Mazda 6 officially launched – 2.0 sedan priced at RM159k, 2.5 sedan at RM190k, 2.5 Touring at RM194k

Mazda 6

Bermaz Motor has launched the Mazda 6 range in Malaysia. After months of speculation brought on by oto.my ads, leaked price lists and spyshots, things finally get official. Fully imported from Japan, the 2.0 sedan is priced at RM159,455.50, the 2.5 sedan at RM189,728.40 and the 2.5 Touring estate at RM193,832.40, the prices being OTR with insurance.

The two SkyActiv-G petrol engines are direct-injected four-cylinder units. They’re mated to a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed auto. The 2.0 produces 153 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm; the 2.5 does 185 hp at 5,700 rpm and 250 Nm of torque at 3,250 rpm. Fuel consumption is a quoted 17.4 and 15.6 km per litre respectively.

Mazda 6

Regardless of what variant you choose, you get six airbags, DRLs, push start, rain-sensing wipers, auto climate control, leather seats, cruise control, a TFT touch-screen with MP3, AUX, USB and Bluetooth, front and rear sensors with reverse camera, traction control, DSC and a start-stop system (called i-Stop), amongst many others.

Extras to be found on the 2.5 sedan and estate include auto-levelling bi-xenon headlamps, keyless entry, i-ELOOP regenerative braking, i-Activsense tech (comprising Adaptive Front Lighting, Rear Vehicle Monitoring, Lane Departure Warning, High Beam Control and Smart City Brake), shift paddles and a TomTom sat-nav. The estate exclusively gets a roof spoiler, boot roller blind and a Karakuri tonneau cover.

Mazda 6

The 2.0 sedan rides on 225/55 R17 tyres while the 2.5 sedan and estate sit on 225/45 R19 rubber. MacPherson struts sit up front while a multi-link setup sits out back, and brakes are a front-ventilated disc, rear-solid disc affair.

The estate actually has an 80 mm shorter wheelbase than the sedan – Mazda says this disparity was created to suit customer tastes, thereby giving the sedan buyer more cabin space, and the estate buyer more cargo space (522 litres versus sedan’s 438 litres) and agility.

Mazda 6

Unsurprisingly though, the estate enjoys 28 mm more rear headroom. In terms of overall length, the sedan measures 4,865 mm, compared to the estate’s 4,800 mm, despite the latter having a 15 mm longer rear overhang.

Five colours are available – Snowflake White Pearl, Aluminium Metallic, Soul Red, Meteor Grey and Blue Reflex. A three-year warranty and three-year free maintenance are offered. More information on equipment and specs can be found in the gallery below, or you can read our test drive report of the 2.0 and 2.5 sedan here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 216
    • No wonder I saw one with Selangor plates on the LDp the other day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
      • agogo on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:34 pm

hmmmm 190k…

c-class 180cgi or mazda 6 ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 13
        • BMW Fanboi on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:48 am

Preve is still a better car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 256 Thumb down 157
          • Sam Loo on Mar 22, 2013 at 2:01 pm

From the Toyota showrooms, we take our hat off to our Mazda brethren. You all have done well. Your CX5 has not only put a nail in our coffin but has nailed the Honda CRV coffin permanently.

Yes I am RV King but I give respect where respect is due! Saya tabik Mazda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 15
          • so go buy one, plenty of stock coz NOBODY WANTS A PREVE!
            :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
        • theanswer on Mar 21, 2013 at 1:29 am

508gt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 29
        • Megane on Mar 21, 2013 at 4:36 am

it’s better to get the Merc …a jap is always a jap no matter how good it is . But Mazda is the best Jap in terms of fun driving pleasure . Anyway the latest Merc C class is due soon for replacement …wait for it dude and start saving money for a bigger downpayment . Cheers .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
        • Josh Ling on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:22 am

i will put my money on c-class, even though it’s due to be replaced soon. but a three-point star is definitely worth a lot more than a flying bird in front. and it’s not like the current c-class is a very bad car to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
        • seancorr on Mar 21, 2013 at 2:12 pm

Depends on who is buying it. Some prefer the function over status so the Mazda has a lot more kit than the C180 (adaptive xenons, satnav, RVM, LDW, etc)

Some would prefer to have status so the 3 pointed star will of course be their choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Polo Saga on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:08 pm

Awesome design, the best in its class!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 10
    • River on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:22 pm

