Mercedes-Benz CLA 45 AMG leaked ahead of NY debut

Mercedes_CLA45AMG_leaked_07

Already shown in full in digital form last month, the Mercedes-Benz CLA 45 AMG will be making its way to New York very soon. Photos of the mini super coupe have emerged on the Internet ahead of schedule though, giving us a good look around weeks before its official debut.

No surprises here. It’s a Mercedes CLA four-door coupe all dressed up with AMG go faster bits, just like its close cousin, the A45 AMG. It shares the same AMG front apron and twin-blade radiator grille. The 18-inch wheels are the same too.

The interior is a little different though. There’s a big slab of real carbonfibre across the dashboard now, instead of the A 45 AMG’s faux-carbonfibre panel. Other than that, the red trims, AMG sport steering, gear lever and bucket seats make a welcome return.

Power comes from a 2.0 litre turbocharged motor that’s good for 360 hp and 450Nm of torque – the most powerful series production four-cylinder engine in the world. An AMG seven-speed dual clutch ‘box will drive all four wheels, and you can expect it to match the A45 AMG’s 4.6 seconds 0-100 km/h time and limited 250 km/h top speed.

We’ll learn more when the car is officially unveiled soon enough.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Too bad it’s literally butt ugly. :P Front is nice though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • I agree I too find the front is not really that bad, but that rear can really be improved. It looks melted, but the side profile is definitely desirable.

• Hahaha.. I guess you’re the only few who understand what “literally” means.. :)

For those who thumbed down and don’t understand where and when is it used for, google it out. :P

• Sam Loo on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:49 am

My Hilux is far better than this car. It can trash this car with its higher torque. Don’t just thing buy a Mercedes can win you chics, I have pulled so many girls with just my Hilux alone!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Jimmy on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:45 pm

Yes.
        And the target customers are younger ones, or bapa beli untuk anak, jika anak suka, afterall it’s gonna be cheaper yet sportier than C-class.

• Obama on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:50 pm

if you are taller than 170cm, sorry u can’t sit at the back!

• Supercar performance and yet can drive to giant for shopping. Drooollll…

• frenzyaustin on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:35 am

Great looking! But prefer hatchback form.

• PauCharSiew on Mar 20, 2013 at 11:39 am

Great but would it perform as good as it looks as the other a’s have been disappointing. (malaysians seem to lust over it though considering the positive response in paultan.org). I dono why but i have a bad hunch it isnt going to be very fun to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Ramun on Mar 20, 2013 at 1:11 pm

This is the most exciting Merc for years. But can the driver has the option to disable TC completely?

• the most powerful series production four-cylinder engine in the world, is it ? what about exo x fq400 ?

• teamsleepnine on Mar 20, 2013 at 2:57 pm

fq evo x is not a productions…it’s a “tuned” car by mitsubishi great britain.

• Henry Leong on Mar 20, 2013 at 3:06 pm

Evo X only 300hp woh. Much less.

• Henry Leong on Mar 20, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Eh you are right. FQ-400 with 400bhp :)

I guess the AMG guys thought too highly of themselves?

• seancorr on Mar 20, 2013 at 3:09 pm

Cool for the first time we might have a cheaper AMG car coming here…if it ever reaches here haha.

Guess it will be like RM500k for one…cheaper CLA200 anyone?

• mercdes benz lover on Mar 20, 2013 at 3:50 pm

CLA is the ugliest car in mercedes benz line up , for those who cant afford a proper sedan like the cheapo affordable C-Class.

• teamsleepnine on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:17 pm

lovely car!…lovely car….look at the details in the design,bukan macam toyota huduh!

• Fahmi on Mar 20, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Wonder how the 2.0 four engine will cope with such tremendous power… Boost levels must be very high then…

• Fahmi on Mar 20, 2013 at 8:51 pm

My bad, we have Lancer FQ-400.. Forgotten about that “legend”…

• teamsleepnine on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:21 pm

dude mitsubasi is a tuned engine not productions line engine!
    haish jap fanboy!…
    New Zealand-based WRC Developments responsible, along with Ecutek, for the whole FQ line-up that sold through ralliart uk(now known as extreme uk!)
    it’s not a production line vehicles!

• i dont care i love it