SPIED: Peugeot 3008 HYbrid4 undergoing testing in Malaysia – is the diesel hybrid launching soon?

peugeot-3008-hybrid4-diesel-malaysia-0004

More spyshots of yet to be launched cars being tested by the folks at JPJ, this time of the Peugeot 3008 HYbrid4, thanks to regular contributor Anol Alias. The Peugeot crossover – first shown to the world at Paris 2010 – is not just a regular petrol engine-electric motor hybrid we’re familiar with – it’s the world’s first production diesel hybrid car.

The logic is simple: modern diesels are more economical (by up to 30%, Peugeot says) and powerful than their petrol equivalents, so a diesel hybrid should logically outperform a petrol one. With an electric motor helping out, the HYbrid4 offers performance of a larger diesel car, but with 35% lower CO2 emissions.

Here, a 163 hp 2.0 litre HDi FAP diesel engine with Stop-Start works together with a 37 hp electric motor – the ICE powers the front wheels while the motor powers the rear axle for AWD action. Max combined torque is a strong 500 Nm, 40% of that contributed by the electric motor.

There are no mechanical links between both powerplants – it’s all done by wire. All the hybrid components including the nickel metal hydride (Ni-MH) battery are located in the rear; Peugeot says that there was no need to redesign the standard 3008, and weight distribution has improved with the added load in the rear.

peugeot-3008-hybrid4-diesel-malaysia-0005

No CVT here, as the Peugeot 3008 HYbrid4 uses an electronically-controlled six-speed manual, similar to the EGS transmission found in Citroens. There are four drive modes: ZEV (Zero Emission Vehicle), 4WD, Auto and Sport. The headline figures are impressive – 26.3 km/l combined consumption and CO2 emissions of just 99 g/km.

Back in April 2011, we reported that Nasim was exploring the possibility of bringing in the Peugeot 3008 HYbrid4 to Malaysia, and that Peugeot was then conducting tests in France with our Euro 2M spec diesel.

“So far the tests have yielded positive results, but there are still more tests to be done. Once we can conclude that the 3008 HYbrid 4 will have no problems running on Euro 2 diesel, we will look into launching it in Malaysia,” Naza boss SM Nasarudin was quoted as saying.

Well, the fact that the 3008 HYbrid 4 is being tested by JPJ now shows that PSA in France has given the green light for their diesel hybrid to run on our low grade fuel, and that a local launch is on the cards. The big question is how much will it sell for after hybrid tax exemption?

Click on the link to view a gallery of the Peugeot 3008 HYbrid4.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• woohoo!they do listen dont they?credit where its due, this is a very exciting news indeed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Woohooo….Honda Insight like Fuel Consumption but with 500NM OF TORQUE!!! thats more powerful than a CRZ!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • ProDSG on Mar 16, 2013 at 8:15 am

Can test all you want but when you have a government that lies, what to do? For years government promising cleaner diesel but till today, protecting the oil players so that they don’t have to invest in Euro 4 standards machines. You know who to vote soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • Astroguy on Mar 18, 2013 at 7:55 am

Oil players has no problem upgrading facilities to Euro4 diesel, the problem is are consumers willing to pay?
          We suggest total removal of fuel subsidy in fact even fuel sales to be taxed.
          Before than, wr can also totally removed the car import and eksais tax, only leave the sales tax…
          So we can but our dream car and pay rm5/ litr of petrol or diesel…

• Vader on Mar 15, 2013 at 9:50 am

The “Hybrid” seem interesting for bolehland not due to energy saving, but due to no excited duty which mean more affordable car price.
    However, this is a nice car, if the price right, sure it can sell..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • safety first on Mar 15, 2013 at 11:15 am

Totally agreed with you malaysian bought the hybrid car becoz of price but not sure this car can run on Euro 2 diesel?

• besides the tax advantage, I found its more interesting because of its diesel turbo + hybrid drivetrain

diesel is already proven to be efficient especially on highway cruising, while hybrid best perform in city driving.. this car has best in both world..

Definitely more powerful and drivable than a Toyota Prius, better interior than the plastic feel of the prius

The other difference between this and the normal hybrid we know is that the 3008 hybrid system power the rear wheels.. thus it can be an AWD system, it will come pretty handy during rainy days…

looking at the bhp and torque, closest hybrid rival Prius cant match those figures.. 500Nm torque is a lot of pickup power.. to make a comparison, Golf GTI produce 280Nm torque, Ford TDCi produce 300Nm torque..

Although I dont talk much good thing about peugeot (its a French, what do you expect), but I am impressed with its 3008 Hybrid4 setup and feature.. you have to know it to appreciate its amazing features.. Its not ordinary hybrid that we assume like Prius, Insight, City etc etc.. Its a turbo diesel hybrid..

