ASEAN-spec 2013 Honda Accord surfaces in Bangkok

Honda Accord 2013

Another one that’s popped up at the ongoing Bangkok International Motor Show is the 2013 Honda Accord. The ninth-gen D-segment sedan arrives in Thailand in five variants – 2.0 EL, 2.0 EL Navi, 2.4 EL, 2.4 EL Navi and 2.4 Tech, priced between 1.299 and 1.799 million baht (RM137k-188k).

Honda says the Accord is its first model in Thailand to feature Earth Dreams tech, in the 2.4 litre engine, which produces 174 hp at 6,200 rpm and 225 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The 2.0 litre engine pumps out 155 hp at 6,500 rpm and 190 Nm of torque at 4,300 rpm. Both engines can run on E85 fuel, and are mated to a five-speed auto ‘box.

UPDATE: The new Honda Accord has been launched in Malaysia, click here for our launch report and here to read a comprehensive review of the car.

Among the features on offer are Active Noise Control (emits noise-cancelling sound waves for added cabin refinement), Collision Mitigation Brake System, LaneWatch Blind Spot Display and Active Cornering Lights. Modulo accessories are also available, comprising a subtle bodykit, two choices of rear spoiler, single bar grille, door visors, chrome body mouldings and 17-inch sports rims.

Honda Accord 2013

Spec for spec, the new car weighs up to 25 kg less than its predecessor despite being stronger and more rigid. It is slightly smaller too, its length and wheelbase shortened by 76 and 25 mm respectively. Just like the Civic, Honda bucks the trend of growing vehicles, but still manages to offer a larger and more comfortable cabin than before. Rear legroom alone is up by 25 mm, while the boot is 30 litres larger.

Following Honda’s mechanical simplification process apparent in the latest Civic, the 2013 Accord ditches the tried and tested double wishbone suspension setup for simpler and (whisper it) cheaper MacPherson struts up front. The rear multi-links remain unchanged, but electric power steering appears in an Accord for the first time.

As for the Malaysian market, expect the new Honda Accord to make its local introduction as CKD models later in the year, as part of Honda Malaysia’s five new car launches for 2013. Note however that final specs and equipment list can vary from the Thai models, so what you see here may not be the same as what we’ll get. Like what you see so far?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Back to normal (old design)~~

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 129 Thumb down 196
    • Must be kidding! Headlights ntg change,tail lights r different but E class wannabe…but who cares? this is must better looking than the fugly Camry!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 33
      • Must be kidding! Headlights ntg change,tail lights r different but E class wannabe…but who cares? this is much better looking than the fugly Camry!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
        • kadajawi on Mar 27, 2013 at 4:44 pm

I am getting fed up to see car manufacturers launching cars with girls at the background. Why can’t we men be included? Why can’t there be men in shorts promoting car launches as well? What is wrong with this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 39
          • caruser on Mar 27, 2013 at 7:17 pm

men in shorts? Maybe in Thailand is ok but over here, there is a ban on LGBT remember?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
          • all fake women alh !! siam got many fake woman…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
          • Visitor on Mar 31, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Or better, just omit the accompanying male or female models. I notice that in US nowadays, no such people be seen standing near new cars. During the launch of 3rd gen Prius there, the model (a male) wore a dress which looked Iike a nehru style jacket.

• Does it still has that stupid down facing rear blower?? if does, kill the engineer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • Sam Loo on Mar 27, 2013 at 9:54 am

no..it does looks like camry..both ugly as hell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 15
      • kuekexcel on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:50 pm

The design of this Accord going backward! The interior looks like the same as the previous model which is actually mimicking BMW 5 series. The exterior is………..God! Forgive me I feel lazy to comment much!

Pity Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • Sam Loo on Mar 27, 2013 at 4:18 pm

What a toilet of a car. The Camry can smoke this anytime. Camry is far better than Honda junks. Buy Toyota for better RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 71
      • Mat Global on Apr 01, 2013 at 11:58 am

Honda Accord globally got ESP. Will they remove ESP in Malaysia just to save cost and endanger people’s lives and create more deaths on the road?

