RON 97 petrol to go up by 20 sen to RM2.90

Fuel_Wallet_Gauge5611The retail price of RON 97 petrol will be RM2.90 per litre effective tomorrow, March 7. This is a 20 sen increase from the existing RM2.70 per litre.

The pump price of RON 97 was last revised on January 10 this year, when it was reduced by five sen from the RM2.75 per litre previously. Meanwhile, RON 95 petrol and diesel prices, subsidised by a government allowance, will remain unchanged.

Unlike the regulated and subsidised RM1.90 per litre RON 95, the pricing of RON 97 works on a managed float, with pricing determined according to market forces.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• joanna on Mar 06, 2013 at 11:59 pm

Always naik never turun. Thanks a lottttttt..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 326 Thumb down 36
    • Seriously on Mar 07, 2013 at 12:15 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 325
      • You make a lot of sense but i am down voting you because i don’t like what you’re saying – this is democracy baby!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 50
        • Sam Loo on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:09 am

I hope the government put Ron 97 even higher. If you can afford powerful car that needs Ron 97, you should be able to pay for it! Stop complaining like girls and pay for what you need. Pandai beli Porsche, Ferrari but complain about expensive Ron 97. The rich must always pay more taxes and they deserve it!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 175 Thumb down 68
          • RON 97 is not compatible to Ferrari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 13
          • Aris Tee on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:44 am

actually even some regular cars might need 97 to run smoothly. it’s a common misconception that only high-end cars need it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 17
          • Honestly, I don’t mind the RON97 to go up. Why subsidizing the better one (I assumed those can afford 97 are the better one)? Sooner or later, our country will be running out of oil and gas. We should be educated that oil is not cheap earlier, else we will get the big hit when the time come. It will be too late by then. I just hope the money the G save from the reduction of subsidy will be used to reduce the burden of the poor and improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the public transport system but not use the money to rear cow in the condo or spend millions to develop a FB page!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 16
          • Even higher? not fair for those car lover,who’s use 97 for their cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
          • Turboman on Mar 07, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Its a misconception that many malaysians fall into it completely. BMW 335i can run perfectly on RON95. Mercedes C250 and C300 too. Even S class runs perfectly on RON95. Porsche boxtster will run on RON95 without much performance penalty.

RIch don’t pay more tax. They pay less. Its the middle class that is typically squeezed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
          • All the original Proton Sagas run on RON97+

• Sam Loo on Mar 07, 2013 at 8:45 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 127
        • Ramun on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:12 am

Some BMW can run on RON91

• Turboman on Mar 07, 2013 at 8:44 pm

Most BMW can run on RON 95. The only one that requires RON 97 is M3. So stop spewing BS here. We know more than u think!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • pelar on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:18 am

Sam,
          I only pump 97 for my 86.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 11
        • Fagly on Mar 07, 2013 at 1:22 pm

If Proton rebadge Hilux as their new Arena pickup, hows the RV then? As good as Toyota also? Same pickup ma…

• Cheh Myvi also can use Ron95 lah just depend on u…but wait a minute,since Toyota 86 only use Ron97 plus RV is bad!

• Alvin C. on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:28 am

Dear Seriously:

I do agree with partial of your statement, yes, it did went down previously but the fuel prices has gone down too due to over supplied of oil in the market, then tell me why RON97 has to go up RM0.20?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • Obama on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:37 am

Look like the G need to cut whatever subsidies now as they running out of money soon, giving out too much to lure vote for upcoming GE, $300 here, $500 there. However, i don’t agree the hike is because of inflation, brent crude oil 90usd per barrel, still far from record high of $143, commodity prices are dropping, look at CRB commodity index dropping steadily since last year Sept.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
      • Expatriate VN on Mar 07, 2013 at 3:12 pm

Yes, naik-turun-naik-turun before GE 13.

After GE 13 naikkkkkkkk terus. On top of that VAT, GST, etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • Seriously on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:09 pm

Looks like a lot of people don’t like the hard truth huh? It figures.

