

I don’t understand all these negative comments about Hafiz’s English. He writes beautifully, with an excellent command of grammar and is able to convey his opinion eloquently. I believe the general standard of English in Malaysia has dropped so much that good English is criticised and goes unappreciated. You can see the standard from some of the comments posted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
  • Tomi Kaira on Mar 02, 2013 at 11:26 pm

ohh uhh….bmw 328i’s rival finally unleashed..

• you do better if you would just simplify the language. this is a car review not shakespeare. that’s not how malaysian write nor any english speaking nation for that matter. otherwise a very good effort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
  • letstorque on Mar 03, 2013 at 4:29 pm

I like long reviews. I love this review.
    It details almost everything.
    And the English is good enough, comparable to Autocar or even TopGear.

• audi888 on Mar 03, 2013 at 6:51 pm

This car lacks certain equipment which are usually standard in other car brands of this class, namely:
    1. electrically adjustable steering with easy in and out feature
    2. rear side airbags
    3. interior ambient lighting (led)

Also, it is an open secret that the profit margin for 1 car is roughly 80-100k. Than again, mercs and bmws have been making similar profits from cars bought under the MRP and MM2H program.

• Aussie Audi on Mar 03, 2013 at 9:25 pm

An A6 2.0 Multitronic with the same options (LED lights, glass sunroof, 4-zone aircon, 18″ wheels etc) comes to A$100,000 in Sydney. That’s more than RM300K for a non-hybrid A6. The hybrid is not available in Australia, and if it was, the price will be much higher than A$100K. You are paying RM288K for an A6 Hybrid. What are you guys complaining about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • KillBox1Alpha on Mar 03, 2013 at 10:00 pm

Followed one today on Kesas, good looking car,tail lights visible from a long way back, and was going quite fast.

• lets just hope BMW and Mercedes Malaysia will not complain to the gov about it and caused them to start charging tax on the a6 hybrid. this happened before….ahem polo…ahem GTI…

• Good review hafriz..and i understood your english just fine. Only morons ask for less…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • “On paper, the BMW 535i edges the A6 hybrid, but on the road the blown straight-six is more highly strung, much rougher when pushed and definitely noisier than the ultra refined, if marginally slower Audi”

The 535 does the century mark in 6.0 secs and the A6 hybrid does it in 7.5 secs. “Marginal” is not really the word that comes to mind given the 1.5 sec gap… I suspect it will start looking really awkward when you start comparing the rest of the stats e.g. 1/4 mile, 60 to 120, etc

Hate to point this out because I AM an Audi fan but gotta keep you honest here. The A6 Hybrid though a superb car, is just not in the same league as a 535. They don’t belong in the same category and to try to compare one to the other just because of the torque level is a bit shallow. The Hybrid’s 480Nm torque is a result of the electric motor which I suspect is not sustained throughout the rev range and gearing thus the poor century mark sprint.

I do get the point you’re trying to make with the hybrid i.e. to stress on the fact that the combined engines provides it with a huge burst of torque (if that was the point of the statement) but there are a lot of better ways to make that point than to use a comparison that just comes out sounding a bit lame in my opinion.

Notwithstanding that, it was a good write up.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 04, 2013 at 12:49 pm

The A6 hybrid may take a second and a half longer to reach 100 km/h from a standing start compared to the 535i, but in terms of feel, the difference really is marginal. 0-100 km/h figures aren’t really representative of actual accelerative force anyway, as it’s in-gear acceleration that counts more in the real world.

Having driven both cars, my bum accelerometer says that the A6 hybrid is indeed slower than the 535i on all occasions, but the difference is not as big as the figures would suggest. Audi itself ranks the A6 hybrid on the same performance level, or just below to be exact, as the A6 3.0 TFSI, which is the Audi-equivalent of the BMW 535i.

The Bimmer may be quicker, but the Audi is smoother, more refined, with bags more torque lower down in the rev range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Thanks for your reply Hafriz though I can’t say I agree fully. We’ll probably be arguing semantics if I keep going so I’ll leave it as me agreeing to disagree. It is however interesting to note that Audi is positioning the Hybrid in the same category as their 3.0. A bit of marketing spin methinks, to raise the profile of the hybrid, but not a well thought out one.

