Ford Kuga 1.6L EcoBoost spotted on oto.my – RM163k

s4-1348-AllnewFordKuga

Ford Malaysia had just confirmed the impending launch of the new Kuga last week, and now we have the first indication of the SUV’s local price and specs ahead of its planned mid-year introduction, thanks to an ad that has just popped up on our sister car classifieds site oto.my.

The price listed is RM163,000 and the advertiser also mentions that the Kuga is now “open for booking” (click here to view the ad).

Also disclosed are the vital mechanical details – confirming the 1.6 litre EcoBoost engine in 180 PS and 240 Nm form (178 bhp and 177 lb/ft as listed) and the use of a six-speed SelectShift Automatic transmission with Sport Mode. Torque Vectoring Control and AdvanceTrac with Roll Stability Control & Curve Control are present too.

s4-1485-kuga3

A five star Euro NCAP rating (suggesting a full array of airbags – seven in other markets), push start button and Ford SYNC are all mentioned as standard. Sunroof, Active Park Assist, Active City Stop, BLIS and leather & memory seat are listed with double asterisks, which hints at a higher-specced variant in line with the Focus’ + models.

The local launch of the Ford Kuga is still a few months away, so we’ll have to wait for the official price and equipment announcement. Till then, you can find more details and pictures of Ford’s upcoming Honda CR-V rival here and here.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• i want it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • green on Mar 19, 2013 at 7:35 pm

Ford Everest’s Replacement??
      Ford EVerest 2.4L Auto is RM168.

And Ford Escape seems to have been obselete, not shown in the Ford.net.my anymore.

What about Ford EcoSport? Replace Escape?
      o dayum.. Ecosport has been within the higer price range of Fiesta.

hope to see it around RM90.. pls dont treat us with Escape price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
      • tricycle on Mar 19, 2013 at 9:41 pm

yeayyy, the car i’ve waited for ages.. practical!

• sepul on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:08 am

Don’t worry. The Kuga is meant to replace the Escape. In US, the new Kuga is called Escape, which the outgoing model is the same as what we get before, so this new Kuga will replace it.

The Ecosport will be a sub compact SUV, around the size of the discontinued Perodua Nautica.

Kuga will compete against Honda CRV, Mazda CX-5, Kia Sportage, Hyundai Tucson, Nissan X-Trail.

• Sam Loo on Mar 22, 2013 at 1:58 pm

Geabox like that of VW’s DSG. Always got failure. That is why the japs use single and not double/dual gearbox.

• So Much of Tax lah on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:13 am

This car, with higher spec, is exactly US$25,000 in the US. That works out to about RM75,000. So, you are paying RM90,000 of money to the government. Just for one moderately priced car. Be sure to vote wisely for the next government!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 56
        • koochai on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:50 am

yup…at least reducing car price is in their manifesto…rather than the current G which dismissed the idea outright… showing no intent to alleviate people’s burden…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 57
          • Can somebody please stop these PR cybertrumpets from manipulating our beloved paultan.org? Yes to cars, no to politics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 21
        • captainobvious on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:57 am

OMG i never realised that! I don’t think the public realise it too you know. Please, spread this comment on every car website in this country.

BTW, are you a parrot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
          • Brayokmok on Mar 20, 2013 at 12:47 pm

Yes, vote me. My manifesto is to cut car price until like EX5 price..at least I have intention to do it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • jampi on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:59 pm

want cheap car, u go to other cuontry la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 39
          • hadi75 on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:48 am

Why need to go to other country for cheaper car?malaysian in malaysia cannot wish for cheaper car ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
          • salvage on Apr 06, 2013 at 6:19 am

Jampi-you are real nut, typical low level guy , still sitting up to tree….lolz..

• So Much of Tax…please get your politics talk out of this site and go elsewhere. We are here to discuss about cars..period!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
        • chinoy on Mar 22, 2013 at 6:07 pm

totally agreed !! wise people

• green on Mar 19, 2013 at 7:36 pm

http://paultan.org/2011/11/16/2013-ford-escape-debuts-in-la-call-it-the-kuga-too/

More Ford Kuga Pics..