• What’s the problems? naik lepas tu turn abit again again and again…

• Abg Long on Mar 07, 2013 at 11:39 am

last time turun 5 cent maaa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Keyboard warrior on Mar 07, 2013 at 12:08 am

Tukar!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 169 Thumb down 33
  • I find my old caburettor Saga runs better in RON97 than RON95, and the fact it clearly says Unleaded 97 on the fuel lid, so I tend to put in RON97 whenever I can(got money). Looks like I got to do it less often.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 4
    • unforgiven on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:33 am

Spend 97 on old Saga? Amazing!
      You should try the very had to find blue v power…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Ah!!!!! You meant V power racing instead of V power. It is very rare to find this fuel but I already pump at USJ 4.

• crank on Mar 08, 2013 at 1:22 pm

You can also find it at ss3 kelana jaya.

• Self-proclaimed Sultan of Bulu on Mar 07, 2013 at 12:50 am

Semua Barang Naik, it is time for Price Reduce

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 233 Thumb down 17
    • Ha Gnih on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:06 am

And to achieve that, we need to reduce some ‘people’ to commoners like us. Let them feel how its like NOT to be the government and power of deception in their hands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Mozilla Chrome on Mar 07, 2013 at 2:23 am

I use 2.0 litre car and I can feel so much difference when using Ron 97 compared to Ron 95. The engine runs smoothly and I dont have to push hard on the paddle to move the car. And the engine also got some problems after I use Ron 95. Sadly the price gap is too big. I ended up using Ron 95. MOST cars need to use Ron 97 for optimum performance. But most people can’t afford to pay for RON 97 price and they have to stick to RON 95. Thanks so much gov.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 17
    • start-a-figt on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:41 am

what car u using? Type-R ka?
      my 3-ers using 95 no problem….325 somemore.. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 25
    • A lot consumer don’t understand as you do. They do not know what is carbon deposit. RON 95 is tend to provide more pollution compare to RON 97 and by introducing RON 95 last time, it is already prove we are heading backwards. Why not government not to introduce RON 95 way back then and instead of RON 97 and RON 92 leaded? We are just like using RON 95 but paying RON 97 price. This is ridiculous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
  • Macam Ni Pun Boleh on Mar 07, 2013 at 2:44 am

ya, turun ada turun, turun 5 sen, turun 10 sen but when naik, NAIK 20 SEN! real bloody sucker! And no, don’t vote for me, vote for PR :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 21
  • well every time i go petrol station the ron97 pump always empty..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
    • start-a-figt on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:43 am

petrol station don’t really want to store 97… very slow moving stock…

i don really know for other petrol station but mine always at min 35% then refil and that about a month and a half for each refil

• silver on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:33 am

actually there is another reason why petrol station don’t really stock ron 97 according to a few petrol station owners they tend to evaporate too fast so they usually lose money selling it as part of the stock is considered lost…
        I don’t really mind the increase if you could afford a car that pump ron 97 u shouold not complain… instead buy a normal car if you couldn’t.. you can’t expect the government to subsidies everything.. the economy would colapse… i would rather the G spend it on building better roads , public transport and stuff without the cronies involved….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • i meant nobody filling ron97 when i come to petrol station

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • aiya…should have pumped yesterday…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
  • sultan solo on Mar 07, 2013 at 7:07 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 386
    • rakyat on Mar 07, 2013 at 1:10 pm

of coz cheap for you…u r a sultan mah.

the rest of us are commoners.

well, I am only an ordinary rakyat.

• Sultan Yolo on Mar 07, 2013 at 3:16 pm

Sultan Bolo..get out..you are drunk..

• KillBox1Alpha on Mar 07, 2013 at 7:26 am

Why cant the announcement come earlier? bloody entrapment I say!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
  • Sam Loh on Mar 07, 2013 at 8:27 am

Owh, senyap senyap saja..
    not good for RV.. damn!