• nothing special…looks like another facelift for accord

• nice interior, more modern than the camry, and yet mature enough…
    the front should look good in real, not sure abt the rear….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 15
    • Alpha on Mar 26, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Look more upmarket than the Camry. Somewhat reminds me of the Legend. And introduction of the new EarthDreams engine is something to cheer for. I think it’d look better with a twin exhausts. A better buy than the Camry.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 222 Thumb down 6
      • alldisc on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:25 pm

unfortunately, that was not the case since 1999 – Honda still fails to beat Toyota Camry in terms of sales, a total of 14 years. Honda must work hard to find new tricks under its sleeve.

5 speed gearbox, super large dimension has proven not necessarily to work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 60
        • Sgt Scoop on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:44 pm

I guess that Honda’s sporty philosophy isn’t ever going to win over the average D Segment buyer. Not many grandfathers will choose performance over comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
      • Yes u are right.. it reminds me of the Honda Legend i once stared admirably when i was a kid at a honda showroom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
    • tricycle on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:00 pm

the front, the side views are great

the back view doesn’t fit the front and side

overall: everything is good design

not sure whether changing the front supspension from double wishbone to macpherson will affect the driving characteristic

hopefully in a good way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
      • Roger Tan on Mar 27, 2013 at 10:06 am

Too conservative design for my liking, but alas, we need to also remember the segment that this car is targeting

• Anon Kneemas on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:18 pm

The front struts setup is essential for the high crash safety test performances the new Accord has exhibited including the new stringent overlap test. In addition, Honda claims better NVH levels over the front wishbone and of course production cost savings. I haven’t driven the new Accord yet but so far most reviews point out that the new Accord still retain its traditional virtues. Having said that I reckon the new Mazda 6 will edge it out in sporty handling flair.

• Kalun on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:22 pm

This car target the smart Uncles who knows that Camry is a bad and unsafe car. Recently, this Accord score 5 star EuroNCAP and pass the IILS test in the USA.

This car target a more mature audience. A classic looks of luxury to the eyes on the Japanese or maybe the rich asians.
      K5 and Mazda 6 target the new generation audiences.

Some people say it’s ugly but the more mature people will say it looks more appropriate in any way.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
      • what EuroNCAP…they dun sell this accord in europe, over there its a different accord (wt brilliant idtec diesel engine not this torqueless ivtec)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • fevrier on Mar 27, 2013 at 12:30 pm

However, Accord US has great result (only major difference are CVT vs 5-speed auto).

Both Accord & Civic scored “Top Safety Pick+”, which means all highest rating for all test, which many failed at small overlap test.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gOOMR-fTBWg?w=200

• Sam Loo on Apr 05, 2013 at 8:31 pm

Kimchis will bribe US official to fake these reports. Sushi will make their standards higher that the tests requirements

• I don’t think US officials are dependant on bribes as much as our own officials Sam.

• Retep on Mar 26, 2013 at 6:45 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 159
    • I don’t see anything wrong with the look of the 6th gen, but yeah the rear, like most Honda recently, is un-inspirational. I would’t say Horrid, but they do look identical to the Hyundai Genesis. Really wish for the 6-speeder manual the US has thou that’s impossible. What is possible the PHEV version, hope that will come quick.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 4
      • frenzyaustin on Mar 26, 2013 at 7:51 pm

It does looks slightly like the 6th gen actually. The front lamp and also the “facial” has the CD chassis Accord looks, so do the rear lamp, which looks like a Genesis but it’s derived from CD chassis accord though.