• Henry on Mar 19, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Look so much better than the Escape it replaces.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Its known as the Escape in NA while in Europe its called the Kuga

• Moores on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:22 am

For me, I think this car just slot in behind CX-5 and ahead of CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • Run for life on Mar 19, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Good news!!!!

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 283
  • Jimmy on Mar 19, 2013 at 6:18 pm

Anti-roll and curve control, good.
    Knee airbag please, Ford, in the top spec version at least.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • start-a-figt on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:41 am

knee airbag.. u can’t install locktech already..

which is nowadays a trend i see..

• Brayokmok on Mar 20, 2013 at 12:52 pm

I put tech lock in my 9 airbags vellfire with knee airbag. Still got place..

• seancorr on Mar 19, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 194
    • omanjedi on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:07 am

I tend to agree with you. The car is good but with the dealers/service Sime Darby inherited from the previous dealership, I would have second thought in buying it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • SamoLoo on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:03 am

Yes. Sime Darby is horrible. There’s always part issue availability, bad service coverage and their customer service is horrible.

Although Ford car may be good or even their Alfa, but when it comes to after sales total package, it’s at the bottom pit above Torino. Look what happen to Fiat brand ??? Gone with the wind with the lousy dealer.

Even though Naza used to get the brickbat from a lot of car forumners, but hey, look how well they manage their service coverage as compared to Ford. Eg. Look at Peugeot and KIA brand.

A matter of fact why i didn’t opt for Fiesta and went ahead with KIA when i was in the market for B-segment vehicles.

Auto Connexion need to seriously buck up else it will end up like Torino.

• mercedes benz lover on Mar 19, 2013 at 6:28 pm

Looking at recent offerings from ford, they r very generous. If only our rakyat r smarter n opt for cars which r value for money instead of brand n image obsession to throw their money n spoil the market encouraging the dealers to jack up their prices while maintaining the cars spec to be low. Wise up rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
  • encik boss on Mar 19, 2013 at 6:30 pm

So sad that Focus here didnt equipped with ecoboost engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Ford is BACK.
    With the strong line up Mondeo, Kuga,Focus,Fiesta.
    Ford would certainly make a big punch to Msia auto market.
    Kuga is going to be the strong contender to CX5.
    Kuga , l welcome u.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 6
    • tricycle on Mar 19, 2013 at 9:44 pm

hopefully the customer service is good as well..

the recent bashed on volkswagen customer service on FB, is not a good thing happen to malaysian..

• Kalun on Mar 19, 2013 at 6:43 pm

EcoBoost engine in Malaysia?

I can’t believe my eyes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
    • neutral on Mar 19, 2013 at 7:31 pm

it had already arrived in the mondeo and s-max….where have u been hiding?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
      • maajeeedaaa on Mar 19, 2013 at 10:53 pm

Hohoho…can’t agree more. In Africa…Madagascar maybe

• He is somewhat right and wrong. True, ecoboost has always been available in the form of 2.0L ecoboost but the more significant ecoboost engine that ford kept away from us is the 1.6L and 1.0L ecoboost engines. I’ll be happy when the 1.0L ecoboost gets fitted inside the fiesta here. :)

• Dr Cooper on Mar 20, 2013 at 7:02 am

All new focus here also got 2.0 Ecoboost

• neutral on Mar 19, 2013 at 6:47 pm

handsome looking SUV. IMHO, one of the better looking SUV in the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Milan on Mar 19, 2013 at 7:22 pm

WOW! This is what i call CAR!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Modesto.hann on Mar 19, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Mind my naive question if you would. How’s the resale value of ford? Insight of ford owner or ex owner pls. Coz this model is tempting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
    • Modesto,
      Its a question often asked, but many have now moved on to put that question lower down on their list of priorities. While resale value plays a role, many now place higher importance into usage value.

I am a Mondeo owner, the 2.0 Ecoboost 240PS model. The value I derive from the usage of the car is very high. I get all the bells and whistles I would expect from a car, I get an EU-made car, its super fast, and best of all, its a fair price hike compared to the Accord and the Camry (and Sonata). People have also moved on from resale value because many now hold on to their cars longer, to a point when the car’s value would have reached a fair representation of the same. Why? Because cars are now engineered better and last longer. For continental cars ie European cars, which already have a high level of quality and engineering prior, this works out even better.
      But to answer your question, yes, perhaps the resale value won’t be as good as the Japs I mentioned, but the trade-off from the usage value is more than enough compensation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
      • Hi NAP,
        I own a Mondeo 240ps for almost 9 months. Recently, seeing more n more Mondeo n Focus running on the road. I am truely glad that more ppl r willing to give Ford n themselve a chlance to experience the well built and great balanced cars.
        For the price range of below RM200k, Mondeo is one of the best car we could get.
        About the RV issue, we had enough “discussion” with Mr Sam Loo, let’s drop the issue.
        Anyway, congrate u for owning a great car.

