2013 Toyota Vios – first official photos unveiled!

Toyota-Vios-2013-1

toyota-vios-2013-bangkok-25UPDATE: We now have full details on the 2013 Toyota Vios. Click the link to read our detailed story from the 2013 Bangkok Motor Show where the Vios was launched.

These are the first official pictures of the new 2013 Toyota Vios B-segment sedan, set to make it’s global debut at the 2013 Bangkok Motor Show this week.

They basically confirm the spyshots that we’ve seen previously – the new Toyota Vios now takes on a sharper and sportier look, a huge departure from the previous rounded looks that we’ve all learned to associate with a certain animal. These images feature foglamps, while the car in the spyshots didn’t.

Toyota-Vios-2013-2

This new sharper design language first appeared its debut on cars such as the current generation Toyota Prius, and the US market Toyota Camry and Toyota Avalon featured this design language as well. After this new Vios, the next car to get it will probably be the new Toyota Corolla.

We don’t have a rear view of the new Vios in this set of official photos, but if you’d like to check it out you can refer to our previous spyshots of the Toyota Vios snapped in an undisclosed location.

Toyota-Vios-2013-Interior

The interior has an all-new design as well, and returns to putting the instrument cluster behind the steering wheel. The instrument cluster features a sporty three-binnacle design with red/amber backlighting, while the centre stack uses blue backlighting, with the air cond vents separating the audio controls at the top and the air cond controls at the bottom. It’s very different from the interior of it’s hatchback-bodied B-segment stablemate, the Toyota Yaris.

We’ll bring you more details on the 2013 Toyota Vios from the Bangkok Motor Show 2013 this week, but in the meanwhile, do share with us what you think of the new Vios – is the new styling to your liking?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Henry Leong on Mar 25, 2013 at 2:07 am

Honestly it looks way better than the Camry :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 196 Thumb down 23
    • The exterior is sharp and sporty. I hope Toyota will offer manual gearbox as well as better and more efficient auto rather than the old 4-speed auto.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
      • BMW Fanboi on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:01 am

Preve is still a better car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 205 Thumb down 121
        • Sam Loo on Mar 25, 2013 at 1:36 pm

Everybody knows I am pro Toyota and always pro Toyota RV. But I hope Toyota and UMW stop compromising clients with low safety features and low warranty periods.

Firstly, Toyota has removed essential safety features just to safe cost. These are life threatening safety features that jeopardize lives. In the Camry, a premium car, UMW took out Vehicle Stability Assist just to save a few bucks. In return, so many accidents could have been prevented as well as deaths. I hope the VIos is not the same fate because even Kimchis can now put VSA in their cars. If anyone don’t know the importance of VSA (ESP), see here

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

2nd issue is warranty. Even Koreans are now giving 5 years warranty and Toyota is only giving 3 years. What nonsense is this? When in Europe or US, they give even 8 years but just because we are Asians, UMW think we are stupid and give us a mere 3 years. This has no stop. Now, most car manufacturers, Ford, Honda, Hyundai etc ALL give 5 years except two scum companies, Toyota and BMW. BMW even worse, is a poor 2 years.

My customers come first. No matter how much my loyalty to Toyota, I want the best for my customers. And Toyota and not doing this. They have become greedy and compromising on the safety of its buyers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 19
          • azure on Mar 25, 2013 at 3:27 pm

i totally agree

• Your English is horrendous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 41
          • sudonano on Mar 25, 2013 at 5:22 pm

BS+RI is for 3 years.

• Paul Tan on Mar 25, 2013 at 5:30 pm

BS+RI is not warranty.

• ben yap on Mar 25, 2013 at 5:33 pm

I don’t know which joker is the one that starts all these stupid short forms for resale value, fuel consumption and etc….

RV = resale value.
            FC = Fuel consumption..
            SC = Service center
            P1 = Proton
            P2 = Perodua
            T = Toyota… Why not Tata?
            H = Honda…. Why not Hyundai?