I think Optima is better in look and the spec of optima is slightly higher than M6 2.0 and the price is 16k cheaper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 125
      • Don’t really agree with u. Optima is good to see on your first sight, but as u look at it longer, you will find it kinda outdated . It doesn’t give u the wow factor anymore. The design tak tahan lama and gets dated very quickly. Same goes to the Sonata when it came out, everyone was like WOW. Now? People don’t really find it nice anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 67
        • I don’t agree with the Optima K5, even as newer fresher Korean are coming out, IMO the K5 is still the best looking, sharp lines stand the test of time longer, any mint condition 4th gen Accord, E36 3-series or even a Proton Saga looks fresh on the road today. The Optima downside is maybe Ride&Handling compared to this, and it’s not really heads over heels on look in looks over this too as say, a Camry XV50 or Teana.

But I’ll completely agree on you with the Sonata, the more I look the less attractive, the same can be said with all Hyundai’s fluidic design. It’s cluttered and although it gives you a Wow factor, but not really easy on the eyes nor classy looking. Much like the PT-cruiser, 996-series 911.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 23
          • SamoLoo on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:11 am

Proton Saga…oh please….That is a junk and an eyesore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 22
      • theanswer on Mar 21, 2013 at 1:29 am

u dont compare optima with mazda handling dynamic..pls dont..u might embarrass urself!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 11
        • River on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:18 am

Handling?Don’t you think this car handling is good?You will be disappointed after you test drove it. its i stop function is so glitchy and the engine noise is quite obvious and dashboard and lcd screen is quite outdated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 28
          • Aceman on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:53 am

I agree with u. Already test dirve the car. No omp! Cockpit sound loud. Ford Focus is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 13
          • stuart on Mar 21, 2013 at 1:54 pm

I m not disappointed. Handling is superb. Obviously you don’t know what you are talking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
          • Ah Beng on Mar 22, 2013 at 2:22 am

VW golf is still a better car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
          • Cosmo Artemis on Mar 22, 2013 at 10:33 am

Are you driving the 2.0 sir? Try 2.5 then you shud write here.

• You compare Optima with this Mazda6? Handling, ride quality are miles apart between the 2. We can’t deny that Mazda makes the best handling car among the Japanese, the Korean still have lots of work to do in this area. For me Mazda is the most passionate Japanese car maker and I like their philosophy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 12
        • SamoLoo on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:18 am

For the price, although alfa 159 had already end of production, the alfa looks and handling beats the new Mazda by a mile.

Before you guys start to rate me down, try sitting in a 159 and drive one, then come back and tell me whether Mazda is really that good.

The 159 still ooze the best sexy sedan car and it will stand a better time in term of design. The only downfall, stupid crap autoconnexion aftersales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 35
          • kadajawi on Mar 21, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Yes, the Alfa is a nice car to be in, and an even nicer car to look at. But it is old and outdated (and… out of production? Or soon will be…), and Alfa is really not known for reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
          • You got to be kidding on comparing a much smaller car with this Mazda6. They are in totally different segment. When I say Mazda cars are great in handling, I meant in its segment. You want to compare Mazda handling with alfa? Their MX-5 is the best I’ve driven. Definitely better than 159. By the way, Alfa is taking MX-5 chassis for their coming models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • The focus/mondeo/fiesta are the benchmark for handling for their respective classes.

• Sam Loo on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:00 pm

I would encourage more sorhais to buy new K5/Sonata

Love the hailat looks when they try to trade their cars in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
  • Gokul on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Still expensive? I thought MITI slashed the tax for the imported cars from Japan and Aussie.. Correct me if I was wrong..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 13
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 358
    • i share the same thought with you… how come so exp..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
      • Josh Ling on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:26 am

come on lah, they will only slash the tax in steps over the next few years, and not to mention there is still excise duty which is the main reason for the expensive car price here in malaysia. so of course still expensive lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • takNakP1 on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:07 am

slashed tax = crony more profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 105
      • Cosmo Artemis on Mar 22, 2013 at 10:36 am

Slash tax therefore the car dealer shud reduce the price lah. Still to blame the govt?

• sudonano on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:13 pm

The smart malaysian in the market for a D segment will buy this. Fact. Camry, sorry, but time to go. VSC also don’t have, no wonder not many new Camrys on our road. Not like the XV40 where people were crazy to wait months to buy one. And there were like hundreds on the road within the first year.