• the gonz legacy on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:30 pm

To me personally i dont care if its look like 6th generation accord or not…the design direction is belong to honda trademark itself, why dont u bashing on several porsche 911 model because it look identical between them? btw this latest accord just beautiful..hopefully accord coupe US version also will be in malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • Joker The Great on Mar 26, 2013 at 6:47 pm

Look Great compare to T Brand car….cheers…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 8
  • Earth_Dream on Mar 26, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Nice improvement over the previous gen… Camry can tapao go home.. it’s now between Accord and Mazda 6…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 206 Thumb down 6
  • A safe move by honda? I hope the specs doesn’t vary too much from the ones stated above. i.e. the interior looks well equip. In the market for a D-segment car, any recommendations? But for me, i think im going for either the M6 or this. P.S (only can get 2.0)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 4
    • frenzyaustin on Mar 26, 2013 at 7:58 pm

D segment in Malaysia is actually quite good EXCEPT CAMRY!
      Good fc = Mazda 6, Honda Accord (Passat’s TSI?)
      Driving Dynamic = Ford Mondeo, Volkswagen Passat, Mazda 6, Peugeot 408
      Looks = Mazda 6, Volkswagen Passat, Honda Accord, Peugeot 408, KIA K5
      Reliability = Honda Accord (Probably Mazda 6?)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 6
      • Thanks man. So many to choose from. Im narrowing it down to M6 , accord , 508* and k5. Best thing is to go and test drive them. Thanks anyways

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • frenzyaustin on Mar 26, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Sorry, It’s 508. Not paying too much attention towards peugeot

• Sam Loo on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:35 pm

Please buy the K5 or Sonata, because I will make money when you sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
      • if they bring the passat tdi, Mazda6 skyactive diesel or the Mondeo tdci…they will trounce all the other in FC

• kuekexcel on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:56 pm

C’mon, please tell us you are the Toyota hater! You digging this list from your own mind! It’s gonna be very funny!

The best selling D segment not even in your list but only appear in the worst list! You are trying to say that those Camry owners in M’sia or the whole world is stupid but you are the smartest guy who created this ranking? Oh…… Pity!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • They are?

• well, camry is indeed ugly and the spec is very outdated…i wont say that camry owners in malaysia are stupid, they might be either a hardcore fan of T or playing on the safe side when it comes to RV or didn’t do their research enough when they bought the car.

Cheers mate!

• Like the CRV, it’s more mature in design and grown up, neither ugly nor striking, same goes for the interior. Sad news is that the CVT didn’t make it to SEA (well, sad to some, I hate CVTs), but at least it still has direct injection Earth Dream engine and plenty of tech featured in the Thai spec car. The 2.4+CVT in America is also quick doing 7.0 sec sprint to 100kph, so wonder how the 5-speed auto fairs. IMO, better than a Camry and Sonata, but just trails the Mazda 6 and K5 Optima…..A good car, but not a great car, sincerely this is from a Honda fan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
  • ahchai69 on Mar 26, 2013 at 7:05 pm

I think editor make mistake here, not a new model but a facelift..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 40
    • alldisc on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:08 pm

the facelift process was done during the previous mid-life somewhere in 2011 if not mistaken but the accord has reached the norm 4 years life cycle.

this is a totally new re-eingineered with revised wheelbase and lightened body.
      Honda finally agreed to follow Camry’s foot operated parking brake, as more consumers prefer such easier method that frees up space at the centre console area.

• Btw, is the blacked part on the lower front bumper standard on every spec? It looks good, just curious.

• Denny on Mar 26, 2013 at 7:15 pm

This is essentially going to be rebadged as the new Proton Perdana, right ? It will be much cheaper. Why not wait ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • When they will launch it here?I’m waiting for it.hope its better than my 8gen civic

• Hoping there will be a 3.5L engine offered in Brunei. Just like there current model.

• Sgt Scoop on Mar 26, 2013 at 10:51 pm

They offered the 3.5 for the 8th generation but only sold 2 so they pulled it. I believe it was RM250k CBU Japan.

• hope we also get the Navi as a standard or optional in the 2.0. I’ve got the 8th Gen which had the dashboard layout done perfectly for a navigation screen but Honda Malaysia didn’t see it that way.

PS : still itching for the 508, hopefully HM doesn’t delay 9th Gen for too long.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 26, 2013 at 7:48 pm

Been scratching my head for a while with a deja vu feel of the rear end.

Yep. the other brand with “H”. The Genesis. So this new accord apes the Genesis rear end and with the front of the old NF Sonata. What a reversal of fortune.