• ABTguy on Mar 05, 2013 at 9:37 am

Em…. BMW 535i cost close to double of A6 hybrid right ? I would buy 2 then, one for me and another for my wife …

Ha ha

• Orang biasa on Mar 04, 2013 at 10:18 am

well written !

• liak boh kiew on Mar 04, 2013 at 4:22 pm

enjoyed the review … here’s to more like it …

cannot understand why some would want the language dumbed down … strange

• Rosli on Mar 04, 2013 at 6:38 pm

What is the frequency the battery replacement and how much does it cost. Can the car run without hybrid battery…

• ABTguy on Mar 05, 2013 at 9:33 am

I met the Audi JB salesguy yesterday, he said that the battery replacement can cost quite a lot, estimate at current moment -> RM50k !!

But he said during sales training, he was told Audi has designed the battery to last as long as the car lives ….. so this high cost should not haunt anyone in the first 5-8 years of ownership. Unless the car is subject to a lot of unusual torture, or soak in water before.

Mind you, Toyota Pruis / Lexus CT200 / Honda Insight / Jazz / CRZ are all suing Ni-mH battery right now. Only exception is Pruis plus (7 seater) used Li-on.

A6 Hybrid uses Li-on battery, should be more durable than Ni-mH.

Well, I booked my white A6 hybrid after my visit :-D

• Audiwannabe on Mar 05, 2013 at 11:47 am

Hi, ABTguy, congrats on your new booking. When will you get the car?

• ABTguy on Mar 05, 2013 at 12:21 pm

My current company car will be due for replacement towards end of the year, so I tried to push the delivery as late as possible. Placed deposit so early mainly due to my fear that Audi or Govt may uplift the price after such “launching” period.

Well…. a long wait …

• Audiwannabe on Mar 05, 2013 at 12:42 pm

The salesguy at Euromobile KL said the waiting list is 6 months now. Is that the same in JB?

• Mrcounterstrikeforce on Mar 05, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Kudos to Audi for pricing their A6 resonably. At 280k, is definitely value for money if I were in the market to purchase a luxury mid-size sedan compared to both 5 series and E class.

• Saujana on Mar 06, 2013 at 1:49 am

Latest comments at the BMW forums showed many BMW diehards jumping ship to this A6h. One guy commented that the Euromobil showroom was like a warehouse sale and more than 650 cars sold. Probably bookings won’t be accepted by next week when all 900 cars are taken up. BMW and Mercedes must be fuming!

• Roger on Mar 06, 2013 at 10:46 pm

Just got mine yesterday. Ecstatic would be an understatement. To be honest with you, before I got to learn about the A6 hybrid, I was actually looking to buy a 528i. My kiasuness got the better of me when I learn that this A6 hybrid costs around SGD20k more than a 528i in SG (here in Msia RM420k). Besides the price factor, I am also enjoying the fact that the A6 is not as common as the 5 series (though I think that fact is about to change given the value-for-money of this A6 hybrid hehe).

• Hey, Ray, have your gotten your baby?
      I bought A6 hybrid too. I got it in a surprise as I was told to wait until end of year. But I got n in a month!

What a joy!!

• Saujana on Mar 07, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Roger, congrats! When did you place your order? You got the car pretty quick! Do post some initial impressions of your experience with this fabulous car.

• Roger on Mar 08, 2013 at 7:36 pm

Saujana, thanks. I gave Audi a cheque the day after Paul Tan posted photos of the A6 hybrid being transported on a trailer (late january). Mine’s oolong grey and I just love the colour. Interior’s mighty excellent and those LEDs, man they’re nice.

OTOH, ride’s a bit jerky at lower gears but I’m nitpicking really. Overall, I’m very very happy with my purchase :)

• Saujana on Mar 14, 2013 at 1:07 pm

Roger, good to know your experience. I am sure this car will keep you happy for a long time to come, especially when you think of the tax savings!