• Hey CS, flash your lights when you next see a 240PS Mondeo…. Good call on your part when buying the Mondeo.
          Sedate driver that I am, a full tank of RM115 gets me about 650kms…. smiling all the way.

• sepul on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:10 am

Believe us. You do not want to buy car just to think of reselling it. Resale value doesn’t count for this brand, but the value of owning it does.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • koochai on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:55 am

modesto.hann…piece of advice…buy car that u really want…not what others ‘forced’ upon u…u’ll be smiling all the way…trust me fren…i’ve been there before…

• captainobvious on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:01 am

if you can’t afford your next car to replace your current one such that you need to rely heavily on resale value, then think about two things: get a better paying job (your salary should have increased over the years what) or live within your means

• dRwh0 on Mar 20, 2013 at 4:21 pm

For resale value u may ask mr SamLoo..definitely not the best but not the worst in malaysian market..i’m happy with my 2 years escape..after sales so-so only..

• rather have that than the new honda crv… the crv looks like a crab…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
  • Amir Sufyan on Mar 19, 2013 at 7:54 pm

Price shud be around 130 to 140k…ada org tamak ni. If selling at rm150, better buy crv or cx5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 44
    • Come la dude…compare the specs wisely with the crv. This one not tamak. Leave the excise duty itself, then start comparing with new crv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
      • Amir Sufyan on Mar 19, 2013 at 11:01 pm

If compare spec korean car have good spec too..ie kia sportage..but sells at below rm140k..this is ford, not jap brand…u put ford car with key inside it pun ppl wont curik…coz its ford dude..not toyota..so ford, for a 1.6 suv, please price wisely..got better and established reliability alternative at rm163k..with

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 42
        • Amir Sufyan on Mar 19, 2013 at 11:06 pm

….with good aftersale service too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
          • koochai on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:39 am

and please wake up bro…toyota reliability is perceived…not real…the only toyota that is tempting for the bandit now is hilux

• Amir,
          Apparently u know nothing about car but still pretend to be a car expert. To u, seems like Ford is a “chap ayam” brand which u r being so rude and idiotic.
          I am sure u do not know Ecoboost engine was being awarded as one of best engine in the world and not to mention its’ powershift double clutch system as well as its’ well balance Torque vectoring control. Somehow seems like u would assume this 1.6 ecoboost engine performs just similar to the Toyota Altis 1.6 vvti. OMG, it is wasting time to interact to a foolish man like u.
          “this is ford, not jap brand…u put ford car key inside it pun ppl wont curik…coz it is ford” this statement is so arrogant and disgusting. As a Ford owner, I really hope u will never have a chance to drive any Ford with Ecoboost engine bcos u r not up to the standard to be. It is an insult to Ford seeing ppl like u sitting into any of a Ford car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 12
          • sepul on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:15 am

Don’t bash him, instead we need to educate people like him. There are some truth to his words there.

To Ahmad, the pricing is considered reasonable since the Kuga will be imported from Slovakia where it is assembled. If from Thailand then maybe the price would be lower, but then we don’t get the Ecoboost engine. It is turbocharged just so you know.

