2013 Toyota Vios launched in Thailand – full details

toyota-vios-2013-bangkok-10

We now have the full details of the 2013 Toyota Vios, which made it’s global debut in Thailand today. The new Toyota Vios will be on exhibit at the 2013 Bangkok Motor Show this week which we are covering live, so we’ll be back with more live photos soon.

For the 2013 model year, the new Toyota Vios comes with a fresh new exterior and interior. The new Vios looks sharper than the model it replaces, and the big gaping upside down V shaped mouth gives it’s an aggressive look. This brings the Vios in line with Toyota’s new design language for it’s sedans – we’ve also seen this look on the US market Avalon and the US market Camry.

UPDATE: 2013 Toyota Vios now launched in Malaysia – click here for launch report

toyota-vios-2013-bangkok-27

On the front, you’ll notice that the Vios now gets projector headlamps instead of reflectors. Projector lenses are said to be better at focusing light, but most people also associate it with looking premium, which is probably the main reason Toyota gave the option for projectors on the Vios. It’s not standard on all models though – you only get the projector headlamps on the 1.5S and 1.5G models.

There’s also minimal air intake openings on the upper half of the face, presumably for aerodynamics. You can see most of the grille area between the headlamps have body coloured paint on it, with only small openings near the headlamps for air to pass thorugh. We are guessing most of the cooling will be done through the lower grille.

toyota-vios-2013-bangkok-20

On the rear, there’s a big chrome bar running between the two tail lamps. The tail lamps look like they’re lit up with a bulb instead of LED. Reflectors positioned at the very edges of the lower bumper area help the car look wider. There’s a very subtle spoiler integrated into the boot shape – you can see the shape of the boot rise up above the Toyota logo. We also don’t see any key hole for the boot.

The Toyota Vios goes on sale in Thailand with a few variants. The lower end E and J models get both 5-speed manual and 4-speed auto transmissions, while the higher end G and S models are only available with a 4-speed auto.

toyota-vios-2013-bangkok-18

The interior now reverts to a layout which positions the meter panel behind the steering wheel, abandoning the centre dash mounted meter panel design of the last two generations. There are two interior colours available – a black version and a beige version, which various different trim levels ranging from piano black trim to a metal lookalike trim as well as flat black trim.

On the surface, the 4-speed auto looks to be the same as the outgoing Vios down to the gear ratios. We’ll only be able to confirm if there are any changes if we get to speak to a Toyota engineer eventually when the car is launched in Malaysia.

toyota-vios-2013-bangkok-21

The engine is the same 1.5 litre 1NZ-FE as well, with a 10.5:1 compression ratio producing 109 PS at 6,000rpm and 141Nm of torque at 4,200rpm. As with the outgoing Vios, the new Toyota Vios uses an EPS power steering system to save on fuel consumption. As for the car’s platform, wheelbase is unchanged at 2,550mm, the same as the outgoing Vios. The suspension system are MacPherson struts at the front and a torsion beam with stabilizer at the rear.

The new Vios is 4,410mm long, 1,700mm wide (including wing mirrors) and 1,475mm tall. The S variant does get larger tyres now – 195/50R16 compared to the status quo 185/60R15 size of the rest of the new Vios range. It has a 45 litre fuel tank and 145mm ground clearance. It remains a pretty light car – topping the cales at 1,075kg for the 1.5S Auto model, with the lightest model being 1,020kg for the 1.5J Manual.

toyota-vios-2013-bangkok-03

In terms of safety features, the 2013 Toyota Vios comes standard with 2 airbags for the front driver and passenger. There is no option for 4 or 6 airbags. ABS is standard on all variants except the 1.5J Auto and 1.5J Manual models. There is no option for ESP Stability Control, an important feature that more and more of its competitors are beginning to have.

Check out our comprehensive photo gallery for multiple studio images of the new Toyota Vios, including tables explaining the differences in specs. Some of them are in Thai language though so we apologize for that. You can also check out our live photo gallery of the 2013 Toyota Vios from the show floor at Bangkok Motor Show 2013.

2013 Toyota Vios Thailand Market Prices:

• Toyota Vios 1.5S Auto – 734,000 Thai baht (RM77,625)
  • Toyota Vios 1.5G Auto – 699,000 Thai baht (RM74,028)
  • Toyota Vios 1.5E Auto – 649,000 Thai baht (RM68,733)
  • Toyota Vios 1.5E Manual – 614,000 Thai baht (RM64,933))
  • Toyota Vios 1.5J Auto – 589,000 Thai baht (RM62,289)
  • Toyota Vios 1.5J Manual – 559,000 Thai baht (RM59,117)

Malaysian Ringgit prices exchange rate converted on date published.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Green on Mar 25, 2013 at 6:45 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 225
    • overprice even in thai..suppose below 500k baht…even preve there has more spec ….thai toyota not really care bout thai people

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 218 Thumb down 35
      • Kimi_ on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:13 pm

I will wait for the new Kia K3(forte)…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 178 Thumb down 30
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 134
          • Green on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Kia Optima K5 = RM150k. imported.

how can Kia K3 = RM150k..

good joke

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 179 Thumb down 10
          • taboogen on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:16 am

this shows how malaysian only talk without fact

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 11
          • TurboVios on Mar 26, 2013 at 9:38 pm

taboogen, same for you. Simply talk cock!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 42
          • trot trot on Apr 01, 2013 at 8:41 pm

boooo….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • Sam Loo on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 184
          • Wa Jib on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:19 pm

No problem Bro.. i have plenty of auntie & uncles and ah Beng wannabe for your sales..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 6
          • zanggief on Mar 26, 2013 at 10:51 am

very good resale value…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 25
          • Shame_Loo on Apr 03, 2013 at 4:39 pm

Yeah, another Ah Beng Ah Hua design with old technology, lousy features, no RND on engine & always claim by themselves as most reliable/durable engine but selling at overprice, worst scenario is sold by Ah Beng salesman ….shameful looooh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
        • patrick on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:15 pm

i am waiting for Kia K3 as well!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 16
        • frenzyaustin on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:05 pm

Or a bit longer for new Mazda 2?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
        • chaos on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:21 pm

What the hell?

Take away the new design cues. Its the same car my auntie sold 10 years ago (first gen).

Very exciting year for rm70k -rm 100k price range:-
          Almeira
          Swift
          Aveo
          Rio
          New Forte?
          Honda Brio?
          When is the New City Coming?
          But New Vios with so auntie spec will still sell more because of the brand stability

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 11
          • Generally am quite disappointed at the specs, quite expected from Toyota SEA. If they are trying to replicate the “good-looks” stretegy that Kia used a few yrs ago, the forgotten Kia has a rather wide-spread features to go along with good looks. If they are trying up replicate Almera success stretegy by being simple, they’ve forgotten that an Almera is still cheaper and has its main USP of being a rather large car for your money and still have option for better features(push-start/navigation).

So what major USP does this vios have other than the badge. Agreed as an improvement over the last car it is, u get auto air-cond and an inconveniently place USB plug. And there are people having no complaint of the current power-plant so I guess is rather reliable the 1.5+4-speed config. But with the Rio+Fiesta besting it in features and looks, Almera stealing what was the Vios major USP un size and convenience , it will be tough on Toyota salesman. Honda will most likely launch the new city next year, and at least the current city has VSC, more modern powetrain, better looking and cheaper than the Sportivo vios.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 6
      • Hiroshi on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:25 pm

my 04 Vios Using 1.5 litre 1NZ-FE since a decade
        even in 2013 toyota still using same engine & Gearbox, sorry i cancel my booking

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 184 Thumb down 9
        • gracke on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:57 am

This is why….Toyota is Toyota! :-(

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
        • But our Malaysia genius car buyer will still buy because its TOYOTA, they don’t car whats the spec and engine and what they wanted is the brand. 1 week later they will replaced LEXUS badges which is sigh, saw a few Lexus wannabe Vios around town so embarrass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 9
          • dugong on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:55 pm

Even worse, saw a couple of Lexus wannabe Myvis around town making a clown of themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
        • Peter on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:11 am

Sad to tell you, I think ppl still go buying this car soon. I started to hate ‘uneducated’ buyers. They’re spoiling the market, indulging UMW. Lot of uncle & auntie buy toyota for ‘Face’ , ego (at their level) … reliability though valid is their 2nd consideration.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
        • Das Motor on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Yes yes, as with all Toyota models, they’ll keep their ‘trusted’ engines for years and years, or maybe decades and decades. This engine has been there since 2002, if I’m not wrong, 11 years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
          • Totoya is copying Proton’s model.
            Which is why the the 1st gen Saga existed for more than 20 years.
            I have a feeling we will still be seeing a similar Vios 10 years later.

hahahaha!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
        • Sam Loo on May 01, 2013 at 9:20 pm

But your Vios still have good RV after 10 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • 2013 Toyota Vios 1.5S Auto (highest spec) is 734,000 Thai baht.
        ~ Downs ~
        – B-Segment car (smaller than Prevé)
        – ABS and EBD, but no ESC/ESP
        – 2 airbags only
        – No GPS/ touchscreen Head Unit
        – Outdated 4-speed auto

~ Ups ~
        – Toyota refinement and quality
        – Toyota brand image

Proton Prevé 1.6 Premium CFE is 759,000 Thai baht.
        ~ Ups ~
        – C-Segment car (bigger than Vios)
        – ESC and TCS, ABS with EBD
        – touchscreen LCD Head unit/ GPS
        – 6 airbags, ANCAP 5-stars
        – Modern CVT manumatic (paddleshift)

~ Downs ~
        – Proton ‘so-so’ quality and refinement
        – Proton brand image, which is none-existent compared to Toyota.

