SPYSHOTS: Suzuki Swift Sport seen in JPJ Putrajaya

2013-suzuki-swift-sport-spyshot-3

It looks like the new Suzuki Swift Sport will be making its local debut soon enough – the ZC32S has been spotted at JPJ Putrajaya in both manual and automatic forms, and thanks to erstwhile reader Anol Alias (who also gave us the VW Golf Mk7 TSI spyshots last month), we have photos of the cars to share with you.

The introduction of the Suzuki Swift Sport follows close on the heels of the third-gen Suzuki Swift, which was launched in January. The SSS wears the familiar 1.6 litre M16A normally-aspirated engine, which has been massaged to offer more output – 136 PS and 160 Nm to the previous 125 PS and 148 Nm.

A six-speed manual was the transmission of choice when the car made its debut in Frankfurt in 2011, but it has since been joined by a high-performance CVT with seven-step manual mode, complete with paddle shifters. The red car in the photos is the manual, and the yellow is the CVT-equipped unit, as ascertained by the shots that glimpse into the interior.

The kit list includes HID headlamps with black surrounds, the usual sports bodykit, seven airbags (including driver’s knee) and ESP; the alloys on the Malaysian-spec Suzuki Swift Sport are widely-spaced five twin-spoke units, not the five triple-spoke as seen on the Frankfurt launch vehicle.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• finally its here!!!!!! waiting to replace my zc31s MT!!!
    i hope price is sub 100k!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
    • Very very sporty and very nice car! too bad only the boring manual is available :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 94
      • sepul on Mar 14, 2013 at 10:51 pm

You don’t say manual tranny is boring. You should learn to enjoy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
        • Bongcs on Mar 15, 2013 at 9:34 am

Rev it till you Blow it !!

• ProDSG on Mar 16, 2013 at 8:11 am

Suzuki seems desperate. I went into the showroom the other day, salesman was begging me to buy. Never seen such desperation in my life.

• armandd on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:44 pm

Only a sissy thinks manual ‘box is boring…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
        • slick shifts on Mar 15, 2013 at 8:41 am

sepul and armandd, i totally agree with you guys, having owned only 1 automatic car in my list of previous cars.

• Paul Tan on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:58 pm

Actually from the photo you can see both a manual and auto car there.

• from the pix u can see yellow is cvt n maroon is manual

• mr_em on Mar 15, 2013 at 9:20 am

VS,

Pls read again, if you still don’t understand… there is the CVT-equipped version pictured above. Previous Swift Sport was also available with Auto transmission.

So what exactly is your problem?

• Veneno on Mar 16, 2013 at 12:45 pm

auto is boring, dude.. this is a sporty car, so it deserves the manual for a real driving pleasure..

• _xXx_ on Mar 16, 2013 at 6:29 am

let’s estimate:

when SG distributor’s cost of 1.6M (ZC31) was S$12.5k, SMA’s price was 100k. Now, for ZC32, SG cost is S$15.5k, so SMA should be selling ZC32 at 124k proportionally!!! But how of u would pay 124k for this? Maybe diehard fans only…

• Fahmi on Mar 14, 2013 at 6:45 pm

If this car is nicely priced, it should be a good choice…. Not too keen on the design though power and handling will be absolutely fine…

• auto-enthusiast-but-not-quite on Mar 14, 2013 at 6:45 pm

DMAX serba baharu!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Samuel Schick on Mar 14, 2013 at 6:49 pm

[WTS] my 2010 Swift Sport. for this Swift Sport.

• Mat Global on Mar 14, 2013 at 7:08 pm

The increase in engine power and torque looks good together with CVT transmission.

• Yay!! It’s going to going be here, the greatest japanese hot hatch. but one question, can it run on Ron 95?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • JeremyNg on Mar 14, 2013 at 9:16 pm

Yeap !! it can run with Ron95 without any problem …..

• If i m not mistaken the current one only compatible with RON 98 right

• JeremyNg on Mar 15, 2013 at 1:38 am

Yeap current one (old) only run on Ron98 but new one can run on Ron95 !!! it proven by those motorist around the world

• Great, If it runs on RON95 and its lower than RM100k , than it will be my new dream car after the Honda CRZ. The only thing stopping the last SSS from becoming popular was the fact that it can only reliably run on RON 97.

• Nice twin exhaust system

• Lamper on Mar 14, 2013 at 7:34 pm

min req ron 95 for this new SSS!!

• sepul on Mar 14, 2013 at 7:51 pm

The red 208 is still there in one of the pics.

If the price is below 100k then it is a good value.

Is all the equipment mentioned will be included for Malaysia?

• obviously alvailable in malaysia….jpj putrajaya in malaysia rite?

• YeapyEvo on Mar 14, 2013 at 8:09 pm

Manual come I buy, better than a CRZ, no need worry about battery kaput and can sit 5 adults, but price it at RM94k like last time first launch, since Yen has devalued a lot recently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Henry on Mar 14, 2013 at 8:37 pm

The alloy rim design sucks.

• mr_em on Mar 15, 2013 at 9:29 am

yes… i agree… this is the SSS with the 16inch wheels same as the one on sale in Brunei and Singapore.

The SSS with the better looking 17in wheels are sold in UK/Europe/Australia/NZ.

• sudonano on Mar 14, 2013 at 9:09 pm

I spy, new Isuzu and the 208? Looks like its coming soon!

