SPYSHOTS: VW Golf Mk7 – registered units spotted

golf-pjaya-spy-02

Reader Farhat Haniff emailed us these pics of the new VW Golf Mk7 spotted at Petronas Presint 18 in Putrajaya. Two units of the latest Golf can be seen waiting to be refuelled, and both are registered units wearing Wilayah number plates. This follows our previous set of a silver Mk7 in TSI guise, posted up last month.

Yes, this means that the VW Golf Mk7 will be launched very soon. So soon that you probably won’t have to wait till tomorrow to hear more news of the benchmark European C-segment hatchback. A comprehensive test drive report is also on the way, so stay tuned for it.

Unveiled in September last year, the seventh-generation Volkswagen Golf is lighter, longer and wider than the Mk6, but with a lower roofline. The C-segment hatchback’s wheelbase has also grown by 59 mm for a bigger cabin, and the boot can take in 30 litres more, too. Unlike the transition from Mk5 to Mk6, this one is all-new in every way – the Mk7 is the first VW to use the group’s flexible MQB platform.

Not long now, and we’re all set for the Golf Mk7’s official launch, where powertrain and trim details will be finalised. Keep your eyes peeled!

UPDATE: The Volkswagen Golf Mk7 has been officially revealed in Malaysia. Read more details and browse our high res live gallery from the launch, or read our test drive review:

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Blaze on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:14 am

..definately a press car.. Got serial number 2 and 3… Probably one of them is you guys… Well, enjoy it…

• Sam Loo on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:18 am

VW still got so much of DSG problems. In China, VW extended the DSG warranty to 10 years, when is VW Malaysia going to do it? You know DSG is a huge problem affecting every 1 in 3 VW cars. But still in denial.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
      • Light on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:07 am

Enlighten me , what kind of dsg problems actually reported? Was it the gear suddenly not changing?Thinking of buying ford fiesta or a polo.both with dual clutch gear system.

• Black Dog on Mar 12, 2013 at 12:16 pm

It’s a Golf, one of THE most popular car in the world! Yet, so many negativity here. Haiyah Malaysians, complain, complain complain like aunties.
          Anyway, something happening at Subang Airport tonight!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • this new golf going to bring home the crown of COTY. but we cannot deny the fact that here in malaysia DSG seems to be very keen to have problem (if not fail), such as gear changing problem, “knocking”, etc…
            i don’t own a golf, but so many many real cases in front of my eyes it scares me away to go to VW showroom….

• shhh, dont comment. later they will come saying “u dont own one how do you know got problem?”, “mine running smooth for 3 years now, no issue”, “those who complain jealous sourgrapes”.

u dont know aa? that brand cannot be at fault. no no no, they are the best you know.

• And what about China? There are millions of VW’s registered in China? Did all break down with DSG problems? ;)

• Sam Loo on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:57 pm

People overseas dare buy VW despite the chronic DSG issue because they got good consumer laws. In Malaysia, you got palat consumer laws because all car companies are indirectly owned by relatives of cabinet ministers. Will you dare buy a VW when your DSG gives problems and VW Malaysia just smile at you?

• But still they wont change their mind to go for Toyota lolx Eww that thing is ugly and dated :(

• Hi , i agreed with Sam Loo, my friend owner of brand new polo wt 40k milage hd gear box ‘kong’.under warranty but need a mth waiting for new gb replace.

• ProDSG on Mar 12, 2013 at 11:49 pm

I must be the lucky 2/3 whose DSG works damn well with no problems. We read a lot of problems with DSG. There is a lot of negativity surrounding the success of VW in Malaysia. Until you have driven and actually own one, then only u tell me DSG is problematic. no point to feel envious, or lots of hearsay. Toyota Camry owners are in denial.

• JackeyDeck on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:22 am

It sad that our voices keep on being ignore ignore n constantly ignore.

“We will highlight to the management.”
    blah – blah – blah

Come on, man……. bring the Manuel transmission already.

The Malaysia hot weather, the heat raising up from the asphalt road, the long jam stuck in the hot road for hours………… just doesn’t make the DSG work well in msia.