Why these lazy people type in full? so stupid and idiotic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 10
          • j jack on Jun 04, 2013 at 12:02 pm

Korean car maker warranties are a bunch of crap. They charge more for regular schedule maintenance. They won’t honor the warranty if you missed the schedule. The parts are way more expensive than Toyota. If you count the money you wasted on a Korean car you will realized you can pay for any repairs and still have change than having to rely on their warranty. Read the fine line and you will see the truth abouth them.

• 4 speed on Mar 25, 2013 at 12:51 pm

More efficient ? Have you ever lived with a vios before? Consumption & running costs are one off the best , that it’s why they never bothered changing the engine or gear box. You seem like the guy who just judges cars by reading the specifications.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 19
        • idiot, 4 speed gearbox is d worst in fuel consumption la. if so good Altis wont use CVT la. UMW dun use it coz its very expensive.
          Old vios is good fuel consumption coz d car is lighter and most of it using 14inch rim with 175 profile. try change ur tyre to 195/55/15 like other car then u wont say low fuel consumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
          • ben yap on Mar 25, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Who tell you change the tyres only the fuel consumption will be so bad? most vios now especially the G version onwards use 15 inch and 185 tyres la. Vios is economical because of its engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • “the previous rounded looks that we’ve all learned to associate with a certain animal” << HAHAHAHAHAHA

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
    • well , it doesnt make much sense to compare a vios with a camry, as people who want to buy camry, will not change their becoz the vios looks better…but you can say the new “design language ” is better than that of the camry, and altis and the dugong vios.
      in fact, im a bit regret i bought the camry a few month ago after seeing this new vios: i should hv be patient enough to wait for the upcoming facelift camry which would hv this new design language on it(and probably better spec too).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
      • I am confused with your statement. If one doesn’t compare Camry and Vios and that design language shouldn’t be the deciding factor of buying car right in this case? Which means you can still happly keep your Camry and now consider adding another Vios which is of different class, just to admire the design language. So your dilemma is?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • Zend3r on Mar 25, 2013 at 4:05 pm

u should already regret when u saw mazda6

seriously? CAMRY? WTF u were high on when u book it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • paulz on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:40 am

Agreed, looks sleek and elegant design. Hope the new interior features gives us more convenience utility.

• dugong on Mar 25, 2013 at 2:53 pm

this is a rip of from the forte koup. Just look at the front, 90% similar. Even the instrument meter is exactly the same design and color like forte koup. toyota is now becoming like a china car brand with no identity and only copy here and there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Gabriel on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:16 am

Finally the instrument cluster is back on the driver’s side. Don’t know who’s the genius who thought it’s a great idea to put in the middle of the dashboard. It’s harder to see and distracting.

The exterior and interiors looks miles better than the current “dugong” but doesn’t the general body outline kinda look like Proton Saga?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • junjun on Mar 25, 2013 at 12:25 pm

mean ploton saga better than toyoda camry becoz this car look like ploton saga…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo on Mar 25, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Buy Buy Buy ! pls ask all your parents n friends to get one ! tip top quality and safety standard !
      very value for money !
      sure can get at lease 12 months bonus for toyota sales man ! yeahh
      Huat ahhhhh !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • In my opinion the latest incarnation of Vios smaller than current Vios Dugong. Better looking and practical though the design rather awkward as if the car is photoshop work.

From rear view, there’s evidence that the car supplied by Mazda2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 16
    • deleajabo on Mar 26, 2013 at 10:09 am

How you know? Do not act clever when only use your brain to think and imagine……. salute you….

• Toyota did it gain….. nice :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 60
  • “is the new styling to your liking?” – No, the small wheels and wheel archers doesn’t support the aggressiveness of the new face and the boring side-profile is not helping it either than say…the Elantra, Rio or City. But as an improvement in styling? Bravo. An improvement, and quite a big one when you compare to the previous generation. Interior looks good, and THANK YOU for putting the meter in front of the driver where it’s supposed to be. Though being Toyota, it’s now all about the specs, and with pessimist bringing in a certain XV50 2.5V into the argument, I remain hopeful for better spec, though with the Dugong-Vios so empty, I wonder how much better?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
    • Dugong -> Arowana Fish. Hope the next evolve will be even better. :D

• no car walk only on Mar 25, 2013 at 2:22 am

car looks too bulky and awkward in a way imo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 43
  • donadoni on Mar 25, 2013 at 2:23 am

i can see waiting lists are booked up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • NISSAN on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:03 am

when it first launched in 2003? the waiting period was > 6 months & worse still no color selection.