It is quite clear which car offers more value for money. As for which is the BETTER car, that’s something you’ll have to decide. :]

10 years ago, Thailand overtook Malaysia as the ‘Detroit of Asia’. They had a free-market policy, making it easy for car companies to do business there. Malaysia though, was too busy upholding Proton, at the expense of the prosperity of the rakyat. Today, many Thai people having doubts about their self-proclaimed ‘national car(s)’. Just read the reviews on Japanese cars in Thailand, and compare it with Korean and even Malaysian cars, you’ll see why. Worst of all, the majority of profits made from sales of Japanese cars in Thailand flow to Japan. In 10-20 years time, Thailand might go bankrupt again, just like in 1997. At least with Proton, the profits stay in our economy. (Perodua and Naza not so much though.)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 38
        • dude.

I have simple question for you.

Car tax existed for covering proton

………….OR………………..

Proton existed for reason covering “need” car tax which suck more citizen money?

Gov = Ah Long
          What is different?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 19
      • Toyota4ever on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:45 pm

Price going to start at RM100,000 once launched in Malaysia. People will still buy because it’s a Toyotaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 19
      • Heskey on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 266
      • mamamia on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:20 pm

don’t worry…guys, it’s TOYOTA!!…hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Boy PJ on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:31 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 149
      • Alson P on May 11, 2013 at 6:30 pm

Better than old vios… This is Thai price without duty…

• agogo on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:18 pm

Woohooo…

cheap components
      cheap build
      cheap finishings
      exorbitant pricing

2013 = Record bonus payout from UMW. 12months

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 197 Thumb down 7
      • leongh on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:17 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 144
      • elolo on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:39 pm

Where can i send my resume to UMW Toyota?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
      • Bongcs on Apr 03, 2013 at 8:41 am

12 months + 12 Annual Leaves + Free Car Maintenance fee for employees + childrens study loan + unlimited MC Leaves

• Sam Loo on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Please go ahead and buy new kimchis.

I will be a very happy man when you sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 84
      • Vader on Mar 26, 2013 at 7:56 am

Hey Hilux enthusiast, repeating the same joke again that Korean car price drop >70% within a year?
        Where can buy a 1 year old Sportage at RM40k, many of us willing to pay u extra RM10k if the deal is done, it is better than selling your Hilux!!! lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
      • I sold my forte end of last year that 2 and half years to buy a forte brothers (K5). Yes you are right I’m a happy man like you. Cheers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Expatriate VN on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:47 pm

Preve killer, City killer, Almera killer, and high RV! Good luck to Dugong replacement!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 83
    • Kalun on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Ugly. Outdated piece of junk.
      Is it going to compete with Almera?
      Probably Almera is better than this one due to it’s practicality and price.

Resale Value is like Resale a piece of used diapers to other users.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 7
    • Run! rear is FUGLY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 9
    • Same Shit on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:15 pm

1) SAME ENGINE

2) SAME GEARBOX

3) SAME WHEELBASE …..

So whats the point of the new car??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 5
      • gracke on Mar 26, 2013 at 1:00 am

Yes…the main point and the most different are the PRICE!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • OMG…dissapointed abt the car spec…no push start, no ESC, old engine, no GPS/LCD touch screen…Good side is nice design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • speedster on May 29, 2013 at 12:20 pm

….which is why it’ll take a fool to buy this car unless the person is hard up on having a toyota badge as opposed to a local one.

I’ll wait for K3 before deciding on my Wira’s replacement.btw,even the new Rio looks better value than this.

disappointing!

• Eww terrible pls get away from me!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Mat Global on Apr 01, 2013 at 11:59 am

This car so cheap overseas. Thailand and Malaysia just jack it up. In Indonesia, even Altis is same price as a Vios in Malaysia

• mark foster on Mar 25, 2013 at 6:46 pm

HODOH GILA BELAKANG! such a turn off.

oh wait, same old engine? really? sad.

and the saddest part is, lots of ppl will buy this car. pity them :(

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 248 Thumb down 19
    • John Player Special on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:22 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 173
      • mark foster on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:49 pm

deswai i pity them.. waste of money.. i have compassion.. of course i feel sadding if someone waste their precious money on car liddis wan.. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 11
        • Dru-Zod on Mar 27, 2013 at 9:15 am

Like you spent your money well on your so called 5 star crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Dru-Zod on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Not so sad like those who buy Protons

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 117
      • TurboVios on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:15 pm

It is more sad for proton owner. Buying a piece of crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 91
        • saddning on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:51 am

even the ‘crap’ is much cheaper than this toyolta crap. so sadding

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
        • ermark on Mar 26, 2013 at 10:16 am

i don’t think so. at 73k proton has given much better specs than this one, not to mention a step higher league due to different segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
          • Dru-Zod on Mar 27, 2013 at 9:13 am

yeah man, you can console yourself that you bought a higher segment car for the same price of Vios. Your Preve has all the extras that the Vios lacks for the same price. More Value for money konon. Wait for one year and who has the last laugh…Vios owners laughing at Proton owners for the stupid decision…hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 38
    • dididi on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:38 pm

this look amazing design, shame on people say it ugly front new language styling ,rear with altis design, but badly small wheel and aged engine and tech. but it a toyota sure it selling well, but not for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
  • A new dress. Not much improvement.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 4
    • crank on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Yep. Was expecting it to come with new engine and gearbox but nevertheless the current engine is still quite efficient (depending on how you drive).

It seems a lil pricey though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • MacRumours on Mar 25, 2013 at 6:51 pm

Come on Toyota, you can give much better specs and technology.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 3
    • seancorr on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:19 pm

Champion la Toyota, they think their cars so awesome and safe so VSC not required! At least it now comes with auto air conditioning and smart entry with push start….but I see no place to install the AVN system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • frenzyaustin on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Toyota, 86 get Car Of The Year of 2012, Vios Bullsh*t of the year 2013?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 4
  • Smart design? Elegant ? Stylish? I don’t think so . This is so ugly . So much !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 7
  • love your family on Mar 25, 2013 at 6:53 pm

if you love your family, please don’t buy toyotas for the moment. Wait until they put more safety features in their cars. Since they are the leader in our market, if we continue to support them, they will continue to treat us like this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 218 Thumb down 4
    • John Player Special on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:26 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 120
      • hengs on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:08 pm

because of MONEY!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
      • dugong on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:20 pm

YES! Absolutely. Lets make toyota pay for being so arrogant and shortchanging buyers. As they say,

When the buying stops the killing can too.
        If we work together we can make this happen.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:57 pm

Please buy new kimchi with all the VSC/EBD/ABS. No point having them installed as they will never work anyway.

Good thing is that when its sold, I get to show them the hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 87
      • David D on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Its okay Sam. After 5 years, if i were to look for a car, ill have the Jap or Conti or Korean with ALL the important safety features at a good price. On the other hand, Vioses will end up in scrap yards due to getting involved in accidents involving the lack of ESP and many important safety features.

Oh, and havent you read about Camrys failing the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety’s small overlap crash test? That is so bad, that i’d skip to a Honda or Kia immediately. At least they protect you very well in such crashes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
      • Vader on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:04 am

TQ, your repeating joke make us feel antipathy against the Hiluz as well!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • i agree, umw toyota is really a bullshit in safety and other specs. but everybody needs to be reminded that : if u really ur family, FIRST, dont drive as if the road belongs to u, dont drive like a champion, regardless of how much safety equipment ur car have, or the brand and type, ur are still subjected to accidents and get hurt or worse..the newspapers are good reminderd of this. DRIVE SAFELY AND BE COURTIOUS..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • under-specced car!!!.Only 2 airbags??are kidding me.
    TOYOTA MOVING BACKWARD!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 3
    • sudonano on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:03 pm

4 speed auto.
      No VSC.
      2 Airbags.

