SPYSHOTS: Peugeot 208 spotted at JPJ Putrajaya

peugeot 208-spy-03 2

Well, looks like another French Lion is about to enter the scene – reader ApexKit spotted a couple of Peugeot 208 examples at JPJ Putrajaya, and it looks like both three-door and five-door versions of the B-segment hatch will be sold here.

The 208, which made its official debut in Geneva last year, is expected to be launched here sometime in April. It’s slightly shorter and lower than the outgoing 207 hatch, but has a larger cabin with more room in the rear seats. It’s also lighter than the older car, up to 173 kg less.

In overseas markets, it’s available with a spread of petrol engine choices overseas, ranging from 68 hp 1.0 VTi and 82 hp 1.2 VTi three-cylinder VVT units to the more familiar 120 hp 1.6 VTi and THP 156 1.6 turbo mills. Wonder what the ones here will wear.

The three-door seen here looks pretty sharp, don’t you think? From some of the design elements seen (chrome bits on mirror casings, fog lamps and window trim), this could well be a 208 XY. Guess we’ll find out when the time comes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 07, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Veloster Killer !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 37
    • encik boss on Mar 07, 2013 at 8:41 pm

5 door – fiesta & polo killer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 20
    • i hear some people said bolehland onli get new gen car after several years……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
    • It wont kill anything… its a French…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 37
      • Henry on Mar 08, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Right. If anything it will kill itself with its French quirkiness, reliability issues and after sales service not up to mark.

I would opt for the Fiesta instead ~ European handling with Japanese reliability. It is based on the Mazda2 afterall.

Sadly, sometimes in buying a car, logic does not apply.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
        • Henry- japanese cars are not the epitome of reliability anymore.. European cars have progressed so much in that stake and actually surpass many Jap cars

• Tsi- I know you are a VW lover.. But this lion will slay your German Shepard

• 208 GTI what’s this? i only hear about Polo GTI and Golf GTI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 71
      • Then apparently you haven’t been on this planet 20 years ago, since the introduction of the 205 gti in 86.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
        • skypirate on Mar 08, 2013 at 10:56 am

then apparently you were in another planet within this 20 years span, the 205 GTI is legendary but a history. time to look forward :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 36
  • hasan on Mar 07, 2013 at 6:46 pm

NAAICE!!! love it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • Polo Saga on Mar 07, 2013 at 7:00 pm

Finally!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Green on Mar 07, 2013 at 7:27 pm

Pug 207 = RM72,888 CKD.

this baby sure no cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
    • it will be considerably better than the old one, pug have confirmed, its roomier and safer than the 207, also much better looking. “SUPPOSED” to be priced slightly under fiesta money but i don’t know how much the tax will screw it back up.

• These are the details that I get from a salesman from Peugeot.

“OPEN FOR BOOKING!!! New Peugeot 208 will Arrive within April and Mei 2013 <<—————-
    BOOKING FEES: RM900
    PRICE : actual price will be inform letter
    —————————————————
    features:
    1) front and rear LED signature lighting
    2) interactive HD color touchscreen
    3)Full connectivity with USB
    4)bluetooth and audio streaming
    5)high perfomance audio system with arkamys 3D sound
    6)iPod
    7)phone and android compatible
    8)1.6 litre featuring Dual Variable Valve Timing Technology (power-122ps)
    9)6 Airbags
    10)colour: white, red, black, blossom blue and blue"

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 3
    • ben yap on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:15 pm

if the price is not right, can still get the RM900 booking fee refund?

• haha, I m not sure. As I just read his message from the FB. Features seems not bad, just hope the price tag is not ridiculously high.

• farghmee on Mar 08, 2013 at 9:52 am

safety spec, if any pls.

• OMG….KIs Rio look better than this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • Kia rio… Hmm… cannot compare Korean quality with imported French ones mate…

• Jab, Strong, Fierce! on Mar 07, 2013 at 8:01 pm

Beauty is definitely in the eye of the beholder, love the funky and modern dashboard and the CIELO panoramic roof. Naza, please bring in the 197bhp GTI after this launch and you’ll see alot of us Polo GTI owners switching bandwagon

As for Renault, please debut the Renaultsport Clio 200 ASAP too, pretty please?

• Sam Pooh on Mar 07, 2013 at 8:16 pm

this one resale value no good one. Better buy honda city one. Salam 1malaysia one. I like number one one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 73
    • Jab, Strong, Fierce! on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:48 pm

No doubt resale value is one small fraction to consider when getting a new car but all in all owning a car is not always about the price tag. Total package is the keyword here

On top of that, Honda Shitty is way dated and not much better than this new and upcoming 208

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 38
    • artworks on Mar 08, 2013 at 1:02 am

when a man die, its cant bring along the money. pay and enjoy what u like. cheers

• Sam poo- you can stick with your Honda City thai made crap if u only think about resale value…this car is too advance for you

• will they ckd it? what is the price range u guys reckon?

plz bring in the XY!

