DRIVEN: Volkswagen Golf Mk7 1.4 TSI in Malaysia

golf mk7

Honestly, what can be said of the Volkswagen Golf that hasn’t already been said a thousand times over? With seven model generations, over 29 million sold and numerous accolades conferred upon it, you know that this is about as significant as cars get.

In order to fully appreciate its significance, we have to go back forty years in time. Had the original Golf not happened, we might not have Volkswagen today; we therefore wouldn’t have the mighty VW Group with its impressive stable of marques, and the world’s second-largest carmaker would be someone else.

As Ford proved in the early days of motoring with the Model T, you can’t ride on just the one model’s wave of success forever. Sure enough, Beetle sales were falling by the early 1970s (after having been in production since the war ended), and the company needed something other than that rear-engined, air-cooled platform if it wanted to survive.

golf mk7

Thanks to Audi, VW got the platform it needed, resulting in the Volkswagen Golf of 1974. It wasn’t Wolfsburg’s first water-cooled, front-engined, FWD product – but it was given the arduous task of replacing the Beetle (and today we have both Golf and Beetle on sale). How has it done so far?

Well, the Beetle took 60 years to reach global sales of 21 million units. The Golf surpassed that number in half the time.

Of course, all this was happening in a different time and place, but still, if its ancestors are anything to go by, this must be quite a car. We now arrive at the Golf Mk7 1.4 TSI, which officially went on sale in Malaysia yesterday. You know the car, you know the price, and you know how it performed in Sardinia. Let’s see how lucky number seven fares on Malaysian soil.

golf mk7

The day after the preview party on Tuesday, Volkswagen Malaysia held a media drive for the Golf Mk7 to Georgetown, Penang, the route of which comprised long motorway blasts, twisty and hilly B-roads, as well as stop-and-go urban driving (not to mention the constant dealing with potholes, ruts and bumps we’re all too familiar with).

Everyone can be their own judge in terms of looks. I’d call the Golf Mk7 handsome, but unassumingly so. It doesn’t say very much to me and there are certainly more striking designs to be had in this segment, but then again, there are also people who prefer their cars mature and understated like this.

There are some interesting styling details though, even if you have to concentrate before you notice them. I particularly like the side-on view, which I think shows the car’s balanced proportions to its best advantage.

golf mk7

A kink in the C-pillar panel is a clear nod to the original Golf, and the fuel filler cap is shaped to emulate the angles (the Mk6’s is circular), emphasising that kink even further. The overall effect is one of restrained dynamism, and U-shaped LED DRL bars add presence.

Slimming the body are two swage lines, deeper and more pronounced than those on the Mk6, making the new car look sharper and tauter. Working to similar effect are more angular head and tail lamps, bumpers, wing mirrors and lower intake, as well as defined bonnet creases. You still wouldn’t mistake it for anything other than a Golf, would you?

So the new car may not look worlds apart from the previous Mk6 on the outside, but to VW, clearly it’s what’s inside that matters. The biggest change is an all-new MQB platform. It’s a flexible one – designed for transverse-mounted engine applications, its variable parameters include track width, wheelbase and overhangs both front and rear. Only the distance between the front axle and the bulkhead is fixed.

golf mk7

The EA211 1.4 TSI powerplant is also new, with 140 PS from 4,500 to 6,000 rpm and 250 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 3,500 rpm. This engine loses the supercharger from the previous EA111 twincharged unit, which developed 160 PS at 5,800 rpm and 240 Nm of torque from 1,750 to 4,500 rpm.

Granted, the new car is slower to 100 km/h than the one before by about half a second, but as you can see, although there’s 20 PS less where peak power is concerned, all 140 horses kick in a full 1,300 rpm earlier and are sustained over a 1,500 rpm band. Peak torque, up by 10 Nm, also enjoys a wider spread over the rev range, making the numbers, if anything, more accessible overall.

Also, the Golf Mk7 is longer, lower, wider and lighter than its predecessor, resulting in more all-round cabin and boot space, and better fuel economy. Add to that various other improvements here and there, and you can appreciate how, on paper at least, the new car is a little better than the old one in every area that matters.

golf mk7

Step inside and you’re greeted by a cockpit that’s arguably more function than form – but its minimalist appearance belies its well-thought out ergonomics. Buttons and switches are exactly where you’d expect to find them, and are within intuitive reach. No qualms where switchgear quality is concerned, either.

The centre stack, housing the 5.8-inch proximity sensor-equipped “Composition Media” colour touchscreen system (with swipe functionality) and dual-zone climate controls, is angled ever so slightly towards the driver. It’s not the cosiest place in the world to be in, but at any rate, it’s a lot cleaner than the Mk6’s dashboard. A case of less is more, then.

The steering wheel gets a flat bottom, revised buttons and a classy chrome surround around the hub. There’s an electronic parking brake with Auto Hold, and underneath both front seats are pull-out storage trays. Manual seat adjustment is the order of the day, and a sunglass storage compartment sits over your head. Another cubbyhole is located on the driver’s side, just under the headlamp switch – pull the handle to reveal.

golf mk7

The practicality doesn’t end there. There are two cupholders on the centre console and bottle holders in the door pockets. The rear armrest houses a storage ‘trough’ with two little detachable pieces that allow one to alter the size of the cupholder opening to fit the cup or bottle snugly. With the pieces set at the smallest openings (furthest from each other), the clever contraption can hold two cups and a mobile phone in between, for example.

Right, with all that out of the way, let’s get down to the drive. On the highway, the Golf Mk7 is suitably quiet and refined, with wind noise detectable only at speeds in excess of 140 km/h or so. At a constant 110 km/h in seventh gear, the engine spins at a low 2,000 rpm and is therefore aurally indiscernible, not to mention economical.

Venture further across the speedometer and the Golf remains sure-footed and stable, with minimal steering effort required to keep it on the straight and narrow. It has a reasonably high natural cruising speed too, which means you can amble along at a respectable rate with relaxed ease, for mile after mile.

golf mk7

Comfort levels are high at such speeds, thanks in part to the 205/55 R16s, but more of it due to the suspension, which at the back employs an independent multi-link setup. Bumps are absorbed well by relatively long spring travel; rebound can result in one or two body oscillations too many, particularly when going over nastier ridges, but only if you’re going very fast indeed.

A significant degree of fun is to be had in the twisties. With this TSI now bestowed with the XDS differential lock from its hot GTI sibling, the deliberate scrubbing of the inside wheel under hard cornering to induce a bit of schoolboy chuckle is harder than ever, if not nearly impossible. XDS brakes the inside wheel to curb understeer and improve traction, affording more confidence in the bends.

Also encouraging you are good brakes, meaty in feel and progressively linear in action. Steering is quick and direct – although a tad more high-speed feedback would be nice. Body roll isn’t absent, but it isn’t excessive either – at any rate, the Golf Mk7 can briskly sweep from turn to turn without drama, all the while maintaining its composure.

golf mk7

Demand Sport mode and things get markedly more immediate. Gears are stubbornly held on to for longer and engaged more urgently. The engine, which is pretty inaudible most of the time, now emits a thin, clean sporty note that’s still somewhat muted, even in the upper echelons of the rev range.

A reduction though it may be, let it be said that 140 PS is not to be scoffed at – the Golf Mk7 can carry a decent turn of speed, aided by the quick- and smooth-shifting seven-speed DSG. Initial lag is present at the lower end – most evident when moving off – but otherwise, the power is pretty usable in most conditions.

Now you arrive in town, and the inevitable stop at traffic lights cues the start-stop system. Some of you may be wondering if starting off again produces an unwelcome jerk – it does, only if you step on the throttle too soon after releasing the brakes, without allowing the DSG to engage the clutch first. But it’s really a second’s wait, at the most.

golf mk7

Even with non-start-stop-equipped VWs with DSG, for a smooth and jolt-free move-off, one waits for the car to creep forward before addressing the accelerator pedal, so this is no different. Engine vibration and shake at start-up and shut-off is not intrusive, but could be improved.

Oh, and if you’re wondering about traffic jams, the system can recognise erratic stop-go movements and will keep the engine running as necessary. In any case, during prolonged traffic light waits, the engine starts itself after a while anyway, to minimise load on the electrically-driven air-con compressor and other such ancillaries.

Visibility is good all round, and I found the steering at city speeds to be more communicative than on previous-gen VWs. Ruts and potholes were also sufficiently absorbed at these speeds. I even rode in the back for a while – due to a less-steeply raked shoulder line (and therefore window sill), there is a reasonable expanse of glass area to keep claustrophobia at bay. Contributing to the comfort are rear air-con vents and a decent amount of space at the back.

golf mk7

The “Composition Media” touchscreen unit is intuitive and easy to use (you’ve seen how the proximity sensor works, albeit in its larger 8.0-inch form). The smooth scrolling works well, but the animated page flips, although cool-looking, can be a little slow. However, the graphics are attractive and legibility during the day is good.