Toyota must be joking. You can be rest assured, UMW is gonna bring in the same specs here. They did that with the Gen 1 Vios, Gen 2 “Dugong” Vios and soon, the Gen 3.

Off to Ford. Where there is VSC and 7 airbags. And a more refined ride.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 3
      • Gabriel on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:43 pm

You’re wrong. When it reached Malaysia, equipments is going to be reduced further but price will increase!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
      • Chris on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:04 pm

2002 called, they want their gearbox back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Dr Cooper on Mar 26, 2013 at 7:49 am

Ironically people still want to buy just because it has so called high resale value…this show how Malaysian values money more than their own safety …really baffles me..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Legendary 4-speed auto woohooo!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 2
    • dugong on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:22 pm

Toyota’s state of the art 4 speeder is good and efficient enough to be used even in 100th gen vios in year 2999.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 7
      • frenzyaustin on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:07 pm

While Toyota around the world been using electric to run the car

• tokmoh on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:08 pm

Tu diaaaaa!

Aku dah agak da! Korang sume yang mengharapkan CVT la, Dual VVT-i la, ESP la… terus berangan je la. Masih tak nampak ke permainan Toyota?

Satu benda yang improve dalam model ni… tidak lain, tidak bukan… RESALE VALUE cemerlang! hahahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
      • Wa Jib on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:25 pm

What ever u said.. its still chart topping when it reached here.. HIDUP DUGONG…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
        • tokmoh on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Hah, yang penting aku menang bet, takyah tukar avatar Justin Bieber hahahaha!

Yakin sangat orang nak challenge aku mengharapkan ada ESP dalam keter ni. Bai!! RM170k Camry takde ESP tapi sub-rm100k Vios nak ada ESP?!

Ak dah lama nampak permainan Toyota, korang semua pun celik la. Selagi korang beli macam ifag sanggup no life gi midnight queue, selagi tu toyota mempermainkan korang.

• Same old boring 4at and old engine on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:02 pm

Always the same thing.
    Same specs like it’s predecessor.
    Just change new body.
    Worse is there is no safety features like VSC and more airbags.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 1
  • sarawakiana on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:13 pm

The joyous day of 2013 for nemesis of Toyota, they longed for this day for years. I beg they sobbed in front of the computer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Amir Sufyan on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:14 pm

Not bad..the design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 51
  • Matchy on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:15 pm

Same internal, different external only… very disappointed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
  • Carrot Donkey on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:19 pm

In Malaysia people still put safety as the lowest priority when choosing a car. Hence cars like this will still sell.

Paul, another car safety article?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • frenzyaustin on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Some people concern more on performance and looks or reliability, you can’t judge them….

• frenzyaustin on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:11 pm

But….. THIS CAR IS NOTHING!
        Not in looks, performance, gadgets, and overpriced like hell!
        Only good is the proven old engine and gearbox which is indestructible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • This car performance tak da, looks tak da. Maybe it will be very reliable because they are using the legendary engine and gearbox since the 1st gen of vios.

• Chen Chee on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:21 pm

Screw this car. Same engine,obsolete specs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
  • Same engine and gearbox, what a disappointment.
    Anyway, 1700mm width should exclude wing mirror, otherwise the car will be as narrow as Kelisa.

• exterior diff only?nasib baek aku book H City … WY*1234

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
  • trying hard to look elegant but ends up looking cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • truman6 on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:20 pm

look cheap nvm, most important price cheap..but i dun think the price will be cheap in malaysia..will hit rm100k +/- if thai price is so high..

toyota is bullshit…

malaysia gomen more bullshit, harga kereta turun konon..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 13
      • spyshotX on Mar 27, 2013 at 12:23 pm

bolehland gomen only sign mou with japs and aussie gomen for import duty reduction for fully imported cbu only.. this vios is asean ckd not applicable..

• DocMomemtum on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:36 pm

I can see Smart Entry feature in the brochure, very convenient feature for a daily car like this. 2 airbags r enough for most occasion, most ppl drive alone to work anyway. The drive train of the previous gen is good enough for city drive, so it’s okie to use back this proven reliable system. The exterior design was what needed to be improved in the previous gen and now it’s achieved successfully.

well done toyota! But just hope there are more options available eg. 7in navi screen, dual zone climate control instead of single zone, harmon kardon audio system, leather seat, supercharger etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 111
    • hohoboy on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:43 pm

you r drunk, kidz..
      ya, 2 airbag mayb can save u n ur girl`s life in front,but u forgot ur parents who sit behind… joker..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • Self-proclaimed Sultan of Bulu on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:38 pm

We can expect the Toyota to cost RM 20,000 more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:59 pm

But when you sell, the Vios will trade in for RM40,000 more than the kimchi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 47
      • Well, my piece of advice to everyone, buy the Vios 2013 from him as he offer RM40,000 more than market trade in price. Damn good deal. Maybe don’t even need to pay a cent to get the new car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Kuinosan on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:39 pm

Looks like the Toyota establishment are still taking their customers for granted and they choose to continue ripping off their client base customers (Toyota diehard fans) with old tech. Imagine? Still choosing to strutt around in 4 gear ratios??Still the same platform and suspension underpinnings and conventional center console display???
    I think enough is enough Toyota? Can’t wait for the new model of Ford Fiesta and Peugeot 208 to be launched. That will teach Toyota a thing or two about giving customers value for their money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 6
    • frenzyaustin on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:00 pm

Instead of those cheapo Toyota, UMW should consider import REAL Japanese Toyota from Japan such as Toyota Vitz/Yaris, Wish, Alphard/Vellfire/ Land Cruiser, Corolla Auris, Crown Royal/Athlete, Camry Hybrid and last but not least, cheaper Toyota 86.

• black on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:41 pm

ok lar..no more dugong shape, ugly headlight and grill..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • I think the designers of sedan cars over at Toyota are old Farts. What a retarded tail!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • Dru-Zod on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:06 pm

Yeah like your fart can design a better “tail”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
    • truman6 on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:22 pm

even nissan is trying to change their design, like teanna (almera not included ler)…

toyota, …adooiiii…old ppl design..

buy new car, get old feeling…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Wa Jib on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:30 pm

Who cares if the spec is low. Auntie & uncle n the Nerd paid to buy ma..

• powershot on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:24 pm

or underpaid fresh graduates

• ahchai69 on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:46 pm

No matter what people criticise about this car, it just sell well..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • what’s wrong with the meter panel angle..from the steering wheel view..seems like the rpm meter is blocked..do we need to move our head sideways to see the meter..LOL

• bystander on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:51 pm

Super ugly, look at the shape, totally out of proportion…. Theophilius rendering from Yaris is 1,000,000 times better than this piece of shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
  • Whatever you say…this car still going to sell like hot cake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • ben yap on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:09 pm

i don’t think all the time toyota wins. look at the new civic, i see it more on the road than their toyota’s dual vvti altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • sepul on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:54 pm

The only good thing is the front look and interior design. Rear is not so nice, so is the spec level.

Not considered.

• policeman on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:55 pm

Same engine and transmission as the outgoing model. But I think its also the same as the model before – 2003 Vios

• Lets see UMW will import the stick shift or not for this gen.

• Argee on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:57 pm

the front looks nice, and is heavy on the rear… looks bad from behind!

• Simon on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:04 pm

no matter what, this Vios is still going to sell like hot cakes in Malaysia.

i don’t like the idea of the same old engine, same old 4-gears.

come on, everyone else has progressed, TOyota as big player should move on as well!

Luckily i’m no longer looking for the cars of this segment anymore (due to expending family size, TOyota Vios, when it was launched last century, used to be my dream car to own, sadly, after one century,Toyota is still selling the same recipe.

Sad!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • frenzyaustin on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:15 pm

Year 2001 Alphard has much better technology than 2013 Vios

• Alan Lee on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:07 pm

The wheel arch can put in 1 big milo can!

• Nissan almera will R.I.P soon!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 51
    • frenzyaustin on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Vios and Almera were going down, now what you got Honda?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • JeremyNg on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:21 pm

But it’s a Toyota no matter how old tech is it, how urgly is it, how silly is it; it still will sell like Nasi Lemak. If it had a 800cc engine, people will still buy it and praise how good is it.

if this is our local brand, sure will someone at there complaint about “copy cat”. sometime life aint fair, what to do LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • akula on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Mehhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!
    Haiyaaaa….where is `MEH’ button????

