Malaysian taxi revamp gets rolling with NGV Exoras

proton-exora-cab

Malaysian taxis, the less said the better. But the situation could improve, if a current bid to revamp the country’s taxi system succeeds. The Sun reports that 1,000 individual taxi licences for new, specially-fitted cabs will be given out, as announced by PM Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak on Sunday (March 24), where the first 200 licences were given out.

“We need a taxi service that tourists can feel comfortable with, and where the drivers are polite and honest… this will raise the nation’s image,” he said at the event, adding that more individual licences can be given out, provided there is bai’ah (an oath of allegiance) between the government and taxi drivers.

“That is why in a small way, today, we need to create bai’ah among us. The BN government can give more individual licences, but in addition, the taxi drivers need to promise the government to be polite, honest and upstanding taxi drivers, who will not forget the governments’ goodwill when the time comes,” he added.

The 1,000 new licences, which will be given out in stages, will be given only for the purchase of a specially-modified, NGV-equipped Proton Exora. The 1Malaysia Development Board (1MDB) will be giving a grant of RM5,000 for each unit of the Exora to make it more affordable for the cabbies.

At the same event, Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar clarified that the 1,000 licences is not in addition to some 30,000 taxis licenses already in existence. “The licences are previously owned by taxi companies, which are giving up these licences as part of their corporate social responsibility,” he said. The new licences are non-transferable, but can be shared with a second driver.

As you can imagine, the Exora cabs, which will come with credit card readers and tracking/monitoring devices, will be much more comfortable to ride in compared to the crummy old Sagas we’re used to. However, there’s still the matter of (some) unscrupulous taxi drivers to deal with. Changing cars is easier than changing attitudes.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• teamsleepnine on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:16 pm

pls add cctv monitor..pls pls pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • oolala on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:26 pm

The BN government can give more individual licences, but in addition, the taxi drivers need to promise the government they will not forget the governments’ goodwill when the time comes.

WHAT ?????????????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 12
      • black on Mar 26, 2013 at 5:18 pm

janji ditepati maa..

• 1 roti japati please.

• Sam Loo on Mar 27, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Teksi drivers need to revamp their attitude. They should stop being abusive and stop promoting prostitution. Any single guy enters a teksi, the drivers ask whether we want girl and they can bring us to any girl of any nationaility we like. This is filthy. The Tourism Board, please take note, ALL your teksi drivers are part time pimps in this country. Such a disgrace. No point changing cars when your teksi driver is doing side business like this.

• Desperate whore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
  • Self-proclaimed Sultan of Bulu on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:40 pm

I know Proton is a national car but why don’t they get a Nissan NV200 like the ones in NYC and London? It is cheaper to buy, maintain and run. National car protection must go, as well as AP, the high import and excise duty! Vote wisely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 27
    • diamjer on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:47 pm

are you saying NV2000 is a better MPV than Exora?

anyway Tan Chong Motor only have 2 variant, Panel Van for cargo and semi panel van with 5 seater. How is that going to be comparable to Exora MPV to be used to transport tourist?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 22
      • Self-proclaimed Sultan of Bulu on Mar 26, 2013 at 5:09 pm

There is, I am sure with special orders they could do it. Saw it in Thailand and Indonesia. When I was in Bangkok Thailand, I sat in the Exora taxi. They only use the first and second row. The third row has to go because of the additional tank. For taxi MPV i think it is better to get Starex or something.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
      • chris on Mar 26, 2013 at 5:28 pm

And you think Exora is a better MPV than NV200?? Somebody is either on drug or our “world best” education system as claimed by DPM is working!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 25
      • Expatriate VN on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:35 am

FYI, Evora is not comparable to Nissan NV2000. It is crap quality MPV with equally crap engine! Why force taxi driver to support this cronies car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • Silly you.. this is funded by you know who. Of coz have to support crowny.

• NeoLover on Mar 26, 2013 at 7:39 pm

Exora is a good MPV. it will make a good MPV as taxi as well. spacious and just enough for the needs to transport more than 5 people with luggage from A to B. if we want to promote Malaysian brand, using it for public use is the best way. suggesting to promote foreign brand on a government public effort just not right. I also hate the obsolete ‘National Automative Policy’. but to suggest foreign brand on government effort is just selfish. if the government doesn’t support (not protect) national brand. who else will? i’m sure you will avoid proton/perodua at all cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
      • Expatriate VN on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:33 am

What you mean by National brand, how about smartphone, where is national brand? So because of national brand, then if there are no national brand you don’t need to use that products!

typical cronies, crap-triotic and AP King mentality!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
        • Hero86 on Mar 27, 2013 at 12:33 pm

aiyaa.. if we ever have smartphone with msia brand, do u think u will buy it? HUH!

• atnamwolley on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:45 pm

I think the bigger problem is not the type of taxis. You can provide them with Rolls Royce even but it would be pointless if consumers continue to be at mercy of drivers who choose where they want to go and not use the meter. Period.
    Getting to the root cause of Malaysian taxi woes will require the political will to do away with the rent-seeking arrangement that dogs the entire system currently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
    • diamjer on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:55 pm

agree with you, bad guy is always bad guy doesn’t matter what outfits he choose to wear.

