Perodua teases a new vehicle – is it the Alza facelift?

alza

Ah, something’s stirring at Perodua, and it’s due in a couple of days time. A teaser post both on the company’s website and official Facebook page offers a top-down glimpse of a vehicle nose, and judging from the headlamp assembly and the distinct side indicators in it, this could well be the Perodua Alza facelift.

The Alza has been around for more than three years now, having been launched back in November 2009. Since then, the seven-seater has chugged along, with new variants coming about. In 2011, there was the Alza M2 Edition, which was a limited run of 500 units.

Then, last year saw two versions arriving. First, there was the entry-level Alza SR in February, and then the Alza Advanced Version – which added leather seats, GPS navigation and bodykit – debuted in July.

But everything has been accomplished through kit, with no mechanical revisions – the 104 PS and 136 Nm 3SZ-VE 1.5 litre DVVT mill and five-speed manual/four-speed auto transmission have puttered along unchanged since launch, and there haven’t been any significant alterations elsewhere either.

Which means it’s just about time for the Alza to get a midlife reskin and rework. The eyeblaster teaser states that whatever’s popping up on March 14 will have more features and more value. What do you think, is it the new Alza?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Green on Mar 12, 2013 at 2:23 am

Possible:
    1. Perodua Viva @ 5 year cycle has over
    2. Perodua Alza @ mid cycle facelift.. but do i need to mark my calendar for this? there’s enough of different Alza version introduced from time to time, from RM53k up to RM73k… what features they can add in?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 12, 2013 at 2:33 am

Ah, you’re right, the Viva slipped my mind and is a possibility. But the headlamp and its unique indicator layout does suggest the Alza.

• I want a sedan.

• Jimmy on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:36 pm

I want:
        1. Certificate of vehicle ownership. RM3k for all vehicles below 1500cc, after that RM20 per cc till 2500cc, then RM100 per cc.
        2. With No.1 in place, the car taxes are reduced to 10% import tax + 10% sales tax. No APs and no excise duty.
        Nobody should ask for totally tax-free vehicles.
        Rakyat2s need the tax money, and don’t eat our tax money ya as I am paying and willing to pay 100% tax consistently.

• Jimmy on Mar 12, 2013 at 5:56 pm

Certificate of ownership is valid for maximum 20 years only, then automatically the vehicle cannot go on road.
          For 2nd hand vehicles, I suggest that since the ‘tax’ is paid by 1st owner already, so the certificate of ownership can be transferable to the buyer at a price of max 50% of the original fee(this rule is to be set by gov) and this price is determined by the seller, not by any authority, and the authority can charge the buyer a 10% transfer processing fee.

• Sam Loo on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:00 am

Perodua is the poor man’s Toyota. They know Toyota engine and RV is good but yet, they cannot afford Toyota. So, they go for Perodua, which uses the same VVTi engine and also good RV. But Perodua drivers should stop behaving like Samseng on the road. You are using Toyota name and engine, behave yourself!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 68
      • Expatriate VN on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:51 am

Are you inflicted by Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD) with regard to aversion to particularly your comedian of never ending repeating RV subject-matter!

Read here about OCD,

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Obsessive%E2%80%93compulsive_disorder

You may need Serotonin prescription to overcome your obsession with RV ….! Please go and consult specialist doctor with regard to your nuisance and comedian posting of RV in PT Blog!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
      • Dru-Zod on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:22 am

I support Toyota but everytime I read your posts, you give Toyota owners a bad rap. At least we have well made and good quality cars from Perodua to buy given the car buying limitations placed on us for sake of protecting Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Toilet king on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:00 pm

Stereotype minded ‘loo’.

• Skywalker on Mar 12, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Not all Perodua drives are samseng on the road. I notice lots of Perodua drives are ladies, some are old and young. And they might be richer that you do. You should respect all human mankind, include your love one or family.

• Darris on Mar 13, 2013 at 1:33 am

Agreed. Few of aunties I known have E class and they bought a MyVi to go pasar.

• PeRuT on Mar 12, 2013 at 11:58 am

Facelift after facelift. A-Z edition yawn…zzzzzz

• Sumsum on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:01 am

Cvt and vsc?

• Hasan on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:02 am

Alzah. Exorah is bettah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 18
  • kicap on Mar 12, 2013 at 6:13 am

looks like new alza

• mohsin on Mar 12, 2013 at 7:03 am

New tagline:
    Lagi best get Better!
    I’m the best, mah!