When all is said and done, the Volkswagen Golf Mk7 is more of an evolution than a revolution. At RM157,888, it will remain the aspiration of many young professionals, and is still a practical, refined, economical, quick and well-built offering in its segment.

It’s a choice you make more with your mind than your heart though, but then again, it is hard to argue with 29 million people.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Despite all the good reviews and comments.. My heart still says go for ford focus

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 199 Thumb down 36
    • Saganian on Mar 17, 2013 at 10:46 am

The front of it reminds me of Proton Saga BLM, i would hav mistaken it for a saga omg…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 78
      • jigged on Mar 17, 2013 at 11:34 am

Bored with straight lines on shoulders. why not skewing it like those on elantra and preve? it’ll look more modern

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 35
        • BMW Fanboi on Mar 17, 2013 at 12:12 pm

Preve is still a better car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 284 Thumb down 92
          • madman on Mar 17, 2013 at 1:22 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 196
          • tricycle on Mar 17, 2013 at 7:54 pm

really dude? preve?

i haven’t tested preve so don’t have any clue.

but MK7 should be more fun compared to MK6, (MK6 is already good enough)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 128
          • Better car but bad image badge lolx without the tiger head badge,then u should proud of it when u’r driving it,no matter what brands is it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 97
          • Ah Beng on Mar 18, 2013 at 5:37 am

Why preve no award if better car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 70
          • Johnny on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:40 am

Because Preve is the King of the road!

• All4TorqueProDSG on Mar 18, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Big hoo haa about this car, but has Volkswagen Malaysia sorted out the DSG issue? I was pro VW but after reading many negative comments in various blogs as well as PT’s site recently, I have started thinking differently. If I buy a luxury car, it is not just for status, I buy a luxury car to have quality and reliability. I pay a premium for quality and reliability. DSG might be so advanced and all that but if it kaputs every now and then, it is really worth it? What is the point of having a luxury car when the whole is reason of owning a car is about bringing me from A to B without problems and the luxury car cannot do that? I think we have to rethink what we want in life. Is status and prestige of owning a Continental brand worth the hassle to visiting the service centre every other month whilst my fellow brethren who has a mere Honda and Toyota, who has paid half the price does not face the same problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
          • intermilan on Mar 18, 2013 at 5:08 pm

valid concerns there.
            by the way, this is not a luxury car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
          • First of all this is not a luxury car. No where near. Since you have brought up this matter on reliability, now we know why the Japanese didn’t bring in turbo charged or dual clutch. Japanese are known to be extremely cautious. We don’t need a rocket scientist to tell us if you keep pushing a small cc engine hard, their day will come eventually. Turbo, super charged have their reliability concern. Continental car already have their known issues in Malaysia. From 308 turbo problem to Audi high engine oil consumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
          • ProDSG on Mar 21, 2013 at 8:42 pm

That’s the problem with people like you. Only know how to talk cock! Balless. Heat negative comments ppl who don’t know what they missing. Start looking at Toyota and Honda. How stupid. Don’t even own one Conti car then start to talk cock! I heard MyVi is the Car of The Year in Ah Beng land and Camry is soon gonna take over Mercedes. Stupid! Talk cock!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 47
      • brembo on Mar 17, 2013 at 11:54 am

110km/h at 2000rpm only? preve also can do that similarly at 100km/h. what so special about this car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 63
        • susu kotak on Mar 17, 2013 at 5:36 pm

1.4L?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
        • hadi75 on Mar 18, 2013 at 7:26 am

Lower rpm at cruising speed = lower fuel consumption…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
        • kadajawi on Mar 18, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Built quality. The Preve had to be built as cheap as possible (after all, look at the price! With similar taxes than the Golf!), so they had to sacrifice quality. There is probably little sacrifice in the Golf. It should also be more reliable.

But yeah, the Preve is a respectable effort, and considering the price… if only it costs more (with all the additional money going into quality).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • My Nissan Teana 2.5L can do 110kmpg at 1500rpm better than all of you.

• y they dont want to price vw mk7 below RM100k it just 1.4? toyota can do…honda can do..kia can do….china car can..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
      • Kereta on Mar 18, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Below RM100k? Err… the car and most of it’s part are from Germany. The consumption is better than a Vios but can outrun a Camry 2.5. Just try to feel the plastics on a Civic or even an Accord versus the Golf dashboard, you’ll know what I mean by the word quality. And of course it’s not isolated to the dashboard alone, even the Camry’s glove box looks cheap versus the Golf – Camry is unlined, just light plastic, Golf is lined with velvet. A little bit here, a little bit there, and the extra RM40k bill is justified. I owned a Civic before, trust me, Golf is on a different league.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 7
      • kadajawi on Mar 18, 2013 at 2:48 pm

Just because it has a 1.4 it doesn’t mean it doesn’t have power. It is similar to a Camry 2.0 in terms of power output, but lighter and smaller. The 1.4 engine is not a cheap unit, I believe the 1.2 TSI costs more than the NA 1.6. Something like that.

• amirad on Mar 18, 2013 at 10:19 am

Agreed. But the focus needs a 1.6l ecoboost engine to seriously challenge the golf. Handling wise the focus has the edge, all it needs is a grunt to match.

• fredo on Mar 18, 2013 at 12:27 pm

u should test drive the focus 2.0. tho it has lower torque but it has 40 more hp than the mk7… it should not be far behind if not equally fast

• ahmad loy on Mar 18, 2013 at 5:06 pm

..the rpm is very big gap..meaning is low FC. Current technology focus on Nm/FC..so higher hp is no more important..that’s why you can see Toyota using “Lexus” brand for this kind of technology but with very super high price for “spesific” buyer..the Korean apply the same but for uk/europe market..this VW MK7 Golf is the car that the people’s need..the hp/Nm/FC/safety features..BUT the most problem is it’s pricing strategy..better wait for some years to introduce that kind of price tag..the Korean better take these chances..bring in your uk/europe’s “T-GDI” here with right pricing.

• Michael Chia on Mar 19, 2013 at 10:53 am

Have heard horror stories from my brother who works in VW Service Centre about the DSG. Some owners just come in service centres every other month because DSG have konked out. Can VW Malaysia just come clean and assure us the DSG won’t konk out or else money back since it has become common knowledge it is an “inherent defect”?

• Jonathan, to be fair, I think this test drive report should have been done by Anthony.

Reason:
    1) Anthony test drove the international version at Sardinia.
    2) The international version has more stuff crammed inside the car. E.g ACT.
    3) He can write the COMPARISON.

We’ve been always given the lesser car, we hope that this would be change. Not sure what this will achieve, but I’ll feel plenty better knowing that every Malaysian know that they are getting the lesser car. Thanks DRB!

I still enjoyed your review. :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 17
  • tunggguuu on Mar 17, 2013 at 10:14 am

the rest of the world get this car in rather well priced means..thats y they cant go worng with this car……here in malaysia..for that money…it seems well over priced… 157k is a D segment money afterall..no matter how good the 7 is….157k is absurd…as was the previous mk6 1.4TSI…

a fully loaded focus.. is only for 128k..thats almost 29k different…so is the GOLF 29k more better than the focus? even the 308 turbo seems better value…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 207 Thumb down 10
    • Jimmy on Mar 17, 2013 at 11:11 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 167
      • tunggguuu on Mar 17, 2013 at 12:32 pm

hahahahhaa…

u must be seriously living in a jungle and just got to the world n saw the golf as the first car with 7 airbags…damn fiesta also has 7 airbags..and it cost how much?

dont come here and torment me as though as u know everything.

we are comparing to the same segment cars. go n read about the focus. what tech its has. man..if i c u in real u get a bashing from me for sure.

and bloody hell..who the hell is talking bout toyota?

read this before u comment u idiot.
        http://www.peugeot.com.my/media/deliacms/media//10/1094-ee4c4f.pdf

i get a D segment for 156k…how bout that? 6 airbags? got? 7 inch screen? it has too…dont be stupid here man.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 14
        • tunggguuu on Mar 17, 2013 at 12:37 pm

oh by the way…FORD and PEUGEOT are not JAP…hope at least u know this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
        • Jimmy on Mar 17, 2013 at 2:57 pm

True, Fiesta sedan is a good car also, with 7 airbags. We always hope that most Malaysia aiming for B-segment cars will choose Fiesta Sedan.
          If we don’t promote this kind of safety consciousness, nobody will demand those equipments and as such, Proton buyers will forever be very satisfied with 4 airbags, whereas the Preve in Australia gets 6. If we cannot change the mind of Malaysian Toyota buyers, then change the Toyotas they are going to buy into safer cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 36
          • tunggguuu on Mar 17, 2013 at 5:01 pm

so how is your statement still true?
            “Is RM157k really that much in your eyes? Come on le, I always laughed at those people who killed the musuh because of conflict involving just RM1M.” – jimmy

they give 7 airbags and its worth 157k? n they remove much of other specs from the cars for the msian market. focus also has all the safety features and more n its at 128k..308 turbo too…n a 5 segment safety rich 508 is at 156k…n like the others comments… golf is overpriced!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 3
      • Paparazzi on Mar 17, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Do you mind tell us how many units you have booked?

