New Honda City VA for RM93.5k – limited to 300 units!

CityVA_main

A new limited run variant of the Honda City has just popped up on Honda Malaysia’s Facebook page and website! Called the City VA – for Value Added – the new model is limited to just 300 units, and features a built-in GPS multimedia system, leather seats and window film as standard.

The City VA is priced at RM93,480 on the road with insurance, a RM2,500 premium over the higher-spec (of the two launch variants) Grade E model. The most significant upgrade is the inclusion of Honda’s own entertainment and navigation system – a neatly integrated touchscreen unit housed within the dash’s fascia.

Honda’s new touch-controlled, voice-guided satellite navigation system supports a high-resolution map and 3D city-view. The unit also includes a DVD and MP3 player, iPod AUX/USB ports and a rear view camera, on top of the built-in Bluetooth hands-free connectivity.

CityVA_Main2

Other new features are the black leather upholstery with grey stitching and embossed ‘City’ logos on the front seats, and standard-fit solar protection window tinting for the glasshouse.

Virtually nothing’s changed on the outside. The VA comes standard with 16-inch alloy wheels, front foglamps, wing mirror-mounted turn signals and a chromed exhaust finisher. The only difference to the Grade E is the deletion of chrome door handles, which are now body-coloured.

Speaking of colour, 200 of the VA will be painted in Tafetta White, the other 100 in Polished Metal (grey). The Honda City VA is now available for viewing at all Honda showrooms. A five-year unlimited warranty is included, with six free labour services, up to 100,000 km. As per the Grade E, ABS, EBD, BA, VSA and dual airbags are fitted too.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• start-a-figt on Mar 15, 2013 at 3:40 pm

stock clearance.. new city coming soon..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 9
    • No la.. just following Perodua in their footsteps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 22
      • Perodua just add stuff that are more cosmetic (coloured vents, seriously?) than functional. It’s surprising to note that new city’s doesn’t come with tinting and the leather seat is (if I’am not mistaken) a RM1k modulo option. So basically the only thing I dislike is its limited and, like the new Ferrari, blessed with such a generic name…..VA(value added).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
        • ProDSG on Mar 16, 2013 at 8:07 am

Such a waste of money!. Honda is already ripping us. As we all know, even the pricier CRV is only RM60,000 if you look at global prices. So, this car, real value must be only RM20,000. I rather go for a VW, can smoke this Sushi anytime!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 30
          • Arguing with people on the Internet are as pointless as arguing with a politician. You can’t change their mind. Prices in Malaysia is already quite F*** up. A Honda fit, the hatchback version of the city we call the jazz, cost USD$ 18k or RM50k in the cheapest market in the world, how the hell it went down to RM20k. A CRV converted to ringgit cost RM 70k. And a VW golf or polo already cost almost or twice as much here than anywhere else and just because its not Japanese its forgivable that they already rop off the price if compared to worldwide prices and specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
          • Can forumner stop commenting about Malaysia car price higher than some country out there! Don’t you have other idea besides recycling the same idea on every entry?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Justin on Mar 15, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Blagh..still 2 airbag? No revolution in this area to promote better safety for Malaysian?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
    • Wohoo This City and the P2 new orange color with SE bumper r so sexy like the Lambo! value for money and easy to drive. thx P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
    • honda city fan on Mar 15, 2013 at 8:53 pm

that’s it?

• OMG…valued added…but price also increased…better i choose Kia forte.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • Expatriate VN on Mar 16, 2013 at 10:19 am

Why limited to 300 unit, likely their 2012 old stock is around 300! So they throw in some features and market it as “Limited to 300 units” to make it look exclusive! WTF, marketing gimmick!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • protonsucks on Mar 15, 2013 at 3:42 pm

increase in 2500 for double din dvd player, reverse camera, blue tooth and leather seat is quite ok coz if u send to other shops and do also will costs around the same … i dun think this is like some rip off or whatsoever… its more like a fair deal.. not a good deal neither a bad deal

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 18
    • If compare current city spec is worth. but only 200 units avai, its stingy.
      Honda shd upgrade it since so many competitors in B-segment car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • re-read again..200 or 300

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • they not afraid cos they knew that most of the malaysian are brand worshipper. they are loyal to a brand eventho that brand ripped them off like the hulk.

dont believe, u go around and ask those who can afford a 80-90k for b-sec car their first option, sure most will include T&H..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
        • Winmac80 on Mar 20, 2013 at 2:17 pm

I go for Inspira just purely because it’s better looking, more features, same price (more or less).