• Leave him alone, he is still in the cave for the past 20 years. 20 years ago ford Japan was already at par with T/H/M. Now T&H only tweak the engine, other than that very normal. What current Ford tech has are one of best in the world equivalent to most of dreamed cars made in Europe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • Sam Loo on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:08 am

Looks like someone has been given a lesson here. Luckily you haven’t touched on RV. Else…

• Amir Sufyan on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:23 am

So..u are the car expert? What do you drive? Ford? Good for you. If this car truly an ecoboost, green car..should exempt it from tax…as like hybrid cars..if u think this 1.6 ecobooster watever name u want to hype it worth more than rm160++..buy it..personally i n others wud say this car shud be price at rm130 tok rm 140k only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
          • Amir Sufyan on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:26 am

Yeah…im so stupid, comparing suv with sedan..dude! Compare this with fortuner ok lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
          • Amir Sufyan on Mar 20, 2013 at 7:49 pm

Funny..never in my life i wish of having ride in a ford car..but i do if its a beemer or merc…ar atleast audi. Ford?..hmm u offer free ride on your ecoboost pon i dont want looo. Kamon, ford is just a ford..eat that fact. U must be steaming hot boiling after read my previous comment haha.. u must be ford dealer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
        • neutral on Mar 20, 2013 at 1:16 am

so to you, jap brands are supposed to be more premium? Nowadays engine capacity does not matter anymore….also, Ford is a more established brand than any Jap make…they have been around since the first mass produced car in the world…which was a Ford…anyway…cars imported from europe demand a higher excise duty….unlike jap cars…so who’s ripping us off now? UMW and Honda? Or Ford? If you are smart you will know…but seeing you are not….just trust me and learn from those who actually know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • koochai on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:37 am

then how come my friend’s fiesta got stolen with the key neatly kept in her coach hb?

• Jimmy on Mar 19, 2013 at 10:33 pm

True, as CRV’s actual price is RM120k, the RM30k is fixed deposit.
      So with better spec, the Kuga should be around RM120+20k.

• Of course. Why buy a better equipped fully imported car when you can get a sparsely equipped (comparatively) Melaka-made car…

• Ahmadfaris93 on Mar 19, 2013 at 8:28 pm

the thing about the Kuga is, the previous generation never made it to Malaysia. They sold the boring looking one instead(which I suspect not the real second gen model because it is different for overseas market). Waited for the real ‘Kuga/Escape’ for years. Finally, it’s going to be here.

• SUV lover on Mar 19, 2013 at 8:33 pm

at least it is still more value for money compared with some japanese suv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • NightC on Mar 19, 2013 at 8:38 pm

They should put in 2.0 EcoBoost engine and price around RM150k. Mazda CX-5 is cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • the 1.6 ecoboost have more horses & its torque trounce all the Stupid Japs / Korean ashmatic NA 2.0-2.4 liter SUVs….and the peak 240nm starts from very low rev…

• NightC,

From paultan.org: “The (CX5) AWD produces 152 hp at 6,000 rpm and 198 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. In contrast, the 2WD generates 153 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm”

So you get a more powerful car, at a lower road tax bracket and also consumption. The size of the engine is now longer the main determinant of power output.

• Moores on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:36 am

Size of engine DOES matter. As the saying goes still hold the truth, ‘There is no replacement for displacement’. A bigger cc engine definitely gives you smoother driving experience. 1.6 turbo charged will give you a strong acceleration but not when driving in the city and on normal driving condition. No doubt that this is a fact. So for those who likes to play with acceleration all the time, this small turbo charge will be good but for those who prefer a smooth driving experience, a bigger cc N/A will be perfect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • There is a replacement for displacement. If you are looking for smooth driving experience, then you are looking for a supercharger.

But anyhow, have you driven any proper low inertia turbocharged engine? It’s silky smooth even in traffic jams. Time have changed, nothing is always as always. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • Dr Cooper on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:37 am

Disagree and you better check on your fact coz it goes other way round…for city driving where you are actually accelerating and decelerating, torque does matter that’s what modern turbocharged are designed for -compensating losses on the exhaust stroke gave it back to intake stroke –
          and yours “There no replacement for displacement” is just an old saying back in 60’s..its different now in 21st century

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • skypirate on Mar 20, 2013 at 1:07 pm

In theory yes, but the weight plays a very important role too. let’s say for example my passat cc, driving it in town is a bitch even with the 2.0 TSI, it’s grossly underpowered because of the weight, in the end, i will still need to rev it up to get it moving from stand still. sometimes i hope i’m driving the R line with the N/A 3.6 V6, which will give a much smoother driving experience, instead of the sudden surge of power from the 2.0 TSI, when I rev the engine but need to stop 200m later because of traffic lights.