• KillBox1Alpha on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:04 am

Probably put some after market kits from an accessory and call it face lift….pehhh

• gOOsh on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:05 am

frankly speaking, alza’s build up quality and ride are good… only disappoint on the price tag…
    anyway, good move p2…

• theanswer on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:44 am

is it true? intersted with alza..but afraid it’s juts a myvi on steroid..currently i drive 6+yrs old myvi.

• jolly_idiot on Mar 12, 2013 at 12:47 pm

Get other better ride bro. Don’t settle only with perodua car. You deserve better.

• gOOsh on Mar 12, 2013 at 2:21 pm

i think it’s true theanswer. based on my previous ride last dec. in sabah… from kk to kudat & kundasang, full load with people & luggage… and good fc summore…

• Anonymous on Mar 12, 2013 at 2:12 pm

If Alza build-up quality is good, I would not have to send mine for 3 major repairs… Quality sucks to the max…!

• azrai on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:06 am

Yor..more feature..more value..and we can ripped more from you..

• hafiz on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:14 am

Yet..this 14 march new facelift myvi also will be introduce

• no Alza laa… this is Myvi 1.3 + myvi 1.5 SE bodykit… so it call myvi 1.3 SE.. that all.

• Gladiator on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:58 am

ya u right…alrd saw d leaked pictures of new myvi 1.3 se on few myvi club website and forum. there’s new orange colour for this version.

• pujangga on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:19 am

More valuable cars…that’s the promise..more cheaper…

• Kalun on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:30 am

Meh.
    As usual. Look like a longer wheelbase Myvi. With an underpower engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • rosdi on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:41 am

Knowing perodua… it is just another variant of their existing car… they where got r&d.

I think it is Myvi super duper lahad datu edition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • hatchy on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:45 am

regardless what models, one thing for sure is this is a FACELIFT….. what name will the calls this FT model?

let’s me guess, ALZA Superlifted Advanced Version

• Caruser on Mar 12, 2013 at 12:01 pm

my guess it will be called Alza Botox Super Series. New on the outside, old on the inside

• rifle on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:51 am

Yup..I can assure u, this is the facelifted alza, but not much different from the current alza though

• vee-oh on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:05 am

ah Alza, good FC, easy to maintain, comfortable..safe bet although handling wise feels like boat in a storm

• Anonymous on Mar 12, 2013 at 2:16 pm

I disagree on all counts with the exception of the last statement…

Good FC…? I think newer engines do much better FC. This damn piece of junk is underpowered. Power-to-weight ratio is off the chart.

Easy to maintain…? Wait until your warranty expires. You’ll be rushing to sell this piece of junk.

Comfortable…? Have you driven it long distance…?

• honesy on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:09 am

I hope the new alza to upgrade on its rear brake fr drum to solid disk, gear changer to gated shift look alike, cvt or dual vvti engine for better drive and fuel save, electronic front seat, hand rest for the front seats, wider body width for stability, longer body length bcoz last rear seat is completely cramp,1.5 to at least 1.6 turbo charger,tinted glass bcoz of hot weather in Malaysia, filtered or plasma air conditioner, superb sound system,sure every body will buy.

• theanswer on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:45 am

dual vvti? dream on. even vios n camry 2.0 didnt get dual vvti. *hopefully new vios get dual vvti.

• theanswer on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:48 am

all your demand depends on passo sette..if passo sette didnt have any of ur demand..of course it wont happen to alza. guys have to remember alza is ‘ckd’ passo..so the spec wont be more than ori/cbu passo.

• Caruser on Mar 12, 2013 at 11:57 am

if you get what you wish for in the new alza, many ppl would not be able afford it

• start-a-figt on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:09 am

when say more value, i interpret as more pricey..

• Josh Ling on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:16 am

Let’s hope it is not another special edition or limited edition…..Perodua is very good at coming up with different special editions instead of giving the cars a facelift or something to be excited about.

• Gondar on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:18 am

I think it will be S-series launch.

• Tak Suka Perodua on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:27 am

Another junk yard coming forward to kill more malaysian on the road bcz lack of safety and solid body structure…

• saiful on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:34 am

a p2 sales agent nearby is saying ‘booking for new facelift myvi is now open’. current myvi version is given ‘some’ discount between 1k to 2k… :-(

• palehotak on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:39 am

yeay, new nautica is coming hahahahaha

• Expatriate VN on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:40 am

midlife reskin and rework can be described and means: –
    Face-lift, cosmetic change, upgrading, “old wine in the new bottle”, re-engineering, rejuvenating, re-do, upgrading, fine-tuning …………

Then the post …. as above-mentioned …… process, it may be known as: –

1) Lagi Best Lagi Bagus Edition.
    2) Special Sport Edition.
    3) Premium Limited Edition.
    4) Alza Neo ……
    5) ….. “any other name for the sake of to boost sales” …..