• MEH!! new car please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • Hanrahan on Mar 15, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Wasted better buy new Swift or Kia Rio

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 49
  • Perodua then Honda… Next, Dugong??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
  • kingkong on Mar 15, 2013 at 4:08 pm

and you still need to pay RM600 for the side step which is more important to prevent scratches to the paint.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • koochai on Mar 15, 2013 at 4:50 pm

yup total rip-off…better not buy from honda…can get around rm200++ online if i’m not mistaken…plug n’ play…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
  • I wonder I can persuade the salesman to install it in me pre-facelift city. Rear-cam, Bluetooth, leather seats and tints all for RM3k is a fair deal, for someone who just reverse park one, the reverse cam is s eelcome sight. what’s not fair Is the limited to 300 unit thing, they should at least make a new spec or an extra option to the extra seating. Overall, it’s not as rip-off as that stupid CKD Jazz hybrid. The new Fit/jazz is due later this year, so unless they plan to launch the city along with it as opposed a year later as the last 2 generation, I don’t see why they want to clear stock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • confused on Mar 15, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Yeah! Give more value to the people.

Next = Toyota.

• RM93,480 car that doesnt have ACC.. malaysia boleh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • abemie on Mar 15, 2013 at 4:41 pm

too expensive for this kind of entry level car…prefer korean cars with more features but very competitive price. honda and toyota cars will be struggle and faded soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 28
    • Is best that you thumbs this down before reading

Why do I get a feeling when the Koreans adds goodies like this and the price increases, there will be a majority of people on the net joining together singing praises.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
  • wendy on Mar 15, 2013 at 4:44 pm

yawwnnn..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Siang Malam on Mar 15, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Force by GE13

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • koochai on Mar 15, 2013 at 4:59 pm

ford, p2, mazda give 3 years free service (parts & labour inclusive)…beat that honda & toyota!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • 4G63T DSM on Mar 15, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Honda should just release a “SA/SE” or safety added/edition with 6 airbags, better tyres…for 2500. Makes much for sense ……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Sam Pooh on Mar 15, 2013 at 5:22 pm

why no gold champagne colour one? This car is missing:
    1. Champagne gold colour option
    2. more chrome finishing
    3. walnut wood dashboard accents
    4. decorative pattern sticker at the doors.

If got all of the above, its the best car in the world. I can confirm it won’t depreciate at all. Appreciate some more got one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 35
    • u got it wrong, If got all of the above, its the best car in the “bolehland”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • mat koboi on Mar 15, 2013 at 6:52 pm

tak ade ape yang berubah melainkan harga….mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Mat Global on Mar 15, 2013 at 7:06 pm

Honda City has been referred to as an appealing package for a small saloon car.However, on close inspections, it is not an enjoyable car to drive.
    The car lacks torque pick up so much so the transmission needs to downshift from say 5th to lower gear 3rd ( 2 steps down).Engine noise also is harsh and disturbing.
    Though it is comfortable to drive, handling wise is just about average.

Honda City 1.5 engine specs
    Peak power 6,600 rpm 118hp
    Peak torque 4.800 rpm 145nm

The above engine specs to me is not suitable to function as a city car as peak torque and power come so late.
    Notwithstanding the above, the car is selling very well for its other likeable factors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Very well agreed, though I’d say the engine has potential, it still has adequate power, especially cresting over the 3000rpm line where you really feel the surge. But that torque-converter Auto is awful. Though I would usually go to S and downshift it, but you can tell the gears can’t keep up with the rev of the engines, and fail to properly put the power down. The Transmission is specifically tune for better fuel consumption and therefore, power delivery is numb, even the Alza’s 1.5 DOHC as a better power delivery.