• kimchi on Mar 18, 2013 at 12:19 am

one word : expensive
        taiwan NAP policy as well,Brand New Gold GTi
        RM 150K ,Not really Cant afford just Not worth it,i mean not not only VW but most car in malaysia price is nonsense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • Kia guy on Mar 18, 2013 at 12:52 pm

why so angry? zhuo ma gai oh….I rather buy K5 with this price , seriously

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • David on Mar 18, 2013 at 11:56 pm

K5? I rather buy Toyota Innova! How many Innova can carry 7 ppl. Can K5 carry 7 ppl?

• kadajawi on Mar 18, 2013 at 2:51 pm

If compared to Japanese cars, yes, it is worth it (though the <100k Prius C also comes with 7 airbags and stability control). However, the direct competitor to the Golf is the Focus. They are on one level, with the Focus having the better ride (usually), and the Golf having slightly better quality/materials.

Why then is the Golf so much more than the Focus? I believe specs are quite similar, in parts even better on the Focus.

• intermilan on Mar 18, 2013 at 5:27 pm

don’t forget the 308, mate. its kinda long in the tooth already, but still a direct competitor.

it isn’t as refined and composed as the golf i believe, but by being cheaper by a HUGE RM40,000++, more peak power by 16bhp, almost equal torque (240Nm vs Golf’s 250Nm) and a few more accessories (e.g. panoramic roof) than the Golf, it still held an advantage of its own.

the prince engine might have some issues but so do the DSG gearbox.

i think, in the end, it all about brand snobbishness.

• fyekz on Dec 09, 2013 at 7:46 pm

i own an MK6, and my bff owns a 308.. driving experience wise, mk6 was way much better, hands down.. he drove my car and also mentioned that mk6 is way much better car to drive pleasurely compared to mk6..

i found it funny how ppl love to bash golf when they had probably never drove the car..yes, it’s overpriced in malaysia,but to compared to preve? pffffttt..

• agree with u, mate

• Loklok on Mar 17, 2013 at 10:30 am

Nice car with rip off price.. Wordless

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 5
    • fiinish on Mar 17, 2013 at 11:59 am

Still not a smooth refined car. have to wait until the car moves before pedaling to get rid of jerking Then it’s a way better then proton’s cvt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • “It’s a choice you make more with your mind than your heart though, but then again, it is hard to argue with 29 million people.”

Majority of the 29 million people don’t pay RM160,000 for a normal VW Golf. Further it’s priced too close to Passat yet so far away from Polo. The gap between Polo and Golf isn’t that significant yet RM50,000 in difference!

A more reasonable figure is approximately RM128,888. If Ford or even Peugeot can price their C-segment competitively, why not VW? Who’s to blame? VW Malaysia or the Government?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 1
    • Why not DRB.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
      • someone on Mar 18, 2013 at 9:15 am

err… actually, why DRB?
        DRB dont decide the price. They are just one of the dealers, just like FA, Wearnes, Goh, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Yes, sub-RM130k is more reasonable for less powerful successor of Mk VI though it have some amenities absence in Mk VI.

• AiyoGG on Apr 30, 2013 at 3:30 pm

agree with you Mark gor..
      ’29 Million people’ yeah, but how much of them is paying >150K of their own currency for a 1.4 golf?
      lets hope there will be some price adjustment after GE2013, if The Car is tagged around RM125K will definitely get my vote

• Alvin on Mar 17, 2013 at 10:37 am

If you really insist to get an European make turbo car, makes more sense buying the Peugeot 308T at RM121,888 (including insurance not like the Golf!). You save more than RM40,000 easily.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 7
  • Fahmi on Mar 17, 2013 at 10:37 am

Good car, but there are better cars for the money… But I think i prefer Skoda Octavia more, especially the Mk2 and upcoming Mk3 VRS TDI, sadly Mk3 is not even reached Malaysia, yet……..Same car, but cheaper price tag, more space, more equipment, seems interesting though…..Or in Malaysia, Peugeot 508 Premium for only RM170K or Standard for RM155K…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • kadajawi on Mar 18, 2013 at 2:54 pm

The Octavia is overpriced here, sadly, as it only comes in the GTI rivaling spec. If they’d offer the regular Octavia at 130k… (which should reflect the actual price of the car in relation to the price of similar competitors in Malaysia…). But I do like it a lot as well. Lots of space, practical, good looks, good brand/image (well, at least to Europeans. These days you are seen as smart if you drive a Skoda).

• ahmad loy on Mar 18, 2013 at 5:25 pm

..seems this Skoda brand might be here in near future with this range of price..the ex vw owners which is no more afford for the new model..divert to Skoda brand..very good strategy..less word: for Malaysian..the Skoda’s become the people’s car..premium one is VW’s and Audi’s for luxury..all of them sharing one SC/parts and one taukeh “VAG”..I guess.

• Jimmy on Mar 17, 2013 at 10:38 am

Good car, reasonable price, 7 airbags, good.
    VGM just hope that A200 is not at RM170K (I think very unlikely).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 74
    • ABTguy on Mar 17, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Merc better take this chance to price the new A 160 at RM168k. This can easily kill Golf MK7.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
  • PauCharSiew on Mar 17, 2013 at 11:06 am

I would add another 20k for the Alfa romeo giulietta which looks so much better or even consider the ds4 or ds5 which has a miles nicer interior. However for reasonable alternatives, a focus or civic seems to be better. I would wait out for the corolla and hopefully it would be something like the auris (but i doubt it)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
  • Megane on Mar 17, 2013 at 11:13 am

It’s a Golf ma …must price this higher than 308 or Focus , otherwise exclusiveness is a bit lost . i agree with the above comments . It’s overpriced ! 1.4L with a dull interior and exterior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 9
  • amustapha on Mar 17, 2013 at 11:21 am

Nice car..but the price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • wenghee on Mar 17, 2013 at 11:31 am

Nothing to shout with this car. I wonder why foreign journalists gave more just opinions to local cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi on Mar 18, 2013 at 2:57 pm

VW is a bit like Toyota. Not flashy, not shouty, just solid good cars (and unlike ASEAN Toyotas they are modern). That’s why they sell so well. A Focus may excel at handling. A Guiletta or DS4 may excel in terms of looks. But you just can’t go wrong with a Golf, it offers a great package and oozes with quality… an easy car to live with.

• Fahmi on Mar 17, 2013 at 11:54 am

Car prices in Malaysia are skyrocketingly high….
    In UK, fully specced 535d M Sport sells for approx £69,465 fully specced with iDrive Professional, Proffessional Audio, Panoramic Sunroof etc…
    £1=RM4.71 RM321,000..
    http://www.bmw.co.uk/vc/ncc/xhtml/start/startWithConfigUrl.faces?country=GB&market=GB&productType=1&brand=BM&language=en&name=p7g2s9b6#CURRENT_CONFIG
    In Malaysia, the 520d SE costs RM333,000 without quad zone climate control and Integral Active Steering…
    On the flipside, UK fuel prices is higher than Malaysian’s…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
    • hadi75 on Mar 18, 2013 at 7:30 am

The fuel maybe expensive but atleast you can control your fuel budget….here in malaysia we are stuck with atleast 7 years loan that must be pay whether we drive or not….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • goodboy on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:26 pm

Agreed with @Fahmi,lower car pricing should ideal case as we pay a lower down payment(everyone can own a better car) an getting a lower loan amount.The rest we can use for filling petrol.Just imagine,if tax reduced by RM10k then even Ron95 cost RM2.20 then how long would it takes to used up the RM10k?.

• KingPin on Mar 17, 2013 at 12:26 pm

European car of the year, wont deny it cause its very normal and appeals to the general public who careless bout car technology or driving experience. Looks very old and dated. 2nd largest marque is pulling a Toyota , selling a normal car with hefty price tag

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
  • tantan on Mar 17, 2013 at 12:30 pm

the price on VW is the reason when I looking for a new car…. I opt for Pug 308 when compare it with VW. Of course I pick 308 also due to I like the look of it.

outside malaysia, Golf suppose to price same and some version even less than Pug 308. But thanks to our tax policy. It mutated VW pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • i dont think this bcoz of NAP…how can kia,hyundai,toyota,honda,china car can price their 1.8 below RM100k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • tantan on Mar 17, 2013 at 12:34 pm

hmmm even for Golf and Focus….at US, they are similar priced. Seriously, I guess as long as we wanted something made outside of Malaysia, regardless CKD and CBU, we need to aware we pay extra.

it is just unfair to claim why not just pick Proton because at first place, local and foreign car is not in a fair competition ground here at Malaysia. Its definitely making proton have been spec/price when compare to foreign made.

