Ford Fiesta facelift gets ASEAN premiere in Bangkok – will now feature 1.0 litre EcoBoost turbo engine

ford fiesta mc 11

Ford didn’t just have the EcoSport SUV as its show highlight in Bangkok for the press day today – the Blue Oval also gave the facelifted Ford Fiesta its ASEAN debut in its hatchback form, with actual market introduction set for later in the year. The facelift made its global premiere last September at Ford’s Go Further event in Amsterdam.

The reworked hatch features the by-now familiar Aston Martin-esque grille and power dome on the bonnet, and will now come with SYNC, Ford’s in-car connectivity system that connects mobile devices to the car via Bluetooth or USB – the system had its regional introduction in the Focus last year.

No daytime running lights though – the Thai Fiesta facelift still wears complex surface reflector headlamps instead of projector units, albeit in a different design than now.

ford fiesta mc 05

The big news, however, is the introduction of the 1.0 litre EcoBoost engine into the scheme of things. The facelifted Fiesta will be the first Ford vehicle built in ASEAN to feature the 120 PS and 170 Nm three-cylinder turbocharged mill, which was 2012 International Engine of The Year, the first Ford lump to win the award.

No word if this will effectively replace the 1.6 Ti-VCT unit currently running in place, or if separate variants are in store, or even about the sedan version – word on the grapevine suggests that the 1.4 litre is to be dropped, and the 1.6 may be too, with the 1.5 litre Ti-VCT (as seen in the Thai Fiesta) and 1.0 litre EcoBoost taking things up.

Guess we’ll find out in due time, but the good news is that the EcoBoost coming. Stay tuned for updates to the gallery – Jonathan will be back at the show getting shots of the interior first thing tomorrow morning!

UPDATE: Apparently, the Ford Fiesta facelift was only on show at BIMS for the press day yesterday – the hatch is no longer at the event, so there are no photos of the interior to be had, unfortunately. Expect the interior layout to be no different than that seen in the facelifted Euro version (which is slightly different than the US version).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Still do not like the new FL look. But that engine….it’s time to throw a party!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 33
    • Sam Loo on Mar 27, 2013 at 4:20 pm

KLIMS organisers, look at Bangkok and feel ashamed. Stop just selling engine oils, shampoo, car mats etc and learn to launch new models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • woooo finally, wonder how long to reach here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 38
  • Green on Mar 26, 2013 at 7:00 pm

Oh no. No Ford Ecosport?
    I have been waiting for it.. long time..
    At least, pls come to Malaysia..

1.0Ecoboost Ford Ecosport. I’m loving it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 53
  • koochai on Mar 26, 2013 at 7:07 pm

…delicious…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • koochai on Mar 26, 2013 at 7:17 pm

…still rear drum tho…

• kadajawi on Mar 27, 2013 at 12:51 am

The outgoing Fiesta still stops after a shorter distance than a Rio or Vios, so yeah, disc brakes may be better, but the Fiesta does a great job without.

• sepul on Mar 26, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Yay! 1.0 EcoBoost! But the headlamp.. Only reflector? No DRL?

EcoBoost manual please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • frenzyaustin on Mar 26, 2013 at 7:47 pm

Aston Martin Fiesta!
    By the way paying road tax and insurance also petrol of a viva for a power of a 1.6. Not bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
  • RyanS on Mar 26, 2013 at 7:55 pm

sexy look, nice turbocharged engine.
    affordable price too ?

• Fahmi on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:06 pm

I like the pre facelift looks.. But somehow I think post facelift “Aston look” looks just fine…

• lonelyobserve on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:07 pm

For Fiesta’s 1.0L EcoBoost engine, in UK it is mated with 5-speed manual transmission only for best fuel economy and emission.

For ASEAN region, not very sure will Ford do the same thing for 1.0L EcoBoost engine.