• Joe Radzif on Mar 15, 2013 at 10:02 am

hm…
    this Anol Alias is my cousin…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 21
  • Positive News Indeed! with diesel and hybrid in one car what else do you need for fuel saving

• Top Gear Fanatic on Mar 15, 2013 at 10:33 am

I always thought the world’s first diesel hybrid was accomplished by three blokes in a pokey motoring show called top gear…their creation is Hammerhead Eagle i-Thrust

• Kalun on Mar 15, 2013 at 4:58 pm

It’s specifically a Diesel Plug-in Hybrid. Which is even more efficient than a Chevy Volt. :)

• xenogearz™ on Mar 15, 2013 at 10:36 am

Three cheers to Nasim for bringing in the tax-exempted, world’s 1st diesel hybrid! Now, let us all hope for an affordable tax-exempted price so that everyone can enjoy a piece of this sweetness.

• oilworker on Mar 15, 2013 at 10:40 am

Yeyyyy… great news!! this one might be the choice for next car…

• i don’t think many of us would be particularly interested with the drivetrain in a 3008 since its so hideous but if they use this in any other car, i think its a big win for peugeot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
    • Nope I’am very interested in it. The Peugeot 3008 is a great car, with a very nicely designed interior, this drivetrain really dose enhance its positive. It’s just a shame that its blessed with one gawdawful design. Really looks like a pig from almost all angle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • yes, i’ve heard many positive reviews about it, but for my money, it’d be the slightly pricier and much better looking 5008.

• theanswer on Mar 15, 2013 at 11:51 pm

actually i found both 3008 and 5008 nice. hehehehe. i like 3008..but my family member didnt like suv..end up with 508 n 308.

• personally don’t like the looks. facelift should come sooner.

• Proton Saga R3 Biru on Mar 15, 2013 at 11:07 am

This will help to pave the way for newer model running on Diesel Hybrid. Good job NAZA

• Kuntakinte on Mar 15, 2013 at 11:15 am

Honda CRV killer… And possibly all other mid range AWD or passenger 4WD too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • theanswer on Mar 15, 2013 at 11:48 pm

depends. even 1.6thp give better spec than crv..but this is crossover..a bit smaller than crv.

• jalan54 on Mar 15, 2013 at 11:41 am

This is the Hybrid that I’ve been waiting for, the question is, the price tag.

• Ongtk on Mar 15, 2013 at 12:03 pm

Frankly, I would abstain from buying the car unless our diesel is of the higher Euro standard. From my last experience, my last diesel SUV that are claimed to be able to run on Euro 2 diesel incurred huge maintenance costs!

• sepul on Mar 15, 2013 at 12:11 pm

Either the powertrain has been tuned to run on Euro 2M or our fuel grade is already met with Euro 4 but no official announcement is made yet.

Good stuff nonetheless.

• start-a-figt on Mar 15, 2013 at 12:23 pm

should have waited for this to be my 3-er garage buddy instead of a J-hybrid…

what to do….

• sudonano on Mar 15, 2013 at 1:22 pm

#respect to Nasim motors. Seriously. They seem to have really made an effort to bring in good diesels to Malaysia, besides BMW. Not a single Korean/Japanese marque is doing this in the non-premium market. Big win for them.

• Ramun on Mar 15, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Hoping the G to expedite introduction of Euro4M Diesel (if im not mistaken) in Malaysia. Guess what will happen? older trucks/ trailer is not customized with the new fuel. Need to purchase new vehicle. Cost of delivery increases. Harga barang naik! Yeay!
    *ASSumption. hah hah

• Wow that torque figure is really out of this world! I bet it will feel very fast off the line. Get the price right and it will sell oh so well.

• shawal on Mar 15, 2013 at 10:17 pm

since the roads conditions already mimics our neighboring countries , those extra mm of ground clearance might just come in handy…

• Fahmi on Mar 16, 2013 at 8:38 am

Diesel? Efficient…
    Diesel Hybrid? Even more efficient….

• shawal on Mar 16, 2013 at 9:44 am

look for smokerspack channel on youtube, that dude’s review of this car is pretty funny…

• c14man on Mar 16, 2013 at 2:13 pm

The more exciting thing to look forward is its price. Look at audi a6 hybrid! This could be priced lower than prius! Drool… But can’t they put it in its face lift form as spyshot couple months back? The one with the new family look.

• ahlee bin ahtan on Mar 16, 2013 at 2:57 pm

RM20 to Penang one way only but Tol RM 50?

• old dog on Mar 16, 2013 at 3:41 pm

can work on B10 diesel?

• tikus on Mar 16, 2013 at 11:27 pm

Pls bring in this beauty…500NM torque.That killer!!!
    Hope that Nazim bring in fast coz me planing to buy a hybrid b4 tax free end.Price also important.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • razak on Mar 22, 2013 at 4:28 pm

i confirm will buy this lion…..hope it will be in the market very soon…..tak boleh tahan oooo…..anyone has org dlm in naza that can give some further
    clue?

• TAN AIHWA on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:46 am

pls let me know when can make the booking for this 3008 Hybrida. TQ.