UMW. Wake up.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Mar 21, 2013 at 7:38 am

That’s why ACV40 RV is still dem good until today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
      • sudonano on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:11 am

And thats why people looking for a NEW D segment car should get this/508/Mondeo instead of the XV50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
      • yup, same resale value as the Golf Tsi….go check at Mudah.com.my…same price while & same resale value, might as well get a golf (bttr car)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
        • sudonano on Mar 21, 2013 at 8:48 pm

But remember the Golf is a C segment. Should look at the Passat. But I cannot recommend a VW cause of DSG la. Until VW can guarantee it to be problem free for at least 10 years in Malaysia, the Japs will still win.

• Sam Loo on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:57 pm

Golf is B-Segment. Mazda 6/Camry/Accord is D-Segment.

I hope you are in the right forum, or you don’t know how to differenciate cars by their corresponding size classification

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
        • Paul Tan on Mar 22, 2013 at 12:34 am

Golf is C-Segment. Volkswagen’s B-Segment cars are the Polo and Polo Sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
          • sudonano on Mar 22, 2013 at 1:45 pm

I hope YOU are in the right segment. Let me teach you VW MY’s Lineup 101.

Polo Sedan, Polo (All variants)- B segment,
            Golf (All variants), Jetta- C segment,
            Passat, Passat CC (All variants)- D segment,
            Tiguan- Compact SUV
            Touareg- Large SUV
            Cross Touran- Compact MPV
            Sharan- Large MPV.

Go check your facts.

• sudonano on Mar 22, 2013 at 1:47 pm

*forum

• Wow the price between the 500cc difference is rather huge, but nonetheless RM159k starting price decimates anything it’s fellow countryman or the Koreans are offering, with the only downside I can see is that uninspiring interior(but that’s more on personal taste)with that small-ish screen. This is going to be awesome and its closest rival I can think of(the upcoming DI-engine Accord)is still a few months away. Another great car from Hiroshima. BTW, does the I-ELOOP affect the fuel-consumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Yes, I have driven one. Ieloop saves fuel by supplying electrical energy to the car. That way it will spare the engine. It gets the charge from regenerative braking. Handling was great as expected. Interior actually looks much better than what I saw in the picture. Funny thing is despite all the new technologies and full of safety gadgets, the Bose sound system win over me. My heart says go for 2.5 but my head says go for 2.0.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • “My heart says go for 2.5 but my head says go for 2.0.”

more like “My heart says go for 2.5 but my Pocket says go for 2.0. I would like the 2.5 too but RM190k … just Wow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • zx800 on Mar 21, 2013 at 4:58 pm

if u dont need the space, instead of the M6 2.0 …bttr get the golf mk7, same price

For the 2.5 price, get a MB C class or Beemer 3 series instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • Cosmo Artemis on Mar 22, 2013 at 11:20 am

2.0 i-stop, 2.5 e-loop. The i-stop is using capacitor which charging faster than the LiOn.

2.0 handling great than 2.5 due to 2.0 slimmer by 20kg. That because 2.5 have balancing shaft, whilst 2.0 havent any.

• kadajawi on Mar 21, 2013 at 1:25 pm

The 2.5 is also much better equipped though. To me the estate is the best version though. It has the best equipment, is easily the best looking one and has the biggest boot.

• Henry Leong on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Kinda highly priced.

Lower by RM15k would be very tempting :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
    • Jimmy on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:32 am

Best buy of 2013.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
    • seancorr on Mar 21, 2013 at 2:17 pm

They will lower the price once CKD starts and then take out the Bose system, 19″ wheels, etc to keep the price low lol.

• St. Peter on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:20 pm

A class above all Japanese cars in its segment, in my opinion…Change the logo to Lexus and sell it at 250K and ppl will say its a good buy…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
  • I guess the price is acceptable since is fully CBU from Japan, imagine the Camry-worrying price it would hav if they decide to locally assemble the 6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • rakyat on Mar 21, 2013 at 7:55 am

price looks reasonable only because of the current Malaysian tax structure which makes all cars expensive.
      not bacause it is CBU quality.
      I will be getting 2 new cars this year end to replace 2 existing units but definitely after erection.
      which dick will be up standing after erection day?
      well, i do hope that I can get cheaper cars.
      btw, read somewhere that new CBU car prices will go up later this year (hope this is SA bullshit), but might happen if the older dick get erected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
  • RON95??? on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:29 pm

Why does the brochure says Ron95 and above?? Good car but die hard at the pumps… 62 litres…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
    • Storm on Mar 21, 2013 at 8:14 am

What’s the problem? We all pump RON 95 or 97 anyway. Do we still have RON 92?

