Volvo premieres world-first cyclist detection tech

VolvoCyclistDetection_01

Always at the forefront of prevention and active safety, Volvo has unveiled another world-first in automotive crash mitigation, this time a technology that detects and automatically brakes for cyclists swerving out in front of the car. The new feature works in unison with the company’s existing active braking systems, and will be packaged as Pedestrian and Cyclist Detection with full auto brake.

The addition makes use of new advanced software, including more rapid vision processing to extend the present detection and auto brake technology to cover certain cyclist situations. The system is able to detect cyclists and slow-moving motorcycles in the same lane as the car and would apply the brakes if a collision is imminent. In such situations, the driver will get an instant audio and visual warning before full braking power is applied if necessary.

Volvo can take credit for all automotive detection and auto brake technologies to date, having premiered the first-generation brake support in 2006 to pedestrian detection with full auto brake in 2010. Now that the system is able to detect cyclists too, the next step for Volvo is to include animal detection into the technology.

This new feature will be made available on the latest Volvo V40, S60, V60, XC60, V70, XC70 and S80 models in Europe later this year. It would sure come in handy with local motorcyclists who swerve in and out through traffic as they like, making future Volvos truly and literally idiot-proof.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Latuk Bandar on Mar 08, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Not approved by Tiger Woods’ ex-wife

• brian on Mar 08, 2013 at 3:39 pm

We need this for the motorcyclists detection…and not the front view only, we need it for sides and rear detection

• this is pretty useless n stupid .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • Azmil San on Mar 08, 2013 at 9:27 pm

i dont see any good reason why u saying this safety feature is useless and stupid.. pls enlighten us..

• _xXx_ on Mar 09, 2013 at 3:50 pm

we want something that can detect Mat Rempits oops sorri, mat cemerlang with evil intention and not ordinary cyclists

• Richard on Mar 08, 2013 at 3:42 pm

This system could give rise to increased likelihood of getting rear-ended by the car behind given the culture of motorcyclists in the city. The brake pads will likely wear out a lot quicker too since the system may end up working in overdrive mode!

• Bongcs on Mar 08, 2013 at 4:12 pm

can design,

Virgin detection ?

• perodua on Mar 08, 2013 at 5:13 pm

In Malaysia Cyclist detection is useless. Better make in Police detection. More practical.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Jimmy on Mar 08, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Drive carefully ya kampung guys, don’t take for granted roads are yours.
    Do not ride in the middle of the road (garis putus-putus berwarna putih), nor right lane when your speed is only 60km/j.

• WRX_STI_9 on Mar 08, 2013 at 9:03 pm

I thought Subaru’s eyesight technology was the world’s first ?

http://www.google.co.jp/imgres?imgurl=http://images.thetruthaboutcars.com/2012/03/Subaru-Eyesight-01.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.thetruthaboutcars.com/2012/03/subaru-uses-stereo-3d-tech-in-new-eyesight-adas/subaru-eyesight-system_610x528/&h=350&w=530&sz=100&tbnid=P9U1dNuPtMBk7M:&tbnh=90&tbnw=136&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dsubaru%2Beyesight%26tbm%3Disch%26tbo%3Du&zoom=1&q=subaru+eyesight&usg=__JZsuKqf9pPV6t7m6gFI-vFCnxPM=&docid=Srbp8d3BEo1tCM&hl=en&sa=X&ei=u-A5UYk2hLisB5KEgNgH&sqi=2&ved=0CE4Q9QEwBw&dur=157

• ryuki on Mar 08, 2013 at 9:52 pm

So that is the upside of the technology. What about the downside of it?
    To use the advantage to hijack the car

• Greasemonkey on Mar 08, 2013 at 10:32 pm

USELESS AND UNNECESSARY,DESIGNED TO EARN MORE MONEY FROM OWNER,FALSE HOPE..SAFE CAR,FULL OF GADGETS!WHEN WILL THEY LEARN? PLS DON’T BUY VOLVO,ONCE KENA,REGRET FOR LIFE! CHEERS!

• Pokai on Mar 11, 2013 at 12:32 pm

I agree. Volvo for life till nobody want to buy 2nd hand. Can pass on to cucu cicik.

• Nice, cheap, good and tough car! Build Tough..!!

• Illya on Mar 10, 2013 at 11:13 pm

Will the car behind have anti collision systems.
    Look like you will end up with plenty of rear bumper dents. Your Mudguard will be your best friend when you buy this car.
    Better to throw out this function and make it cheaper.

• sAmloo on Mar 11, 2013 at 10:07 am

Why bother with cyclist ? They are a pest. Run them down. Just like rempit.