Porsche 911 Carrera 4S launched – from RM970,000

Porsche 911 Carrera 4S

Sime Darby Auto Performance, Porsche’s presence in Malaysia, has added one more to the 911 range. Previously, you could only have the 911 in its purest form, a rear-wheel drive version. Launched recently, the Porsche 911 Carrera 4S offers more stable driving dynamics and agility under most weather and terrain conditions.

The point in the matter is the Porsche Traction Management, or PTM for short. This four-wheel drive system is based on the Type 997 911 Turbo‘s. The system works by delivering torque in optimum dosage either to the front or rear as required via a multiplate clutch, which Zuffenhausen says is the one of the lightest all-wheel drive systems available today.

Porsche says it takes up to 100 milliseconds to move the torque around, which is quicker than the engine’s reaction to load change and definitely quicker than what any normal human can perceive. If you must know where the torque is going, you can always view the distribution on the display instrument panel.

Porsche 911 Carrera 4S

Porsche claims that, with the inclusion of PTM into the 911, the 4S is able to offer high agility, higher grip levels on slippery surfaces and enhanced safety during extreme driving manoeuvres in the high-speed range.

To differentiate the two-wheel drive and the four-wheel drive 911, you only need to look at the rear. Just beneath the spoiler’s edge is a red light ribbon that runs across from left to right; it’s clearly seen at night. The rear wheel arches are also more flared.

The snout is modified ever so slightly that it now wears lateral air inlet screens in trim form. Rounding off the design changes is the black recessed sill panels on its side.

Porsche 911 Carrera 4S

Size, particularly at the rear, has also been increased. The 911 4S is 22 mm wider on each side, making it 44 mm wider in total. The rear wheels are also fattened by 10 mm and rear axle track is increased by 36 mm.

The 4S has the same engine as its two-wheel drive counterpart. It is a 3.8 litre boxer engine that produces 400 hp at 7,400 rpm and 440 Nm at 5,600 rpm. The engine is mated to a seven-speed PDK gearbox. Acceleration from 0-100 km/h is clocked at 4.3 seconds, it has a top speed of 297 km/h and is rated to consume 9.1 litres per 100 km on a combined cycle.

Interestingly, SDAP has also brought in one very basic 911 Carrera 4S with a seven-speed manual gearbox. It will do 0-100 km/h in 4.5 seconds on to a top speed of 299 km/h. Fuel consumption is rated at 9.9 l/100 km, so the stick shift has nothing going for it in terms of figures.

Porsche 911 Carrera 4S

Prices start from RM970,000 including taxes, but without registration fee, road tax and insurance. As with the RWD Porsche 911 in Malaysia, the C4S comes with a four-year factory warranty and a four-year complimentary service maintenance package.

We’ve sampled the Porsche 911 Carrera 4S in Austria and found it a tad bit easier to drive compared to the 911 Carrera S – click here to read about it. The legendary sports car celebrates its 50th birthday this year – see a gallery of its ancestors here.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• comrade on Mar 04, 2013 at 3:08 pm

nice price indeed…

• mimimura on Mar 04, 2013 at 3:47 pm

Awesome Car, Awful price
      PS : MSRP $ 105,630.00 From USA

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 1
      • Sam Loo on Mar 05, 2013 at 9:56 am

Porsche got bad RV in Malaysia. If you want RV, then buy Toyota. Anyway Toyota is a better car than Porsche in reliability survey. Never kaput.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • Mrcounterstrikeforce on Mar 05, 2013 at 5:53 pm

People who buys Porsche are not concern about resale value and reliability. People buy supercars so that they can enjoy the performance and handling these supercars offer. Your point of RV is not relevant in this thread.

• Kereta Man on Mar 05, 2013 at 6:47 pm

Which supercar has a good resale value? Not only Malaysia but anywhere in the world?

• Ganesh on Mar 04, 2013 at 5:42 pm

Everybody dreams of owning a Porsche sports car, no matter how poor he or she is. I am one of them. I hope to own this car one day. And the only way I see owning this car besides hard work is having a government that cares for its rakyat and does not charge crazy taxes.

So, the only way for me, is to vote for PKR. I hope PKR still maintains taxes because a government needs taxes to survive, just that, don’t burden the rakyat with too high taxes. I am sure if PKR comes in, this car will be about RM500,000.

