New LaFerrari replaces Enzo as the fastest Ferrari ever

FerrariLaFerrari_02

Yes you read that right, the latest Ferrari hypercar is called the LaFerrari. Not content with naming the last super Ferrari after its creator Enzo, they’ve gone on another ego bender and named its successor after the company name itself. What’s next, Ferrari, Enzo’s middle name Anselmo?

Ferrari’s President, Luca di Montezemolo explained the controversial decision: “We chose to call this model LaFerrari, because it is the maximum expression of what defines our company – excellence.”

Regardless of the exemplarily redundant name, the LaFerrari is one hell of a car. It’s not an easy task being a part of the long lineage of ultimate Ferraris, replacing the legendary 288 GTO, F40, F50 and Enzo, but with an exquisite blend of technological innovation, performance and visionary styling, the LaFerrari may have just done the impossible – become an icon in its own time.

It looks special doesn’t it? Not quite as bold as the Enzo but with the welcome elegance of the F40. Forming a close synergy of form and function, the LaFerrari takes an extreme, innovative design route which retains close links to the marque’s traditions, most prominently of late-1960s Ferrari sports prototypes.

FerrariLaFerrari_12

Ferrari has taken F1-inspired aerodynamics to the next level too, integrating active wings and diffusers into the LaFerrari’s underbody, fine-tuned in the company’s F1 wind tunnel.

The LaFerrari is the first road-going Ferrari to have a hybrid powertrain, but not as we know it. Making full use of Scuderia Ferrari’s F1 KERS know-how has resulted in a hybrid solution that exalts Ferrari’s fundamental values – performance and driving thrills. Known as HY-KERS, it represents the perfect combination of maximum performance and lower emissions.

At the heart of the LaFerrari lies a state of the art 6.3 litre V12 engine that’s good for 800 hp, has a high 13.5:1 compression ratio and revs up to 9,250 rpm – a record for an engine of this displacement. Coupled with a 163 hp electric motor, the combined power output climbs to an incredible 963 hp.

The performance figures speak of itself: 0-100 km/h takes less than three seconds, 0-200 km/h in under seven, and a lap time at Fiorano of under one minute 20 – five seconds faster than the Enzo and over three seconds quicker than the F12berlinetta. LaFerrari is thus the fastest road car in Maranello’s long history.

FerrariLaFerrari_11

Having instantaneous and uninterrupted supply of low end torque from the electric motor allowed the engineers to really focus on the high-revving engine’s top end performance, making for an exceptionally smooth and powerful combination throughout the entire rev range. Total torque generated is in excess of 900 Nm.

The battery required to power the two Magneti Marelli electric motors (one to drive the wheels and the other the ancillaries) weighs just 60 kg despite providing the highest energy density among its kind, and is attached to the floor of the chassis. The regenerative braking is further helped by a proprietary system that converts excess torque from the engine (through corners for instance, where it would induce wheelspin) to recharge the battery.

An ideal 41:59 front-to-rear weight distribution with a low centre of gravity is achieved through ingenious packaging of the engine and hybrid system between the car’s two axles. This thereby guarantees dynamic handling and compact dimensions.

The cabin layout plays a significant role in weight distribution too. The driver’s seat is fixed and tailored to the owner, while the steering and pedal box are adjustable, F1-style. Ferrari F1 drivers Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa were both actively involved in this aspect.

FerrariLaFerrari_08

Inside there’s a newly-designed steering wheel sporting all the major commands, and the gear-shift paddles are now longer and more ergonomic. The signature bridge on which the dual-clutch F1 gearbox functions are clustered has taken on a sleek, suspended wing-like shape. The whole interior, in fact, has a track-inspired, pared-back allure.

Only 499 of this limited-series special will be made, guaranteeing exclusivity. It’s not quite as unique as Lamborghini’s Veneno trio, but hey, this is an uncompromising bespoke model that’s developed from the ground up to be as fine as it can be, not just an Aventador in a Batman suit.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• ZooKeeper on Mar 06, 2013 at 1:12 pm

Why there was a monkey sitting inside the car when the photographer shooting from the rear of it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
    • Jimmy on Mar 06, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Horse is ok, monkey boleh tahan, but please jangan membela harimau untuk mendapat giginya, now you get biten already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
      • bangang on Mar 06, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Jangan membela horse nanti kena kick,
        jangan membela monkey, nanti dia curi pisang

• keyboardlover on Mar 06, 2013 at 1:50 pm

owh..maybe they just used android application n edit it…haha

• Sam Loh on Mar 06, 2013 at 2:24 pm

that’s mojo jojo..
      between not a good RV to have lol

• Sam Loo on Mar 06, 2013 at 5:09 pm

My Hilux can tapau this car anytime. In flood time, Ferrari cannot move at all while my Hilux will smoke Enzo. Even race with me, the Ferrari got to slow down in every bumb, pothole or hump, while my hilux just go on and on like Duracell smoking the Italian.

