The new Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI lands in Malaysia – preliminary specs and comprehensive launch gallery

VWGolfMk7_0009

The all-new Volkswagen Golf Mk7 has landed on Malaysian shores, and we’ve just seen it in the flesh in an exclusive celebrity-laden customer/prospective buyer/media party near the Subang Airport.

With the sultry Jojo Struys as emcee and local dance queen Mizz Nina providing the night’s entertainment, Volkswagen Malaysia’s most important model for the next six or seven years has been given a grand welcome fitting of its market significance, to say the least.

We can confirm that the Golf Mk7 arrives in petrol 1.4 TSI (140 PS) guise, with a seven-speed dual-clutch DSG gearbox being the sole drivetrain option available. Its local price and final specifications have yet to be revealed, and will only be announced later today (Wednesday).

VWGolfMk7_0008

But while speculation may continue over the final price, specs wise, what you see here is what you get. On the outside the latest Golf gets five-spoke 16-inch ‘Dover’ alloy wheels wearing 205/55 R16 rubbers. The ‘U’ shaped LED daylight running lights is now a standard feature.

Inside, the fabric upholstery remains, but the dashboard gains a 5.8-inch ‘Composition Media’ touchscreen head unit as a standard fitment. It features a proximity sensor to come alive when you move your hand to operate it, responds to smartphone-like swiping and zooming gestures and has built-in Bluetooth and USB connectivity.

An electronic handbrake with a separate auto hold button makes its debut in a Golf. Cruise control, automatic headlights, engine idle start/stop system, dual-zone climate control and the usual set of traction control and stability management systems are all present.

VWGolfMk7_0034

Notably missing from the local cars are the sunroof, Adaptive Cruise Control, selectable driving modes, auto park, powered seats, satellite navigation and the colour screen within the instrument panel (replaced by a high-res monochrome unit).

Stay tuned for the price and final specifications, still to be released later today. For now, feast your eyes on our 110-photo gallery of the launch party, including live pictures of all six past generations of the Golf.

UPDATE: Read our Volkswagen Golf Mk7 Review, from our test drive session in Sardinia. For a local context, a test drive review of the Golf Mk7 on Malaysian roads is in the works and will be published soon.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u4lGDsx5igg

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Mar 13, 2013 at 1:46 am

Is it still selling Rm160K? But I have a bad feeling it gonna increase slightly. Where in this world “barang” turun harga!!!!
    Hopefully under this new MD, it will change the VW perception from the public.
    By the way the hp and torque is tuned down but this MK7 is 100kg lighter than Mk6, WOW….that’s a lot.

• Carlgen289 on Mar 13, 2013 at 3:20 am

Despite its a tat wider right?

• Abo-then on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:30 am

they have omitted Active cylinder management feature… arrrgh…

looking for something to replace my mk6… looks like this wont be it. time to jump ship.

• sepul on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:12 am

I think that is a good decision. Too hi-tech of an engine. Not for Malaysian drivers. And already many owners complained about the DSG issues.

• abo-then on Mar 14, 2013 at 12:44 am

That’s the thing. I love cutting-edge tech and I like to experience it 1st hand despite the risk of it breaking down and what not. That’s motoring to me. Bought the twin-charge for the same exact reason.

Now about this mk7… meh.
            I am a VW fanboy, but I won’t be paying 3series/A-or-C-class money for a GTI

• I like your avatar, :D

• Sam Loo on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:21 am

No point coming out with new models when your DSG bring about problems and breakdowns in 1 in 3 cars. VW, especially VW Malaysia must do right to all the VW owners in Malaysia. The DSG is a serious problem. Every other car in the VW service centres workshops come in because of DSG issues. In VW Facebook, everybody also complaining about faulty DSG. VW China already have given extended warranty of 10 years just for the DSG alone.

So many complaints to every service centre is unheard and said “We will highlight to management” but nothing is done. Facebook and forum complains a lot too but nothing is done. People have to wait for a month to get their DSG repaired. One whole month got no car! Most VW owners with DSG issues have to bring in their car 4 to 5 times a year just to attend DSG breakdowns.

What is VW Malaysia going to do this? Enough of sweeping things under the carpet! Do something about it.

