Suzuki SX4 – second-gen debuts in Geneva

Suzuki SX4 second gen

The Suzuki S-Cross concept-based production car that was set for a Geneva debut has turned out to be the new Suzuki SX4 after all. The second-gen compact crossover will be built in Hungary and go on sale sometime this year.

Buyers could have a 1.6 litre M16A petrol mated to five-speed manual or seven-virtual ratio CVT. Alternatively they could have a 1.6 litre turbodiesel with a six-speed manual. 2WD and 4WD versions are offered; the latter with Suzuki’s ALLGRIP, featuring four selectable driving modes.

It’s grown up, physically as well as aesthetically. Length, width, height and wheelbase are respectively 4.3 metres, 1.77 metres, 1.58 metres and 2.6 metres (outgoing car 4.14/1.76/1.57/2.5). Wheels measuring 16 or 17 inches can be specified, and the boot can hold 430 litres of luggage – a whole 160 litres more than before.

The new Suzuki SX4 also offers as an option a panoramic sunroof with double-sliding glass panels; the company says it has one of the biggest opening areas in its class.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Albert on Mar 06, 2013 at 11:07 am

Really nice very aggressive looks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Green on Mar 06, 2013 at 2:10 pm

since 3rd gen CBU Swift = RM75k range = similar price range to the 1st Gen Swift in Malaysia.

I am expecting 2nd gen CBU SX-4 to be RM90k range = similar to 1st gen CBU SX-4!!

Exciting moment…

• Sam Loo on Mar 06, 2013 at 5:04 pm

All Suzuki got very bad RV. Better stick to your bikes lah. Your RXZ in the 80s was your last and only success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
        • You don’t even know what is Suzuki!

• bryanlee on Mar 07, 2013 at 11:41 pm

Rxz is yamaha and not suzuki. You seems like comment without proper fact finding. Typical young chap comment.

• Burningsunz on Apr 27, 2014 at 6:10 pm

I seriously dont understand how a person who doesnt even owned a suzuki car can say that suzuki RV is very low..please show me a proof that suzuki RV is very low?? the last time i check 3 years old Swift trade in at 40k …

the last time i checked suzuki sales satisfaction is at number 3 even though the sales volume of suzuki is way below nissan rank 2 and toyoto rank 1 but only 5points separating the top 3..

http://www.jdpower.com/press-releases/2013-malaysia-sales-satisfaction-index-ssi-study

• junjun on Mar 06, 2013 at 3:31 pm

what?nice?hahaha i think china car have a better design than this hahahaha…low class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • OMG…Ugly like shit….better pay more to get CX-5.

• ArtistImpression201 on Mar 06, 2013 at 11:19 am

The designer tried to make something unique, but obviously they din make it. The whole thing looks just awful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
  • Mozilla Chrome on Mar 06, 2013 at 11:22 am

Disappointed with the new generation design. Front looks like china car and the rear almost similar to Mitsubishi ASX. Somehow previous generation looks better even it’s smaller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • powershot on Mar 06, 2013 at 11:29 am

told ya it was the new sx4

• pomen on Mar 06, 2013 at 11:32 am

not bad..conti car feel interior..

• amigos on Mar 06, 2013 at 11:55 am

Soooo..asx wannabe from side to back design

• mr_em on Mar 06, 2013 at 12:07 pm

after the Swift, Kizashi and the 1st gen SX4,
    this is the best that Suzuki could do design-wise?

It looks as if somebody from Subaru is working for Suzuki… the car doesnt look like a crossover, more like a smaller jack-up estate, the front looks heavy/dumpy… the Suzuki S-Cross concept looks way better compared to this production version… basically this is a disappointing effort from Suzuki from the design perspective…

• satrian on Mar 06, 2013 at 12:56 pm

Mixture of new nissan fender language..old Murano plus kia window profile and ask rear but look ok inside

• Jimmy on Mar 06, 2013 at 1:44 pm

Grown up.
    (You know what I mean if you are sharp)

• Green on Mar 06, 2013 at 2:08 pm

Evolution:
      1. Swift – big new swift
      2. SX4 – big new SX4

just like how toyota Rav-4 evolved. from small to big, with the same design language, then change design.

Evolution x Growth.

• vee-oh on Mar 06, 2013 at 4:17 pm

why so ugly one?Suzuki, good designer nowadays demand high salary you cant afford to pay ah?

• Josh Ling on Mar 06, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Rear design is acceptable, and look rather purposeful but front…..sorry, it’s plain awful.

• really… china design is better than this SX4….. suzuki want to sell this car in europe or india?…

• albag on Mar 06, 2013 at 7:33 pm

at first i thought its a china car until i saw suzuki… scary looking outdated front design… suzukis are only popular in third world countries… not even bother to look at…

• xv400 on Mar 06, 2013 at 11:43 pm

gotta be the ugliest car ever been launched in 2013 to date.

• shawal on Mar 07, 2013 at 12:33 am

it looksl ike the old sx4…that just crashed into a wall…
    otherwise other areas looks decent , interior trumps rivals…

• WHY?! on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:56 am

Still looks better than the previous gen.

• intermilan on Mar 08, 2013 at 1:17 pm

The SX4 compete in the rising mini-SUV market segment. Still not many rivals in our market, so they will have an advantage. But in Malaysia, this market segment is still in its infancy.

The new SX4 looks aged and thus will have a tough time against class rivals.

This is IHS Automative forecast sale for Europe’s mini/small SUV segment in 2014.

1. Peugeot 2008 103,143
    2. Renault Captur 93,397
    3. Nissan Juke 64,685
    4. Opel/Vauxhall Mokka 38,882
    5. Suzuki SX4 33,532
    6. Ford EcoSport 31,190
    7. Chevrolet Trax 20,205
    8. Suzuki Jimny 13,107
    9. Fiat 500X 5,050

• samlok on Apr 07, 2013 at 1:04 am

nice car, better look then previous one.