• The front looks like it is based on the new Toyota Auris. It has a hint of the new Toyota Avalon on it too. Good design approach, Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • Alex Toh on Mar 25, 2013 at 2:34 am

I will change my 1st G Vios to this model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 9
  • lappa on Mar 25, 2013 at 2:44 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 124
    • Well you cant satisfy the needs of people. When the previos vios was out, people named it dugong and asked toyota for a change. When the new gen is out, people would say the dugong is nicer and the new one is awkward. It will never be enough after all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 2
      • wacar on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:29 am

That mean, this one even worst than dogong. Atleast it follow what people want.

• lappa on Mar 25, 2013 at 6:49 pm

well to be honest I never ssid the dugong was ugly…in fact it looks very cute in MY eyes….well I guess you’re right….it can’t satisfy everyone

• human is like that, when the thing still existence, they wouldn’t appreciate it and keep complaining. After it’s gone, then will start missing it.

• Go home, you’re drunk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Expatriate VN on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:09 am

This chap eye sight must do a checking!!!!!!!

• yamaha sikoru on Mar 25, 2013 at 3:11 am

yoshi..take my money now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • powell on Mar 25, 2013 at 3:35 am

why the front looks like saga flx??? did u notice that? anyway the dashboard lokk good ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 38
  • Carlo on Mar 25, 2013 at 3:39 am

That lump at the back viewed from the angle on the first picture reminds me of a Nissan Almera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • sometimes malaysian only knows how to complaint, when old ones is not good, then ask for a new one, then when the new ones come out, saying the older is lot more better. become a industrial/automotive designer and see if u think u could lot more better. imagine all the paper work and mock ups need to be done. it is not an easy work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
    • hohoboy on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:28 am

their should know what is their customers requirements bfore design the car =.=, not juz go to zoo n start design…

• Sam Loo (Official) on Mar 25, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Apparently Malaysians aren’t the only customers they need to cater.

• koochai on Mar 25, 2013 at 5:54 am

good luck with ur archaic 4-speeder toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • hyunkia on Mar 25, 2013 at 6:21 am

still oppa “hyunkia” style better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 24
  • Isopropyl on Mar 25, 2013 at 6:30 am

Eeeee so damn ugly. Now Vios tries to copy City which like more Ah Beng standard. No improvement in performance and safety

1) 2 airbags only
    2) 4 ancient speed
    3) Ugliness beyond the limit

Bye Vios say hello to Fiesta B)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 49
  • confused on Mar 25, 2013 at 6:54 am

Love the new Toyota’s front fascia design scheme..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • michaelooi on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:09 am

The dugong looks better. This one tried a tad too hard to be ‘sporty’. Still looks good though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
  • Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:21 am

NazaKia is wetting their pants with the unsold Forte in the warehouse.
    Forget about bringing Rio Sedan as well, it would be just another dust collector, when this new Vios rule the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 68
    • oblong on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:29 am

Wetting their pants? That’s good news to us…Nazakia gonna give more freebies, discount, free maintenance, low interest HP etc. to clear all the stock….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • like how umw is wetting their pants with all the unsold XV50’s in their warehouse? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
    • dugong on Mar 25, 2013 at 3:06 pm

Better buy the ori forte coup than this celup junk. Kia can pay big bucks to hire a good designer while toyota is a miser only hire copycats. C’mon toyota can do better than that.

• joecharles on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:22 am

It is so Preevishhhh copy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 31
  • TapaC on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:28 am

the gear console indicate that this samurai VIOS still using 4-speed conventional auto-transmission

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Never heard of Toyota 4 speed more powerful than anything in the world? Even more powerful than their newly developed 6 speed. You can even fly with proper modification.

• motorhead on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:06 am

You have problems with the gear? Well, I don’t.. & I wish toyota maintain the gear, because it works.. Work tremendously. Easily can take you 180kmp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
  • Well, Look like my years of being car slave (loan,depreciation etc) gonna continue….