• Same engine 1NZ-FE for 3genarations?? LOL

• The front looks good, the side looks okay, but the back look is totally failed.. I somehow cannot accept the design of the backside…

• airbag?vsc? run around 120km++(WITHOUT SEAT BELT PUT ON) are not gonna save u moron from shinigami,if u guys really wan safe,learn drive safety 1st,not cut lane without signal,or overtake like driving Lamborghini…get a life people,regardless what u think,it wont change the sales volume at all.Stop bashing every car manufacturer on paultan,get proper job and buy ur own dream car instead of being a keyboard warrior..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
    • Suzuki on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:03 pm

Yeah, even you buy a good Kimchi or French or the best car in the world, if you DON’T DRIVE SAFELY, don’t blame the car didn’t save you.

You don’t even want to love your car, how could a car save you ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
      • Sometimes when bad luck brian strikes, it doesn’t matter how safe you drove. By then, only your car can save you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • tishaban on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:41 pm

In certain first world countries safety features like side airbags and stability control are mandatory on all new cars. I had hoped that with MIROS and their involvement with the ASEAN NCAP program something along those lines would turn up but I guess it’ll take time for govt legislation to catch up.

The safety conscious buyers will always have the option of skipping the new Vios and buying the likes of the Honda City (standard VSA) or the Fiesta (with option for full airbags all around). Let’s hope more Malaysians grow up to be more safety conscious and stop buying crap like this new Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • benlee on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:45 pm

Toyota is really taking its brand name for granted in Malaysia. 2 airbus and no ESP? This is 2013 already, we as consumers should demand a safer car with minimum 2 front 2 side airbags, ABS and ESP as standard safety features. Or else boycott the car model that do not fulfill this minimum requirement.

• Sam Loo's dad on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Please don’t get this new VIOS !
    I m very sure u will regret big time :)
    Peace guys !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Wa Jib on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:36 pm

Then how your son gets his commision selling toyota??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Vader on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:10 am

Your son can sell second hand Korean car since these cars’ price is sell at 30% of initial price within a year, it gonna sell like a hot cake!!!

• gunner84 on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Same engine for 3 generations? It must be crazy! Faster get the current generation if they are giving big discount since it’s just different exterior.

• The best transmission of the market. Engine also the most reliable and very good mileage eventhough its from the dinosaur era. Peoplet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • lol same engine, same gearbox…like our gov, just change abit here and there, hope public still buy. All the toyota fanbois will say, “if it aint broke, why change?”

let me tell you why, cos the malaysian market has changed, customers are getting smarter, korean offerings are getting better, even Ford has gained acceptance among the younger msians.

• ben yap on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:07 pm

what a joke? 4 speed auto and same old 10 years engine.

All of us know it’s a budget car but can you be more generous? one day all car manufacturers will rise except for Toyota and Honda for their low spec and overpriced car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Rulered on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:07 pm

1,020kg, ringan betul. Tak melambung ke? Oh wait, maybe it can float to become motorboat during one of those banjir kilat, the name change to Toyboata Vios J. Hehe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • Nicivo on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:15 pm

Poor effort by Toyota,its 2013 2 airbags??with Ebd,Abs and no VSC?? U r kidding me.Same engine same tranny??omg whats the point of a new car??I m sure this car ll drive like the outgoing vios too.Better wait for K3.No wonder Kia is bagging more awards more than ever.Although they could make a improvement on the FC though

• some people keep making noise about reducing car prices yet these same people are waiting in lines to buy this car with 2003 specs but at a much higher 2013 price.

they are telling themselves modern specs and better safety is nothing compared to so called good reliability and resale value. which is ironic considering they are asking for their rights of getting a good car at a good price at the first place.

perhaps another 10 years is required for malaysians to realise we as consumers have the power to make carmakers give us a better deal

• ex vios owner on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:23 pm

That’s a reason why people said toyota is very reliable car. Even their sales people keep proud of it.
    Of course la. Use same engine, same gear box, even same platform not only in coming model, but ex and ex ex model. No doubts they will still using same stuffs in their future models.

• Cendol durian on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:23 pm

Same like current dugong but had went into ‘plastic surgery’ to impress people with their new fake face.

• Peter on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:24 pm

As expected, the price has been increased taking adv of this new release. I’ve made relative comparison of Thailand price on Camry 2.0E (M’sia), Camry 2.0G (equiv in Thai)

Msia RM149,915.00
    Thai THB1299000 (using forex rate abv =RM137,377.21)

M’sia is around 12k more expensive. Adding this 12k to the abv price would give a good estimation of the soon coming Vios price.

The lowest spec Vios (auto) cost around 84k! Outrages!!!

• Peter on Mar 26, 2013 at 10:55 am

Sorry for some mistakes. The lowest estimate should be 74k (J spec), but this configuration don even has ABS! … new VIOS, 2013 car without ABS … price aside don U think this’s too much?

• Well, you cant deny that the front end looks pretty good, but seriously that side profile? Is it just me or is these new fleet of cars like the almera for example has a rather weird looking part i.e. the part just above the rear wheel to the tail lights. It looks quite shall we say,’special’. Don’t know if its the photos but the wheel clearance is quite redicolous. But, overall a good move for the volume seller by toyota. Shame i will still not buy it, too much competition nowadays. At least i won’t shout DUGONG! when i see these on the road. ^.^

• LOlz.. Let wait for the Facelift in a nother 2 yearz.. We might get a better upgrade of this gen 3 vios!!!

• Honda City Owner on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:33 pm

Yucks! So ugly looking. Honda City E spec has Vehicle Stability Asisst and is much much nicer looking than this new Toyota Vios. Enough said!

• no name on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:34 pm

I have a strong feeling that when this introduced in bolehland, the auto climate would became the infamous 3 bottle caps.

• hohoboy on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:38 pm

hmnn.. wonder who notice this, why toyota didn put all preventive safety features?
    it is because toyota wan their car to crash itself n save your life, then you will buy another one since toyota safe your life..repeat sell? figure it out guys..juz my 2 cents ya

• Suzuki on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Drive safely to prevent car accident, that’s very simple and easy.

Follow the law.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
      • Not so, I drive safe but you drive dangerously and crash into me how? FML right?

Safe driving is key, but a kancil won’t keep you alive when you get hit by a bigger car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • amdbarton on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:40 pm

where is the D-VVTI engine? 1NZ-FE engine is 10 years lol

• Typical Toyota or Japanese car maker in general, Change the exterior/interior a bit with same old technology and call it a brand new car! Just to ripped off some uninformed consumers out there. Come on Toyota, the European makers are coming up with miles more interesting products than this.

• River on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:53 pm

Front like City, back like Accord. I copy you, you copy me. This is “innovation”!?

• Expatriate VN on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:53 pm

I like this car, strongly recommend to buy once come here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • frenzyaustin on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:53 pm

A meeting at Toyota Thailand.
    Boss: Sawadeekap! Alright Guys! We need a new replacement for vios!
    Worker A: Different awkward exterior.
    Worker B: Same engine and gearbox.
    Worker C: Why not using a new engine and new gearbox with better design and safety?
    Boss: :<
    :Worker C threw out through window:

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
  • users on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:58 pm

i saw a leather stitching on thee dashboard seems it gonna look exclusive compare hard plastic in others. people keep bashing but most of vios users are happy with their car. me not to be excuse too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • Only ignorance fudge will buy this peace of crap. You know.. those people who thinks Vios is in the upper tier and look down on other brand especially Proton even though the spec is worldly apart.

Because brand is more important than specs. Good job Toyota. Let’s keep milking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • ugly car……

• Cd player located above the a/c vent.. Reminded me of proton tiara layout..

• TurboVios on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Bravo to Toyota with new cosmetic design and no improvement on performance and safety. Even better with higher price (I guess)- VIOS (Very Impressive Or Suck?)

Oh yeah, moving forward “to Holland”.

• darker marker on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:33 pm

there are better cars out there……with lot more attractive prices and goodies…

So, a big NO THANKS, Toyota.

• Insight on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:37 pm

copycat bumper Mitsubishi Lancer…..2007 style

• if new honda city is better looking than this

we have a winner

• Tis ugly junk Makes the Honda City looks like Miss .universe..its the same with Altis, Camry, accord, use back same platform, same engine, same gearbox, but call it ” all new” ..and Nissan should sue Toyota for copying their Teana backside

• theanswer on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:46 pm

sorry T. u should move to cvt or dual vvti.

• Whenever I see jackaa$$, I see Vios.

