GALLERY: Live pictures of the facelifted Kia Sorento

KiaSorento_liveshots_001

As reported last week, Naza Kia has launched the facelifted Kia Sorento at its nationwide Kia Customer Day over the last weekend. We were there at Kia’s flagship Red Cube in PJ too, among hundreds of other interested buyers. So crowded it was, that our attempt at taking live shots of the refreshed SUV had to be abandoned. Over multiple tries.

The line was much clearer come Monday’s office hours, giving us the chance to take plenty of photos inside and out. No interior picture had been released at the launch announcement last week, so here you have the chance to see the local spec Sorento in its full glory.

Naza Kia has chosen to call it the ‘Next-Gen’ Sorento, which essentially it is. Underneath the familiar sheet metal is an all-new platform for substantially improved ride, handling and refinement. The interior is all new too, utilising higher quality materials and is even better specced than before.

KiaSorento_liveshots_030

Overall it’s a much more significant update than a typical mid-life facelift. It’s a highly focussed programme on improving what’s beneath the skin rather than the more common skin-deep aesthetic upgrades car manufacturers have tried to pass on as facelifts nowadays.

You can read the new Kia Sorento’s full technical specs and standard equipment list in our local launch report here, as well as more pictures and insights from the international premiere reports here and here.

Enjoy our full live gallery below, including side-by-side comparison shots with the outgoing model. And remember, there is more to this facelift than meets the eye.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Good job Naza!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Jimmy on Mar 18, 2013 at 10:24 pm

Sorry, lost touch. Does this Sorento or any other Korean vehicles come with the 7th airbag? I think Korean, like Samsung, can do a lot better than what we have here.

• jilbaber on Mar 18, 2013 at 6:41 pm

Does it have rear aircond vent? I could not really see in any of the pictures. for 7 seaters it should have!

• jacksonkua on Mar 18, 2013 at 8:33 pm

Just visited the showroom.

Both the rear passenger and third row have got separate air cond.

I was also impressive by the voice recognition.

God job for this price range with tones of features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • autodriver on Mar 18, 2013 at 10:55 pm

Sorento does come with rear aircond vents. Look at the picture where the last row of seat flopped down, the rear aircond vent was fitted below the side window.

• Dear Paul,

Please do a test drive review if possible.

Really want to know how is the “next-gen” Sorento drive.

Thank you.

• Kalun on Mar 18, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Consider it as good looking as it nearly looks like Proton Preve with bigger and longer wheel base with 2 more extra seat at the back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
  • joanna on Mar 18, 2013 at 7:15 pm

Meh. Preve can beat this car like a champion. Preve can be any type of cars you want. SUV, Hatchback, MPV the list goes on.
    Thats why Proton refused to produce a SUV or replace their ageing fleet of cars. With Preve alone, it will become world top car manufacturer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 49
    • Even Prevers and Kias r the same lever badges maybe P1 is a bit lower than that but i’ll still go for Kia! look better,quality is better and interior is better!

• torrent on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:28 pm

well joanna,if you must know,preve is a b segment vehicle,sorento is a d segment car,you are barking on the wrong tree,and for your info,sorento has higher specs and safer than so called your champion preve,please do your research and stop commenting on something that you didnt know more.

• Although I still like the previous more ‘macho’ look, it really looks great. Not bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • sudonano on Mar 18, 2013 at 7:53 pm

Looks better than the old one. not to say the old one was ugly la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Already see this car. Very good interior. 2nd and 3rd row also have air con vent. Seat are comfortable. Rear light is almost like the new kia rio shape and it is LED. Very beautiful. CRV cannot match with this car interm of interior but handling still not know as not test drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Aiyak on Mar 18, 2013 at 10:46 pm

Nothing much to shout about. Prefer crv/cx-5 than this Kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 52
  • Aiyak on Mar 18, 2013 at 10:48 pm

Prefer crv/cx-5 than this Kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 51
  • Nice! Even better than the new CRV. More ‘polite’ compare to the ‘big-ass’ HONDA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • jilbaber on Mar 19, 2013 at 7:41 am

I think this is more comparable to Fortuner or Pajero in our market. CRV is compact SUV comparable to Sportage

• thedarkside on Mar 19, 2013 at 6:12 pm

correcto…but how much for the diesel to cost if they decided to bring in? still cheaper than pajero VGT?

• BMW Fanboi on Mar 22, 2013 at 2:20 am

Rexton II

• Got GPS and HID headlight?

• Sam Loo on Mar 19, 2013 at 10:46 am

hey ppl…u know what im gonna say next. So im not gonna say anything bout this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • No Sat Nav? Come on…

• Black Dog on Mar 19, 2013 at 12:47 pm

It’s a huge improvement. They’ve fixed (trust their word) all the short-comings of the previous one; better suspension and ride, more comfortable interior, better looking rear lights. I know because I’m driving one now. I still like the black colour.

• Black Dog on Mar 19, 2013 at 12:50 pm

And yes for those Korean bashes, please don’t buy Samsung phones and TVs. They’re Korean too.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Mar 19, 2013 at 2:29 pm

Wow, the interior is like being transported back to the 90s…Schreyer must have been taking nap when the designers were finishing this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Korean Lover on Mar 21, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Anyone know New Sorento CBU from which plant in Korea.

• Dreamer on Apr 08, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Own and drive one to feel the excitement. I am now. Too many features to explore, and still exploring.

• Templar on May 24, 2013 at 5:28 pm

How is the fuel consumption? Didn’t see it in the website

• kayrollz on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:15 pm

the interior design is old school design.

agree with Cheah Tat Cheong.

interior designer still stuck at years 2000 (like NAZA RIA dashboard)

• Dreamer on Oct 23, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Agreed with Black Dog. I own one.
    Speed max : 200 km/h
    FC at hi-way +/- 9L/100 km (@ 3000 rpm).
    FC at town +/- 11L/100 km (with aircond.)
    Comfort ride, less cabin noise, good audio system, safe car, spacious, etc. If to compare with other SUVs, the interior design & finishing is at standard or better. Safety wise, is much better.

• Just bought. Satisfied with the performance. Comfortable interior added with longer panoramic roof.