• Paipaishu on Mar 07, 2013 at 7:25 pm

Just booked a glacier white with black interior yesterday! All I can say is value for money in Malaysia context. Expected delivery date: Sept/Oct 2013. To date: 700++ orders

• Good for you, PPS. Wow, the wait list has stretched so quickly to 6 months! Buying this car is like striking a lottery. The Audi SA said if duty-paid, it should be close to 500K. I also booked a Glacial White and black interior two weeks ago, and supposed to get the car in April.

• Hey, Ray, have your gotten your baby?
      I bought A6 hybrid too. I got it in a surprise as I was told to wait until end of year. But I got n in a month!

What a joy!!

• “electric motor with an output rating of 54 hp and 210 Nm”

That’s almost 70% of 1.0 engine hp. Salute.

• Booboo on Mar 12, 2013 at 11:59 am

Mercedes Malaysia deputy CEO came out with a strong statement about the unfairness of giving Audi such a huge price advantage. In essence, he said tax exemption should be based on fuel consumption and carbon emissions, not just because the car is a hybrid. Both BMW and Mercedes must have felt the pinch very badly and they don’t have any hybrid with a 2000 cc pot to counter this.

• ABTguy on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:53 pm

Yes, Mercedes & BMW must have felt sour about it. Audi’s trick turn the table around, and blast them out of the window.

Only some die hard BMW fans are still talking about driving pleasure / handling, otherwise 90% of their potential buyers switch.

But the good news for Merc & BMW is that Audi will soon close the ordering of A6 hybrid, as the quota given by Germany HA already met i.e. 1,000 units in 2013. More they can’t deliver plus the fact that the duty & tax exemption for hybrid below 2000cc in 2014 is still uncertain, this batch of 1000 A6h buyers can be regarded as lucky guys.

I think the result of coming GE will have an impact on the green car incentive in 2014 as well.

• Hi Guys, Were there bookings for the car before 2013? I was told that the booking list was around 50 when I booked it two weeks before Chinese New Year (Jan 2013), but yet to get the car as promised by the sales consultant on Feb 28 till now. Disappointed!

• booked on 20th feb, got the car last saturday.

• Jon, where did you book your car?

• Audi in Glenmarie.

• Did you add on the reverse camera and comfort key?

• No I didnt. I was told that the car I got was one of the last few units of the ready stock (first batch) that they had left. That explains why I got the car so quickly I guess.

• Boohoo on Mar 14, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Paul, I believe many others are in the same boat as you, so do expect some delays. My SA and the branch manager promised to come back to me with a delivery date last Friday, 8 March, and till today, 14 Mar, haven’t heard from either of them. Not a peep. I couldn’t be bothered to call again. Just wait and see what happens. Euromobil are not known for their efficiency as everyone knows

• MatBonk on Mar 13, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Enjoyed reading the comments more than the article. LOL!

Initially there were comments about Englisg, how lousy taxes, and no one booking the car at Euromobil.

Then towards the end, when a few guys told that they booked, of have got the car and that the bookings are now 700+, all the (im)posters are now silently whithered away. Hiding behind their keyboard, I guess.

Seems that those without money can only talk with their keyboard and read magazines (US or UK) for pricing guides. LOL!

• I booked the car last week and was told the estimated delivery date would be in Oct 2013. My worry is what if the car arrived after Dec 2013, what will happened to the tax then and who will be responsible for it?

• I don’t think you need to worry. They have committed to sell 1000 cars before end December, so you will surely receive it. I am sure they know very well that the hybrid tax exemption may change after that so they wouldn’t risk any delay. Current delays for some could be due to some of the more influential buyers jumping queue

• Thanks for you reply, Ray. It is a kind comfort to hear from you.
        Seeing some of the readers have started to receive the hotcake, I believed the delivery is moving on.

• Hey, kckc, have your got the car yet?
          I got men in like 1 month even though they told me I ve to wait like end of the year! And I added the comfort key and rear cam.

Love the car!

• prussiablue on Mar 14, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Confirmed Audi Malaysia stop taking booking since Tuesday. All 1000 units allocated fully booked. This car is selling like hotcake!!