Still better looking than the new Camry, and way less vulgar than the kitted up version.

• … which is why, here in Australia, we opted for an Orchid White in the Modulo body kit. Disguises the daggy rear lines just enough. I opted not to drive it, (my wife is the critical driver), but when we pick up on the weekend I expect to like it, judging by my wife’s comments.

• Fahmi on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:02 pm

Worth for a look… Looks nice…. Specs are also nice…

• seancorr on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:05 pm

Awesome car indeed and the model that carries all the technology (Collision Mitigation Brake System, LaneWatch Blind Spot Display and Active Cornering Lights) is the 2.4 Tech model which I hope will be introduced here in Malaysia…and going through their brochure this model should also have Adaptive Cruise Control which is a first in this segment.

One thing missing from the Thai Accord is the reverse and front sensors. They’re applying the same concept (CRV too) of only giving the reverse camera which to me is not that handy. Imagine reversing in total darkness or when the sun is rising…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • frenzyaustin on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:09 pm

Some keep complaining the looks but IMO it’s quite good actually. The exterior is simple yet right amount of chrome make it looks elegance. The Genesis-sy rear is quite a drawback, but still match nicely with the front.
    Interior, simple, comfortable environment and “Wood” trim makes the car looks more upper class. But the red start-stop button just messed up. The red button doesn’t match the tone in the cabin at all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • kuekexcel on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:59 pm

Wao, if Camry comes with chrome, wood trim then it is uncle design. Accord is now comes with these and you said looks elegance, upper class………… Wao wao wao.

• seancorr on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:14 pm

The exterior looks off to me. The pre FL looks better but the engine is exciting….and they need to intro it to the Ford Focus too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
    • seancorr on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Oops wrong page..that comment was supposed to be for the Fiesta haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • where’s the CVT? Why stick on 5AT =( ASEAN country so unique..half cooked earth dreams..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • squall_shinoda on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:00 am

In the US, this Accord is powered by an all-new 2.4L direct injection Earth Dreams petrol engine mated with 6-speed auto. Pray hard for this 6-speeder to become a standard gearbox, and this all-new engine to come to our shores.

• Anon Kneemas on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:07 pm

Nope, all USDM 4 cylinder Accords use the new CVT or manual transmission. Only the V6 models use automatics.

• No, this is indeed half-cooked Earth Dreams as it is equipped with an Earth Dreams engine but not a CVT.

• Sultan of bulu on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:20 pm

The rear end looks like a Hyundai genesis sedan.
    I would rather have the Nissan teana, that car feel like a true luxury car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 45
    • Sam Loo on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:36 pm

Compare kimchis to china or india cars, as they are in the tier 2 manufacturer category

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Ahmadfaris93 on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:40 pm

Looks more matured than the predecessor which I like. Yes, the rear looks like the old gen but improved. The interior is just nice, it’s better than Camry in my opinion. But for the 2.0 engine, they should let it be at least with 200Nm of torque. Other than that, this will give people the more alternative to choose. Between a Camry , Mazda 6 or even the Accord.

• Why the Japs don’t introduce 1.8 or 2.0 Turbo for thier sedan, just like Audi, BMW, Mercedes, VW and etc? Once you are living with turbo car, you will find NA car not much fun anymore. 2.0, 2.4, never change….boring….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 35
    • frenzyaustin on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:57 pm

Japanese Turbo is to increse horsepower, not for green car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • If you want green car, go for hybrid or EV. I owned a 8th Gen Civic & 10th Gen Altis (Altis sold, because it’s damn screw up car) and now I have a conti Turbo car. I enjoyed it very much. If any of you love to stay with 2.0, 2.4 NA, no one can stop you. But once you experienced with the speedy turbo charged and smooth (7 or 8 speeds) cars, you will say bye bye to those NA car….

• Sam Loo on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:38 pm

Jap cars are designed for reliability and durabilty.

