VW Golf Mk7 crowned 2013 European Car of the Year

Volkswagen Golf 05

The new Volkswagen Golf has been crowned the 2013 European Car of the Year, becoming only the second repeat winner (after the Renault Clio’s double reign in 1991 and 2006) in the coveted award’s 50-year run. Volkswagen last clinched the award three years ago with the current Polo, with the other title won by the Golf Mk3 back in 1992.

Lighter and more efficient than the car it replaces, the latest Mk7 Golf took the award by a considerable margin, scoring close to double the number of points compared to its closest challenger, the Toyota 86/Subaru BRZ pair. The other finalists, sorted by points tally are the Volvo V40, Ford B-Max, Mercedes-Benz A-Class, Renault Clio, Peugeot 208 and Hyundai i30.

Europe’s official Car of the Year awards is one of the oldest and most renowned in the continent, at last count consisting of 58 automotive journalists from 22 countries to test, compare and evaluate new cars under a broad range of criteria such as fuel efficiency, comfort, safety, driving properties, functionality, design and technological progress.

So what do you think of the outcome, is the new Golf a deserving winner?

Local Malaysian launch of the latest Volkswagen Golf is imminent, and the car has already been spotted in Putrajaya last month. We now know it’s a winner, so bring out the chequebooks, will ya?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• KarthikM on Mar 08, 2013 at 11:14 am

Golf wins, yet again..!! Tho I really hope they sorted out the problem on the 7DSG..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
    • Jimmy on Mar 08, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Well, I think there must be intelligent persons/engineers in VW that can solve the 7DSG problems if it is really a big issue. VW is continuing the usage of 7DSG and they never listen to Malaysians’ voices, I guess. The Europeans voted this Golf and I presumed it doesn’t come with 7DSG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • 87% of all Golf sold in Europe are manual. Europeans neither like auto nor DSG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • ghost on Mar 09, 2013 at 9:10 am

Same design, got bored already

• lambo_lembu on Mar 09, 2013 at 9:18 am

They ditched out one charger, detuned the engine to lesser hp, why it still wins. Maybe there is no better car in Europe already lol

• Sam Loo on Mar 09, 2013 at 11:35 am

Because Europeans know about the faulty DSG. The DSG memang the biggest scandal but covered up or swept under the carpet. But in Asia, women tak pandai manual, so auto has become the standard. So, who to blame? Women lah

• At least they sell 18 times more Golf’s than Toyota’s in Europe. So they don’t seem to care of this “scandal”.

• Sam Loo on Mar 08, 2013 at 11:04 pm

Well said mohd.

• Sam Loo on Mar 09, 2013 at 11:19 am

VW got such bad RV in Malaysia. Not just bad RV, after sales also kaput. Maybe in Europe Car of the year but in Malaysia, it is Worst After Sales Service of the Year. VW, do something about your falling RV. My Hilux can smoke the Golf anytime.

• driver on Mar 10, 2013 at 1:53 am

Haha.. I don’t care about the ‘value/content’ about your comment anymore.. but it’s always make me laugh. I hereby crown you the “RV Guy”.. happy?

• protonsucks on Mar 08, 2013 at 1:00 pm

the new golf have already sorted out the DSG problems.

by the way i wanna know if the DSG for the old golf are affected among the 1.4 models only ? or both GTI and TSI models

• Proton Saga Kejayaan Malaysia (or so it thinks) on Mar 08, 2013 at 3:17 pm

The TSI dry clutch is the one with the problem. The GTi uses a 6-speed wet clutch which is ok.

• VW Germany Listen Listen Listen Listen…previous DSG hav problem,After sale service hav problem! pls improve ur after sale service in M’sia and pls pick up the phone! i hope to see VW M’sia on FB fan page more positive comments than negative comments!

• Try FA Wagen at Glenmarie..its SC is good. Bttr than my Nissan Teana’s SC there

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Mar 08, 2013 at 11:30 am

Congrats VW, but at the same time I wish VW buckle up their after sale service & at least keep some spare parts within Malaysia region. Because there are many cases VW owners frustrating for spare parts. Keep it up VW, I fully support “Das Auto”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • If d sales keep increasing, they shd hav stock up more spare parts. this will help to reduce d maintenance costs n later beat Toyo. Bravo VW.

• jinggo on Mar 08, 2013 at 11:38 am

The Merc A class FTW!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Congratulation VW , though I can’t say that I’am surprised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
  • downsys on Mar 08, 2013 at 11:47 am

Hafriz, what’s that almost round shaped thing on the front bumper? Is it a camera?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 08, 2013 at 12:31 pm

That’s the front radar sensor for the Adaptive Cruise Control function. It measures and maintains the distance to the car in front when cruise control is activated. All the test cars present at the press preview drive in Sardinia were such equipped, hence my pictures above, but unfortunately it looks like our local cars will not have that feature.

