Volkswagen Golf Mk7 GTI gets the ABT treatment

Golf Mk7 GTI ABT 1

The Volkswagen Golf Mk7 GTI hasn’t quite hit the showrooms yet, but already there are plans to spice things up beyond that offered by the regular form. Tuning house ABT Sportsline, for one, has drafted out what it thinks a Mk7 GTI should really be.

Power is the first thing to go up – the stock Golf GTI comes in two stages of output tune, these being 220 hp and 230 hp. Working on the Stage 1 base form car, the ABT Golf Mk7 GTI will develop 270 hp off the EA 288 2.0 TSI lump. It doesn’t end there, because ABT is working on a second and more potent stage of expansion, which should see the power go up to as high as 310 hp.

Golf Mk7 GTI ABT 2

Plans are also afoot to develop an uprated power variant based on the 230 hp stock Stage 2 version of the hatch, which premiered in Geneva. You can expect an even higher set of numbers in this case.

Looks-wise, the ABT Golf Mk7 GTI will come dressed in white, dressed with red and black cues. An ABT aerodynamic kit gets slapped on, and this is made up of a front spoiler and grille, side skirts, headlight covers, a rear skirt insert, a trunk lid attachment and mirror caps. Also featured is a four-pipe exhaust system as well as a set of lowering suspension springs. Rounding things off are a choice of DR and ER-C design alloys in either 18- or 19-inch size options.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• All4TorqueProDSG on Mar 18, 2013 at 4:42 pm

We can only dream this beauty comes to Malaysia. With all the red tape, corruption and AP nonsense, we car enthusiasts can only read and salivate looking at mere blog postings and pictures. How I wish we could have just 10% of all cars meant for global markets. Protectionism should stop. Give us the freedom to choose!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 50
    • BMW Fanboi on Mar 18, 2013 at 4:47 pm

Preve R3 is still a better car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 53
      • i cannot understand why people just keep comparing whatever car with Preve…

Preve looks terribly huge & heavy which isn’t aerodynamic at all, poor interior and under-powered

can we stop Preve-fication of cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Chimpanzee on Mar 18, 2013 at 4:59 pm

So ah Beng Golf.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 34
    • nobody want to stop ur freedom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
    • Eww too much,and it’s fugly! spoil the beautiful look of Golf GTI Exterior!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
    • Why not move oversea to your dream country and see if you can afford to drive the car or not? :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 28
    • Real McCoy on Mar 18, 2013 at 6:55 pm

Don’t dream. You cannot afford this. You stealing identity again? Ask your stepfather to give u a real name, son.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • MoveOn on Mar 18, 2013 at 8:35 pm

Never Knew Car Enthusiasts fancy Golfs :S

• Sam Loo on Mar 18, 2013 at 4:47 pm

There’s nothing to shout about for this car.
    It’s following Proton Satria Neo footsteps.
    Proton should be proud of it now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 39
    • All4TorqueProDSG on Mar 18, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Despite hating you Sam Loo, I have to admit, VW need to improve on their designs. The Golf just looks like a box with no beauty at all. The Passat looks so outdated like it came out in the 90s. Reminds me of a Nissan Laurel. Despite being a VW owner, I have to say, VW must start giving us some exciting designs and not mundane looking cars. You can put all the GTi words, but it still looks like a kotak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
      • catdog on Mar 18, 2013 at 5:28 pm

dont think outdated, but evergreen..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
      • Real McCoy on Mar 18, 2013 at 7:00 pm

Sam Loo, sorry to confuse you. You are still irritating, buddy. The joker up there forgot his stepfather gave him a real name, he is just stirring controversy here through other people’s identity.

• Anonymous on Mar 18, 2013 at 9:57 pm

Vw wouldn’t dare to risk coming up with another design that offend the customers… Their designs all these while since the mk5 have been really well accepted.. Why would you change something that is working all these while? I mean, business wise..

Although I’d agree that this abt design is too much.. The golfs never do look nice with too much work on it… Some red Paint here, carbon there and some ridiculously protruding bumpers..

One single colour.. Low stance.. Clean and flushed lines all round.. That does it..

