Nissan Dayz, Mitsubishi eK – jointly-developed minicar

mitsubishi ek wagon

Nissan and Mitsubishi have announced the names of a jointly-developed minicar that will go on sale in Japan beginning in June. The Nissan version will be called the Dayz, while the Mitsubishi model will be known as the eK.

Each will have two variants, these being the Nissan Dayz and the Dayz Highway Star, and the Mitsubishi eK Wagon and eK Custom. Naming-wise, Mitsubishi’s choice is derived from the Japanese term “ee kei,” meaning “good minicar,” while the Nissan name has the standard “s” changed to a “z” to indicate a new way of looking at delivering value to owners as they go about their normal days, so it goes.

nissan dayz

The product planning and development of the new models was carried out by NMKV, a joint-venture formed by Nissan and Mitsubishi in 2011 to develop minicars for the Japanese market.

Following this first wave of minicar models, both companies are working on the planning and development of a second new minicar, a tall wagon design that’s slated for introduction sometime in early 2014.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• tycoon88 on Mar 08, 2013 at 9:46 pm

how come DAYZ look quite similar to our MyVi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
    • quit this look similar that look similar thingy.. every new model sure got someone mentioned that :(

• Sam Loo on Mar 09, 2013 at 10:58 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 184
        • Vader on Mar 10, 2013 at 7:24 pm

Shame Loo, how much Toyota pay u?
          If the pay not bad, do recommend ya…
          By the way, seem that u did improve yourself, add in vios instead of hilux only.

• rempit on Mar 11, 2013 at 12:51 am

Now he don’t mention about hilux no more coz his hilux was tapau-ded by my kapcai in kesas highway.

• alias11 on Mar 11, 2013 at 11:30 am

If you don’t like it than pls don’t bother to divert the attention other cars especially vios. The fact that you rec vios is sickening and vios sucks

• I sure you mean like toyota’s Passo. There’s no such thing as OUR car

• Oops..sorry. Forgot about Preve. But that doesn’t make me less pessimist of Malaysian automotive industry :P

• Self-proclaimed Sultan of Bulu on Mar 08, 2013 at 10:32 pm

I prefer the look of the Nissan than the Mitsubishi. Proton, what a missed oppurtunity, you could have worked together with them, share the R&D cost and put your Lotus knowhow together or make it as your Asean hub. Fail! Now you could just sit there and see Perodua and Toyota ahead of your standings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Sam Pooh on Mar 08, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Hail the Japanese technology and god like RESALE VALUE! Maybe they are actually god incarnate!

• Green on Mar 08, 2013 at 11:26 pm

Nissan styling may be more acceptable by the crowds.
    Nissan itself already has higher brand name, why mitsu not willing to put more effort to build it nice to beat nissan?

Or the chasis built by Mitsu? the car built from Mitsu plant? If it is, then it make sense why Mitsu use a slightly lower design language on the new minicar.

• Ben Ben on Mar 08, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Dat EK… I haz a sadding…

• BabeMoon on Mar 09, 2013 at 2:19 am

not bad…new market for mitsu and nissan

• gOOsh on Mar 09, 2013 at 8:32 am

both have been tried by proton to become partner… at the end they themselve are partner… poor proton…

• Kalun on Mar 09, 2013 at 8:56 am

Look like a mini version of 86/BRZ

• protonsucks on Mar 09, 2013 at 11:42 am

dear all sam loo, all jokes get old and u r old, so move on with the RV jokes. it aint funny anymore

• Gundalabala on Mar 09, 2013 at 3:11 pm

The next Perodua car, perhaps?

• It looks like the size of a mitsu-I. Is it based on that platform?

• Sharing on Mar 10, 2013 at 10:37 am

The first model of eK Wagon was introduced on year 2001.
    The second model was on 2006

• DayZ? So do we hunt down zombies in that little compact car. :D

• It’s more like “DEYYY.. ZZZZ”

• much better compared to cramp mirage

• alias11 on Mar 11, 2013 at 11:37 am

People buy cars because many reason ie brand, design, individual pref n etc…as far as i’m concern RV n especially toyota + sam loo can go to hell…

• vee-oh on Mar 11, 2013 at 1:15 pm

Mitsubishi design look better, but Nissan also not bad..but both are the right one to go for

• Abg Long on Mar 11, 2013 at 2:43 pm

Proton actually can come out with a good car.. the problem is they do it in slow motion..