See how many people already know the issue and trying to highlight in Paul Tan’s site for help
        http://paultan.org/2013/03/12/spyshots-registered-vw-golf-mk7/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
        • ProDSG on Mar 13, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 127
          • civicEK on Mar 13, 2013 at 3:09 pm

bro, in my case its my neighbor’s DSG got problem. He tell to me directly. what say u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • ae101 on Mar 13, 2013 at 3:09 pm

what sam said is actually true. 6spd dgs has very less issue while 7spd is nitemare. if i were the owner regardless of any maker, car warranty is a must but reliability is also very important. in kl, without car meaning i lost my both legs. i dont want to waste my al or el sit and wait at SC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
          • Anderson Hartwig on Mar 13, 2013 at 4:20 pm

ProDSG, this is the problem with you VW Salesmen, in cohorts with your company to be in denial. I handle my company’s fleet of cars and we have about 10 Volkswagens besides several BMWs. Out of the 10 Volkswagens, 8 of them are in the worksyop non stop. Common complaint, the gearbox just jams and complete halt. So, please don’t bullshit here just to make your sales at the DETRIMENT of Volkswagen owners. You can write all the bombastic language you want but the DSG is a pertinent problem that VW does not admit. they need a class action suit to jolt them. I pat Sam Loo for having the guts to bring this matter up. As a salesman, you should just be neutral friend. Don’t take sides even if you sales are hampered. This is a reality. Personally, all my friends also have DSG boxes failing on them in the middle of the highway. What German quality is this? Pay RM180,000 and end up standing on the roadside in the blatant heat waiting for your tow truck to come. And that happens several times in a year for the VW owner. By the way, my company’s fleet cars are all brand new 2012 and 2013 models. So what things of the past are you talking about? Is 2012 and 2013 things of the past?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 6
          • Medic on Mar 13, 2013 at 4:56 pm

My Golf Tsi Mk6 undergone clutch &mechatronics changed at 20k.My dad polo Tsi DSG also ‘kong’.It Is a serious probelm.I mean i like Vw cars,but have doubts about reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
          • Medic on Mar 13, 2013 at 4:58 pm

Oh,when the tow truck towed my Golf Mk 6,he said he tows at least 2-3 Golf cars a week.Shit man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
          • my own experiences: all bought new
            2011 scirocco 1.4 DSG6 = now just reaching 18500km , from stop position, when i turn the steering right or left and start to drive, the car is jerking slightly and is making metalic rubbing noise {I wonder what problem is this going to be?!) (yet to send to VW Glenmarie. FYI, I stopped going to Sg. besi coz SA attitude is a “beech”).

2012 passat cc DSG6 = > 20,000 kms still running smooth but dashboard rattling since day 1 (did not send it to VW SC to fix, why? , see below).

unless all VW with 1.4L engines are mated to DSG6 gearbox, I am not going to buy another VW.

FYI, when I sent in my scirocco for rattling noise issue (also since day 1 and I have been in and out of SC countless times, I have lost count), problem fixed, after 7 – 8 months, the problem is now back again and it is extremely irritating to hear the rattling noise whenever I go over road humps or rough roads.

the above are my bluddy experience with VW cars

interestingly, my colleague’s Golf GTI is problem free

btw, when i visited the SC so many times, i have seen many vw 1.4 at the workshop for gearbox issues. always different units at each visit.

ProDSG, do you own a VW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
          • Are u vw salesperson?

• car ry on Mar 14, 2013 at 3:53 pm

no need to humiliate n kind of personal attack him. if disagree, just give your points/views. just don’t have to argue what we ride at the moment. we all have our own fortune, not everybody can afford VW

• fine. dsg problem. but how u tell the dsg problem is not solved in this mk7? fb and friends told u mk7 still with same problem? perhaps vw should provide u a very detailed technical report to show it is solved.