• Carlover on Mar 07, 2013 at 8:34 pm

Nice…got market if price reasonable.

• The 3-door variant matches the looks of the luxury XY version. But the only thing that interest me right now is the GTI variant. Will be a welcome sight in Malaysia, hope of will be of dimilar price range as the Fiesta, and IMO is much better looking than the Fiesta facelift.

• 208 gti with turbo and 200bhp will definitely be much higher priced and positioned than the fiesta. think polo gti and you’re close to where the 208 gti will be positioned. i think the lower versions will be close to the fiesta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • I’am expecting the little GTI to be around RM130-RM160k, It’ll be placed much higher than the normal 208 considering that in Britain is a £8,000 premium over the normal car, and to the Brits, that’s a lot. Anyways the XY pictured above is also around the same price in Britain, so if they bring in the XY, most likely the GTI will tagged along.

• Mozilla Chrome on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:25 pm

Not a Fiesta or Mazda 2 killer. But it’s good to have more choices here.

• Aww aww so excited! But we are yet to see whether or not Ford Fiesta 1.0 Ecoboost coming over. So its a good range of choice for us.

• Viva la France on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:34 pm

The gti is the one to have if Peugeot is able to finally make a worthy successor to the original 205gti 30 years later ..

• Driver of Cars on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:41 pm

Good looks and solid to me. Is there a sedan version of this 208?

• Nope. Not as a 2-series anyway. If there is a replacement for the 207 sedan, it is the 301.

• Self-proclaimed Sultan of Bulu on Mar 07, 2013 at 11:19 pm

Being Naza, I think they will position it above the Kia Rio. I guess it should be within the range of RM80,000 to RM90,000. I heard the all-new Kia Forte is launching end of this month..

Naza price range

RM 70k – RM 80k : Kia Rio hatchback
    RM 80k – RM 90k : Peugeot 207 hatchback
    RM 90k – RM 115k : Kia Forte sedan
    RM 100k – RM 125k : Peugeot 308 sedan & hatchback
    RM 145k : Kia Optima
    RM 155k – RM 210k : Peugeot 508
    RM 165k : Citroen DS4
    RM 195k : Citroen DS5

As an alternative to the Inokom/Hyundai i10.. NAZA PLEASE BRING IN THE KIA/NAZA PICANTO/MORNING AND PRICE IT UNDER RM50k!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • green on Mar 08, 2013 at 12:20 am

U are quite good at estimating the New coming Forte to be at Elantra MD price range,

which is whopping RM10k price increase..

• Myself heard from KIA SA too that the next gen Kia K3/Forte price will be placed at 100k-110k, same range as Elantra/Altis/Civic/Slyphy. No more less then 100k

• I think maybe the naming would be Kia Forte K3 as of Kia Optima K5

• Maserati on Mar 08, 2013 at 12:00 am

Will never buy korean, french crap. French especially. Damn unrealible electronics and all.

Just go ask pug 308 turbo owners. Crappy car at best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 38
    • Ya, Korean and French car is not as reliable as Jap car, but H,T & N badge are a bit boring.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 5
    • Maserat- Then I doubt you have any knowledge about French cars rather than hearsay…

• sepul on Mar 08, 2013 at 12:06 am

I think the pricing will be in the 70-80k range if not near to 90k. The Fiesta and Polo is considered the most expensive (Jazz excluded) with similar equipment.

While both distributor is Naza, they are different company still, so their pricing point may be similar since both need to get sales.

This year is a great time for B segment hatchbacks! Now when will Ford bring the Fiesta facelift? With 1.0 Ecoboost hopefully.

• Polo 1.2 turbocharged TSI + 7speed DSG
      Fiesta 6 speed Dual-clutch powershift, best in class handling
      208..?? nothing

and you called that “similar equipped”? lolzz…

watch this review and you know.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=umdmfWcWR6Y

“Handling Fiesta still the Best”
      “Ergonomics Polo still the Best”
      “Interior quality, even Kia Rio is better”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 15
      • Mat Global on Mar 08, 2013 at 10:56 am

One thing i tend to disagree with Polo and Golf is the egronomics of the car.
        You sit low in the car.The car itself is short of height and worse the ground clearance is low too.
        Second hand value- used car dealers are reluctant to commit.
        But, ride & handling, comfort and smooth power is tip top.

• Mat Global on Mar 08, 2013 at 11:24 am

sorry, ergonomics not the wrongly print.

• there is a height adjustable seat,,, vw had thought out all the things for you ,,, lolzzz

• sepul on Mar 08, 2013 at 12:09 pm

Yes, similar. I did say that. I didn’t say same equipment.

208 has the looks. Besides, the car is not launched yet here, so how can you tell the 208 has nothing?

• same to u la,,, how u know the price n specs before u compare,,, lolzzz

• neutral on Mar 08, 2013 at 12:54 am

great looking car…NAZA had hinted that gti would follow soon…I would expect gti to be in 130k-150k range…competing with fiesta ST…which I also think will come with the fiesta facelift

• beatnik on Mar 08, 2013 at 8:06 am

Nice! I would like to see the 1.6 THP 3-door version made available here..