• no turbocharged engine? duh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • JeremyNg on Mar 14, 2013 at 9:18 pm

OMG its here !!! this car is one of the under-rated car in the market but it’s better than CRZ in term driving performance and cheaper maintenance ……

It run with Ron95 and it still will do 8.7sec !! The only question is that this car actually sell cheaper den previous model in Uk & euro, will it the same in Malaysia ??

(Gonna move my ass to worker harder for it)

• bro, CRZ is sporty hybrid, not a sport car like suzuki swift sport. Of course this swift has better performance.

• YeapyEvo on Mar 14, 2013 at 9:35 pm

SSS is not a sports car, it’s a performance car. CRZ does has better torque.

• its not even a performance car but just a sporty car imo

• mr_em on Mar 15, 2013 at 9:59 am

Suzuki Swift Sport is just a warm (or hot-ish) hatch… a sports car is something the Toyota 86, Porsche Cayman and the like… pls dont compare them. Makes your life easier if all of you compare apple with apple…

http://www.topgear.com/uk/suzuki/swift/road-test/sport-three-door-driven

“In the long view, the Swift Sport is far more a hot hatch than the Focus RS and the Megane RenaultSport and every other turbo nutjob. This car captures everything the Golf GTI MkI and Peugeot 205 GTI and the rest stood for: natural aspiration, buzzy handling and, most of all, lack of weight”?

What are those TG guys smoking up there?

• Henry on Mar 15, 2013 at 1:30 pm

Possible, due to the FTA with Japan and a lower Yen. I am assuming the distributor will pass on the saving to the consumers.

• <RM100k will b good price

• which one is more stim to drive? this or the r3 neo?

• mr_em on Mar 15, 2013 at 9:52 am

anything that can be rented at the Nurburgring must be good enough to drive?

http://www.rent4ring.de/en/info/rentals-for-the-nordschleife.html

• chaos on Mar 14, 2013 at 11:12 pm

boring borng suzuki…looks cheap…check out the rims
    only the power is good
    with the new 208 and fiesta…suzuki looks just like an expensive myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
    • Green on Mar 15, 2013 at 12:48 am

No. if u compare those to the old swift. yea, it’s a rip off.

but now, the New Swift, has improved:
      1. Real Huge size.
      2. Bold profile looking Grand compared to fiesta/myvi/208
      3. Spacious Interior
      4. Fuel consumption = on par as Almera and Vios.
      this is something unexpected. very fuel saving car, more fuel saving then any version of Myvi.
      5. tough, CBU.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • mr_em on Mar 15, 2013 at 9:50 am

read my post below…

• tien887 on Mar 15, 2013 at 1:17 am

everything fine with me so far bout this new sss, i just hope suzuki malaysia don’t mess up the pricing..below 110k or make 100k flat or lower even better!

so how bout the 2nd value for old sss now? how low they can be? i wonder how much is the price for the new current old sss? 70,80k? maybe..??

• mr_em on Mar 15, 2013 at 9:43 am

I sold my white manual SSS for RM76k in Nov 2012 after 2.5 yrs of use… and I misses the car a lot. It was huge fun and if you read this:

http://bridgetogantry.com/2/index.php/home/news/274-two-years-and-2800-laps-later

you will know what I mean.

It is one of the future classics… very underrated and only when its gone that you will start to appreciate it.

Not many are on the used market for the manual SSS and the auto version is cheaper by RM5-10k for the same year…

But glad they are launching this soon, tempted to get one again… but the wheels have got to go… or may be leave it alone (no one would steal an ugly wheels right?)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • golfmanual on Mar 15, 2013 at 1:42 am

Better top up alittle wee bit and get the new golf heehah !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
  • Paukaya on Mar 15, 2013 at 7:40 am

ThoSe rims look terrible

• Jinggo on Mar 15, 2013 at 8:59 am

If the OTR price above RM100k, i prefer KIA Ceed than this Suzuki Sissy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • mr_em on Mar 15, 2013 at 9:49 am

Do they drive a Sissy car on the Nurburgring Jinggo?? I bet they are plenty of R3Neo, Kia Ceed, Golf 1.4TSI available for rent at the Nurburgring eh??..

http://www.rent4ring.de/en/info/rentals-for-the-nordschleife.html

better luck next time!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • i love the swift sport including the first design
    its just a shame that in malaysia its priced just like honda civic baseline

in my opinion, if it is properly priced, say rm80-90k, it will draw a lot of attention. i would buy this car too…manual lah of course. takde six speed ke?

• musso on Mar 15, 2013 at 3:32 pm

FINALLY! This would be a car to aim for. Reviews for this car has been fantastic, not superb, but fantastic. But I wouldn’t expect this car to be priced below 100, the 1.4 is already priced at 78-80+, how can the sports version be priced too closely? Doesn’t make sense guys.

Those wheels, however, are one of the ugliest wheels I’ve seen. Definitely a must-change to do the car justice.

• _xXx_ on Mar 15, 2013 at 9:04 pm

aiya just throw in a set of replica green 17″ TE37 lor…cheap2 nowadays

• bro, replica hard to find 5 holes n even harder to find nice design with correct offset

• Plus+ on Jun 03, 2013 at 11:51 pm

the SSS 1.6 spec 2013 is OUT > http://www.suzuki.net.my/models/swiftsport_intro.aspx