• @skypirate, not really sure bout it. I had the Ford TDCI, in theory it should have even more power surging just because it’s a diesel but it just doesn’t. It’s all smooth flat power even in stop and go situation. But maybe it’s a diesel. Haven’t try any passat cc so I can’t comment on your case.

• ThePolygon on Mar 20, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Very true ‘skypirate’ same goes here… traffic jam… rev engine… turbo kicks in.. surge of power.. hit brakes… need to stop due to front car… repeat process a few 10 times in jammed roads… but in a clear road it’s great.

• Moores on Mar 20, 2013 at 2:59 pm

City drivings are never nice on a turbo engine car. There is a lag from the initial acceleration and before you have your power, you already need to start braking. The old saying is still very much applicable. DO you ever wonder why this Kuga still comes with 2.5 N/A? Why Audi still comes with N/A engine along with TFSI? If turbo charged is so good why did car manufacturers still produce N/A engine for their new models?

• Storm on Mar 20, 2013 at 3:06 pm

Try driving a Q5 and you will know how frustrating it is driving in traffic jam. Seriously, I will rather drive a D segment Japanese car at that kind of situation. On a clear highway, Q5 is superb.

• ahmad loy on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:19 pm

..agreed! Everyone should know this..the basic fact of auto technology..the other words is..ride your turbo engine car on weekend and the NA engine for weekdays..btw if you need for both..Mazda SkyActive CX5 is the best technology.. experienced it.

• skypirate on Mar 21, 2013 at 2:48 am

Exactly! And these small turbo engines in the end consume more fuel due to all the revving and braking during jams. In the end, I think they should just leave small turbo engines for smaller cars, and put in bigger N/A engine for bigger cars.

• Night C- read the engine specs…read the engine specs….

• _xXx_ on Mar 19, 2013 at 8:44 pm

mai tunggu diskaun…

• hihohiho on Mar 19, 2013 at 9:33 pm

Tunggu PR juai kat kitorang. Mungkin talk sampei 90k kot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
      • Jimmy on Mar 19, 2013 at 10:41 pm

Lets don’t make unrealistic figure. Under PR, this Kuga possibly can be as low as RM110k to RM120K(top spec), which is around 70% of the current price(same for other vehicles).
        Bukan janji, tetapi pasti, it is responsibility and obligation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 58
      • _xXx_ on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:37 am

gi tanyo brp yg bli mondeo 2L tu dpt…..

• This is going to be great, the Kuga is the best looking SUV in its segment, hack its the best in fords current range after they went all Aston Martin in most of their cars. If the price and spec are right, it face up the CX-5 very well. But I think most likely it will be called the escape when it reach here, just my thoughts.

• Green on Mar 19, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Sexy looking suv! Kinda cool when you can open the trunk by swinging your legs as well!! But still can’t help to wonder which is better, Kuga or the CX-5?

• Fahmi on Mar 19, 2013 at 10:17 pm

This vs CX-5, tough choice, depends on your preferences..
      But this vs CR-V sure this wins…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • neutral on Mar 20, 2013 at 1:18 am

it was a tough choice with the CBU CX-5…but now with the CKD not offering Bose and such….I would go for Kuga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • Orang Minyak on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:46 am

How good is the sound system for Kuga? Anyone know the spec?

• cx5 for exterior & kuga for interior.

• sudonano on Mar 19, 2013 at 9:27 pm

Kuga vs. CX5. Ford and Mazda are back. Bye bye CRV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • CRV will remain as class leader, due to Honda badge.
      And the new CRV is not stingy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • droll on Mar 19, 2013 at 9:52 pm

if they can support the 1.6L ecoboost engine, thatcould mean a good chance the fiesta st will be sold here?

• Fahmi on Mar 19, 2013 at 10:16 pm

With better specs, more powerful than CR-V, better be CR-V killer with 2.0 underpowered engine… Just hoping for better aftersales by Sime Darby..

• Astroguy on Mar 19, 2013 at 10:47 pm

AWD or 4WD or FWD?

• Wendy on Mar 19, 2013 at 10:58 pm

5seaters or 7seaters? Escape / Everest both were 7seaters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Escape is a 7-seater since when ?

• wendy on Mar 20, 2013 at 8:00 am

Got thumbs down meh for my humble question? I bet honda ask their staff to work overnight to dislike any comment here haha! Obviously there was 2person!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Gavin on Mar 19, 2013 at 11:17 pm

Ford, hello ford, hello you listening or not?