Aiyaa US sell only MSRP105,630, so, the real price direct from Germany is actually less than RM300,000 or even RM250,000. If you plus our current BN’s tax and excise of 130%, that comes to about RM600,000. Porsche Malaysia making a cool profit of over RM370,000 on one car alone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 9
      • wah….after this pru we can we many ferrari, bmw, mercedes..etc on the road..so many want to vote pr….but i want free or dirt cheap bungalow 2 tngkat n monthly salary at least RM10k.. can i get if i vote pr? if can i want to vote oso

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 21
        • uncertain buyer on Mar 05, 2013 at 9:10 am

it’s not that straight forward kzm…the price is lesser but the cost of running it still can be consider expensive..the fuel, maintenance etc.. n if majority of rakyat know the fact that a person should own a car with at most 3 years of loan and not 9 years or even 10 years, u wont see many of them on the road..

• wrong, german is selling more expensicve than US. in Germany, this sexy beauty will be sold at EURO100000.which translate to around RM420000.

• So this car will be cheaper if the government abolish the “import duty” for fully imported cars? So isn’t it going to benefit the rich? If the government is sincere, abolish excise duty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Rent car acceptable?

• Vote for PR… Everyone can buy cheap Porsche 911.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • Imran Ismail on Mar 04, 2013 at 3:21 pm

Utterly waste of money. Why should a person buy such a fast car (in Malaysia) but can only drive max up to 110km/h ? Thanks for AES, we feel much safer on the road. A Myvi is more than capable to reach 110km/h and be side by side with the Porsche 91…..LOL !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 41
    • if you can pay nearly 1mil for a car, you wont give a damn about AES. just push metal to the floor and enjoy your hardwork.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Why not to? It’s their money. Max 110 km/h? “We” feel safer thanks to AES? Myvi side by side? Porsche 91? So many fails in your comment it’s almost funny. Utterly waste of space. Better keep it to yourself next time. LOL. Thanks for making my Monday..not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • kelabu asap on Mar 04, 2013 at 4:47 pm

Dude, this car not only for speeding, people buy this for status. If you only concern about speed better get second hand wira then replace the engine with evo 3. Total cost less than rm25k. Much much faster than myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Kereta Man on Mar 05, 2013 at 6:51 pm

AES is small change for supercar owners. They would have factored in a couple thousand when they drive on PLUS highway.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Mar 04, 2013 at 3:33 pm

expect a lot of these car to have G1M plates ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • grizzy on Mar 04, 2013 at 3:38 pm

remind me of satria SE..that yellow porshe..hohoho

• kereta lembu on Mar 04, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Beautiful! If only I could own one :(

• Very nice…especially the white 911…why is it lokk different…

• really hope someone who had opportunity to drive the RWD and FWD can drop by here and let us (dreamers) know the difference between both of them. how do they feel on normal malaysian road, not on track

and also how does it feels to operate that 7 speed manual box. does it make your left hand busy? :-)

• As far as I know, the main difference between the 2wd and awd version is this awd 4s can take corners and slippery roads more safely. On most condition, the torque is basically to the rear wheel, but when needed, the torque is distributed to front wheel or any individual wheel that has the most grip.
      About the transmission, more available gear doesn’t mean that you’re getting more busy. Don’t you know that for example the 4th gear alone can go up to 180-200 km/h, so on normal driving, you only use 3-4 gears. The 7th gear however doesn’t add the tospeed, just to lower the engine rpm during high-speed cruising, let say 270 km/h at a ‘relaxed’ 4000 rpm.

• thanks for the info gt3.

*take note to watchout for that long tail lamp and wind down window to enjoy the sound (only if the porch driver in relaxed mode lah.if not wind down window makan asap saja)

• Chris Ong on Mar 04, 2013 at 4:07 pm

7 Speed Manual. That’s a sweet configuration.

• Lets vote PR if want to drive this supercar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • rajahGlobal on Mar 04, 2013 at 5:53 pm

yesss…after this pru, everyone can buy this car

• Not everyone can buy this car, but everyone can, at least, buy better quality car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • cisitalia on Mar 04, 2013 at 4:25 pm

Could you disclose us the breakdown of the final asking price:

1) Price before tax
    2) Total customs declared value
    3) Import duty (also at how many %)
    4) Excise duty (also at how many %)
    5) Sales tax
    6) AP Costs

Thank you for your kind attention.