• all of us should tell our family and friends to not buy the new vios so UMW will feel the effect and then hopefully they can offer cheaper price or give extra accesories

• Grant on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:02 pm

I beg to differ. Its a nice looking car. Better design than the previous 2 generations

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Suzuki on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:10 pm

Lack of safety features ?

ね、if you are driving recklessly, even the best/most safe car in the world cannot protect you from car accident.

Look at the recent car accident case involve with the brand new Mercedes, 4 passengers dead and the structural bended.

If you drive safely, at least the car can protect you. Very logic.

Don’t blame the manufacturer, problem is always start from the driver first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 45
    • I will reply your every post.

Tell me exactly how, when you drive safely but kena hit hard by an Alphard in the rear. How can the car protect your rear occupants when it only have 2 airbags in front. Too bad la, the ones sitting at behind.

Safe driving is active accident prevention (which the Mercedes should have practiced), a better equipped car will still be the fundamental of getting you out alive when you get into “accidents”. Accidents = things you did not expect or cannot be controlled. Understood?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
      • Dont bother with the fellow lah, he has never been hit big time by some young cikus in Lagi Best while waiting at a red light with a toddler in a child seat and family on board; Lagi Best front gone radiator burst car undrivable; 18yr old volvo wagon bumper scratched and paint job only….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Alphard at the back? rear passenger? If I am not mistaken there is no rear passenger airbags develop unless you are talking side airbags. Though weirdly, Toyota ,ironically, has rear center passenger side airbags and window curtain shields airbags for their IQ, quite a different world from their cars offered in SEA.
        Tell me If I missed something.

• You’re right. Regardless, just pointing out the fact that safety equipment cannot be substituted by safe driving. Both must coexist. When one fails, the other will kick in to save one’s life.

Without VSC and recent heavy downpours. It’s just essential for the cars to have VSC when they hit puddles and hydroplane.

• kadajawi on Mar 26, 2013 at 1:51 pm

Doesn’t the US spec Camry come with 10 airbags on the baseline model?

• turbomax on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:46 pm

So if your mpv gets hit by a truck whose fault is it ?
        Your add on safety feature can help u save u from being crushed??

Don’t be ignorant.
        Dumass drivers need to be educated before you
        Even talk about safety features of a car

• otakudang on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:59 am

go study engineering kid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • おはよう! It is logical that accidents mostly happens when the driver is not careful. But the car does play an important role in protecting you. Airbags and structural strengthening keeps the driver safe DURING an accident and ABS,EBD,VSC keeps the car from emergency maneuvering during an accident that sometimes is not the drivers careless or recklessness, but rather other unpredictable events such as when a stupid biker maneuvered into your direction or avoiding something on a road, a sudden lane merge or narrowing perhaps that Malaysian road designer seems love to add.

But if you’re trying to say we are making a big fuss on cars with less Airbags and no VSC well, I understand you. Though on paper it does help, but we seems to consider that VSC and >2 airbags as the only means of safety. When looking for a safe car, my parents would look at blind-spot and a perfect all-round visibility along with passive features (airbags+ABS+EBD), and this is where most Toyota’s scores higher. The Fiesta, though on paper is safer, I have problems with rear-view view visibility, along with the H Insight. brakes and body control also have to be good, something that left me not wanting to go behind the wheels of an Alza.

Credits have to be given where is needed this Toyota, it looks better than the last. And because I know it’s likely going to fill our roads soon, it’s less taxing on my eyes, front-and back, and I have sat on both gen of Vios and it’s definitely a comfortable place to be than it’s rival bar maybe the Almera. But this is 2013, it should come with at least 4 airbags and VSC, and not follows Nissan’s example, and Nissan I think will still be bigger and cheaper than this Vios. Although the old power-train is still adequate and the parts availability is beyond compare along with reliability, there should be a new engine or at least transmission. This problem is not limited to SEA as Toyota worldwide are still using rather out-of-date power-train.

Get a better grip of the situation here. It’s quite hard to take someone seriously when the pictures shows a blue haired kid. cosplaying Kaito?

• frenzyaustin on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:09 am

I can understand his biased towards japanese car because he is a jap’s fan, but what i can tell him is vios is not a JAPANESE car! It’s a thai car which used outdated japanese tech and slap a japanese brand on it.
        Btw, I am a jap’s fan too.

• : frenzyaustin
        Judging by his Gravatar picture , which looks like someone cosplaying Kaito, and the way he write with ね(ne) in front, I’am guessing he’s an Otaku (or those in heavily in love with Japanese pop culture:Anime/Manga), I spend some of my time with those as well. The creative industry in Japan is quite a different world from their business world IMO, they’ve perfected the art of being brilliantly MAD, they end up being laughably likable, stupid, but likable. Their creative industry dare to take risk and be different[mad?] in a whole new way, which their automotive couldn’t.

But those madness cannot be seen in their cars like the Italians or the French does. Their cars are endlessly dull and more suited for the anti-car enthusiast with a few exception being the Nissan Juke, Toyota 86 and Honda CRZ . Quite a shame, some great cars can come from Japan if they let some people from their creative industry into their BOD, instead of being rule by profit-cautious business-minded people. I used to like K-pop and American modern culture, until it begin to be more mainstream and predictable IMHO, where I shifted my attention to the likable madness that is the German and Japanese culture. It’s a shame that their cars don’t reflect these culture, but they won’t sell well anyways if it did.

• frenzyaustin on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Now this depends on which car and who they targeted.
          Those prius, corolla and accord are a great point A to B car. It doesn’t drive so well but serve you well and less headache. But, when they take their car seriously, It’s a total different story.
          Nissan GT-R, Lexus LFA, GT86/BR-Z, Evo X and WRX STi, and some classic such as Skyline GT-R, Silvia, S2000, RX-7 and NSX.
          What Japanese different from Conti’s is japanese’s simple, affordable and well balance. (Except LFA)
          Those car targeted at normal income car enthusiast. Everyone can enjoy the fun driving without pay high price.
          And the most important is their mods culture. Because their sports car usually don’t use too complicated technology, everyone with little bit knowledge of car can build their very own machine by themself.

• kadajawi on Mar 26, 2013 at 1:50 pm

I have seen a Skoda fly through the air and land in about 7 meters height inside a churchroof. Driver survived. Do that in a Vios and you are dead. I have seen high speed crashes where the driver walks out, because he was well protected. I have seen a new and safe car crash into an old unsafe one. The driver of the new car caused the crash, but survived unharmed. Everyone in the old one died. Happens all the time.

• It happens, cars will always get safer, but sometimes things happen where even new cars can’t protect, safety system buys you luck, but luck isn’t always there. But I’am more intrigue as how did that Skoda fly through the air and land in about 7 meters height inside a churchroof!

• Wa Jib on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Accounts Nerd will LOVE this car….

• paparadzi on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:23 pm

The good news is, my 2008 Vios S will not feel very outdated compared to this new Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • Kuinosan on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:24 pm

Toyota is still living in the past. Those who choose to live in that same era, please stand up…hee..hee..and get conned!

• As expected, the LEGENDARY 4 Speed Auto Transmission with the 1.5 Engine ! No added safety features and everything the same. Different body shell with a higher price.

• Carlover on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:34 pm

Nice…Sure will buy one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • cow stroller on Mar 25, 2013 at 11:58 pm

Is fitting a Vios with 4/6 airbags and electronic stability control that hard??? Seems like most B-segment vehicles are already equipped with these safety features at competitive price.

• 4 SPEED AUTO!!!!!!!!!!!
    Wah….. So jimat on R&D????
    My goodness…..

• gOOsh on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:07 am

kalau aku lar… aku tak beli keter nih…

• penje on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:12 am

let me summarize, basically the new vios just got new projector headlamps. that is all.

“most people associate it with looking premium, which is the main reason Toyota gave the option for projectors on the Vios. It’s not standard on all models – only on the 1.5S and 1.5G models.”

brace yourself for 90k++ cyber dugong.

• CWdeYong on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:22 am

Apa ni ??? looks like a prototype rushed for the market. anyway, even it looks ‘good’ i will never buy any toyota :D

• Maserati on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:26 am

Awesome car! Will sell like super hot cakes! K3 ? Haha, no chance la.

Put side by side the k3 looks like a piece of crap with a lousy engine and hideous interior.

See how the japs design their interiors, simple and nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
    • K3 will be fighting at the Altis pricing already. Nobody cares about it versus Vios already. Outdated little Maserati still stuck in Pavilion selling merchandises..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • David D on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:17 pm

Dont bother replying to Maserati bro Des. This guy is a seriously arrogant fella who goes on Low Yat forums as ‘Mamapapamsia’ hating the Koreans just because he has a bad experience with Samsung appliances rather than a car?