TDCi please, TDCi, no need small small turbo engines ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Syahrover on Mar 20, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Yess!!! Dear Ford, give us the sweet TDCi please… for this size, diesel offerings are only Freelander 2, Evoque, X1, X3 (all at RM100k+ above this price)… also TDCi for the Focus…

• gracke on Mar 20, 2013 at 12:42 am

Finally..the Ford 1.6 EcoBoost flagship landed!!! Handling, performance, driving fun, comfortable, stylish, technology and NICCEEEEEEE….price..all together! Sunshine….

• Dr Cooper on Mar 20, 2013 at 7:05 am

Only one engine variant ? Why don’t just plunk in 2.0 GTDi from Focus ? both from same platform

• Finally..with that amount of torque it should be fun to drive..

• Its finally here. been holding on to my Focus last few years waiting for a replacement, at first wanted new focus, then CX5, now got Kuga as well, so much choice.

For ppl complaining its expensive vs CRV, please lar, the Kuga is more efficient, more advanced engine, better gearbox, better safety (7 airbags), panoromic sunroof,BLIS and auto boot.

Also ppl forget 1 important thing…when your wife drives a cold car like ford, you worry less as a husband, less chance for carjack vs “hot” cars like CRV, Camry etc

• dewaSemut on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:12 am

Good news : Kuga is coming to replace Escape
    Bad news : Kuga is coming to replace Escape’s price too… :(

• Akulaaaaa on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:44 am

More handsome, better specs and more powerful than CR-V. I love Audi Q5, but too expensive, now I will go for this. Good bye UGLY CR-V.
    Oh ya…roadtax less too.

• longjaafar on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:52 am

It is priced higher than the Japanese or Korean equivalent. There is a market there for those who think the Japs and Koreans are inferior. If only they know….

• theanswer on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:58 am

good spec and power. but Escape price used to be not more than 140k. some user look for the price alone..they dont have any idea regarding power n spec. price=love at the first sight.

• William on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:09 am

Just one question, is the ‘six-speed SelectShift Automatic transmission with Sport Mode’ a Dual clutch system?

• Yup

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:59 am

Nope, the SelectShift uses a traditional torque converter, not a dual-clutch set-up like the PowerShift.

• any idea or explanation why it doesnt come with the dual clutch thing?

that audi SUV (forgot Q5 or Q3) also now switched to traditional auto right?

DCT is not suitable for SUV? my experience with DCT is very limited. hoping other readers could shed some light

• Paul Tan on Mar 20, 2013 at 2:24 pm

You tend to have to do alot of creeping with SUVs if you go offroad, and it is not good to let a twin clutch gearbox creep for a very long time because it is not good to slip a clutch for extended timespans.

• Not really sure if it’s because of the creeping reason that this Kuga has selectshift over powershift. The TDCI version of Kuga in aussie uses powershift box. Did a search, not much came up.

• Dr Cooper on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:48 am

Then to me its a good news , Ford dual-clutches are sux anyway..

• William on Mar 20, 2013 at 1:59 pm

Ok noted. I read somewhere for Kuga’s review stating that the torque converter unit feels sluggish to keep up with the ecoboost while the dual clutch offers smooth driving experience.

• Sam Poo on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:23 am

woo hoo Ford Escape is no longer seen in Ford Malaysia’s website..

I wonder how the 6 speed select shift performs relative to the VW’s DSG..more importantly are there any issues with Ford’s dual clutch gb?

• It’s not a dual clutch. It’s a smarter torque converter. I believe the future ford tranny will be torque converter with smarter chips. Easier and cheaper to maintain but not losing out too much to the DC when DC was launched a few years back.

• PauCharSiew on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:37 am

I actually like the first gen kuga more when it was euro only. The second gen seems a bit downgraded. Still kuga here. Euro made car. Better spec and engine than anything else. Offer the same engine as the focus st and we have a q5 wildcard challenger.