• deana on Mar 18, 2013 at 5:10 pm

just read in the news that VW is calling its cars in China (local production and CBU alike) to fix DSG problem. The gearbox (not mentioned what models they are)caused cars speeding up or slowing down while driving… Hmmm… DSG no problem eh??

• Oh thank god my new bmuu 3series only came with rusted seat frame…next car lexus for me!

• CamryFan on Mar 18, 2013 at 10:39 pm

Sometimes China being China we dot really know what their real intentions are. Now being a big economic powerhouse, by doing this, it will affect any Brand selling there and to recall VW cars, it should be later revealed and VW should be truthful even if it meant recalling their cars for whatever specific reasons and not to fear being arm twisted.

• Don't Change Username on Mar 19, 2013 at 10:29 am

Isn’t this the same comment word for word given by All4TorqueProDSG in the other VW post. (DRIVEN: Volkswagen Golf Mk7 1.4 TSI in Malaysia?)

Come on, stop changing your username. From DSGpro, you have changed to All4TorqueProDSG and now to CamryFan. Are you kind of messed up?

Are are you a VW salesman trying to boost things up for VW?

• Michael Chia on Mar 19, 2013 at 10:33 am

Isn’t this the same comment word for word given by All4TorqueProDSG in the other VW post. (DRIVEN: Volkswagen Golf Mk7 1.4 TSI in Malaysia?)

Come on, stop changing your username. From DSGpro, you have changed to All4TorqueProDSG and now to CamryFan. Are you kind of messed up?

Are are you a VW salesman trying to boost things up for VW?

• lembu jinni on Mar 18, 2013 at 11:35 pm

VW DSG problem across the model range at PRC.
      No 3rd & 4th gear unless engine rev above 2500 rpm.

• Jimmy on Mar 18, 2013 at 5:37 pm

Clean, tidy and elegant, this variant, with slight aggressiveness, not Ah-Beng at all. Much better look than the Audi with multiple sirips.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • wakawaka on Mar 18, 2013 at 6:20 pm

Peugeot RCZ has better look than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • What do you expect?! It is (RCZ) crowned as the most beautiful car of the year in 2009 / 2010! Even by today’s standard, it is still the most beautiful car at the price that you pay!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • akawakaw on Mar 18, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Scirocco has better look than RCZ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
  • KingPin on Mar 18, 2013 at 7:12 pm

Looks like a supped up proton juara. Personally the mk5 and mk6 were the best looking even in tsi form. This though is pretty much ah beng and very japanese look

• VWOwner on Mar 18, 2013 at 7:16 pm

Nice mod by ABT. Very nice. I will buy one if I can afford but VW must give warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • ABT = Ah Beng Transformation LOL XD
    Suits the car! XD

• revvy on Mar 18, 2013 at 8:36 pm

I think the red paint is too much. The majority would appreciate more if it’s done minimally like those on R version.

• armandd on Mar 18, 2013 at 8:45 pm

I think the previous generation Golf looks better, less boxy than this.

• gooleng on Mar 18, 2013 at 9:37 pm

Ultraman suit on the GTi ! Can be the next car for the latest ultraman series. haha ! Good job ABT.

• ProCamry on Mar 18, 2013 at 10:49 pm

Some of you just good at talking cock. Never even owned or driven Conti car such as a VW and start talking cock. Looks like Proton, Ah Beng car, make stupid jokes. Pls if u have not driven, stop talking cock! Ah Beng cars are usually modified as follows:

Toyota Vios
    Honda City
    Perodua MyVi
    Proton Saga
    Proton Inspira

Older Ah Bengs mod their:

Toyota Camry
    Honda Accord
    Nissan Sentra

Some Ah Bengs young ones mod their girlfriend cars

Kenari
    Kancil
    Kelisa

None of the above cars make sense. I put a simple VW Polo hatch can beat the arse of any above. Ok maybe, a simple Golf.

Look at how ABT modify the GTI in this article. Subtle, and performance mod for the better. So stop talking cock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • amirad on Mar 19, 2013 at 10:27 am

Yeaayy! I’m not catergorised as Ah Beng as I’m driving an Altis. Back to this ABT golf, too garish and a bit loud for the middle age audience.

• yesss..im not ah beng as i drive civic fd

• I prefer an Audi TT S/RS.