• Let’s vote. The Mazda 6 2.5 price tag of RM190k is confronting directly with Ford Mondeo 240ps RM193k.
    Click “Like” if u choose Mazda 6 2.5
    Click “Dislike” if u prefer Ford Mondeo 240ps.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 95 Thumb down 158
    • I chose the 6 for reason that there is a new Mondeo on the way (the american Ford Fusion), though not this year and it may be quite a while from now, but the new Mondeo looks better than the current despite having that ridiculous Aston martin grill. No offence the current mondeo is still a great car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • I will chose this Mazda 6 anytime. Just can’t live with the look of Mondeo. Power alone is not enough to convince me. It’s the overall package of driving enjoyment that’s more important.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 15
    • Thank you guys for your participation on this “voting”. Up to date, 69 chose Mazda 6 (38.98%),108 preferred Mondeo 240ps (61.02%).
      I was quite surprise with the result which I thought Mazda 6 would have a big win over Mondeo. Of course to be realistic, this result would never translate the bigger sales of Mondeo over Mazda 6 in real life at least for a year or two.
      Personally, I would choose Mondeo. I like its matured & understated outlook, it looks simple, clean but not dull yet display a dynamic stance even during standstill. It suits very much to a sedate man (to me at least).
      Ecoboost engine is powerful & reacts super fast. The cabin is so quite, the wind noise only intrudes at the speed of 160km/h above. Powershift dual clutch performs its job fast yet smoothly. It is totally different from VW DSG in which DSG is much more athletic. Still, I like the poweshift way..
      Dynamic handling? Absolutely. Describe it? U guys have been reading the review more than enough. You have to test it yourself, I am sure u will be “in love” with Mondeo.
      Mazda 6 is a great car too.. but it is still not as refined as Mondeo in term of Engine, Transmission, Handling. However, the Skyactive delivers a fabulous fuel consumption which is way ahead of Mondeo….
      As far as RM200k cars are concerned, Mondeo, Peugeot 508GT diesel & Mazda 6 would be my top 3 list.

Thank you guys….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • KingPin on Mar 22, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Should include 508GT as well but no other tab to click. Ford mondeo for sure is the better choice between the two

• Arun 12B on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 314
    • ProTorque on Mar 21, 2013 at 6:48 pm

I STRONGLY AGREE WITH YOU AND THE 508 GT IS A GREAT CAR TO BE HAD AND NICE LOOKING! I AM SICK OF ALL THESE FLUIDIC DESIGNS CURVE HERE CURVE THERE WE AIN’T CHOOSING WOMEN HERE! GIVE ME A CAR WHICH CAN BE DRIVEN WITH CONNECTION, FEEL, AND TORQUE!! FOR THOSE WHO DON’T UNDERSTAND PLS DRIVE ONE MIN SUFFICIENT TORQUE U WILL UNDERSTAND!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • KingPin on Mar 22, 2013 at 3:58 pm

508GT and mondeo, 2 cars which are probably the best in this segment. Havent test drove Maz6 yet but seen it otr and it looks old.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • nabill on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:47 pm

y u all comparing the 2.5 price?? main seller is gonna be the 2.0 obviously…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • I see no reason anyone should buy a camry… Well played Mazda… Well played…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • frenzy on Mar 21, 2013 at 4:51 pm

When they drive a Camry they thought it is a “Japanese ” car. On the other hand, it’s not. At least the Japanese Camry has a better looking front bunper and CVT hybrid.
      This Mazda 6 is a “real” japanese car which imported from Japan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • KingPin on Mar 22, 2013 at 4:04 pm

its jap-american actly (partly owned by ford), the good handling u talk about comes from the ford pedigree

• VWForever on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:59 pm

The price of the 2.5L, one might consider Passat Sportline, also CBU from Wolfsburg. Mazda 6 sexy, but conti Passat looks elegant, more solid looking. Torque wise kick in much earlier. Driving feel, I believe the Passat better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 330 Thumb down 14
    • seancorr on Mar 21, 2013 at 2:24 pm

I guess it all boils down to what u want in the car.