• gOOsh on Mar 20, 2013 at 12:22 pm

now… which one to choose… CX-5 or this KUGA…

• dozy8888 on Mar 20, 2013 at 6:02 pm

I love the specs and looks.. BUT IF it’s selling at RM 163K.. It’s kinda over price .. Because it’s only 1.6CC.. No doubt the BHP is equivalent to 2.0CC but the Malaysia tax structure for 1.6CC is also lower… and if it’s from Thailand, it should be even cheaper.. maybe around RM120K ++ ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Its not from Thailand, the Kuga is not made in SE Asia. And if you consider the Kuga overpriced then what about the 1.4 TSI Golf?? its only a hatchback, with smaller CC engine but is 158k. people only see what they want to see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Syahrover on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:47 am

I agree that RM163 is a tad high… but it is from Europe, not Thailand… I bet if this is built in Thailand, then it would be priced just a little higher than the Focus. Perhaps this ad was put out by Ford to gauge reaction on the price?… I hope they would do what they did to the Fiesta and Focus, where the launch price is lower than the indicated one… if a TDCi option is available I would be completely sold already! :)

• Amir Sufyan on Mar 20, 2013 at 7:39 pm

Exactly..the new sorento 7 seater with 10 airbags cost rm158k…this 5 seater non-luxury suv cost more than rm160k…aiyaaa..jgn jadi bodoh loo

• SeKSeKU on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:24 pm

Must bring in ecosport ? Rm100k ++?

• old dog on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:46 pm

Can write article to compare:

1) Ford Kuga
    2) Honda CRV
    3) Toyota RAV4 (they price out locally)
    4) Mazda CX5
    5) Hyundai Santa Fe / Tucson
    6) Kia Sorento / Sportage

• hafizal on Mar 21, 2013 at 1:36 am

i drive new ford focus 2month already
    when i see the kuga interior, look like there share a lot of part from new focus,steering, a-con, door handle, meter panel, etc
    the dual clutch system in new ford focus not so good.u can ask any focus owner, they will have experience of jerking movement at low speed(rpm less than 2000) and it is global problem for new ford focus.until now no solution yet from ford

• jerking issue, wow first time i am hearing about this in a Ford. gotta check out the forums for this.
      but my VW DSG7 still is number 1 on the pedestal for jerking champion. peace.

• chinoy on Mar 22, 2013 at 6:12 pm

test drove the ford focus and its jerking less then rpm 2000.or on slow moving traffic.sometimes there’s a major vibration when u engage to reverse gear..
        i like the new ford models but this problems give me lack of confidence with ford engine

• Syahrover on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:39 am

Perhaps it is not really ‘jerking’, but since it is a manual with automated clutch, it will not be as smooth as a torque converter especially in ‘creeping’ situations. You can’t just slam the pedal as you would on a conventional auto tranny, but hv to let the clutch work first, then accelerate. I drive the Passat 1.8, and was just as unhappy with this ‘jerking’ reaction (especially on hill starts. luckily this one hv auto hold) but once u understand the system it shud b OK.

Back to the Kuga, I think many cars under the SD stable give good value for money, i.e. i suspect the dealers dont make as high a margin compared to the lives of H, T and lately , V, where the car specs are spartan in comparison to the price. I would rather enjoy the ‘real’ driving pleasure of the car e.g. more real power, sunroof, active park assist, great handling, great looks, safety features such as Active City Stop or BLIS rather than ‘perceived’ prestige of the car but devoid of all the above.

• SeKSeKU on Mar 22, 2013 at 9:53 am

the price is too high because tax is too hgh .malaysian want to drive this kind car but sellng price too expensive . ford Better bring for ecosport because
    same engine and max price is rm 70k selling in china soon. Should be price here around rm100 k….

• Well, everyone also speaks the same. They would prefer a better ride. But at the end of the day, when it comes to money, ppl still end up with the japs.
    It’s easy for me, u got money u buy la. U don’t have money go to hell, work harder and smarter. Fair enough, it’s all about urself. KL still fucking jam even though the price is high. Don’t kidding me price is too high. Be realistic ppl? U just graduated wanna drive golf or civic? Kiss my *** putos

• jackson on Apr 12, 2013 at 9:35 am

can’t find it anywhere but does the Kuga here have 4wd, AWD or 2wd?

• I definitely need kick to open this feature,coz I always had full load on my hand together with my toddler monster. But can any one tell me RM160k worth to buy? Besides kick to open what else?