Ferrari F12berlinetta launched – from RM1.29 million

Ferrari F12berlinetta

At the same time the Mitsubishi i-MiEV was launched, another car was too; one of a completely opposite nature. Naza Italia has introduced the Ferrari F12berlinetta in Malaysia with a starting price of RM1,288,800, excluding taxes. We’re the first country in the Asia Pacific region to receive an RHD car, in fact.

When it first made its global appearance in Geneva last year, the F12berlinetta was the fastest and most powerful road-going Ferrari ever, and although the LaFerrari now holds that title, this one’s no slouch – it’s lapped the famous Fiorano test track in a quick one minute and 23 seconds.

Ferrari F12berlinetta

With a front mid-mounted 6.2 litre 65° V12 offering 730 hp at 8,250 rpm and 690 Nm of torque at 6,000 rpm (80% of which is available at just 2,500 rpm) and a seven-speed F1 dual-clutch gearbox, the 599 GTB replacement gets to 100 km/h from rest in just over three seconds, to 200 km/h from rest in 8.5 seconds and onwards to a top speed in excess of 340 km/h. Mind-boggling numbers, indeed.

But it’s not all just about the power – the company says this engine is the first in a new generation of Ferrari V12s that have reduced fuel consumption and CO2 emissions – 15 litres per 100 km and 350 grams per km are the quoted figures on the combined ECE and EUDC cycle (with lightweight options and HELE system).

Ferrari F12berlinetta

Electronic equipment includes ESC, high-performance ABS and EBD, F1 traction control (F1-Trac), E-Diff 3 and magnetorheological damping with twin solenoids (SCM-E). Two body colours are offered – Rosso Berlinetta and Aluminium. A seven-year scheduled maintenance at standard service intervals (20,000 km, or once a year with unlimited mileage) is included in the purchase.

Click here to digest more in-depth technical information on the Ferrari F12berlinetta, and here for pictures and videos from the international media drive in Italy last year (we weren’t there, unfortunately).

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Penang playboy on Mar 21, 2013 at 5:10 pm

Going to book one today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 42
    • okay, we all believe you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
      • GT-Rider on Mar 21, 2013 at 7:53 pm

ya ya come eat my smoke
        > 3 secs is nothing for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 51
        • Don’t worry, you’ll hit puberty someday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
        • oh really on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:39 pm

This car is RWD, yet can accelerate to 100 in around 3 secs. If the GT-R that your dad bought to you is ‘de-tuned’ to RWD, let’s see how long does it take to sprint to century.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
          • frenzyaustin on Mar 22, 2013 at 11:53 am

But GT-R cost much much less and smaller engine displacement….

• Airlock on Mar 24, 2013 at 2:07 am

2013 already but still a ‘car’. they should produce a flying car right now…. not this 3 secs.

• Sam Loo on Mar 22, 2013 at 1:45 pm

A stupid company is a one that gives prices without taxes. That day went to Naza, guy quotes me 2nd hand 360 without taxes and when I ask with tax, he told me to give him few days to calculate. Huh? This is really stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • la ferrari on Mar 22, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Someone who can book a ferrari wont come and tell he is booking one..he or she very well knows hw to place themself under the spotlight…the car and cash talks nt words bro…chill!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • la ferrari on Mar 21, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Superb car beautiful design great engine…toys for the rich and famous…base price looks good if it was with insurance…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • I am impressed and happy for anyone who bought or plan to buy this. It is really an awesome machine. If only I had started saving since childhood.
    Just want to know RON97 can be use on this engine? And 6 km/litre only?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Mar 21, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Well, let see, if we start our saving at our first day of life, RM5K per month (guessing only, average people in M’sia), so it is RM60k per year, we need 25 years to reach that amount, which is just about right from your statement.
      If you have RM500k free from banks per year, then you can buy this car every 7 years without touching your other incomes, without sacrificing your luxury lifestyle, because I don’t know the meaning of ‘excluding taxes’.
      Ferraris are great cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Expatriate VN on Mar 22, 2013 at 8:33 am

So, including tax, 25 years + 25 x 2.8 = 95 year saving at present value need 3 generations to materialize. Save for not even your son but your cucu-cicit to enjoy this car!