If you like the tow truck operator to be on your speedial, go for sui kwan euro

If you like to be shown the hilux when you trade in your car, get kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 29
      • Sam, Jap cars are designed for reliability and durability? You must be dreaming or living back in 80s. My Altis has steering rack problem, rear brake sounds problem & etc….My civic has rear bearing “kong” several times within the warranty period, some electrical component failure & etc. So, reliable?

People has the right to choose what ever car they like. For me, NA is boring just like your Toyota.

Sam, Listen….Listen…..Listen!!!!!!!!!!

the new camry, SUCKS…..& the coming vios….SUCKS…… Worst ever, the toyota 86…..OMG……still thinking of living in 80s……Sam Sam…..so pity….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • You make me like irritated, Sam……Sick!

• seriously weird people. My City VTEC CVT flywheel problem make me scratch head for alot of years already. Try to ask around? RELIABILITY..mana? I never called tow truck with my old Proton Wira but it happened with my City. DURABILITY?

• Sam Loo on Apr 05, 2013 at 8:36 pm

Unfortunately, I am with the majority of owners that have the least problems with Japs, especially Toyota.

Just search for blogs and forums on kimchis, VW, BMW and Benz and you will know why.

• ContiFan on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:45 am

TOTALLY AGREE WITH YOU! Germans well known as carmakers and people moving to 7 to 8 speed already and the Japs are still at 5 speed? Quite a joke. Naturally aspirated engines are quite slow actually. Compare to turbo charged? How to compare. Jap cars are becoming less and less progressive. Camry / Accord / Teana / Mazda 6, totally nothing to shout about. Disappointing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • japan old school on Apr 04, 2013 at 6:27 pm

Pegeut and VW having so much problems on gearbox. The more u upgrade the software the more problems arise. Hello….still dont know ka? Go and check ler ….Once sent to workshop…u wait to get back few days or weeks. what a joke!!!!

• Colin Wong on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:26 pm

All the current models with turbo engine are mated with an Aisin gearbox. Do your homework mate.

• despite its looks, this new gen accord is actually one of the most solid D segment sedan, the other is suzuki kizashi

just google or youtube IIHS overlap frontal test

camry is the worst in this test

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 4
    • kuekexcel on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Your comment doesn’t reflect the fact. Are you trying to say that those Camry owners are stupid? You are trying to challenge the intelligence of the most number of D segment’s car owner in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Did we said that they are stupid? YOU are the one. We are saying the Camry. Not the owners.

• japan old school on Apr 04, 2013 at 6:32 pm

what a silly statemnet. hello….toyota still sells very well..no 1 malaysia and no 1 in the world. Conti cars like Vw or peugeut still lagging la. so much of a gear box problems until today cant settle. go ask around lor. go to their website lor. Gearbox and engine is the heart of the car, if u have problem means you die lor.

• Sam Loo on Apr 05, 2013 at 8:39 pm

Gear box problem in Toyota?

That is VW and Volvo.

Just visit HiTech Recond (gearbox specialist) and talk to Mr. Tee. He will tell you which manufacturers to avoid.

• Anon Kneemas on Mar 26, 2013 at 9:24 pm

Interesting to note why the ASEAN spec Accords are equipped with the 5sp Auto box rather than the (excellent for a CVT) CVT on the USDM Accords. I hope Honda Malaysia won’t do a Camry and dumb down the Accord for the local market. Aside from the handsome and detailed styling (yes the rear end mimics the pre-face lift Genesis sedan)the Accord brings a lot of ‘exotic’ technology down to a more accessible level. This car will definitely cause Toyota Malaysia to rethink their Camry offering.

• mmouse on Mar 26, 2013 at 10:16 pm

5 Speed auto still? WTF?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • valjean on Mar 26, 2013 at 10:41 pm

The dashboard display in the middle looks so so so similar to Lexus GS range!!

• Sgt Scoop on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:03 pm

I like the front, not sure about the back but I’ll wait to see it in the metal before I comment.

I guess the features are what will really swing my decision to stick or twist on the new Accord. If the 2.0 VTi-L has six airbags and bluetooth, I’ll be getting my calculator out.