• PGP5585 on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:38 am

1st gen vios has more quality in its build.. Most of my frds n relatives complaint abt dugong n i still love my 1st gen.. No plan to change it.

• supra on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:45 am

i hope it comes with the 2.5 liter 1jz-gte engine. Then i can go smoke all the 3 series and audi a4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
  • pomen on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:48 am

Some angle looks good but rear design look cheap like china car…ancient 4speed AT will be the biggest upset…overall still will sell like hot karipap..aiyoo…

• ryuki on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:01 am

Off topic. Drb Hicom suppose to unveil Proton turnaround plan by March. Where is it? Not that I’m excited about it, I’m just want to see promises are delivered. March about to end

• Front looks like the Saga FLX which kind of cheapens the car. Love the interior and the rear lamps (from spy shots). However, do not like the instrument panel being behind the steering wheel again… I’m always struggling looking behind steering wheels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Fagly on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:13 am

At least 4,000 units sold every month soon…Syabas UMW Toyota! Bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Wa Jib on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:00 am

Well confirm Bonus Kaw Kaw for UMW workers this year… Syabas..

• Grant on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:14 am

Nice.

• robin LIm on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:28 am

looks like city wannabe
    city still much beautiful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Heskey on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:29 am

Where are the cupholders?

• robin LIm on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:31 am

to zeo,

when a new model came out ppl expect to be better,or as expectation,especially when we have to fork out more than equivalent of 2 years salary to buy one

when its not as expectation,its natural people can complaint,and not buying it as a result

• Brian Gan on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:32 am

Definitely sportier and better looked than the current Vios but somehow missing the unique look of a model. I don’t like 1 Family front styling which Toyota is heading, similar to that of VW, Kia, Audi, Hyundai. Missed the unique waterfall centre instrument cluster and retractable cup holders of Vios dashboard!

• 1 family front styling or what you called it is actually okay. But only works well if the first one is not ugly, which.. T doesn’t have a good first.

• These pics are photoshopped for catalogue.
    Lets wait for the actual car to arrive to see if it’s proportion is good.
    I have never like the dugong until the facelifted model arrived… The new grill, skirts and lights make it look good.

• brian on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:42 am

hope its price can compete with almera and its spec is not less than almera else nissan almera forever no. 1!

• love it or hate it, it’s going to sell, the haters cant deny this….

• Hopefully our Malaysian government will works towards reducing the car duties and make this car affortable for the general mass to own… still paying my dugong vios if not sure will line up to book this car…

• Dodgy on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:50 am

Vios started off as the first entry level Toyota which really makes sense. After yearsss, after faceliftsss, the people just got bored with it. And finally, there is a new model. Unfortunately, i’m not sure how the Japanese designers work today, it’s just not up to standard despite spending a “decade” working on it ! How can you have a car without a LCD screen these days ? This is really disappointing…

• exxelyx on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:50 am

I wont buy unless if they equip it with basic safety spec other than abs like esp, traction control and minimum 4 airbag….

• Kirari on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:55 am

OMG! Toyota copycat Proton Saga!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
  • motorhead on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:02 am

Vios is a remarkable car. Own it for almost 7 years for my wife & still I am impress with this car. With this new look I don’t mind to have 2 vios.. This time for myself. Toyota = reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • vee-oh on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:11 am

nice, but i’ll wait for Mirage sedan and then only can make comparison

• i can’t see gps/touchscreen infotainment system

• gavin on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:24 am

Preve much?

• yahooo on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:28 am

TBH, preve looks better, with good displacement n torque n price oso

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
  • this have all the makings of the first B-segment car to breach rm100k considering toyota’s (or more specificly umw’s) approach of increasing prices with every facelift & redesign.

u can safely bet the trd version for the new vios gonna be over 100k and basic j around 80k. but it will still sell by the thousands bcos of the T logo. i would be happy if umw prove me wrong, though.

• If that’s the case, where this vios gonna breach the 100K price bracket, then Polo Sedan will be selling like hot cakes.

• Can u all pls check Kia Forte Koup. The front bumper and lamp of this new vios are having 70% similarity. Thou design improve a lot, but pls giv us dual vvti engine and no more 4 speed gearbox.