• kadajawi on Mar 18, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Proton has the same taxes as ASEAN built cars, and the extra for CKD and CBU is not that high. They are probably protected though by not giving permission to other cars unless they are expensive enough.

The one thing that is wrong with the Golf pricing is that the Golf and Focus are similarly priced elsewhere, but here there is a big price difference.

• Boycott on Mar 17, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Overpriced, overrated

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 7
  • Self-proclaimed Sultan of Bulu on Mar 17, 2013 at 12:51 pm

I would rather get a D-segment Kia Optima. What’s so premium about Volkswagen? Outside Malaysia their cars are the same price range as Kia. You are paying Kia Optima price for a Kia Cee’d? It doesn’t make sense VW Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
    • Ah Beng on Mar 18, 2013 at 5:55 am

Why kia no win COTY?

• songeh on Mar 18, 2013 at 1:24 pm

lol that’s just about same question i may ask you : why vios and camry are very popular here despite their 4 speed gearboxes and 2 airbags?

• Boycott on Mar 17, 2013 at 12:52 pm

Ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
  • madman on Mar 17, 2013 at 1:25 pm

good car but service left to be desired !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
  • William on Mar 17, 2013 at 1:49 pm

Unfortunately, large % of the 29m of Golf owners dont pay RM160k/USD53k for a Golf with all goodies striped off left with just bare essential.

At this price for its specs, it’s hard to argue that one of the factor which makes Golf/VW sells well worldwide has totally vanished locally, ie. Value for $, an alternative to the Japanese/Korean models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawi on Mar 18, 2013 at 3:12 pm

All goodies stripped off? I’d say the Golf TSI here is quite well speced, compared to what most people buy when they get a Golf. Usually it will probably have around 75 to 90 hp. It will at most have a manual aircondition, and of course manual gearbox. Powered windows in the front, rear maybe have to wind down by hand. etc. That is what most people will buy, that is an entry level Golf that is affordable. A 140 hp Golf is out of reach for many.

Also, the Golf was always the most expensive C segment car, apart from actual premium brands like Volvo, Audi, BMW and Mercedes. Though yes, in Malaysia the price difference seems very excessive… usually it is not nearly as big.

• MK7 equipped with the same DSG7 transmission of a Golf MK6????

• Nice car. Do la politicize a car forum la…..tu la. Please keep your comment on cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 36
    • tokmoh on Mar 17, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Nampak tak permainan dia?

BN tax cars kaw kaw, then when carmakers sell at overinflated price, tell rakyat don’t politicise car price, please bersyukur car price is still cheap (chairman ap king’s club). Nokharoooooom betulll

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 8
    • mahatiew on Mar 17, 2013 at 6:52 pm

All aspects of our lives are closely related to politics, from the moment we are born, till we die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 19
  • Babelon on Mar 17, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Sales consultant in VW told me this car will price hike another 15-20K after 500units. Not sure how true it is?

Personally I test drove the car, it is responsive and good handling…but pricey

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Hahahaaa…sales must have been poor for the salesman to bluff like that…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • Amir Sufyan on Mar 17, 2013 at 5:42 pm

Lol…funny..hurry2 better buy a dozen, then sell back…

• _xXx_ on Mar 17, 2013 at 2:59 pm

pay with life saving or full of hutang lapuk later on for a bread and butter car like this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Bashing again on Mar 17, 2013 at 3:06 pm

Readers here like to bash Vios, Almera, Camry and now Golf. But the fact remains those are the best sellers in Malaysia! Strange?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
    • Amir Sufyan on Mar 17, 2013 at 6:29 pm

Vios…yea, almera..yes…camry…hmmm..the new one ok2…but this golf…hmm bit difficult for the price

• Daniel Wong on Mar 29, 2013 at 5:55 pm

I suggest you test drive the car then decide if it’s worth it. I think there’s a price for everything. I owned a Xantia, A Benz and now a Golf TSI. I thinks its value for money and I enjoyed driving it. Good response, economical and feels safe. The best part is the fuel meter goes down very slowly!!!

• Simon Ng on Mar 17, 2013 at 3:13 pm

During TT time, my friend said me the only way for him to get a brand new car like this is his kids to burn him one when he is dead.

A hot Sunday afternoon suddenly felt very cold.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
  • What an ugly car for the price tag…low horsepower…what’s so proud driving it? Plenty of other better choices in the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
    • Kereta on Mar 18, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Horsepower is not everything, there’s torque also. Anyhow, the simplest thing is a 0 to 100 dash. Golf does it in 8.5 secs, compare that with the rest.

• Daniel Wong on Mar 29, 2013 at 6:00 pm

The instant response at the low end is mind blowing for a 1.4 liter car. I love to see the Camrys and Accords being blown away.

• i find this article to be boring…a plain review…straighforward english with no soul in it. i dont know if u get what i mean. i prefer someone like hafriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 39
    • Black Dog on Mar 17, 2013 at 11:07 pm

Jonathan did a bloody good job doing the review. I’m not sure how powderful is your england but it’s downright rude to criticise a good writer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
      • Jonathan James Tan (Member) on Mar 18, 2013 at 12:34 pm

Haha thanks for the compliment! But ted is right to an extent, I could’ve injected some spice and soul into the review to make it more interesting to read, but I had a tight deadline to meet.

On the other hand, you could say the language used reflects the Golf’s character – straightforward, thorough and efficient, but a little bit serious and clinical.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
        • kadajawi on Mar 18, 2013 at 3:14 pm

I agree, it meets the car. And Hafriz is a bit long winded and repetitive at times. :P

• hi there, sorry if my comment was too much too take. apologize for comparing you with Hafriz. I believe people are unique, and you have your own way of doing things. Again please accept my sincerest apology.

• this is among the best sellin car. it has its own standard. the hype is there. the article need to be more of on the “ho-ha” side. not your typical car perception.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • oilworker on Mar 17, 2013 at 4:57 pm

just went over to jln ampang showroom just now, in flesh its still boring but the space inside really is better than the old one. the salesperson said that this price is only for the first batch of golf, the subsequent batch will be priced 160+ without insurance. so for those who wants this go book a unit soon..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 37
    • Amir Sufyan on Mar 17, 2013 at 5:47 pm

U believe them?..the salesman of VW…so desparate to get sale..if really naik, sure vw kena kutuk lagi kaw2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Loklok on Mar 17, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Why don’t you just ask the SA just price it same as Passat so that everyone will book the passat.. Dumbess pricing ever from volkswagen..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • Modesto.hann on Mar 17, 2013 at 6:56 pm

Not only VW sales reps, sales reps for all
      Other brands are making up story now. Many customers r holding buying decision just in case PKR can do something on the car price if they won..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • rickyll on Mar 18, 2013 at 10:37 am

Couldn’t agree more with you. When Nissan Almera was launched, I went to the Nissan’s Sg. Tiram showroom Penang to have a test drive. The sales lady kept telling me that I better book there and then because the quoted prices were promotional for the first 5000 units. she even told me that during her company briefing at KL, Tan Chong Motors had originally wanted to fix the prices at a few thousand RM higher.

• NeoLover on Mar 18, 2013 at 7:10 am

Heard that when I bought my Neo 6 years ago.but the price only increased after they introduced the CPS version…I guess all sales advisor making up the same story.lesson learned.

• Amir Sufyan on Mar 17, 2013 at 5:39 pm

We malaysian disagree with such price tag. VW, when will u realise that we malaysian does not regard u as premium car..u r slightly above the jap interms of comfort but reliability below them, or atleast par….mk7? Wut car? Majority thinks like this…rm 150k++…absurd for such small piece of bland looking, not bmw or merc car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
  • brian on Mar 17, 2013 at 5:42 pm

how does the mk7 stack up against mk6?? any current owner test drive the mk7 care to comment?