• nanonano on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:08 pm

looks a bit like the eclass though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • What design is this?
    Way lose to Accord 2008-2012

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 52
  • So now honda is copying hyundai (genesis) and toyota is copying kia (new vios). I see a trend here.

• Plasticky, us with the Civic. And those faux wood inserts are so haphazard. The wood grain does not flow across panels. It’s fake anyways, so can Honda just align them back?

It’s probably coincidental but the front looks like the facelifted Passat CC. The back is very bland though. Looks like the last gen Sonata.

• jolly_idiot on Mar 27, 2013 at 12:21 am

Do I have problem with my eyes or my screen? The dashboard design cue looks so curvy from steering to center console.

• The photo posted, the gear shift is indicate P>R>N>D>S. The sequence of of the gear seems to be CVT sequence not like the 8th gen with P>R>N>D>D3>2>1.

http://paultan.org/2013/03/26/honda-accord-bangkok/dscf4930/

http://paultan.org/2012/07/12/honda-civic-9th-gen-just-launched-from-rm115k-5yrs-warranty-unlimited-mileage-and-10k-service-interval/10-gear/

All the sifu can advise?

Thanks.

• i guess the higher specs will be using CVT

http://paultan.org/2013/03/26/honda-accord-bangkok/dscf4647/

• seancorr on Mar 27, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Nope you’re wrong…even the City we have here uses the same sequence as the new Accord and it’s a 5 speed auto…

• Babemoon on Mar 27, 2013 at 1:03 am

My dad just got his new Camry 2 months ago, now I wonder if he see what does he feel ! That was a big WOW compare to the Camry interior !

• heybadigol on Mar 27, 2013 at 1:17 am

How come power output so low compared to the US 2.4 models with DI engine. The Accord Sport has 189bhp & 250nm of torque (compared to this one’s 175 bhp & 225 nm). Seems like its still using the old engine.

• seancorr on Mar 27, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Its the same earth dreams engine badigol but I think its due to our fuel quality here

• Anon Kneemas on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:10 pm

USDM Accord Sport is a special trim level. Aside from cosmetics (interior trim, foglights and 18s), it has a little bit more hp than non-sport 4cyl variants due to the Sport specific dual exhausts. The other variation in power levels can be attributed to tuning (to match fuel quality and local conditions) and measurement standards.

• VWowner on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:38 am

it looks terrible and trimming away things and higher price. If u choose the 2.4L version and willing to pay 190k, forget about it. Buy a Passat CBU Sportline!! U will have zero regrets. The only regret u will have is not buying one and to settle for something which is of lesser in build, performance, handling, advanced technology.

• VWowner on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:38 am

it looks terrible and trimming away things and higher price. If u choose the 2.4L version and willing to pay 190k, forget about it. Buy a Passat CBU Sportline!! U will have zero regrets. The only regret u will have is not buying one and to settle for something which is of lesser in build, performance, handling, advanced technology.

• Pat San on Mar 27, 2013 at 1:37 pm

VW has just recalled more than 380,000 units of their cars due to crapy DSG. The DSG problem is still unsolved. Your problem might come after 5 years warranty period over…..some VW owners have already experienced this problem…so what is so good about VW?????…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo on Apr 05, 2013 at 8:41 pm

wow, the DSG for VW is gonna kill the RV of all VW’s.

Maybe I should start another biz division trading used VW.

Kimchi trading is really doing well, thanks to the sorhais that buy new kimchis

• MARTIN on Mar 27, 2013 at 7:40 am

May i ask why cars are also so expensive in Thailand? This Accord has a starting price of RM138k in Thailand!? That’s similar to the price in Malaysia. Is it that Thai gov imposes very high automotive tax in Thailand too? Please advise, thanks.

• CBU model perhaps.

Its not a shock when thai gov heavily taxed on the CBU cars.

• seancorr on Mar 27, 2013 at 4:38 pm

I did notice the high price of the car in Thailand…just hoping we don’t get to own a 2.4 Tech for RM200k or a 2.4 Navi for RM185k…if that were the case then I think most people would opt for the Merc C180 even though its the botak spec C Class.

