Mazda6 – 15,000 units recalled over electrical issue

mazda6

Over in Australia, Mazda has initiated a safety-related recall programme for 1,531 units of its Mazda6 to rectify a potential quality issue with the vehicle’s electrical system.

The recall will eliminate a potential fault with a component in the DC/DC convertor that is located under the front passenger seat. The DC/DC converter is part of the car’s i-ELOOP brake energy recuperation system, which uses a capacitor to power the vehicle’s electrical components.

The company says that the fault may cause overheating of the unit and in a worst case scenario, a fire may result. Rectification of the issue will see the DC/ DC convertor replaced free of charge.

mazda i-eloop

The i-ELOOP system features a new 12-25V variable voltage alternator, a low-resistance electric double layer capacitor and the aforementioned DC/DC converter. Through kinectic energy from deceleration, the variable voltage alternator generates electricity at up to 25V for maximum efficiency before sending it to the Electric Double Layer Capacitor (EDLC) for storage.

The DC/DC converter then steps down the electricity from 25V to 12V before it is distributed directly to the vehicle’s electrical components. The system also charges the vehicle battery as necessary.

A total of approximately 15,000 Mazda6s globally are subject to the recall, including the Australian examples. The car was officially launched in Malaysia last week; there’s no word of the recall here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Polo Saga on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:48 pm

So fast got recall?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 5
    • b sensible on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:41 pm

don’t the read that “potential quality issue with the vehicle’s electrical system.” there is not a recall, but a preventive maintenance programme in anticipating the circumstances that will trigger the problem! better replace the word “recall” as someone might misinterpret it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 83
      • the ‘preventive maintenance programme’ is just a fancy term… meaning still the same as recall..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
      • Sam Loo on Mar 27, 2013 at 4:11 pm

See I told you all before, buy Toyota. Toyota got no problem at all. They do QC before they release. Mazda do QC, after they release their cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
        • manikam on Apr 03, 2013 at 12:10 am

ask me about toyota camry 2009..during warranty, front roto bengkok..front absober kapok..just after warranty over, both drive shaft kapok..air-condenser bocor..more to come i guess..make me takut always..

• T & H laugh again…VW say hello my new friend!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
  • Jinggo on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:56 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 320
    • sarcastic on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:21 pm

If that happen on Toyota and Honda, u wont say that… you will straight bash!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 552 Thumb down 35
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 223
        • sarcastic on Mar 26, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Just launch and then recall.. that’s funny to say.. it’s not even on the road after some period… that’s really a big problem with the QC… Means they did not have strict test before launching the car.. at least for Toyota and Honda, some of the cases are found only after months or years of using it.. You still don’t know what surprise ahead for you after this first recall for the MAZDA 6…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 264 Thumb down 12
  • Sam Loo on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:58 pm

told u all already !
    4 speed camry the best ! very reliable gearbox , and top build quality !

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 165 Thumb down 186
    • Kalun on Mar 26, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Bullcrap.
      This recall doesn’t really cause on the road accident where as Toyota faulty electronics where the accelerator pedal got stuck or steering wheel jam.

That can cause life threatening.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 59
    • Don’t come here and brag about your dinosaur 4 speed camry. Even your Toyota also have massive recall. Worst still the life threatening jam pedal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • River on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:03 pm

Good handling but problematic?Optima is still a good car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 40
    • Is not problematic…why is it so hard to make you guys understand that they are doing this as a precautions to make sure you can drive a perfectly good car. Well,Korean cars are known to be problematic and if they were to do a recall, I think you will have to visit your Kia showroom everyweek with your Optima..

• Green on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Love how good is the Japanese spirit and management system.

Problems found – recall. record. improve for future.

this is why, japanese car. always the top most reliable car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 22
    • Gabriel on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:56 pm

Only in countries like Australia and US.

Here? Swipe under the carpet. Problems? What problems?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 23
      • Don’t be stupid and jump to conclusion before you know the fact. This car just launch officially 2 weeks ago. That’s why we already heard they are holding on their 2.5 Mazda6 if you read the previous Paultan comment that Mazda is not releasing their 2.5 Mazda 6. It was launched earlier in Australia that’s why they have a recall.

• how good is the Japanese spirit and management system? They only started this after they were sue kaw kaw last time in the US regarding to “going forward without you wanting to go forward” problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • rally_fan on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:27 am

good or not, I’ll leave it to the individual to decide.. but any recall that involves safety and in this case, “fire”.. the manufacturer MUST do a recall whether they like it or not and this applies to all cars and not just Japanese cars. If they don’t do it or delay it and get found out like Toyota did in the US, its a big negative blow to their brand image and they got a huge fine from the US govt as well.

• Proton Saga Kejayaan Malaysia on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:08 pm

I went to Mazda showroom last weekend and the salesman kept harping on VW’s recall in China over the DSG. Now it’s their turn, poor guy.