The true sad stories out there will be repeating, that is the poor and ugly consumers with damn cheap life have to live with low cost, under specs, 1 to 3 star NCAP rating and over inflated car under NAP.

• those hoping for any mechanical changes to the alza or any other p2 models during facelift: brace yourself for disappointment. from past experiences, the most is a different front fascia, interior trim changes, more kits and of course, price increase.
    no cvt cos p2 are still producing the ‘advanced’ EATS(their words) 4AT. probably upgrade to eps, add rear aircon vents. anyway its a facelift so dont hope for any major changes.

• Other than the bench seats and really good air conditioning system, oh! and the price, that’s not much positive of the Alza. Instead the negatives easily outweights it to the point I avoid driving the one on my porch at as much as I can.

• Anonymous on Mar 12, 2013 at 2:18 pm

I regret buying one, but since my neighborhood has terrible parking manners, mine’s always a few houses away from my porch collecting dust…

• I can confirm that 1.3 myvi will get se bodykit, price unchanged..49k

• lauyiachia on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:19 am

2 Doors convertible Viva would be nice for a cheap “SMART” Wannabe since they are not importing the later anymore.

• Newbuyer on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:42 am

Its a facelift Viva, the front is the same as Daihatsu Mira.
    View their 3D model here :-
    http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/simulator/mira/index.htm

• confused on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:45 am

Jokes aside. With only 3 models and for only God knows countless versions of them, P2 still beats P1 in term of sales. I wonder what mistake P1 did.

• Marshal03 on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:58 am

Info from friend at P2: a new facelift for myvi, wit new color and accessories

• totti on Mar 12, 2013 at 11:34 am

For improvement. Alza should include the following:

1)air-cond blower at second row.
    2)increase the storage length by 100mm.
    3) Slidable seat for 3rd row for adult.
    4) bigger or more muscular head lamp.
    5) provide glass at Back pillar to camuflash with the window. (Like Astima)

• wanah on Mar 12, 2013 at 11:37 am

Sales guy from Perodua said my HP loan is hold due to government want to reduce the vehicle price this week. but i call bank, they said no such thing gonna happen (price reduce). can somebody explain either Perodua or Banker want to play on me?

by the way – the newcoming perodua model is Myvi 1.3 SE with new facelift. just saw it

• Is there any changes in Perodua Alza ? Price ?
    I just got a call from my car dealer yesterday, he said, there is something new add-in on Alza. Is it true? Does anyone know something about it?

• Anonymous on Mar 12, 2013 at 2:21 pm

You wanna know something about it – Alza is a car that you should avoid.

• altimatess on Mar 12, 2013 at 12:19 pm

From the pic, that is definitely an Alza because only Alza has turn lights at the upper part of the headlamp, and I own one.

• hafiz on Mar 12, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Hahaha hey bro those s4 picture aleeady leaked lahhh check out gsmarena.com

• To bad mine 3SZ VE myvi extreme 1.5 has been installed with blizt compressor stage 1…leaving all behind….fiuuuuuuhhh~

• Run for life on Mar 12, 2013 at 12:57 pm

not so attractive
    though “facelift” is as title

• nabill on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:05 pm

lets jus say march 14 will probably be remembered more for the samsung s4 launch rather than an alza facelift !

• einstein on Mar 12, 2013 at 2:09 pm

yeah perodua is very creative in stretching or refreshing the same model for 10 years. bravo

• hanifhamzah on Mar 12, 2013 at 2:17 pm

i heard from a reliable source that on 14th march most probably Myvi 1.3SE will be launched…so just wait n see…

• We should expect for the Perodua to launch the Myvi 1.3 SE too as it will be replacing the Premium and Elegance variant with the price of 50k. New colour would be RED I guess.

Here’s a link for the picture that was spotted on the truck.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/602238_223738574435201_89539615_n.jpg

• brembo456 on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:35 pm

come one p2, enough with facelift, show us some new model, sedan mayb..

• Cakap la ape2 pun ramai jugak yang beli perodua. setiap tahun ranking no 1 gak market Malaysia.