• try take a look at service centre along jln sg besi. When I send my golf tsi for repair (piston/clutch/gearbox problem), there are 5 other golfs’ engine were being dismantle for the almost the same reason. So, while visiting the showroom, pls take a look at the w/shop at the very back (not for the normal service)

• Andrew Hartwig on Mar 13, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Wait till it reaches about 20,000KM, then the DSG box will start to fail. In most cases, complete halt. My company’s fleet of cars, nearly all of them 2012 and 2013 models face this problem. The cars are actually sitting most of the time in the service centre instead of the director’s home. To be honest, if I detail it in hours, all the VW cars spend more hours in the service centres than their respective director’s home. Yes, all of them DSG failure. VW Global must come clean and do a recall or compensate ALL VW buyers. This is not what we expect of German quality. There is a reason why we invest in German cars, its supposed to be reliable, tough and with precesion, just like the Germans. But now we see, Germans are so arrogant, that they don’t want to acknowledge their own mistakes or errors namely inherent technical faults. Just admit it and do a product recall. Simple as that.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
        • Aiya their already solve the problems of the new VW! plus 5 years warranty,then why so worry?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 31
          • Andrew Hartwig on Mar 14, 2013 at 8:27 am

yes 5 year warranty, but can you afford for them to keep the car in for 1 month and that also 3 or 4 times a year? You have the time to go to repair your car numerous times? (not service)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
          • car ry on Mar 14, 2013 at 4:12 pm

agree with Andrew Hartwig

• 1 in 3 my foot! on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:56 pm

Dear Sam Loo, how did you come out with the 1 in 3 statistic? In my family, there are 3 VWs – a passat, jetta, and polo. All with 7 speed DSG. All working fine with no problems at all. And the Passat already 60k km mileage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • CARtoon on Mar 13, 2013 at 7:27 am

New MD couldnt care less la. service still sucks to the max and the quality isnt as what VW-sponsored media tells you. Just because it’s new doesn’t mean it’s better. malaysian gotta stop being gullible and be more discerning in their purchase.

• I don’t care about the old DSG issues,i just want this car! new DSG is safe!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • car ry on Mar 14, 2013 at 4:15 pm

then by all means you can have it bro, and if you have time, perhaps you may update us from time to time about your ride. i wish it solved already

• The champion is finally here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
    • Jimmy on Mar 13, 2013 at 1:36 pm

For all type-R cars, in addition to 6 airbags, a seventh one ie knee airbag is recommended, plus very good braking systems with calipers.

• Hockey on Mar 13, 2013 at 2:14 am

This is such an anti climax, having seen almost every review, video and article on the mk7 for the past 6 months. The specs are like as if the new golf is a CKD. Lots of stuff left out. Basically the little details and kinda important specs which the international reviews were talking about are missing. No drive mode selection, color screen replace with a mono one? The rims? Yo VW wats up with that?

• Oogway on Mar 13, 2013 at 2:22 am

Was going to mention that also, anyway this makes me worries later Mk 7 GTI launching in Malaysia is nowhere near equipped like one launched in Geneva motor show ! or will get price bump .

• Hockey on Mar 13, 2013 at 2:35 am

I’m still in denial, haha. Yes, really think that vw hq in Germany would have a standard QC on their cars being equally equipped internationally. Even geneva motor show gti is reported to have 17″ rims and no sunroof. I really wonder what the public and the guys who have actually booked this car (tsi) would think after the launch

• Oogway on Mar 13, 2013 at 2:52 am

Geneva GTI got 2 rims version with 17″ ( 2dr) and 19″(4dr) and having panoramic roof. Really hoping they’re bringing the performance ‘pack’ option here.

btw no rear view camera ?

• I think they down-spec the car so that the price is more or less the same as last year’s price.

Out of the RM160k price tag probably half is actually the excise duty+tax etc. so we only get RM80k worth of equipment. Just imagine, if VW add extra features which cost RM10k for instance, the car price will be RM180k (RM80K+10k+tax etc) after tax/excise duty etc. So obviously nobody would buy it at that price because its too high for a hatch.

So cant really blame VW for trying to price the car competitively..its our crazy taxes that should be put to blame because we are robbed of cool features that those in Europe/America enjoy..

• Wheel on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:45 am

I really don’t see the duty and tax has that much say in VW deciding to bring in an under equipped golf. The list of equipments missing (which were the highlights of the new mk7) have been left out. And if the price is around rm160k, the car looks like a real bad deal.

1: selective drive modes
        2: active cylinder deactivation
        3: 16″ instead of 17″
        4: Colour LCD screen, navi
        5: panoramic roof
        6: leather seats
        7: rear view camera
        8: park assist
        9: cruise control

• No tax is more then half… actually 75%(excise), 30%(cbu), 10%(sales)

• Das Motor on Mar 13, 2013 at 2:43 pm

Actually the taxes are based on the cost of the car. My Golf’s AP stated the car’s cost as RM36k. Then they put in the taxes based on RM36k. In actual, the government doesn’t tax that much, it’s the dealers and importers.