• b sensible on Mar 25, 2013 at 2:19 pm

yeah….4-speed look dated….what say 5-speed, or even 6-speed….include turbo & 4wd for TRD version, not just the body work!

• interesting on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:40 am

Strange but true, Ugly cars sells. Maybe the Toyota Badge and RV. Generally a overprice car (under specs)

• kadajawi on Mar 25, 2013 at 12:27 pm

I don’t see so many Fiat Multipla around, the only country it did well in was Italy…

• MalayanTapir on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:43 am

The proportions are all wrong!

Seriously, the 1st-gen Vios got a lot right – It wasn’t ultra flashy and didn’t have weird bulges or creases. But it was understated, very tidy and pleasant to look at. Oddly enough, it’s the Mazda 2 that’s captured the vibe of the orginal Vios much better than Toyota has managed by themselves.

• ToyoyatoVos on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:43 am

VW Golf and Polo will wet their pants when they see this new VIOS rolling behind them at 200KM/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
    • No to Japanese Car on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:10 am

What Will wet their pants ? Im sure, you dont know anything about car.
      Just Shut your mouth !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Wa Jib on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:05 am

The VW Golf & Polo will smoked aH bENG Vios for breakfast & lunch sumtimes for dinner beb.. while ur vios at 200kmh floating like sampan..

• kadajawi on Mar 25, 2013 at 1:10 pm

Nah, they will laugh as the Vios driver loses control at 200 and crashes and dies.

• Polo Saga on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:47 am

looks sportier than outgoing model.

• Nice looking, Front design like estima.

• Abg Long on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:20 am

imho, dugong exterior design is better than this. i’m gonna buy an mpv this year (exora bold cfe best choice for now) n a new car next year.. it will not b a toyota for sure.

• citycus on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:22 am

Aaaaaai…….looking similar to my honda city…correct-city wannabe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Lewis Lee on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:24 am

So they finally decided to get rid of the center mounted instrument cluster, now the car look more proper at interior

• way better looks than previous one..the front part looks like kia forte & preve a bit

• Well, you cant deny that the front end looks pretty good, but seriously that side profile? Is it just me or is these new fleet of cars like the almera for example has a rather weird looking part i.e. the part just above the rear wheel to the tail lights. It looks quite shall we say,’special’. Don’t know if its the photos but the wheel clearance is quite redicolous. But, overall a good move for the volume seller by toyota. Shame i will still not buy it, too much competition nowadays. At least i won’t shout DUGONG! when i see these on the road. ^.^

• How I wish this new vios will pack itself with a dual-vvti engine and a s-cvt GB and a ESP onboard. Then, it will be the epitome of the B-seg.

• Peter on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:51 am

I bet the price will go up, leaving the 80k border further. Like Almera, may be you could get the basic spec car around 78k but there’d be hell lot of things missing. If 1.4 Kia Rio UB can sell at 73k, you could imagine the price tag for the new VIOS.

By the way, the image always looks lot nicer than real car. I still remembered how the advertised image released before current VIOS was launched last time impressed me like a masterpiece. In fact, it’s the ‘dugong’ design that make it looks futuristic on paper!

• Wa Jib on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:52 am

The Dugong has Transformed….

• thedarkside on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:17 am

vios is a cheap car to maintain, so so fuel consumption (after last 2 gen still using same engine), good RV, spacious and confortable. nothing more.

• Datuk Jack. on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:21 am

BOORRRIIIINNNNGGGGGG… preve way better than this..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • Expatriate VN on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:33 am

This new Vios should make it affordable, let the Taxi driver bought it (instead of force them to buy crappy Jaguh Kampung No. 2) and using it as taxi.

That is the way not to make this car a class above our Jaguh Kampung No. 2!!!!!!!

• xenogearz™ on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:36 am

Nice exterior and interior! But please ditch the 4-speed archaic auto and also replace the engine with a Dual VVT-i one. But that’s just my wishful thinking. You and I know that it won’t happen :D

• PreUse on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:39 am

Seems like the people of tom yam land know how to design good looking dashboard.