• Motorcar on Mar 18, 2013 at 12:34 pm

I owned an MK6 and have test drove the MK7. Overall improvement in quality and ease of use. VW as usual has put in many thoughtful things such as an SD card holder in the coin box (the sound system can play from SD cards, so a driver may have a few in the car). The bootlid closes very easily now (used to be a tug of war)with a very assuring snap. However, on the road, NVH seems a bit worse off. I can feel some droning which at first I thought it’s from the tyres (Mich XM2) but after that I think it’s the insulation itself because I can actually feel vibrations coming in. Power delivery lacked the punch but smoother vs the MK6’s twin charged engine. However, the disapointment is still on VGM’s refusal to introduce more specs such as adaptive cruise and autopark. The problem with VW is that they spent most of their resources on things that are hidden – a very modern, powerful and fuel saving engine but on paper saw a drop in HP, a revolutionary platform made from new super strength steel but no one will ever care about it anyways, evolutionary design which gives good resale value to the older generations whilst preserving the MK7’s looks for years to come but gets attacked for being boring…. But, as a VW owner and future owner (yes, the next car will be a VW too), I do not wish their policy to change – quality and technology wrapped in a discreet and practical package.

• Looks like the mk 7 is a good car. I’ve been using the mk6 tsi for the past 2 years. Enjoyed driving it and love how it handle the twisty & also very comfortable on our normal KL’s road. Yeap, just add another VW to the Garage 2 weeks ago. Got myself a Cross Touran to replace my old MPV. Am surprise that the Touran handling is about as good as the Golf. Frankly, will always be looking at VW for future cars too. They do made good handling, economical & comfortable cars at cheaper than its german’s counterparts.

• ahmad loy on Mar 18, 2013 at 5:48 pm

..with this MK7, they are changing their policy already..no more “really” powerful model likes MK5/6..in near future they will give you very very good FC model..”blue technology” with higher price..that’s why Toyota introduced Altis/Camry with “dual VVTi” much more earlier..and now seem likes VAG try to divert this kind of buyer (want more powerful and very good FC) to Audi’s new A4 Hybrid with similarly Golf GTi’s price tag.

• It’s funny how people compare the golf to a preve. It’s like comparing a Mini to a Kelisa!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 25
    • youbodok on Mar 17, 2013 at 6:45 pm

Both have single turbocharger, you still don’t know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • kadajawi on Mar 18, 2013 at 3:28 pm

Same segment, similar specs, … they are comparable. And taking into account the price the Preve will always win.

• Thanks for the honest opinion, if one can afford a conti then go ahead. Price wise malaysians don’t have such advantage

• mercedes benz lover on Mar 17, 2013 at 5:55 pm

interior looks too basic for a rm150k+ car. once u driven merc this kind of interior will look cheapo and low quality to u…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Hermano on Mar 17, 2013 at 6:01 pm

Err is it just me or one of the DRL is not working..rosak ke?

http://paultan.org/2013/03/17/volkswagen-golf-mk7-tsi-malaysia/20130313_0662/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Henry Leong on Mar 17, 2013 at 7:01 pm

First pic is at Ipoh woh. Jalan Tambun :)

• Henry Leong on Mar 17, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Honestly this car should be sold below RM140k.

VW is not a luxury car. DRB HICOM really don’t get it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • U don’t get it! even Myvis r luxury cars here.

• Motorcar on Mar 18, 2013 at 12:36 pm

No, it’s considered a semi-premium car in which the Pug is trying to emulate currently.

• perception of luxury is funny in bolehland is due to the combination of stupid NAP and low purchasing power. When most of the pop cannot afford, it will automatically became luxury goods, no matter what the price is..

that why, most car priced above proton saga or viva are considered by general as luxury la

• Daniel Wong on Mar 29, 2013 at 6:14 pm

VW does not have the final say on the selling price. Remember the selling price of the Polo GTI? It was selling like hot cakes until some powerful people decided that the tax for that car was too low. Do you know that the duty and taxes for the Golf TSI is RM53,000.00???

• German FanBoy on Mar 17, 2013 at 7:09 pm

RM157k is way cheaper than the Golf in Singapore.

Furthermore, this is the cheapest german car u get in terms of handling, performance, quality compared to benz, bmw, audi, porsche (of course there is polo&jetta which are cheaper)

Carmakers in Malaysia simply cant come out new models which are cheaper than the previous model, as inflation and higher cost of materials comes in play. So VGM have no choice to launch this golf at this price, minus a few vital spec.

I’m sure the next few car launch like the new vios, new forte, new accord, new fiesta etc…cant be cheaper, even launched at same price, it will be a ripped down off the vital spec.

Sadly no many countries can have lower car price for every new model…
    At Malaysia, hopefully a change in G will bring the vehicle price slightly lower

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 40
    • How on earth can u compare Singapore with Malaysia? And please, VW is a CHEAP brand in Europe so please don’t compare it with Merc, Audi etc… Only in Malaysia those who bought it thought they are premium brand. Please la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
      • Pls lah any cars in Europe r cheap lah! Merc Taxi and Audi r just normal cars nia…a bit luxury is porsche,premium r Bentley and Royce Rolls!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
        • Merc and Audi cheap? If that’s the case every Tom, Dick and Harry will be driving one. A toilet janitor will drive his Merc to work then..Please, they are definitely cheaper than Malaysia but its not cheap for everyone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
          • I never type CHEAP! i mean Audis r just another overpriced VW,and Mercs r just normal taxi in Europe and Singapore…it could only happen here ppl think they r ultra luxury! if u’r driving a Myvi SE is like driving a A class AMG!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
          • 1 more thing! pls any cars r not cheap for everyone…some ppl cant even afford those local cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
        • kadajawi on Mar 18, 2013 at 3:32 pm

Merc is popular as a taxi because they were bullet proof. Those taxis drove a million km and more, so over time the high initial cost made sense, especially at a time when other cars where nowhere near as reliable. Also keep in mind that in Europe taking the taxi is quite expensive.

VW is expensive amongst the common brands. It slots in between normal brands and the premium ones, though it is closer to the common ones.

• Really? on Mar 18, 2013 at 1:06 am

Singapore prices are high and where are they now?it made them work harder and we Malaysian just cakap kosong.
        just because vw means peoples car, u think its a cheap brand. its not cheap nor premium. people buying vw to get away from T and H or even other premium marques. its their money and let them enjoy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
        • tokmoh on Mar 18, 2013 at 6:42 pm

apa ketahian ni? sinjiapork dun want ppl to own car cuz its small, instead they developed efficient public transport. ours? ktm hopeless n spam too much 1 m for uuuuu crap, bus too slow n drivers rude mostly, monorel tin sardin since forever n still nothing done, ampang line extension given to cronies with no experience (george kent).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • http://www.carbuzz.co.uk/blog/Golf-Mk7-vs-Mk6-336

Comparo of Mk6 vs Mk7.

1.2 TSI 85 PS Manual
    Mk6: 51.4 mpg, £100 yr tax (D), 0-62 in 12.3 secs
    Mk7: 57.6 mpg, £30 yr tax (C), 0-62 in 11.9 secs

1.2 TSI 105 PS Manual
    Mk6: 49.6 mpg, £120 yr tax (E), 0-62 in 10.6 secs,
    Mk7: 57.6 mpg, £30 yr tax (C), 0-62 in 10.2 secs

1.4 TSI 122 PS Manual
    Mk6: 45.6 mpg, £135 yr tax (F), 0-62 in 9.5 secs
    Mk7: 54.3 mpg, £30 yr tax (C), 0-62 in 9.3 secs

1.6 TDI 105 PS Manual
    Mk6: 62.8 mpg, £0 tax a year (A), 0-62 in 11.3 secs
    Mk7: 74.3 mpg, £0 tax a year (A), 0-62 in 10.7 secs
    `

• motorhead on Mar 17, 2013 at 7:57 pm

Interior, fine.. Exterior, fine.. Not all like fancy-fancy design like some of you.. True performance driver mostly are minimalist!.. Only kids like fancy2 stuff..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 38
    • 140ps with 250nm and you call yourself true performance driver? More like a kids’ stuff to me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
      • motorhead on Mar 18, 2013 at 7:18 am

Yeah, 140ps, 250nm.. & it’s 1.4.. Fc 5l/100km.. Top speed over 200 kmp.. Try find any car can match that, idiot. How old anyway? Power alone doesn’t explain everything. Kids…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
        • Old enough to win 3 major Malaysian races. Judging from your name calling, please grow up. I afraid I will fill up your entire face with fonts on number of cars with this type of power and even much more..

• Daniel Wong on Mar 29, 2013 at 6:22 pm

To be fair to motorhead, he qualified his statement by saying its a 1.4. Of course, you can have more power with the Sti, Nissan GTRs. Even the old Merc 911 lorries have more power. It’s all relative.

• qolpi on Mar 18, 2013 at 1:29 pm

unfortunately the price here makes all the power useless. better go for other car.

• What performance car?if u want a fast golf…get the GTI.

• kadajawi on Mar 18, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Entry level Golf has 86 hp (at least better than in the past, where it was 60 or 75…). I don’t think many Europeans buy the 140 hp one, which is pretty much top of the line.