Price of RM175k or so for the 2.4 Navi would be a Camry killer though hahaha.

• Milan on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:27 am

Very good car! Good Resale value!!

• MarcusY on Mar 27, 2013 at 9:30 am

I noticed this new accord come with “foot brake”??

• seancorr on Mar 27, 2013 at 4:39 pm

Yes sir it does and its not a good idea. Even the Merc C Class uses that and it’s not the most handy type of ‘hand’ brakes.

• Anon Kneemas on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:14 pm

US market dictates more center console space to fit large cup holders to better carry their all-important 5,000 calorie-super-mumbo-jumbo-big-gulp and triple venti lattes. Like the manual transmission, the hand brake is a fast dying breed.

• JackeyDeck on Mar 27, 2013 at 9:32 am

It looks to me like [the uncle-car who 45+ yet dressed like young chap (accord 2008-2012)] finally realize that he is too old for this shit and to become an real uncle again.

Regardless of how it look like, most people who purchased segment D is either the person who is in the need of elevating his status or uncle with a larger family wish to drive around with his loved one in a better ride. It will still sell pretty well. Regardless of it look

• Silver on Mar 27, 2013 at 10:12 am

NIce looking interiror.. not too old yet classy…. the interior and exterioir fits perfetly with thier target market… people aorund 35++.. the external design does not have too much flare which is good as ppl that buys these cars prefer it that way… lets jsut hope that malaysia’s spec has all the gadget our thai counterparts have

• shawal on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:09 am

i wouldve prefer the us white leather trim with black gloss plastic, looks more modern and less claustrophobic

• shawal on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:11 am

1 feature i find fascinating is the side mirrors tilt downwards when u put in reverse to aid in parking

• good job honda! Back to uncle design..

• taiko on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:07 pm

whatever u say, whatever u comment, whatever the RV,i choose picture 15

• manyak syok on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Ok, this new Accord complete my frustration over Honda’s new designs. Looks do matters.

• Love to c new tech like Active Noise Control (emits noise-cancelling sound waves for added cabin refinement), Collision Mitigation Brake System, LaneWatch Blind Spot Display and Active Cornering Lights.
    But sad that they still use ivtec and 5 speed instead of idtec diesel engine and CVT.
    Anyway, hope this spec remain d same when it comes to Msia.

• japanese car looks more and more suck and downgrade.time to change to VW cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Fact that everybody cannot deny. Why camry outsell accord in terms of volume???

It Means camry more popular than accord.

Based on my experience.
    Driving my father in law camry compare to my sister accord….camry is more comfort than accord.

But for sportier feel…u can feel it in accord (due to lower seats setting compared to camry)

• somebody pls give me a hammer i want to smash those pathetic looking rear lights

• sambalbabi on Mar 28, 2013 at 10:35 am

hmmm…..better than the previous one.

• I’m seriously hating my new Camry more and more…. Yes it’s damn comfortable and spacious compared to any of its rivals.. Its a fact.. BUT THE SPECS AND PRICE ARE F**KED!!!!!! NO SPECS AT ALL FOR THE PRICE I PAID AT 165k…. Not even an electro chromic mirror which is quite common now.. Dual airbags for 2.0G…… 4 for 2.5v??? Where the hell did the famous 10 airbag system go for the new Camry?? No VSC accross the range.. No LCD screen as standard, I had to opt for it from UMW.. No blind spot monitor, no memory seats, no NOTHING……………. I have a love hate relationship with my Camry right now… I love comfort cars, that’s why I got the Camry, but UMW is pissing me off right now with the extreme lack of safety features and extreme lack of standard equipments…

I hate Hondas.. But I hope the new ACCORD is fitted with class leading specs to fight with the Mazda 6 and Teanna and optima.. That way, UMW will stop being a bit*h to their customers and start giving the customers what they pay for! Considering Camry is the most expensive in its class in Malaysia!

• Joe Lye on Mar 29, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Solve this issue once and for all by voting the right parties coming election GE13 then everybody happy …….OK

• with a name like Loo no wonder he compares the accord to a toilet. In every test carried out by Car and driver magazine over the last 20 years the Accord has kicked the camry’s ass. I rest my case.