• Common Sense on Mar 07, 2013 at 8:47 am

Grow up. It’s based floated price.
    I wanted my sirap to cost 30 sen per glass like 25 years ago, but today it’s spiralled to RM1.50.
    Tough luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
  • Joe Radzif on Mar 07, 2013 at 8:50 am

Dalam kena serang, berperang…
    sempat juga nak paw golongan atasan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • ChrisLai75 on Mar 07, 2013 at 8:52 am

Why the gov subsidied on RON95 instead of RON97? price for RON95 is almost the same with RON97 without the sub right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • crank on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:15 am

yea dude!!! simple logic that can’t be implemented by our current gov. Well all i can say is that they don’t give a damn about the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • Joe Radzif on Mar 07, 2013 at 11:16 am

dont give a damn
        just give lot of shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
        • Common Sense on Mar 07, 2013 at 7:38 pm

oh goodie. vote the opposition. they’ll solve everything for you. maybe they can even solve your premature ej********n problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • start-a-figt on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:45 am

for me I would say bring back RON92… coz proton car only min RON95… they decide to pull the plug on RON92.. what a shame…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Fagly on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:04 am

But global oil price mostly downward trend for the past 1 year

Anyway, a very cunning move since most people now occupied to lanun news so diam-diam naik lah

• tukulbesi on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:07 am

malaysian people rich ma.. 2.90 still cheap to them some more got RON95 to fill in the tank without any problem..

• crank on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:11 am

Lesson learnt. Vote wisely ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • Cosmo Artemis on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:33 am

Since the Ron 97 have higher octane; the 95 have 95% octane and the 97 is 97%. It is like iPhone 4 and iPhone 5; where iPhone 5 have better features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Bakhtiar007 on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:34 am

Hhaahahhaha. Memang dah tau pun taktik mereka ni. Sebelum pilihanraya, naik kejap, nanti bila dah dekat pilihanraya, turun kejap. Takper la. I lebih suka dengan manifesto PKR. Masa untuk perubahan. The wind of change is here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 10
  • Go for hybrid car…let we change to a better solution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • Jackson on Mar 07, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Not all hybrid save fuel.. Hybrid just mean running on more than one system. please do your research properly before deciding on hybrid cars.. =)

• nazir on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:48 am

Still cheap compared to other country they say…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
    • Ha Gnih on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:12 am

THEY always say baseless things. Indah khabar dari rupa. Like we don’t already know. Hahhaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • rajahGlobal on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:50 am

in 2014 it will be RM1.00 per liter RON97 ..yeah vote for that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • Last time there were a group of morons made a banner thanking the government when the Ron97 was reduced by 10 cents following ‘market condition’, doing it in a very loud manner. Where are they now and what are they doing now to response to this news?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
  • Mugilan on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:00 am

Looks like the prices designed specially for Singaporeans.
    I say vote for Pakatan Rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • KarthikM on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:06 am

Keep on increasing this and that, and surely the current G will win in the GE..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • im driving f10 528i now. and to me its not a big problem. as most malaysian with luxury car are darn rich. but what im against is the way G convey the message. they dont giv lead time. and with downtrend nowadays, this is not a good way to rip rakyat off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • WHY?! on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:53 am

With barisan doing this, I wouldn’t be suprised if everyone voted for pakatan rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
  • carfanforlife on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:54 am

Good thing I filled up the 86 yesterday!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • notacarfan on Mar 07, 2013 at 1:16 pm

why u fill up your 1986 car with RON97?
      almost 30 years old car. nothing to show off about.

• taboogen on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:59 am

dont want to pay dont use car.. bicycle kan ada

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • takNakP1 on Mar 07, 2013 at 11:04 am

everyone please be more sensible and mature.
    the issue here is not the petrol price.
    i say main issue is the car price and the green awareness.