Really Love VW car… But reading those comments & posts in the forum, Facebook, really scare the hell out of me. In a week, there are at least more than 5 individuals owners complaining about their newly purchased VW (or some, an year old or two). Some of them even forming a community to protest against msia VW poor after sales services and the always disappointing n frustrating DSG failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Anti-Fuel-Price on Mar 12, 2013 at 11:12 am

Tell me bout it bro…………I already post numerous request “Manual…..Manual…” even post at official fb, Send email to them to consider, blah….blah…..
      I even told them since is a CBU, bringing in Manual gb doesn’t affect their volume or stack up stock, “mana tahu more manual gb” sales!!!! that time who benefit? u think me AAhhhh…. is it VW who profit.
      THEY “VW ppl” REFUSE TO “LISTEN….LISTEN….”
      Anyway I still hope they this time bloody take our consideration seriously.

• JackeyDeck on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:27 pm

Perhaps someone should engage Kak Listen to get VW Msia to listen. Lol. J/K.

Joke aside.

It really get one frustrated. I have test-drived the Polo Sedan, Polo, Beetle, Golf, and sirocco. Damn… what an amazing piece of machine. I swear to myself one day I want to own one of this.

Then I got really excited. I went all over the web for my new own obsession. It all end up with a pour of air cold water on top of my head. The DSG really screw things up.

I find it hard to believe. Then some of my friend who own focus n fiesta (which also is duel clutch GB ) , and colleague who own VW complaint with tears how disappointed they are with their car, especially the VW owner.

Sigh……. too much just to talk about this topic..

Come on… VW, bring the Manuel already lah… susah sangat kah…. the demand is all over Malaysia lah.

• Sam Loo on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:55 pm

You just spoke the truth Jackey. Malaysians are just buying blindly and not reading forums. Or they are just too obsessed with VW that they are blinded. In Malaysia, one in every 3 people got NON STOP DSG problems. Its fine to have DSG problems but VW Malaysia must be like VW China and not only give general a5 year warranty for the whole car but specifically 10 years just on the DSG. Enough of cheating in Malaysia VW, listen to people’s voices.

• JackeyDeck on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:33 pm

I click “like” on your comments.

But seriously, even VW Msia is somehow .do .provide 10years warantty to their DSG equipped vehicles like what they did in China , I still won’t go for it. Seriously, after bleeding my saving for car, I don’t really expect to have my car stay in the VW workshop 3 to 4 times a year and each time would stay there for 3-4 weeks. I seen .how my friends n colleague has suffered. I feel their pain and I seriously don’t want buy such pain.

Still… Toyota still the best ya, mate. (I not being .sarcastic ). And I .also planning my career n businesses so .that one day I perhaps could buy a 86

• ProDSG on Mar 12, 2013 at 11:58 pm

Sam let’s be honest, what car do you actually drive? Or are you the famous rumour mongering dude that is trying to be famous here? Don’t be shy to tell us. Toyota Camry? Camry is one of the biggest rip offs around. It is so “safe”, damn conventional, monumental residual value, and I can imagine such boring life being lived by the owners and the only excitement is when they “live” in their Camry. Seriously.

• jolly_idiot on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:23 am

Still with the speedy but shitty dsg gearbox? Sorry. I’ll skip this again.

• Blaze on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:27 am

Btw, some say that this is a car that we will ever need… But then, is this a car that i ever want..?

• joanna on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:29 am

Preve is better. LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 28
    • Boring as usual but not ugly as mk6 1.4TSI…boring white color,without sunroof,and the tail lights without LED! perhaps i should wait for the MK7 GTI! anyway what’s that Preve? in oversea i cant even see 1 of them in any automotive shows lolx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Preve?? no Honda EX5 is better.

• Wa Jib on Mar 12, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Preve.. a jaguh kampung car compared to a global car. What a joke…man

• firgh on Mar 12, 2013 at 7:56 pm

Global car for nothing with problematic gearbox and detuned engine. Would rather get jaguh kampung preve

• Maybe u never see some owners of the Preve put low quality sticker and paper all over the car…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oaE7_Bnkknw

• viosed on Mar 12, 2013 at 5:53 pm

wrong, almera and vios wayyyyyyyyyyyy better

• green on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:42 am

Exterior design = 1980’s to early 1990’s..
    Interior design = 1990’s

Engine = 2010’s…
    Gearbox = 2010’s….
    Suspension = 2010’s….