• koochai on Mar 13, 2013 at 3:47 pm

my fiesta custom form states about rm24k value…why it is being sold at staggering 80k is beyond me…

• hmm,
            my scirocco 1.4 is FOB is RM43k and CIF is RM45k
            how come Golf 1.4 is so much lower?
            in UK, scirocco is selling slightly cheaper than golf i think.
            (my calculation below is based on my assuption that Golg 1.4 is almost the same cost as the scirocco 1.4

btw, based on your RM36k input.
            golf 1.4’s landed cost (excluding AP cost ) = RM96k

• yoyo,

CIF (landed cost at customs) for
        golf 1.4tsi is approx RM45,000 only!
        polo 1.2tsi is approx RM25,000 only!
        the above is the total landed cost for the whole car (from tyres, door handles until steering wheel and nuts)

no such thing as RM80,000 worth of equipment in the golf 1.4tsi
        when the CIF cost (cost of the entire car) is only RM45,000.

(estimate for easy discussion) the difference of RM115,000 (RM160,000-RM45,000) consist of AP cost, import duty(30%), excise duty(75%) , sales tax(10%), VGM profit and VW dealers’ profit.
        Total landed cost (exclude AP) = CIF + Import duty + excise duty + sales tax = RM113,000 (approximately)
        I do not know the cost of the AP.
        Let’s say AP = 20,000
        So final cost = RM133,000
        The difference between selling price (say, RM160,000) and cost (RM133,000) is the margin (which is approx RM27,000 ).

Bulk of your purchase price (approx RM88,000) goes to the Gov coffers.

• Oogway on Mar 13, 2013 at 2:16 am

Is the silver colour Golf wearing the new ‘tungsten silver’ or ‘reflex silver’?

• Ash Crimson on Mar 13, 2013 at 2:21 am

Fugly wheels! Golf 5 and Golf 6’s wheels are much better looking.

• Tujuh on Mar 13, 2013 at 2:21 am

Hey I was planning to get the GTI mk7, looking to just make a booking this week. But after seeing the golf launched without some major specs, I’m seriously thinking twice. Tsi version here can’t be realistically more than rm120 with the specs they have here. This is terrible VW. The reviews overseas promised alot from the golf but our local version here is like taking one step forward, only to find out you tumbled a few steps back. : (

• Nb'ring on Mar 13, 2013 at 2:28 am

Aiyoh wat la happened to the specs Wei. No sport mode, comfort mode like in Europe? Mana full color screen, replace with mono kan? 16″ rims looks too small. Wat r the hp n torque on this one, are vw malaysia going to cut back on that too? Ford focus and focus st is going to steal ur customers, vw …

• Hasan on Mar 13, 2013 at 3:39 am

Hey rellax. Maybe this one is the entry level base model, until they bring the higher specs later.

• _xXx_ on Mar 13, 2013 at 4:50 am

DSG 7-speed??????? Again or what?

• Saw a few unit at FA wagon….the mk7 wearing the TSI bluemotion emblem, thats means we are getting the cyclinder de-activation version. Good, SG’s mk7 comes wtout the cyclinder de-activation.

• kool88 on Mar 13, 2013 at 11:21 pm

It is blue motion technology. Only come with engine stop during car is stop. No cylinder de-activation

• tonkei on Mar 13, 2013 at 6:26 am

preve rims are many times better than this one
    tyres also same, 140ps too…is this vw global car?

• tonkei,

ps is for top speed. how many people drive > 200km/h daily?
      it is torque (Nm) that counts in KL traffic.

• MK6 was in such a hot demand in Malaysia that makes waiting time to over one year, and Volkswagen Malaysia greedily increased the price by over RM30k.

Now with the launch of MK7, Volkswagen Malaysia thought that we Malaysian are such naive and will buy blindly regardless of the specs that they throw in, so leaving out many things to maximize and already fat profit. Yeah…it will still be a hot seller regardless of the specs, as long as it is GOLF.

• ahchan on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:32 am

Just feels like a giant slap in the face, looking at such measly equipment levels. Thanks VW, but no thanks.