• Some of you guys mentioned that you are still waiting for the car even when you’ve booked it before cny. Have your loans been approved or do you apply only when your car is allocated?

• billyfph on Mar 14, 2013 at 5:45 pm

“But then again, it’s an Audi. Not a Volkswagen.” nicely put.. =)

• ktkt, my understanding is that they will want you to get the loan approved before they allocate a car, or in their words ‘when all your documents are in order’

• the sliding rail for the front seats is uncovered, a bit sore to the eyes. the carpets could have been better quality and more stylish.
    the 5 display units in Juru were all fitted with black seats, and the SA told that is the only choice. But I have noticed in some other blog, there were some fitted with lighter colour. Is there a choice?

• Think Again! on Mar 17, 2013 at 6:33 pm

HI kckc,

jz booked mine at Juru today. The SA told me A6h only come with black or light grey seats, but if u wish for other than these 2 colors, it will cost u 8.5k more as an option. Btw, i saw 3 units there with light grey color seats today. Anyway they are collecting the numbers now for next batch of shipment thats y they closed the booking with no confirmation. Hopefully like they promised, before december 2013 we will get our cars. Cheers!

• Do you mean that you are still able to make a booking for this first 1000 units on 17/3/2013? One of the readers said that all 1000 cars have been sold, and booking has closed on 12/3/2013.(It was already 700+ when I booked on 8/3/2013. promised delivery on Oct 2013.)

• Im456 on Mar 15, 2013 at 1:35 am

The battery can cause the radiation ah??

• Alamak, where got any battery in the world that emits radiation? Smartphone chips, yes, microwave ovens, yes, batteries, no.

• Hi, may i know what is lowest interest rate for this car? At the moment, i got rate 2.32% from Affin, any suggestion?

• it all started with 2.3x%. It depends on the amount of the loan and the how long is the installment. The bigger amount of loan and the longer period of installment, will give you a lower interest rate. But mind you, end of the day, you are paying more by having the so called “lowest” interest rate.

• I got 2.33% 4 yrs Affin too.

• My 80k loan for 4 years was quoted at 2.44% pa.

• Steve on Mar 18, 2013 at 5:31 pm

I called euro mobile they said can’t book and can’t tell when they will open booking again ! Anyone here can tell if they will open the booking at the same price. This booking close thing looks like a ploy to jack up the price !

• Steve, they have sold the 1000 cars allocated to them by Audi, Germany for year 2013. They will only take orders again once the government announce whether tax-free privileges for hybrid cars of 2000 cc and below will be extended beyond Dec 31, 2013. If not, expect to pay through your nose if duties are added. Easily 450k or above.

• Hi, check with ur guys. This A6H come with damping control system same with the A6 Saloon? Any difference ? Thx

• ABTguy on Mar 19, 2013 at 9:35 am

Yes, A6h does come with damping control. I played around with the show car in JB, in MMI screen there are few options to choose from.

Auto / Comfort / Dynamic / Individual

Individual is where you have 3 settings to choose (if not mistaken), steering, suspension, throttle response, where each of this you can select comfort or dynamic.

• Thx mate. Coz base on brochure not showing. So tot they r difference… Anyway thx for ur info

• i got 2.38% 188k 5yrs fr PBB… booked beginning of Feb and my car arrived 3 days ago~ !

• All A6H fully booked and euro mobil will not be taking any more orders. I was there us morning

• Anonymous123 on Mar 19, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Just got my car. I would like to point out that the profit margin is about 90k per car. It states in the AP that the car cost rm180k before tax. Assuming add on 10% sales tax, thats 198k. 288-198=90k profit per car.

• Hi, when did you place your order? Did you go for any of the options? Colour?

• Anonymous123 on Mar 20, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Havana Black, reverse camera and comfort key were already fitted. Checked reviews on bose sound system and concluded that it is no good. I ordered 2 weeks before launch but did not take any loan.

One of the expensive options that is not actually listed but comes with the car is ambient lighting package that includes led strip lighting on all doors and Led courtesy lights for all door handles. The manually adjusted steering is a let down but otherwise its a good cruising car.