Then he also kept saying Passat buyers are flocking to Mazda 6, which I think may be true to some extent. But as a Passat owner, I have to admit the Mazda 6 is very interesting indeed but somehow or the other the 6 lacks that solid “quality” feel. As a simple example, the glove compartment feels plasticky and drops down with a harsh thud but the Passat’s is lined and opens with a smooth motion. Small un-noticeable things but speaks volumes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
    • True, but Big an very noticeable thing like the DSG failure speaks higher volume..ops..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • Well, my 2 year old Golf is still puttering away nicely. And everyday when I go downhill towards Duta toll and the DSG amazingly downshifts without the slightest inteference, I say to myself, this is technology. Yes yes, DSG bashers, for sure you’ll say the Wira also downshifts laa but try the DSG out first then you’ll understand what’s called gear logic.

• carnoisseur on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:12 pm

new technology will always have teething problems but I must say this is the best looking car in its class,well at least i think so !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • I wonder does this affect the batch of Mazda 6 which is available in Malaysia now?

• asal Malaysia je x berkaitan

• Malaysia_not_affected on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:43 pm

as usual, malaysia batch is not affected . . >.<

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • taboogen on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:00 am

first service they changed it without telling customer mah…

• Zhong on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 386
    • altimatess on Mar 26, 2013 at 9:10 pm

Hi Zhong,

mind to share how long is the waiting time ?

and i wonder why this comment got down-voted so badly.. wat’s wrong with you ppl ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 93
      • i have made full payment & am now waiting for my car. the SA told me i should be getting it before mid april.
        to be honest i was a bit annoyed with this at first. but having spent 12 years working in automotive manufacturers, these problems are way too common, especially for new launched models & those with new techies.
        mazda is dispatching their engineers here to look at each of our units & rectify the problems (if any units were found faulty). so i’ll just wait patiently for my new car & i know the japs will take care of whatever problem there might be.

so go ahead, rate me down to your heart’s content lol. see if i care.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 116
      • Stance on Mar 26, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Is a good sign that so many thumbs down even on this comment. It just shows there are so many jealous people on how far Mazda has succeeded. The first one to feel happy is Sam Loo. He and his Toyota..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 104
        • Well, to be honest… ppl will not jealous for the success of Mazda and for the price of M6 2.5, many may rather go for VW Passat..
          Recall and to rectify problem is good, but it is still a bad sign especially for this model which just newly launch..
          You got thumb down for commenting the recall is good because for us, u are like protecting your face and consoling yourself (new buyer).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 3
        • Das Motor on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:16 pm

It’s quite funny. I realize recently there has been irregular number of thumbs down on some comments on certain car makers….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 73
          • Das Motor on Mar 27, 2013 at 1:22 pm

You see, I didn’t even mention anyone in specific, but I got this barrage of thumbs down. Under normal circumstances, I don’t think such comments will get this much thumbs down, right? Someone is playing a game here….

• Zhong on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:13 am

Altimatess,

No idea at all how it get so many bad vote, no comment also ,at the moment is 2 months already. You plan to order also ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
    • wow…so many toyota salesman thumbs you down!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
      • Zhong on Mar 27, 2013 at 8:19 am

Hard to say , ha ha ha dunno y they cant accept other’s getting better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
  • Confused on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:56 pm

Thats why la perdana best… Mitsu engine powerrrrr

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 17
  • AwakeningMazda on Mar 26, 2013 at 7:33 pm

Mazda is exploring new tech on M6, therefore they might need some minor adjustment here and there. Look at Prius when it’s newly launched; City cvt gearbox problem..Well most important thing is they rectify the problem with good solution! That makes every penny spent worth it. Unlike some car makers, using old tech and sell at premium price and keep bragging on reliability. Come on! If u are using same old tech reduce la the selling price not cut cost make more profit. Treating their die hard fans like “die hard water fish” my 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • br je lancar dh recall….apa kejadah..

• it seems that T&H salesman is crowding this page just to unlike any comments that support this car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • Since their new Camry and CRV are not selling, that’s why they have plenty of time to thumbs down comments here…

• VWDriver on Mar 27, 2013 at 1:16 am

Once u have driven a VW especially the Passat as a D segment car, u will never drive a Jap ever again due to its handling, performance, and feel. I smoked a Civic Type R on NKVE on Sunday. Shift to S Mode and see the rpm hit redline and look into the rear mirror, and u will see it being left behind. The power of torque. And better still, go for the Passat Sportline, with 18″ rims and sports suspension, no matter how sexy the Mazda 6 look, or new Honda Accord or even the Camry look, u will realise why it is voted one of the best family saloon in the world, don’t take my word for it, but u should experience the drive for yourself. U are providing a safe, solid, precise handling car for the family and one which may look boring, yet elegant, yet can outperform any Jap cars out there. Believe it,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 51
    • sabba on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:30 am

Passat is conti? Why dont u ask ur VW salesperson where is the car made in? even the “CKD” Passats are assembled first in China. Definitely Conti…

• Das Motor on Mar 27, 2013 at 1:29 pm

If you open up the bonnet or go look at the suspensions etc, you can find “Made in Germany” everywhere in the CKD Passat. Even the standard Conti run flat tyres are from Germany. No need to talk power lah, like ask how long does a 2.5 Camry or 2.4 Accord take to do the century sprint versus a Passat. As for quality, just look and feel the dashboards, you’ll know.