Good luck to you …. unless you are rich man son or the son of cronies or AP King, then other than that forget about this rich man big toy …….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Cosmo Artemis on Mar 22, 2013 at 10:58 am

Saving RM5k per month is average Malaysian? Lu biaq betoi apek.

• Expatriate VN on Mar 22, 2013 at 8:29 am

Including tax = 1.29 M + 1.29 M x 280% = RM 4.9 Million Sahaja.

This price excluding insurance, road tax plus AP King dealer profit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • sure it can…

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Mar 21, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Ferrari 458 starting price 2Mil but F12 way below 2Mil, all these while I was thinking F12 suppose to be more luxurious than 458? How come

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
    • Gegary on Mar 21, 2013 at 5:44 pm

“EXCLUDING TAXES” lah, dey

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • Veneno on Mar 21, 2013 at 5:52 pm

that’s the base price without taxes bro.. when the bloody taxes added, the price will be insanely high..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Medic on Mar 21, 2013 at 5:57 pm

This is before tax,try multiple the figure by 2…that will be the estimate.(without insurance).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Anti-Fuel-Price on Mar 21, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Damn!!! I miss that most important part “excluding tax”. Why show the price before tax :( but before tax also kenot afford, therefore “tonight paste wallpaper on my iPad” hapi oledi”. Thanks all bro for highlighting to me, I was semi-happy & semi-shock upon reading 1.29Mil to own a brand new Ferrari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • RM1.2 million? thats cheaper than the 458! how can…….before taxes,sigh
    Along a rare few of people, I will see this as a stunning piece of design and mechanical brilliance, even as ‘The Ferrari’ is launch, this is to me, my favorite in the current stable of prancing horses. To most Malaysian, this will be viewed as nothing but a toy for the rich or corrupted rich, ridiculous, loud, and obnoxious a pointless car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • MackyMac on Mar 21, 2013 at 5:47 pm

1.2M USD?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 21, 2013 at 6:30 pm

How come front grill look so much like Mazda 3 smiley face ? Wow Italy copying japanese, now this is news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • out of topic: wondering if anyone frm malaysia is in among the 499 lucky souls that will receive delivery for Laferrari. if i am not mistaken there’s enzo owners in malaysia.

• apsal nampak mcm x siap? gosok mata**

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • huh.. i just bought it 3 unit, different type..now show them at my car dashboard..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Meane on Mar 21, 2013 at 7:56 pm

now, this is a right car to buy and will get one or two of those models…

• tokmoh on Mar 21, 2013 at 8:03 pm

what for tell price before tax? it’s like airasia advertising free ticket, but still gotta pay airport tax (if it goes to govt instead of tf songlap).

first asian country to get rhd, so we bangga la we better than sgpore, japan? that means janji dicapati, syukur

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • potential buyers are possibly from certain group who are living on ‘tax free’ basis

• ya, janji ditepati untuk orang kaya….sahaja…
      what to bersyukur?
      dont say something becoz u wanna say something…

• How much if with Tax?

• So what is the estimate price on the road??

• KillBox1Alpha on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:05 pm

What a body…look at those curves….before any you say anything…I was referring to the Ferrari!

• Painter on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Wait for Grey Import 1 year from now. They’ll be significantly cheaper.

• Expatriate VN on Mar 22, 2013 at 10:07 am

Waite for after 3 year, re-cond from UK at RM 600K on the road!

• Rpcfly on Oct 15, 2013 at 2:14 pm

You’re DREAMING if you think this will be 600k in 3 years. On the road price now is approx 3.5 Mil RIngits……

Cheapest one I can find in the UK is £263k……equates to 1.33 Mil Ringits…that’s bringing one in under the MM2H program…..