Passat Sport = Conti with looks and handling but lacking basic stuff such as reverse camera, bluetooth and satnav.

Mazda 6 = Technology overload but not so good interior design and only 3 years warranty.

Or consider the upcoming Accord. The Thailand Accord has some good features like adaptive cruise control and front collision radar system so if those tech make it to our Accords then we will another potential competitor!

Not gonna talk about the Camry or the Teana hahaha

• frenzy on Mar 21, 2013 at 4:54 pm

But passat looks absolutely boring, like designed using 90° ruler. It looks good because of some chrome trim and DRL.

• kentji on Mar 21, 2013 at 6:03 pm

true that passat might look boring to some people but most of the design from vw are mainly focusing on simple and classy feel, maybe not the passat but cc, beetle, rocco those are beautiful dont you think?

• frenzyaustin on Mar 21, 2013 at 6:59 pm

yeah, I do like the design of Scirocco. It’s good looking and sporty. Beetle is simple yet elegance. CC is not bad but compare to the same segment Germen car, it might not compare so well.

• Ah Beng on Mar 22, 2013 at 2:33 am

Passat is designed to look boring. If you want beauty, get the CC.

• I prefer Passat! simple yet elegant! simple can stay longer than overdone exterior…

• KingPin on Mar 22, 2013 at 4:09 pm

the only gripe on the passat, its very underspeced

• pontiac on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:03 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 143
    • PKRForever on Mar 21, 2013 at 6:52 pm

He is busy launching some autobiography of a woman with the most terrible looking hairdo on the planet which looks like it will explode on the Mongolian soil and who has lived her life well not needing to spend but attain luxury from the means of the people of this country and she loves to collect diamonds I mean huge mean looking stones!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Cosmo Artemis on Mar 22, 2013 at 11:30 am

Such moronic Malaysian. Stop the hate in your heart and you will live longer. And god loves you too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • Hmm awesome so far, now lets wait to see what the accord has to offer :)

• sharfox on Mar 21, 2013 at 1:04 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 404
    • theanswer on Mar 21, 2013 at 1:31 am

yep true. kizashi review is not bad!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Sam Loo on Mar 21, 2013 at 7:40 am

Seen and sat in a Suzuki Kizashi in Oz. Seems like a very small D Segment car, it feels more like a C Segment internally

• _xXx_ on Mar 21, 2013 at 8:16 am

hey suzuki salesman, change to other make laa…go ask Sam Loo if his co got vacancy. Take a look at your swifts, all auto. Do u know that many want manual?

• Sam Loo on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:54 pm

I only trade used kimchis.

Encouragement from all angles should be given to those that want to buy new kimchis. When they sell, I profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • KingPin on Mar 22, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Wow lots of hate for kizashi here, i too think its a decent car but cant say if its better or not

• damn the 2.5 is expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • sad that they cant offer all the missing safety & security along with the missing I-activesense package with the 2.0. only can afford the 2.0 but after seeing what im missing, might as well wait until something better comes along with my budget.

• theanswer on Mar 21, 2013 at 1:34 am

2.0 with vsa+6airbags! shame on u accord and camry.
    strong acceleration for 2.5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • car man on Mar 21, 2013 at 1:36 am

i test drive discovery4, range rover sport, mersc e class, bmw 5series, camry………before.
    and i test drive preve today…
    i laugh….because different segment and price so far from those conti car…
    the preve lotus handling…u all must try…
    especially in the corner road.. dammm proud of it….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 525 Thumb down 26
    • That may be true, but not everybody buys a car just to turn round a corner.

Disco4, RR, E Class and 5 series are all very different cars to the preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Peter on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:25 am

Actually, there’re no dispute on Lotus handling which Proton brought over nor the durability of Campro engine. The dissatisfaction on Proton is on his quality control, build quality, use of material at his own class. Think of it, you most probably need to visit SC to rectify those ‘minor issues’ a few times while what you got is Proton’s top of the range product (refer to Preeve). Yes, you may say other CKD car also got quality issues, but they’re less.

• kadajawi on Mar 21, 2013 at 1:29 pm

I have also seen a VW, built in Germany, where the car had to be finished at the workshop. Things were loose inside and outside of the car. But of course quality is a let down with Proton, but what do you expect from a car that has to be built for less than RM 37k in the case of the CFE? Rest goes to the government in taxes… :(

• kl fella on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:33 am

no matter how good the handling is, you can’t beat the excitement and feeling of the push from behind (RWD)..