Why do i know? In another article on PT here, this Maserati prick said he drives a Golf GTI, and literally compared it to a small Kia Rio. On Low Yat forums, he was boasting about him picking up his Golf GTI, whereas his brother will be picking up a GT-R as well.

Honestly, i know Maserati is definitely someone that is doing well, which i would want to look up to. However, his plain drivel and hatred for anything Korean or whatever he doesnt like, and his attitude of keeping to the same excuse even though it has been proven wrong several times, really disgusts me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Polo Saga on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:44 am

What happen to the tail pipe? It seems dropping off from the body!

• gracke on Mar 26, 2013 at 1:02 am

Once again change cover body only….hopeless…!

• I will just put it this way.. While ppl is crazy for samsung note 2 .. U r still using nokia 3210.. Huh what a joke. By the way nokia 3210 was still around, during the 1st gen vios….

• To me, toyota is still a great industry player. Why? Because they are now busy developing hybrid n ev. Why they are still selling the old technology while they are no longer focussing in that stream? Because there are still demand in this so called third world country. So come on guys, stop supporting this kind of ideology.. We should be in line with the latest technology demanded by the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Change a cover then call a new car..how bad is toyota

• Carl Wong on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:14 am

Soooooo………. They moved the dashboard from the centre to front of the driver, is that an improvement..???

• kadajawi on Mar 26, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Yes. A very big one. Though almost every other car ever built also had it in front of the driver… where it belongs.

• ahlee bin ahtan on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:18 am

Gamble your Life but won big in RV this is MYToyouta if you’re still living as an invalid malaysian.

• jasontoy on Mar 26, 2013 at 6:35 am

Can’t wait to get one. Then I will have all 3 Vios generations at home. Ultimate collection. hahaha

• taboogen on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:21 am

if i won this car at a lucky drive.. definitely will trade it off for other brand

• The Chinese market gets the more advanced 1ZR-FE featuring double variable valve-timing and higher outputs of 116hp and 150Nm.

Source: BangkokPost

• tukulbesi on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:42 am

depan mcm Preve, blakang mcm Camry.. what a such car..

• Seriously, people got to stop blaming Toyota for the mediocre specs…if there is anyone to blame for this (as far as Malaysia is concerned) its UMW and not Toyota…

• walaweh on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:06 am

walaweh, its umw fault for underspec? The problem is, if u read the headlines properly, this vios is launch in thailand, n even in thailand(coz u said as in malaysia, shud fault umw, not toyota), its already underspec n overprice, so, do u think umw will bring better vios than thailand@worse? For me, it just the same spec coz the previous vios already has 2 airbags, abs, ebd, ba.

So, is it fault umw that toyota bring underspec vios in malaysia which actually the same spec as in thailand? unless u r talking about push start button@digital a/c control, then, maybe vios in malaysia wont get it, but that isnt really as important as additional airbags n vsc.

Yup, credit is where its due, but for toyota, how ridiculous is their car, it will sell well. Look at dugong, still selling like hot cakes in asean region including malaysia, so, if dugong sell pretty well, this will be super duper well. Dunno on dugong sales in usa, but this new vios may capture their attention really well.

But if u change the badge to others infamous car, even with good visibility as avh said, it will be bad due to the badge. If visibility is one of main concern, many i saw vios slap in rear spoiler which a hindrance to the visibility, they shudnt put that spoiler. Not only that, rear windows full of stickers. I dunno whether this only happen here or all over the world….haishhh…

But, the new vios looks good,exterior n interior.

• tokmoh on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Yes, while UMW is guilty as charged, Toyota isn’t that innocent.

Case in point: latest Camry. It isn’t just our market that loses VSC. Thai, Singapore, Indon, and Brunei also I believe aren’t equipped with VSC, except for the hybrid.

• vee-oh on Mar 26, 2013 at 9:17 am

so low spec even with the S grade..def have to wait for Mirage sedan to make comparison

• sammyloo on Mar 26, 2013 at 9:25 am

4 airbag will be available in 2018 vios. Esc will be available in 2023 vios…

• Datuk Jack. on Mar 26, 2013 at 9:38 am

is this collaboration between proton saga flx and toyota?..

• push start button? no. gps? no. paddle shift? no. 6 speakers? no. 5-6 gears? no.

• unforgiven on Mar 26, 2013 at 10:02 am

Since we are going to pay at least 90k for top spec, and since we have good G, maybe we are getting at least 4 airbags with vsc? In a less cronies world perhaps?

• the PRICE possible new tax n sales structure for this new vios.
    dont blame the GOVERMENT.blame the people for keep buying it.
    only body change,others almost same things.

• old wine in the new bottle…some more cheap wine!!

• when is it going to launch in Malaysia? 2nd quarter? 3rd?

• RVP20 on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:17 am

aaa….just 4 transmission for 1.5 engine, even Honda city got 5 transmission for the same 1.5 engine capcity. Kia Forte/Hyundai Elantra/VW polo sedan has 6 transmission.

• Crasher on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:26 am

Really Toyota??!! 4-Speed Auto??!! Are you kidding me??!!

• ok, this car i agree isnt value for money and totally under-specked but its something ppl here are willing to sacrifice. i’ve asked ppl why they choose to buy the vios, u all know because of resale value. its not like they dont want better cars, to them money is so hard to earn nowadays they cant afford to loose so much for cars. they want to make the most out of it especially next time when they decide to sell this. and most ppl who drive vios’ are middle income folks who rely alot on their cars to earn a living, they cannot afford for their car to breakdown and stay at the workshop for a month to wait for expensive parts. so buying a vios assures them that its reliable and its parts are sourced easily and every mechanic knows how to service a straight forward car like this. by retaining the engine and gearbox will actually make them happier cause to them, they can source the same old vios parts thats aplenty in the market therefore its cheaper. as long as they have a reliable car to drive that will last a long time without loosing so much money and time. most vios owners may not be car fans but some who buy this are, and they dont even like the car and think its ugly, but to them its “what to do, its all about money” even if it sacrifices their safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • You_Are_Right on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:26 pm

You got your point and most of the current Vios owner just want a reliable car to drive.

• peyno on Mar 29, 2013 at 6:11 am

if they concern about safety.. they wont buy this car.. tin milo body, no esc, 2 airbags… aiyoooo

• ahaa…

How many preve’ sold this month?

Too bad huh? Or still claim the best damn car in universe?

Hahaha

• RVP20 on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:38 pm

let’s analyse a bit shall we?
      current toyota vios = RM82k

with the same amount of money (or less), we can get:
      Oversea model
      Honda City – RM83k
      Ford Fiesta = RM83k
      Mazda 2 = RM80k
      Kia Rio = RM75k
      Kia Forte = RM80k
      Almeira = RM77k

spare part easily available (peace of mind, so called), local model:
      Exora = RM80k
      Inspira = RM79k
      Preve = RM74k
      Myvi = RM75k

all these alternatives to vios, has somewhat similar or even better to what vios is offering (safety & performance). And yet ppl still opt for vios, why? if it is price/RV, i think our local cars have fair bit on that. Perceived Reliability, vios is not the only reliable car around, you don’t normally see non-toyota broken at the side of the road, do u?
      i think of of us here thinks that with that price ~RM90k, Toyota should/must be able to provide much safer car or improved performance since they’ve already achieved what we called as economy of scale.
      This ‘NEW’ vios is simply Toyota lazy-ways and kind of slap in the customers’ face…..what’s new here compared to the old one? aside from revert centre dashboard. and yet they know this car will sell coz of their brand power :(

• Myvi 75k ? U kidding me right?

• What? Proton?

“spare part easily available (peace of mind, so called)….”

It is nightmare.

(Was proud new brand Proton owner but know i am the Proton hater)

• kadajawi on Mar 26, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Well, good resale value depends on someone actually wanting to buy the car 3-9 years down the road. And when in 5 years contis and Koreans have proven their reliability, spare parts are easily available since there are enough cars on the roads, there are more service centers and workshops are more familiar with these cars, will the resale value still be so different? I doubt it. Add to it that those cars are much safer and even Malaysians are starting to care about that…

I think in 5 years a Vios won’t get better RV than a Fiesta, 208 or Rio. Perhaps even worse.

• dugong on Mar 27, 2013 at 12:22 am

Just get a saga flx then. Its a straight forward car with plenty of spare parts, much more than vios and any mechanic under the tree can fix. At only half the price. Even our taxi is using saga. Did you ever seen a vios taxi?
      I’m pretty sure saga got better RV than vios too.

• levin on May 21, 2013 at 1:37 am

200% agree with u..