Anyone want to buy one from me for 3 Mil ???????? Full legal driving rights and legal transfer of ownership in 5 years !!!! Of course ALL money to be paid up front…….

• mercdes benz lover on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:02 pm

this car must be much more beautiful in the flesh..

• mussosoup on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:41 pm

I would definitely ride those… Oh, and the car as well.

• Naza should have brought in a RED colour for the launch.

Silver? Too bad…

• Nice car but ugly interior design..

• 458 looks better than this!

• Nampak tak permainan dia..lepas GE 13 turun la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Rocket on Mar 22, 2013 at 2:33 am

Vote PR and you can buy it at this price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Abuya on Mar 22, 2013 at 7:46 am

Nak beli tapi tgk lowered sgt. Nak balik felda kang asik kena sagat je.

• Robot Boy on Mar 22, 2013 at 7:56 am

Technically all Front Engined Ferrari cars are based on Maserati platforms. I am sure this car platform is the same as grand Turismo Maserati.

• well, inclusive of tax. should be around RM2.9mil.
    it’s kinda stupid to not include tax together. whats the point of showing pre-tax price?

• mmmmm.. black is always nice..
    Thanks Paul.

• no to BN on Mar 22, 2013 at 8:25 am

if include taxes it should be more than RM2.5mil or mayb RM3mil. Better migrate to Brunei/ Thailand/ Philippines where cars are way cheaper..and u can still live like a rich guy there.

• i can agree if u said brunei …..
      but thai n philip? their price there plus-minus rm15-20k compare to boleh

• takde tax pun cannot afford!

• wahhh very beautiful and sexy! (i mean that girl lorr)

• The Polis Evo X can smoke this Ferrari like drink water.

• floze on Mar 22, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Where is the audio system?

• vee-oh on Mar 22, 2013 at 12:18 pm

quite affordable, cheaper than SLS AMG..i want to buy 2 units

• Ferrari...lah on Mar 22, 2013 at 12:27 pm

3 Million Ringgit is pocket money for some of our CM and families ! Want money sell native lands for huge profits ! So jealous !

• Ferrari F12 is so beautiful..

• AGTbuy on Mar 22, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Wow, 15 litre of fuel per 100km, that is normal driving I believe. Don’t stand behind this car when the driver does launch control, else you will be splashed with lots of petrol all over your body !! Ha ha

Kudos to the cronies & rich ppl….

• Jimmy on Mar 22, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Is the fuel consumption expensive? The answer is no.
      But anyway, a car that we are willing to pay for 7 years is a once-in-a-lifetime car(even if it is fully sponsored by banks). For day-to-day use, it is ideal for us to buy cars that worth at most a few months of our income.
      Remember ya employees, car loan is best kept to maximum 3 years.

• dont blame cronies on Mar 22, 2013 at 3:40 pm

asyik asyik blame cronies and rich people. if you cant afford just shut up.

if you want this car, then work hard, earn hard.

really tired of this people. haih

• nones on Mar 22, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Because cronies chronicle make sense. Yes, we work hard for that but cronies don’t..

• Abuya on Mar 23, 2013 at 7:34 pm

Kalau takde kroni pun still ko tak mampu. Please accept the fact.

• fark this car is so beautiful. A true GT. Long bonnet design.

• shaun jacob on Mar 23, 2013 at 1:16 am

oh shoots! they forgot to install the gear and handbreaks on the car!!!

• RM 3.3 Million on the road. That’s 500k more than FF.

• face the fact on Mar 25, 2013 at 12:59 am

This very common nowadays, when they can’t afford then they will blame ‘cronies’. How to be successful when keep wasting time jealous of other people success??? These are those ppl that always says “This guy can afford to buy because he is the crony of who who who or because the family is Rich”. N they start to give negative remarks about those ppls without looking at themselves. Wake up n realize your own mistake if you really want to be successful. Keep complaining can get you no where but keeping yourself forever like what you are now….