• kl fella on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:34 am

That’s what made me dumping my golf and went for the f30 3 series

• Josh Ling on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:37 am

ehm, preve doesn’t have lotus ride & handling anymore. notice they don’t even mention the word “Lotus” in their ads and brochures anymore? the only proton car that still has lotus ride & handling would be the satria neo R3.

• BantaiBan on Mar 21, 2013 at 2:25 am

Wonder how is the handling for this new M6 as compared to the first gen M6 with double wishbone suspension which is gone in this generation. Missing the unique handling of the first 6.

• KingPin on Mar 22, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Double wishbone is expensive to produce and to replace but your right it is indeed quite a unique handling characteristic

• seriously Toyota Camry 2.5 can go die already. Overpriced CKD. Thanks to this new Mazda 6 2.5 CBU. UMW Toyota is just a bunch of crap management who only think of profit and bonuses for their staff. Give shit with high price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo on Mar 23, 2013 at 10:04 am

But thanks to Berjaya being the franchise for Mazda, UMW Toyota will leap by heaps and miles on after sales service, spares and most of all, Resale Value

• jolly_idiot on Mar 21, 2013 at 8:52 am

Somehow felt that the player lcd screen is too small for this car.

• Peter on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:18 am

In my opinion, the Mazda 6 2.0 ver worth much more than the VW Golf MK7 (158k) overall at 159k though the tech aspect may be 1 or 2 features less comparatively, but we we’re at higher class & segment of vehicle which’s also feature rich. The only argument that I think will exist is some ppl may argue VW is more ‘premium’ than Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • zx800 on Mar 21, 2013 at 5:03 pm

go test drive the M6 2.0 and Golf Mk7 1.4 liter only…then only make comment. U ‘ll be surprise wt the little 1.4 liter tsi golf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • MackyMac on Mar 21, 2013 at 5:55 pm

YOu know, I did… and admittedly it wasn’t as bad as I thought it’d be. Nicely composed, goes over bumps well. Decent acceleration for a town car.

Things like reverse cameras (it’s not that big and difficult to park), push start (really, turning a key is that difficult?) really are very secondary. Only no leather… sigh.

I’ll give the Mazda a try, didn’t like the Mazda 3 but I am quite keen to get something within the price range and having had French cars… I’m not keen.

• KingPin on Mar 22, 2013 at 4:18 pm

VW is not a premium brand, its the peoples brand cuz everyone should be able to own it but come to our shore with sell-your-kidney-price

• Sam Loo on Mar 23, 2013 at 10:08 am

Dun compare a small apartment with landed property. These cars are 2 different segments altogether

• mkhee on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:23 am

Test drove both the 2.0 and 2.5 last Sunday. Performance is decent but there is very little difference between 2.0 and 2.5 at low to mid range. DRL for the 2.0 is the entire projector halogen lamp will light up as opposed to the nice LED ring for the 2.5. So there is a bit of confusion on the specs as the spec sheet says equipped for both variant. At RM190k for the 2.5 it is rather steep. I would rather get a C class instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Josh Ling on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:56 am

I question the necessity of shortening the wheelbase of touring over sedan. i mean you can shorten the wheelbase, but not up to 80mm. 80mm can have quite a significant effect on the space, and frankly i dun think many people will care about having a larger-than-life boot space if you have a look to die for already. decent boot space is enough for me.

• james on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:39 am

where is the 15% import duty reduction announced by gov? it’s around RM 6K saving. this pricing is same as before announcement…totally cheated by gov!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Crueset on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:43 am

159k??..190K??..194k??..are you kidding me??..WTH..better get conti car,Merz@[email protected] happen to reducing tax program by gov??..is this some kind of attractive voting campaign by our gov??..pleaseee laa gov…car in Malaysia still too expensive laa..aiyaaaa..by the way to all commentator,please don’t be racist around here..don’t mention bumi laa..3 nama laa..just comment on the topic and stop being racist..we are all Malaysian..together we stand ok..be good & peace!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • HSGT87345 on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:44 am

2.0 got push start but no keyless entry? wtf, I have to take the key fob out of my pocket, press a button to unlock the doors, put the fob back into my pocket, then sit down and push the Start button? Stupid mazda, if wan to take away features to lower the price, then do so sensibly laa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • dzulx on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Agree… its soooo difficult take the key out from my pocket everytime… very very troublesome

• ZoomZoom! on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:55 am

With the weaken Yen they should be able to lower the price of this M6 milking the Msian rakyat again ! Wait for the CKD save some money ppl.