Italian should just stick to making good salamis and sausage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 63
      • It is exactly people like Sam Loo that make me distance myself from Toyota… I just cant bear with the thought of being associated with the “Sam Loo preferred brand”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • Can’t believe you’re still here with your invalid points. Doesn’t make sense at all. Congratulations on your troll success.

• rempit on Mar 06, 2013 at 9:34 pm

My kapcai can tapau your pariah Hilux anytime in traffic jam. Even you race with me from KLCC to Timesquare I can give you handicap let you start 1st while I start after I slowly finish smoking I will still win. Race in LDP also I win with my superman mode on.
        Pariah Hilux is just good for construction site only or to transport besi buruk. Elsewhere is just a useless polluting, gas guzzling junk.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 2
      • your hilux can drive through flood?/ prfftt…try la…stagnant water can la, try moving water, and bye bye la your hilux, goes into the drain it lays forever…

• Take a 458, punch some holes in it, add in some new tech……. tadaaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • Should look better without the black out roof..

• gavin on Mar 06, 2013 at 1:19 pm

isnt the fastest the FXX

• chan kam nam on Mar 06, 2013 at 1:20 pm

Bro, no info on Tyres that can take such speed.

• nasharuddin on Mar 06, 2013 at 1:33 pm

The design is utterly insane. The power is unbelieveable. I wanna cry now. Mc Laren P1 should be in fear mode…

• paohyean on Mar 06, 2013 at 1:49 pm

For some reason it looked a bit like the Pagani Huayra..
    Or that could be me..

• mystvearn on Mar 06, 2013 at 2:08 pm

The handbrake got buttons? I see Race, R, Launch. Or is that just a place to hold with buttons. So where is the handbrake? Electronic at the feet?

• ben yap on Mar 06, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Bugatti Veyron faster la.

aiya, ferrari is only as good as those Shell model cars. nothing great though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 31
    • Only faster in straight line. Wait for the first corner of the track…

• ben yap on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:11 pm

Veyron will drift through nicely.

• OBVIOUSLY your knowledge on cars is shockingly stupid, get back to playing “NFS”.

• If Veyron ever drift, it will shred its straight line speed so much, not like this Ferrari that can maintain the speed and ‘hug’ the road like no other car.

• ben yap on Mar 09, 2013 at 10:13 pm

have you driven a veyron or ferrari in real life? go back and drive your pathetic kancil.

• did the article ever said it can beat veyron? the fastest ferrari ever ada la…not the fastest ever production car..

• This car looks beautiful and the specification (the numbers) is really eye-popping great! Car-pr0n baby!

That said, the front and rear do a bit like the BAC Mono and the front scoop is similar to the new Corvette Stingray.

Inspirations from other sources aside, the final looks is simply amazing.

• POLOrider on Mar 06, 2013 at 3:48 pm

better looking than the new lambo

• vee-oh on Mar 06, 2013 at 4:13 pm

wow beautiful..good job designers & engineers..wish could buy one some day.for now im good with my LaKancil

• AKULA on Mar 06, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Thank God no more `MEH BUTTON’…
    So, now, no more uncles (Camry fans) can clicking on that button anymore….

• Deenana on Mar 06, 2013 at 4:46 pm

In Malaysia, top brass at NAZA will get the first taste of it.. Lucky people. Yg lain tengok je la

• casio-edifice on Mar 06, 2013 at 5:03 pm

the engine rev up to 9250rpm, piston speed must be very high.

• Don Piano on Mar 07, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Short stroke lah bro.. clearly they said 13.5:1 CR.. Short stroke could rev higher than long stroke. Just take an example of F1 engines..

• thedarkside on Mar 06, 2013 at 5:49 pm

much much better looking than the Enzo. But in terms of cabin design…nothing so far can beat the Pagani Huayra

• look at the wings with fires ……this is Diablo’s ride!

• albag on Mar 06, 2013 at 7:25 pm

i see a lot of jelly fags complaining about how pathetic the car is, knowing they cant even afford to own one real drivable ferrari… LOL

• Painter on Mar 06, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Just wait until third-party tuner get hold of this. They will butcher this beautiful car with their disproportionate aero kits and awkward looking go-fast stripes.

• I think this is the perfect supercar ever. Err hypercar. Built by a very renowned manufacturer, has a lot of F1 racing heritages, very powerful yet very efficient, lots of new technology and innovations derived from their F1 experiences, very balanced car with 49:51 weight distribution, even the driving position is taylor-made to its specific owner and has has outstanding performance figures. This is the ultimate car Ferrari build for once in a decade.
    What else do we ever want in a hypercar? I bet the only downside is its price.

• just my personal taught. No doubt paper says the car is awesome but how many of so call mega millionaires really utilize its potential.
    i think this is nothing new. its not really futuristic as the lines are harsh & i cant see the signature look. Pardon me if im not an art student/ professional. copy & paste from various models like 458, Tail lamp from P4/5.But the influence from 458 is very strong.