• Brakehorsepower on Mar 17, 2013 at 10:19 pm

Yes indeed…Less is more…

• Pointless to test drive Volkswagen cars ! Volkswagen will do their so called new-setting/new-updates/new-upgrades to your car’s ECU software after the cars is sold to you which slows down your car’s gear change which in turn will make the car less responsive !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • China Orders Recall of VW Cars as Watchdog Steps Up Protection
    By Bloomberg News – Mar 16, 2013 4:42 PM GMT+0800
    Facebook Share
    LinkedIn
    Google +1
    0 COMMENTS
    Print
    QUEUE
    Q
    China’s quality watchdog ordered a recall of Volkswagen AG (VOW) cars with direct-shift gearboxes after tracking faults related to the system for the past year, according to a statement posted on its website today.
    The move comes a day after state television reported on consumer rights issues including problems with the vehicles, Apple Inc. (AAPL)’s after-sales service and fake doctors in medical commercials.
    China is stepping up consumer protection, adopting laws this year that let the General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine order investigations and impose fines should manufacturers and importers fail to recall faulty products in a timely manner.
    Owners of Volkswagen AG’s cars in China have reported abnormal vibrations, loss of power and sudden acceleration, state-owned China Central Television reported yesterday in a special program to mark World Consumer Rights Day.
    “Volkswagen will implement a voluntary recall regarding the DSG issue,” Christoph Ludewig, the company’s Beijing-based spokesman, said in an e-mailed statement today. VW will announce recall details at a later date, he said.
    Two calls placed to the news department of the quality watchdog seeking comment went unanswered.
    VW, Europe’s biggest carmaker, said in May that its Chinese division agreed to extend the warranty for an automatic transmission technology to 10 years in response to customer complaints.

• All4TorqueProDSG on Mar 17, 2013 at 10:57 pm

Sometimes China being China we dot really know what their real intentions are. Now being a big economic powerhouse, by doing this, it will affect any Brand selling there and to recall VW cars, it should be later revealed and VW should be truthful even if it meant recalling their cars for whatever specific reasons and not to fear being arm twisted.

• http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-03-16/china-orders-recall-of-volkswagen-cars-with-direct-shift-gearbox.html

VW owners, care to share your own experience with the gearbox?

• YeapyEvo on Mar 17, 2013 at 11:57 pm

“It’s a choice you make more with your mind than your heart though, but then again, it is hard to argue with 29 million people.”

But the 29 million people never buy a Golf TSI at Golf R price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Wheel on Mar 18, 2013 at 1:27 am

Visited a VW showroom today. Was quite empty and saw a few SA just chilling around, 3 test golf cars parked.

I didn’t ask about the mk7 and instead asked if mk6 gti is still in stock. Just before CNY there was a 15k discount on the car. I was then told that there would no longer be any discounts on the out going golf gti mk6. Furthermore, the price will reach 230k for the mk6 gti in a month or 2, and that is them being fully aware that the mk7 gti will be launch later this year. So I’m kinda guessing the new golf would be more than 160k very soon. Shocking huh? Im reluctantly looking at other cars besides any variants of the golf.

• Jimmy Carr on Mar 18, 2013 at 1:39 am

Word is going round that the next batch of golfs would reach above rm 160k. So I asked, what sort of tax? SA answered, “new tax.”
    I asked again for him to elaborate. SA answered, “u know … New tax la.”

Can anyone shed some light on this price increase?

• Daniel Wong on Mar 29, 2013 at 6:30 pm

I guess you may have the right information. The sales o the golf and other VW variants have been phenomenal the last 1- 1.5 years. I guess there are powerful competitors who are influential. As I mentioned in an earlier post, they killed off the Polo GTi competition this way.

• YourDreamCarWillNotFallFromTheSky on Mar 18, 2013 at 2:57 am

This is starting to get on my nerves. Each time there is a new car launching article in paultan, they will be flocked by the “overpriced” comments. For the price of Civic, better get Elantra. For the price of Golf, better get 308T. And so on. Now, do you see more Elantras on the road than Civics? Did Peugeot managed to sell 308T more then Golf despite the huge price gap? The answer is quite obvious. So it’s natural for people to get the idea that: Ranters (car price) does NOT equal to potential buyers (for that particular car or that price range). Do you really expect a Golf to be priced at RM115k? 320i at RM150k? CRV at RM100k? Vios at RM40k? I’m not in the slightest hint suggesting to you that the car prices in MY are adequately cheap, but it is almost there. Aventadors are expensive, yes? I have seen it a few times on MY soil, MY reg plate. Bentley Supersport? Yes, a couple of times. Panamera? Plentiful. Seen all of them enough, but still rare enough to make them exclusive. If the car prices should go down so much like those Ranters might suggest, our roads will be crowded with Merc C’s and BMW 3’ers. Yes, the car price here is not THAT cheap, but the proportions of the car types is the. We don’t frequently see exotics. We see people classified as ‘rich’ driving Germans. Middle class driving Japs/French. Entry level income earners driving nationals/Koreans. Heck, I even has a friend earning 5 digits monthly driving a City. My point is, it’s not only about the car price, its more about what you are DOING to get your desired car. Car tax should be lower? Vote for alternative G. Those who have done that, kudos to you. Those who did not but still complain car prices, you need to look for a mirror in your house. Income stream doesn’t support the purchase of the car in your wish list? Try to look for better alternatives. If those Ranters like to sit all day in office and complain in paultan, don’t expect to get huge increment or payouts. Else their bosses must be blind. Peace

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 6
    • fredo on Mar 18, 2013 at 12:39 pm

Well said dude! i cant agree more with you…lets the Aventador remain an exclusive exotic car

• tokmoh on Mar 18, 2013 at 6:55 pm

b-b-but chairman ap king club say cars in msia is cheap, so janji sudah ditepati bersyukur la. people want cheap car ni salah LGE n anwar! jgn percaya mereka, bankrap negara kita kalau keter murah! biar kita rakyat bankrap bayar keter, asal jgn hilang bn!

you’re right, since becoming ap king makes car feel cheap, i wanna apply to become ap king la. who can tell me how?

on a serious note, we need efficient public transport like singapore, hong kong, etc. after that, if this car sell for rm900,000, and petrol price is rm20/l, sumpah x kesah

• Thank you for saying things that I want to but could’t. So much win in your awesome comments. You must be an awesome in parties.

• Miles on Mar 19, 2013 at 2:11 am

Readers are within their own rights to express their views on cars, positively or negatively. It is not very nice to assume the keyboard warriors here are not in the same wage bracket as continental car customers. Consumers will always have the right to praise or criticise, regardless of their status or how much they earn.

I’m still a curious expat here in Kuala Lumpur, and I still find that cars here are expensive and at a disadvantage comparing to those we get in Europe.

• Ah Beng on Mar 18, 2013 at 5:57 am

For the price, think of it as buying a cheap lambo.

• Sparcov on Mar 18, 2013 at 8:09 am

Is up to the consumer which brand they want to buy.

Either Toyota, Honda, Peugeot, Vw, or Proton

IS always give and takes. If you think that RM 157 not worth to get a Vw Golf, then please look for other option e.g. Toyota camry or Honda CRV.

If you think, the budget is far away, try lower down your option to below 100k car and start comparing at that region.

Some people are willing to buy Vios Type J for RM 78K. Some people are willing to but Preve CFE for RM 73K.

So at the end, is the buyer who bought the car that will drive it. So who cares whether you say they are stupid, idiot, rich or poor to get certain brand car?

As long as you are happy with it :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • thebugbud on Mar 18, 2013 at 8:27 am

Sometimes I find it amazing after all the complaints about price and not worthy. Many ppl still fork out their hard earn money to get one.

Not sure where’s the fine line between affordability vs pushing luck.

9years for car loan is one of the very best to give an illusion of affordability while debt is mountain-ingly high. Everyone should start looking at each nett value to see how far it make sense to get another long term loan.

• Henry Leong on Mar 18, 2013 at 8:54 am

No coverage on Raikkonen and Lotus triumph in Australia?

• Xefron on Mar 18, 2013 at 9:04 am

A good car with a not so good pricing.

• For those thinking of the overprice issue… wait till year end VW will give RM20k discount same as current promo on their Cross Touran etc. Hehehe

• MadMan on Mar 18, 2013 at 9:20 am

So all these “new” tech like MQB platform is suppose to great stuff, sharing blah blah blah…guess what its suppose to equal to huge savings. My question is that to whom??? definitely not the consumer. I guess we been hoodwinked

• kadajawi on Mar 18, 2013 at 3:38 pm

It does profit customers though. Better specs are possible since different features will be cheaper to produce and can be fitted to all cars, easier to swap parts, easier to stock enough parts for any model (since they are all the same). Easier for mechanics too, because know if you know one you know them all… so there may be more mechanics, and they may not screw up as much.