• Saw it few days ago on the red, metalic red is very eye catching.

The car looks huge, like Camry or Mercedes E class size.

Design wise, it just doesn’t appeal to me.

• David on Mar 21, 2013 at 3:47 pm

OVERPRICED CAR! SHOULD ME UNDER 150K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • Storm on Mar 21, 2013 at 6:10 pm

Yeah can be under 150K for you, maybe they’ll remove 4 rims, car seats and bonnet.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Mar 21, 2013 at 5:55 pm

This is slightly (just slightly) off topic…did Toyota pay off the model on the right to scare photographers away? I think it worked, the pictures taken are really poor…

• Sam Loo on Mar 23, 2013 at 10:02 am

Toyota does not need to pay off anyone, unlike the ruling party

• ProPassat on Mar 21, 2013 at 6:02 pm

The VW Passat IMO I well equipped. Correction. It has Bluetooth. SatNav and camera is only nice to have. We should not rely too much on reverse camera and SatNav cos we should always use our memory for direction. I never use a navigator cos it has brought me to Holland before. Reverse camera can be installed if u wish to have it on your Passat. Agree the design maybe boring very straight and angular. This is what I think it is of substance. Its like comparing a Rolex watch to say an Alain Silberstein.

The Japs and Kimchi countries do not have Euro NCAP required safety features, technology, engine developments. Thus their cars such as Mazda and KIA, Hyundai, and other makes have recently been about fluidity, organic design. To me nice to look at, but look at it for a long time and driving these cars as compared to a real Conti, Audi, Beemer, Merc or even the now popular VW, one will realise, a Rolex is always a Rolex and substance and logic at the end of the day, rules.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • Storm on Mar 21, 2013 at 6:18 pm

What kind of comedy are you trying to come out here? Should use your memory instead of Nav? What about those places you haven’t been? Use your six sense? In that case why don’t you just forget about using your phone contact, just use your memory for all your friends number. Your knowledge is clearly very shallow. No Euro NCAP? Most of Japanese and even Korean cars have Euro 5 Star NCAP. Yes 5 star including this Mazda 6. Comparing VW as Rolex? Oh please..Car models change fast, super fast now. Before you know it, your car model already outdated and yes, including the conti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • ProPassat on Mar 21, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Waahh Storm, I never expect you to storm in here like that. What I meant is Conti designs change like a Rolex watch. Slight change but still maintain their substance. Yes the designs get outdated. All designs do. Thus a Passat design may be boring but the substance lies when you are behind the wheel. And u realise why did I go for designs, fluid, organic, kazasushi designs, like a colourful watch unlike a Rolex. As for travelling to places I have not been, I usually fly there. That is out of the country. Unless I choose to drive to Shanghai or even in Singapore I don’t need a SatNav. Maybe one day I will drive to Bali or even Germany to visit VW Wolfsburg plant. And when I reach there, I hail cabs or have tour guides drive me around. If I drive to Penang, JB, KB, Terrrenganu, unless I katak di bawah tempurung, I rely on our road signs, signboards. If I want to go to Sabah or Sarawak, I will drive there. Not! I will fly there. And someone will pick me up. Do we have taxis in this country? U understand now? Mazda was also on my list, until I bought a Rolex. Cheers buddy. Now you can storm your way to the Rolex boutique.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
        • Storm on Mar 21, 2013 at 7:49 pm

I use Nav in Klang Valley and sometimes out station. What on earth are you talking all the way to Germany? Are you ok or not?

• Ahmadfaris93 on Mar 22, 2013 at 12:09 pm

Gotta agree with ProPassat here. Asian car designs change so damn fast and you will eventually feel your car is super old when the new gen comes out. Thus, the urge to change car is naturally there when you feel that your car is outdated. This however, I feel very different for European cars. Yes, they change the design as well but the built and quality, designs are usually made to last slightly longer(yes, it comes with a very high price tag). For example, I still feel the merc w211 look really good even though the model has been around for 10 years and the merc w212 has been around for quite a number of years now. Same goes for the BMW e60 and BMW F10. The older gen doesnt feel that ‘old’ when the new one comes out.