• jolly_idiot on Mar 13, 2013 at 7:07 am

Arg!!! Its the speedy and shitty dsg! I’ll skip this again.

• I noticed that even the acceleration pedal is no longer organ type..:s

• Leon Loke on Mar 13, 2013 at 8:04 am

Paul, did you find out from VGM on the transmission issues. Hundreds of DSG 7 defects affecting current user. The transmission would fail @ merely 15000km to 2500ok. Is this the same drive train used for the MK7? Have they done any improvement on the DSG7 transmission ?

• Leon Loke on Mar 13, 2013 at 8:05 am

Paul, did you find out from VGM on the transmission issues. Hundreds of DSG 7 defects affecting current user. The transmission would fail @ merely 15000km to 25000km. Is this the same drive train used for the MK7? Have they done any improvement on the DSG7 transmission ?

• Medic on Mar 13, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Same 7 speed dry clutch DSG,but according to Vw personel the original vendor in Germany has been changed.DSG from 2012 model onwards do not faced the probelms.I’ll keep my finger crossed!

• Gavin on Mar 13, 2013 at 8:06 am

Is it the same gearbox as the old model?

Heard a lot lot of complaints on this DSG

• Blaze on Mar 13, 2013 at 8:14 am

What about Active cylinder management? Deleted as well?

• alfarabi on Mar 13, 2013 at 8:58 am

Not that I can afford to own one right now but its a lame looking premium hatchback.

• shuk rocco on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:04 am

price??

• encik boss on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:23 am

Wah, better than Preve Hatchback.
    But with that price can buy 2 Preve Hatchback.
    Thanks to NAP.

• napkin on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:48 pm

not yet launched already said better, who are you preve designer?

• AKULA on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:32 am

What??? less spec.???
    Better get Ford Focus. More cheaper

• sepul on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:35 am

The only thing new with this one is the look (not very different with mk6, just sharper looking), the engine (it has cylinder deactivation and only turbo, so hp is lower). And of course, the chassis (who cares anyway?)

Bland. UK specs are much better, plus they got diesel engine there with manuals.

• guest on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:37 am

Isnt it a trend in malaysia that, once a brand name is built up, specs will be lowered to maximize profit? The first to do this was Toyota and Honda, and now the self-proclaiming “people’s car” is trying to rip off the “people”.

Claiming that the car itself is cheaper to manufacture and yet it has higher price than previous model despite being stripped of its equipment.

But hey, VW isn’t worried at all. It knows that they can do whatever they want and still people will line up to get themselves ripped off and still carry a big smile on their face because to these buyers it’s all about the VW badge.

• Wonder why no one complains about this car being expensive,under spec,and carry over engine and tranny.

But if Honda did this people will bash the brand

Just cuz its german so that makes it ok?

• akula on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:41 am

What??? Less Spec.???
    Better get Ford Focus. More cheaper and good looking too.

• Runyakhunts on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:42 am

so with all the missing specs, its like a lighter but not so power hungry mk6 with minor face-lift here and there… looks like VW has been taking lessons from the T and H…

• Das Motor on Mar 13, 2013 at 2:46 pm

T & H would change the skin and throw back the old engine and platform. The Golf here is all new except the poor DSG who always kena bash by people.

• Blurry D on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:54 am

Its standard for many care producers now just VW ,because of the high taxes things are left out to make way more lower prices.

• ABTguy on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:14 am

With VW removing the supercharger, plus some trimming on the spec sheet, I believe they are trying to make Golf MK7 a hot seller by selling it cheaper than MK6.

My guess, RM130k ?

• Bongcs on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:17 am

Is like Megan Fox with no boobs

• Paul Tan on Mar 13, 2013 at 10:58 am

Our international media drive review is up:

http://paultan.org/2013/03/13/driven-volkswagen-golf-mk7-tested-in-sardinia/

• Ban ka() VW MY… really treat us like 3rd world country. This take out, that take out… like we don’t know the actual spec

• darklord on Mar 13, 2013 at 12:27 pm

with no supercharger…no 17inch rim…no sunroof…i still love my MK6 SE..i’ll just change the touchscreen panel and i’m done!!