• longjaafar on Mar 18, 2013 at 9:26 am

RM158k for a 1.4 TSI….Poor value for money. Perhaps a little bit of snob value, though.

• Abg Long on Mar 18, 2013 at 11:32 am

price so expensive, design so boring, less features some more. so not value for money. rugi beli ini kereta. thumbs down to VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Peter on Mar 18, 2013 at 11:32 am

Same as you all, the car is overpriced relatively. But I started to think if one company rip of M’sia buyer that’s wicked but somehow almost all the CBU car are doing so: pay more get lesser… why only in M’sia? Don tell me M’sia market is that lucrative in their global map. There must be something fishy btw them and Gov! The other reason that could explain this is either most who complaints end up buying the car or those who buy don care abt this facts. … so their sales still grow (just like Toyota’s getting-uglier Camry, and expensive aging Vios)

• firefox on Mar 18, 2013 at 12:09 pm

hi all,
    need some advice, where i wish to buy brand new car for my wife, 2 choices, either Benz A200 or Golf, and right now i owned 2011 passat cc 2.0, but i hear from the 4s Sg Besi, the advisor said the latest batch (2012) for all 7 speed DSG gearbox having a technical issue, what is the issue? and what is the diff for 6 speed DSG and 7 speed?
    please advice…

• vwagon on Mar 19, 2013 at 12:24 pm

actually VW DSG, (direct Shift Gear) is a wonderful product, compare to CVT…etc…
      the diff between 6 and 7 speed, if not mistaken , 6 speed DSG is wet, 7 speed is dry gear box.

for 6 speed, i have no issue when turn to manual mode (model Passat CC), but for 7 speed (model GTI from my friend), on manual mode, esp on manual mode, u can feel it.
      1,2 gear, jerky and metronic unit, he was sent to 4S SG BESI, 3 times to justify this issue, but until now still the same.

it is very depending and what purpose and need, but i will suggest you order A250, at least less headache…

• If u can afford it buy, if cant just drool.
    No need to talk bad about others. Have u test driven the car b4 making comments? 90% sure have not. so how u say it’s expensive? test drive 1st then only u say worth it or not.
    It’s the same like S-class, ppl pay 600k for it why??
    They like it. Poor ppl only know how to comment, nvr test driven the car yet. Driving experience is what really matters.TQ cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • zephyryj on Mar 18, 2013 at 12:30 pm

Obviously overpriced…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • sorry for trolling
    but this car is really ugly.. just looks like a fridge with sticker pasted to make it resemble a car

VW, brush up ur design.. merc has brought new life to its A class thru the new gen design, u can do it too

• CH

I agree,i just went to the showroom and that car is a bit boring front is sexy but the rear is boring and ugly coz without those LED lights :(

• Kia guy on Mar 18, 2013 at 1:06 pm

With this price , i rather get a Kia Pro ceed if it’s available in Malaysia (i believe it will be here soon). Way stylish and tech spec is not losing to German car. The only issue is our people’s mind set….Just can’t help to only think for Jap car for the already alarming competitiveness or German car ,where it’s obviously overpriced with boring design…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Cardude on Mar 18, 2013 at 1:35 pm

Looks like the Golf is doing well. Lots of critical comments due to the fact that they can’t own one.

Ask yourself honestly.. you know that VW Golf is overall a better & more desirable car then Ford Focus, 308, etc…

If VW Golf is sold the same price as the cars you like to compare it with… will you honestly still buy your focus, 308, preve, etc.. ?
    Sure, some would.. but i bet most won’t.. cause deep down.. you know VW Golf have that premium asking price.

Trollers… flame away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • kadajawi on Mar 18, 2013 at 3:40 pm

I drove Golfs as well as Focuses. I’d probably get the Focus. It’s just more engaging to drive, though a Golf is more pleasant to be in, the quality feels better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • 308 Turbo is much better and cheaper…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Ron Loius on Mar 18, 2013 at 3:04 pm

i have ordered VW. i got 3k rebate and window tint..
    SA said next 2 weeks can get it if everything smooth

• vwpassatowner on Mar 18, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Aiyoo…we malaysian esp the so-called automobile experts are really funny when making negative comments….no car is perfect. I am driving a passat n are looking frwrd to changing to either 5er or A6..not because i am dissapointed with VW..just looking for something better which i can now afford to buy. Please dont gaduh gaduh here ok….everybody has their own taste n their own money to spend!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • RM158K and i got UGLY RIMS like shit? i know its a very good car but at least provide proper rims to match the price, its focal point, ND atleast better than cheaper polo. speechless. bye MK7

• Muhammad on Mar 18, 2013 at 9:39 pm

I used to drive 2.0 camry for six years . Bot golf in 2010 still driving till now. Had major replacement mechatronic n dual clutch plate last year as car shudders at low gear . Will still drive golf compare to camry n dun mind that one repair coz the driving pleasure is superior. Will test drive new golf very soon to cek it out. Will less hp not sure if 157k justify. Cant wait new gti more nm n hp next year

• ahmad loy on Mar 19, 2013 at 11:54 pm

..the driving pleasure as good as RM157,888?..when you just drove this MK7, please story us your driving pleasure experience..still as good as MK5/6 and worth for the price tag?..story us.

• David on Mar 19, 2013 at 12:08 am

ALL OF YOU ARE WRONG! MY NISSAN SUNNY IS THE BEST CAR!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Miles on Mar 19, 2013 at 1:53 am

Some dealers are offering up to rm2k rebate for the golf. One even let slip that the second bulk of golfs will increase in price, but he refused to say how much. I think it is a similar scenario they had with the polos when it’s price suddenly shot up, was that last year?

Could an author from this blog find out more on this? BTW, very useful and unbiased reviews for the golf. Thanks!

• Sean Lim on Mar 19, 2013 at 2:01 am

It looks like new Samsung s4 with s3 price, but got no wifi support…

• RyanS on Mar 19, 2013 at 8:11 am

sorry to ask this new local version of golf Mk7 came with cylinder deactivation right ?

• I drove this car over the weekend. And what I can say is that its so much better than the MK6 tsi. The interior also feels better and more focused on the driver rather than the mk6.

Would I pay 158k for this car? Hell yeah.

The features are really nice and minimalistic. I love the feature where the engine shuts off when you are at a complete stop. I like the steering wheel shape and feel. I like the media player although it would have been better to get it with Navigation, but oh well, can’t ask for everything. I would have liked it with a Sunroof, but I had a sunroof and used it a total of less than 10 times in 2 years. The space behind for passengers, imho is better compared to the Passat @ 170k.

The only complaint I have is the rims look unappealing. But the good thing about it is that its easy to wash. Lol.

kthxbye

• ahmad loy on Mar 20, 2013 at 12:01 am

..hopefully the price might be not reached as far as RM168,888 for the next next batch..see how.

• fyekz on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:11 am

I own a mk6 and considering switching to mk7 but not sure whether its worth it..care to share your thoughts?

• The front lamps looks like my sister’s Proton Saga FLX and the bumper like my dad’s Proton Waja?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • vw-fan on Mar 20, 2013 at 12:28 am

this car is surely much more comfortable than bentley conti and much more faster than felali

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Anonymous on Mar 20, 2013 at 8:26 am

overpriced
    most cars are plentiful on the streets
    chooking amount of traffic
    new cars not affordable
    old car too cheap to own
    i think all the new cars should come down in terms of pricing. However implement super high tax like Singapore. Buy a cheap car and pay high tax!!
    when the need arise public transport has to be the only way out.
    Its a good car. we need more cars like this. Small, efficient yet roomy . We see too many old cars on road emitting too much toxic gas. take them off the roads.

• vwagon on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:23 pm

i think as a end user, we should know this…

CHINA/HK VW recall 384,181 cars …due to dry gear box issue, when Malaysia VW will recall? now china VW extended the gearbox warranty to 10 years or 160,000 km

Latest News from China…
    Volkswagen (China) Sales Co., Ltd., FAW – Volkswagen Automotive Co., Ltd., Shanghai Volkswagen Automotive Co., Ltd. under the defective auto product recall management regulations requirements to the State General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine, the record recall plan, the decision from theApril 2, 2013, recall the following sections of defective vehicles, a total of 384,181

Within the scope of the recall of vehicles due to insufficient the electromechanical unit transmission electron failure or hydraulic power output interrupt, there are security risks.Volkswagen Sales Co., Ltd. (China) FAW – Volkswagen Automobile Co., Ltd., Shanghai Volkswagen Automotive Co., Ltd. will be free for the vehicles within the scope of the recall replacement the improved gearbox electromechanical unit and free upgrade for users of the latest control software to eliminate security risks

• VW Lover on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:54 am

Oh I see, 3 of my friends bought VW and all of them have gearbox problem. (2 bought Jetta, 1 bought the previous Golf)

The one that bought the Golf had his car towed back 4 times in 3 months after purchased. Now, I heard he says they do not have enough parts to replace his gearbox.