• mutings on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:09 am

Amen, brother. I think the image of Malaysia’s taxi drivers are beyond repair. They have gained an international-level notoriety all on their own. We need to work on that. Giving all these a-holes a (bigger) new set of wheels is just going to blow their a-holes even bigger. Or wider. Or stinkier. I don’t know, pick one. Or all.

• tokmoh on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:55 pm

Saw an Exora taxi the other day, rear windscreen written something like “Terima kasih Datuk Noh Omar, jasamu dikenang hingga akhir hayat”

Pelanggan sara hidup dia tak nak bersyukur macam tu plak. Asyik nak maki, 1001 alasan tak nak pickup, cekik darah makan duit harooooom, dan paling teruk merogol dan memburukkan negara dekat tourist dengan attitude samseng.

Malaysia ke arah kuasa teksi samseng dunia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
    • diamjer on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:50 pm

yang buruk tak ramai mana pun, kau cakap macamtuh
      apa pulak perasaan driver teksi lain?

main sedap mulut jer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 34
    • driller on Mar 26, 2013 at 5:22 pm

drillz nyer mana pondan?

• tokmoh on Mar 27, 2013 at 1:56 am

1st result on google: http://malaysiacrimewatch.lokety.com/taxi-driver-assaulted-and-raped-17-year-old/

Oh sure, maybe you’re convinced this is isolated case, we’re safest country in Asia. Hoorayyyy

• Expatriate VN on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:37 am

Try google same thing for Vietnam, I don’t think you can find it!

• NeoLover on Mar 26, 2013 at 7:55 pm

My uncle used to drive a taxi, ‘rent’ the permit from ‘someone’ else and had to pay RM50 everyday to that person from his hard earning. have you ever thought that taxi drivers are also people trying to feed their wife and children at home before making bad remark? the government also shouldn’t say ‘not to forget the government’s good will when the time comes’…that is playing dirty. we should not decide our choice based on the ‘things’ government give to us. it is their responsibility and duty because WE choose them to govern.

• tokmoh on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:18 am

“used to” tells me your uncle is no longer a taxi driver. I hope he is still well.

Still, who gives taxi drivers permission to be a crook?

It’s a lost cause. I don’t know why your uncle is no longer a taxi driver, but if it is consciously made, he made the right choice. Forget sweet ideals of being an honest taxi driver, it’s impossible as your uncle experienced. The only way to be a taxi driver in Malaysia is to be a bloodsucker. Otherwise, the wife and kids will be hungry.

Anyway, we made our choices. We chose a govt that rewards cronies and bullies taxi drivers to the point they become crooks, rapists and a national shame as the world’s worst taxi. Congrats and happy voting guys. Let’s be proud of it maybe, as the govt we chose like to tell us, syukurlah and anything wrong, please blame Anwar. Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Ah Jib Gor 2.0 on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:29 am

The very fact that he needed to “rent” and “pay” an exorbitant sum daily to middle men (aka cronies) to drive a taxi to make a decent living means there is something very wrong with the licensing system.

• Wan Malaysia on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:58 pm

I know NGV is cheap but the tank takes so much space, it makes the taxi small. Also, who certifies this tanks as safe? What happens if got big accident?

• masteryoda on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:12 pm

the ngv tank is certified by DOSH (dept of safety and hazard).¶

• diamjer on Mar 26, 2013 at 5:00 pm

ever heard exploded NGV tanks? i mean the certified NGV. not the guy who replace the NGV with LPG cooking gas.

• I still think taxi drivers are the worst on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • Most Malaysian driver are horrible la.. I admit there are times that i go bonkers (because got pissed off by taxi). Taxi driver just go super saiyan bonkers mode.

• pandab on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:13 pm

One by one, little by little. Cannot expect change overnight but its a start. newer driver, possible newer attitude towards their new job. honestly haven’t get conned by these older cabbies yet. they’re super friendly la, that’s for sure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Cab&Grab on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:30 pm

Most of them will not change their disgrace attitude, I am sorry but most of the Msian taxi driver is one of the worse in the world. Shame the country will all the cheating and bad attitude towards tourist and the rakyat. Using meter is like asking them to die they will always refused. The best is we have to ask if they want to take us to our destination or not !Time to enforce the law and take away their license if they dont follow the law not giving them discount for Proton !

• Fagly on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:37 pm

This is open competition at very best.

• longjaafar on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Malaysian tax drivers become what they are because they need to get as much money as possible, to pay the the license owner who just sit back and collect money. I don’t believe that the 1000 was surrendered by existing licensees. They’d never do that. The only reason they “gave it up” is because it has been dormant for so long. They might have got too many to handle, whereas the poor drivers must wait for decades to get their own license. This scam is to enrich a few influential people. It’s as simple as that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • diamjer on Mar 26, 2013 at 5:08 pm

it say up there, licenses given up by taxi COMPANY as part of their social responsibilities.

nothing to do with dormant licenses or owner collecting money. where you get that fact?

