New Porsche 911 GT3 RS to arrive early next year, but drops manual gearbox in favour of track-friendly PDK

Porsche911GT3_White_04

British magazine Car has reported that the next-generation track-prepped Porsche 911 GT3 RS will be back next year, but not quite as we know it. Following the change introduced on the standard GT3 (pictured here), the 991-based RS will only be offered with a PDK gearbox, forgoing the traditional three-pedal box it has built its legacy on.

Andreas Preuninger, Porsche’s head of GT series production backs the controversial move, saying that the PDK offers even more driver involvement than the manual option. The electric power steering, also new, is claimed to be just as good as the one on the 911 GT3 RS 4.0, if not better. We’ll believe it when we drive it, mate.

As much as Porsche wants to deny it, the latest GT3 appears to have toned down its hardcore focus, perhaps to suit owners who are now more likely to drive it day in and day out in between a few jaunts on the track. If proved to be true, that leaves room for the RS to be moved in the opposite direction, primed for those who wish for the ultimate track tool without a care for its road-going compromises.

The GT3 RS is not the only new Porsche on the horizon. The regular GT3 is still only a month old, and the 911 Turbo is expected to debut in the next couple of months, before the big one, the 918 Spyder hypercar is unveiled at the Frankfurt Motor Show in September. The GT3 RS will follow after the start of 2014.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• track-friendly PDK is more like n00bs friendly. Well I’m not complaining since i am noob anyway.

• Sam Loo on Mar 23, 2013 at 1:53 pm

My Hilux can tapau this car anytime. In flood time, my Hilux can just go in the water at full speed whilst this Porsche dude sits in his car crying

• Jimmy on Mar 22, 2013 at 5:04 pm

The tail suits the young sporty modern guys.

• PauCharSiew on Mar 22, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Sort of perfect for the chinese and arabs. Who prefer a showy car that indicated that they can drive when really… they cant’t. A sad day for all motoring enthusiasts hoping to buy a used 991 gt3rs.

• I don’t think so. The GT3RS is too hard, too loud and too unconfortable to be used as a showcar. It’s a road legal racing car: No aircon, no audio, no backseats, but factory mounted roll cage. You have to be a real petrol head to use this car on public roads.

• lonelyobserve on Mar 22, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Former British racer driver and Fifth Gear presenter Tiff Needell will be very disappointed on this, as he likes old fashioned manual gearbox.

• every car journalist/petrolhead prefers manual, they just do, jeremy clarkson is the only one who says that for everyday driving flappy paddles would be better, which is true

• confused on Mar 24, 2013 at 11:14 am

I thought he hated it

• Heel-and-Toe on Mar 24, 2013 at 7:30 pm

JC hated the flappy paddles in slow-moving tracffic and just like during adjusting your parking position, there is some jerky feels at the early of first gear.