• Expatriate VN on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:03 pm

What wrong with 4 speed tried and tested gear?

The HP is puny! so why the need to have DSG kind of gearbox if the top speed is less than 200 km/h.

This Vios B-segment is basic entry level sedan car. Never-the-less, the safety specs for this car still need improvement!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • expat_suck on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:51 pm

lol i believe you still use nokia 3310, bulky CRT monitor and pentium II pc

• kadajawi on Mar 26, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Hm. Actually the 3310 was one tough phone. Drop an iPhone ones, broken. Drop the 3310 1000 times, still fine.

Good CRT monitors also have excellent colors etc., better than any TFT screen… especially the lousy TN panel ones.

There is nothing good to say about the P II though…

• Nicholas on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:57 pm

What happen when someone charge u iPhone price for the nokia 3310 and claim that it is because the phone quality is very good?

• teelim on Apr 05, 2013 at 2:45 pm

If you have driven a car with similar HP but a more modern/advanced gearbox (with more gears), I am sure you would not say the same.

Also, more gears can mean better acceleration and better fuel economy at the same time. Not just higher max speed.

• Whatever other peoples say, they cannot deny ‘the power of brand’ in the business world. Toyota has ‘a power of brand’ like mercedes and BMW for premium brands.

Toyota comes with RELIABILITY.

• retriv on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Let Maserati and expat VN buy this when it comes here. I won’t buy under-specced car like this. Look at the Koreans and even the hatred Protons can give much valuie for money. Why waste money on this car? The reliability and brand name cannot justify the price, even in country with lesser tax such as in Thai. Better go for other brands unless you have plenty of money to spend on car alone.

• kadajawi on Mar 26, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Damn it… we should all have made bookings before specs were known, and then cancel once the specs are announced for Malaysia. Imagine the faces of the UMW execs… also then they’ll reconsider.

On the other hand I want to see the new Vios (and the old one) fail badly at ASEAN NCAP when they do side impacts. The damage to their image should be quite big.

• Hey ! Where are the rest of the photos with chicks in ’em ? Only 1 miserable photo of them ? What la you !?

:-D

• Since no improvement on the new car, the Vios will maintain the RV for 100 year.

• RELIABILITY? Touch wood my Proton Saga LMST never break down unless the parts worn out, I don’t even spend more than 1k in total to maintain my car annually, so what’s the point of resell value, how long to reach the break even point with extra 40k + 1k plus major service each year? FC efficient? 90k Honda Insight will do the job.
    With that 90k I can buy a Saga and downpayment for a property, party every week while you still stuck with your hire purchase. If money is the point, you will still paying 90k where u can get similar product that can get you from point A to point B for half of the price? WOW rich sial

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Datuk Jack. on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:45 pm

for 1st time i think i meet this kind of guy with thinking out of the box.. I LIKE the way you live your life.

• hybrid car should be cheaper to encourage saving our mother earth.

Hey search Norway policy for hybrid and EV cars.
      U will be surprise.

Tax Free
      Changing Free
      Toll Free
      parking Free

except for the car. (and it is dammit cheap)

• dont blame cronies on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:22 pm

later people will say – blame cronies and rich people because price is so expensive with less accessories and safety features.

in before – blame ap king

• in before – Blame the “Creator” AP and Car Tax

We will punish them in next general election.
      Fear IT.

• I really don’t get the people complaining about the old engine / drivetrain.

Sure, the engine is old but it’s fuel efficient. Checkout fuelly.com/car/toyota/vios and compare yourself with all the City’s, Preve’s and Lancers listed there.

Yeah, the drivetrain is also old but at only 110 hp at 6000 rpm who on earth needs 6-speed automatic or CVT? Especially with the 110km/h speed limit imposed on highways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • squall_shinoda on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:10 pm

Proton Saga FLX 1.3 has only 94 bhp @ 5,750 rpm, and yet it has CVT gearbox… so what are you going to say? Because of the new gearbox alone, the Saga FLX saves fuel a lot compared to the previous Saga BLM.

• Normal driver on Apr 10, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Yes, later you gonna spend more on repairing the CTV, just like many other Proton’s auto gear. Good luck!

• how many country have speed limit higher than bolehland

• teelim on Apr 05, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Please understand that more gears does not necessary mean higher max speed.

More gears can also mean better acceleration and also better fuel economy.

• Droll on Jun 17, 2013 at 11:35 am

And please understand that the ugly Vios with its 10-year-old engine with only 4-speed auto gets better fuel economy than most newer models. At a cheaper price too…

• Haih.. really dissapointed.. a total bullshit car.. safety features sucks… bye bye toyota..

• Unforgiven on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:42 pm

What car are you going to get for rm59k?

• Hyundai Fan on Mar 28, 2013 at 2:01 pm

This new Vios definitely will beat Nissan Almera.

• My Humble Opinion,

The only things i hate current vios is the meter panel in between dashboard. What the heck?

Now it is coming back to driver side. I may consider this after election….

no savvy tech? i don’t care. Low maintenance, good quality and safety (not top class ok… no so affordable)

good resale value so i can trade to bigger family car maybe like MPV/SUV if i get 4 children….

Live in malaysia with high live cost is hard to me… in HALAL way.

HARAM way easy maaa….

• narisinna on Mar 29, 2013 at 7:30 pm

don’t buy korean car now i am suffered sometimes worst than proton

• hey yall on Mar 30, 2013 at 9:50 am

I don’t get it when people say Toyota is overpriced while Proton is not.

The truth is both of them are overpriced, especially Proton, because of the government. Ridiculous tax on foreign cars and really high price for local cars.

Proton cars are built in Malaysia, it should make sense that it’s cheaper here than in any other countries. But in reality, it’s the other way round. Malaysian pay extra RM10k-30k for their own local branded car than foreigners.

Yet, still a lot of people defend Proton. It seems as if they like being cheated by the government. “Patriotic”, as they say.

Vios is better in design and build quality than any other Proton. Hypothetically, if Preve & Vios both cost RM50k, which one would you buy?…

• teelim on Apr 05, 2013 at 2:36 pm

If the Vios is RM50k, so will be many other cars. And I would get those instead of the Vios.

• Dr. Mecha on Apr 02, 2013 at 2:51 pm

It looks more spacious thna the old versions of Vios

• KingPin on Apr 02, 2013 at 5:16 pm

SSDD…same shit, different day

• teelim on Apr 05, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Whoa!? Still the same 4spd auto. Toyota really “taking good care” of their loyal customers huh?

I wonder how many more years they will use the same old tech. And also when will their loyal supporters realised that they are being ripped off.

After seeing the Camry, and now this, I won’t be surprised if the Corolla Altis would also only appeal to hardcore supporters.

Shame on you Toyota…

• King Kong on Apr 09, 2013 at 5:04 pm

Agree with all the sentiments of shame on you Toyota.
    Let me be very honest with you, I am a current Vios owner (2008 model – 1st generation).
    1st Generation, 2nd Generation and 3rd Generation still having the same engine? I just checked the engine spec, they are the same, and same 4 speed gearbox auto (I did not compare ratio, but should be same).

Thats a bloody rip off, I am seriously considering Korean alternative for my next car (if with the increased numbers resulted in better resale value).

Malaysian mindsets are so backwards, still Toyota and Honda only,..well before you shoot me, I bought it even though not my first choice because of resale value, not because I believe the car is superior. For a person like me with minimum budget / cash, that is the only option.

Seriously, Vios 3rd Generation is bloody outdated technology. If you look at my Vios 2nd Generation, the car is bloody noisy, road noise and engine noise. Of course it has its good points also, such as comfortable ride and reliability.

I hope less people buy Vios now. What a rip off using Toyota brand and minimal upgrade, stupid Malaysian buyers (you can count me in as the Kiasu type / not the stupid type).

• king kong matress on Apr 10, 2013 at 11:00 am

There is any current vios owner will sell their vios to replace with this new vios? I dont think so. Even the new vios using the same engine and same gearbox, their target market are user that want to upgrade their car from cheaper malaysian car or for 1st car buyer..if u r the current vios user, please upgrade to other car that suitable with your taste.why you want to bash the vios that serve u well from 2008 until now? no one force you to buy vios. dont buy if u dont like.

• Normal driver on Apr 10, 2013 at 2:32 pm

1. A Vios without tax, is around the same with Persona/Myvi (cheaper than Preve). So it is not far to compare with Preve, they are not even same class. It is GOVERNMENT who makes Vios so expensive by tax, not UMW!

2. A Vios is durable without problem for 10 years, Persona/Myvi can’t. So Malaysians rather spend more to buy Vios, rather than Proton/Perodua.