• Lamps on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:41 am

Honda City still looks better :)

• Thats a good look! Anywany, hope toyota improve and update the specifications. Fit with auto rain detection wiper, auto head lamp, 5 to 6 speed gearbox and improve shock absorbers durability.

• yes still dugong

• hope they bring in this red color…rather than the super boring greyscale colors that honda practices as well.

• khairul on Mar 25, 2013 at 12:05 pm

its headlamps looks like saga flx…

• nightmare for Nissan Almera…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Abg Long on Mar 25, 2013 at 12:30 pm

i think, proton preve is more value for money. cheaper, bigger n 5 star some more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • mentari-o-korea on Mar 25, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Not impressive, another joke!

• good god! that is one grouchy face….

• hang tuah on Mar 25, 2013 at 12:54 pm

Let’s guess the price will increase or decrease?

• altho got improvement on the exterior, overall still looks boring

• look nice.. at least they never retain the meter console at the center.. i really hate that weird design..

• beautiful car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • samdol on Mar 25, 2013 at 1:38 pm

SOO SAD..MYBE NEXT WEEK I RECEIVE MY ALMERA…
    MCM NAK TRADE IN JEK..pesallah lmbat sgt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
  • Looks good and sharp. Finally something in the right direction.

However.. main question is, would it look as good when it arrives in Malaysia. The local version would probably be without the smoked headlamp and will spot a terrible beige interior.

• The dashboard design on passenger side look like melted plastic..

• Nizam80 on Mar 25, 2013 at 1:52 pm

I admit that it looks much better than it’s predecessor. This time I hope it comes with more airbags (instead of just 2) and safety features for the Malaysian market.

• maybe this version will look better with TRD bodykit but the price will be somewhere around rm95k. I would love to see this vios comes up with 8 speakers

• notVios on Mar 25, 2013 at 2:02 pm

At last… Meter clusters belongs to driver… phewwww….. good job Toyota.

• zeta lin on Mar 25, 2013 at 2:08 pm

the front end,side profile and tail doesn’t look like been designed by the same people

horrible combination
    but malaysian like dugong design anyway
    i own a grand livina btw

• Well done, Toyota. About time you guys come up with an answer to your various competitors, though I doubt that it will matter much to the average, middle-class Asians.

Hey UMW T, lay off the cost cutting measures on this new model, k ?

Hey Toyota fan boys and girls, demand more from UMW T, k?

Disclosure. I own a Toyota, the Prius C.

• Honda City Owner on Mar 25, 2013 at 3:08 pm

Aiya! Current facelifted Honda City is way better looking than this new Toyota Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • toyota86 on Mar 25, 2013 at 3:37 pm

Dogong ka..FLX saga copycat ka…i dont care..its look better than other car..i love vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • from the gear we can see there’s no s gear which means no paddle shift

• Sam Loo on Mar 25, 2013 at 4:43 pm

hard to say, but its fact that this vios is similar as flx saga. after this toyota RV will be so bad.. so sad..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • omanjedi on Mar 25, 2013 at 4:57 pm

Hopefully UMW will not screw these new generations of Toyota car..

• steven loke on Mar 25, 2013 at 5:49 pm

i went to toyota thailand website and they got a separate site for the new vios.
    this new vios have made major improvement to interior & exterior. all model have better safety feature compare to old model but still 2 airbags.
    the top range got push start button. the engine still maintain the 1nz-fe engine with 4 speed auto trans & 5 speed manual. engine horsepower still the same with old model 109ps & 144 torque.
    the best improvement is the cabin with the meter cluster & centre console the best part.

• City facelift still looks better. However old vios really ugly. This one improve. Almeera quite cheap but too ugly.

• the front for the new Vios reminds me of Saga Flx while the rear is like Accord. Almera actually looks nice with Impul bodykit, provided it’s in grey/gold.

• Jetlee on Apr 06, 2013 at 8:01 am

Ugly there, ugly here..!! Yes sometime you all are right because we will pay the loan for 9 years. So, we need all our needs..

• silent-reader on Aug 02, 2013 at 5:10 pm

Finally the hideous dugong face turn out cute and muscular. After many years of extensive face surgery in thailand.