Though if you’re going long distance it’s a great car, at 5th gear@120kph, the engine revs at around 2000rpm, smooth. Add to that fuel consumption is pretty amazing, especially since it’s a SOHC. But being a SOHC, it’s noisy. Though I’d generally like the noise, others can’t say the same, It dosen’t feel or sound refine as a DOHC. Handling is decent , able to smoothly change lanes after lanes at highway speed and corners rather well, body roles is clearly present though. And it feels stable at 150kph(and there is no reason to go faster). The brakes are amazing, best I’ve tried. As a city car, it may perform the job as well as others, but as a highway-suburb car, for the price and size, it’s pretty good, especially if you have a family.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • bashherebashthere on Mar 17, 2013 at 3:32 am

I agree on the gear not being able to keep up with the engine, but it seems that for high speed stability, I really find Honda City to be unstable.

I frequently use Plus highway (Sg Buloh – KLIA) and out of all the car I’ve use (Savvy, Wira, Oddessey, Matrix, Saga BLM), I find that City is the least stable and tend to wooble when hitting 100Kmh or bus/lorry passed me by. For smaller highway like LDP,high speed stability is fine. But open highway like Plus, City really suffers on stability.

I’ve ask another City owner and its the same problem. Did you change tyre or something?

• Tires changed from the original continental to a Michelin set with the rims remained the 17in Snowflake grade E. The comfort is hampered though, couldn’t waft like it used to. I use the NKVE and LDP frequent and at 80-120kph I travel it seems fine, though the best I’ve tried is the one on a Camry 2.0, funny that that doesn’t have VSA, but 120 feels planted on a east coast roads. But Wira? My dad used to have a Wira but that didn’t feel anything stable above the triple digit. Though I can agree on the Matrix, but its brakes left my mom in disagreement.

• dannylee77 on Mar 15, 2013 at 7:15 pm

As per the grade E , ABS , EBD , BA , VSA and Dual airbags are fitted too . . As I remember our honda city don’t have VSA ? correct me if I am wrong..

• It has, but only on the higher spec grade E.

• after ,minor model change/ facelifted, they oni introduce vsa, the previous model E specced ont hav vsa

• The pre-facelift grade-E also have VSA if that’s what you’re saying, I drive one and I know. Honda was among the first to equipped a B-segment sedan with VSA.

• KingPin on Mar 17, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Honda first to equip B-seg with VSA? Your probably a too young to know this, VSA and ESP are very similar and ESP has been in the b-seg for a very long time esp for sportier b-seg model. With the city’s poor power n torque delivery i dont see why it needs VSA in the first place.

• I didn’t said first but among the first considering during its launch all it has was the vios. But yeah, I didn’t check ESP but VSA, and using that term the City is among the first. As for why it needs it? Well why is everyone complaining that cars with no VSA equals ‘ its shit’. The city is very capable of hitting 140, happened to me while overtaking a downhill stretch on the NKVE, was doing 110 and before I knew it it crest over 140.

• Just read through the City VA specification compare to Grade E in Honda Malaysia Web Site, a lots of items have been taken out for VA spec., i.e. Chrome door handle, hood insulator, foot rest, vanity mirrors with lid, height adjustable seat, power mirror, Adjustable Rear Headrest, Front Cup Holder, Illuminated Meter, map light, Rear View Mirror with Day/Night Change, Front Seat Back Pockets, Trunk Light, and Vehicle Information Display (VID).

Just wonder that are the mistake or not. Will check out in Honda Showroom tomorrow.

If it is true, the so-called “VA” term is not true.

Typical Malaysian Style………………… nothing to say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Whoa, I’ve just noticed that, even the illuminated meter is gone, checked the main pics and true enough the surrounds for it is gone but the VID is still there though. Though apart mostly cosmetics and things I can live without, it’s still quite a rip-off though at least they’ve did’t touch the safety system (like they did with the Jazz Hybrid CKD)and at least the normal grade E is still available. I’ll be heading to Honda SC for service tomorrow and will look into this sh**

• John Dough on Mar 15, 2013 at 8:33 pm

Typical way of “clearing stock” of a model before new car lauch. Add some leather seats, some bodykits, give some initials , and claim to be limited edition this and that.

