New Kia Sorento launching this weekend – 2.4L petrol, 6-speed auto, AWD, 5-year warranty, RM158,888

sorento-fl-01
Naza Kia has announced that the facelifted Kia Sorento will be launching this weekend (March 16-17) in conjunction with the nationwide Kia Customer Day. The refreshed Sorento was caught testing on local highways last month, so it doesn’t come as a complete surprise.

Many carmakers use the “all new” or “new” tag liberally these days, but this refreshed Sorento has a strong case. It might look familiar, with just a new face and tail design, but this Sorento sits on a different platform from the car it replaces. The new platform is shared with the latest Hyundai Santa Fe, and Kia also claims a re-engineered bodyshell plus improved ride, handling and refinement.

The chassis joint areas have been strengthened for enhanced body rigidity and better steering stability. There’s less road noise in the cabin as the engine bay is now lined with three-layer noise-lowering materials, together with a new sound insulator in the transmission tunnel. Legroom for the second and third rows have been increased, and the SUV is now lower by 10 mm for easier boarding.

sorento-fl-02

In Malaysia, the new Kia Sorento will be powered by a 2.4 litre Theta II petrol engine with 176 PS and 227 Nm of torque. Power is channeled to the AWD system via a six-speed automatic gearbox with manual override.

The equipment list includes 18-inch wheels, LED DRLs, Supervision cluster, 4.3-inch LCD touch-screen audio system with rear view camera, dual-zone climate control with third row vents, panoramic sunroof (retractable at the front section, motor driven blind), cabin mood lamps, push start button with smart key, leather and Bluetooth/AUX/iPod/USB functions.

Safety wise, there’s Electronic Stability Control (ESC), Hill Assist Control, ABS+EBD and six airbags.

No price change, so you can have one for RM158,888 in Snow Pearl White, Bright Silver, Glittering Metal or Mahogany Brown. Kia is offering a five–year warranty with unlimited mileage for the Sorento. Read and view more of the car here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Outstanding car with excellent RV. OK Sam?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 124
      • i_swear on Mar 12, 2013 at 7:57 pm

Next time copy and paste this comment and replace Naza to UMW in Toyota post. Mr. Hypocrite

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
      • thedarkside on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:39 am

go tell that to toyota for selling under-spec cars with exorbitant price tag

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
    • Petrolhead on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:07 pm

I will get this over the new CRV, despite the CRV is
      10 grand cheaper

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 8
      • Mozilla Chrome on Mar 12, 2013 at 7:24 pm

Yes 10 grand cheaper but that one is 2.0 model..the 2.4 CRV model skyrocketed to 180k++. So I think this Sorento is a better buy if comnpared to 2.4 CRV.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
      • And you will be making lots of friends in petrol stations. This car will guzzle petrol like no tomorrow. Such a heavy car with low pretol power?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 55
      • Astroguy on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:30 pm

Try google kia sorento in US forum. A lot of second hand on sale…
        They are not happy mostly on the fuel consumption, overrated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 59
        • Already google. The one they not happy in USA not this new facelift sorento bcoz this new facelift sorento was set to go on sale in first quarter of 2013, more or less same time wt Msia. In their web also said that GDI 2.4 engine will replace MPI engine from previous facelift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc™ on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:07 am

Alex, i adore your sense of humour!

• Sam Loo on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:01 pm

Very good RV. Agree with you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 14
    • sepul on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:14 pm

Nice to read your comment that agreed to something. Still, is RV that important to you?

• junjun on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:56 pm

MONOLOG HAHA

• Vader on Mar 12, 2013 at 2:21 pm

This is not real Shame Loo..
      His commented mostly the same as below statement:
      “The Korean car price drop 70% within a year, don’t buy it since bad RV. Buy Hilus, good RV.”

• KIA = killed in accident on Mar 12, 2013 at 5:10 pm

@Vader… Sam Loo mentioned Hilux is when you treat your kia and get the word Hilux.. not meant to buy hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • miskin on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:06 pm

macam pajero sport je belakang dia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • KillBox1Alpha on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:07 pm

Very low hp & torque figures for a 2.4l, that too on a large suv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • sepul on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:13 pm

Yep, I agree. Kia should put the diesel engine in this one.

No price change means the facelift is more valuable. Plus it is actually an all new vehicle underneath.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • alldisc™ on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:11 am

after the bad experience of of the previous Sorento diesel, Naza is acting like chicken! no more diesel!!

which is just too bad.

• Abg Long on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:18 pm

i think the previous one looks more macho.. n for me that price is still expensive..

• TIGER on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:21 pm

Again and again i wrote several times in the past “where is DIESEL VERSION as Hyundai santa fe have same engine and technology who already have 2.2 DIESEL ENGINE and i would say sell well so pls bring along DIESEL VERSION PLS.

• Mr Cool on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:22 pm

Cool… but the the engine not cool at all. Should give us turbo diesel.

• TIGER on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:25 pm

natural inspired petrol engine for this SUV makes it under powered so thats why we need TURBO CHARGED DIESEL ENGINE FOR THIS SUV

• Where’s the 2.2 R-series diesel…the petrol is too weak, 2.4 litre Theta II petrol engine with 176 PS and 227 Nm ….

Wake up Naza Kia, a golf/jetta small 1.4 liter TSI have 240nm from low 1,800rpm….this is hopeless & way too underpowered…u need to bring the 2.2 diesel (440nm) Pronto!

• Jimmy on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:29 pm

Good move from Nazakia, jangan-jangan ada orang letak satu ESP on facelift tetapi charge RM6OOO, just wait and see if this is true in 2-year time.
    BTW, I am not the target customer of this SUV, I just want to promote good healthy habits/practice.