1. if u think petrol is expensive, u can choose to drive less but not your 9 YEARS car loan. You CAN’T choose not to PAY.
    2. if u think petrol is expensive, u can choose to buy hybrid car even thought there is a premium but is a one time pain.
    3. if u are green concious, expensive petrol helps to discourage driving hence less emission.

due the EXORBITANT car price, no. 1 & 2 couldn’t be achieve hence everyone is complaining about petrol price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 6
    • amirad on Mar 07, 2013 at 11:55 am

Cheap car cheap petrol only in our dreams or is it in Brunei and middle east? Cheap car expensive petrol in developed nations ie. US, Europe, Japan and Oz. That’s how things should be. Expensive petrol, expensive car and low pay, where in the world is that?

• chris^foyre on Mar 07, 2013 at 11:16 am

Rich is one thing but to be conned over and over is another. I’m driving a jaguar xf and my wife drives a 750i but still, that does not mean we deserve to pay the hiked price of our gasoline. We are left with very little choice. That’s it. Tempted to fill RON95 but remembered what sales advisors said. “Don’t forget ha….your car cannot take RON95 ha…..it will make your car go gila ha…….”. so yeah, sucks to be us ‘rich’ people I suppose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 23
    • smiley on Mar 07, 2013 at 11:45 am

I am sorry, chris^forye, but you’re rich (maybe even extremely rich), but you’re complaining for not getting subsidy to fill up your expensive car? I am not rich, just surviving day to day, but I am accepting that there are many more out there deserving the subsidy, and don’t mind the government reduce the subsidy for me a bit to cater for these people requirement. I mean, come on…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
      • chris^foyre on Mar 07, 2013 at 12:39 pm

Im truly sorry smiley but perhaps I did not write what I wrote in a clearer manner. The generalization of rich people dont deserve to complain because we could afford all the finer things in life is just bollocks. First and foremost, we need to fork out the extras to buy something nice for ourselves. Not to mention that the taxes here in Malaysia is exorbitant. And not forgetting, bigger cars come with bigger tanks thus the need to fill a full tank is costly. Then the workers. With everything on the rise, salaries are needed to be increased as well. But what I’m trying to say here is, yeah, I feel you guys who have to survive on day to day and yet, what both you and I are getting isn’t exactly what we bargained for. I came to Malaysia to root myself down here ages ago because I thought it is not such a bad place to live in. Then this happens. Rich or poor, one of our priorities shall remain the same, that is to save money. Am I not right ? Compared to those I have seen before here and now, yes, some people just have the luxury of spending money which is not even theirs’ to begin with so they don’t feel the pinch. I seriously do hope that the government would do something more for the people instead of milking (no pun intended) them dry to the last drop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
        • rakyat on Mar 07, 2013 at 1:22 pm

quote.
          Compared to those I have seen before here and now, yes, some people just have the luxury of spending money which is not even theirs’ to begin with so they don’t feel the pinch. I seriously do hope that the government would do something more for the people instead of milking (no pun intended) them dry to the last drop.
          unquote.

chris,
          fully agree on the above statement.

for those who felt that the rich should pay more, you should think and talk about consumption tax aka GST 4%
          you spend more, you pay more.

• mate, i assume u r from Australia so did u pay taxes when u purchased ur ride? how much is ur XF? well, Im driving a BMW 528i but like what i.ve mentioned before. i dont realli care about it, but i feel those with low income that have to survive day by day. ITS ur BN that dont bother about the citizen. instead, they are oni bother about preserving the power.

• Common Sense on Mar 07, 2013 at 2:26 pm

having a JaguarXF and a 750i is not consider rich.

• tokmoh on Mar 07, 2013 at 5:26 pm

Malaysia not a country that pampers the rich, but cronies.

For the rest of us, especially the rich like you who kene pinched more, we have to “deal with it”, while those cronies lavish and tell us to syukur #bnlogic

That said, I commend you for knowing the value of money and your contribution to the country. Congrats on your hard work and you certainly earned to pamper yourself with a beauty like the Jag.

• kulum on Mar 07, 2013 at 11:21 am

bring RON96 la. atleast mendekatkan jurang RON97 & RON95.. and no more chance to get better petrol. RON97 makin jauh meninggalkan kita. super doper power la RON97.