• Heskey on Mar 04, 2013 at 5:14 pm

I’m 32 years old manager live in KL earning RM15k per month. And I drive a Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
    • Megane on Mar 04, 2013 at 8:15 pm

Bro , no need to mention your salary here ,it’s not much by today’s standard

• dude, RM15k in KL standard is considered low – medium income. not high income. unless u r at saying RM50k. ok, then mayb u can buy this car with 5-6 years loan. cool?

• mimilo life on Mar 05, 2013 at 1:26 pm

haiz….Rm15,000 still low?? then ppl 2-3k consider what? i dont care warrior keyboard or syok sendiri…plz G give a better facilitate and environment to Malaysian who deserve from beginning.

• Those 2-3k are utterly low as for fresh grad. but working in a big company will oni help u reach RM20k a month provided u r topknot in that field. tats y, in Malaysian context, those who buy these supercar are those business owners with average RM50-70k income a month.

• Jimmy on Mar 05, 2013 at 1:33 pm

Are you joking?

• _xXx_ on Mar 04, 2013 at 5:22 pm

A cheap imported car…

• Abuya on Mar 04, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Wow, murahnya. RM9,700 je. Ingat nak beli satu la balik ni, buat gi keja. Dah bosan tunggang EX5. Hujan, asap dan baju berbau. Kurang2 sejuk sket bwk keta, ada airkon.

Minat warna kuning, sama cam myvi extreme. Nak tanya pendapat korang. Keta ni sesuai tak nak masuk jalan tanah merah? lowered semacam je. Nak gak bawak keta baru beli tayang kat orang kampung. huhuhu…..

• sambalbabi on Mar 04, 2013 at 9:22 pm

“Interestingly, SDAP has also brought in one very basic 911 Carrera 4S with a seven-speed manual gearbox”

– 7 speed manual gbox? how is that possible?

• The 7th gear however doesn’t add the tospeed, just to lower the engine rpm during high-speed cruising, let say 270 km/h at a ‘relaxed’ 4000 rpm.
      The 7th gear also can only be engaged when you’re in 5th or 6th. So there’s nothing like accidentally engaged to 7th when you want to change from 4th to 5th during ‘spirited’ driving.

• Jimmy on Mar 04, 2013 at 10:19 pm

The only time I will buy this car is for my son. I like Porsche and Ferrari.

• GT-Rider on Mar 04, 2013 at 10:36 pm

4.3 seconds…ok, ok
    *yawn*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Go play your launch control all day with those under 3 seconds acceleration from 0 to 100. If you want to brag with your performance figures, then this car is not for you. Buy a Satria and add 1000hp Supra engine instead. Lot cheaper than GT-R.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Joe Radzif on Mar 05, 2013 at 8:11 am

Still…
    my dream car…

• _YYY_ on Mar 05, 2013 at 9:45 am

No one bother about the girls?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Porsche is ripping the rakyat too. having profit margin of RM370k is alot. if they sell at RM700k. even with lower margin, but higher volume will compensate the lower profit made. besides, lower tax doesnt mean all of us can buy.unless if ur salary increase. saving comes 1st. unless u r mid30-40 earning RM 50-60k. then go ahead. lol..

• Jimmy on Mar 05, 2013 at 1:36 pm

It has to be in excess of 6-figure monthly, hope you will feel it one day.

• rally_fan on Mar 05, 2013 at 3:28 pm

everytime a story like this is posted.. you get all the crap about taxes… blah bla blaa.. doesn’t everyone already know it? This is a car blog.. if you wanna talk politics.. go to malaysiakini or malaysianinsider or something.. This is a porsche… i dont car which country you’re in.. this is still an expensive car that only the rich and famous can afford. so what if cars are cheaper in the US.. blah blah… does anyone here know the average salary in the USA? its about USD40-50k a year before tax. you cant buy a porsche with that money…

Lets just appreciate a porsche for what it is.. a brilliant piece of german engineering and continue to dream on…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3