• Confused on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:21 pm

Wonder what mr rv sam loo has to say about small capacity engines

• khairil on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:26 pm

Walaowehh 1.0 turbo…better than stone age 1nzfe

• Ahmadfaris93 on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:29 pm

We usually see future models or debuts in Bangkok/Jakarta motorshows but not here in Malaysia. In Malaysia, the motorshow mostly consists of the cars that are already on the road, not much future models or high profiled concepts. KLIMS is just a mere marketing expos for car brands(i.e Toyota, Nissan, etc.) to me. Plus, not many car brands anticipated in KLIMS. I remember the previous KLIMS was rather poor and dull. They really need to spice it up, here ! Hopefully, they’ll get more car brands and make it more interesting in the next KLIMS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • but in KLIMS 2010 we get Batmobile with ST (shopping trolley) chassis

• Eddy Lee on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:31 pm

Finnaly the engine worth waiting for. Hope the Focus gets this too for a new base spec maybe? Just hoping.

• madman on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:34 pm

3cylinder turbo…hmmm will be working overtime to achieve same output as the 1.6, yes even with all the new technology but metal on metal there is bound to be fatigue. And in this intance not too sure whats the lifespan – not the car but the heart

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 40
  • seancorr on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:40 pm

The exterior looks off to me. The pre FL looks better but the engine is exciting….and they need to intro it to the Ford Focus too!

• sudonano on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:42 pm

Right Ford Malaysia, bring this in now. We will throw a party at AutoConnexion Ford in Federal Highway. :D

• Beautycontestant on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:42 pm

another contestant to fight the crz ugliness! awful face omg…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
  • crank on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:59 pm

Those who booked the fiesta would be crying.

• Road tax will be dirt cheap thanks to its 1.0 L engine.

Nice to see some Eco Boost action in Southeast Asia.

• Booster on Mar 26, 2013 at 10:47 pm

Fugly!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Jonathan on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:25 pm

OMG YES. BEEN WAITING FOR THIS.

I asked a Ford rep this past weekend about the 1.4 MT version and they said they received a note from Ford that it’s being discontinued.

Time to start saving for that lovely EcoBoost.

• Kuinosan on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:28 pm

Great achievement in terms of engine technology, but sceptical about the durability of this tiny turbo boost engine in our hot and humid climate. Well, just have to wait and see the users reviews from the Thai market to ascertain its credibility.

• Kalun on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:35 pm

With this engine I can smoke all Viva, Mirage on the street.

same 3 cylinder engine.

• Einstein on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:27 am

Small cc turbo charge engine? I thought Daihatsu have been there and done that. Sadly never reach officially in bolehland

• sepul on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:45 am

Got aftermarket turbo kit for your Daihatsu if you can fork out the extra cash for extra power.

• Jinggo on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:54 am

Come on la Ford, this is not “All New” Fiesta la.. This is “Facelift” Fiesta..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • AndyC on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:19 am

I have a hunch that it’s going to be >10k more for this compared to existing 1.6, because it’s ‘turbo’, regardless of it’s smaller cc.

• Miskin on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:20 am

Sekali tgk ader ruper macam aston martin..

• Ranger on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:01 pm

My Ford Ranger has 375 Nm torque

• my 2.2 diesel hyundai santa fe hv 440nm of torque….so wats your point?

• can ur ford ranger stable at 140km/h ?

• truely malaysian on Aug 30, 2013 at 5:34 pm

I drive a Ranger T-6, it is very stable at 140km/hr, BTW at 140 the speedo is only 2500rpm, can your car do that?

• Hi guys any idea when is this fl coming over to Mlsy?
    any price increase?and any picture for the interior design?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Norman on May 12, 2013 at 1:55 am

We need to know the concept of 1 liter 3 pot turbocharge engine first before going on further.120hp@6000rpm/170nm@3000rpm to haul a 1025kg car?i ardy drove it weeks ago during my business trip at UK and its a manual version.For town drive its feel like you’re driving a Honda City 1.5 to be honest but when I enter the freeway at speed of 125-140kmh the engine groaning.There are 4 adults in the car.The best I tries is 150kmh but need more effort to achieve that.Ideal cruising is around 95-130kmh.The only thing I like is between 2000-3200rpm where the car is as smooth as silk.Guess there’s no replacement for displacement after all.

• Just checked out the Ford roadshow today at One U. Sales girl told me that the Ford Fiesta would be coming to Malaysia in July at the price of around RM83k. That’s the reason why the old Fiesta wasn’t featured at the roadshow alongside the Kuga/Focus. Anyone know how true this is?

• bhloy on Jul 11, 2013 at 9:31 am

wats the point when they cannot even provide adequate aftersales support?