• Honestly, I don’t mind the RON97 to go up. Why subsidizing the better one (I assumed those can afford 97 are the better one)? Sooner or later, our country will be running out of oil and gas. We should be educated that oil is not cheap earlier, else we will get the big hit when the time come. It will be too late by then. I just hope the money the G save from the reduction of subsidy will be used to reduce the burden of the poor and improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the public transport system but not use the money to rear cow in the condo or spend millions to develop a FB page!!!

• inderaloka on Mar 07, 2013 at 11:36 am

UBAH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Saiful on Mar 07, 2013 at 11:43 am

Turun 5 sen, 2 bulan lalu…
    Naik 20 sen, untuk 2 tahun akan datang…
    Hmmm…nanti jap nak mintak tolong cikgu ajarkan aku soalan matematik dan analisa ekonomi ni. Susah nak mengkaji ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Kevin on Mar 07, 2013 at 11:49 am

Well, its all about choice…most of the new cars can handle a variety of petrol RON as they have knock sensors built into them. Sure you might lose some power with lower RON but you get what you pay for. Mind you, we are actually using better petrol than most western or european counterparts. Most of them using RON89 to RON91 only and cars seem to run with little to no issues

Time to bring on that right foot training to be less heavy on the throttle :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • In america they still use Ron81. we Malaysian are spoil. using premium petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • heeman on Mar 07, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Au 88, there’s no such thing as Ron 81. US regular gasoline is Octane 87 (equivalent to RON92) and premium is Octane 93 (RON97-98). Please get your facts right.

• Sam Long on Mar 07, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Keep on dreaming PR voter.. Hopefully you will get to pump RON 97 after the GE.. Good luck to you..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Najib on Mar 07, 2013 at 12:16 pm

JANJI DITEPATI!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Ubahlah Malaysia on Mar 07, 2013 at 12:21 pm

Pilihan raya dh dekat… Pilihlah yg terbaik… I think can give opposition party a try….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Get a diesel car n then ask for subsidized dieasel from fishery department…

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 07, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Many ppl with new cars just say to run 95. You are the fortunate few can can buy newer expensive cars.

You put ron95 on an old wira and it runs like crap. And what is the population of old Wiras and Sagas in Malaysia? Never hear all that pinking and knocking when you see them go up a slope?

For someone who said environmental reason…. bull crap. My fuel consumption was less using Ron97 than Ron 95, because for the simple reason, the higher knock resistance of 97 means the engine runs more advance ignition timing, meaning more low end torque. Meaning for the same gear and rpm, you make more power.

Making less power from RON95 simply means you (usually unconsciously) run either higher RPM or more throttle.

Most people here think mileage as cents per Km, instead of KM per L. so you don’t notice you actually use more petrol on Ron95.

Most people are questioning why the hike in price now, when global crude prices have been on a downturn, especially as winter is ending soon, demand will drop correspondingly.

Like most policies to date, it makes no difference to the rich, yet furthering the burden on the middle and low income classes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Penny Wise Pound Foolish on Mar 07, 2013 at 1:32 pm

DSM, I totally agree with you.

When RON 97 was the std fuel, I used to be able to drive 7 days on a full tank. When changed to RON 95, I have to refuel every 6 days.

Those PWPFs are totally clueless that we are paying more subsidy due to higher comsumption and draining our tax money.

• ben yap on Mar 07, 2013 at 3:09 pm

wah! your butt dyno so accurate to know that RON97 can make more power than RON95.

You might as well put in the octane booster addictive and bump up to RON99 and your car can fly off the ground like Air Asia aeroplane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
      • 4G63T DSM on Mar 08, 2013 at 9:11 am

Yes my butt dyno is very accurate.

97 and 95 is 2-5 degrees ignition timing depending on load. Now if u can’t feel that sort of ignition timing retard, you need to evaluate if you are a car enthusiasts and stop being a smart arse.