• darker marker on Mar 15, 2013 at 8:55 pm

should have name it “PRICE ADDED” (PA)
    than Value Added (VA).

Anyway, this sound like stock clearance to me.

• joker96 on Mar 15, 2013 at 9:01 pm

Nice..10x better than dugong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • citycus on Mar 15, 2013 at 10:30 pm

long live 5 speed auto….beat the 4 speed dugong.

• if it comes with 3 yrs free maintenance (labour & items included), the value added moniker seems more appropriate

• if it comes with 3 yrs free maintenance (labour & items included), then its truly value added. come on, 6 free labour services is peanuts compared to the the real maintenance costs

• just had a view on it in the showroom
    the so called “leather seats” really indeed is leather seats only
    the side and center arm rest are cover with the usual fabric… quite a let down
    overall, the price seems reasonable

• Ah Beng on Mar 15, 2013 at 11:33 pm

This is more like Value Added Tax. If really value for money, sell at RM50k like other countries please.

• theanswer on Mar 15, 2013 at 11:45 pm

still 2 airbags..manual aircond..luckily got vsa. or else kosong like vios trd.

• tungguu on Mar 16, 2013 at 7:28 am

93.5k….yet for re circulation and fresh air control is still old school like a 90s WIRA!! :D LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • samlok on Mar 16, 2013 at 7:35 am

value for money meh? looks so teruk with all those twisting knob there

• alibaba on Mar 16, 2013 at 10:27 am

ya lah wa punya gas cooker knob lebih elok dari dia punya air con knob.

• shawal on Mar 16, 2013 at 8:54 am

went to see the new honda accord spec’s list at honda thailand website… its packed to the brim…
    hope honda malaysia won’t dilute the malaysian version …

• jeffrey on Mar 16, 2013 at 11:25 am

VA-value added? i will call it value added if price remains the same. But increase price and call it value added? What a rip off Honda.

• At least it’s OEM and can be put into the loan. Tinting I wonder what type of thing it is

• barry on Mar 16, 2013 at 3:13 pm

NO BIG DEAL HONDA…. YOUR CAR ARE OVERRATED AND YOUR PRICING SUCK MALAYSIAN DRIVER DRY.

I RATHER GO FOR CONTI CAR..

• Sucks….bloody service centre suck so much money for just a regular service… Every visit will be around 3hundred plus to rm 852…

• KingPin on Mar 17, 2013 at 2:14 pm

The days where T and H owners can proudly say, service and maintenance is cheap is long gone. In fact from experience i’d say the service of conti cars are very very competitive and the parts do last much much longer. Now the only up side to owning a jap car is resale value, even tht is in jeopardy.

• in term of price, I might choose inspira 2.0 premium

• fadhli on Mar 17, 2013 at 2:56 pm

is this car would be worth to be my first car??? beside i really need all the new specs that offer on this new special edition!!

• Davinnci on Mar 17, 2013 at 11:23 pm

B seg 1.5 car doesn’t worth 93k la..

• azrai on Mar 18, 2013 at 8:34 am

Look like Perodua’s marketing team has been on loan to Honda Pegoh this year. After those fancy alphabet like ‘S-Series’ now it’s Honda Pegoh turns on fancy ‘VA’ alphabet.

• Leonardo on Mar 18, 2013 at 11:45 am

This model has undergone the ‘Value Engineering’ exercise and hence ‘lost’ most of the ‘nice to have items’ found on the introductory models. this is a common trick used by all car manufacturers. Usually the introductory models are better equipped than the ‘end of life’ models. Probably makes more sense and cents to buy a good used version of the same model.

• Daniel on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:28 pm

I got all that for free when the new City just launched. Free tinting from Lumar or leather seats and a touchscreen with built-in GPS and reverse camera.