However, I will still consider this new VW Golf TSI. I think most likely they had fix the gearbox problem.

• Thoong Chee lim on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:17 pm

Been driving golf tsi since 2010. Bought it on my first test drive because of it performance and impressive build for 148,888 as advertised. Finally
    Paid 158k instead all in.
    Satisfaction on ownership ? Yes although it had some reliability issue but, am covered for 5 years. Genuine 5 years. Cause I replaced some parts FOC without delay.
    Mk 7 drives better than my current mk 6 ? I think so. Tested it yesterday. The trade off I would say you’ll most likely to save bit more fuel over the more urgent surge over mk 6 golf.
    And the feel good factor just got better and more refined seems.
    Will I buy one ? Yes. But I will wait after the next GE. Hopefully…. Who knows

• Anyone got their MK7 yet? Any issues?

• Harry on Apr 01, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Lame! IF only they come with 18’inch Kansas wheels on that price yet makes the car more dignified!. Wanna sell? sell it like in picture! please!! you don’t wanna go rounds like the Polo did on the Bovista rims.

• Proton Preve is a better buy and value for money. No reliablility issues so far on my Mum’s car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • cheehuang on Apr 13, 2013 at 12:47 am

golf tdi 1.4 is it come with sunroof ?

• well, seems quite impressive based on the detailed review.. any idea if the higher speced versions will be making it to our shores anytime soon? it would be great to have dark glossy interior panels such as in the “highline” versions in the EU.
    – by the way, why would proton come into the picture here?

• peugeot sure cheap. Who owns peugeot brand in Malaysia?! fikir fikirkan sebelum menyalak. German cars taxes are higher too ler.
    PROTON??!!! keta tin sardin?!

• Golf kaki on Apr 16, 2013 at 6:35 pm

Own a 2010 TSI . Test drive mk 7 n lexus cth 200 recently . My honest view . Mk 7 smoother acceleration v mk6 coz supercharger hv been removed which make mk6 too strong at low speed n jerky if pressed too hard. At high speed not much dif with regards to power though 20hp less must be the lighter weight . My verdict mk 7 much better . Mk 6 dsg issues is no fantasy it is real . After i replaced mechatronic n dual clutch plate last year under warranty recently judder at low speed esp when u turn or turning n speed too fast . Annoying . Was looking forward to new mk 7 gti but the interest is more or less gone due to the dsg issues . Lexus cth 200 less power n torque but i m inclined to go for it coz it is more refined smooth acceleration though way less torque than tsi. Safer bet and check the resale value of tsi after 2 years really sucks . Cant really find second hand cth 200 wat does it tell . Other than dsg issues the golf is a wonderful car but reliability sucks . Service appointment more than a mth at pencala . To fellow golf lovers think before u leap .

• To Jonathan (the tester/reviewer),
    Did you by any chance note what the fuel consumption was like during your drive? I put in 30 litres into my new mk7 last week and it gave me 300km. That’s way off from the representation. I was hardly stuck in jams and I’m not a speed demon so I’m wondering.

• I just got back from VW, 2013 Golf TSI is a superb car. Brilliant media system, top notch interior fit and finish, smooth TSI engine coupled with silky smooth DSG changes.

But frankly, its not worth RM35k more then a Sport+ Focus. The focus wins with much larger boot, arguably better looking, nicer selection of colours, and alot higher spec level.

• Oh btw, im not a ford fanboi, my previous cars include a mk5 GTI, Scirocco 1.4

• Can anyone please tell me whether Mk7 golf has the same DSG gearbox problem like Mk6 golf?

• tested the car a few time. I think this is one of the best build hatch I have ever driven. Quite surprise by the smooth power delivery from the 1.4 engine. Really disappointed with the 16′ rim. Looks like it’s not for this car. I have just booked this new piece of vehicle. Luv the interior and the headlight. Look forward to own it. Will change the rim first thing when I get it.

• PitMie on May 03, 2013 at 9:41 pm

I myself own a Japanese car from ETCM…& am tired of its mediocre performance. So for about 3-4 months already I’ve been thinking seriously to change it to a new VW, i.e either Golf or Jetta. Test-driven a Jetta before & was so impressed, so wayyyy better than my 1.6 Nissan…but my intention to change to a TSI-powered engine is greatly affected after reading so many complaints from VW owners especially regarding its DSG gearbox…the VW sales-agent recommend an MK7, but still worrying if it’ll too have same issues with its predecessor..

Any advice?

• go for Jetta if you need the boot…mine has 16K KM already without DSG problems… don’t worry too much about that… Jetta, Golf, Polo are reasonably priced for the technology and driving enjoyment you get… make sure you get the 2013 batch of units, the DSG clutch should be the upgraded ones which are less problematic

• davewyw on May 09, 2013 at 5:50 pm

how i can join the club?

• freddy on May 25, 2013 at 6:42 pm

Dear all Bros,
    I am thinking to buy a VW GOLF TSI second hand, but one of my friend (VW Golf TSI 2010 owner) give me quite bad comment, as all above bros said, especially the gear box…can I get ur experience.

• Please don’t even think of touching VW if u want a peace of mind! My 2011 Golf went thru a clutch and DSG replacement, an engine replacement at 60,000km (imagine such low mileage!) and it is now diagnosed with a Turbo failure! I have to force sell it off with a very low price! There is no reliability in this car in regardless of where is it been manufactured. It is a total design flaw!!!!

• komatsu PC200 bucket cylinder on Jul 13, 2013 at 8:08 am

Maximum stroke:6500mm

• Hi VW

2 things that i disappointed with Volkswagen product, I purchased your Cross Touran 1 year ago, my clutch had problem early this year and had to leave my car there for few days, no replacement car at that time so I had to rent car for few days with my own money.

Last week, my car’s EPC light on and showed on my dashboard, I sent my car to Wearnes VW Sungai Besi, your customer service Paul didn’t even able to tell me what’s wrong with my car, just told me I had to leave my car there for more that 1 week or 2, no exact date when i can get my car. Long waiting list for replacement car. This is the Second problem happen in few months time but your customer service just took my case for granted and make me felt like I’m an unlucky customer to choose the wrong product, no solution for me.

Your customer service Paul agreed to call me and give solution but didn’t call yesterday, he told my wife that his manager Alex Chan didn’t give him solution for my case after my wife called him.

2 things I felt disappointed to your product:

– Product – my Cross Touran was imported from Germany. What kind of German engineered?

Service – Keep ignoring and wait for the time to pass is the way you handle customer especially the car facing 2nd product’s problem in few months time.

I serviced my car on time in your VW Wearnes Sungai Besi with full service record.

Cheers,

• Nicole on Nov 04, 2013 at 10:54 pm

can i know vw the golf 1.4 grear box is ok ??
    coz listen other people comment there the gear box got problem ?

• Yasir on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Hi Paul – I own vw golf mk7 1.4 tsi. Will i be able to replace the central monochrome display to the color one, like they have in gti model? It looks cool…

• Yasir on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Hi Paul – I own vw golf mk7 1.4 tsi. Will i be able to replace the central monochrome display to the color one, like they have in gti model? It looks cool…

• Yasir on Jan 16, 2014 at 6:09 pm

• Harry on Mar 20, 2014 at 8:54 am

I owned a Golf MK7 for less than 6 months. My car encountered LED headlamp faulty befoe CNY. I felt very unlikely, it failed so easily. Unfortunately, VW quoted RM1350 to replace it. Yesterday, I noticed that another side of Heasdlamp is having a same problem and I am going to send back service center this morning.
    I wondering, does it happen to other VW Golf MK7 users ? Such a high quality product, how could it fail one after another for such a short period of time?

• No more VW on Oct 02, 2018 at 11:27 am

I will never ever touch a VW in my life! My Golf 2011 went thru a clutch and DSG replacement and a whole engine block replacement at 60,000km (imagine such low mileage!). And the latest is it is now diagnosed with a Turbo issue which I need to force sell it with a low price. My advice to all, the driving pleasure of a VW will never outweigh the problems that it will bug u in the long run.

• Theradax on Sep 02, 2019 at 1:40 pm

Hi.. i have just purchased a 2nd hand GOLF Tsi MK7 and after a week there was alarm at the panel showing ” Gearbox Failure” or something..and cannot be started. It actually happened while i was taking a corner at a parking lot then i stopped ..restarted the car.. the alarm goes off.. then yesterday morning..it failed to start….with all the alarm almost impossible to do anything. Is this GBox problem and can be resolved easily ? btw i am from Sabah