• That ambient lighting sounds good, if it is anything near to what is in the A8. I am sure you are having a great driving experience. Perhaps, later on, we can all have a forum somewhere for the A6h to exchange driving tips and other views. It will be interesting to see if the fuel consumption can be as good as claimed when going long distance.

• By the way, what is a manually adjusted steering? You mean to move the steering wheel up or down?

• Yes, set up a A6H in a forum and have a convoy trip to Phuket? Sounds good?

• Is there any good Malaysian Audi forums? Clubaudimalaysia.com looks completely dead. I tried registering and they didn’t even email me the confirmation link! I think we seriously need to set up a new forum, and yes, a road trip to Phuket sounds good. Not sure if it is safe to drive in Thailand though.

• Ray, ya,
      I am searching hi and low. But Audi A 6 din seems to have a proper forum. Especially like me, I’m not a car person, so lots of things needs to learn from all experts like u guys!!

Can anyone form the forum?

• shawal on Mar 23, 2013 at 9:58 pm

well written piece..
    for the price , its a very desirable car…

• anonymous on Mar 24, 2013 at 7:06 pm

Really hoping that Audi will bring in another batch of A6H with tax exemption. We poor malaysians might not get to see another car with similar spec/price ratio anymore.

• paparadzi on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:15 pm

“Go on then, go check out the car’s boot space. Because that’s the only tangible reason I can think of to not buy the Audi A6 hybrid.”

Just did that, and unfortunately for me, it is the deal breaker, the fatal flaw of this car. Otherwise everything else is perfect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • James Ooi on May 12, 2013 at 7:10 pm

May I know what kind of suspension this car is using?Multilink?Double wishbone? Mac Pherson ? Is the suspension better than Toyota Camry 2.4 2009 version?

• A6H owner on May 22, 2013 at 4:05 am

for me, it’s way better than camry for sure. camry is like driving a boat…

• What would be the best tint on the A6H ?

• I plan for v-kool. Any comments?

• I am not too sure to go for Llumar or V-kool. Whilst v-kool is more expensive, it is more established.

• Kuntakinte on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Get the 3M crystalline tint. There’s a good deal going on now, high end Crystalline film with security tint, laminate film for headlights, inside door handles and door edges. All for only $2k. The vendor even threw in tinting for the sunroof at no extra cost for me. Check out 3M kuchai lama, speak with mr fong and say you want the same package as the brown A6 hybrid he did a few weeks ago.

• Tau ceti on Oct 22, 2013 at 10:42 pm

audi only makes quality parts which you can see. What you cannot see is all lowsy quality. Break here break there. Audi is makes the most unreliable engine in UK (1 out of 37 defective) second only to the now defuncted MG ROVER!

• Someone already selling the 2013 Audi Hybrid for RM 248K in one of the famous trading website in Malaysia.

I doubt that it got good resale value compared to E class or 5ers

• Selvaganes Arumugam on Jul 26, 2015 at 10:02 pm

After 2 years the following is my feedback:
    A few months ago, I reported a problem (Ticket number 8023323) to the Global Customer Support. Audi took immediate actions to rectify the problem which of course I went through a nightmare to find out what was happening to my car. After almost 3 months now I will pick up my car next week. (Repair quality yet to be seen). What surprised me most was that I found out that they had to change my gear box. Prior to this, Audi had changed my Turbo, Air Conditioning, Engine Mountings and fixed my steering wheel multiple times, aligned my doors (one high one low). Although being assured by Audi that quality control is a priority to them, all i can say is bullocks to Audi on that. The only compensation I had asked Audi was to stand behind their brand and reset my warranty. Of course Audi refused to to that and just provided a 1 year extended warranty and 1 free oil change. I don’t think Audi will do that and I wouldn’t blame for the crap Audi produces. I spent USD 80,000 on this piece of low quality machine, and what I have come to realise is Audi compensates low built quality with good advertising and marketing. Anyway this was a very hard lesson and all I can say is Audi is an embarrassment to German Engineering.