• Honda Malaysia should show some respect to it’s customers by bringing in the new direct injection engine with the CVT gearbox..as Car and Driver magazine says,’finally,a CVT gearbox we can live with..”.Using the old engine and tranny is tanatmount to cheating its loyal customers..it will only be shooting itself in the foot.

• Ken. T on Mar 29, 2013 at 2:17 am

Camry better looking than Accord, now Vios also better looking than City. What is a Honda fan to do…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • squall_shinoda on Mar 29, 2013 at 10:06 am

The meter panels are exactly the same as the new 4th-gen CR-V, except the speedo reads up to 260 km/h, compared to CR-V’s 220 km/h speedo.

• Joe Lye on Mar 29, 2013 at 5:47 pm

What happen to Japanese car industries recently …so out trend with their design…Europe ,Korean car is getting popular already…don’t expect to get top rank again if keep on like that. I give 50 mark better than Proton car.

• In fact in every comparo the Accord in its previous guises has always come up on top beating the likes of camry,ford fusion/mondeo,mazda 6 and nissan. In every category;handling,engine,gearbox,ride quality space and build quality.

• V12Kompressor on Apr 02, 2013 at 11:14 am

looks like one of the showcar is equipped with a CVT box (P-R-N-D-S) while another has a 5 speed box (P-R-N-D-D3-L). Could it be the “Earthdreams’ 2.4L engine is mated with a CVT box while the regular 2.0L soldiers on the 5 speed box?

• seancorr on Apr 02, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Nope….its sold with a 5 speed gearbox regardless of engine choice. Please download the spec sheet from Honda Thailand for clarity.

Just asked my SA and she said the new Accord is due out close to the end of this year…hmmmm so how are they gonna achieve their target sales this year?

• Dr. Mecha on Apr 02, 2013 at 2:50 pm

I still love Camry, now their converting it into more like a sports car rather than a premium business type car

• gOOsh on Apr 03, 2013 at 5:00 pm

this not-so-looking-good car… if sell in our bolehland, sure sells like hotcake… kononnya, HONDA la katakan…

• syok sendiri on Apr 06, 2013 at 12:56 pm

Been looking to buy either Accord or Camry last year.. New Camry too ugly to my eye, Accord, already end of age.. still ugly looking.
    End up buying used 2 years old BMW 320D series.., in similar price range.. Think i’ve made a good decision for myself..
    Who need Japanese car when there’s plenty of good used continental around…

• curious on Apr 07, 2013 at 1:36 am

Just a curiosity guys. Dont flame me for asking this question. I really do want to know. Ok here goes…

From paultan.org report on the thai auto show, it seems that the prices of cars in Thailand is similar to that in Malaysia? How is this possible? They do not have a national car maker and whatnot to justify increasing the car prices?

“2.0 EL, 2.0 EL Navi, 2.4 EL, 2.4 EL Navi and 2.4 Tech, priced between 1.299 and 1.799 million baht (RM137k-188k)”<<<look at this. The price is similar to what honda Malaysia is selling (In malaysia its 138k for the 2L low spec, 144k for the 2L high spec and 167k for the 2.4L high spec)

Do anyone familiar in thailand policy know what is going on here? i thought they are the Detroit of Asia? Shouldn't they sell cheaper cars there?

Really don't flame me, i really do want to know why.

• That my friend..is a fact that every ‘Malaysians’ love to ignore.

• AZMAN HAMID on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:33 am

The JDM 6th Gen Accord had used Electric Power Steering before. So this is NOT the first time EPS appearing in the Accord.

• Walter on Apr 25, 2013 at 12:05 pm

The front looks OK . The side is same . The back not so nice and do not match the front. The Dashboard, previous model seems better design.

• E36E46 on Jul 13, 2013 at 7:25 pm

2 airbag vs 6 airbags
    Manual door lock vs Speed sensing auto door lock
    Manual door unlock upon impact vs Impact sensing door unlock

Resale Value vs Safety

My choice is clear !