• Nice Car..no doubt Peugeot car designs are a beauty..i hope the company wont go bust tho..it made a 5 billion euro net loss in 2012

• Abg Long on Mar 08, 2013 at 8:34 am

very smart design. luv it.

• unforgiven on Mar 08, 2013 at 8:56 am

Neo replacement or current Neo price? Do it!

• KingPin on Mar 08, 2013 at 9:34 am

Price is arnd RM 90k. Shld be the 1.6vti variant. It will indeed be a very peppy car to drive arnd city. Gti will be the 200bhp variant and comes in manual only…prepare the moolah for the GTi!

• Heroin on Mar 08, 2013 at 10:33 am

What do you think guys between this 208 and Rio?

• Rio is Korean so it comes with Korean quality… 208 is much better

• Sai=Psy on Mar 08, 2013 at 10:36 am

Is a good to have more choice, still love design of Clio over this in small hot hatch.

• low class brand for low class people to drive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 47
    • No to Japanese Car on Mar 08, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Im sure u re low class ppl. Just Shut your mouth !!!! Only T is low class brand for low class ppl like you.

• BigT-are you a big shot? What car do you drive? Honda city?

• Ahmadfaris93 on Mar 08, 2013 at 12:52 pm

If this car comes in at 80k price range and comes with an engine which is less than 100bhp, I’d say dont bother to go up against the Fiesta and the Swift. Knowing it’s a French, RV would not be convincing. Heck, they have to at least compensate with a slightly more powerful engine. Even the Rio’s engine output is quite fair. However, nothing beats the Fiesta in this category at the moment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • To be fair the Fiesta handles better but the quality of Pug 208 interior is much better…

• Henry on Mar 08, 2013 at 1:27 pm

Price and specs should be in the Fiesta 1.6 AT territory. The 156 THP variant (if available here) would be priced much higher.

• sepul on Mar 08, 2013 at 6:01 pm

Btw, the 3 door one in the pic is not the XY. If you guys look carefully, XY has different rim design, front grille also slightly different. That is how the 3 door look compared to the 5 door version.

Maybe it does come with panoramic roof?

• KingPin on Mar 09, 2013 at 1:31 pm

3 door is the GTi with panoramic roof. all 5 door units are 1.6vti which produces 120bhp, good enough for city driving. The goodies on this car is pretty impressive. 6 airbags in a b segment must be a first i think, correct me if im wrong

• puhfg on Mar 09, 2013 at 4:21 pm

why no 4 door turbo version b segment at 80k ?

• Ahmadfaris93 on Mar 09, 2013 at 6:38 pm

Malaysia mahhh. Of course dont have, only the over rm100k Polo have turbo. Look at the US market, even the 1.4 Chevrolet Sonic comes with turbo

• intermilan on Mar 12, 2013 at 12:57 am

The blue colour 3-door 208 above couldn’t be the 208 XY as XY got a different front grille design and alloy wheels.

And the same could be said if one thinks its a GTi. Its not a GTi as GTi also have different front grille design and alloy wheels.

Therefore, it is in my opinion that the blue colour 208 is a.. Peugeot 208 Feline THP 156.

Some expected specs n facts:
    rear spoiler
    twin chromed tailpipes
    panoramic glass roof
    6-speed manual gearbox (could it come w/ an auto?)
    max speed 215km/h
    0-100km/h in 8.1 sec
    17-inch Oxygen alloy wheels
    kerb weight of only 1090 kg (very good)

Overall, it should be good but its not as good as a GTi should be…. well.. it never was in the first place.

The waiting continues..

• intermilan on Mar 12, 2013 at 11:22 am

Update:

A fox told me that these 208 will not come with thp engine. All comes with 120vti only. I guess all come with auto gb but hope no more 4-speed AL4.
      So they really want to minimise the headache that comes with THP engine.
      This also will allow them to price all 208 below rm100k (as CBU 3-door 208 THP might cost buyer >rm100k).

Pretty understandable as the smart move is to make 208 as affordable n reachable to as many people as possible as it had to be nasim best/volume seller. 308 sales look like dead wood already. And 207 never took off as expected n now look like being phased out. Nasim need a new volume seller n 208 fit the bill. So too the 301, but that’s another story.

GTI version might come later this year.

• Think 207 sedan had been phased out as it is not shown at the website. guess the price of 208 may be ard 70-80k.

• it was mentioned that it will start from rm90k. let’s hope you are right.

• chiinok on Mar 19, 2013 at 1:18 am

It’ll be priced within 80-90k.. to those interested, booking of 900 will be refunded if not satisfied with the price factor.. You’ve got to really seat in this 208 and grasp the steering then only will most of those talking bs comparing with Fiesta would know why the 208 is way above it.

• jenny on May 14, 2014 at 11:31 am

hi, im considering peugeot 208, ford fiesta and honda jazz. which one should i go for? will it be a lot of problem if i go for peugeont 208?