• huhu the camry gonna be a prime suspect for that. its facelift gonna add esp+tc but u can bet there’s price increase attached. and its for 2.5 only. the 2.0 no need anyway cos too underpowered to trigger any wheelspin.

• wendy on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:46 pm

the best spec suv at it price.. nice! but still..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • xenogearz™ on Mar 12, 2013 at 2:01 pm

…but still, it’s a KIA? is that what you wanted to say? ;D

• RM158K is damn cheap…..cheaper than Honda CRV 2.0….with 6 airbags summore….Hopefully CRV 2.4 comes with AWD,8 airbags, satnav and sunroof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
    • The Honda CRV 2.0 is RM10k cheaper at RM148,000. But this has more on size and specs though. Thou it still looks great, i am siding the looks of the pre-FL, looks more macho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • ABTguy on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:56 pm

Ya man, diesel is the right engine choice for this type of fuel guzzler

God bless the buyers …..

• gOOsh on Mar 12, 2013 at 2:03 pm

this sorento getting juicier & juicier…
    give ’em some more years & this will level with Q7…

• Sam Loo on Mar 12, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Good price..good value..good RV.. much better than overpriced Honda C-no-RV 2.4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 63
  • goguncas71 on Mar 12, 2013 at 2:59 pm

Any idea on when the new santa fe in coming?

• again and again I tell you, our diesel so bad, some new diesel engines may choke itself due the low quality fuel…..
    Cant bring them in…too risky

• thedarkside on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:47 am

how come hyundai can bring in their diesel santa fe all this while? btw, their are goin to bring in their new santa fe soon and its diesel engine is the same as kia’s(but not currently in nazakia’s offering)

• JackeyDeck on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Come on NazaKia… bring in Pro_ceed, ceed, and the new Forte (Cerato ) already ~

U have done a great job with the K5… keep up faster lah

• alldisc™ on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:26 am

ceed is meant only for european market, as the name suggests (Community of European Excellent Design), even though we still can get a similar model with a Hyundai badge.

• max : how bad our diesel? can you bring in some article pls… coz i consider to grab this sorento if there are the 2.2 diesel (440nm) … any hope the engine will be bring in? and most important, it will fine with our diesel?

• the sulphur content in local diesel is still high even tho there’s a little improvement since euro 2 standard is used. for diesel users this means higher maintenance costs.

for example: the mitsu triton diesel engine is designed for 10k km service interval but in malaysia, mmm recommend 5k km service, 40k km diesel filter change for optimum performance & reliability.

that is some of my experience in using a diesel-engined vehicle. hope it can help

• Ahmoi on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:39 pm

if Santa Fe can run with our diesel, why not this sorento?

• alldisc™ on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:33 am

the main problem with previous Sorento was that NazaKia recommended 10,000km oil change service using fully synthetic oil when the actual fact is:-

1. a turbocharger needs clean engine oil (EO) to lubricate and cool the component. naza experienced a lot of failed turbocharger due to this aspect.

2. naza also experienced many cases of blown engine or failure due to using fully synthetic oil (meant for petrol engines for a long period).

3. the AWD system in the previous Sorento also hurt Naza a lot as there were a lot of product defect related to the system, among them knocking noise while turning.

Naza can always change the system and bring back the turbodiesel as the Sorento was selling well despite similar pricing to Fortuner .

just look at Toyota and their strategy of EO change at 5,000km does bring benefit to many Hilux and Hiace owners and company fleet

• apekgoh on Mar 12, 2013 at 7:02 pm

wait for new sante fe of diesel better la…same diesel engine, looks even better than aging look sorento. if 320d CAN run on our diesel i see why not other car maker diesel engine can’t loh

• Dr Cooper on Mar 12, 2013 at 7:04 pm

they should put in GDI engine and turbocharged it to over 500NM, then it match the look..

• shawal on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:57 pm

Naza kia, why u no bring red kaler wan !
    Bt the timing of the launch couldnt be even more perfect, gives honda crv a run for its money

• Hasan on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Good guy Kia xD

• silver on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:49 pm

is it me or does the back look ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • apamau on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:53 am

After viewing the new CRV, I would say, even the current Sorento is still a better value car, given with this new upgrade, it’s a no brainer if to compare CRV with this sorento, if I am in the market, This one will definitely be my 1st choice, then CX-5 (coz i need 6-7 seater sometimes)…
    Again, can we all agreed when we compare car, let’s don’t put RV into this, else is only lef with Jap cars to buy.. if wanna consider RV, then better save your money to buy house, then take public transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • apamau on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:57 am

And I think that’s lots of request for the diesel version, I guess we are not going to get the Sorento Diesel, Hyundai still selling the Sanfa Fe diesel with about the same price, the diesel engine it’s the only thing left for the current model of santa fe to have upper hand than kia, so, as long as the current santa fe diesel still selling, then it’s hard for kia to have the diesel here. Unless when the New Santa fe kick in… then maybe they will re-consider. we all know they are brother sister, they still need to sell and clear the sante fe.

• apamau: agreed with u…when we compare car, let’s don’t put RV matter…. other than that, considerable depend personal view.

• dont like the “black thing” wrapping around the lower part of body… whats it name? lower side skirt?

• Kelvin Low on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:25 pm

If I am buying, i am going to get a white one, and i will paint it all white at the black skirt.

• I’m also very happy with my new Sorento (facelift). It’s already 1 year. So far no problem. Performance very good and FC also around 9.3 – 9.6 liter/100 km. Just not enough space for luggage, if there is 6 passengers on the board. Overall, i’m satified with my current Sorento.

• Roslan on Jan 24, 2015 at 6:27 pm

KIA..KILL IN ACCIDENT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8