Powerful car, but ugly, but it’s worth the price for the performance,not reliability.

mixed of cons and pros car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Julkhoo on Mar 12, 2013 at 7:52 am

Why do they always come with lame rims compared with press pics?

• WYB3991. Danny, what happens when they reach WYY9999? Any info?

• Dzulx on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:07 am

Danny did you know there was a conference for vw sales representatives in subang airport last night? I think it was for golf launching

• No to Japanese Car on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:37 am

Going to book end of this month…

• Germanauto on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:14 am

I already saw the total of 8 cars,on 2 trailer last Saturday at Glenmarie,beside Federal Auto showroom.One of the SA told me that the car will be launch this week.

• see & talk on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:02 am

Ugly & high maintenance car but nice to drive…

• Farhat H on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:13 am

Honestly, it was pretty good looking in flesh! It has this low and wide stance compared to the mk6.

• apekgoh on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:37 am

it is europe proton, wat do we expect? never listen. they knew but wont do anything abt it, otherwise no one buys audi, porsche, ….

• KL-ATR on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Please know your facts before making such comments. Within the same class, VW is more expensive than Opel, Fiat, Peugeot, Citroen and even Mini in places like UK. Just because they sold more than others doesn’t mean it’s the cheapest. They are not subsidized with Rakyak’s taxes like Proton. In fact, I don’t think there is another car manufacturer on Earth that is subsidized like Proton so PLEASE don’t even compare.

• madey-advisor on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:01 pm

Now under DRB-Hicom lah, if you read the news lah. Ford also got subsidized lah. Don’t be stupid fool lah

• Blurry D on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:40 am

Come one have better rims on that car please!! OMG!!

• love VW on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:50 am

launched already yesterday evening…today, they had a press review and intro for VW staff at pullman putrajaya..:)

• Runyakhunts on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:51 am

A VW Golf is the car Malaysian deserves, but not the one it needs right now with the shitty DSG.

• Over priced college student car in other places except msia, vwowners drive around thinkin like they drive premium car…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • KL-ATR on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Maybe you need to check up what “Premium” means in the dictionary. You already mentioned “Over priced” (one of the definition of Premium) in your first line. If you did some homework and check details on how much Golf is sold in Europe, you won’t repeat what so many have said here. Just go online and check how much CHEAPER is the Mini Cooper compared to Golf 1.4TSi in the UK. In fact, the Mk6 TSi cost slightly higher than even 116i and A160 of the previous generation (early 2012 prices).

• Matthew on Mar 12, 2013 at 10:39 am

Seems it is launching today / tomorrow, I have an invite from a dealer to a launch party happening tonight

• sepul on Mar 12, 2013 at 11:29 am

VW should offer the 2.0 TDI + 6 speed manual as alternative to the DSG equipped 1.4 TSI. Other specs remain the same. I hear VW is more reliable and cheaper to maintain with manual gearbox and diesel engine.

The wheels need to be 17 inches at least, those in the pics should only be for the bare Golf in Europe only. It looked out of place with the rest of the car.

• Abg Long on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:24 pm

design is really sucks but people still buy it. the price is not cheap but people still buy it. for me, thumbs down to VW.

• ugly rims!

• goguncas71 on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:24 pm

Pitiful looking rims. will upgrading these invalidate the cars warranty?

• KL-ATR on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Rims are not covered by warranty so they don’t stop you from changing.

• KL-ATR on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Typical of “Don’t touch the design if it’s doing well”, it’s still an evolution from Mk6. The plus is the MQB platform which allowed for a larger car, increased rigidity while lowering the weight in a single stroke. Amazing achievement indeed. I can’t wait for the GTi to launch. Need to compare how much of an improvement it is over Mk6.

• protozoa on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Nothing to shout about. Preve also has similar design with HPF

• Informed by a Sales Consulant last week that MK7 TSi scheduled to launch this week.’
    Price range from 160k to 170k

• When vw amarok is coming to malaysia?

• mizan on Mar 12, 2013 at 11:25 pm

we want manual gearbox…