• shawal on Mar 07, 2013 at 12:41 am

The designed of the car is not really groundbreaking, we’ve seen far too many jaw dropping renderings on the net, and ferrari had produced similar concept cars in the fast…what most impressive is ..
    1) finally it is here..
    2) Its not a low volume unknown maker… its a ferrari with pedigree and know how…
    3) Its real and its faster than it looks…
    Ferrari really rained on lambo’s 50th anniversary parade…

• It’s a pain to have such an amazing car blessed with such inane name. So I’ll make it a point refer it as F70. The F70 is not as gorgeous or clean in the Ferrari range, like the Oh-I-So-want F12 Berlinetta or 458 Italia. But IMVHO, it’s still more better looking than a P1 and still remains poised unlike the INYOURFACE Venano.

And the performance numbers are OFF-THE_CHART. I though the McLaren’s figure was as good as it gets but this takes it to 11. So for looks and performance bar the name, the F70 is in my mind, the ultimate hypercar.

The Enzo introduced me to the world of cars, and love it when I was kid and had drawings of it in all my exercise books. The F40 is still my ultimate dream car, and I’ll love this as much as it’s legendary predecessor.

• at 1st glance the car actually looks like the ferrari italia..agree?

• Kalun on Mar 07, 2013 at 8:27 am

Hybrid Hypercars is the Future now. Porsche 918, McLaren P1, Honda NSX, Lamborghini Veneno and This, Laferrari.

But the root of all this Hybrid Hypercars is start from the first Hybrid sport car. Which is HONDA CRZ.

Honda CRZ has revolutionize all the road legal sport car. You be surprise, CRZ will have a good RV in the future like the old CRX who also revolutionise emmision and sport.

I probably buy a CRZ double the price by 10 years time. Since the number of CRZ on the road is quite little.

• I love the little CRZ no matter how many don’t, but to say that it revolutionize is a-bit exaggerated. Agreed, the CRZ did kick start the idea of a sporty hybrid car , a hybrid car that doesn’t have to dull. But that power-plant doesn’t put it in the category of ‘sports car’. To me, I put it in the little group call ‘fun cars’, along with the Mazda Miata and the Toyota GT86. Because If you don’t care about performance figures and want a car that makes every commute feels like one big roller coaster ride, the CRZ is the second cheapest way to go (and it pains me to say, but the R3 Satria Neo is the cheapest).

The sales figure of the CRZ is actually quite high, so I do not think it is rare. Honda Performance car, S2000, Type-R Civics, Integra, all seems to have a rock steady RV, I mean I waited 4 years for the S2000 to only come down RM40k !. Anyways, unless you have a manual as manual accounts for 10% of CRZ sales, that’s rare, but it won’t be ‘double the price by 10 years time’, That’s a full exaggeration, But it will hold it steady. Come to think of it, the CRZ is the only hybrid in the world you can have with a manual gearbox!

Hybrids are not the future but rather a step forward. A power-plant that completely eradicate any emission, that’s the future.

• at 1st glance the car actually looks like ferrari 458 italia…agree?

• brian on Mar 07, 2013 at 8:33 am

this one recall me to the time when mclaren f1 vs ferrari enzo. now after 10 years, it is mclaren p1 vs laferrari.

• Darren on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:14 am

A beauty! It’s about time Enzo gets replacement. The design somewhat reminds me of a MS from Gundam series:
    http://konachan.com/post/show?md5=51537cec49377b9e88f325a1394e1741

• mayonis on Mar 08, 2013 at 4:06 pm

very nice design.

i wonder why they want to focus on hybrid?

hybrid for traffic jam, normal engine for speed???

• i prefer new lambo.forgot the name blah blah

• i think ferrari meant ppl to call this only as LaFerrari (THE Ferrari) not Ferrari LaFerrari. same confusions with the enzo when most ppl called it ferrari enzo altho the given model name for it was enzo ferrari. correct me if i am wrong.

• The FXX Evo is actually faster stupid marketing!

• brandonlopez on Jul 19, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Stop whining and just drool over it. This is the closet you’ll ever get to a beautiful piece of art. When you buy a ferrari. You dont buy how much it loves the corners and how fast it can sprint. You buy a Ferrari for their history and the experience of a Ferrari. All this small talk about drifting a veyron and how fast it goes are just NFS kids. Talk about fastest? Let’s pit a Veyron Super Sport with an AMS Alpha Omega ++ GTR and your piece of royalty crap will piss ass soon. Cut the crap and start to think.

• brandonlopez on Jul 19, 2013 at 4:03 pm

A TOP FUEL CAR IS THE FASTEST!!!!!!! Ever seen a veyron break the speed of sound yet?

• tyreak on May 16, 2014 at 3:33 am

that car is fast