• KingPin on Mar 22, 2013 at 4:24 pm

bro u sound like a VW fanboy, passat is good not great. The tsi engine is great but the entire package is ok, the handling on the passat is a swing and a miss

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Mar 23, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Didn’t VW just announced the biggest recall for faulty DSG transmissions in China? Have you been to VW car owners blogs/forums to read about the various technical issues with their rides?
      http://autos.jdpower.com/ratings/dependability.htm

I don’t see the VW on the list at all…in fact, hardly any German brands. What substance, Rolex you talking about?

• Ghopalen on Apr 04, 2013 at 9:31 am

All Mazda cars are rated 5 star under Euro NCAP. The variants had been awarded with 5 star rating under Australia NCAP as well.

• i love this car, looks great, and sure stands out from all the usual japanese saloons,
    although not quite sure as pretty as the current 6, its good enough, my only criticism is the interior looks a bit dead, but otherwise a very likable car.

• ahmed on Mar 21, 2013 at 7:21 pm

Tested myvi 1.5 . Engine smoother than this mazda. Maybe the myvi used shell racing v power. Plz try.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
    • Correct, correct, correct..Buy 3 Myvis instead of 1 Mazda6 right? Buyers of Mazda 6 must be stupid for not following your ‘LAGI BEST’ advise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Ahmadfaris93 on Mar 21, 2013 at 8:54 pm

190k for the 2.5. My god. I’d get the Passat or the Camry instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Mar 23, 2013 at 10:01 am

Camry maybe, no way Passat. Just see have little Passats there are on the road, despite having a 18mth lead in launch time over Camry

• Passat way better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • clement on Mar 22, 2013 at 7:53 am

VW China starts the recall action due to DSG problem has been publicized in the TV. VW China is “forced” to do so under the pressure from the public. Would that scenario happen here? I doubt….Plenty of Golf 1.4TSI & Passat are facing DSG issue.
    http://www.auto-online.com.tw/news/22968

• Sam Loo on Mar 22, 2013 at 11:22 pm

Proton should have been asked to recall all Saga, Waja and Wira for all the defects in manufacturing that happened since day 1 of production

• Dr. Shanker Sathappan on Mar 22, 2013 at 8:36 am

All New Mazda 6 car registration postponed due to orders from Japan as of yesterday. Don’t know what’s happening.
    Car cannot be delivered to owners even though it has arrived at the respective showrooms.

• yep, happened to me.
      booked, paid & even registered for my 2.5L.
      car already in the showroom with the registration # fixed. but SA called & said got instruction from mazda japan to hold all deliveries over some “minor” software problem worldwide.
      bums me out!! i’m already excited to get my new zoom zoom :-(

• KingPin on Mar 22, 2013 at 5:02 pm

Dear admin you are restricting my freedom of speech by removing my comments. My comments are not vulgar nor is it insultful, its merely an opinion.

• Alvin on Mar 23, 2013 at 10:22 am

Typical rounded three spoke steering wheel looks so dated! Does not up to the new age kodo design! Civic’s wheel looks sleeker and more sophisticated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • gOOsh on Mar 23, 2013 at 1:58 pm

finally… it’ crystal clear which one to choose… Camry 2.0G or Mazda6…

• Shaun on Mar 30, 2013 at 11:09 am

Mazda are for people who appreciate class and beauty. I like the new Madza cars. Paul Tan is the No.1 auto blogger. Thanks for posting.

• Mageshwaran Max on Apr 02, 2013 at 1:36 am

wah… Mazda6 new its my dream car… i love Mazda6

• Keris Jawa on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:47 pm

The huge handbrake lever next to the driver is so yesterday!

• Daniel Ling Siew Kwong on Aug 27, 2013 at 11:59 pm

Jonathan James Tan, my school mate and house mate from Kolej Tuanku Ja’afar. Never know you’re reviewing this car. When is it going to be driving a reasonable saloon car in Malaysia. 2013 Mazda 6 or 2013 Ford Mondeo…

• Mazda6Fan on Aug 28, 2013 at 10:08 pm

For an almost 160k car… you would that Mazda 6 would have scuffle plates/step plates to protect the pain job when you get in . out of the car…….

• Any idea that Mazda 6 will be assembled in Malaysia in the near future also like CX-5?