• mizan on Mar 13, 2013 at 12:58 pm

bawa masuk manual version laa…bukan semua suka DSG

• tom10 on Mar 13, 2013 at 1:14 pm

i believe they are stil using mk6 7-gearbox, I have almost changed the whole gearbox, with first mechantronics (ECU), followed by clucth plate. In terms of NGV, i feel my MK6 TSI is not as good as on paper, hopefully ML7 TSI have better suspension settings. Good luck~!

• consumer on Mar 13, 2013 at 1:38 pm

As a potential buyer I would want to see a fairly equipped golf. For rm160 you’d expect 17″ rims, semi leather seats (at least), drive modes, full colour screen. The golf’s competitors must be quietly smirking at this launch with practically ‘zero’ highlight spec as u’d expect after all the raves and review on the car internationally.

Most importantly. Cylinder deactivation, did VW m’sia leave this to as well?

• Hockey on Mar 13, 2013 at 1:43 pm

Any idea when the confirmed price and full spec list is out? And any new of VW bringing in other variants of the golf other than GTI. I assume no diesel versions yet?

Still cannot believe the lack of equipments on this.

• Medic on Mar 13, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Yup,Vw Msia took out a lot of specs compared to the ones lauched in Europe.If they charge 160k for this,it is a rip off.Stricly for the hard core fans.For your info,i’m driving Golf Tsi Mk 6.

• Hockey on Mar 13, 2013 at 7:57 pm

yeah, the mk6 looks a better deal now, car for car. Anyway I heard some will be in showroom this weekend. I hope they bump up the final specs and equipment list for sale. totally agree with you that this one is a rip off for fans.

• The price shouldn’t exceed RM130K since omitting many features in the similar model in continent.

Our car distributors arithmetic of car pricing were crazy. Why on earth weaker car should should maintain the price premium? Reliability also rather so so.

Stop buying the cheating will stop too

• Mugilan on Mar 13, 2013 at 2:04 pm

If you’re considering to buy a hatch, I suggest Ford Focus. If the the GTi is a crap like this one, go for Focus ST. Much much more better car for this price. Better engine, better spec …
    I am a big fan of VW Golf. It’s painful even for me to suggest Focus instead of this car. The spec is low class and we’re paying a lot of money for it. Think twice before you buy this.

• gOOsh on Mar 13, 2013 at 2:06 pm

mahal larr… tak mampu beli…

• Medic on Mar 13, 2013 at 4:38 pm

If your father isn’t an UMNO crony,you can forget these turbo-charged Euro cars…For them,money is like water.For those who earned it the hard way,they would have appreciated the $ & invest the $ like in properties.Buying low spec &expensive cars means feeding the cronies,enriching Gomen & lastly become punching bag for ‘Sam Loo’!

• The legend on exist on MK5 and R32 the 7 rest coming all the just decoy….. VW i believe no longer produce car same as MK5…… in fact d GOLF R+ SCIROCCO R is not fasters car track in Nurburgring
    THE GLORY TIME IS OVER…. seem like MK7 more into safety and home section..

• mrrfoxtrot on Mar 13, 2013 at 2:28 pm

If Pakatans win d erection, How Much It Would Cost??

• civicEK on Mar 13, 2013 at 3:14 pm

better buy Ford Focus lg syok.

• unforgiven on Mar 13, 2013 at 3:54 pm

For the price we M’sian have to pay, we should be getting full spec. Let’s turunkan harga VW.

• I had enough with VW especially Golf TSI. A problem after problem. Broken Piston, Gearbox (DSG), clutch and AirCond. Service support very poor and VW Malaysia is not helpful at all.

• pruvu on Mar 13, 2013 at 4:48 pm

if preve hatch can do 0-100 in sub-nine seconds, there goes mk7 tsi…

• VW – Volkswagen = People’s Car
    What u expect? Its an affordable car in Germany, just that in Malaysia it becomes ‘premium’ ^^

• About RM4K dearer than the predecessor at RM157, 888 bundled with potentially problematic DSG7 better don’t buy.

VGM made mistake if they think that best seller European brand will be a history for this People Car. Just because shortsighted Malaysians bought your marketing last year doesn’t mean the same will repeat this year.