• sabba on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:41 pm

No doubt about the power, not even going to compare it. In fact I drove the car and was impressed by it. I am just turned off by the assembled in china part fit and finish is not exactly top notch, just better than its competitor thats all. Cant compare to the 2.5 of t or 2.4 of h as I havent drove those before. Point here being why should you bash other makes and make claims about being the best and what not? Is it really that much better? Parts are made in germany? Or is it really assembled in germany? Wiki it and see, the vin no. Tells everything.

• sabba on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Das, nothing personal against you or your comments, I just feel that VWowner shouldnt make comments like this just because he can afford a sportsline passat, whatever that is. Dont have to bash just because you can afford a much more expensive car.

• VWowner on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:00 am

Once u drive the Passat u will not turn back to the Japanese makes. I drive a Passat Sportline, boy I tell u, everything about the car is logical, sensible, solid feel, great handling, smooth gearshifts, performance wise, can beat any Jap D segment family sedan, flat. Shift to S Mode and u can even beat the Civic Type R. Watch the rpm hit redline and next u notice, you are already on 200km/hr, effortlessly. With the sports suspension, even better. U feel confident driving on NKVE taking bents at 160, safe, stable, and listen to the engine sound, excellent with the Turbo kicking in. This what we call conti performance. I read Accord, Camry, M6 too weak on torque, not fun to drive. Torque torque and more torque the better. To all the safe and careful car buyers out there who continue to ignore the VW, let me tell u, stop worrying about residual value cos u are missing out on a great driving experience. I will not go back to driving a Jap unless it’s a Subaru or a GT 86, something more comparable to those high torquey German makes. If u understand torque then u will know what u r missing out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 109
    • Jefferson Lim on Mar 29, 2013 at 7:31 pm

VWOwner, you sure u r happy with your Tiny 260Nm torque found in your Lousy Passat sportsline??? Have you ever driven a Diesel? Try BMW 320d 380Nm torque and/or Peugeot 508 GT HDI mega 450Nm torque! That’s like 1.4x & 1.8x more than your Lansi VW Passat Sportsline! Beware your Dry-clutch DSG, anytime KO! Global recall but VW Malaysia kept quiet!!!

• Ah Beng on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:33 am

Golf Mk7 is still a better car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • haha to those who keep saying mazda best jap car maker.

• Arun 12b on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:36 am

Stil just add 10k more u can get Peugeot 508 GT. More specs. More space. Awesome rim. 204 hp. 450 torque. Less fuel efficient than passat n m6. Passat cannot come near to tis car ;-)

• Jefferson Lim on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Well said Arun12b! Loved the Peugeot 508 GT especially the SW Diesel! 450Nm torque can easily Smoke DasAuto’s Lansi Passat Sportline!

Note this is 2x the amount of torque found in Accord 2.4 and 1.7x more torque than Camry 2.5 & Lansi Passat Sportline! I can imagine the G-force Pull having driven the BMW 320d F30! Diesel is the way FWD, Not Hybrid or electric! I Wish Mazda import in the 2.2 Skyactiv Diesel! This one also got 450+/- torque! No wonder 80% of new cars sold in Europe = Diesel!

• Abg Long on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:54 am

my excitement towards this Mazda 6 sudah hancur!! sorry Mazda, thumbs down for you.

• Jefferson Lim on Mar 28, 2013 at 8:36 pm

VWowner, Passat Sportsline Is still Petrol & petrol sucks! Go test drive these 2 cars & you’ll trade in your Lousy Passat Sportsline for them.
    A) BMW 320d f30 and B) Peugeot 508 GT! The option B) is Closer to your crappy Passat Sportsline at RM199,000 OTR. With, max power 204hp vs 170hp and 450Nm vs 260Nm? Torque. Hey, that’s 1.7x more than your Passat Sportline! Top speed 230km/h++ beat that with your Passat Sportline!

• Morten Mostervik on Apr 05, 2013 at 9:31 pm

Mazda 6 owner here, owned it since mid february and loved every second spent in the car. Dont see how this one little error on an electric component makes the car bad. Iirc its bosch that deliverd the system to mazda..

I got phone call today if i could bring my car by the dealers so they could change the dc/dc converter, i would get a rental car for the day even tho it only takes about 20 mins to fix. Thank you mazda for great service.

• VW… rubbish.. when you experience the DSG failure then you definitely agree with me… Good car but rubbish DSG7.