• Abg Long on Mar 08, 2013 at 11:58 am

wow! well done VW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
  • Look at VW MY Facebook page compare to other brand, you will see a lot more complains. Do they really care about after sales service? All the hardwork of great product and marketing is undone by shoddy client service.

• Sam Loo on Mar 08, 2013 at 11:06 pm

VW and euros screwed up does not automatically mean that the Japs did the same

• sudonano on Mar 08, 2013 at 12:19 pm

AH I thought the 86/BRZ will win. Nevertheless, the Golf is a very good contender. Hope the 7DSG is fixed.

• 2013 European Car of the Year?? am i in 2014?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • of course 2013, coz need to evaluate all the cars that release until december 2013

• Runyakhunts on Mar 08, 2013 at 1:41 pm

buying a VW in Malaysia is like dining in a Michelin restaurant while being served by a waiter digging their nose in front of you. All hard work by VW into assembling an excellent affordable car is gone to waste by the miserable customer service we have here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Gavin on Mar 08, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Well after germany practically saved the euro, if they say their car is the best, you had damn well agree if you know what’s good for you

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 175 Thumb down 145
  • Simon Ng on Mar 08, 2013 at 3:12 pm

Well done VW! With car prices so high, I might probably be able to afford the 2013 car of the year in 2023.

• Maserati on Mar 08, 2013 at 3:20 pm

VW engineers in germany really do know how to make fantastic cars.

But the thing is, it is distributed here in malaysia by companies who are controlled by typical chinaman. Every sen is counted.

They dont keep stock for the spare parts because the y cost alot!! For example, a clutch for the dsg gearbox cost RM6k.

Imagine if they stock up, all their cash will be stuck thr. Thats y my mums golf tsi replacement clutch until now havent arrive. Been a few months already.

Vw really need to improve on their after sales. Really insufficient service centres. Need to make service appointments 2 months in advance!! Ridiculous!

And they only stock up on consumables which they can recover their cash fast. Spare parts? U slowly wait la

• Proton Saga Kejayaan Malaysia (or so it thinks) on Mar 08, 2013 at 3:26 pm

Well deserved laa. The T and the H should learn how people make cars. When people say all new, it’s really all new. Even the steel used to make the MQB platform is revolutionary.

• really new? cam sama je aku tengok heheh

• Jimmy on Mar 08, 2013 at 5:26 pm

You tengok-tengok aje.
        Or maybe you are just kidding.
        Jangan tukar warna cat pun panggil ‘all-new’ or ‘facelift’, typical of ……

• Ah Beng on Mar 08, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Better than CRZ and this proves it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Ah Beng on Mar 08, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Better than those crapy kia or hyundai.

• Ah Beng on Mar 08, 2013 at 5:30 pm

The people’s car, the people’s champion.
    If you smell…… what the golf is cooking.

• Deenana on Mar 08, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Senang je VW nak buat org malaysia beli kereta VW. Turunkan harga sama level dengan Toyota atau Honda dan banyakkan pusat servis. Spare parts pun kena banyak stok. Masa tu, akan bersepahlah kereta VW. Nama pun The Peoples’ Car. Baru la bersaing betul2 dengan kereta Jepun. Kereta banyak laku VW jugak untung. Kalau keadaan sekarang, memang tak menang la VW berbanding T atau H. Economy of Scale kata orang putih??

• Rocket on Mar 08, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Bukan VW tak mahu turunkan harga, tapi G yang mahu untung banyak2 dan protect kereta jaguh kampung P1. Ingat Polo Gti dan Passat CC? G yang naikkan harga kereta dua2 tu.

• metagross on Mar 09, 2013 at 9:52 am

dari mr.google, VW=people’s car, slogan Das Auto=the car.. Surely from price alone we know the term people’s car cant be used in Malaysia. Its more to the das auto.. And ofcoz their planning is diff

• Viva la France on Mar 08, 2013 at 6:52 pm

I am sure it is a well deserved win for the golf; but the voters do not take into account service issues! Ditto comments about VW “service ” centers! I have seen some of the service advisors really trying their best And working their butts off but this is not backed up by the technicians behind the scenes. Being a VW Service Advisor must be one of the most frustrating jobs in malaysia

• told you so on Mar 09, 2013 at 12:12 am

told you so..
    i used to be a fan of bmw (still am) but the volkswagens of today are so good (try one if you don’t believe) that if feels not worth it to spend so much extra on a bmw (at least in malaysia where bmws cost so much more).

• amirad on Mar 09, 2013 at 10:12 am

Beemers still ultimate driving machines. Veedub is a poors man beemer n I’m the poor man.

• Jimmy on Mar 09, 2013 at 2:10 pm

‘ultimate driving machines’ in your bmw car number plates automatically means something, true?
        I always advised the autorised: your big name please.

• mizan on Mar 10, 2013 at 11:24 am

bawak masuk Golf manual la.lebih seronok

• Car Hire Birmingham Airport on Mar 11, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Hi, Congrats for win “Mk7 Golf Award” of the year 2013.