• The engine design determine whether it can fully unleash the potential of higher RON rating, not ur car model esp for those old cars since they lacks of modern ECU to adapt to diff RON.

one logical explanation for wira running better in ron 97 than ron 95 is because it is our national car and during the period that the car is designed, ron 97 is cheap in our country and considered affordable to rakyat so proton design the engine to match the RON 97 instead of the RON 92..

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 08, 2013 at 9:20 am

Yes and no.

Older protons states a MINIMUM 95 RON. As engines age, carbon deposits create hotspots in the combustion chamber causing higher incidents of pre-detonation. So these older cars need to run higher octane.

And as you say these cars lack the ecu control, only way is to manually retard the base timing using the distributor ( in the interest of saving your engine) leading to a loss of power. So you end up harder on the gas and run higher rpm to get back torque you are used to.

So by hiking the Ron 97 price, the government is basically telling you…” Thank you for being patriotic and buying a proton…. Now please be patriotic again and buy a new car so u can run RON 95″

• sambalbabi on Mar 07, 2013 at 1:08 pm

it’s not about which fuel u pump in, and u think it’s ok and unaffected cos u pump R95 fuel – but u forgot the cost of the grocery, fares and food all goes up b’cos of whichever fuel price hike. i think most people are missing the main point here.

• niceone on Mar 07, 2013 at 3:53 pm

ya ka? last time i check lorry still uses diesel, not ron 97. or is it the groceries supply nowadays picked up using bmw?

• i think he meant many greedy biz man in malaysia like to take oppurtunity of the fuel price hike to chop ppl

• can anyone refresh our memory.

why was the standard RON97 downgraded to RON95 in the 1st place?

and then price the RON97 as premium fuel?

was it to save on the crude oil processing cost?
    how muach savings per 1,000 litres of RON95 vs RON97?

• ScrewPinoy on Mar 07, 2013 at 1:56 pm

This is probably the terrorist Pinoy attack our Sabah and make the oil price up, screw them!

• gOOsh on Mar 07, 2013 at 2:13 pm

okla… for FD Type-R owners, you all can reserve ur ride for weekend drive only arr… jimat skit…

• yahooo on Mar 07, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Why need subsidized fuel ron 95?better use it to maintain road, better health care n better infrastructure… People now dun like to pay for petrol even rm1.90 oso for them too high… So stop subsidizing fuel………?( too expensive lah fuel in malaysia) i oso dun know why lah got people everday been caught smuggling fuel from malaysia?

• Leong on Mar 08, 2013 at 9:57 am

Yes, we need fuel subsidy.why?
      1.Our income low.
      2.We pay forward our fuel purchase and road maintenance in term of excise and import duty when buying car.
      3.We are an oil producing nation,so Malaysian is entitled to reap the prize of their land!eg: When I got durian orchard,I eat cheap durian,I don’t sell everything and later buy them at market price at supermarket!.
      4.Healthcare sector,ask your friend in pharma sector to get the real picture.
      Unless the government stop collecting excise and import duty,Why shall Malaysian stop collecting subsidy?

• ben yap on Mar 07, 2013 at 3:05 pm

i don’t mind price of RON97 go up. but i mind if the prices of food goes up together with petrol. traders will take advantage of it as if their lorries are not running on diesel but RON97.

• Sharing on Mar 07, 2013 at 4:19 pm

I live in Japan. Here, regular gasoline is around RON90 and premium gasoline is around RON100 ( they dont fix the RON value, they just set the range).

Unless we use performane or luxury cars, most cars here use only RON90, cost around 150 yen per liter (325ml Coca Cola is 110 yen). Its quite a low RON gasoline but its almost sulphur-free. Rarely find somebody purposely fill a regular car with RON100 here.

• sepucps on Mar 07, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Ahh not this shit again..Damnnn

• tokmoh on Mar 07, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Petrol getting more expensive?

Don’t worry, chairman of AP king’s club say our cars are cheap, so syukurlah, janji sudah dicapati, sila balas budi!

