Nissan Almera owners battle it out in the Lightfoot Quest fuel efficiency competition: 33.6km/l achieved!

nissan almera lightfoot quest-2

Last week Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) organised the Lightfoot Quest 2013 fuel efficiency competition which saw 33 Nissan Almeras (1.5 automatic) taking part. The Lightfoot Quest might be familiar to some of you as ETCM has organised the event before, now specifically for owners of the Almera which was launched not too long ago.

This time around, all participants took part in a drive which started off at the Holiday Inn Glenmarie resort. Prior to the event, all participating vehicles were fuelled to the brim and verified by the event marshals before being put under parc ferme conditions a day earlier. Participants we also briefed on how to drive economically including having a short warm up time for the engine, smooth use of the throttle, avoiding traffic jams using applications such as Waze and so on.

nissan almera lightfoot quest-16

Following the flag-off, participants had to rely on directional tulips that were provided and drive as economically as possible to a fuel station in Gopeng, Perak about 180 kilometers away. When there is a competition, there are always rules to play by and this event is no exception. Participants had to reach the destination within 2.5 hours. Reaching within 15 minutes after the 2.5 hour mark will get you penalties while crossing the finish line after 2 hours and 45 minutes will mean automatic disqualification.

Furthermore, all participating vehicles were fitted with special stickers at areas including the engine hood and the fuel flap to prevent from further tampering. The A/C controls were also in the list, after adjustments made by the marshals to ensure all vehicles had similar A/C settings. At the destination, the refuelling was carried out by the marshals this was observed by a member of the National Union of Journalists (NUJ) to ensure all steps were taken properly.

nissan almera lightfoot quest-3

Following the half day affair, a total of 6 winners were selected, all based on the highest kilometre per litre (km/l) reading achieved. First place went to Chen Khong Lung and Lai Lih Mey with a score of 27.2km/l while second place went to Rebecca Tan Cheng Ann and Lee Beng Tan for scoring 22.8km/l. Muhammad Izzuddin Ilias and Mohd Faisal Kamarudin finished in the final podium position with 22.4km/l.

There was also a media category, won by Khong Yin Swan and Ian Khong with a figure of 33.6km/l, the highest through out the event for the Nissan Almera. Durraini Sharom and Albakry Salehuddin settled with 32.6km/l to finish second while third place went to Chin Shong Chian and Sean Chua with their 23.5km/l reading. Prizes included RM5000 of cold hard cash for first place, RM3000 for first runner up and RM2000 for second runner up.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Calculator on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:24 am

180km within 2.5 hours. Average speed = 72km/h.

Not bad

• LooSam967 on Mar 26, 2013 at 10:14 am

Yeah right. 33.6km/l. All this fuel economy test can be easily “tricked”. How about ask them to test in golden triangle from the weld to eastin hotel from 5.30pm to 6.30pm on weekday ? That should be more realistic fuel economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • ask d new vios to do it la. i bet i couldnt even hit 25km/liter. Even in d super jam i doubt new vios can hit 14km/liter.

• Check this to know the Vios FC in city drive condition. Less than 12km/l.

• http://paultan.org/2013/10/10/2013-toyota-vios-fuel-sound-test/2012-2013-toyota-vios-fuel-consumption-table/

• who needs hybrid when we have almera ey?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • carfan on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:09 am

Bro, if they drove like that with a Prius, they would have gone up to 40+ km/L. Hybrid still is the better deal right now.

• potter on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:45 pm

bro, remember that this is a light-foot test. even heavy footed driving up the karak highway i can still get good consumption with my hybrid car.. i think you should take this car in the traffic jam during rush hour in kl… and see how bad the fuel consumption will go.

• RVP20 on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:07 am

Kudos to Almeira, however most of the cars performed well in highway anyway (in FC), due to consistency in engine fuel consumption on straight open road. The challenge is when facing the traffic jam (our normal day-to-day routine) in order to get from point A to B with inconsistency braking and speed, 1hrs just to get to 30km distance, etc.

• takNakP1 on Mar 26, 2013 at 11:18 am

yeah… light foot during contest.
    try this on a day to day basis, u will be squeezed left and right until ur foot become heavy.. :P

• If they were asked to drive back from Gopeng to Glenmarie (more or less the same kms), for sure they will get different FC. Different road condition.

• webber on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:28 pm

Lay one egg only, you tell it to whole villagers, baru telur sebiji sudah riuh sekampung

Try these and let’s see the result:

1. 150km journey
    2. 20km/h – cannot go more than 30km/h, if done then disqualified
    3. max air-cond
    4. 10 times stopping at traffic lights or mock up ones by stopping at check points WITH ENGINE AND AIR COND ON. every idling is for 5 minutes

let’s know whether it can get at least 15km/l or it’s just a joke from nissan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • More bullshit from TanChong/Nissan. Seriously, fraud and rampant discounting are only way these imbeciles know how to sell cars! Sucks to be their customer.

• Visitor on Mar 26, 2013 at 1:58 pm

At the place where I live (Kota Kinabalu), there is practically no highways on par with NKVE, DUKE and the likes. And drivers will encounter lots of stop-go traffic and congestion on peak hours during weekdays. So, in my opinion hybrid cars are very suitable at an urban area such as KK.

• FC of Nissan Sunny Diesel (Almera) in India
    http://i.imgur.com/GM0yWOK.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/IKR6v7c.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/DswKsV0.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/tabMZmL.jpg

ETCM should offered the diesel version too.

• Self-proclaimed Sultan of Bulu on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Most of the customers drives a 4-speed auto while the medias gets a five-speed manual?

• ben yap on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:01 pm

I never trust ETCM light foot quest results. From the previous quest, it seems that the almera cannot beat the Nissan grand livinia results in 2008 at 56.5km/l. then the 2008 quest results must be fake!

Read news here:
    http://paultan.org/2008/08/05/nissan-lightfoot-quest-competition-results/

• Ah Beng on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:36 am

Golf can do 20km/l easily.

• Ah Beng on Mar 27, 2013 at 2:37 am

Golf can go 20km/l easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • ChowAhBeng on Mar 27, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Golf can easily make you rm30k poorer when DSG bite your ass :)

• ah choi on Apr 03, 2013 at 12:58 pm

can u imagine how much are “1 LITER” and how far is “33.6 KILOMETER” ?? honda civic hybrid 2013 can only achieve 18km/l.. correct me if i’am wrong..

• aaron on Apr 03, 2013 at 11:36 pm

i dont understand why u all fed up saying its all lies etc?
    obviously they cant cater for everyone. if u ask them to test on puchong to damansara, then some joker will say test from A to B la, B-C la, C-D la and it will never satisfy everyone.
    Besides, its normal to give higher than average fuel reading. same like batteries la. my portable charger say 13,000mah. i test only get 10,000mah. i blame who?
    similarly, apple say their phone can last xxx yyy zzz hours then if u cant get the figure u gona say they sucks or what?
    same thing to nexus or any samsung product. think before u speak. the world does not revolve around you

• Akram Aloobedi on Oct 06, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Frankly this is a very ugly car..who is the moron who designed it…and who is the moron who accepted to assemble it here in Malaysia…and the biggest moron is who will buy it of course…
    Look at Nissan in Japan, all beautiful, why on earth do you accept them to send us this rubbish?