• Farhat on Mar 13, 2013 at 7:24 pm

Its RM157,888

• Golf guy on Mar 13, 2013 at 7:45 pm

How do you guys know that it’s RM157,888? For this price the best car is a 2-3 year old e90 BMW 323i

• Algojo on Mar 13, 2013 at 7:51 pm

Errrr….been driving with DSG for a long time…different cars some more…no issues pon… go VW!!!

• shawal on Mar 13, 2013 at 8:39 pm

Its not the best specced golf on the market, and yet they have the audacity to price is as such, its just plain absurd, a ford focus is 30k cheaper with better spec list, how this car could even costs more than a k5 or a honda crv boggles the mind ,

I dont mind if they specced it up with all available options and fitted with some decent looking alloys , this is just plain greed

• ProDSG on Mar 13, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Anderson / Andrew Hogwarts,

You have not made up your mind whether to call yourself Andrew or Anderson? I will call you Hogwarts cos u sound like some big Harry Porter fan. First of all, please know that sometimes life’s a b!tch, your case, it’s a bitch. I pity the company which employs you cos you have been given a budget to be responsible for a fleet of cars, and you spent it all on buying Conti cars. 2 Beemers and 10 VWs, total cost RM2.5mil? Not bad. Right decision from the perspective that look, your company asked you to be in charge, so you showed good taste in choosing the right brands if you ask me. Conti cars. And now you realised crap, the company is gonna lay you off cos it is costing more with all the damages these cars came with, and all these are your own claims. So you come to this blog to complain complain like a Harry Porter who never grew up. Very juvenile and you are such a child. Wash dirty linen in public and hopefully you get some comfort and self justification out of this. You should have spent less, help the company save a bit in the long run, and should have listened to Sam Loo, your Hogwarts buddy and settled for Toyota Camrys. They are safe cars, dear Andrew
    Anderson Hogwarts and cost your company much lesser monies. Low maintenance but your bosses may not arrive at their meetings on time as they are too slow, zero torque. During rainy days, be extra careful cos they have zero safety features. And you can make side money too, just service them at Sam Loo Anderson Andrew Workshop as they are cheap and you can bill your company more, pocket the money before they lay you off. You see the difference? VW is not for everyone who are not looking for Car of The Year, German technology, German built, a brand which owns your other dream supercars, your Audis, and other reputable German makes. Have you been awaken from your Harry Porter Hogwarts dreams yet? Andrew Anderson you and Sam Loo do not deserve to even mention the VW brand cos you simply do not understand. And for those who cannot afford, love to complain and bash VW, if it ain’t your cup of tea, shy away. It’s not for you. Stick to those naturally inspirited Camry Engines or maybe settle for a Vios cos you can afford and there won’t be DSG nightmares such as being personally claimed by Sam Loo and Andrew Anderson Hogwart when they are supposed to be flying on their magical brooms. And Andrew Anderson Hartwig Hogwart I believe u misunderstood when your company asked you to be in charente of a fleet of VWs and Beemers. Not complain about them. You are supposed to wash them and not wait for tow trucks to tow them. Now go on, and wash them good Conti cars. Cos your bosses and company executives who actually drive them, know these are good cars. Now stop b!tchin about it. You share the same car with Sam Loo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 40
  • Dyson on Mar 14, 2013 at 2:26 am

2013 car of the year as crowned at geneva motor show, and this is how vw malaysia chooses to deface it. Very noble of u to turn hype into a topic that will surely enrage potential buyers. It is such a waste and a real shame that the mk7 arrives in malaysia with no sense of pride and confidence that won it so many awards in Europe. Spec this golf up properly or be the worst vw brand outside of Europe.

• Hamsom on Mar 17, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Googled paultan golf 2013 after a fb friend complained about malaysian VW service. Guess he wasnt lying. I dont care if its the Gomens fault or VWs biggest shareholder fault for being greedy..but if i were VW guys who are working still in vw, id kill myself. No self respect at all. The least the gomen and VW bosses are getting benefits from these rip offs.. Really.. I say shit to all malaysian rip off services. Be it VW or police or anything… Mlaysian with money need to wake up…oh maybe not coz they been ripping off ppl to be rich..oh well.

• Alfred on May 05, 2013 at 7:01 pm

When GTI 2.0cc was coming

• Nicole on Nov 06, 2013 at 5:39 pm

i planning to buy vw the golf 1.4 TSI but don’t know mechatronic for mk7 got problem so please give some comment tq