• Expatriate VN on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:44 am

Do you believe in what gov said, what social responsibilities. They create cronies system, form company and take all the taxi driving license from individual, and now said return back the 1,000 to tax driver as part of CSR???? what a load of bullshit.

I think let PR take over Putrajaya, then the gov issue 10,000 license to individual as part of taxi driver welfare without the need to appreciate gov goodwill or crap about cronies company CSR!!!!!

• b sensible on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:50 pm

overstatement that new taxi made good drivers. attitude is the main problem for taxi drivers. problem is the control to monitor the behaviour of the taxi.
    just like the customer satisfaction index (CSI) for a vehicle service centre. whenever there is customer complaint, the CSI will be lower hence less incentive will the given by the principal.
    so if customers complaint ZZZ driver, then no free tyres, insurance, and even no taxi permit renewal subsequent years!

• diamjer on Mar 26, 2013 at 5:03 pm

current kejara scoring or euqivalent can be used to implement that. good idea

• azrai on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:51 pm

I see a lie in the permits and grants issued. PM said RM5k grant would be given for those new individual permit holder to buy a new Exora Taxi which price at RM64k, and will be RM59k after that RM5k grant. What?? The Exora basic (like those Exora taxi minus the rearest seat) already cost RM59k OTR. Haiyo..Markup price to RM64 than said get RM5k grant, the price then RM59??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • diamjer on Mar 26, 2013 at 5:04 pm

wait for the detail first

• cheapppl on Mar 26, 2013 at 5:09 pm

if you care to read…this exora is diff…..fitted with other tools….1 more thing….it’s leather seat version….meant for taxi only…

• no name on Mar 26, 2013 at 5:14 pm

FYI taxi yg guna kereta nasional dikecualikan dr SEMUA cukai dan duti eksais.
      sb tu saga skng klau bt taxi cost the driver only bout 19k (if i`m not mistaken)
      so sblm nk mrh tu baca dulu byk2..jgn main tembak je.

• RM19K? Your source of info?

• Expatriate VN on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:46 am

Saga RM 19K! main main tembak saja tu ……

• no name on Mar 27, 2013 at 3:41 pm

tu harga TANPA CUKAI DAN DUTI EKSAIS UTK TAXI SAHAJA la wei…
          baca betul2 statement aku tu.
          Expat if u dun understand BM…that is the incentive Msian govt give to MSian cab driver to use NAtional CAr as cab. all NAtional car being used as cab are not subject to tax and excise duty just like HYBRID CARS incentive.
          get that?

• no name on Mar 27, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Dibawah ini adalah perenggan ucapan Belanjawan 2012 yang menyebut secara langsung mengenai teksi tersebut…

“Tuan Yang di-Pertua,
            92. Pada perspektif lain, Kerajaan sentiasa peka dan mengambil berat beban yang ditanggung oleh pemilik teksi bajet persendirian akibat kos operasi yang meningkat. Tambahan pula, sebahagian besar teksi yang dimiliki telah melebihi jangka hayat ekonomi. Selain menjaga kebajikan serta menambah baik perkhidmatan teksi, Kerajaan mencadangkan pemilik teksi bajet persendirian diberi bantuan seperti berikut:

Pertama: Pengecualian 100 peratus duti eksais dan cukai jualan ke atas pembelian teksi baru buatan tempatan;

Kedua: Pengecualian bayaran balik duti eksais dan cukai jualan ke atas teksi yang berusia lebih dari tujuh tahun yang dijual atau ditukar milik;

Ketiga: Memansuhkan cukai jalan ke atas teksi bajet milikpersendirian;

• no name on Mar 27, 2013 at 3:57 pm

std saga flx now cost about rm35688.65. minus 10% sales tax and 75% duty….which will bring to about rm19292 only….
            but that only applicable to taxi owners who wants to use national car as taxi.

• messi on Mar 26, 2013 at 5:01 pm

Very desperate and trying to follow PAKATAN manisfesto to give the individual permit to driver.

But again, Najis got no ball to take back all the consortium taxi permit given out for the past years.

He is just spending the Rakyat money but did not get it back from the cronies.

This is what the different beween the BN and Pakatan. They should take back all the cronies money and give it to the poor rakyat instead of just spending.

NAJIS boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
  • first….taxi drivers should be able to apply licenses directly with the government. NOT through crony companies. Secondly, raise the farking price of the taxi fare so that they can earn abit more. Thirdly, impose extremely strict fines for those who dont use the meter. Giving them cheaper exora’s and better taxis does not tackle the real issue at hand. Hell, its not even a real issue.

• Fahmi on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:09 pm

Pilihanraya ini jangan lupa pangkah saya…… What???

• Time to promote another tourist product..”love taxi”, if u get what i meant. Spacious Exora for casual sozializing purposes..

• mabuka on Mar 27, 2013 at 1:32 am

Those older iswaras and wiras taxi are obsolete, some feels like falling apart especially if they are require to drive all the way to Klia

• masr86 on Mar 27, 2013 at 9:55 am

Don’t buy proton..all proton’s vehicle become taxi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7