• tebuan on Mar 07, 2013 at 5:43 pm

going high and high until the price can be similar to perfume price per litre..haha..then, I pump perfume into my car..then no pollution…flowering smelll along highway…bye2 Petronas..no more buying your petrol…

• Delirious on Mar 08, 2013 at 9:09 am

Bye Petronas = Bye2 country income = Bye2 Gov spending towards rakyat

• paparadzi on Mar 07, 2013 at 7:25 pm

I wish we can buy car and fuel here at market value.

Cheap car (and trucks etc.), expensive fuel will even things out. Shouldn’t have unnecessary price hike.

• john labu on Mar 08, 2013 at 6:16 pm

ya lo… why car not follow world market value as per fuel???

• Mad driver on Mar 08, 2013 at 1:19 am

my Wira engine started to develop so many never ending problems since i changed to 95 …many people experienced the same thing, yet there are still people out there believeing every single propaganda dished out by the gomen and continue to sapot and vote them

• west end boys on Mar 08, 2013 at 1:56 am

just go get a diesel car.problem solved

• I am in Wales for training for few months. Here petrol, RON 95 costs GBP1.39/liter. If convert to RM about RM6/liter. Sound very expensive! But for comparison, a 2 liter bottle of Pepsi cost GBP1.79 (RM8). Mars bar GBP0.49 (49 pence).

But salary wise here, a fresh graduate a getting GBP18k – 24k a year…. similar in Malaysia (RM18k – 24K). VW Passat cost GBP18k.

Personally, I think it is not about petrol price only, there is a bigger issue – QUALITY of LIFE in Malaysia… everything is expensive if compared to the average household income! At the moment, I am spending GBP600 for foods for my family of 7 here in Cardiff, whereas in Malaysia I will need RM1600 a month (Please do not convert to RM…, if you do, please convert the salary too).

The UK government serves the people… they will listen to what the people wants or demands, if not they will loose their vote… British citizens exercise their voting power…. Currently, increasing cost of living is an issue in the UK…, and the government is listening to the people DEARLY.

It is time for MALAYSIAN to do a similar action. Let the so-called DEMOCRATIC system work! Let the elected government be cleared that they are working for the people. If they are NOT DOING good to the people, our vote is the power! If the current ruling party not good enough, then give PR a chance to rule and lets we judge them. I am sure once this happen, a new era of democracy will take place in Malaysia – ERA of the PEOPLE’s POWER. Any party elected to rule Malaysia will learn that they are top there due to our vote. If they don’t perform, next election will be a challenging one. These have been happening in the UK, US, Japan etc…. We are not dare to change!

• tantan on Mar 17, 2013 at 1:00 pm

well you got to remember at Europe, they are at least using Euro 4 emission standard fuel with no subsidy apply to the fuel!.

we are paying a lot for some obsolete fuel using obsolete emission standard which show the gov here have no heart at all in thinking out giving quality of life to the people since environment protection is also a way to ensure we have quality of life…..

• masih murah lagi kat asia tenggara…adesss…
    tu la komen dr menteri…cam aremmm…..
    ni sumua kerja p.r…p.r yg menghuruharare kat m’sia ni…KERAjaan be end dak pulak….

• Scorpene on Mar 09, 2013 at 12:17 am

~~What they give…they get back…lalalala~~

• when we are commenting in this site, we all love RON97, because we care for our car. don’t tell that u still work great on RON95, and bla bla bla….

say your heart. we all want RON 97 and just feeling the pain is getting much in paying for it.

just my 2cents

• tantan on Mar 17, 2013 at 12:56 pm

I just kinda curious, when Euro 2M was introduced, there’s a claim by the end of 2012, Malaysia will get Euro 4 equivalent fuel so we can help environment and also giving better quality fuel for our beloved car.

where is it now? the best is only BHP’s Euro 3? where’s the janji ditetapi!!!!! but instead, what we get is….Euro 2M fuel with a price keep going up. The process to make them. Maybe I am wrong is likely old technology and yet we have to pay more just because it is RON97? come on!!!