3. UMW at least give 12 months to staff, not millions/billions to the cronies. Does Proton/Perodua pay 12 months to their poor yet hardworking staff?

4. Old engine + old gearbox are still more durable and petrol saving than problematic, noisy and petrol thirsty Campro engine. So NEW is not always BETTER.

You want to see a true bloody rip off car? Go see a RM40k Saga then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • please think on Apr 13, 2013 at 11:43 pm

Toyota Vios 1.5S Auto – 734,000 Thai baht (RM77,625)
      Toyota Vios 1.5G Auto – 699,000 Thai baht (RM74,028)
      Toyota Vios 1.5E Auto – 649,000 Thai baht (RM68,733)
      Toyota Vios 1.5E Manual – 614,000 Thai baht (RM64,933))
      Toyota Vios 1.5J Auto – 589,000 Thai baht (RM62,289)
      Toyota Vios 1.5J Manual – 559,000 Thai baht (RM59,117)

hmm is rm60k-77k considered cheap to you? really? Remember this is on the land of the ‘tax free’ and not malaysia. i dont see persona/myvi selling at this kind of price. so you really think that A basic car with no advanced safety/handling technology can really be justified to be sold at this price? Just saying that you might want to consider that toyota is also taking part in ripping off uninformed people. Just dont put the blame on the government.

there is no such thing as a ‘durable without problem car’. it all comes down to how the owner treat the car. No car is spared from wear and tear. even a merc/bmw will break down in the owner does not take care of it. i am driving a continental car now and it does break down unexpectedly occasionally. no car are made perfect.

So you are saying that you much rather drive a car with an old technology(10yo engine+gearbox tech) rather than a car with new tech? Even your much hated campro engine have evolved since its introduction in 2004(refinement,turbo,etc). If thats the case we should be driving an air cooled VW beetle right from the 1940s as it is proven reliable.

If you open your mind you would really see that part of the fault is also UMW. Just remember that umw are the one that set the prices first. so if they initially set the base price high then surely the price will go higher after tax. I wont be surprised if the new vios is sold at 100k in malaysia when its launched and blinded consumers will buy it in droves.

• Night on Apr 10, 2013 at 3:31 pm

If they price this junk near the price of Honda City, well, they are going to be junk.

• Toyota? on Apr 15, 2013 at 12:36 pm

honestly, outdated ugly interior, and exterior so-so only. can’t u see the hard plastic steering, different kind of plastic dashboard, same old design for car door interior. I guess the price should be around 80-90k, which we can get a lot of better choice out there, why TOYOTA?

dear consumers, don’t keep supporting those insincerity manufacturer anymore.

• cosmothegod on Apr 16, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Complain here: http://www.miros.gov.my/web/guest/enquiry
    the more the merrier. Whatever you want in a car, features, pricing policy etc. Just paste your comments here into the dialog box. Hehe.

• lancy on Apr 21, 2013 at 9:32 pm

when the toyota vios can reach at malaysia..

• Herman Low on Apr 26, 2013 at 5:07 pm

When launching? This will be my First Toyota after driving for 3 decades…..

• milo tarik on Apr 28, 2013 at 8:40 pm

vios dan city..bagi aku memang seronok bawak vios dan maintenance paling jimat..aku pakai vios trd sportivo dan wife aku pakai city spec E..vios servis berkala 10k dan city 5k..coolant dan minyak auto vios sampai sekarang aku tak pernah tukar walau dah nak masuk 40k dengar kata 100k baru tukar..city aku tgk maintenance d macam pakai bmw…semua mahal pada 3 kali pertama murah la dah masuk 20k dan ke atas mula jdi 3 ratus lebih dan boleh capai 5 ratus…city bawak keras suspension d dan time corner memang best tapi dh ade passenger takkan nak lipat jugak..vios time bawak lembut jea tapi time corner ade membuang..penggunaan minyak lebih kurang jea tengok tapi paling penting semua terletak pada kaki kita menekan(cara kita pandu).vios bawak pick up dan city bawak kurang pick up..keluasan dalaman vios rasa lebih lega lagi berbanding city..tapi bagi saya memang pilih toyota sebab maintenance d yg lebih murah..kenapa saya cakap gitu kerana saya ade dua-dua kereta berkenaan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
  • mooncake on May 02, 2013 at 10:14 pm

Again and again, Toyota never fail to introduce cars with no sense of taste inside or outside.

• Car GuY on May 05, 2013 at 5:28 pm

It’s either u love it or u hate it. My family had owned the previous vios models since the 1st gen until now so I’m still gonna sold my previous model and get one to try it out.
    Well, People buy middle range Japanese made sedan for its pricing and long term maintenance factors, and currently I could say toyota still have a lead in having low long term maintenance cost as compared to Honda, Nissan, Mazda n others etc. Other Japanese Car Maker has their own strength n weaknesses as well. If anyone wants cool exterior, go for Honda n Mazda, if u want bigger inner compartment space, go for Nissan. In the end of day, everybody deserves to have their own thoughts about what car they really want to owned and Hopefully, that particular car can bring out his or her personality ^^.

However, my only regret for the new 2013 vios is its front headlamps isn’t really looking too enticing especially if one were to compare it with the new emerging competitors from Korean made Hyundai n Kia. Vios front head lamps is making it look some how a little cheap n dull especially without led head lamps as compared to the other mid range sedans from different segment such as VW, BMW or even our local Malaysian made Preve. Well, we will see how it goes when it finally arrives Malaysia. Cheers

• remains basic features

lets ubah to non japs car to awake the delear where other foreign cars offer more features for the value added at the same segment n price range…this call enjoy the driving…not to enjoy the brand

• Matthew T on May 11, 2013 at 12:12 am

Honest Opinion – horrendous design. Nothing outstanding.

• celica on Jun 17, 2013 at 1:54 pm

the front reminds me of Saga flx while the rear reminds me of Accord…….. nothing spectacular. japanese carmakers need to revolutionise their design just like the Koreans did.

• Norman on May 11, 2013 at 2:13 am

Toyota or not if you really keen on car cultures it ain’t a problem but if you’re those just using for point a to b and have intention to replace other car within 5 years than Toyota is for you.Ive got a 2011 VW Polo 1.2 TSI,2008 Proton Saga blm,2007 Honda Edix 1.7 and a 2009 Suzuki GSR400 and still happily using it for both husband and wife.Even the saga we’ve mod it with a rear power window from the fl unit.Its your money and freedom of choice.Toyota not longer the Asian kingpin vehicles and there’s hell lot of quality and reliability issues too.As for me I will be trading or selling my Edix soon and will wait till next year of what other B segment cars can offer

• looking for a new car on Jul 08, 2013 at 4:34 pm

How come there is a price difference between the old and the new one ? I thought the government was slowly bringing the prices down on cars ? ie : the old model G was priced around 80k+ but this one is nearing Mazda 3 monthly RM900+ installment already (calculated using 10% d/p and a min of 2.4% = 9 yrs loan). That is another extra RM100 than what we are paying for the current Vios model.

• same old malaysian on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:48 pm

The cycle now begins again…as usual korean fan vs japanese…whats the big deal…everyone hav their own taste…vios has its pros n cons at the same time the koreans…and pls for god sake stop the bloody overpriced crap for once and forall…by u complaining no one is goin to reduce it…u want to reduce then try to form the next gov la…majority of them are still goin to get thr korean n Japanese regardless of the price…and to toyota fans sry to say it but the dash looks something similar to the new gen myvi

• Toyotasux on Jul 26, 2013 at 11:30 am

Seriously, after so long toyota still prefer 4 speed gearbox compare to 5 speed? Anyone know why…is there any benefits of using 4 speed gearbox…n it doesnt even have VSA, compare to honda city this car is a CRAP…btw honda city now Raya promotion only RM81k i can get the E spec already. Sry to toyota fans…buy the car and convince yourself this car is good. Btw Honda is for people who like to drive…not for people who drive at 80 to 100 kmph and do slow cornering haah

• But it still the most fuel efficiency car in it’s segment……

• ryukendo on Jul 29, 2013 at 11:17 am

bye kia…. going to get this toyota vios. kia is overated…talking about specs…might as well get preve for the price then kia. but vios seems to be decently priced. VIOS….here i come

• shikin on Oct 02, 2013 at 10:28 am

much thanks for this website for giving me a lots of knowledge in automotive. I must be a wise car buyer, I love this vios new look, but when I read about the specs, it’s still same over decade (admit by vios owner). yes Toyota still used the same engine, improvement only in ‘look’. guess I need to do lots of study before buying my first car. and thanks for the commenter too.