VIDEO: VW Golf GTI Mk7 “doing it his way” in Vegas

Doing it his way? In this promo video of the latest VW Golf GTI Mk7, the hot hatch cruises in Vegas, before turning into a car park for dirtier action, all done with a certain Frank Sinatra song in the background. Often copied, never equalled – that’s the message by Volkswagen. Perfect song then!

Scheduled for a world debut in Geneva, the Mk7 Golf GTI will be available in two output tunes, a Stage 1 standard 220 PS form as well as a Stage 2 GTI Performance version with 230 PS on call. Both variants will have an identical 350 Nm maximum torque from the EA888 2.0 litre TSI engine.

0-100 km/h is done in 6.4 seconds for the GTI Performance, a tenth faster than the 220 PS car and half a second faster than today’s GTI. I’m liking the idea of a three-door stick shift GTI, although that will never happen in Malaysia.

Full details and pics in our previous post. I did it myyyyyyyyyyyy waaaaayyyyyy!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• agogo on Mar 05, 2013 at 12:25 pm

there goes my bonus…

• Sexy girl i want u but i cant afford u :(

• Polestar not Pornstar on Mar 07, 2013 at 11:22 am

don’t forget to sign up for BVW1M! (Bantuan VW 1 Malaysia) to fulfill your plight.

• amirad on Mar 05, 2013 at 9:27 pm

Bonus too ciput. There goes my two years of salary.

• another useless failure DSG gearbox. Should get rid of DSG into Tiptronic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
  • Moley boley on Mar 05, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Tipu! Saw a couple of handbrake turns there. Can’t do that with e-brake.

In the words of TopGear, bring back the handbrake.

• abang on Mar 05, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Mk7 dont have manual handbrake…parking brake is like those on audi a4..press button type

• Kelly on Mar 05, 2013 at 6:16 pm

I think he was referring to the button brake you mentioned.
        That’s why he is saying ‘bring back the HANDbrake’ at the end

• hothatchfan on Jul 10, 2013 at 12:58 am

indeed, this commercial is a BIG FAKE ! Shitty button e-brake is not responsive enough to make the car slide in oversteer like this ! You can try to do it only in longer curve and higher speed by lift-off or left foot braking technic (unfortunately Left foot braking is not possible in any VAG car – VW, Audi, Seat, Skoda).

SHAME ON YOU Volkswagen that You killed the legend of Golf GTI !

• zamer on Mar 05, 2013 at 12:43 pm

nice advert but this car deserves a better aggressive song rather then oldies song..

• golfgasm on Mar 05, 2013 at 1:20 pm

Your beauty makes me weep.

• Algojo on Mar 05, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Tiptronic is crap…dsg is number wa’annn!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Nizeguy on Mar 05, 2013 at 3:52 pm

There goes my bonus and my monthly paycheck. ‘Often copied – never equaled’. Priceless.

• tiptronic & cvt is more useless than DSG..DSG & S-tronic is a god for all gearbox..

• Algojo on Mar 05, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Booyaaa my friend….booooyaaa!

• Merc = Real Conti on Mar 05, 2013 at 9:43 pm

yep.. god of unreliability and expensive to maintain as well…

• David on Mar 07, 2013 at 7:49 am

.DSG,S-tronic is a god for all gearbox??? are you sure? MY Golf Tsi has DSG all the time, unable to solve! IF you know to how to solve, then tell me!

• Bona Boni Bonu on Mar 05, 2013 at 6:02 pm

I think this video could be make into another meme like the harlem shake…

it would be cool to hear the song + bicycle or gerobak or people skate….

• Mackaroni on Mar 05, 2013 at 8:21 pm

drift?? button brake?? rwd?? how? lol

• blawala on Mar 05, 2013 at 10:14 pm

somehow the mk6 looks better

• PauKaya on Mar 05, 2013 at 10:37 pm

i klearly remembered a honda ad using this song

• Golf MK7 GTI a bit too “grown up” IMO..
    Some how lacking the agressive looks… From MK5 to MK6 to MK7, the facade getting more and more sedate

• Wheel on Mar 06, 2013 at 2:01 am

Wow, handbrake turns with an e-brake? Interesting …

• I did some stunt years back n my boot lock broke on my P1….how about that ?

• haiya on Mar 06, 2013 at 1:13 pm

“often copied, never equalled”. Yup. The megane surpasses it.

• Polestar not Pornstar on Mar 07, 2013 at 11:18 am

Yup i like megane as well, evethough I’m driving a VW. but in Malaysia, maintenance is hard for renault. that’s why i opted for a safer choice.

• Ah Beng on Mar 07, 2013 at 1:51 pm

Other cars may be more beautiful than this but this drives beeeeeautifully unlike kia or hyundai.

• Ah Beng on Mar 07, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Much better than the annoying Rio Ad.

• Ah Beng on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:51 pm

Can ‘sporty’ CRZ do this?

• KingPin on Mar 08, 2013 at 11:25 am

Very beautiful ad but in all gods’ honesty, golf looking like an aging veteran trying to hold on to its previous glories. The last decent golf was mk5, not its so electronically controlled and no road feel to it. Most VW owner will say its the best i’d say its just a decent car. The DBW has a very slow feedback to the throttle and DSG is not as great as it has been advertised